View Full Version : Alfredo Di Stéfano

weststandhibby
05-07-2014, 09:02 PM
Sad news of a legend. Hope he makes a full recovery.

05-07-2014, 09:02 PM

Indeed. Legend doesn't do him justice :agree:

05-07-2014, 09:05 PM
Fingers crossed, unfortunately at his age, it's not too likely.

let's face it though, his legend would be half of what it is, if it wasn't for stade reimmes

05-07-2014, 09:55 PM
Never heard of him

05-07-2014, 10:12 PM
Never heard of him

Just the five european cups.

National team[edit (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Alfredo_Di_St%C3%A9fano&action=edit&section=13&editintro=Template:BLP_editintro)]

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/1/1a/Flag_of_Argentina.svg/23px-Flag_of_Argentina.svg.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Argentina) Argentina (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Argentina_national_football_team)

Copa América (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Copa_Am%C3%A9rica): 1947 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1947_South_American_Championship)

Club[edit (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Alfredo_Di_St%C3%A9fano&action=edit&section=14&editintro=Template:BLP_editintro)]

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/1/1a/Flag_of_Argentina.svg/23px-Flag_of_Argentina.svg.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Argentina) River Plate (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Club_Atl%C3%A9tico_River_Plate)

Primera División (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Primera_Divisi%C3%B3n_Argentina): 1945 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Primera_Divisi%C3%B3n_Argentina_1945), 1947 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Primera_Divisi%C3%B3n_Argentina_1947)

South American Club Championship (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/South_American_Club_Championship_(football)) : 1948 (runner-up)

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/2/21/Flag_of_Colombia.svg/23px-Flag_of_Colombia.svg.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colombia) Millonarios (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Club_Deportivo_Los_Millonarios)

Colombian Championship (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mustang_Cup): 1949 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campeonato_Profesional_1949), 1951 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campeonato_Profesional_1951), 1952 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Copa_Mustang_1952),
Copa Colombia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Copa_Colombia): 1953
Pequeña Copa del Mundo de Clubes (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peque%C3%B1a_Copa_del_Mundo_de_Clubes): 1953

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/9/9a/Flag_of_Spain.svg/23px-Flag_of_Spain.svg.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spain) Real Madrid (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Real_Madrid_C.F.)

Primera División (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/La_Liga): 1954 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1953%E2%80%9354_La_Liga), 1955 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1954%E2%80%9355_La_Liga), 1957 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1956%E2%80%9357_La_Liga), 1958 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1957%E2%80%9358_La_Liga), 1961 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1960%E2%80%9361_La_Liga), 1962 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1961%E2%80%9362_La_Liga), 1963 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1962%E2%80%9363_La_Liga), 1964 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1963%E2%80%9364_La_Liga)
Copa del Rey (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Copa_del_Rey): 1962 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1961%E2%80%9362_Copa_del_General%C3%ADsimo)
European Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Champions_League): 1955–56 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_Cup_1955%E2%80%9356), 1956–57 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_Cup_1956%E2%80%9357), 1957–58 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_Cup_1957%E2%80%9358), 1958–59 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_Cup_1958%E2%80%9359), 1959–60 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_Cup_1959%E2%80%9360)
Intercontinental Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intercontinental_Cup_(football)): 1960 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1960_Intercontinental_Cup)

Or was that a joke?

05-07-2014, 10:20 PM
Indeed. Legend doesn't do him justice :agree::agree:when I was a kid, everybody wanted to be him, in a kick-aboot. we pronounced his name as desti-fano, as we'd never heard /of/foreign languages then.

Barman Stanton
05-07-2014, 10:42 PM
Never heard of him

Wow, widely regarded as one of the greatest players of all time. A Real Madrid legend.

05-07-2014, 10:51 PM
Never heard of him

Sometimes it's better to say nothing.

05-07-2014, 10:58 PM
He used to own Dundee and was Saddams lawyer

05-07-2014, 10:59 PM
Did he play in the final at Hampden?

05-07-2014, 11:10 PM
He used to own Dundee and was Saddams lawyer

Wrong Di Stefano

Barman Stanton
05-07-2014, 11:18 PM

Yeah, scored a hat trick. Puskas got the other 4!

05-07-2014, 11:21 PM
Yeah, scored a hat trick. Puskas got the other 4!

I thought so, it was before my time

Edit was it eintracht Frankfurt they beat

05-07-2014, 11:23 PM
Wrong Di Stefano

Whoooooosh :faf:

05-07-2014, 11:27 PM
Yeah, scored a hat trick. Puskas got the other 4! yup, Ferenc Puskas, another unknown just happened to play at Hampden that day. that was in the days o' diddy teams that won 5 European cups on the trot. played in full white strips, with black boots on 22 feet............... what were they thinking of?

05-07-2014, 11:36 PM

Edit was it eintracht Frankfurt they beatIt was Eintracht, your correct and it was 7-3 to Real. unbelievable score and I was too young to be there but surely stuff that legends were made of. fantastic for Scotland's football home to witness it too imho.Di Stefano will live in the memories for a long time and must be Real Madrid's best ever.

06-07-2014, 12:04 AM
:agree:when I was a kid, everybody wanted to be him, in a kick-aboot. we pronounced his name as desti-fano, as we'd never heard /of/foreign languages then.

He was simply one of the greatest players ever to grace a football pitch. The argument when I was a kid was whether he was better than Puskas or Puskas was better than him.

Allowing that Puskas scored something like 630 goals in 660 top-flight games - Hungarian League, Spanish League, European Cup and Internationals - a fairly decent career average, I'd say, and allowing that Real Madrid for whom they both play consider Di Stefano the greatest player ever to play for them ...

Allowing that Di Stefano scored over 400 goals in 560 odd games for Real, River Plate, Espanyol, Argentina, Colombia, Spain and others, and at the same time provided the 'assists' for a goodly number of Puskas' goals, that gives a measure of the stature of the player.

There's a DVD of the 1960 European Cup Final at Hampden - Eintracht Frankfurt and Real Madrid. You'll see him playing alongside Puskas. They both scored hat-tricks in a 7-3 win over the team that panned Glasgow Rangers 6-1, 6-3 in the semis. And no, they weren't playing tennis - 12-4 on aggregate was the score. Eintracht were a very good team, streets ahead of anything Scotland could field, but Di Stefano and his mate destroyed them.

I still don't know which of them was the greater player. Just glad I saw them the once.

gogs_t
06-07-2014, 12:23 AM

Is this a "whoosh" type of post?

06-07-2014, 07:23 AM

He did, but sadly I think was missing from Real's line up when we beat them 3 years later at Easter Road 2-0

Cue memories of that game from fellow old farts...:greengrin

06-07-2014, 08:05 AM
Think you are right, he was the only one missing from their line up the night we beat them, i seem to remember Puskas taking a free kick around the Hibs dugout and going close ! of course every year it gets further away.

06-07-2014, 08:38 AM
Think you are right, he was the only one missing from their line up the night we beat them, i seem to remember Puskas taking a free kick around the Hibs dugout and going close ! of course every year it gets further away.

I was lucky enough to gain entry to Real's dressing room at a trading session the night before...still got the autographs to this day.

Grumpy Jock Stein chased us out eventuall.

06-07-2014, 09:34 AM
Di Stephano was an Argentinian I think. He played in the historic 5th consecutive European Cup win for Real Madrid at Hampden Park in 1960 in front of a crowd of 127,000 people.

I remember my dad telling me all about it. The football they played was mesmerising. I had an old video tape of the game once.

Frankfurt were no mugs either, destroying the then Glasgow Rangers 12-4 on aggregate in the semi-final. Real beat their old foes Barcelona 6-2 in the other semi.

I see on the news this morning that Real describe Di Stephano as the greatest footballer of all time. Quite a compliment.

06-07-2014, 09:40 AM
One of the greatest players ever to grace a football field, unfortunately his career happened at a time when I was born and just a wee kid, he was the manager of Real Madrid when Aberdeen beat them in the European cup winners final.

Barman Stanton
06-07-2014, 09:52 AM

Edit was it eintracht Frankfurt they beat

Indeed it was. Way before my time as well, but being a football geek I like to know such things haha.

06-07-2014, 01:26 PM
One of the greatest ever.

06-07-2014, 01:57 PM
I remember my first pair of decent football boots. They were endorsed by Puskas, with his signature on the side. They were softish, red-brown leather, low cut in the 'continental' style. Unlike the old ankle high hard leather boots with the leather strap over the kicking area with miles long laces wrapped a hundred times round your ankles and boots. I thought I was the bees knees but, unfortunately, my skills didn't live up to the classy look.

06-07-2014, 03:17 PM
He did, but sadly I think was missing from Real's line up when we beat them 3 years later at Easter Road 2-0

Di Stefano had moved on to Espanyol by that time. The fee was about £15,000, I think.

Teams (according to the programme) were:

Hibs: Willie Wilson; John Fraser, John Parke; Pat Stanton, John McNamee, John Baxter; Peter Cormack, Neil Martin, Jim Scott, Willie Hamilton and Eric Stevenson.

Real: Araquistain; Pachin and Miera; Zoco, Santamaria and Muller; Amancio, Ruiz, Grosso, Puskas, and Gento.

There was a story - I don't know whether anyone else here has heard this and I don't know how true it is but it certainly sounds like the boy - that Willie Hamilton was late into the dressing-room that night. The rest of the team were beginning to wonder what Stein had got them into - a couple of hours and they would be playing the great Real Madrid - and the nerves were jangling. They were also beginning to wonder where Willie had got to.

Then Willie walks in - late - and when he did that it usually meant he'd had a few.

Stein looks at him - very suspicious. "Hamilton - are you sober?"

"Yes boss."

"Really?"

"Yes boss."

Long pause.

"REALLY?" says Stein.

"Yes boss," says Willie. "I want to play my best the night. I want Real to realise just what they're missing no having me in their side."

Check the team lists. Willie played in the 10 shirt for Hibs. Real's #10 was Ferenc Puskas.

Pure cheek. :not worth

06-07-2014, 04:39 PM
Di Stephano was an Argentinian I think.

On 15 September 1953, the Spanish Federation made public the decision, signed by club presidents Martí and Bernabéu, to allow Di Stéfano to play four seasons in Spain – two for FC Barcelona and two for Real Madrid, to be played alternately. The agreement created such a storm of protests by the rest of the Barcelona management and the fans that Martí resigned a week later. The reasons for Barcelona's decision to let the player go to Madrid are disputed by the two clubs. This incident exacerbated the traditional enmity between the two clubs.

Wonder how that arrangement would have worked out :crazy:

06-07-2014, 04:53 PM
I didn't realise he represented argentina, colombia and spain at full international level but didn't manage to play in a world cup. Reports now that he is in a stable condition after the heart attack.

06-07-2014, 06:04 PM
I didn't realise he represented argentina, colombia and spain at full international level but didn't manage to play in a world cup. Reports now that he is in a stable condition after the heart attack.

This was at a time when top FIFA officials were notoriously corrupt and open to bribery.

I'm so glad it's not like that nowadays.

06-07-2014, 07:22 PM

I must admit I wasn't sure anyone would post a whooosh comment, given the nature of the thread but hey ho, you got me :wink:

07-07-2014, 07:19 AM

Spiffing goal from Pedro Cormack that night.

Didn't he rattle the bar with it?

07-07-2014, 11:24 AM
On 15 September 1953, the Spanish Federation made public the decision, signed by club presidents Martí and Bernabéu, to allow Di Stéfano to play four seasons in Spain – two for FC Barcelona and two for Real Madrid, to be played alternately. The agreement created such a storm of protests by the rest of the Barcelona management and the fans that Martí resigned a week later. The reasons for Barcelona's decision to let the player go to Madrid are disputed by the two clubs. This incident exacerbated the traditional enmity between the two clubs.

Wonder how that arrangement would have worked out :crazy:

Cheers for posting that. I had never heard that story. I don't think that arrangement would have worked out at all well! :greengrin

Lewis77
07-07-2014, 03:41 PM
I'm too young to have seen the man play but I believe it was Alec Ferguson who said great players could perform in any generation.

However his choice of team wasn't the best for me. That real Mardrid side was representative of a despicable fascist regime and the dealings of Real Madrid during that period of time were less than honourable. Di Stefano was headed for Barcelona but Franco himself got involved to make sure he went to Madrid, pulling the strings behind the scene as always when it came to Real's then success. Saying this I don't know if Di Stefano in reality had any say in things when dealing with a then fascist club in a then fascist country.

BarneyK
07-07-2014, 03:44 PM
He has died. Sad indeed. One of the greats.

Bronson
07-07-2014, 03:55 PM
He has died. Sad indeed. One of the greats.

Only player ever to score in 5 consecutive european cup finals, all of which he won at Real Madrid. That will never be done again.

RIP.

Engels74
07-07-2014, 04:41 PM
RIP to a legend.

Here is a Link to the program for Hibs 1964 match with Real Madrid. Although Di Stefano didnt play the game, there is still an article about the great man in the match program, it mentions the Barca deal.

http://progs.fairlyoriginal.com/hibernian-vs-real-madrid

07-07-2014, 04:48 PM
I'm too young to have seen the man play but I believe it was Alec Ferguson who said great players could perform in any generation.

However his choice of team wasn't the best for me. That real Mardrid side was representative of a despicable fascist regime and the dealings of Real Madrid during that period of time were less than honourable. Di Stefano was headed for Barcelona but Franco himself got involved to make sure he went to Madrid, pulling the strings behind the scene as always when it came to Real's then success. Saying this I don't know if Di Stefano in reality had any say in things when dealing with a then fascist club in a then fascist country.

Well that covers all the bases. :greengrin What does it say about Hibs though - playing the representatives of a despicable fascist regime?

(((Fergus)))
07-07-2014, 05:21 PM
Could only find the highlights of that 7-3 game

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1H_89ue5s20

07-07-2014, 06:07 PM
Di Stefano had moved on to Espanyol by that time. The fee was about £15,000, I think.

Hibs: Willie Wilson; John Fraser, John Parke; Pat Stanton, John McNamee, John Baxter; Peter Cormack, Neil Martin, Jim Scott, Willie Hamilton and Eric Stevenson.

Real: Araquistain; Pachin and Miera; Zoco, Santamaria and Muller; Amancio, Ruiz, Grosso, Puskas, and Gento.

There was a story - I don't know whether anyone else here has heard this and I don't know how true it is but it certainly sounds like the boy - that Willie Hamilton was late into the dressing-room that night. The rest of the team were beginning to wonder what Stein had got them into - a couple of hours and they would be playing the great Real Madrid - and the nerves were jangling. They were also beginning to wonder where Willie had got to.

Then Willie walks in - late - and when he did that it usually meant he'd had a few.

"Yes boss."

"Really?"

"Yes boss."

Long pause.

"REALLY?" says Stein.

"Yes boss," says Willie. "I want to play my best the night. I want Real to realise just what they're missing no having me in their side."

Check the team lists. Willie played in the 10 shirt for Hibs. Real's #10 was Ferenc Puskas.

Pat Quinn does not get a mention in the team line-up.

I'm sure he got one of the goals that night, if not both or are the memories getting mixed up ?

07-07-2014, 06:33 PM
I always liked Real's all white strip, and no sponsors name(s) plastered all over it.

Were Real Madrid not the first to wear an all white strip, since imitated by many others?

07-07-2014, 06:52 PM

Admins - I know the thread title has been changed to reflect the sad news of Di Stefano passing away, but the first post now looks like Weststandhibby is taking the piss a wee bit, as the title appears in his post on the thread, dunno if one of you lovely folks fancy editing it a wee bit so he doesn't look like a heartless so-and-so?

cheers

HNA4
07-07-2014, 06:56 PM
Admins - I know the thread title has been changed to reflect the sad news of Di Stefano passing away, but the first post now looks like Weststandhibby is taking the piss a wee bit, as the title appears in his post on the thread, dunno if one of you lovely folks fancy editing it a wee bit so he doesn't look like a heartless so-and-so?

cheers

:agree: :aok:

07-07-2014, 07:01 PM

I'm sure he got one of the goals that night, if not both or are the memories getting mixed up ?

Hibs goals were scored by Peter Cormack and the other was given as an own goal by Zoco.

All 5 Hibs forwards were capped at one point or other by Scotland - Cormack, Willie Hamilton, Jim Scott, Pat Quinn & Neil Martin, as well as of course Pat Stanton.

07-07-2014, 07:24 PM
Well that covers all the bases. :greengrin What does it say about Hibs though - playing the representatives of a despicable fascist regime?

We had our own midfield "general" that night in the shape of Pat Quinn. :wink:

07-07-2014, 07:24 PM
Hibs goals were scored by Peter Cormack and the other was given as an own goal by Zoco.

All 5 Hibs forwards were capped at one point or other by Scotland - Cormack, Willie Hamilton, Jim Scott, Pat Quinn & Neil Martin, as well as of course Pat Stanton.

You're right, filtering back now !

History buffs, what was the big game a E R about the same time when Pat Quinn scored one or may'be two :confused:

07-07-2014, 07:26 PM
Very sad to hear of the passing of a true footballing legend

07-07-2014, 07:32 PM
You're right, filtering back now !

History buffs, what was the big game a E R about the same time when Pat Quinn scored one or may'be two :confused:

Not sure but I saw him score a hat trick at Tynecastle in, I think, 1967.

Records tell me it was his first goal for 23 months!

07-07-2014, 07:35 PM
Not sure but I saw him score a hat trick at Tynecastle in, I think, 1967.

Records tell me it was his first goal for 23 months!

9 September 1967 to be exact :greengrin

greenginger - fill yer boots :greengrin http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_games.php?playerid=6165&page=1 (there's four pages)

07-07-2014, 07:55 PM
He was simply one of the greatest players ever to grace a football pitch. The argument when I was a kid was whether he was better than Puskas or Puskas was better than him.

Allowing that Puskas scored something like 630 goals in 660 top-flight games - Hungarian League, Spanish League, European Cup and Internationals - a fairly decent career average, I'd say, and allowing that Real Madrid for whom they both play consider Di Stefano the greatest player ever to play for them ...

Allowing that Di Stefano scored over 400 goals in 560 odd games for Real, River Plate, Espanyol, Argentina, Colombia, Spain and others, and at the same time provided the 'assists' for a goodly number of Puskas' goals, that gives a measure of the stature of the player.

There's a DVD of the 1960 European Cup Final at Hampden - Eintracht Frankfurt and Real Madrid. You'll see him playing alongside Puskas. They both scored hat-tricks in a 7-3 win over the team that panned Glasgow Rangers 6-1, 6-3 in the semis. And no, they weren't playing tennis - 12-4 on aggregate was the score. Eintracht were a very good team, streets ahead of anything Scotland could field, but Di Stefano and his mate destroyed them.

I still don't know which of them was the greater player. Just glad I saw them the once.

:top marks :thumbsup:
Was old enough at 28 to have watched the game albeit in B & W !!!!
For long enough afterwards kids " played" as Di Stefano or Puskas just as they did when Pele came along and as they had done as Reilly /Bauld etc before
Agree with you also re choosing who was better as they were both in a class of their own by a country mile .

RIP ADS

07-07-2014, 08:03 PM
Reading up on Alfredo Di Stéfano, I did not know he was manager of Real Madrid when Aberdeen beat them in the Cup Winners' Cup Finals in 1983.

07-07-2014, 08:59 PM

I think he might have taken the free kick which glanced off the top off Zoco's heid and into the Mathrith net.

07-07-2014, 09:04 PM

John Parke at left back also an international, for Northern Ireland. Just like Ryan McGivern.

bodoglimt
07-07-2014, 09:08 PM
Sad to here the loss of a true legend. I'm sure I read that during the friendly hibs played against Real Madrid , Di Stefano left our great legend Pat Stanton with a permanent bruise on his ankle?
i apologise if the info is wrong. :wink:

07-07-2014, 10:24 PM
9 September 1967 to be exact :greengrin

greenginger - fill yer boots :greengrin http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_games.php?playerid=6165&page=1 (there's four pages)

Thanks, bookmarked for future reference. Some great memories :thumbsup: some nightmares too :greengrin

07-07-2014, 10:32 PM
Thanks, bookmarked for future reference. Some great memories :thumbsup: some nightmares too :greengrin

It's a brilliant site. Enjoy :thumbsup:

07-07-2014, 10:36 PM
It's sad that all these great players from the 50s and 60s like Tom Finney, Eusebio, Di Stefano and our very own Famous Five are no longer with us.

What a great legacy they've left behind though and the footage of them will live forever.

07-07-2014, 11:32 PM
You cant beat Death in the end but scoring in 5 consecutive European Cup finals will never be beaten.

07-07-2014, 11:49 PM

No - that was the team in the program, and they started the game as I recall, but IIRC Pat came on in the second half - because it was a friendly the clubs had agreed two subs.

Pat was a lovely footballer. I mind a goal he scored against Dundee Utd on a frozen pitch one January. The teams were playing in baseball boots as they did at the time, and we were attacking downhill in the first half (lost the toss!) and Colin Stein and Peter Cormack just could NOT get the ball to go in. Pat got the ball about halfway and started this lazy run downfield, then looked up, picked the spot, and lobbed a perfect ball from about 25 yards right into the top left-hand corner - the postage-stamp, as they used to call it - of Hamish McAlpine's goal. He didn't hit it hard, just placed it perfectly about 2 inches under the crossbar and two inches inside the post. I was standing in the cowshed right behind the goal and had a perfect view. Wonderful piece of football. Hamish had no chance.

Pat just looked at Colin and Peter and grinned as if to say, "That's how you do it, guys."

Very sad to hear of Di Stefano's death. One of the truly great players of the modern era.

He was the man who made that great Real team tick - everything they did went through him, and more often than not finished with him either passing the ball to Puskas to score, or scoring the goal himself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1H_89ue5s20

A wee glimpse of the great man in action. His third goal was as good as you'll ever see - Real's 7th.

Great, great player in a team of great players.

ILC Sport used to have a DVD of the whole game on their list - not available right now, sadly, but I would be surprised if they don't reissue it as a tribute to the great man.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_0_6?url=search-alias%3Ddvd&field-keywords=1960+european+cup+final&sprefix=1960+e%2Cdvd%2C292&rh=n%3A283926%2Ck%3A1960+european+cup+final

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Madrid-Eintracht-Frankfurt-European-Final/dp/B000B0QJJA/ref=sr_1_1?s=dvd&ie=UTF8&qid=1404778320&sr=1-1&keywords=ilc+sport+1960+European+Cup

They'd better have the armbands on in the semis - a disgrace if they don't.

08-07-2014, 12:50 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/28200167

Tom Hart RIP
08-07-2014, 04:19 AM
Sad to here the loss of a true legend. I'm sure I read that during the friendly hibs played against Real Madrid , Di Stefano left our great legend Pat Stanton with a permanent bruise on his ankle?
i apologise if the info is wrong. :wink:

I think that was Puskas. De Stefano didn't play that night as he had left Real Madrid by then.

Time For Heroes
08-07-2014, 09:42 AM
Have to confess before my time so didn't know too much about the great man, found this on the BBC website which I though was I interesting:
http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/28204560

08-07-2014, 08:21 PM

"Yes boss."

"Really?"

"Yes boss."

Long pause.

"REALLY?" says Stein.

That Hibs team plus the mighty Quinn brings a tear to the eye!!

08-07-2014, 08:23 PM

John Parke at left back also an international, for Northern Ireland. Just like Ryan McGivern.

That's right mate, both NI internationals, but that's where the similarities between Parke and McGivern end IMHO. :wink:

bodoglimt
08-07-2014, 08:45 PM
I think that was Puskas. De Stefano didn't play that night as he had left Real Madrid by then.
You are correct :not worth

09-07-2014, 12:22 AM
That Hibs team plus the mighty Quinn brings a tear to the eye!!

Aw, I remember singing that a few times at ER. Happy days!