Sorry, just practising. :greengrin

Team news?

05-07-2014, 12:30 PM
'kin booooooooooooo!

Got that out the way early.

05-07-2014, 12:31 PM
Hopefully someone who has made the journey will be there when the team arrive and report any new faces getting off the team bus.

MontrealHibs
05-07-2014, 12:33 PM
James Collins is working his socks off up front but the finishing is woeful!

05-07-2014, 12:38 PM
Murray on for Miller.

05-07-2014, 12:38 PM
'kin booooooooooooo!

Got that out the way early.

Me too ....

Stubbs hasn't got a clue! :brickwall

:cb

05-07-2014, 12:40 PM
2-0 Vale I reckon.

Hibs.net meltdown to follow

05-07-2014, 12:42 PM
FFS Nelson...

05-07-2014, 12:43 PM
2-0 Vale I reckon.

Hibs.net meltdown to follow

Nae chance.

3-0 Hibs.

05-07-2014, 12:44 PM
Is it to early to say ive heard a rumour that the players aren't happy with the training?

05-07-2014, 12:45 PM
4-0 Hibs. Easy street.

05-07-2014, 12:45 PM
Is it to early to say ive heard a rumour that the players aren't happy with the training?

bibs have been thrown, people have been places and players are now on George street. :agree:

05-07-2014, 12:54 PM
bibs have been thrown, people have been places and players are now on George street. :agree:

And young Danny Handling has been forced to do the funky chicken dance

05-07-2014, 12:57 PM
2 Trialists available but no names yet.

05-07-2014, 12:59 PM
I also think that anyone who started matchday thread under Terry Butcher serves a one year suspension from doing so again. We need to get promoted.

05-07-2014, 01:01 PM
Gutted I'm missing this. Not feeling great but will be at Berwick next week :thumbsup:

05-07-2014, 01:03 PM
Showunmi was sporting a nice set of headphones as he got off the bus, Admiral boots though wtf, Billy Dane had better boots than that!

05-07-2014, 01:05 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BryDF_KCMAAUhCP.jpg

05-07-2014, 01:10 PM
Hibernian FC @HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub) · 24s (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/485409964236619776)
#Hibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hibs?src=hash) (1-11) Perntreou, Buxton, Martyniuk, Stevenson, Nelson ©, Gardiner, Martin, Tudur Jones, Cummings, Handling, Todd

Trialist Adam Buxton will start at right-back and wear the number two shirt to begin with. #Hibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hibs?src=hash) will field a completely different side ...

05-07-2014, 01:11 PM
Team news

First half

Perntreou, Buxton, Martyniuk, Stevenson, Nelson (c), Gardiner, Martin, Tudur Jones, Cummings, Handling, Todd

Second half

21 Brennan, 14 Dunsmore, 15 Booth, 16 Forster, 17 Hanlon, 18 Burke, 19 Craig, 20 Harris, 21 Crane, 22 Stanton, 24 Allan, 25 Sinclair

also...
Hibernian have appointed John Doolan as their new first team coach.
The 42-year-old worked with Easter Road boss Alan Stubbs at Everton's youth academy and leaves his job as Wigan's Under-18s coach to move to Edinburgh.
Doolan, who played for Mansfield, Barnet and Rochdale, has also coached at the Liverpool academy.
"I'm thrilled to be able to bring John to Hibernian - he is a quality coach with an excellent pedigree," Stubbs told the club website. (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/Welcome)
"I've known him for a long time and I completely trust his judgement. He will be able to implement fresh ideas to improve our squad and his appointment is a real coup for Hibernian."

dmc1875
05-07-2014, 01:12 PM
The admiral captains the ship!

Perntreou, Buxton, Martyniuk, Stevenson, Nelson (c), Gardiner, Martin, Tudur Jones, Cummings, Handling, Todd

05-07-2014, 01:12 PM
Adam Buxton

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adam_Buxton_(footballer)

duffers
05-07-2014, 01:14 PM
named the team that will start the second half. Never seen that before....

Second half team:
@HibernianFCClub: #Hibs 21 Brennan, 14 Dunsmore, 15 Booth, 16 Forster, 17 Hanlon, 18 Burke, 19 Craig, 20 Harris, 21 Crane, 22 Stanton, 24 Allan, 25 Sinclair

dmc1875
Second half team:

21 Brennan, 14 Dunsmore, 15 Booth, 16 Forster, 17 Hanlon, 18 Burke, 19 Craig, 20 Harris, 21 Crane, 22 Stanton, 24 Allan, 25 Sinclair

05-07-2014, 01:15 PM
Not this guy then? Maybe Stubbs won't signs comedians after all!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adam_Buxton

duffers
05-07-2014, 01:16 PM
Nathan Burke a trialist

05-07-2014, 01:16 PM
Nathan Burke a trialist

http://www.liverpoolfc.com/team/academy/player/nathan-burke

05-07-2014, 01:17 PM
Lets see the Goebbels esq propaganda chiefs on here try and spin that lineup into the fact all is barry, nothing to worry about.

Frighteningly poor squad even if it is a Hibs XI

05-07-2014, 01:18 PM
http://www.liverpoolfc.com/team/academy/player/nathan-burke

This guy?

James.
05-07-2014, 01:19 PM
Lets see the Goebbels esq propaganda chiefs on here try and spin that lineup into the fact all is barry, nothing to worry about.

First game of the preseason. Maybe let them play the actual game before writing them off :rolleyes:

05-07-2014, 01:20 PM

What exactly did you expect the squad to be? There's still 5 weeks to sort this mess.

LALthehibeeGAL
05-07-2014, 01:21 PM
Second half team:
@HibernianFCClub: #Hibs 21 Brennan, 14 Dunsmore, 15 Booth, 16 Forster, 17 Hanlon, 18 Burke, 19 Craig, 20 Harris, 21 Crane, 22 Stanton, 24 Allan, 25 Sinclair

We should have a chance in second have cos we have 12 players!!!:greengrin

Lal:wink:

05-07-2014, 01:22 PM
Gorkss and Earnshaw - welcome to the hibs.net pish rumours bin. :aok:

05-07-2014, 01:22 PM

I haven't read a post that's stated all is barry for quite some time.

05-07-2014, 01:23 PM
Lets see the Goebbels esq propaganda chiefs on here try and spin that lineup into the fact all is barry, nothing to worry about. Frighteningly poor squad even if it is a Hibs XI

I wouldn't really read too much into the squad at the moment.

If this was the squad come the first game of the season then yes but it's against VOL (no disrespect to them) and we still have just under 4 weeks until our first competitive game.

Why you quoting All is Barry etc when that is a pile of yam crap.

And finally your opening line is out of order in my eyes.

05-07-2014, 01:23 PM

Reichsminister Goebbels to you, chum.

"Die Jambos sind unser ungluck" and all that.

05-07-2014, 01:24 PM
lets see the goebbels esq propaganda chiefs on here try and spin that lineup into the fact all is barry, nothing to worry about.

Frighteningly poor squad even if it is a hibs xi

panic!!!!!!!!!

05-07-2014, 01:26 PM
Gorkss and Earnshaw - welcome to the hibs.net pish rumours bin. :aok: Ha ha!! Like that one RR. ;-)

05-07-2014, 01:29 PM

Are you taking the piss?

We're playing Vale of Leithen.

Ps, there's been some poor posts recently but yours might top the list.

05-07-2014, 01:32 PM

I think he likes plain old 'Mr Goebbels'. The 'Esq.' just makes him sound snobby.

05-07-2014, 01:32 PM
First XI:

First team: Stevenson, Nelson, Jones, Cummings, Handling
Youth: Perntreou, Martyniuk, Gardiner, Martin, Todd
Trialist: Buxton

Second XI:

First team: Booth, Forster, Hanlon, Craig, Harris, Stanton
Youth: Brennan, Dunsmore, Crane, Allan, Sinclair
Trialist: Burke

Will be interesting to see how the kids and trialists perform but no Robertson, Heffernan or Caldwell suggests they're off, while Nelson and Jones remain. Worrying.

05-07-2014, 01:36 PM
First XI:

Second XI:

Will be interesting to see how the kids and trialists perform but no Robertson, Heffernan or Caldwell suggests they're off, while Nelson and Jones remain. Worrying.

Or maybe they just have a knock/are not fully fit? At least you'll be pleased we have not one but 2 keepers on show. :wink:

BH Hibs
05-07-2014, 01:37 PM

Early contender for pish post of the season. :greengrin

Kaff
05-07-2014, 01:38 PM
First XI:

Second XI:

Yes I was hoping Robertson, and gto a lesser extent Heffernan, was staying. However this is obviously a chance to see how the youth players do and maybe AS feels both don't need to prove anything in a half of football at this level? We'll see soon enough and hopefully the youngsters can put on a good show for their new boss

007 Mickey Weir
05-07-2014, 01:40 PM
Are sky covering the game?

05-07-2014, 01:40 PM
Or maybe they just have a knock/are not fully fit? At least you'll be pleased we have not one but 2 keepers on show. :wink:

I am, if only for the fact that one of them has the same nationality as my girlfriend. :wink:

05-07-2014, 01:42 PM
I think he likes plain old 'Mr Goebbels'. The 'Esq.' just makes him sound snobby.

"Reichsminister für Volksaufklärung und Propaganda" IF you please, Herr Beefster.

Or he'll be sending the men in black to see you ...

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2009/12/10/article-1234828-030FFBAF0000044D-598_224x451.jpg http://my-online-log.com/tech/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/smallhausen.jpg

StarMan10
05-07-2014, 01:43 PM
That second half line up has 12 players...

05-07-2014, 01:44 PM

It's Hibs, we need all the help we can get.

Dan Sarf

It's a new thing Leeann has brought in.

Hearts and Rangers have been cheating for years so we're going to get in on the act too. :aok:

05-07-2014, 01:47 PM
No Heff or Robbo?

05-07-2014, 01:48 PM
First XI:

Second XI:

Playing Pollyanna here, but maybe Stubbs decided to check out some of the youngsters this afternoon, being happy with what he's seen of Robertson, Heffernan and Caldwell?

And planning to play THEM in the next game?

Besides, he's already listed 12 for the second half.

05-07-2014, 01:54 PM
Playing Pollyanna here

What does that mean?

05-07-2014, 01:58 PM
Are sky covering the game?

Yes

whereswallace?
05-07-2014, 02:02 PM
Would imagine Doolan knowing where he's heading, recommended Buxton?

05-07-2014, 02:04 PM
:I'm waitiHuv we no scored yet???

Dempster..................:grr:

05-07-2014, 02:07 PM

Don't worry, I don't think you're the only one who has noticed this. Others have probably decided to say nothing, for a variety of reasons.

05-07-2014, 02:07 PM
Playing Pollyanna here, but maybe Stubbs decided to check out some of the youngsters this afternoon, being happy with what he's seen of Robertson, Heffernan and Caldwell?

And planning to play THEM in the next game?

Besides, he's already listed 12 for the second half.

Hibs Twitter says Heffernan is injured. No mention of Robertson or Caldwell.

Gerard
05-07-2014, 02:08 PM
:I'm waitiHuv we no scored yet???

Dempster..................:grr:

is she playing as well and if she is what position. we need a striker:wink::greengrin:top marks:flag:

05-07-2014, 02:08 PM
What does that mean?

Character in popular fiction, who always saw the best in any situation.

05-07-2014, 02:10 PM
Every days a school day!

05-07-2014, 02:11 PM
Heffernan is injured? I'm shocked.

05-07-2014, 02:12 PM
Hibs Twitter says Heffernan is injured. No mention of Robertson or Caldwell.

Heffernan injured? How can this be? Usually Mr. Reliable.

Turkish Green
05-07-2014, 02:14 PM
...but no Robertson, Heffernan or Caldwell suggests they're off, while Nelson and Jones remain. Worrying.
Could also just mean that they are carrying knocks.

05-07-2014, 02:15 PM
Apparently Caldwell has been training with St Mirren.

05-07-2014, 02:15 PM
Heffernan injured? How can this be? Usually Mr. Reliable.

;-)

Can see him being emptied tbh.

05-07-2014, 02:17 PM

Would of thought he would of been in squad today so maybe something in this??

05-07-2014, 02:18 PM

Some saints fan mentioned that they thought it was Caldwell who he had seen training with them

RN Hibee
05-07-2014, 02:18 PM
Anyone know what formation we are playing? From the players mentioned I would hazard a guess it's 4-3-3 or 4-4-2?

RamblingJack
05-07-2014, 02:19 PM
can anyone who is at the game give us 908 people updates please?:flag:

05-07-2014, 02:22 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfa1/t31.0-8/10355457_821251221221313_8484564130535882343_o.jpg
https://scontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/t31.0-8/10514396_821251231221312_1206483278195177697_o.jpg
https://scontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/t31.0-8/10497436_821251261221309_2937359457400931606_o.jpg

05-07-2014, 02:22 PM
Thought you weren't there??

05-07-2014, 02:23 PM
Heffernan is injured? I'm shocked.

A fall on the beach, perhaps?

05-07-2014, 02:24 PM
Thought you weren't there??

I'm not. Stole those photos from Facebook :cb

New kit looks ok when it's on!

I'm not. Stole those photos from Facebook :cb

Tsk tsk!! :-;

Strip looks good :-))

05-07-2014, 02:26 PM
Buxton looks a tad Nadeish in those photos.

Potty78
05-07-2014, 02:27 PM
Strip looks good :-))

Team is awful:(

steviehibsleith
05-07-2014, 02:28 PM
Beat me to it looks like a prop forward from the back.

Iceman1875
05-07-2014, 02:28 PM
Any idea on the attendance?

At Easter Road we play...

05-07-2014, 02:29 PM

30 minutes into the 1st pre season game.

Must be a record.

05-07-2014, 02:29 PM

Christ

05-07-2014, 02:30 PM

:-)

dmc1875
05-07-2014, 02:32 PM
Goooal Cummings

05-07-2014, 02:32 PM
OTJ getting beat to everything .. So he has not improved any under the new manager and this is against VoL .... Ffs

Lee
05-07-2014, 02:33 PM
1-0 Hibs :thumbsup:

GlenrothesHibee
05-07-2014, 02:34 PM
Been all VoL lol

Dan Sarf
05-07-2014, 02:35 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfa1/t31.0-8/10355457_821251221221313_8484564130535882343_o.jpg
https://scontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/t31.0-8/10514396_821251231221312_1206483278195177697_o.jpg
https://scontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/t31.0-8/10497436_821251261221309_2937359457400931606_o.jpg

Defence looks a bit static in these.

Easy easy easy easy

OTJ getting beat to everything .. So he has not improved any under the new manager and this is against VoL .... Ffs

Can't believe stubbs hasn't made him a worldbeater in a week of mostly fitness training. He's worse than malofeev ffs. Stubbs out.

or something.

007 Mickey Weir
05-07-2014, 02:36 PM
So..... What was goal like.

Yeeeeees.

Championees

Yeeeeees.

Championees

How we playing and hows Buxton doing?

dmc1875
05-07-2014, 02:37 PM
Seen as some have been throwing their toys out the pram I'm going the other way now we are winning...

We're gonna win the league!! :wink: :flag:

05-07-2014, 02:38 PM
So..... What was goal like.

Martyniuk's cross from the left found Cummings unmarked inside the box and he finished with precision

oramhibee
What's the score?

Who is Martyniuk?

05-07-2014, 02:39 PM

Good, I'd rather Stubbs found out he was ***** now rather thinking he was good enough to rely on him in the season.

05-07-2014, 02:39 PM
What's the score?

Hamilton winning 1-0 but there's only a minute to go and the crowd are right behind the team so I reckon we're safe..

Oh er.. Forgot where I was, 1-0 Hibs, Cummings.

05-07-2014, 02:40 PM
Who is Martyniuk?

Neil Martyniuk I believe. Think he's an U20 player.

05-07-2014, 02:41 PM
Who is Martyniuk?

an under 20s player

05-07-2014, 02:42 PM
an under 20s player

Ta :aok:

dmc1875
05-07-2014, 02:42 PM

https://twitter.com/NeilMartyniuk

dmc1875
05-07-2014, 02:43 PM
Ta :aok:

Martyniuk been quite heavily involved so far

05-07-2014, 02:51 PM
How we playing and hows Buxton doing?

He has spring.

007 Mickey Weir
05-07-2014, 02:53 PM
Is he a centre back?

05-07-2014, 02:54 PM
My header back onto the field was probably the best header of the game !

05-07-2014, 02:54 PM
Who were the two wingers? Martyniuk is left back I think?

05-07-2014, 03:00 PM
What does that mean?

Character in popular fiction, who always saw the best in any situation.

Thank you, FR.

Dunno about 'popular' though ....

'Morally improving literature for children', I think - from about 100 years ago? Disney made a film of it - only time I saw it it was so sugary-sweet it made all my teeth ache.

05-07-2014, 03:01 PM
[QUO. TE=Cameron1875;4087429]Lets see the Goebbels esq propaganda chiefs on here try and spin that lineup into the fact all is barry, nothing to worry about.

Frighteningly poor squad even if it is a Hibs XI[/QUOTE]

Geeze oh we haven't signed Anyone yet ,so have a little patience . Plenty time to start fretting in a months time if we haven't signed some quality players by then

05-07-2014, 03:09 PM
Good attendance 1375

05-07-2014, 03:13 PM

Would think Robertson would be ahead of OTJ in any squad

05-07-2014, 03:17 PM

Captained the youth side I think and played in some good wins over Hearts.

05-07-2014, 03:17 PM
The new strip doesn't look too bad in the pic I suppose but won't the players have trouble finding each other in the dark?

05-07-2014, 03:18 PM
So what's the latest score then? still 1-0?

05-07-2014, 03:18 PM
2-0

hibsfan
05-07-2014, 03:19 PM
2/0 live on ssn

Tom Hart RIP
Captained the youth side I think and played in some good wins over a Heats.

Excellent prospect. Reminds me of a young Alan Hansen. Cool under pressure and good ball control. I have high hopes for him

Great play from wee Stanton. Cummings poached the save. Happy days.

05-07-2014, 03:20 PM
Thank you, FR.

Dunno about 'popular' though ....

'Morally improving literature for children', I think - from about 100 years ago? Disney made a film of it - only time I saw it it was so sugary-sweet it made all my teeth ache.
A young Haley Mills played her

05-07-2014, 03:20 PM
Luke S was live on SSN as we scored our 2nd. Apparently Stanton through keeper saved but JC rolled into empty net.

banarc7062
05-07-2014, 03:22 PM
The new strip doesn't look too bad in the pic I suppose but won't the players have trouble finding each other in the dark?
Think we have some new things in place.......footlight or floodlight or something :flag:

05-07-2014, 03:22 PM
2-0??? Wur gonnae win ra league.

05-07-2014, 03:27 PM
2-0??? Wur gonnae win ra league.

The new, all positive hibs.net begins to take shape

05-07-2014, 03:28 PM
I know it's only a pre season friendly but 2 goals for Cummings will do his confidence no harm at all after the sad way he ended last season.

High hopes for him this year.

3-0 cabbage

3-0 Craig.

05-07-2014, 03:30 PM
Nice :thumbsup:

05-07-2014, 03:31 PM
Nice.

Obviously all about fitness but a win against any opposition is a great start.

05-07-2014, 03:32 PM
How are the two trialists playing? Buxton and Burke?

Also what's the football like? Are we playing football on the deck or Butchers punting up the park?

05-07-2014, 03:35 PM
A young Haley Mills played her

That's the one. Jings, it was awful.

On the other hand, we're 3-0 up and Cummings has scored 2. Pity it's only a friendly.

05-07-2014, 03:41 PM
4-0 Harris :flag:

05-07-2014, 03:43 PM
LD just said definitely signings next week, she seemed v upbeat, ( on SSN ).

05-07-2014, 03:44 PM
4-0 Harris :flag:

Good for him! Hope it's a wee confidence booster of him as we go into the new season. Anyone confirm what type of fitbaw we're playing? In the deck of Butcher' s hoofball?

Hibby Gav
05-07-2014, 03:47 PM
LD just said definitely signings next week, she seemed v upbeat, ( on SSN ).
Yep, I saw that...I think it's just good to get back to football...1st pre season...4 goals and none conceded (so far)
I know it's VOL...but good to see Cummings, Craig and Harris getting hopefully a regular habit started

05-07-2014, 03:47 PM
A nice start to the pre season campaign, can't do the confidence any harm. Well done to the youngsters!

05-07-2014, 03:48 PM
There are over 1,600 people currently viewing this thread.

It just goes to show how desperate we all get for some Fitba' during the Close Season :greengrin

Stuarty27
05-07-2014, 03:48 PM
who is captain?

hibbydog
05-07-2014, 03:51 PM

It just goes to show how desperate we all get for some Fitba' during the Close Season :greengrin

Much as I'm generally pissed off with all things Hibs, I desperately want to see us winning some games again.

So yeah, mon the Hibs !!!

05-07-2014, 03:51 PM

Nah. We're all on here waiting to stick the boot into Adrian Chiles on the World Cup thread.

05-07-2014, 03:52 PM
"Its plain to see we are now playing s style of football that suits liam craig!! What a difference in him....and Callum Booth... Sheer Class!!"

"
"Really good passing footy mate!! Complete opposite from what were used to"

Posted on everyone's favourite transfer rumours page. Guy seems a bit easily excitable but yous get the idea :greengrin

StarMan10
05-07-2014, 03:56 PM
who is captain?

Was Nelson first half not sure about second half

05-07-2014, 03:56 PM
Any word on how the trialists did?

05-07-2014, 03:57 PM
who is captain?

I think the answer is somewhere on the first couple of pages, when the team was announced.

Stuarty27
05-07-2014, 03:58 PM

omg

05-07-2014, 03:59 PM

Well, without wrestling with our consciences, we all thought he should be put on hold !!

05-07-2014, 03:59 PM
omg

Omg?

05-07-2014, 04:00 PM
who is captain?
That's the bad news said earlier it was Nelson but maybe he has a point or two to prove

hibs4thecup1988
05-07-2014, 04:04 PM
Finished 4-0 then?

05-07-2014, 04:05 PM
Finished 4-0 then?
Aye.

05-07-2014, 04:05 PM
That's the one. Jings, it was awful.

On the other hand, we're 3-0 up and Cummings has scored 2. Pity it's only a friendly.
And Harris has added a 4th He couldn't buy a goal at end of season when He was Butchered So if he can find form and Cummings starts banging then we have young players worth wT hing again as young Stanton will do well if managed properly

05-07-2014, 04:13 PM
On holiday so would be grateful of a summary of the game/line up please

05-07-2014, 04:19 PM

Agree. The World Cup is rubbish.

05-07-2014, 04:22 PM
On holiday so would be grateful of a summary of the game/line up please

Would imagine it will be up on the official Hibs site .. Soon

macd123
05-07-2014, 04:33 PM
That's the bad news said earlier it was Nelson but maybe he has a point or two to prove

As things stand we need Nelson particularly to defend set pieces. You would think AS will realise what he can and can't do and get someone else to pass the ball for us. Clean slate for him and craig i hope.

05-07-2014, 04:34 PM
Decent result, nice to see some young guys getting a bit of game time along with the senior players. Now let's get some signings!

coco22
05-07-2014, 04:48 PM
How are the two trialists playing? Buxton and Burke?

Also what's the football like? Are we playing football on the deck or Butchers punting up the park?

Ball on the deck, good passing and movement. Handling, Craig and stanton stand outs for me. Buxton strong in 1st half, like a heavy Murphy! Burke getting stuck in, quieter

05-07-2014, 05:08 PM
Thoroughly enjoyed that.

Pass and move, pass and move - it's a cultural change from receive ball in static position then blooter.

A very encouraging start for our new Manager regardless of the quality of the opposition.

05-07-2014, 05:42 PM
My header back onto the field was probably the best header of the game !Were you on the touchline wearing a hat ?..saw someone wi a wooly hat on heading the ball back onto the park ..cracking header if it was you ..:greengrin

05-07-2014, 06:04 PM
Pictures from today`s enjoyable afternoon in the sun.

https://picasaweb.google.com/102100932128616983363/LeithenValeVHibernianJuly5th2014?authuser=0&authkey=Gv1sRgCPeGy6rE6OuuwAE&feat=directlink

05-07-2014, 06:27 PM
Alex Harris looked great today. Always looking to use his pace and hit the bye line. Swung over some lovely crosses. The boy playing number 18 and the number 14 at the back also looked good. Much more pace about the team second half. A couple of additions to this squad and we could have an exciting season ahead.

05-07-2014, 06:27 PM

https://picasaweb.google.com/102100932128616983363/LeithenValeVHibernianJuly5th2014?authuser=0&authkey=Gv1sRgCPeGy6rE6OuuwAE&feat=directlink

Great stuff. Thanks for posting them.

05-07-2014, 06:38 PM

Some great pics there!

05-07-2014, 07:06 PM
Was at, and enjoyed the game today. Now I know it was only VOL, but was happy with the way we played. No sign of the "hoof-ball" employed last season. Lot of good passing ,movement off the ball always giving the player in possession more than one option. Thought the trialist right back looked wee bit on heavy/stocky side but was impressed with his play, [albeit he only got the first 45min], but he tackles well, makes intelligent overlapping runs, was quite assured on the ball and even takes a good free kick [had one late on in half and wasn't a million miles away from scoring], gave the back 4 a good balance imo. Alan Stubbs came into the Hibs crowd about 30 min before kick off and was quite happy to talk to supporters and have photo's taken with them. Asked numerous times about new players coming in [surprisingly], and told us not to worry as a few deals were nearing completion, the new guy George ? [think his surname is McNeil joined recently from Falkirk] was also talking to the crowd and when quiz by a supporter about the 'keper situation, more directly about MacDonald just having signed for Falkik replied that Hibs were aware of the situation and that they have a choice of goalkeepers who, in his and AS opinions , were better options.

05-07-2014, 07:09 PM
http://www1.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/9372865/hibs-ease-to-friendly-victory

http://www1.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/9372889/craig-excited-for-new-season-

05-07-2014, 07:10 PM
Was at, and enjoyed the game today. Now I know it was only VOL, but was happy with the way we played. No sign of the "hoof-ball" employed last season. Lot of good passing ,movement off the ball always giving the player in possession more than one option. Thought the trialist right back looked wee bit on heavy/stocky side but was impressed with his play, [albeit he only got the first 45min], but he tackles well, makes intelligent overlapping runs, was quite assured on the ball and even takes a good free kick [had one late on in half and wasn't a million miles away from scoring], gave the back 4 a good balance imo. Alan Stubbs came into the Hibs crowd about 30 min before kick off and was quite happy to talk to supporters and have photo's taken with them. Asked numerous times about new players coming in [surprisingly], and told us not to worry as a few deals were nearing completion, the new guy George ? [think his surname is McNeil joined recently from Falkirk] was also talking to the crowd and when quiz by a supporter about the 'keper situation, more directly about MacDonald just having signed for Falkik replied that Hibs were aware of the situation and that they have a choice of goalkeepers who, in his and AS opinions , were better options.

I really like Alan Stubbs so far. Hopefully he's the man who gets the opportunity to manage our team without the interference of Petrie to hold him back :aok:

05-07-2014, 07:18 PM
This is all very positive. Where is Hibercelona to tell us what was wrong with today's performance? :wink:

05-07-2014, 07:24 PM
This is all very positive. Where is Hibercelona to tell us what was wrong with today's performance? :wink:

He's in the pub with Rawr Rawr drowning their sorrows! :wink:

05-07-2014, 07:42 PM
http://www1.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/9372865/hibs-ease-to-friendly-victory

http://www1.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/9372889/craig-excited-for-new-season-

Check the guy in the crowd doing a forward roll. Who does he think we've just scored against? Rangers? Deary me.

05-07-2014, 07:46 PM
Anyone know if Jordan Sinclair played at all today?

05-07-2014, 07:47 PM
Anyone know if Jordan Sinclair played at all today?Came on as a sub mid second half ..:agree:

05-07-2014, 07:49 PM
Anyone know if Jordan Sinclair played at all today?

Came on in the second half and did ok :agree:

I was enthused by the style of play today. Little or no hoofball, played on the ground and passes smartly made. I know it was only our first friendly but the ethos seems to have sunk in already

05-07-2014, 07:49 PM
Came on as a sub mid second half ..:agree:

Thanks for that. Did he do OK?

05-07-2014, 07:59 PM
;4088000']Check the guy in the crowd doing a forward roll. Who does he think we've just scored against? Rangers? Deary me.****..is that what you do when ye score against rangers ...all those years Ive been doing ****ing backward flips tae !! :brickwall

05-07-2014, 08:03 PM
;4088000']Check the guy in the crowd doing a forward roll. Who does he think we've just scored against? Rangers? Deary me.

I'm a grumpy git, but found the forward roll mildly amusing.......Wonder if the roller posts on here?

05-07-2014, 11:29 PM

I was enthused by the style of play today. Little or no hoofball, played on the ground and passes smartly made. I know it was only our first friendly but the ethos seems to have sunk in already

Much as I HATE to admit it, John, I'm beginning to feel the first stirrings of hope and enthusiasm for the new season.

Seems to have been a good day all round. Vale got a good crowd to the match, nice sunny afternoon, the team (or teams?) playing football the way we really want it played ....

And a couple of encouraging interviews with Stubbs and Craig. Craig's had pelters on here, but I do feel he could be a very important player for us this season.

You know, I've lost count of the number of posts on here saying that we needed to clear out ALL the dross and start the rebuild from scratch. This is what we've done. Now it seems that AS and LD are working hard now to bring in new players - and NOT just bargain basement jobs; John Doolan coming in next week, sponsorship deals settled too ...

Better watch and no get too carried away here .... :wink:

05-07-2014, 11:34 PM

I was enthused by the style of play today. Little or no hoofball, played on the ground and passes smartly made. I know it was only our first friendly but the ethos seems to have sunk in alreadyA joy to watch JC .. to actually see football..played on the deck ....players moving into space ..making runs..two touch, fast..pacy ..controlled ****ing football ..yonks since I saw that ..:greengrin

05-07-2014, 11:40 PM
I'm a grumpy git, but found the forward roll mildly amusing.......Wonder if the roller posts on here?That was me ..wasnae actually a forward roll ..I bent down tae tie my lace just as the goal went in & my belly pulled me forward ..thank **** the fence was there !!

buktapurple79
06-07-2014, 08:24 AM
Really enjoyed yesterday, liked the style of play. The Mrs even drove and went to Peebles so I got the match and a few pints after! A perfect day only ruined by the ***** WC games at night!

06-07-2014, 09:27 AM
After a winning match update thread, does that mean l can start it again :greengrin

06-07-2014, 09:28 AM
After a winning match update thread, does that mean l can start it again :greengrin

Rules are you have to until / if we lose - then its the .net 'stocks' for you :aok:

06-07-2014, 10:04 AM
Rules are you have to until / if we lose - then its the .net 'stocks' for you :aok:

:paranoid::paranoid: