View Full Version : Summer holidays 2014?
03-07-2014, 07:26 PM
Where have you been/where are you going this year?
Any glorious/nightmare trips?
Not really getting a "big" summer holiday this year. Had a ski break in March, was home for a week at the end of May and discovering different regions of Switzerland this summer.
Got a weekend in Lyon for the marathon in early October, which isn't exactly a holiday but then got 2 nights in this wee joint to recover. B&B cost to me - diddly squat.
http://www.mypremiumeurope.com/luxury-hotels-in-europe/france/terre-blanche-spa-golf.htm
Where have you been/where are you going this year?
Any glorious/nightmare trips?
Not really getting a "big" summer holiday this year. Had a ski break in March, was home for a week at the end of May and discovering different regions of Switzerland this summer.
Got a weekend in Lyon for the marathon in early October, which isn't exactly a holiday but then got 2 nights in this wee joint to recover. B&B cost to me - diddly squat.
http://www.mypremiumeurope.com/luxury-hotels-in-europe/france/terre-blanche-spa-golf.htmJust back from 2 weeks in Icmeler Turkey, hot hot hot & was getting hotter as we left ..was hoping to go to Berlin in Sept but we are doing the driveway/garden instead ..but going to Budapest end of November for 4 nights ..cant wait for that ..:agree:
03-07-2014, 08:14 PM
Off to Icmeler on Sunday.
Managed to give myself a 2nd degree burn with the kettle at work today and currently walking around with a dressing on and an appointment for outpatients again tomorrow so that could puy a bit of a dampner on that.
Walking the Great Glen in October, girlfriends parents in Lincolnshire followed hy her cousins in Berkshire in January then York for the Dante Stakes next May.
Planning well in advance!
HarpyHibby
03-07-2014, 08:56 PM
Just back from a lads holiday to Zante on Sunday, away up north to my mum and dad's caravan for a week on the 14th and then finally going to Dortmund for the Scotland game in September! Wanting to fit in the West Highland Way at some point as well, but that's looking doubtful.
03-07-2014, 11:42 PM
Fly out tomorrow at midday to Lanzerote, Hibernian oblivion for two weeks, hopefully come back to some excellent signings :greengrin
04-07-2014, 01:41 AM
Am going away for 11 weeks in October (picked a no bad season to bugger off). Am heading to Spain for a month, Argentina for a month and finishing in Cuba with the odd day in Brazil and Uruguay. Never been to South America so any tips welcome.
Edit, just noticed it was a summer holiday thread. Well it will be summer in Argentina 😃
southfieldhibby
04-07-2014, 08:32 AM
I've hired a motorhome and I'm heading to Barra/Sth-Nth Uist/Skye for a fortnight in a couple of weeks.Long range forecast suggests the weather will be decent.
Never holidayed in Scotland before,looking forward to it.
04-07-2014, 09:50 AM
This year I'm going to Hameldaeme. :bitchy:
04-07-2014, 09:53 AM
I've hired a motorhome and I'm heading to Barra/Sth-Nth Uist/Skye for a fortnight in a couple of weeks.Long range forecast suggests the weather will be decent.
Beautiful scenery totally ruined by midges and tourists. You'll love it.
Gran Canaria for me. 2 weeks at the end of August. Can't wait.
StevieT
04-07-2014, 09:55 AM
Where did you hire this from? I have been thinking of doing something similar for next year.
Hibee-Bongo
04-07-2014, 03:07 PM
Not quite a holiday but jacking in my job and going travelling round the USA for 3 months at the end of August :coolhib:
05-07-2014, 12:28 PM
Currently in salou, sitting by the pool
06-07-2014, 09:49 PM
In Menorca right now. 11.45pm on balcony with a San Miguel.
over the line
06-07-2014, 10:15 PM
Went to Thailand (Coh Chang island) a couple of months ago for my brother in laws wedding. Lovely place n that but it took 29 (yes 29) hours each way!!! Three planes, three taxis, a ferry and four airports, each way!!!
There seemed to be a disproportionate amount of 50-60 year old European men, who travelled on their own? I wonder what they were doing there?!?!? :what:
When would it be reasonable to put the 2015 holiday thread up?
Just booked mine :-)
southfieldhibby
07-07-2014, 07:40 AM
Beautiful scenery totally ruined by midges and tourists. You'll love it.
Gran Canaria for me. 2 weeks at the end of August. Can't wait.
Dinnae.I'm a walking feast for the wee blighters.Avon skin so soft and one of those wee bands
Where did you hire this from? I have been thinking of doing something similar for next year.
A guy in Porty, half the price of anywhere else I've seen.It's a belter too.
07-07-2014, 07:57 AM
Currently in salou, sitting by the pool
Was in Salou at the end of May. Weather was crap. Kids loved the beach, theme park and the water shows. Thought it was OK but cant be doing with all the hassle from the shop owners.
Back to the costa del sol for christmas and new year :)
07-07-2014, 09:58 AM
Ourgate for me this year :boo hoo:
My youngest (14) has been to Paris/EuroDisney in April, he's then off to the Algarve for 10 days next week.. He's then away to Orlando with the missus and our middle one in October - they're doing 4 days in Universal (Royal Pacific) and 10 days in WDW (Disney's Caribbean Beach). Meanwhile, I will be at home with the hounds! :violin: Need ma heid looking at!! At 14 I was lucky to get to Scarborough or Girvan in a tent!
Just back from a few days in London, it was roasting hot so felt like we were abroad :) did Thorpe Patk, Harry potter studios, london dungeons, chessington world of adventures, london bridge experience and ate in all the usual planet hollywoods, tgi Fridays, sticky fingers etc. it was a fab hol but glad I have six weeks school hols to recover!
Disneyland Paris in oct :)
07-07-2014, 12:49 PM
Off to the Florida Keys/Miami on Thursday. Anyone know the best place to watch the WC final on Ocean Drive, Miami? :greengrin
Spent last week in the Stafford area where we went to Alton towers a few times and did things around the area. Had a day in Blackpool where we climbed the tower and had a battle of wills with the teddy-grabbers.
The UK is great when you get the weather.
07-07-2014, 03:01 PM
Well this is the 1st and last time i will be booking spain, usually go to the greek islands, have not liked salou at all, plus the weather has been terrible. 2 days sun out of 6 days so far
07-07-2014, 04:18 PM
Just back from a few days in London, it was roasting hot so felt like we were abroad :) did Thorpe Patk, Harry potter studios, london dungeons, chessington world of adventures, london bridge experience and ate in all the usual planet hollywoods, tgi Fridays, sticky fingers etc. it was a fab hol but glad I have six weeks school hols to recover!
Disneyland Paris in oct :)
You were abroad Mrs S. :wink:
Nowhere on this planet do I feel like I'm abroad than in London.
07-07-2014, 07:10 PM
Just back from Zante a couple of weeks back and off to London for 4 days on Thursday. Neil Young Saturday.
07-07-2014, 07:40 PM
Portugal, Loch Lomond and Dublin.
Mr Grieves
07-07-2014, 07:57 PM
Had a few days in Brussels, Ypres and Bruges in May. Belgium is a top place!
Brussels is a dump but I did a good beer tour and the chips are awesome, the In Flanders Fields Museum in Ypres is the best museum I have ever visited and Bruges is everything you expect it to be.
Had a couple of weeks relaxing with the family in Crete at the end of June, off to an Andalusian Pueblo Blanco with the wife at the end of august and hoping for a weekend in Belfast in September.
07-07-2014, 08:01 PM
April - golfed in Turkey
May - Dubrovnik, Croatia
June/July -Mallorca (just back)
August Boston/Montreal
September - golfing in Ireland
:smug:
08-07-2014, 10:41 AM
August - SCOTLAND
08-07-2014, 01:15 PM
When would it be reasonable to put the 2015 holiday thread up?
Just booked mine :-)
Don't see a problem with that. I've got both next years holidays booked and just working out if I can afford another.
08-07-2014, 01:43 PM
April - golfed in Turkey
May - Dubrovnik, Croatia
August Boston/Montreal
Jeezo you on perma holiday then ?
08-07-2014, 05:09 PM
April - golfed in Turkey
May - Dubrovnik, Croatia
August Boston/Montreal
Are you a school teacher Mr Radge?
Don't see a problem with that. I've got both next years holidays booked and just working out if I can afford another.
OK then, another cruise.
Fly to Buenos Aires for a few days before I get on the boat. Stops in Rio de Janeiro, Salvador and Recife in Brazil then off over the equator to Tenerife, Cadiz, Malaga, Palma, Valletta, Dubrovnik and finally Venice.
08-07-2014, 05:55 PM
April - golfed in Turkey
May - Dubrovnik, Croatia
August Boston/Montreal
08-07-2014, 07:15 PM
Well this is the 1st and last time i will be booking spain, usually go to the greek islands, have not liked salou at all, plus the weather has been terrible. 2 days sun out of 6 days so far
As do i pal :agree: Im off to Zante 24th August for 2 weeks.
Ive done Crete, Corfu and Zante a couple of times now and love the Greek islands, I can see me being in Greece for future holidays year upon year.
08-07-2014, 09:21 PM
OK then, another cruise.
Fly to Buenos Aires for a few days before I get on the boat. Stops in Rio de Janeiro, Salvador and Recife in Brazil then off over the equator to Tenerife, Cadiz, Malaga, Palma, Valletta, Dubrovnik and finally Venice.
That sounds amazing. Who's that with, through?
Went to Cuba in April, off to Malta and France next month, busy year but fun! Staycations in devon and eh, southend. Hopefully Scotland before end of year.
08-07-2014, 10:51 PM
Jeezo you on perma holiday then ?
Not yet!
I'm self employed and my busiest time is September to April, but I get enough during the summer to let me have a lot of time off.
I met a new partner yesterday, I was working in Dundee today and I've got a busy 4 days next week.
More than enough! :greengrin
08-07-2014, 10:53 PM
No. I'm a freelance business/management/leadership trainer and coach.
That sounds amazing. Who's that with, through?
MSC on the Magnifica.
Booked it through southfieldhibby who has his own travel agency on Great Junction Street ;-) Not sure if I'm allowed to say Fruitin Travel!!!!
09-07-2014, 07:27 AM
Went to Cuba in April, off to Malta and France next month, busy year but fun! Staycations in devon and eh, southend. Hopefully Scotland before end of year.
How did you find Cuba? Been swithering between Cuba and Jamaica for next year.
fantastic, Havana is a very interesting place and pretty much what i expected. Also spent a few days at a resort which was nice but could have been anywhere. Would recommend it before it changes which it is bound to once Castro dies
So you help people with their leadership skills. Did you at least try and interfere in the Liam Craig situation last season?
10-07-2014, 12:33 PM
So you help people with their leadership skills. Did you at least try and interfere in the Liam Craig situation last season?
I tried.
RP said they couldn't afford me. :wink:
10-07-2014, 04:02 PM
I tried.
RP said they couldn't afford me. :wink:
Was that an "expenses only" offer. :greengrin
Potty78
10-07-2014, 09:17 PM
Corfu on the 22nd for me:)
11-07-2014, 04:13 AM
Der Führer?
sidjames
13-07-2014, 10:41 AM
Aye you were always a right blether! :)
harpo
14-07-2014, 12:15 AM
The recession sucks :wink:
Leith for me :greengrin
14-07-2014, 06:30 AM
Tenerife for two weeks on Wednesday. Off to get a German top to mix it up a wee bit in the hotel bar at nights :wink:
19-07-2014, 01:58 AM
Hiberlin - got any recommendations for things to do in Berlin? I shall be there for the first time in the first 5 days in September. Any tips welcome. I'm staying in the Mitte district, I think! :agree::aok:
19-07-2014, 01:28 PM
Hiberlin - got any recommendations for things to do in Berlin? I shall be there for the first time in the first 5 days in September. Any tips welcome. I'm staying in the Mitte district, I think! :agree::aok:
Steve, I'm on holiday at the mo with dodgy WiFi. I'll try and pm you something later.
bobbyhibs1983
19-07-2014, 08:03 PM
just pretty much back from vegas(landed monday morning)
was a great trip though but the flights were super long(9hours and 30-45mins each way) from glasgow.
would recommened,
19-07-2014, 08:38 PM
@ Steve-O
Seems I can't do PM's with my mobile but here goes off the top of my head.
Do a boat trip, the old Berlin was built to be viewed from the water. I always thought the architecture in the city centre was skew whiff until I done the 21 bridges tour (only took me 10 years) and then the pieces fell into place. Berlin has more canal bridges than Venice and you can sit back and enjoy a beer while the city drifts past.
If the day is clear then go up the TV tower, there's excellent views around the city and you can have an Apfelstrudel and coffee in the Restaurant at the top which rotates at a leisurely pace.
Eating out. Go to Max & Moritz in Kreuzberg for local delicacies (take an appetite with you as German food is quite hefty) washed down with their own beer (Kreuzberger Mölle) and a pear schnapps to get the digestive system up and running.
Funnily enough the 4th Berlin highland games are taking place, another excuse to have a beer in the sun and maybe a wee dram to boot.
Berlin is also about a third Forrest, the most central one being the Tiergarten. Right in the middle there's a beer garten where not only can you enjoy q beer in the shade but also take the Mrs out on a rowing boat if the romantic side of you feels like it.
Get the Berlin welcome card, it gives you 72 hours travel on all public transport. Get it at the information in the airport.
Visit Potsdam, the gardens at Sanssouci are spectacular and there's really good museums about Fredrick der Grosse. Forward thinking all inclusive monarch in the 18th century who was a bit of a war mongerer but did advance German society no ends.
Right, back to my sangria. Hope that helped.
20-07-2014, 12:48 AM
Hey thanks a lot for taking time out your holiday, some good suggestions, pretty much all if which are new to me based on my minimal research so far!
Cheers :aok:
Off the bar
25-07-2014, 09:11 PM
Hey thanks a lot for taking time out your holiday, some good suggestions, pretty much all if which are new to me based on my minimal research so far!
Cheers :aok:
just back from Berlin, the bassist from Mogwai runs a bar in neukolln called 'das gift' a few good drams behind the bar and haggis on the menu!