View Full Version : Official Site: Pre-Season Friendly Fixtures Confirmed

RSS Bot
25-06-2014, 03:00 PM
Four warm-up games planned in schedule

More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20140625/pre-season-friendly-fixtures-confirmed_2262950_3930012)

1875HFC
25-06-2014, 03:06 PM
Real glamour fixtures we have there...

FastEddieFelson
25-06-2014, 03:07 PM
haud me back

RP1875
25-06-2014, 03:08 PM
Real glamour fixtures we have there...

Would rather the team took shape in confidence gaining games to be honest. This pre-season isn't the time for fannying about against big guns where we get pumped.

25-06-2014, 03:08 PM
Exciting stuff

25-06-2014, 03:11 PM
Remember we're a pishy wee lower league outfit now. :na na:

25-06-2014, 03:12 PM
Hearts get a friendly with Man City and we get Vale of Leithen :faf:

25-06-2014, 03:12 PM
The clouds are gathering.

25-06-2014, 03:13 PM
can't wait..

25-06-2014, 03:14 PM
I recall West Ham coming up to ER a number of years back and I wish Id worked late, I wouldn't pay high prices for pre season as it ain't for the fans anyway.

25-06-2014, 03:16 PM
Cant say I'm too fussed who we are playing. The main goal is to improve fitness and get the team to gel, and hopefully these fixtures will do that. Glamour ties are great but we've done that in the past, beyond the fans getting to see the stars of other teams, I don't see it benefiting the first team any more than playing lower league teams.

25-06-2014, 03:23 PM
Heading to ticket office now...

:zzzzz!:

In reality playing better teams should challenge you more - though a hammering off a better team doesn't help. Only a few years ago we were watching Messi, Henry and co run circles around us !

HIBS McNeil (Grof 82), van Zanten, Hanlon, Hogg (Canning 73), Jones, Murray (Thicot 46), Stevenson (Chisholm 46), Shiels (Rankin 73), Fletcher (Fletcher 65), Nish, O'Brien (Cropley 82).
BARCELONA Valdes (Pinto 46), Corcoles (Keita 65), Marquez (Caceres 46), Henry (Bojan 46), Pique, Dani Alves (Abraham 46), Vazquez (Crosas 30), Pedro (Hleb 65), Gudjohnsen (Eto'o 65), Sergio (Toure 46), Messi (Jeffren 46).

I would hope we add someone half decent to play into the schedule also.

25-06-2014, 03:28 PM

In reality playing better teams should challenge you more - though a hammering off a better team doesn't help. Only a few years ago we were watching Messi, Henry and co run circles around us !

HIBS McNeil (Grof 82), van Zanten, Hanlon, Hogg (Canning 73), Jones, Murray (Thicot 46), Stevenson (Chisholm 46), Shiels (Rankin 73), Fletcher (Fletcher 65), Nish, O'Brien (Cropley 82).
BARCELONA Valdes (Pinto 46), Corcoles (Keita 65), Marquez (Caceres 46), Henry (Bojan 46), Pique, Dani Alves (Abraham 46), Vazquez (Crosas 30), Pedro (Hleb 65), Gudjohnsen (Eto'o 65), Sergio (Toure 46), Messi (Jeffren 46).

Whatever became of Jordan Cropley?

25-06-2014, 03:31 PM

Is he not playing Junior Football at the minute.

Sure I read he was playing for Arniston or Haddington or something like that.

We released him 5 or so years ago I'm sure??

25-06-2014, 03:31 PM
all seem like reasonable warm up games within the central belt making it easier to bring in players as we go with no expensive trips abroad for no real reason.

25-06-2014, 03:32 PM
Seems some folk are gutted that we're not playing Barcelona, followed by a wee trip to Milan and then finishing back in the UK at Old Trafford

Nevi_SOL
25-06-2014, 03:34 PM
4 games more for our new look squad to gel chuffed :aok:

Nevi_SOL
25-06-2014, 03:36 PM

Newtongrange star :aok:

25-06-2014, 03:38 PM
Nothing wrong with these fixtures at all. As for the yams playing City, first off I doubt whether it will be City first team and secondly what do you think the City fans are saying about a game against them? Whelmed? Not.

25-06-2014, 03:39 PM
Seems some folk are gutted that we're not playing Barcelona, followed by a wee trip to Milan and then finishing back in the UK at Old Trafford

We could always round it off with a couple of friendly fixtures against Malmo just to boost the team's confidence.

25-06-2014, 03:42 PM

Wee could always round it off with a couple of friendly fixtures against Malmo just to boost the team's confidence.

Wouldn't mind Malmo away

davhibby
25-06-2014, 03:47 PM
We'll have a game against an English side on the 2nd of August as we're not in the league cup first round

25-06-2014, 03:48 PM
Used to go to pre seasons and testimonials but really cannae get interested in these non competitive fixtures these days. It would have to be something special to tempt me, Tenerife away perhaps.:wink:

As long as it gets the team match fit, allows the manager to try out players and formations and doesn't cost the club too much money then don't really care who it is.

We'll have a game against an English side on the 2nd of August as we're not in the league cup first round

And probably at home, need to get the current and new players used to Easter Rd

Plymouth away please

http://static.fjcdn.com/gifs/Reaction_3b29b2_262148.gif

25-06-2014, 03:54 PM
Yams are paying £25 a head for the man City game.

25-06-2014, 03:57 PM
Yams are paying £25 a head for the man City game.

Wonder if the club had to pay a fee to get City to play them? Remember last season they paid a sum to get a German side over for a tax dodging cheats fundraiser and barely broke even or made a loss.

25-06-2014, 03:58 PM
Jeezo folk getting in a flap about pre season opponents.

The fixtures look like sensible ones to me.

25-06-2014, 04:00 PM
Unless it's away then pre season games are dire, you're paying money to watch teams not give 100%

Lewis77
25-06-2014, 04:00 PM

Part of me believes that's what should be happening.

25-06-2014, 04:12 PM
A couple of nice we afternoons oot and a we sesh over in Dunfermline.

ionahibby
25-06-2014, 04:21 PM
Looking forward to berwick! Had a fantastic trip last time we were there. It was a scorcher as well if i remember!

25-06-2014, 04:45 PM
Jeezo folk getting in a flap about pre season opponents.

The fixtures look like sensible ones to me.

Surely the main aim is NOT for the fans to have a nice day out, it's to give the team (hopefully with new players) a chance to gel.

25-06-2014, 04:50 PM
There are more fixtures to be announced:agree:

25-06-2014, 04:52 PM

What are you hearing? I would have thought we'd be playing 2 games a week pre the season starting.

Everton?

25-06-2014, 04:56 PM
What are you hearing? I would have thought we'd be playing 2 games a week pre the season starting.

Everton?

Afraid not Billy, it says so on the club statement:greengrin

25-06-2014, 04:57 PM

Barca were EVS -1 goal that night, one of the greatest value prices of all time.

25-06-2014, 05:02 PM
I heard Hibs were having a tour of Bavaria and due to play Unterhaching, 1860 and Augsburg...

...although that might just have been wishful thinking on my part :wink:

25-06-2014, 05:04 PM
I heard Hibs were having a tour of Bavaria and due to play Unterhaching, 1860 and Augsburg...

...although that might just have been wishful thinking :wink:

We could get Peterhead or Elgin away in the Ramsden's Cup

25-06-2014, 05:06 PM

It's not about who we play, it's about where we play, for me. Give me Port Vale away if you like, just was hoping for a nice wee trip outside of Scotland.

25-06-2014, 05:08 PM
In the highly unlikely event that Hibs do come over to Munich, everybody's invited to mine for the after match party

ginger_rice
25-06-2014, 05:15 PM
Plymouth away please

Home Park against my second green & white team yes please :agree:

25-06-2014, 05:19 PM
Would rather the team took shape in confidence gaining games to be honest. This pre-season isn't the time for fannying about against big guns where we get pumped.

I agree. Big glamour fixtures are great to go and see but purely for the joy of seeing big stars but playing someone we can actually give a game to must surely be better for players preperations.

25-06-2014, 05:21 PM
Jeezo, that announcement stops just short of saying that cream teas are available at the games, and the minister will be taking part in a penalty shoot out at half time. Makes the club sound like they're organising a Sunday School picnic.

25-06-2014, 05:28 PM
If it gives Stubbs the right games to prepare the squad for the coming season I don't care who we play.

Trip to Stirling on the cards as I can't make the other 3 due to hols and work.

Aaron
25-06-2014, 05:30 PM
It's not about who we play, it's about where we play, for me. Give me Port Vale away if you like, just was hoping for a nice wee trip outside of Scotland.

We have one. Berwick Rangers Shielfield Park is in England :wink:

25-06-2014, 05:32 PM
Nothing wrong with these fixtures at all. As for the yams playing City, first off I doubt whether it will be City first team and secondly what do you think the City fans are saying about a game against them? Whelmed? Not.

No but Citeh fans get a wee trip to Edinburgh which is great.

Was hoping for at least one game in England that I could have gone to (not Carlisle).

25-06-2014, 05:34 PM
Purpose of these games will be to get the system/style of play well drilled into the players, if we were playing games we were going to get hammered in it wouldn't serve any purpose whatsoever. Some cracking days out aswell, always love going over the bridge to see us play the Pars. Also, might even cycle down to Innerleithen if the weathers nice.

25-06-2014, 05:43 PM
Anyone remember the pre season away to Berwick, I'm sure it was before the one 3 years ago, when we had that unit of a CB playing as a trialist?

He was a great watch, barking orders all game and then went on a 60 yard run near the end. He Was some character! Murder, but entertaining to watch.

25-06-2014, 05:47 PM
Plymouth away please

You been to Plymouth? It's a dump!

25-06-2014, 06:06 PM

We could always round it off with a couple of friendly fixtures against Malmo just to boost the team's confidence.

Might be the time to use the bus pass for pre match swally in the Middle Pub! :aok:

25-06-2014, 06:49 PM
Berwick and Dunfermline are great trips to which we always take massive supports. I might've known folk would complain....probably the folk who had no intention of going in the first place.

25-06-2014, 06:50 PM
I went to a friendly once, it was awful. And that's all I'm going to say about friendlies. Don't like them, don't do them and don't get why people are jealous if Hertz "glamour" friendly against a team who won't even be trying.

25-06-2014, 06:51 PM
Berwick and Dunfermline are great trips to which we always take massive supports. I might've known folk would complain....probably the folk who had no intention of going in the first place.

Spot on S, looking forward to a wee trip doon the borders...only 10 days to go :thumbsup:

25-06-2014, 09:59 PM
Some cracking games there to get us going for new season 1. Vale of lethan 2. Berwick rangers 3. Pars 4. Stirling Albion all before we play our first fixture in the "ramsdens cup".

Hopefully we can get a glamour friendly in before the fun of the championship kicks in.

I wonder if we can get a game v an SPL team before the season starts

25-06-2014, 10:16 PM
Forget about whether or not the matches are glamourous enough, will we actually have enough players to play Vale of Leithen? :confused:

Considering that's just over a week away, we better start signing up some players or else it will be five-a-sides that we'll be playing.

25-06-2014, 10:26 PM
I used the Barcelona game as an example of what we played a few years ago - not because I expected this type of game or think it's a good idea.

I would expect us to play an English team or an SPL team and at home - players need to get used to home pitch and get over their so called fear of playing there !

I'm fascinated to see which players play these games and Stubbs style of play.

Spartans are playing Hibs 20s in July also I read somewhere.

25-06-2014, 10:32 PM
I used the Barcelona game as an example of what we played a few years ago - not because I expected this type of game or think it's a good idea.

I would expect us to play an English team or an SPL team and at home - players need to get used to home pitch and get over their so called fear of playing there !

I'm fascinated to see which players play these games and Stubbs style of play.

Spartans are playing Hibs 20s in July also I read somewhere.
And Craigroyston are playing the 20's as well

25-06-2014, 10:45 PM
The list of games is bad enough but do Hibs have to try and sell something at the bottom of each announcement ? In this one we are trying to flog T shirts. I love Hibs but feel they are trying alienate the support

25-06-2014, 10:47 PM
20 quid return on the train to Berwick for me and the brats. Kushty.

berwickhibee
25-06-2014, 11:03 PM
Anyone remember the pre season away to Berwick, I'm sure it was before the one 3 years ago, when we had that unit of a CB playing as a trialist?

He was a great watch, barking orders all game and then went on a 60 yard run near the end. He Was some character! Murder, but entertaining to watch.

I remember him!! he was huge. cant remember his name??? was it the 4-1 game,mowbray was manager,deeks and O'Connor played up front and both scored early on.

26-06-2014, 07:07 AM
I am absolutely delighted with that pre season card.....some mouth watering clashes coming up

26-06-2014, 07:10 AM

Did he not start fighting with his own players or was that someone else. ...

sbell1875
26-06-2014, 12:29 PM
I wonder how the other half would feel if I suggested Berwick for our 5th anniversary?

26-06-2014, 12:59 PM
Hibs could announce that they were giving £1 million away to charity and some posters would bitch their tits off that it wasn't £1,000,001.

number 27
26-06-2014, 01:27 PM
Hibs could announce that they were giving £1 million away to charity and some posters would bitch their tits off that it wasn't £1,000,001.

Hibs could follow years of under achievement by getting themselves relegated from the weakest ever top flight and some posters would have the cheek to be a bit peed off :rolleyes:

26-06-2014, 03:40 PM
Hibs could follow years of under achievement by getting themselves relegated from the weakest ever top flight and some posters would have the cheek to be a bit peed off :rolleyes:

Is it not about time folk moved on and started to get up for the promotion attempt rather than lashing out at everything Hibs do?

26-06-2014, 03:45 PM
Is it not about time folk moved on and started to get up for the promotion attempt rather than lashing out at everything Hibs do?

Dinnae be silly the poor wee souls have to have something to greet about.

26-06-2014, 06:55 PM

I wouldnae be happy, it'd be better spent on players, the extra pound as well.

26-06-2014, 09:41 PM
The trialist was Cameroon international Michel-Pensee Billong, who had an amazing altercation with team mate Gary Caldwell when the two could not agree on positioning when defending a free kick.

berwickhibee
27-06-2014, 10:53 AM
The trialist was Cameroon international Michel-Pensee Billong, who had an amazing altercation with team mate Gary Caldwell when the two could not agree on positioning when defending a free kick.

good knowledge:greengrin

27-06-2014, 06:23 PM
Anyone know of any other pre season games on the cards?

27-06-2014, 06:44 PM
The more I keep saying it won't make if so, but I'd love a game at Goodison Park, what with the Stubbs connection.

27-06-2014, 06:46 PM
The more I keep saying it won't make if so, but I'd love a game at Goodison Park, what with the Stubbs connection.

Let's get a team together before we take them on. Maybe next preseason

28-06-2014, 06:04 AM

10/10 good post.
It will be a long time before I forgive Hibs for this one.

Possible that if we beat Hearts and the Rangers four times each, go onto win the league and have two good cup runs plus (not the ramsdens cup), I might say well done Hibs.
The above results would be great but we should never of been here in the first place

woodythehibee
28-06-2014, 08:45 AM
Glamorous ties look good on paper. In reality an EPL side would bring down an XI side (probably barring a couple of bigger names players) snd since they are so far behind their pre season than us, it's not very competitive. Look at the Sunderland game at ER A few years ago. Pretty dull

28-06-2014, 08:56 AM
I enjoyed the Bolton game a few years ago.

Despite being stuck on the M5 for most of the day.

28-06-2014, 10:14 AM

:agree: The Yams have roped in City because they are desperate to fill their coffers to stop their 100 year old asbestos dome from collapsing. Hibs should be concentrating on getting a team assembled and preparing for the new season - as it goes I'm sure that will include a higher profile fixture at Easter Rd - not that I'll be breaking my neck to get there as pre-season fixtures are rarely much of a spectacle regardless of the opposition or outcome.

28-06-2014, 10:25 AM
He was at Haddington, as was Jack Wilson. Wilson is at Newtongrange now, Cropley may be too. He was nothing out of the ordinary, even at that level.

His dad's great crack though and you could stand in awe listening to him for hours!

28-06-2014, 10:29 AM
Absolutely. Chance of a bus to the Dunfermline game aswell?

28-06-2014, 07:32 PM
Jambos playing a random foreign team at Leigh again. A few teams based here training over the summer...

28-06-2014, 09:44 PM
I seen on the leigh message board someone made an error and thought it was us playing at Leigh.