View Full Version : Kevin Thomson

Chris.igoe
22-06-2014, 03:29 PM
Heard a story today but to me it sounds silly . But just thought no better place to find out.

Has Thomson 100% signed for Dundee ?

22-06-2014, 03:36 PM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/27629572

22-06-2014, 03:37 PM
50% signed for Dundee, 50% signed for Dundee Utd. They get a half each for derby games.

What you heard?

22-06-2014, 03:40 PM
It surprises me when folk take the time to ask a question on here and wait for a response when the likes of "Thomson signs Dundee" on Google would have answered it in two seconds.

MontrealHibs
22-06-2014, 03:41 PM
Heard a story today but to me it sounds silly . But just thought no better place to find out.

He is their club captain now.

22-06-2014, 03:42 PM
He is their club captain now.

Aye but is he?

22-06-2014, 03:44 PM

Has Thomson 100% signed for Dundee ?

So what's the silly story you have heard.?

22-06-2014, 03:46 PM

She sells seashells on the seashore? :dunno:

Chris.igoe
22-06-2014, 03:46 PM
See that's what I thought but a few of his family members have been sayn the he still has not put pen to paper. I thought they were talking bull but say seemed honest enuf to me .

JPrinty
22-06-2014, 03:49 PM
I had heard he had only verbally agreed to join Dundee!

Chris.igoe
22-06-2014, 03:51 PM
The last time they told me that butcher did not like him and he was not going to get a game so I posted it and got shot down in flames by everyone on here for it then it happend . So I really don't know what to think about this one. I.e him not signing to wait on Hibs sacking butcher and see what happens.
It all sounds silly to me but you never know.

22-06-2014, 03:51 PM
Every time i think of KT i think of THAT penalty miss..Cant help it and know he has been fantastic for us over the years and should be remembered for the right things but every time i think of Thomson its THAT penalty miss.

22-06-2014, 03:52 PM
I heard he walked over broken glass on the A90 to sign for Dundee.

22-06-2014, 03:56 PM

I heard he's been a massive Dundee fan all his life.

22-06-2014, 04:25 PM

22-06-2014, 04:28 PM
When transfer window open ?

22-06-2014, 04:33 PM
Every time i think of KT i think of THAT penalty miss..Cantsolep it and know hen fantastic for us over the years and should be remembered for the right things but every time i think of Thomson its THAT penalty miss.

I admire anybody who would take the first penalty in that situation. I'd rather have someone who has the confidence/arrogance to take the first pen than someone who hides.

BS44
22-06-2014, 04:38 PM
Every time i think of KT i think of THAT penalty miss..Cant help it and know he has been fantastic for us over the years and should be remembered for the right things but every time i think of Thomson its THAT penalty miss.

His entire career he has scored four times, twice for us and twice for some mob that have long since been liquidated. Makes you wonder why he even took one of the penalties never mind the first, though I suspect he stepped up when the rest of the team were all hiding behind each other not wanting to take the responsibility. I'd be suprised if Hibs had been practising penalties in the days before the game

22-06-2014, 04:39 PM

Pat Stanton is not remembered for stepping up and missing against Leeds. If I'm right, the last time we lost a shoot out.
Stop thinking about him. That's the best advice.

TrinityHibs
22-06-2014, 04:51 PM
I admire anybody who would take the first penalty in that situation. I'd rather have someone who has the confidence/arrogance to take the first pen than someone who hides.

I'd rather have someone who scores

22-06-2014, 04:54 PM

Oh for sure, KT had the bottle to step up to the plate and gets the utmost respect from me BUT ill remember his time at ER for THAT penalty.

His entire career he has scored four times, twice for us and twice for some mob that have long since been liquidated. Makes you wonder why he even took one of the penalties never mind the first, though I suspect he stepped up when the rest of the team were all hiding behind each other not wanting to take the responsibility. I'd be suprised if Hibs had been practising penalties in the days before the game

KT should never in a million years have taken a penalty let alone the first penalty.

22-06-2014, 04:59 PM
Oh for sure, KT had the bottle to step up to the plate and gets the utmost respect from me BUT ill remember his time at ER for THAT penalty.

KT should never in a million years have taken a penalty let alone the first penalty.

The fact that he wasn't in the starting line up for that last disastrous game will be my recollection.

22-06-2014, 05:01 PM
I heard from someone who would know that he had yet to sign for Dundee. That was a couple of weeks ago so that situation may well have changed.

22-06-2014, 05:37 PM

Likewise!

Tom Hart RIP
22-06-2014, 06:01 PM
I heard from someone who would know that he had yet to sign for Dundee. That was a couple of weeks ago so that situation may well have changed.

Ditto.

22-06-2014, 06:03 PM
Has he passed the medical ?.

22-06-2014, 06:41 PM
Funnily enough I heard that he hadn't actually signed for Dundee either but dismissed at nonsense.

Interesting someone else has heard the same.

Ken
22-06-2014, 06:46 PM
For those who have heard this rumour, was there any chat of the possibility of him signing a new deal with us?

coco22
22-06-2014, 06:56 PM
For those who have heard this rumour, was there any chat of the possibility of him signing a new deal with us?

Wanted to stay at (butcherless) hibs but, as the order of the queue for the revolving exit door was ridiculously ordered, we will never know

22-06-2014, 07:00 PM
Bit strange to parade in a Dundee shirt three weeks ago and be made club captain if you haven't signed for them.

http://www.scotsman.com/webimage/1.3428399.1401468674!/image/3626102012.jpg_gen/derivatives/articleImgDeriv_628px/3626102012.jpg

22-06-2014, 07:11 PM
Bit strange to parade in a Dundee shirt three weeks ago and be made club captain if you haven't signed for them.

http://www.scotsman.com/webimage/1.3428399.1401468674!/image/3626102012.jpg_gen/derivatives/articleImgDeriv_628px/3626102012.jpg

But please we need last seasons team back together, amazing now that's few weeks have passed people have forgotten just how bad each and everyone of our players were, no exceptions they all got us relegated.

22-06-2014, 07:12 PM
From their official website -

Dundee are delighted to announce the completion of a triple signing this afternoon at a press conference at Dens Park.

Manager Paul Hartley will unveil goalkeeper Scott Bain and midfielder Kevin Thomson to the press while it will also announced that James McPake has joined the club.

Kevin comes with a wealth of experience, capped for Scotland, he's also won all of the top honours in the Scottish game. During his time with Rangers he featured a number of times on the European stage. Playing in the Champions League as well as featuring in the UEFA Cup, a tournament which he played the full 90 minutes in the Final in 2008.

22-06-2014, 07:14 PM

Exactly. Accept he's gone and also accept that he's nothing special anyway. Best of a bad bunch maybe but not the messiah that many on here proclaim him to be. Move on please.

Up The Bracket
22-06-2014, 07:20 PM
I'm delighted he's away, overrated, partly at fault for Hamilton's second goal and missed the penalty, don't understand the praise he gets, brilliant first time around, but I can't even remember 5 good games he's had for us the second time around.

Good luck Dundee.

Caversham Green
22-06-2014, 07:25 PM

Off topic, but a bittersweet memory from the 2004 League cup semi penalty shoot-out.

Commetator (with the usual fake gravitas that all commentators seem to use): "So Terry, what would you be telling your players at this point?"

Terry Butcher: "Score."

I warmed to TB at that point and thought he'd be a good fit for the Hibs manager's job. Still sad it didn't work out.

22-06-2014, 07:25 PM

The three we did score were taken by McGivern, Craig and Tudur Jones, yet most posters on here want rid of at least two if not all three.

I'd prefer Thomson to any of them.

22-06-2014, 07:33 PM

Mo Johnstone?

nribs
22-06-2014, 07:40 PM
Mo Johnstone?

Nope definitely Kevin Thomson.

22-06-2014, 07:41 PM

M90 :rolleyes:

Get it right!

It's only A90 for the short distance between Perth and Dundee :wink:

Ferry Hibbee
22-06-2014, 07:52 PM
Was there not an instance where a Ross County player tranferred to St Johnstone and then had the transfer cancelled, Paul Brittain or Richard perhaps..... If true, come back Kevin, rip up the paperwork. the fans wanted you to stay.

22-06-2014, 07:56 PM
Was there not an instance where a Ross County player tranferred to St Johnstone and then had the transfer cancelled, Paul Brittain or Richard perhaps..... If true, come back Kevin, rip up the paperwork. the fans wanted you to stay.

Richard Brittain had signed a pre-contract, not an actual contract. He then changed his mind.

Ferry Hibbee
22-06-2014, 07:57 PM
Thanks CWG for clarification.

Jumbo
22-06-2014, 08:07 PM
Richard Brittain had signed a pre-contract, not an actual contract. He then changed his mind.

It was to do with his wife suffering post natal depression, he felt he couldn't move her away from her family and St Johnstone agreed to rip up pre contract

22-06-2014, 08:12 PM
Delighted hes gone.

Chris.igoe
22-06-2014, 08:19 PM
I am still not sure if I have my answer yet.

I think with good players around him and him pulling the strings he could do a job.

22-06-2014, 08:23 PM
Underwhelmed is an understatement.

22-06-2014, 09:54 PM
Hopefully he has signed for Dundee and that there is no reason whatsoever that he will be playing in a hibs shirt next season. He hasn't performed for hibs since he left us to crawl over glass the first time so he's to blame as much as anyone else in relegating the club and putting people out jobs. Cheerio Katie dinnae let the door smash your arse on the way out!

Twiglet
22-06-2014, 09:59 PM

Like our main penalty taker/captain who didn't even take the second one either?
I had more respect for Thomson when I left that match than I did for Craig that's for sure.

22-06-2014, 10:01 PM
Like our main penalty taker/captain who didn't even take the second one either?
I had more respect for Thomson when I left that match than I did for Craig that's for sure.

Craig did score his though

Twiglet
22-06-2014, 10:04 PM
Craig did score his though

Why didn't he take the first one though? There are 2 people I would expect to be up first, the captain or the main penalty taker - Craig was both of those. A captain should be leading his team, he didn't. By the time Craig stepped up it was too late.

22-06-2014, 10:05 PM
Delighted hes gone.

:tin hat::tin hat: - one for each of us :greengrin

22-06-2014, 10:07 PM
Hopefully he has signed for Dundee and that there is no reason whatsoever that he will be playing in a hibs shirt next season. He hasn't performed for hibs since he left us to crawl over glass the first time so he's to blame as much as anyone else in relegating the club and putting people out jobs. Cheerio Katie dinnae let the door smash your arse on the way out!

You are talking pish.

22-06-2014, 10:08 PM
Why didn't he take the first one though? There are 2 people I would expect to be up first, the captain or the main penalty taker - Craig was both of those. A captain should be leading his team, he didn't. By the time Craig stepped up it was too late.

I the pressure is less the earlier you take your penalty, by the time you get to penalty 3 out of 5 it's more intense and requires more composure to take a penalty well.

I have no idea who decides what order the penalties are taken in but I would assume the manager gets volunteers and hen decides the order rather than the captain

22-06-2014, 10:28 PM
No huns at hibs

22-06-2014, 11:06 PM
Delighted hes gone.

23-06-2014, 12:00 AM
You are talking pish.

Name me a game where thommo has been the stand out player in a hibs victory this season???

23-06-2014, 06:22 AM

where have we seen that sort of thing before. :greengrin

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/23/3equpe5u.jpg

23-06-2014, 07:30 AM
Name me a game where thommo has been the stand out player in a hibs victory this season???
That's a difficult one , he didn't play in many games and we didn't win many ,but he is away now end of so let's move on is my view .He had a great wee cameo role in last game against Thistle when he was pulling the strings and prompting players and they responded but it was all to brief and he went off injured again so if Dundee get a full season out him good luck to them

Iceman1875
23-06-2014, 07:43 AM
My understanding is he has agreed to sign for Dundee on July 1st for 2 years although nothing yet has been signed.

At Easter Road we play...

23-06-2014, 07:45 AM
That's a difficult one , he didn't play in many games and we didn't win many ,but he is away now end of so let's move on is my view .He had a great wee cameo role in last game against Thistle when he was pulling the strings and prompting players and they responded but it was all to brief and he went off injured again so if Dundee get a full season out him good luck to them

He played in plenty games.

23-06-2014, 08:12 AM
Delighted hes gone.

:agree::thumbsup:

23-06-2014, 08:14 AM

If that numpty Butcher hadn't treated him like a leper, he'd have contributed a hellova lot more in the season but that's another debate.

23-06-2014, 09:35 AM
If that numpty Butcher hadn't treated him like a leper, he'd have contributed a hellova lot more in the season but that's another debate.

23-06-2014, 09:48 AM
;4072744']No huns at hibs
And get Stubbs out the door too, nae Tims

23-06-2014, 10:07 AM

Cos he very rarely got picked

If he had played in more games we would have won and probably not be relegated

23-06-2014, 10:16 AM
Cos he very rarely got picked

If he had played in more games we would have won and probably not be relegated

Bollocks.

23-06-2014, 10:21 AM
One of the most overrated players ever to play for the club.

Turkish Green
23-06-2014, 10:41 AM
From their official website -

Dundee are delighted to announce the completion of a triple signing this afternoon at a press conference at Dens Park.

I have checked with a agents' site I subscribe to and it has Thomson (& McPake) as having signed for Dundee. This is never done unless the paperwork has gone through.

23-06-2014, 12:18 PM
Bollocks.

Bollocks he very rarely got picked or bollocks we wouldn't have been relegated

Opinions eh !?!?

23-06-2014, 12:39 PM
Bollocks he very rarely got picked or bollocks we wouldn't have been relegated

Opinions eh !?!?

Both. He played in 18 league games, and in those games didn't ever do much.

23-06-2014, 12:47 PM
Both. He played in 18 league games, and in those games didn't ever do much.

Would disagree.... When he played he was the best player on the park

However as I said opinions eh

23-06-2014, 12:50 PM

Kevin should have been played more near the end of the season however he also played in many of our worst performances, Malmo, losing to yams etc.

24-06-2014, 12:41 AM
And get Stubbs out the door too, nae Tims

Nah they're alright. Our green Glasgow brothers.

24-06-2014, 01:02 AM
Kevin should have been played more near the end of the season however he also played in many of our worst performances, Malmo, losing to yams etc.

Correct some folk just canny see through the fact that he's been part of why we were relegated. Poor performances on the park poor attitude to training. Wouldn't surprise me if some of these posters who are backing him are mates/family or even thommo himself.

24-06-2014, 08:00 AM
Correct some folk just canny see through the fact that he's been part of why we were relegated. Poor performances on the park poor attitude to training. Wouldn't surprise me if some of these posters who are backing him are mates/family or even thommo himself.

It's when people like you make things up like that that you lose all credibility.

24-06-2014, 08:14 AM
;4074066']Nah they're alright. Our green Glasgow brothers.

:fishin: I hope.

24-06-2014, 08:15 AM

How do you know this?

24-06-2014, 08:36 AM

Well, he played for over an hour against Hamilton in the last game on the season. He came on as a sub, so in theory, should have been fresher than the other midfielders around him. He contributed to that game pretty much what he contributed to most games (not all, cos I'm not anti-KT, I admit the guy is a decent player, he wasn't last season though) he played over the course of the season. No attacking threat. No creativity. No defensive cover. He gave nowt.

24-06-2014, 08:44 AM
Well, he played for over an hour against Hamilton in the last game on the season. He came on as a sub, so in theory, should have been fresher than the other midfielders around him. He contributed to that game pretty much what he contributed to most games (not all, cos I'm not anti-KT, I admit the guy is a decent player, he wasn't last season though) he played over the course of the season. No attacking threat. No creativity. No defensive cover. He gave nowt.

Boy got a neck strain within minutes of coming on .....

24-06-2014, 08:57 AM

When people like yourself start spouting p1sh like this, it just shows you as someone with a personal vendetta against certain players.

Turkish Green
24-06-2014, 09:02 AM
He played in 18 league games, and in those games didn't ever do much.
For the record the results of those 18 games were: W2, D4, L12. Add to that the 2 defeats against Malmo, the LC defeat to the yams and the 2nd leg Play-off humiliation. KT's overall stats for the season were W2 D4 L16.

And a moot point is that he started in 15 league games and was only subbed 3 times.

Of course he could just have been a square peg in a round hole under TB. Time will tell.

24-06-2014, 09:05 AM
When people like yourself start spouting p1sh like this, it just shows you as someone with a personal vendetta against certain players.

You want to see edinburghhibee and his attitude to training.....he's a lazy *******!:greengrin

24-06-2014, 09:07 AM
Boy got a neck strain within minutes of coming on .....

I expected someone to say something like that. Too many willing to overlook KT's reluctance to demand the ball from the defenders, and blame Butchers (shocking) tactics, for his lack of involvement.

24-06-2014, 09:08 AM
You want to see edinburghhibee and his attitude to training.....he's a lazy *******!:greengrin

Hahaha harsh i'm no getting paid thousands a week to do it tho.

24-06-2014, 09:11 AM
Hahaha harsh i'm no getting paid thousands a week to do it tho.

True, but you should be mate! :wink:

Pre-season in 2 weeks, you going? I am not looking forward to doing any running.

24-06-2014, 09:12 AM

Your right it is a bit of a personal vendetta however not just against him but against all of those spineless losers that continually wasted opportunities to save our club from the drop. I can understand players and management having off days now and again but since the turn of the year they were a joke, and I personally don't want to see any of them back in a hibs top again.

24-06-2014, 09:16 AM
True, but you should be mate! :wink: Pre-season in 2 weeks, you going? I am not looking forward to doing any running.

Mate I'm the Robert Prosinecki of the amateur game, just without the skill, passing abilities, birds, Croatian passport and money ;)

Aye mate going but shifts have changed at work so now start at 4 on a Saturday which might **** me if playing outside edinburgh

24-06-2014, 09:19 AM
Thomson was in the wrong place at the wrong time at ER ....... useless team with no prospects, useless manager with overrated reputation for man-management and motivational skills, useless coach with draconian methods. Thomson has been accused of poor attitude, ***** stirring etc. and I've no doubt he isn't an innocent victim in the shambolic debacle. I'm convinced things would have been different if Butcher was out of the picture and I'm sure he would have still been at ER if Butcher had been removed earlier. In my opinion, he was one of our better players and will be a big success at Dundee.

24-06-2014, 09:42 AM

Well this looks like personal vendetta :confused:

24-06-2014, 10:16 AM
One of the most overrated players ever to play for the club.

Sadly have got to agree with that !
If he hadn't come thro' at the same time as Brown,Whittaker etal doubt if he would really have been noticed
Certainly for me he underachieved big time !!

24-06-2014, 10:54 AM
I expected someone to say something like that. Too many willing to overlook KT's reluctance to demand the ball from the defenders, and blame Butchers (shocking) tactics, for his lack of involvement.

Every game I saw him he was demanding the ball but ended up frustrated at the Hoofball

24-06-2014, 11:07 AM
Think we need to move in from KT regardless how or why things happened he's now a Dundee player and won't be back at hibs.

24-06-2014, 11:09 AM
Think we need to move in from KT regardless how or why things happened he's now a Dundee player and won't be back at hibs.

24-06-2014, 11:18 AM

:top marks:agree:

IanFaeClerrie
24-06-2014, 06:08 PM
Pat Stanton is not remembered for stepping up and missing against Leeds.

That's how I remember Pat

confused
24-06-2014, 06:20 PM
Come'on lads lets move on , K.T. has gone , thanks for what you did for us in your time at E.R. and all the best in the future ,

24-06-2014, 07:43 PM
:fishin: I hope.

Never been fishing in my life.

24-06-2014, 07:56 PM

Agree but some folk don't seem to want to .Its more important who we now do sign that will determine our future

25-06-2014, 04:08 AM
Sadly have got to agree with that !
If he hadn't come thro' at the same time as Brown,Whittaker etal doubt if he would really have been noticed
Certainly for me he underachieved big time !!

Sorry but that makes no sense. He's overrated and wouldn't have been noticed if it wasn't for brown and whittikar but your saying he under achieved? Completely contradicting yourself

Thomson was and still is a brilliant footballer IMO. Pulling up stats about for much games we won with him is irrelevant he can't do it himself! He was our best player till butcher came in

25-06-2014, 09:28 AM
Sorry but that makes no sense. He's overrated and wouldn't have been noticed if it wasn't for brown and whittikar but your saying he under achieved? Completely contradicting yourself

Thomson was and still is a brilliant footballer IMO. Pulling up stats about for much games we won with him is irrelevant he can't do it himself! He was our best player till butcher came in

I watched KT play for Hibs from an early age and always thought he had a bit of class about him.
Unfortunately , like many before him, he just didn't quite make it to the very top
He was part of a good side ( Brown Whittaker et al) which helped carry him along and stand by what I said about him being some what overrated
Appreciate it is your opinion re " best player till butcher came in " but beg too differ , : can't think of one game after his return where he imposed himself.
Anyway he has gone to pastures new and that is that !!:greengrin

Potty78
27-06-2014, 01:08 PM
Just met Kevin in peebles golf club. Wanted to stay but decision was out of his hands. Spoke highly about the club. He thinks Stubbs will be good and interestingly speaks highly of David weir.

27-06-2014, 01:44 PM
Just met Kevin in peebles golf club. Wanted to stay but decision was out of his hands. Spoke highly about the club. He thinks Stubbs will be good and interestingly speaks highly of David weir.

So Mr Potters, are you suggesting that David Weir is possibly Hibs bound?

TheFamous1875
27-06-2014, 01:47 PM
I can't see why he wouldn't speak highly of David Weir since they were teammates at Rangers.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

oramhibee
27-06-2014, 03:53 PM
She sells seashells on the seashore? :dunno:

Are you sure the shells she sells are seashells?

27-06-2014, 04:16 PM
I can't see why he wouldn't speak highly of David Weir since they were teammates at Rangers.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Because Weir could have been a bawbag.

What's happened to the asshole* smiley?!? Petrie!!!

* For use instead of the word bawbag...wasn't going to call you one! :wink:

27-06-2014, 06:50 PM
Because Weir could have been a bawbag.

Weir is a bawbag!

27-06-2014, 07:39 PM
I'm delighted he's away, overrated, partly at fault for Hamilton's second goal and missed the penalty, don't understand the praise he gets, brilliant first time around, but I can't even remember 5 good games he's had for us the second time around.

Good luck Dundee.

Totally agree.

27-06-2014, 08:09 PM
Any competent player with a grasp of the basics would've stood out in that team last year, so lets not get carried away with the superlatives. Having said that, he is a tidy player, a consistent performer and one that would've been quite useful to have in the squad this year.

I've never had any ill will towards him, not now, and not the first time round either, that's football. I wish him all the best in Dundee, I've a feeling it may be another tough year with battling at the foot of the table for Thomson, hopefully he's learnt a few things about what it takes in that position and he goes on to be a success for Dundee.

Allan45
27-06-2014, 09:49 PM
Let's forget past names, a freekin' Kevin Thomson thread, what a load of bollocks.
I know every one has their own views,
Im only interested in who is at Easter Road, not Dundee or anywhere on this Planet.

looking forward to a brand new team, set up and everything to do with Hibernian in the present and future.....:greengrin

27-06-2014, 09:51 PM
Let's forget past names, a freekin' Kevin Thomson thread, what a load of bollocks.
Im only interested in who is at Easter Road, not Dundee or anywhere on this Planet.

looking forward to a brand new team, set up and everything to do with Hibernian in the present and future.....:greengrin

Chewing over the Thomson saga is as bad as rattling on about Fenlon! Both gone so time to move on

28-06-2014, 08:39 AM
Any competent player with a grasp of the basics would've stood out in that team last year, so lets not get carried away with the superlatives. Having said that, he is a tidy player, a consistent performer and one that would've been quite useful to have in the squad this year.

I've never had any ill will towards him, not now, and not the first time round either, that's football. I wish him all the best in Dundee, I've a feeling it may be another tough year with battling at the foot of the table for Thomson, hopefully he's learnt a few things about what it takes in that position and he goes on to be a success for Dundee.

28-06-2014, 08:40 AM

Chewing over the Thomson saga is as bad as rattling on about Fenlon! Both gone so time to move on

:top marks:

confused
28-06-2014, 08:41 AM

100% agree, this has been done to death !

28-06-2014, 08:42 AM

Well said Jonnyboy.

29-06-2014, 12:43 PM
I watched KT play for Hibs from an early age and always thought he had a bit of class about him.
Unfortunately , like many before him, he just didn't quite make it to the very top
He was part of a good side ( Brown Whittaker et al) which helped carry him along and stand by what I said about him being some what overrated
Appreciate it is your opinion re " best player till butcher came in " but beg too differ , : can't think of one game after his return where he imposed himself.
Anyway he has gone to pastures new and that is that !!:greengrin

Really? Brown and Whittaker etc carried him along? **** me! Thomson was a more complete midfielder than brown ever was... Thomson was the footballer, brown got forward, box to box, scored goals and got stuck in. It was the perfect combination with boozy in there as well! This is a Kevin Thomson that made it to a uefa cup final and played for scotland, how much higher do you expect him to go?

29-06-2014, 05:00 PM
Really? Brown and Whittaker etc carried him along? **** me! Thomson was a more complete midfielder than brown ever was... Thomson was the footballer, brown got forward, box to box, scored goals and got stuck in. It was the perfect combination with boozy in there as well! This is a Kevin Thomson that made it to a uefa cup final and played for scotland, how much higher do you expect him to go?

No need for the " **** me " adds nothing to your argument :na na:
The above is your personal opinion , which you are entitled to put forward
I happen to disagree with it , which I am entitled to do
I expected him to maintain his early form which he never did ( just my opinion :greengrin )

Yesterdays man : we need to draw a line in the sand on this one :rolleyes:

29-06-2014, 08:02 PM
No need for the " **** me " adds nothing to your argument :na na:
The above is your personal opinion , which you are entitled to put forward
I happen to disagree with it , which I am entitled to do
I expected him to maintain his early form which he never did ( just my opinion :greengrin )

Yesterdays man : we need to draw a line in the sand on this one :rolleyes:

Which part of it is my opinion!? His uefa cup medal? His scotland caps? Which he was called up for less than a year ago? Brown being the box to box energetic midfielder or Thomson being the more technical footballer which made them the perfect pairing? If you don't agree with that is highly doubt you went to many football games when Mowbray was in charge.

GreenOnions
29-06-2014, 08:50 PM
I remember when KT arrived back at ER during 12/13 season. It was his first start and he received the ball just outside our penalty box. He played a short pass to another Hibs midfielder and moved into space for a return ball. I remember it was almost funny how shocked KT appeared when the return ball was played to him from about 5 yards at about fifty miles an hour straight at his throat!

I thought at the time of their emergence (i.e. before Fletcher) that Thomson could probably be the best of our youngsters. He was a class act like Riordan, Brown, Whittaker and O'Connor but IMO had a more all-round game than the others (apart from goalscoring!). His injuries have certainly taken their toll and he has not achieved as much as looked likely a few years ago as a result.

However, despite the fact that he is not the player he was, he was still our most accomplished player last year IMO even though it must have been hard to play passing football in that team (see example above). He also supports the club, is a leader and wanted to stay with us. It is unlikely that we will be able to replace that combination with anything within our budget.

The most important point though is that, unfortunately - when decisions were being taken about KT's contract, Butcher was in charge. Kevin is now gone. I think it is absolutely absurd that we've let him go but we should just move on now because Kevin will only return now to Easter Road in one of two capacities: either to play against us or as a supporter.

Stax
29-06-2014, 10:04 PM
A midfielder that in your words 'Is box to box, gets forward/stuck in & scores goals' sounds like the complete midfielder to me. As for how much higher a lot of us expected KT to go I'd say a look at his pal the now Scotland & Celtic captain that you think is the inferior player. The pair were part of a great midfield as you say and were it not for injuries Thommo might have went on to fulfil the talent he obviously has. He's a class act & should have been used more last season but to say he's the footballer & a more complete midfielder than Broony is just doesn't stack up IMO.

29-06-2014, 11:09 PM
Which part of it is my opinion!? His uefa cup medal? His scotland caps? Which he was called up for less than a year ago? Brown being the box to box energetic midfielder or Thomson being the more technical footballer which made them the perfect pairing? If you don't agree with that is highly doubt you went to many football games when Mowbray was in charge.

Anything you post on here is an opinion .
I take it you reckon your post is "factual" ?
Suggest you read some of the other posters many who also disagree with your take. Have you responded to them ?
Note you are also an expert on football matters having attended many matches when Mowbray was in charge - aye right!!
Given you are the expert I will just leave it like that : no point in continuing the discussion !!