View Full Version : Berwick pre season

HibeeMcGinn1
21-06-2014, 10:57 AM
Apologies if is been posted anywhere else but I've been told we are playing away to berwick on Saturday the 12th July.

21-06-2014, 11:04 AM

Actually, I like Berwick. Spent a lot of time there when I was young and went to old Shieldfield a few times.

21-06-2014, 11:28 AM
Was it Willie Temperley that broke his le there when we were in the first division in tbne 80s. I remember the crack echoing round the main stand

Hibeewilly
21-06-2014, 11:44 AM
Great catering at the ground - fish and chips fresh burgers etc and cheap!! Good trip down there last time

Sent from my GT-I8190N using Tapatalk

21-06-2014, 12:34 PM
Was it Willie Temperley that broke his le there when we were in the first division in tbne 80s. I remember the crack echoing round the main stand

Was it not some young boy, was he not just on the park for his first game for Hibs. Stevie Brown rings a bell. Was it not a Scottish cup game.

21-06-2014, 12:39 PM
A Hibs xi, or the full team?

NthCarolinaHibs
21-06-2014, 01:03 PM
Have we even got eleven ?

21-06-2014, 01:34 PM
Great, home game for me!

21-06-2014, 02:20 PM
Was it not some young boy, was he not just on the park for his first game for Hibs. Stevie Brown rings a bell. Was it not a Scottish cup game.

Ian Hendry I think. Never played for us again.

21-06-2014, 02:55 PM

Yep. Think he's in the Guiness Book of Records as having the shortest ever senior football career. 20 odd seconds I think

KdyHby
21-06-2014, 03:21 PM
Good excuse to go, have been wanting to go down for the Lowry exhibition.

21-06-2014, 03:58 PM

I'm sure he'd only just come on the park for his first game as well.

Tom Hart RIP
21-06-2014, 04:37 PM
I'm sure he'd only just come on the park for his first game as well.
I was there that day. Shame for the lad. He was a new signing and we were all looking forward to seeing him.
I think he can on as a sub the following season but never started again

21-06-2014, 04:41 PM
Yay!

Pre-season tour of England it is then :wink:

Up The Bracket
21-06-2014, 10:00 PM
Same weekend as T in The Park, gutted, would have been a good trip.

21-06-2014, 10:05 PM

One more game for the unfortunate laddie, brog

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=6278

BarneyK
21-06-2014, 10:05 PM

Aye. Lewis Stevenson is having to play in goal though.

21-06-2014, 10:08 PM
Got a wedding that day. boooooo.

21-06-2014, 10:10 PM
Same weekend as T in The Park, gutted, would have been a good trip.

Really? The line up is horse. Still at least you get to see hibs abroad.

On another note the line up is horse.

21-06-2014, 10:21 PM
I was there that day. Shame for the lad. He was a new signing and we were all looking forward to seeing him.
I think he can on as a sub the following season but never started again

As was I. It's a very cruel game at times.

21-06-2014, 10:24 PM
Great catering at the ground - fish and chips fresh burgers etc and cheap!! Good trip down there last time

Sent from my GT-I8190N using Tapatalk

It was a scorcher as I recollect. My baldy heid was fair nipping!

21-06-2014, 10:55 PM
Really? The line up is horse.

Is there not usually more than one band/singer performing at TITP?

21-06-2014, 11:11 PM
One more game for the unfortunate laddie, brog

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=6278Was at both games he played for us then though I don`t remember him playing against Jags . I think we played at Berwick 4 times in a year - SC QF ( 0v0 we won replay 1v0 ) in 1980 - remember about 2000 of us being marched from station to ground with lots of songs about Yorkshire Ripper who was being hunted then , New Year " Derby " on 1/1/81 ( nightmare for Hibs fans as no public transport but we won 2v0 ) , league game just 4 weeks later with Hendry injury ( 0v0 ) and another midweek friendly which we lost 2v0 despite fielding strong team ( can safely say it`s the coldest I`ve ever been at a match so must have been winter ) .

macd123
21-06-2014, 11:18 PM
Really? The line up is horse. Still at least you get to see hibs abroad.

On another note the line up is horse.

Line up looks pretty good to me. http://www.tinthepark.com/

Not your cup of tea?

22-06-2014, 12:06 AM
Good excuse to go, have been wanting to go down for the Lowry exhibition.

You ca also take in the KOSB museum

22-06-2014, 06:14 AM
I sat next to Pat Nevin on the mound last time we were down there preseason, bloody roasting that day !

22-06-2014, 06:36 AM
Neil Young at Hyde park for me that day.

Lewis77
22-06-2014, 06:52 AM

It's a 5-A-Side game?

22-06-2014, 09:07 AM
I sat next to Pat Nevin on the mound last time we were down there preseason, bloody roasting that day !

I remember folk inside the ground with carryouts on the terrace and nobody gave a toss. There were a few radges there that day iirc

22-06-2014, 10:35 AM
A sad day when I heard it was gone!!

A 'romantic' and alas innocent association from my teenage years. I wonder what ever became of KB.

Anyhow, I confess, since I was about eleven I have retianed a soft spot for Berwick as I went there literally hundreds of times for weekends and camping trips and I loved when I stayed on Bridge End right next to the old bridge, though laterally used to stay in a house on Dean Drive just round from Shieldfield. Even seen the speedway at Shieldfield.

Well, if I happen to be back for the 12th I think I will jump on a train to Berwick and watch the game.

Of course I will take my boots just in case Hibs are still short of a starting eleven.

P.S. Just in case anyone is interested. (Good reading at the bottom).

Berwick Rangers were officially formed on 7 January 1884 after a match was played in the town between a team of millworkers from Dunbar and a team of railway clerks from Newcastle.[2] For much of the club's history it was believed that they had formed in 1881, though recent research indicates that 1884 is the more likely date of formation.[3] Their first competitive match was against another team from Berwick, 'The Royal Oaks' on 16 February 1884. Berwick Rangers won the match by "one goal and two tries [sic] to nil".[4]

Berwick Rangers affiliated to the Scottish Football Association around 1905 and entered the Scottish Border League in 1905, followed by the Border Amateur League (1908–09). Recent research has revealed that the club joined the East of Scotland League immediately after the First World War, a new competition formed to replace the Borders League. The club made several attempts to join the North Northumberland League but were rebuffed. It was not until 1951 that they were admitted to Scottish League Division C Division (North & East). This third tier, made up largely of reserve sides, had been created in 1946 and was regionalised in 1949. The division was scrapped in 1955 and Berwick, along with the other non-reserve teams, were placed in an enlarged Division B (renamed Division Two the following season). Berwick Rangers have played in the Scottish Football League ever since, despite low attendances and frequent financial problems.

Following their foundation, the club had had a nomadic existence before eventually settling down at Shielfield Park in 1954.

A notable early success was a 3–0 win over Dundee in the Scottish Cup in 1954 in a run which saw them reach the quarter-final, only to lose to Rangers 4–0. Ten years later they reached the semi-final of the Scottish League Cup losing to Rangers 3–1.

Arguably their greatest success came in 1967, when they beat Rangers 1–0 in the Scottish Cup under the management of player manager Jock Wallace. It was the highlight of a memorable cup run, which had seen them break a club record in beating Vale of Leithen 8–1 in the first round. The result sent shockwaves around Scottish football and led to a number of the Rangers players leaving Ibrox; it was also the club's greatest home attendance of 13,365. They were paired with Hibernian in the following round but lost 1–0 in front of a crowd of nearly 30,000.

Dublin07
24-06-2014, 10:00 PM
Trains booked. 20 quid return for a family of 4. Really looking forward to a day out. Kids love it in berwick. A wee walk round the town walls, lunch in town and a couple of pints, go to the game, dinner in the golf club then the 8.40 train home. We just need to get 11 players before then and it will be a good day out!

25-06-2014, 02:57 AM
I'll be on a March that day. Gutted!