View Full Version : Best National Anthem?

20-06-2014, 10:00 PM
I was listening to the Colombian one when I was driving down to Preston on Wednesday.

I ended up driving a full 15 mph faster than I had intended to. It's great.

No wonder we keep losing. Flower of Scotland is a dirge.

And as for GSTQ...http://www.sherv.net/cm/emoticons/sleep/getting-tired-smiley-emoticon.gif

20-06-2014, 10:01 PM
French national anthem, love it.

scuttle
20-06-2014, 10:05 PM
French national anthem, love it.

Agree mate closely followed by the Italian one

20-06-2014, 10:05 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yPSL78YDyZY

20-06-2014, 10:08 PM
France or The Aussies for me.

20-06-2014, 10:09 PM
French, Russian, Chilean.

20-06-2014, 10:09 PM
France, Italy and Brazil. All rousing.

20-06-2014, 10:16 PM
Has no one said Russia? I feel like I've won a game on CoD 4 every time I hear it.

ManBearPig
20-06-2014, 10:19 PM
italy no question also deutschland uber alles.... can of worms

20-06-2014, 10:26 PM
Holland's anthem is nice. So is Spain's although we only have one more chance to hear it!

sauzeelegod
20-06-2014, 10:30 PM
Italian

20-06-2014, 10:34 PM

That's not the name of the anthem nor do they sing "Deutschland über Alles" this verse was banned after ww2. Even though it was not composed by the nazis.

GoldenMeerkat
20-06-2014, 10:35 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h8rGO4K_dd8

20-06-2014, 10:47 PM
http://youtu.be/I33m6BKbUAw

this World Cup has reminded me how many amazing anthems there are out there.

20-06-2014, 10:51 PM
GSOGQ obviously

20-06-2014, 10:54 PM
im biased in saying the French but i really like the passion from the Chile players belting out theirs, anyone remember Ivan Zamorano giving it laldy :top marks

20-06-2014, 10:56 PM
Italian. By a mile. France and Mexico with honourable mentions.

21-06-2014, 01:28 AM
That's not the name of the anthem nor do they sing "Deutschland über Alles" this verse was banned after ww2. Even though it was not composed by the nazis.

Can of worms going pop!

1950's hibbie
21-06-2014, 02:38 AM
The United States and French are both very strong.

21-06-2014, 03:44 AM
The Irish one for the rugby

Ireland's Call

www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjMrPgk1eU8

DAVE1875
21-06-2014, 05:19 AM
Everytime I hear the start of the French national anthem I can't help but see the Monty Python "Man with a tape recorder up his nose" sketch

21-06-2014, 05:30 AM
GSOGQ obviously

An audience with billy connolly summed this one up brilliantly !!!!

21-06-2014, 05:35 AM
The Irish one for the rugby

Ireland's Call

www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjMrPgk1eU8

Good call wales at rugby is good as well,french is good the way it builds up during the song

Maybe scotland should get a new one if they get independance and written by the proclaimers !

21-06-2014, 05:44 AM
Love the passion in the South American ones. Chile one a few days ago when being belted out by thousands in the Maracana was simply amazing.

21-06-2014, 07:32 AM
Love the Italian one just for the sheer passion the players show when singing it. Buffon often looks like his eyes are about to pop out his head when he gets going.

Am I right in thinking Putin changed the Russian anthem back to the old USSR anthem (with new lyrics) a few years back because it was more inspiring to athletes before competing. Sure it's quite a divisive issue in Russia.

21-06-2014, 07:35 AM
GSOGQ obviously

Surely it's just GSTQ?

I realise you're just at the wind-up but it's actually quite awful, as anthems go. Anyway, one more chance for you to hear it I suppose.

alloahibby
21-06-2014, 07:46 AM

It hasn't been called Deutchland Uber Alles for quite a few years now....

21-06-2014, 08:37 AM
French, German and Russian. Endof. Fact.

21-06-2014, 08:43 AM
French, German and Russian. Endof. Fact.
Nah. Land of my Fathers is unbelievably good.

21-06-2014, 08:44 AM
Any foreigner who has an opinion on anthems will rave about Flower of Scotland.

I personally like those of Germany and France (in that order).

21-06-2014, 08:46 AM
The South African national anthem is one of the most inclusive over divisive.

21-06-2014, 09:02 AM
im biased in saying the French but i really like the passion from the Chile players belting out theirs, anyone remember Ivan Zamorano giving it laldy :top marks

:greengrin I was trying to remember his name so I could look it up on Youtube. Very enthusiastic about his anthem.

French and Welsh for me.

21-06-2014, 09:04 AM
Chile

TheReg!
21-06-2014, 09:05 AM
Wales one is good

justlikebrazil
21-06-2014, 09:15 AM
The lot of you are nutters!!! Not one mention of the Brazilian it's amazing :aok:

21-06-2014, 09:15 AM
That was actually played at our most famous and important battle 700 years ago this month. That was played for Jean D'Arc by her Scottish soldiers as she entered triumphantly into Orleans in 1429.

It seems to be held in higher esteem outside Scotland than within.

Links to a a couple of versions below

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-I1Qu5y_qpk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4r7uX8wjFWU

:saltireflag

Lewis77
21-06-2014, 09:36 AM
An audience with billy connolly summed this one up brilliantly !!!!

True.

I'd go France, Italy & FOS although I'm sure when I was a wee kid it was Scotland the brave at the fitbaw, I have a vague memory of that.

21-06-2014, 09:42 AM
I liked the Argentina one .

21-06-2014, 09:45 AM
Nah. Land of my Fathers is unbelievably good.

I'm Welsh and I just put that down as "alright".

21-06-2014, 09:48 AM
That was actually played at our most famous and important battle 700 years ago this month. That was played for Jean D'Arc by her Scottish soldiers as she entered triumphantly into Orleans in 1429.

great stuff, ta for that, learn something new every day :agree:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GNUwc01dypU

to quote one of the comments

"The lyrics were written by Robert Burns in 1793, in the form of a speech given by Robert the Bruce before the Battle of Bannockburn in 1314, where Scotland maintained its sovereignty from the Kingdom of England. Although the lyrics are by Burns, he wrote them to the traditional Scottish tune Hey Tuttie Tatie which, according to tradition, was played by Bruce's army at the Battle of Bannockburn, and by the Franco-Scots army at the Siege of Orleans"

one of my favourites for a Scottish Anthem would be Highland Cathedral (written by two Germans Musicians) or Scotland the Brave

anyway, Italian followed by the French

21-06-2014, 10:02 AM
Good call wales at rugby is good as well,french is good the way it builds up during the song

Maybe scotland should get a new one if they get independance and written by the proclaimers !

Thanks for that link. Sounds a bit like Dixie. Remarkable how music can teach you about history.

21-06-2014, 10:06 AM
Love the French and Italian but I really hate Flower of Scotland, which I don't think is our national anthem anyway, just a cr@p 60/70s pop/folk song.

But "La Marseillaise" is defo my fav!

21-06-2014, 10:37 AM
Love the old Soviet anthem, the German and the French.

Watched the French game last night in a Paris pub and the pub erupted into La Marseillaise. Was great. French, Scots, Swedes, Irish, Dutch all joined in. Hard not to. A stirring anthem when sung in chorus.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s900TYtqN1E

ArmadaleHibs
21-06-2014, 10:41 AM
Brazils national anthem doesn't seem to fit in with the words. Admittedly it's in Portuguese which I don't understand but watching the Brazil players sing along to it is funny

21-06-2014, 10:54 AM
Love the French and Italian but I really hate Flower of Scotland, which I don't think is our national anthem anyway, just a cr@p 60/70s pop/folk song.

But "La Marseillaise" is defo my fav!

Ironically, FOS became the anthem, because people liked it compared to the Tin Pan Alley written Scotland the Brave. It seems like it has reached the end of its shelf life now, but in its day it was considered rebel music.

21-06-2014, 11:19 AM
True.

I'd go France, Italy & FOS although I'm sure when I was a wee kid it was Scotland the brave at the fitbaw, I have a vague memory of that.

IIRC, that was played as our anthem at the Commonwealth Games. Think they might have tried at the fitba, but nobody knew the words......

21-06-2014, 11:20 AM
Ironically, FOS became the anthem, because people liked it compared to the Tin Pan Alley written Scotland the Brave. It seems like it has reached the end of its shelf life now, but in its day it was considered rebel music.

I'd agree. I can't bear anthems which put down other nations.

therealgavmac
21-06-2014, 11:24 AM
For me, has to be the Welsh followed by the Italian....
I was at the 6 nations in Cardiff in the attachment (my missus is Welsh), and with c. 80,000 singing and the roof closed..... still makes the hairs on my neck stand.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AM4mIlYKG9s

21-06-2014, 11:24 AM
GSOGQ obviously

:faf::faf: I go with Billy Connolly's suggestion that it be changed to the theme tune from The Archers.

21-06-2014, 11:42 AM
Soldiers Song
La Marseillaise

21-06-2014, 11:45 AM
French, German, Italian & USA are all good and easily recognisable. I'm a big fan of Flower of Scotland

21-06-2014, 12:32 PM

As a young man I liked it and it's sentiment. But I went on holiday to Ibiza with 17 mates and they all sang it in a club full of English people and I just felt embarrassed. I really hope if there's a yes vote in September that we have a national competition to write a new anthem celebrating our country and it's future, instead of singing of a past victory 700 years ago.

21-06-2014, 12:37 PM

I was going to say that it is a pro Scottish, rather than anti-English song, but...

As a young man I liked it and it's sentiment. But I went on holiday to Ibiza with 17 mates and they all sang it in a club full of English people and I just felt embarrassed. I really hope if there's a yes vote in September that we have a national competition to write a new anthem celebrating our country and it's future, instead of singing of a past victory 700 years ago.

....seems that some people see it as a way of being aggressive, rather than celebrating resistance.

Maybe it's time for a new song. Something by Del Amitri would get my vote.

21-06-2014, 12:55 PM
Can't choose between French, Irish and South African. Flower of Scotland is a great folk song but was never written as an anthem but then we're not a proper country.

21-06-2014, 01:08 PM
Italian one closely followed by the French one.

Both are fantastic.

21-06-2014, 01:16 PM
Russian one is my favourite. Like the French as well, but its not as good as the Russian.

21-06-2014, 01:22 PM
Svenska ?! Just me ?!

http://youtu.be/CWRmNDrAFbk

21-06-2014, 02:11 PM
http://youtu.be/0Zp13s83oUY

marti1875
21-06-2014, 02:22 PM
I was a tour guide /driver all over Scotland and i would, on most occasions, play Flower of Scotland.
In all the times and all the people from all around the world not a single person has said anything other than that they love it.
In fact many even sing along to it as they have indeed heard the song many times and got to know it.
It would get a round of applause once it finished and many would shake my hand on leaving saying they just love Flower of Scotland, and many times it was specifically requested that i play it.

21-06-2014, 02:50 PM
Ireland's Call is a beautiful song, with beautiful intentions behind.

21-06-2014, 02:59 PM
Can't choose between French, Irish and South African. Flower of Scotland is a great folk song but was never written as an anthem but then we're not a proper country.

depending on the vote later this year Scotland might end up a proper country & might be stuck with it however if its a no vote the surely it'l have to change

21-06-2014, 03:07 PM
depending on the vote later this year Scotland might end up a proper country & might be stuck with it however if its a no vote the surely it'l have to change

Not necessarily, we are being promised the Best of Both Worlds.

cam2644
21-06-2014, 03:11 PM
The Spanish anthem. Good stiiring tune and no words to learn.

21-06-2014, 03:22 PM
Not necessarily, we are being promised the Best of Both Worlds.

how can folk sing "we can still rise now & be a nation again " anyway that's a different topic
back on track I think the French anthems rousing

yeezus.
21-06-2014, 04:03 PM
Out of the WC teams Algeria's is my favourite. I would change Scotland's to Highland Cathedral.

21-06-2014, 04:44 PM

Which anthem puts down other nations?

Do you mean Flower of Scotland? :confused:

21-06-2014, 04:53 PM
French and Italian. Both timeless masterpieces!

FOS is crap, but so too are many other national anthems.

There are far more crap ones than decent ones!

As for GSTQ???
OUCH!

21-06-2014, 05:15 PM
French and Italian. Both timeless masterpieces!

FOS is crap, but so too are many other national anthems.

There are far more crap ones than decent ones!

As for GSTQ???
OUCH!

I'm disappointed I expected a reference to Saxons from you!

21-06-2014, 05:42 PM
I'm disappointed I expected a reference to Saxons from you!

Haha glad yer keeping tabs ma man :-)

It's not a BAD reference really!

21-06-2014, 05:47 PM
Soldiers Song
La Marseillaise

If FoS is a Dirge, that song is a Dirge on Steroids.

21-06-2014, 05:51 PM
Uruguay. Definitely.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jc6L_0NZlqk

Like a demented Italian comic opera.

Love it. Hope they go through so we can hear it again!

:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth

oregonhibby
21-06-2014, 05:52 PM
Heard live it send shivers down my spine. I attended a WW1 event in Amiens and it was sung in the church. Was wonderful.

21-06-2014, 07:02 PM
The French national anthem has always been my fave followed closely by the Welsh, stirring stuff!

I want us to change ours to Donald Where's Yer Troosers, much much better than FOS.

21-06-2014, 07:08 PM
God save the queens sucks, a national anthem should be about the nation! Not a person.

France for me followed by Italy then Russia and then Australia

21-06-2014, 07:20 PM
God save the queens sucks, a national anthem should be about the nation! Not a person.

France for me followed by Italy then Russia and then Australia

No it doesn't, one of the finest anthems ever.

21-06-2014, 07:33 PM

Is it ****. It's a shower of pish.

If I was English I'd want a different national anthem, nae need for a monarchy, I'd want rid of them tae!

21-06-2014, 07:33 PM

Used to be the German national anthem too but they dumped it because it was so boring. The Germans found it boring, says it all really.

21-06-2014, 07:35 PM
Is it ****. It's a shower of pish.

If I was English I'd want a different national anthem, nae need for a monarchy, I'd want rid of them tae!

Thankfully you're not, long live the Queen.

21-06-2014, 07:36 PM
Used to be the German national anthem too but they dumped it because it was so boring. The Germans found it boring, says it all really.

**** the Germans, long live the Queen and our national anthem.

21-06-2014, 07:39 PM

Invisible sky deity save the unelected monarch who is protected by secret service and mi5 and lives tax free doesn't have quite the same ring to be fair.

eddie izzard did a great bit on it.

"Send big dogs after her"

21-06-2014, 07:39 PM

Just for you scouse.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=4&ved=0CCoQtwIwAw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fm.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DIjJa3 _dR5Ac&rct=j&q=heil%20dir%20im%20siegerkranz&ei=IN-lU82zHOve7Abr7YHQDQ&usg=AFQjCNG7cV2x9azoHjeulRCrzYwWg-gZ_g&bvm=bv.69411363,d.ZGU

21-06-2014, 07:40 PM
Invisible sky deity save the unelected monarch who is protected by secret service and mi5 and lives tax free doesn't have quite the same ring to be fair.

eddie izzard did a great bit on it.

"Send big dogs after her"

God Save the Queen.

21-06-2014, 07:41 PM
Just for you scouse.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=4&ved=0CCoQtwIwAw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fm.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DIjJa3 _dR5Ac&rct=j&q=heil%20dir%20im%20siegerkranz&ei=IN-lU82zHOve7Abr7YHQDQ&usg=AFQjCNG7cV2x9azoHjeulRCrzYwWg-gZ_g&bvm=bv.69411363,d.ZGU

I'll no bother.

21-06-2014, 07:47 PM
I'll no bother.

:teehee

21-06-2014, 07:50 PM
:teehee

Couldn't be arsed looking if you can't explain yourself without posting a link, lazy posting in my mind :wink:

21-06-2014, 07:52 PM
Couldn't be arsed looking if you can't explain yourself without posting a link, lazy posting in my mind :wink:

Pop round for a beer and I'll sing it for you.

21-06-2014, 07:56 PM
Pop round for a beer and I'll sing it for you.

Only if it's John Smiths :greengrin

21-06-2014, 08:00 PM
Johannes Schmidt's, wouldn't water my nettles with it. :wink:

21-06-2014, 08:04 PM
Out of the WC teams Algeria's is my favourite. I would change Scotland's to Highland Cathedral.

i reckon ours should be highland cathedral, segueing into the epic bit from jurassic park. not terribly traditional, but we'd win at fking everything.

21-06-2014, 08:05 PM

I see you've got a few bites SH, it's been a while! :-)

21-06-2014, 08:07 PM
God Save the Queen.

That's the one that would always get my off my seat.

That's in the days before we had remote control. Now I can just press mute from my armchair.

21-06-2014, 08:08 PM
Welsh one is good and I've always liked the Portuguese one too. Got a good tune to it. The South Americans are good as well. Brazil and Chile especially.

21-06-2014, 09:16 PM
Just wondered what the old East German one was like.

http://youtu.be/ftXCYxB5fgc

Pretty good I'd say.

21-06-2014, 09:24 PM
Flower of Scotland is awful. I really like the Star-Spangled Banner, celebrates a nation as a whole united, rather than singing about defeating others in battle which isn't what an anthem should be about.

21-06-2014, 09:26 PM
Italian

Spanish

French

Welsh rugby

21-06-2014, 09:27 PM
That's the one that would always get my off my seat.

That's in the days before we had remote control. Now I can just press mute from my armchair.

:greengrin One of my uncle's tells the story of getting the belt at school for singing "God save my Auntie Jean. she makes the best ice-cream". Teacher didn't believe he thought they were the lyrics as that's what his dad sang! Lets just say the paternal side of my family aren't royalists.

21-06-2014, 09:28 PM
Just for you scouse.

Sounds a lot better than the version about crushing 'rebellious Scots' and all that.

Probably that's the version Scouse sings. :wink:

I thought England was going for "Jerusalem" or "Land of Hope and Glory" these days as their 'own' song.

"God Save the Queen/King" isn't really a national anthem nowadays - it's a royal anthem celebrating the institution of the monarchy in the person of the ruling sovereign.

The only 2 verses sung nowadays refer to the sovereign, not to the nation; you'd really have to go back to the 5-verse version from about 1900 before you could call it a 'national' anthem, and if there's one thing more scunnering than singing 2 verses of the Betty-Windsor-Lied it's the prospect of singing 5 or 6.

For the edification of our patriotic brethren of the net, the full version -

God save our gracious Queen,
Long live our noble Queen,
God save The Queen!
Send her victorious,
Happy and glorious,
Long to reign over us,
God save The Queen.

Thy choicest gifts in store
On her be pleased to pour,
Long may she reign;
May she defend our laws,
And ever give us cause
To sing with heart and voice,
God save The Queen!

God bless our native land,
May heaven's protective hand
Still guard our shore;
May peace her power extend,
Foe be transformed to friend,
And Britain's power depend
On war no more.

May just and righteous laws
Uphold the public cause,
And bless our isle.
Home of the brave and free,
Fair land of liberty,
We pray that still on thee
Kind heaven may smile.

And not this land alone -
But be thy mercies known
From shore to shore.
Lord, make the nations see
That men should brothers be,
And from one family
The wide world o'er.

I'm not sure where you stick THESE verses which were in the original - I know where I'd suggest the patriots might stick them, but that would be uncouth and I wouldn't wish to be uncouth about such a sensitive subject.

Lord, grant that Marshal Wade,
May by thy mighty aid,
Victory bring.
May he sedition hush,
And like a torrent rush,
Rebellious Scots to crush,
God save The King.

From France and Pretender
Great Britain defend her,
Foes let them fall;
From foreign slavery,
Priests and their knavery,
And Popish Reverie,
God save us all.

My apologies for the length of this post. Alba gu Bragh! :devil:

21-06-2014, 09:49 PM
I liked Scotland the brave

21-06-2014, 09:53 PM
I see you've got a few bites SH, it's been a while! :-)

I really don't know what you're talking about :wink:

21-06-2014, 09:55 PM
I'll need to stop spoiling your fun! ;-)

21-06-2014, 10:16 PM
I liked Scotland the brave

Hamish Henderson's "Freedom Come Aa Ye".

Great man, great song, speaks of Scotland as she might be.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efQEjZgeqZk

(((Fergus)))
21-06-2014, 10:48 PM
Most anthems are very pompous, usually in inverse proportion to the nation's performance in actual war.

Two that take a different tack IMO:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cPTwOZWnm6E

(((Fergus)))
21-06-2014, 10:49 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5nAFhXeNheE

Welsh anthem is awesome too.

21-06-2014, 11:27 PM

pleasing to find someone who enjoys their Nat Anthem!

Sumner
22-06-2014, 05:09 AM
Not that "Flower of Scotland" dirge anyway

22-06-2014, 11:06 AM
Totally agree about Highland Cathedral, but my favourites are Wales, South Africa and Spain in that order.

22-06-2014, 11:10 AM
Not a runrig fan but loch lomond live is brilliant,something similar for scotland would be good

22-06-2014, 11:31 AM
Dutch anthem for me. Awesome when the Dutch fans start singing it during their matches.

22-06-2014, 11:43 AM
Never understood why England sing the British national anthem?

22-06-2014, 11:48 AM

Because we're proud to be British and we don't have our own one to sing.

22-06-2014, 11:50 AM

Not always the case.

The England (and Wales) Cricket team use Jerusalen as does the Commonwealth games team, they previously used Land of Hope and Glory.

God Save the Queen isn't an official national anthem, as with most British traditions it has been established through use as opposed to any law or constitution. It was originally hoped that all the home nations would use God Save the Queen but Scotland and Wales, somewhat understandably, objected. I always assumed Englands football and rugby teams used it because the English have, generally speaking, been more comfortable with the notion of Britishness than the Scots and Welsh. It wouldn't at all surprise me, given the increase in English nationalism in recent years, to see a seperate English anthem used more often.

22-06-2014, 11:52 AM

When you are part of a British team then by all means sing it, but if your lot are too lazy to get your own anthem, don't be surprised its not universally welcomed.

22-06-2014, 11:54 AM
Not always the case.

The England (and Wales) Cricket team use Jerusalen as does the Commonwealth games team, they previously used Land of Hope and Glory.

God Save the Queen isn't an official national anthem, as with most British traditions it has been established through use as opposed to any law or constitution. It was originally hoped that all the home nations would use God Save the Queen but Scotland and Wales, somewhat understandably, objected. I always assumed Englands football and rugby teams used it because the English have, generally speaking, been more comfortable with the notion of Britishness than the Scots and Welsh. It wouldn't at all surprise me, given the increase in English nationalism in recent years, to see a seperate English anthem used more often.

I did know this, and should have put the English football team.

22-06-2014, 12:02 PM
Not a runrig fan but loch lomond live is brilliant,something similar for scotland would be good

That would really be a Loch Lomond anthem though, hardly national.

I can already imagine the protests from folk who prefer Loch Ness, never mind the other 31459 lochs in Scotland! :wink:

22-06-2014, 12:08 PM
I did know this, and should have put the English football team.

I've always found the concept of Northern Ireland using GSTQ more puzzling.

In a country where 41% of the population are very likely to be strongly opposed to the song it seems an odd choice.

The current population split is about 46% Protestant and 41% Catholic and the Catholic population is growing at a faster rate it seems this issue might well become increasingly contentious. It's certainly not hard to see why the nationalist community find it hard to support the Northern Irish football team.

Always thought the Irish rugby team have it spot on using Irelands Call as opposed to The Soldiers Song. Or better still Barry McGuigan walking to the ring with the white peace flag and having Danny Boy sung. Sure thats what the Northen Irish Commonwealth team use as well.

22-06-2014, 12:09 PM
When you are part of a British team then by all means sing it, but if your lot are too lazy to get your own anthem, don't be surprised its not universally welcomed.

I'm not in the least bit surprised.

22-06-2014, 12:16 PM
Italian anthem for me ..... I turn up the telly when it comes on. The French and Russian ones are good and the Welsh anthem is brilliant.

I agree with those who think Flower of Scotland is a bloody dirge. Not only that, they key its in doesn't suit the collective Scottish singing voice either IMO.

This should be our anthem: I know it mentions King Edward too, but the sentiment is much more than an anti English rant. All we need to change is the words to Scotand's 'folk and law' from King and law.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=CKT7qxk9-pw

22-06-2014, 12:20 PM
I've always found the concept of Northern Ireland using GSTQ more puzzling.

In a country where 41% of the population are very likely to be strongly opposed to the song it seems an odd choice.

The current population split is about 46% Protestant and 41% Catholic and the Catholic population is growing at a faster rate it seems this issue might well become increasingly contentious. It's certainly not hard to see why the nationalist community find it hard to support the Northern Irish football team.

Always thought the Irish rugby team have it spot on using Irelands Call as opposed to The Soldiers Song. Or better still Barry McGuigan walking to the ring with the white peace flag and having Danny Boy sung. Sure thats what the Northen Irish Commonwealth team use as well.

Probably more to do with clinging on to their Britishness I'd imagine, and similarly with the English football team. Quite why they'd want to sing a song for their country thats also the other nations national anthem is quite funny in my opinion. Something i always rip the pish out of my mates when watching an England game.

Next time you are with an English person during an England match, ask them why are they singing it, when its scotlands national anthem too. The reactions are funny. :greengrin

22-06-2014, 12:36 PM
Not always the case.

GSTQ was used by all the home nations, for all sports, up until aboiut 30 years ago.

For me, FOS focuses too much on one ancient battle and I like to think that we're biiger than that. With that said, it is onhe of the most respected and envied anthems in the worlds - do a youtube search for "scottish anthem" in any language you can muster and you'll see the reactions/comments (eg. hymne écossais in French).

The biggest problem woth FOS in Scotland is that people want change for the sake of it. I'm pretty sure that if Scotland the Brave or Highland Cathedral were adopted, we'd quickly get fed up with them too (having played bagpipes for almost 40 years, I'd like to erase all 3 from the collective memory.

Scots wha hae was a common choice before FOS but is again about an old battle. Freedom Come All Ye is a fantastic song (par for the course for Hamish Henderson) but I've always preferred A man's a man - the sentiment is superb although people will always have a problem with Burns' language.

So for me there can be only one solution. No problems with learning or remembering the words and it's anything but a dirge.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BktLpmDNwt0

22-06-2014, 12:38 PM

What about I vow to thee my country or Jerusalem .. both cracking tunes. Kind of English middle / upper class and hijacked by the Women's institute mind.

22-06-2014, 01:01 PM
What about I vow to thee my country or Jerusalem .. both cracking tunes. Kind of English middle / upper class and hijacked by the Women's institute mind.

Abide with me would be my choice.

22-06-2014, 01:19 PM
Abide with me would be my choice.

Once he wrote the lyrics the Scottish Anglican at least lasted longer than your country's campaign in Brazil!

"Abide with Me" is a Christian hymn by Scottish Anglican Henry Francis Lyte, most often sung to English composer William Henry Monk's tune "Eventide."

Lyte wrote the poem in 1847 and set it to music while he lay dying from tuberculosis; he survived only a further three weeks after its completion.

22-06-2014, 01:22 PM

Still like ELP's version from Brain Salad Surgey.

22-06-2014, 01:27 PM
Once he wrote the lyrics the Scottish Anglican at least lasted longer than your country's campaign in Brazil!

Jocks are like Jambo's.............they don't do Irony!

22-06-2014, 01:36 PM

and scousers do steal.

Caversham Green
22-06-2014, 01:47 PM
The Italian and Welsh ones do it for me - for different reasons.

As far as a Scottish anthem goes, I've always felt the big tune from Mendelssohn's Scottish symphony would work well with appropriate words set to it - jump to around 7.40 here (the rest isn't all that tbh):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IQuPWR93Nkk

22-06-2014, 01:56 PM
The Italian and Welsh ones do it for me - for different reasons.

As far as a Scottish anthem goes, I've always felt the big tune from Mendelssohn's Scottish symphony would work well with appropriate words set to it - jump to around 7.40 here (the rest isn't all that tbh):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IQuPWR93Nkk

Might not be my choice but I am impressed by your scope. However, his mum might not be too impressed saying the rest is not up to much :wink:

Personally love Felix Mendelssohns 5th symphony but it is very 'Germanic'.

Caversham Green
22-06-2014, 02:20 PM
Might not be my choice but I am impressed by your scope. However, his mum might not be too impressed saying the rest is not up to much :wink:

Personally love Felix Mendelssohns 5th symphony but it is very 'Germanic'.

Scope? Never heard it called that before, but I agree it is impressive.

In truth I like the whole of the 3rd Symphony - it's just a long way to the bit I was referring to. I've got the 5th on a CD but it didn't make much of an impression on me - must give it another listen.

22-06-2014, 02:41 PM
It's actually just a theme song from a 60s TV show but I always thought Dark Island (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=76kHRG96ciE) would make a great anthem (though it would need to be speeded up a bit ;) ).

22-06-2014, 02:43 PM

Scouse, I realise you think you're being witty and ironic but...you're actually just starting to be a t*t with all this 'ooh, I hooked another one' nonsense.

Gonnae just gie it a rest?

22-06-2014, 02:59 PM
Scouse, I realise you think you're being witty and ironic but...you're actually just starting to be a t*t with all this 'ooh, I hooked another one' nonsense.

Use the ignore button if you don't like my posts pal! I'll continue to post on here as I see fit, if you don't like it then tough.

22-06-2014, 03:13 PM
GSTQ was used by all the home nations, for all sports, up until aboiut 30 years ago.

For me, FOS focuses too much on one ancient battle and I like to think that we're biiger than that. With that said, it is onhe of the most respected and envied anthems in the worlds - do a youtube search for "scottish anthem" in any language you can muster and you'll see the reactions/comments (eg. hymne écossais in French).

The biggest problem woth FOS in Scotland is that people want change for the sake of it. I'm pretty sure that if Scotland the Brave or Highland Cathedral were adopted, we'd quickly get fed up with them too (having played bagpipes for almost 40 years, I'd like to erase all 3 from the collective memory.

Scots wha hae was a common choice before FOS but is again about an old battle. Freedom Come All Ye is a fantastic song (par for the course for Hamish Henderson) but I've always preferred A man's a man - the sentiment is superb although people will always have a problem with Burns' language.

So for me there can be only one solution. No problems with learning or remembering the words and it's anything but a dirge.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BktLpmDNwt0

I remember you talking about piping at a gig in Paris (?), which I was minded of when I saw the French piper at the D Day commemoration in Normandy. Do you get much opportunity to pipe in France, outside of the Brittany Celtic festival stuff? [apologies for thread hijack...]

On the subject of an anthem for us, FOS doesn't bother me, though it never seems to work properly in a crowd setting. Both of your suggestions are OK but, again, would they work with a crowd singing them? Most of the other options are a bit battle-y. Maybe we should just use Auld Lang Syne as a multi-purpose Scottish song; everyone (even the opposition) knows the words.:greengrin

22-06-2014, 03:16 PM
Still like ELP's version from Brain Salad Surgey.

Lol ........ You must be an auld fart like me mate. Played that album to death when it first came out, its a bit dated nowadays mind. Geez a wee blast of Motorhead or Killswitch engage these days.

22-06-2014, 03:28 PM
Use the ignore button if you don't like my posts pal! I'll continue to post on here as I see fit, if you don't like it then tough.

Ooh, I hooked one.

22-06-2014, 03:31 PM
The Brazilian one has been superb. Especially when they continue singing after the music has stopped.

Turkish Green
22-06-2014, 03:50 PM
What's wrong with adopting The Archers Theme...

Dum dee dum, dee dum dee dum.

22-06-2014, 03:56 PM
Hearing the Russia national anthem reminds me of the big Russian fellae in Rocky 4:greengrin

22-06-2014, 03:58 PM
Hearing the Russia national anthem reminds me of the big Russian fellae in Rocky 4:greengrin

You mean the Swedish Actor, Dolph Lundgren?

22-06-2014, 03:59 PM
What about nae tune at all?!!

its fitbaw. Not Euro song contest!

22-06-2014, 04:01 PM

Ivan Drago of course..

22-06-2014, 04:03 PM
You mean the Swedish Actor, Dolph Lundgren?

Ivan Drago of course..

That's the fellae , ' I cannot be defeated..If he dies he dies' :thumbsup:

22-06-2014, 04:11 PM
Ooh, I hooked one.

:faint:

Galahibby
22-06-2014, 04:26 PM
France, Germany, Russia, USA, not in any particular order. For me, they're all 'proper' anthems.

22-06-2014, 04:32 PM
Totally agree about Highland Cathedral, but my favourites are Wales, South Africa and Spain in that order.

Highland Cathedral was written by a German tourist after a fleeting visit to the Royal Burgh of Dornoch which has a badly-restored medieval church that masquerades as a cathedral.

It's a dreadful dirge that gets played over and over every wedding and funeral service where the family can afford to employ a piper.

(Or even someone who just THINKS he's a piper.)

As far as pipe tunes go, it's about the level of a Eurovision Song Contest entry - cheap, repetitive, and nasty, but with just enough melody to stick in your head and drive you mental for days after you've been unfortunate enough to hear it.

Its only virtue is that even Irish pipers with ten thumbs can play it reasonably accurately. :wink:

"Caber Feidh" or "The Black Bear", and get stuck in wi' the cold steel, boys!

22-06-2014, 04:45 PM
:faint:

Why don't you just ignore my posts then

22-06-2014, 05:32 PM

His posting which he seemed to think 'hooked' someone consisted solely of 'Abide with me would be my first choice'. I find it to be neither witty nor ironic nor likely to catch a fish of any size.

I doubt VERY much he knew the composer of the lyrics and even less likely that it was a subtle contribution to the Vote No campaign.

And his next posting title....Jocks are like Jambos defies logic. Perhaps just another example of what passes for wit or irony in scouse land.

His posts are tedious....except...oh hold on... I've just got it. it's hilarious. Jocks are like Jambos.... Brilliant. LOL. I've got one...Johns are like scousers !

22-06-2014, 05:38 PM
His posting which he seemed to think 'hooked' someone consisted solely of 'Abide with me would be my first choice'. I find it to be neither witty nor ironic nor likely to catch a fish of any size.

I doubt VERY much he knew the composer of the lyrics and even less likely that it was a subtle contribution to the Vote No campaign.

And his next posting title....Jocks are like Jambos defies logic. Perhaps just another example of what passes for wit or irony in scouse land.

His posts are tedious....except...oh hold on... I've just got it. it's hilarious. Jocks are like Jambos.... Brilliant. LOL. I've got one...Johns are like scousers !

:faf: The post police strike again, get a grip and dry yer eyes ya moaning faced git.

22-06-2014, 05:45 PM
Lol ........ You must be an auld fart like me mate. Played that album to death when it first came out, its a bit dated nowadays mind. Geez a wee blast of Motorhead or Killswitch engage these days.

You mean it's an old album? I thought it was a new release. Honestly only heard it for the first time quite recently :wink:

Never heard of Killswitch.

Turkish Green
22-06-2014, 05:59 PM
i am going to show my age but King Crimson' Epitaph was my anthem in final year at Uni. It somehow reminds of Hibs supporters....

Confusion will be my epitaph.
As I crawl a cracked and broken path.
If we make it we can all sit back and laugh.
But I fear tomorrow I'll be crying,
Yes I fear tomorrow I'll be crying.

I like the Spanish National Anthem. Easy to remember the words.

22-06-2014, 06:16 PM
:faf: The post police strike again, get a grip and dry yer eyes ya moaning faced git.

I do not see any moaning in my posting. I certainly am not complaining that you display neither wit nor irony. I was just making a statement.

Post police? Moaning face git? And you usual signoff smiley. Great stuff.

You know, Grade A might be good in exams and probably good in eggs.....but in being a pr**k it's not so good *

* said with a smile on my face and definitely no tears in my eyes.

22-06-2014, 06:20 PM
I do not see any moaning in my posting. I certainly am not complaining that you display neither wit nor irony. I was just making a statement.

Post police? Moaning face git? And you usual signoff smiley. Great stuff.

You know, Grade A might be good in exams and probably good in eggs.....but in being a pr**k it's not so good *

* said with a smile on my face and definitely no tears in my eyes.

Oh dear, I have touched a nerve, carry on pal I'm loving it :greengrin

In fact no don't, let's draw a line under it and move on. :aok: Abide with Me has a special place for me nothing to do with the stuff you quoted though.

22-06-2014, 06:34 PM
"Caber Feidh" or "The Black Bear", and get stuck in wi' the cold steel, boys!

I remember once in my plooky youth, tuning up in a car park before some gala day parade.

A big bruiser of a guy with a drink in him tapped me on the shoulder.

- What tune were you playing just now son?
- Caber Feidh
- Brilliant! It makes you feel like hittin' an Englishman.

22-06-2014, 06:38 PM
I remember you talking about piping at a gig in Paris (?), which I was minded of when I saw the French piper at the D Day commemoration in Normandy. Do you get much opportunity to pipe in France, outside of the Brittany Celtic festival stuff? [apologies for thread hijack...]

I never stop, though it's almost exclusively linked with the Breton/Celtic thing. In fact I have a second, salaried job here as a piping instructor - although it's only 4 hours per week.

22-06-2014, 06:56 PM
I remember once in my plooky youth, tuning up in a car park before some gala day parade.

A big bruiser of a guy with a drink in him tapped me on the shoulder.

- What tune were you playing just now son?
- Caber Feidh
- Brilliant! It makes you feel like hittin' an Englishman.

My grandfather was in the Seaforth Highlanders long before they became one half of the Queen's Own and 'Caber Feidh' had much the same effect on him, I was told. (He died before I was born, but left quite a family mythology behind him.)

A fellow Kirk elder played the pipes for my late wife and me at our wedding, and played us out to 'The Black Bear' - which of course is a hornpipe and quite difficult to walk or march to. Another guest complimented him on his playing and asked him the what it was he had been playing at the end of the service. Alec grinned and told him, 'That's my old regimental march - 'Bayonets out and God help any English in the way'".

You might take the man out of the Black Watch, but you can't get the Black Watch out of the man ...

I was with him one night when we met a rather posh chap who let slip he had been in the Gordons. Twenty seconds into the conversation Alec asked him whether he'd shot any cheeses lately. The evening went downhill very quickly from that point. :devil:

Turkish Green
22-06-2014, 07:35 PM
I never stop, though it's almost exclusively linked with the Breton/Celtic thing. In fact I have a second, salaried job here as a piping instructor - although it's only 4 hours per week.
i have been a fan of Alain Stivell and Dan Ar Bras for decades. I was lucky to spend a summer with Alain back in the late 70s when I was still trying to make it as a musician with a folk band.

22-06-2014, 07:54 PM
i have been a fan of Alain Stivell and Dan Ar Bras for decades. I was lucky to spend a summer with Alain back in the late 70s when I was still trying to make it as a musician with a folk band.

I know Alan quite well and have played a few concerts with him, by far the biggest being his Olympia 40th anniversary gig a couple of years ago. Dan ar Braz played that night as well.

Back to the topic in question, there's no doubt in my mind what anthem Alan would pick. :greengrin:

Turkish Green
22-06-2014, 08:20 PM
I know Alan quite well and have played a few concerts with him, by far the biggest being his Olympia 40th anniversary gig a couple of years ago. Dan ar Braz played that night as well.

Back to the topic in question, there's no doubt in my mind what anthem Alan would pick. :greengrin:Good man.
i was based in Paris in 2012 but could not get along to the gig. Pop Plinn was always my favourite. Used to be the signature tune to Reporting Scotland.

dalmeny62
22-06-2014, 08:50 PM
Regardless of it's content, FOS is the one if the most passionate and intimidating anthems in the world.

Ask France in 2007. After outnumbering them at home and singing our great song, we then sang their national anthem and win 1-0.

Each to their own but "welsh anthem for me" is cringeworthy.

FOS & SOL are the few perks of being Scottish\Hibs. Embrace.

22-06-2014, 09:36 PM

Me too. Can't hear it without thinking about the fight on Christmas Day in Moscow.

Turkish Green
22-06-2014, 09:54 PM
I am as passionate a Scot as you will get but two thing:

1) I cannot abide the stereotypical kilt wearing "hey you jimmy" tartan army. I am from Edinburgh. I am a lowlander. If I am to wear tartan at all it would be tartan troos. When I am watching our national team play I wear sky blue not tartan.

2) I have always loved FOS but it should not be played in 2/4 time as they do at Murrayfield. And the lyrics are just wrong for a National Anthem. Scotland the Brave for me, if they could slow it down a bit.

Turkish Green
22-06-2014, 10:05 PM
For me it was Chile at their opening game of WC France 1998 with Ivan Zamorano belting out their national anthem with such passion.

23-06-2014, 03:45 PM
I haven't seen anyone post it but I'd maybe go with caledonia for our national anthem. Think it's quite special and says a lot of nice things about our country