View Full Version : Pop Star Buys Favourite Football Club

20-06-2014, 12:01 PM
Some wee twat called Louis Tomlinson, from some Pop band I've never heard of, has bought his favourite Football Club (http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/jun/19/one-direction-louis-tomlinson-doncaster-rovers), Doncaster Rovers.

He's injected a cash sum of his own and plans to launch a Crowd Funding campaign to bring in money to help the team get promoted.

Do we have any multi-millionaire pop star fans?

What does everybody think of the Crowd Funding idea?

nribs
20-06-2014, 12:04 PM
Don't know there was a Richard on the other day talking about pumping 1m into hibs it could have been Richard Fairbrass he certainly sounded deeply dippy.

20-06-2014, 12:08 PM
Anyone know what Finlay Quaye is doing nowadays? Or the non brother who was in Bros? Both alleged to be Hibbies.

20-06-2014, 12:10 PM
Some wee twat called Louis Tomlinson, from some Pop band I've never heard of, has bought his favourite Football Club (http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/jun/19/one-direction-louis-tomlinson-doncaster-rovers), Doncaster Rovers.

He's injected a cash sum of his own and plans to launch a Crowd Funding campaign to bring in money to help the team get promoted.

I can only see this heading in one direction.

Bronson
20-06-2014, 12:11 PM
Did he not play for them for a bit?

20-06-2014, 12:13 PM
Did he not play for them for a bit?

Think he came on as a sub in a friendly or charity match for the last ten or twenty minutes. 95% of the crowd that day went straight from school.

Mark79
20-06-2014, 12:16 PM
I hear garry glitter has been chatting to ann budge.

Dumfrieshibs
20-06-2014, 12:17 PM

She's a bit old for him , surely ;-)

calder45a
20-06-2014, 12:18 PM
I can only see this heading in one direction.

Aye know what you mean..... story of my life.

20-06-2014, 12:18 PM
Anyone know what Finlay Quaye is doing nowadays?

Too late, he was already skint (http://www.scotsman.com/news/scotland/top-stories/shamed-capital-reggae-musician-finley-quaye-is-broke-1-2614699) a few years back

20-06-2014, 12:23 PM
Hoping to attract £2 million of fund raisers money to achieve Premier league success. Is this fantasy league. That's chicken feed.

Tomlinson and Ryan have put in a six figure sum (so anywhere between £100K and £999,999). Anyone's guess what the actual figure is. Hope they have a good business plan as that money will disappear faster than Lord Lucan.

Bronson
20-06-2014, 12:28 PM
Think he came on as a sub in a friendly or charity match for the last ten or twenty minutes. 95% of the crowd that day went straight from school.

I'm sure he signed a contract with them on deadline day a while back. Am I tripping?

20-06-2014, 12:37 PM
I'm sure he signed a contract with them on deadline day a while back. Am I tripping?

He was registered as a player, this enabled him to compete in a reserve match for Doncaster. All money raised from the tickets went to a local children's hospice where he is a patron of the charity.

Scotty-1875
20-06-2014, 12:38 PM
Has anyone else had a look at their forum? Not a happy bunch right now!

20-06-2014, 12:41 PM
Hoping to attract £2 million of fund raisers money to achieve Premier league success. Is this fantasy league. That's chicken feed.

It's b0ll0x isn't it.

However, that was the paper's spin on things, I don't think either of them mentioned the EPL.

Tomlinson and Ryan have put in a six figure sum (so anywhere between £100K and £999,999). Anyone's guess what the actual figure is. Hope they have a good business plan as that money will disappear faster than Lord Lucan.

I wouldn't put much trust in the writer's skill with numbers, as he mentions 'Ryan, 52'. Have a look at the guy in the photo, he looks nothing like 52....not surprising really, as he's actually 64.

20-06-2014, 12:57 PM
It's b0ll0x isn't it.

However, that was the paper's spin on things, I don't think either of them mentioned the EPL.

I wouldn't put much trust in the writer's skill with numbers, as he he mentions 'Ryan, 52'. Have a look at the guy in the photo, he looks nothing like 52....not surprising really, as he's actually 64.

:agree: He came on as a sub for Doncaster Rovers in his only game for them in 2003 aged 52 although he didn't even touch the ball.

20-06-2014, 12:58 PM
At the end of the day, is he just doing what most Hibs daft folk would do if they were minted? :confused:

Turkish Green
20-06-2014, 01:10 PM
Read the thread title and for a nanosecond thought it was Fish. Then thought "Pop Star"?

This will all end in tragedy for Donny.

20-06-2014, 01:38 PM
It will go one way or another although I would expect that he'll have his moments.

20-06-2014, 01:50 PM
Has anyone else had a look at their forum? Not a happy bunch right now!

I can't imagine me being a happy Hibee if this happened to us, got a link?

It's almost like a dream team storyline. The team bus needs to blow up though.

20-06-2014, 02:09 PM
I imagine Donny made a fair wedge on shirts with his name on them.

1875HFC
20-06-2014, 02:11 PM
Andy Murray??

20-06-2014, 02:50 PM
Andy Murray??

When did his album come out?

20-06-2014, 02:57 PM

Actually laughed my head off at that :faf: :faf:

20-06-2014, 02:59 PM

You must have missed it,it was all over the net !

20-06-2014, 03:02 PM
Genuinely opened this thread up and closed it back down right away as thought no it will just be full of puns which pop star could buy us :greengrin:greengrin

20-06-2014, 03:04 PM

It is all covers - Anyone But Englebert.

1875HFC
20-06-2014, 03:17 PM
haha true did not read the 'pop star' element of the question on considered wealthy celebrity fans!

Someone better tell Levein, he was seen this week leaving her house, driving her car and trying to hide his face when spotted coming out of her drive by a workman.

At the end of the day, is he just doing what most Hibs daft folk would do if they were minted? :confused:

Yes, I would.

I don't think anyone's having a pop at the guy on here for it (not seriously, anyway)

Moon unit
20-06-2014, 04:35 PM

Believe 'Pussy Riot' are itching to get involved!
a spokesperson was quoted that "they won't Fanny about "and insist that Petrie must go!

20-06-2014, 06:24 PM
Genuinely opened this thread up and closed it back down right away as thought no it will just be full of puns which pop star could buy us :greengrin:greengrin

And still managed to make a post in that time, must be rapid at typing. :greengrin

20-06-2014, 06:41 PM

:faf: I wouldn't put it past them, given their "previous" at the PBS.

jamieross
20-06-2014, 06:47 PM

Not a band most on here will have heard of but the lead singer of Enter Shikari is a hibs fan. Doubt he's minted enough ti buy us though.

20-06-2014, 08:26 PM
Does he pass the fit and proper test? I assume he has been banned as a player also given recent revelations about him.

WestCoastHibby
20-06-2014, 09:29 PM
A fool and his money are easily parted..... Remember the ill advised lottery winner from Hamilton/Bothwell who chucked some millions at Livingston FC.
Numpty lost the lot in the end.
I'd buy a box or a group of season tickets at best. Unless I was asked very nicely by Mr P and if Mr P was on his way....

Ps I have only won the odd tenner on the lottery thus far....!!

20-06-2014, 10:18 PM

Ive heard it, but, thought it was pish, just a racquet really.

20-06-2014, 10:23 PM
Ive heard it, but, thought it was pish, just a racquet really.

Well FWIW I thought it ace.

calder45a
20-06-2014, 10:54 PM
Well FWIW I thought it ace.

Too right love-all his stuff .

Spudster
20-06-2014, 10:58 PM
Got clobbered by Agbonlahor in a charity game then spewed on the pitch didn't he? Agbonlahor got death threats after this :confused:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xysfc4cfTs
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_G9DbMGc-s

21-06-2014, 01:22 AM
Yes, I would.

I don't think anyone's having a pop at the guy on here for it (not seriously, anyway)

I think the "some wee twat" comment in the OP was meant as a jump off point, one else has gone for it though.

21-06-2014, 07:41 AM
I think the "some wee twat" comment in the OP was meant as a jump off point, one else has gone for it though.

Seriously?

All young Pop Stars, in groups I've never heard of due to my advanced years, are 'some wee twat'. I didn't really mean it as a criticism, honestly :wink:

21-06-2014, 07:48 AM
Seriously?

All young Pop Stars, in groups I've never heard of due to my advanced years, are 'some wee twat'. I didn't really mean it as a criticism, honestly :wink:

Completely valid point haha

Furthermore I'm starting to sound like a One Direction fan, so I'll stop defending the wee prick ASAP :greengrin

Galahibby
21-06-2014, 09:34 AM
Craig & Charlie must've made a bit over the years. Especially since Shrek, and the stage show and film of Sunshine on Leith. On the other hand, they seem quite sensible guys so probably wouldn't want to see it all disappear. I think you would really need to be silly rich to even think about it to be honest. If only Bill Gates was a Hibby, eh!

21-06-2014, 04:27 PM
Fair play to the guy, he loves his club and using his very privileged position to help them. If I had millions sitting in my bank account I would definatly give a fair chunk to hibs.

21-06-2014, 04:39 PM
Completely valid point haha

Furthermore I'm starting to sound like a One Direction fan, so I'll stop defending the wee prick ASAP :greengrin

Thanks. much appreciated

Tinribs
21-06-2014, 07:23 PM
Just had a wee look at the Doncaster forum...Christ, and we think we have troubles?:wink:

This quote from one of them pretty much sums up what is happening over there:

I post regulary on the official fb page and made a comment (I think it was number 458) about keeping it to the football...Within ten minutes I had a pm from a twelve year old from Minnisota saying I knew nothing about Louis and how bad I was "....Christ on a bike I've had to leave our own page in case I get done for bloody grooming.....