View Full Version : TV truck

hibee316
20-06-2014, 07:20 AM
Just passed the West Stand car park and it looked a bit like a Tv truck just rolled in...

The Gorf
20-06-2014, 07:22 AM
maybe it's a removal van for Petries belongings :greengrin He says hopefully.

20-06-2014, 07:27 AM
Just seen a couple of trucks on queensferry road.

20-06-2014, 07:30 AM

Now that's unusual

dmc1875
20-06-2014, 07:31 AM
Just passed the West Stand car park and it looked a bit like a Tv truck just rolled in...

It was DFS. Petries splashed out on a new leather recliner

20-06-2014, 07:33 AM

What biscuits do you think the driver has in his lunch box?

TowerHibs
20-06-2014, 07:34 AM

Wagon Wheels?

20-06-2014, 07:50 AM
Has to be a Yorkie Bar

ionahibby
20-06-2014, 07:51 AM
I suspect the media will be there on the off chance something will happen today.

20-06-2014, 07:53 AM

Keep on Trucking Man :greengrin

Turkish Green
20-06-2014, 08:04 AM
It was DFS. Petries splashed out on a new leather recliner
Interest free credit and nothing to pay for 4 years. Sounds like RP. Now if he could get DFS payment terms for players, he'd bite their arm off.

20-06-2014, 08:14 AM
New leather seats being delivered for uber fans like me who renewed early.

20-06-2014, 08:21 AM

Yorkie

Gus Fring
20-06-2014, 08:25 AM
Baffled as to why a truck would be needed. Most OB's are done using a satellite van not much bigger than a transit.

TowerHibs
20-06-2014, 08:31 AM
Skype using an iphone/android can easily be used too

TV Truck is just nonsense

20-06-2014, 08:44 AM
Surely someone lives near ER and can post a picture of this mystery truck?

Crazyhorse
20-06-2014, 08:46 AM

Looks like we got ourselves a convoy Rubber Duck.

Love the Green
20-06-2014, 08:50 AM

Crimewatch UK truck as it has been murder at ER for years.

20-06-2014, 08:53 AM
It's not a big **** off fish lorry is it?

20-06-2014, 08:57 AM
I can confirm the OP is not a wind up.

Big news.

Big TV truck.

http://www.tokencreek.com/images-docs/varsity-packers.jpg

20-06-2014, 09:01 AM
New strips or new sponsers gear for the stands ETC?

20-06-2014, 09:02 AM
There is a tv crew at the main stand. Would not give a reason why they were there, but I suppose why would they.

20-06-2014, 09:06 AM
The guy did say, we are just moving to the next part of the manager story but no announcment as yet. Its defo nothing to do with new strip or sponsor according to the reporter in the truck. Time will tell.

20-06-2014, 09:11 AM
Jimmy Calderwood's lunch always arrives in advance.

20-06-2014, 09:15 AM
New leather seats being delivered for uber fans like me who renewed early.

This was the rumour that i had heard(or started).

Hibby Gav
20-06-2014, 09:15 AM
Jimmy Calderwood's lunch always arrives in advance.

Sun tan lotion and speeeeeedos

20-06-2014, 09:28 AM
Has to be a Yorkie Bar

A Yorkie isn't a biscuit, he may well have a Yorkie but if I know lorry drivers (and I do) then he will also have a biscuit, my guess would be a Penguin.

20-06-2014, 09:30 AM
A Yorkie isn't a biscuit, he may well have a Yorkie but if I know lorry drivers (and I do) then he will also have a biscuit, my guess would be a Penguin.

A blue ribband?

20-06-2014, 09:31 AM

Cough...

hibs4thecup1988
20-06-2014, 09:32 AM

Jaffa cake?

Turkish Green
20-06-2014, 09:37 AM
Jaffa cake?
I think it's name gives it away. It is a cake not a biscuit.

20-06-2014, 09:37 AM

20-06-2014, 09:41 AM

is that "know" or... "KNOW" :wink:

:cb

McSwanky
20-06-2014, 10:42 AM

:worms:

20-06-2014, 10:45 AM
Tomato? Fruit or veg?

Dan Sarf
20-06-2014, 10:47 AM
Does the truck driver have a sidekick? Could he play in goals? Desperate for updates here.

20-06-2014, 10:47 AM

I saw some horses at Royal Ascot.

Greenworld
20-06-2014, 10:48 AM
Any reason for s.mcall to be driving down easter road...

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

20-06-2014, 10:49 AM
Must be nearly lunchtime. Anybody care to speculate on what bakers they will be going to?

20-06-2014, 10:49 AM

No, because he's not.

20-06-2014, 10:50 AM

The helicopter is in for a service?

Dan Sarf
Must be nearly lunchtime. Anybody care to speculate on what bakers they will be going to?

Does the Scott Lyon bakery still exist? You can tell how long I've been away.

Jaffa cake?

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/canofworms.gif

Correct and, for anyone REALLY bored and/or too much time on their hands, here (http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/manuals/vfoodmanual/vfood6260.htm) is an article from HMRC with full details on how they get out of paying VAT (as a cake, not a biscuit)

Chocolate coated biscuit = liable to VAT

Chocolate coated cake = NOT liable to VAT

Hope that clears things up once and for all in this fraught area of what is a cake and what is a biscuit!!!

Greenworld
20-06-2014, 10:51 AM
Not the dreaded helicopter lol

Dan Sarf
20-06-2014, 10:52 AM
Correct and, for anyone REALLY bored and/or too much time on their hands, here (http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/manuals/vfoodmanual/vfood6260.htm) is an article from HMRC with full details on how they get out of paying VAT (as a cake, not a biscuit)

Chocolate coated biscuit = liable to VAT

Chocolate coated cake = NOT liable to VAT

Hope that clears things up once and for all in this fraught area of what is a cake and what is a biscuit!!!

Thanks for that. A fascinating read.

The sponge part of a Jaffa cake is a substantial part of the product in terms of bulk and texture when eaten.

It's so obvious when you think about it.

20-06-2014, 10:52 AM

Maybe he's about to be unveiled as the next manager of Hibernian.

Just a thought.

20-06-2014, 10:53 AM
Not the dreaded helicopter lol

Duff Jimmy returns!

Back Lounge
20-06-2014, 10:53 AM

Sadly no. My mum worked in the office and I used to visit after school. Gutted but slimmer after she moved to another job.

20-06-2014, 10:54 AM

The sponge part of a Jaffa cake is a substantial part of the product in terms of bulk and texture when eaten.

Glad to be of service

20-06-2014, 10:54 AM

More fascinating is the fact that biscuits go soft when they're left exposed to the air, whereas cakes go hard.

Jaffa cakes go hard.

20-06-2014, 10:55 AM

No, but you can still see the faded paint work, on the corner of Trafalgar Street, and Ferry Road. I've got some bad news about Crawfords, by the way.

Dan Sarf
20-06-2014, 10:55 AM
Sadly no. My mum worked in the office and I used to visit after school. Gutted but slimmer after she moved to another job.

I drove a van for them when I was still at school. Best job I've ever had.

Dan Sarf
20-06-2014, 10:56 AM
No, but you can still see the faded paint work, on the corner of Trafalgar Street, and Ferry Road. I've got some bad news about Crawfords, by the way.

No! Don't!

20-06-2014, 10:57 AM
More importantly, is it a doughnut or a meringue.

hibs4thecup1988
20-06-2014, 10:57 AM
:fishin:

My work here is done...

as he tucks into a yummy cake :greengrin

Dan Sarf
20-06-2014, 10:58 AM

Our new manager?

Meringue, probably.

:fishin:

My work here is done...

as he tucks into a yummy cake :greengrin

Don't leave it too long, it goes hard....

...and so does the Jaffa Cake, apparently. :wink:

No! Don't!

Fraid so, part of the Greggs Empire. It's the unacceptable face of globalisation.

20-06-2014, 10:59 AM

Dan Sarf
20-06-2014, 11:00 AM
Fraid so, part of the Greggs Empire. It's the unacceptable face of globalisation.

Gutted.

At least Binns is still there though.

20-06-2014, 11:01 AM
I saw some horses at Royal Ascot.

If it was mine that was racing then it was definately pulling a truck!!

20-06-2014, 11:03 AM
Gutted.

Eh.....in a sense it will always be there. Sorry, got to head along to Rankins to get some grapes for someone I'm visiting at the Northern General. If only the trams were still running....eh dear, aye.

hibs4thecup1988
20-06-2014, 11:04 AM
Don't leave it too long, it goes hard....

...and so does the Jaffa Cake, apparently. :wink:

Too late for that she has already got a hold of it so I won't see it again for a while :greengrin:greengrin

20-06-2014, 11:05 AM
Gutted.

Wait till you see what they've done to C&A!

Back Lounge
20-06-2014, 11:06 AM

Its now H & M

20-06-2014, 11:07 AM

Got an illiterate sign writer, and now it's called H&M.

Dan Sarf
20-06-2014, 11:11 AM

J & G Leggat though, in Chambers Street. Where you get your whips. They've GOT to still be there. Surely?

sidjames
20-06-2014, 11:13 AM

Moved it next door to John Colliers?

andyg
20-06-2014, 11:17 AM

No your right it's a doughnut!

TrinityHibs
20-06-2014, 11:23 AM
Moved it next door to John Colliers?

Is that near Goldbergs?

20-06-2014, 11:24 AM
Is that near Goldbergs?

No, next to Allan's of the Bridges, just up from PTs.

TrinityHibs
20-06-2014, 11:27 AM
No, next to Allan's of the Bridges, just up from PTs.

Sorry to tell you FR but PT's is now Arnotts

20-06-2014, 11:28 AM
Near Arnotts?

20-06-2014, 11:28 AM
Can anybody remember what this thread was originally about?

20-06-2014, 11:30 AM
Sorry to tell you FR but PT's is now Arnotts

The unacceptable face of globalisation. I'm away for a pint of Dryburghs to drown my sorrows.

sidjames
20-06-2014, 11:30 AM
I used to work there. Saturday mornings for about 10 bob. Then in the New Yorker on Shandwick Place in the evening.

20-06-2014, 11:31 AM
Can anybody remember what this thread was originally about?

Archy Duke shot a turkey because he was hungry.

Dan Sarf
20-06-2014, 11:32 AM
I used to work there. Saturday mornings for about 10 bob. Then in the New Yorker on Shandwick Place in the evening.

10 bob! You were lucky, etc. etc.

Dan Sarf
20-06-2014, 11:33 AM
The unacceptable face of globalisation. I'm away for a pint of Dryburghs to drown my sorrows.

There's a good newsreel at the Monsigneur if you want to take your mind off things.

20-06-2014, 11:34 AM
Near Arnotts?

Arnotts is crap - you should try Goldbergs or Mr. Beaujangles - both got a top top range of flares.

20-06-2014, 11:34 AM
I've just seen a JCB roll past the stadium. Anyone think it's a sign?

20-06-2014, 11:36 AM
Arnotts is crap - you should try Goldbergs or Mr. Beaujangles - both got a top top range of flares.

Do they sell suits and shirts by Mr. Harry?

20-06-2014, 11:37 AM
I've just seen a JCB roll past the stadium. Anyone think it's a sign?

Awwwww crap, I never saw this coming.

Turkish Green
20-06-2014, 11:37 AM
Woolworth's in Princes Street, that was always the upmarket place that my father would take me for our annual Saturday lunch (burger, peas + chips & a bottle of pop).

A lady goes into M&S and asks if they sell bras size 50D. The assistant says "No, but have you tried Binns?", "yes" the lady replies "but they clatter too much".

I'll get me coat...

20-06-2014, 11:39 AM

You'd be cheaper getting a carry out from Safeway.

20-06-2014, 11:45 AM
Do they sell suits and shirts by Mr. Harry?

Get with the vibe man - Mr. Harry is so sixties.

20-06-2014, 11:52 AM
Another truck just went by John Menzies.

20-06-2014, 11:53 AM
C Nade ?

20-06-2014, 11:55 AM
You'd be cheaper getting a carry out from Safeway.

Prefer Galbraiths in the St. James Centre, great deal on Piper Export just now. And double stamps too!

Get with the vibe man - Mr. Harry is so sixties.

So do you think these Brutus jeans will catch on?

20-06-2014, 01:18 PM
So do you think these Brutus jeans will catch on?

I can see my kids and grandkids wearing them in years, decades, to come.

20-06-2014, 01:26 PM
Is that near Goldbergs?
Goldberg's was great at xmas time. You could go stare at the toys your parents could not afford. Like a Johnny 7 gun with realistic rockets. Those were the days eh ?

20-06-2014, 01:45 PM
[QUOTE=Filled Rolls;4069805]The unacceptable face of globalisation. I'm away for a pint of Dryburghs to drown my sorrows.[/QUOTE

Willie Muir.

20-06-2014, 01:46 PM

Is that near Spooks.

Turkish Green
20-06-2014, 01:52 PM
Goldberg's was great at xmas time. You could go stare at the toys your parents could not afford. Like a Johnny 7 gun with realistic rockets. Those were the days eh ?
Goldberg's had an open air rooftop restaurant with a parrot in a cage. It was the first time I had ever seen a live parrot.

20-06-2014, 01:58 PM
This thread is complete rubbish. :D

marti1875
20-06-2014, 01:59 PM
Goldberg's had an open air rooftop restaurant with a parrot in a cage. It was the first time I had ever seen a live parrot.

A live parrot? as opposed to deid ones? :greengrin:wink:

20-06-2014, 02:09 PM

I still hate the only kid in our street that had a Johnny 7 gun.

Turkish Green
20-06-2014, 02:15 PM
A live parrot? as opposed to deid ones? :greengrin:wink:
:wink: As opposed to David Attenborough on the telly.

20-06-2014, 02:16 PM
More fascinating is the fact that biscuits go soft when they're left exposed to the air, whereas cakes go hard.

Jaffa cakes go hard.

Brilliant, now when i ask the girlfriend if she wants a bit of cake she wont slap me. :wink:

20-06-2014, 02:17 PM
so is there anything happening or not?

hibs4thecup1988
20-06-2014, 02:18 PM
so is there anything happening or not?

Read the thread, you tell us :greengrin

Turkish Green
20-06-2014, 02:20 PM
Usher Vaux's Norsemen Lager that was the biz. Came up the same way it went down.

20-06-2014, 02:21 PM
Read the thread, you tell us :greengrin

it appears to be 4 pages of complete and utter pish

ionahibby
20-06-2014, 02:25 PM
Usher Vaux's Norsemen Lager that was the biz. Came up the same way it went down.

I remember kestrel lager when I was just starting drinking. I wonder what ever happened to that? It was cheap rubbish but i liked it for some unknown reason!

20-06-2014, 02:28 PM
It's never too early for a Fusilier.

Turkish Green
20-06-2014, 02:31 PM
I remember kestrel lager when I was just starting drinking. I wonder what ever happened to that? It was cheap rubbish but i liked it for some unknown reason!
Here is a short history (and a bit ropey). Back in the 70s S&N did not make larger and instead had a deal with Guinness to sell Harp Lager in their pubs. Someone at S&N decided that they wanted to compete with Tennent's and bring out their own lager and hence Kestrel appeared. It was piss and sales were poor so it eventually became McEwen's Lager. Can you still get McEwen's Lager? I am a 80'- man myself.

Greenworld
20-06-2014, 02:36 PM
Made me laugh excellent summary

Dan Sarf
20-06-2014, 02:40 PM
Here is a short history (and a bit ropey). Back in the 70s S&N did not make larger and instead had a deal with Guinness to sell Harp Lager in their pubs. Someone at S&N decided that they wanted to compete with Tennent's and bring out their own lager and hence Kestrel appeared. It was piss and sales were poor so it eventually became McEwen's Lager. Can you still get McEwen's Lager? I am a 80'- man myself.

Here's another bit. Courage used to sell Harp too but decided to bring out their own lager. So they asked the ad agency I worked for at the time to invent one: country of origin, name, label, the lot. Research suggested Germany would be a good place for it to come from so I invented the name Hofmeister by sticking two bits of German together. It was actually brewed to the same recipe as Harp as that's the taste people liked!

number 27
20-06-2014, 02:41 PM

It has just been relaunched as a premium lager by tennents I think.

20-06-2014, 02:45 PM

This might not be true, but it could be.

Noting that sales of Kestrel, in its green can were "mixed" in the West of Scotland, Tennents brought out Charger lager, to meet the gap in the market. Was it purely coincidental that the blue can featured a man on a white horse?

It probably depends on which part of Scotland you grew up in.

johncrobertson@
20-06-2014, 02:46 PM
It has just been relaunched as a premium lager by tennents I think.

S&N Brought out McEwans Lager first to have a lager that would provide competition to Tennents! Kestrel Lager was a lower alcohol lager and was based on German Pilsner Lager and was brought out later than MCL. S&N bought over Courage Breweries and inherited Fosters as a result.

Turkish Green
20-06-2014, 02:46 PM
This might not be true, but it could be.

Noting that sales of Kestrel, in its green can were "mixed" in the West of Scotland, Tennents brought out Charger lager, to meet the gap in the market. Was it purely coincidental that the blue can featured a man on a white horse?

It probably depends on which part of Scotland you grew up in.

My memory is fuddled. It's a while ago and I am not a lager drinker.

andyf5
20-06-2014, 02:49 PM
Just spoke to the guys in the sis tv truck outside ER and they are giving it another 30 minutes and then going home. There is a hitch so probably Monday they said.

nribs
20-06-2014, 02:53 PM
Just spoke to the guys in the sis tv truck outside ER and they are giving it another 30 minutes and then going home. There is a hitch so probably Monday they said.

Aye their Pished in an Edinburgh bar.

ionahibby
20-06-2014, 02:53 PM

I'm sure mcewans only do the export stuff in can these days(which i like surprisingly) and their premium stuff in the pint bottles which I'm sure is 7.2% mind blowing stuff if i remember. Other than that it's mostly stuff on Tap they do these days.

Dan Sarf
20-06-2014, 02:54 PM

What's that to do with beer?

20-06-2014, 03:11 PM
What's that to do with beer?

They got their information from a friendly local publican.

Greenworld
20-06-2014, 03:22 PM
News conference been called for 6PM year not yet confirmed

nribs
20-06-2014, 03:25 PM

So if its not confirmed it hasn't been called?

20-06-2014, 03:25 PM

Dontcha just hate it when people hijack threads with irrelevant drivel!

20-06-2014, 03:26 PM

So if its not confirmed it hasn't been called?

A possible whoosh moment?

Technofob
20-06-2014, 03:27 PM

They're heading up Anderson dr in aberdeen now.

nribs
20-06-2014, 03:28 PM
A possible whoosh moment?

Woops thought it was a typo year=yet :)

WestCoastHibby
20-06-2014, 03:54 PM
Looks like we got ourselves a convoy Rubber Duck.

I just saw a big plane flying somewhere from somewhere else...... Just as relevant as mythical lorries ( probably delivering a load of "ball cocks" to the plumbing place across the way )

20-06-2014, 04:01 PM
I just saw a gritter lorry going past ICT's stadium.

20-06-2014, 04:05 PM
They're heading up Anderson dr in aberdeen now.
Are they comin up the front or the back?

20-06-2014, 04:08 PM
Double Diamond works wonders. :agree:

Technofob
20-06-2014, 04:10 PM
Are they comin up the front or the back?

Up the back,good buddy!

h185forever
20-06-2014, 04:19 PM
S&N Brought out McEwans Lager first to have a lager that would provide competition to Tennents! Kestrel Lager was a lower alcohol lager and was based on German Pilsner Lager and was brought out later than MCL. S&N bought over Courage Breweries and inherited Fosters as a result.

A wee further bit on mcewans lager ..it was brewed with an ale yeast ..which is top fermenting as opposed to the lager yeast which is bottom fermenting . Gave it a slightly diff flavour to other lagers around at the time .
It was as very unusual thing to doat the time ....

.ah those were the days ... I worked in the lab then went out into the brewery at fountain bridge then diwn to the harp brewery in holyrood road ...some of the best times of my life ...and oh ...the tartan club !!

20-06-2014, 04:28 PM
Just been past Peebles Hydro and thought I saw Mowbray but it turned out to be one of the kitchen porters.

20-06-2014, 05:03 PM
We like trucking
We like trucking and we like to truck.

Dan Sarf
20-06-2014, 05:48 PM
We like trucking
We like trucking and we like to truck.

Absolutely.

23-06-2014, 01:18 PM
Where's it parked today? I thought I saw it in Muirhouse, but it was just the Ice Cream van.