View Full Version : (NHC) Hearts to play Man City

19-06-2014, 01:41 PM
To mark the centenary of the little pink bus shelter main stand.

http://m.stv.tv/sport/football/279762-english-champions-manchester-city-to-play-hearts-in-summer-friendly/

Lewis77
19-06-2014, 01:48 PM
Don't care, two horrid clubs playing each other.

19-06-2014, 01:49 PM
http://m.stv.tv/sport/football/279762-english-champions-manchester-city-to-play-hearts-in-summer-friendly/

Iconic. I can think of other words.

nribs
Its what big clubs do... Celebrate a stand that's a deathtrap.

That's about the only game of the season that I hope Manchester City win.

Hope they destroy them.

LithgaeHibby
19-06-2014, 01:50 PM
Hertz class. Somehow turning round the fact that, as they are so skint, they are unable to replace that deathtrap excuse for a stand, into its "centenary". A landmark in British football my **** - more like a plook on the ugly side of Embra!

19-06-2014, 02:01 PM
I'd be embarrassed about having a stand that's 100 years old.

19-06-2014, 02:01 PM
Competing for the cheats cup no doubt

19-06-2014, 02:03 PM
Playing for the Stuart Hall trophy?

Turkish Green
19-06-2014, 02:05 PM
Can people starting threads about trivial things associated with the yams.

Granted, if I was a City supporter I might be interested, but as I'm not, I'm not.

PETRIE OOT

19-06-2014, 02:07 PM
That's a coup for them, no doubt about it.

In years to come, Man City fans will sing songs about the night they played The Big Team.

19-06-2014, 02:12 PM
Hope the ****ty little stand falls down, obviously I don't wish harm on anyone in it. No genuinely I dont:greengrin

19-06-2014, 02:13 PM
Citeh wont bring anyone from the World Cup, doubt it will be anything other than a reserve side.

19-06-2014, 02:20 PM
A club that are spending money like it's going out of fashion versus a club that have spent other peoples money like it was going out of fashion..... Hope they both lose...

19-06-2014, 02:24 PM
To mark the centenary of the little pink bus shelter main stand.

Bad move - it'll just remind them of the days when they too, were a 'Big Team' with endless-amounts of (someone elses's) money.

19-06-2014, 02:25 PM
Competing for the cheats cup no doubt

I'm not sure how city have been cheating.

With them, the money actually exists and their owner could erase their debt at the stroke of a pen.

19-06-2014, 02:28 PM
Hertz class. Somehow turning round the fact that, as they are so skint, they are unable to replace that deathtrap excuse for a stand, into its "centenary". A landmark in British football my **** - more like a plook on the ugly side of Embra!

But it was a landmark in British football and an iconic piece of work by the architect, 100 years ago. There are so few remaining pieces of his work because they have failed to gain safety certificates or have fallen down of their own accord over the last 100 years. It's a scabby old death trap which they see fit to celebrate.

19-06-2014, 02:33 PM
hate to say it, but it'll be far bigger opponents than we can draw this summer.

sbell1875
19-06-2014, 02:39 PM
£25 for an adult ticket. Good value for a friendly.

Edinburgh's big club indeed.

19-06-2014, 02:41 PM
Anyone ever been in the hearts dressing rooms? They are worse than the old old Wardie changing rooms. Sure the billionaire club City will love that.

19-06-2014, 02:45 PM

Do we have anything at all lined up?

19-06-2014, 02:46 PM
celebrating a rickety old asbestos-riddled big pink bus shelter that's survived only because of crooked council officials :hilarious how ******* embarrassing

19-06-2014, 02:49 PM
If the Man City players have any sense then they'll get changed on the team coach on the way to that flea pit.

19-06-2014, 02:57 PM
The reason why it's so cramped is because human beings were, on average, six inches shorter than they are today.

Hart and Toure literally won't physically fit inside the changing rooms.

alloahibby
19-06-2014, 03:03 PM

Bugger all wrong with City.

19-06-2014, 03:05 PM
Don't care, two horrid clubs playing each other.Spot on, hope they both lose.

19-06-2014, 03:30 PM
Anyone ever been in the hearts dressing rooms? They are worse than the old old Wardie changing rooms. Sure the billionaire club City will love that.

One of my mates was at Tynecastle last week doing his coaching badges,along side some others,Hearts fans included.
And they agreed on one thing, that the place is a complete eyesore.
He couldn't believe how bad it really was.

19-06-2014, 03:35 PM

No you don't, you enjoyed saying it.

19-06-2014, 03:40 PM
The Man City players, used to the Etihad Stadium will feel like they have moved from a five star hotel to a Motel 6 once they walk out onto the rotten turf at Tynecastle.

19-06-2014, 03:45 PM

May not be my favourite club but vile and horrid? Because they were given loads of cash to try and compete with other vile and horrid clubs with loads of cash?

If anything is vile and horrid it might be the general 'money laundering' allowed in sports in general and football in particular.

However, I think there is a balance for most clubs and some who do overspend reach a tipping point and suffer. Just so happens there are some people with so much money to play with that losing a few hundred million is insignificant.

So out of interest who are your favourite 'big' clubs? I bet they spend a lot of money not all generated through the turnstiles.

If they want to celebrate their old stand I don't care. Every city and culture should celebrate their ancient ruins !

19-06-2014, 04:20 PM
Surely having a stand thats 100 years old is something you'd want to keep quiet?

19-06-2014, 04:23 PM
The Man City players, used to the Etihad Stadium will feel like they have moved from a five star hotel to a Motel 6 once they walk out onto the rotten turf at Tynecastle.

'We'll leave the light on for you'.

19-06-2014, 04:26 PM
Surely wonga,the City Council or the Lady Haig Poppy Appeal could put up a trophy for this one?

The Fair Play Cup?

Dave-O
19-06-2014, 04:29 PM
Man City players when they notice the stand.

http://i1288.photobucket.com/albums/b484/hibbydavey/100212-SOCCER-NO-LAUGHING-MATTER-LA-PI_2012100219580038_660_320_zps5c71be47.jpg (http://s1288.photobucket.com/user/hibbydavey/media/100212-SOCCER-NO-LAUGHING-MATTER-LA-PI_2012100219580038_660_320_zps5c71be47.jpg.html)

19-06-2014, 04:31 PM
I can't see why this match is such a big deal to some people

19-06-2014, 04:37 PM
World cup stars at Tynie...Vlad was right

19-06-2014, 05:42 PM
Anything to scrape up a few quid. Trying to disguise it by claiming it's to celebrate a 100 year old sh**hole is typical Yams. No shame.

When are the "health & safety" going to condemn that dump?

19-06-2014, 05:59 PM

http://i1288.photobucket.com/albums/b484/hibbydavey/100212-SOCCER-NO-LAUGHING-MATTER-LA-PI_2012100219580038_660_320_zps5c71be47.jpg (http://s1288.photobucket.com/user/hibbydavey/media/100212-SOCCER-NO-LAUGHING-MATTER-LA-PI_2012100219580038_660_320_zps5c71be47.jpg.html)

:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious

19-06-2014, 06:04 PM
I thought this was the draw for next seasons' Champions League Final.

hibeesjoe
19-06-2014, 06:14 PM
The tramps will get a result against city's u16 team and we will never hear the end off it haha

19-06-2014, 06:26 PM
Even Edinburgh City and Spartans have better stands than them. Joke club.

19-06-2014, 06:29 PM
Do you actually believe any of that?

How could anyone imagine crooked council officials.:greengrin

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/edinburgh-council-corruption-charges-just-1131693

19-06-2014, 06:32 PM
I hate to praise those cants however a pre-season friendly at home against the EPL champions? I would take that any day of the week.

19-06-2014, 06:56 PM
Don't really see the joke here. At that price for a ticket and the novelty of playing the EPL champions (albeit, mainly reserves), they'll raise a fair few quid in doing so.

Should we not be trying to do something similar, rather that releasing future potentials to save cash? :confused:

19-06-2014, 07:29 PM
It's hardly a 'coup' for Hearts, they'll be paying Man City an appearance fee. Similar to when Scotland played Argentina in a friendly, it's a commercial decision/risk whether you'll sell enough tickets to make a profit on the game. Hearts clearly think that since they can use the age of the stand as marketing they can get a full house, or at least close.

Fair enough, really.

19-06-2014, 07:48 PM
Dinny fret it will be a man citeh 11 made up of a midfield of summerbee - Liam Gallagher - Eddie large

mixumatosis
19-06-2014, 08:29 PM
Yaya toure's agent heard about all those cakes then.

19-06-2014, 08:58 PM
Don't really see the joke here. At that price for a ticket and the novelty of playing the EPL champions (albeit, mainly reserves), they'll raise a fair few quid in doing so.

Should we not be trying to do something similar, rather that releasing future potentials to save cash? :confused:

Slightly off topic but in a similar vain, their manager was out and about at my daughters school the other day. Was apparently meeting all the kids and trying to sell them on the club. You might think there's nothing strange with a manager being out drumming up support for their club but, we live in Glasgow.

19-06-2014, 09:07 PM

If yaya toure was whining about not getting a Bugatti for his birthday then what are they going to make of the facilities?!

Still, one more glamour friendly than we've managed to arrange thus far

Love the Green
19-06-2014, 09:41 PM
I'm not sure how city have been cheating.

With them, the money actually exists and their owner could erase their debt at the stroke of a pen.

Mansoor has cleared all city debt..cant believe sll the slagging of City. Absolutely hate the gorgie dogs but credit where credit is due they have gone about their business quickly and are signing the type of players we would never get..cant be bothered with all this youth ***** before we have a manager or a team..get that sorted and the youth program will take care of itself.. who will be encouraged to by a ST on the back of the Spartans tie up.

19-06-2014, 10:01 PM

"Since 1914, since 1914... That *****hole has stood there, since 1914!"

19-06-2014, 10:06 PM

Can't see anything untrue in his post.

19-06-2014, 10:06 PM
Im actually a bit surprised by coments on here about city playing at tynie.
Its a good game for them to get,sadly all we can do is slag there stand??

Dont like them one bit but it is a good game for them,just accept it and move on

20-06-2014, 09:34 AM

Yeah, cos Edinburgh council officials are whiter than white right enough.

The stories I've heard about some of them being bought and sold is enough for me to believe this could well be a possibility.

20-06-2014, 07:20 PM
Yeah, cos Edinburgh council officials are whiter than white right enough.

The stories I've heard about some of them being bought and sold is enough for me to believe this could well be a possibility.

:agree: See GreenLake's post above. All the evidence anyone needs.

20-06-2014, 07:33 PM
Im actually a bit surprised by coments on here about city playing at tynie.
Its a good game for them to get,sadly all we can do is slag there stand??

Dont like them one bit but it is a good game for them,just accept it and move on

I am glad you said that because I totally agree with you.

We are in no position to slag them off for this.

No manager, no players, no friendlies, no nothing!

20-06-2014, 08:07 PM
I am glad you said that because I totally agree with you.

We are in no position to slag them off for this.

No manager, no players, no friendlies, no nothing!

100% agree.

Criswell
20-06-2014, 11:00 PM
Man City player to Craig Levein: Escuse senor I cannot find our changing room, only a toilet.
Craig Levein: Ehm.. no, that is your changing room.

calder45a
20-06-2014, 11:08 PM
Do we have anything at all lined up?

Five a side in the car park.

21-06-2014, 01:16 AM
Five a side in the car park.

It's actually a game of kerby outside the Albion. Loser buys the first round. And the Albions shut so they need to walk to the lochend bar.

21-06-2014, 11:53 AM
You have to admire the Yams ability to make lemonade out of a lemon.

The trouble is that the more they try to turn their main stand from asbestos ridden eyesore to iconic Edinburgh landmark the more expensive it will be to replace it.

The main stand at Ibrox is a listed building and when the current buns wanted to increase the capacity the powers that be wouldn't let them mess with it. As I recall they paid a fortune for the longest single steel beam in Europe just to be able to chuck a top tier onto it. If you ask me the Yams are making a rod for their own back here.

21-06-2014, 12:16 PM
You have to admire the Yams ability to make lemonade out of a lemon.

The trouble is that the more they try to turn their main stand from asbestos ridden eyesore to iconic Edinburgh landmark the more expensive it will be to replace it.

The main stand at Ibrox is a listed building and when the current buns wanted to increase the capacity the powers that be wouldn't let them mess with it. As I recall they paid a fortune for the longest single steel beam in Europe just to be able to chuck a top tier onto it. If you ask me the Yams are making a rod for their own back here.

...and hopefully, a Historic Scotland employee will be tidying out their in-tray one day soon, and come across one of those heartfelt pleas from the pink side, and think "yeah......how did I miss this? How come we haven't saved this exemplary piece of football building heritage for the nation already? But...wow...look at the state of it!! This will need fast-tracking, so we can slap a repair order on them! [makes sucking air through teeth noise, and shakes head slowly]".

21-06-2014, 07:24 PM
on the topic of pre season fixtures, I see the Dons managed a respectable 2-2 draw with St Pats Ath today over in Dublin. Early start for the sheep!

21-06-2014, 07:30 PM
Nice wee money spinner for hearts. Although quite why you would want to "celebrate" that rickety old shambles of a stand is beyond me. The stand is ugly as **** like. Mind you, an ugly stand in an ugly stadium filled with ugly fans supporting an ugly club - makes sense i guess.

21-06-2014, 07:36 PM

Naw, but I've been in the cells under that stand and they're not great haha

21-06-2014, 11:32 PM
Naw, but I've been in the cells under that stand and they're not great haha

can only imagine them being akin to Edinburgh castle's deepest dungeon?

or is that being disrespectful to Historic Scotland?

;-)

22-06-2014, 12:08 AM
Playing for the Stuart Hall trophy?

I thought the winners would get a Jim'll fix it badge