View Full Version : NHC England v Italy

13-06-2014, 08:07 PM
What will the result be?.

I think it will be a draw, with few opportunities.

13-06-2014, 08:12 PM
2-0 Italy. 1966 to mentioned within the first 60 seconds.

13-06-2014, 08:39 PM
0-0

13-06-2014, 09:24 PM
Italy are notoriously slow starters in WC Final games...FACT, hopefully they come out of the traps sharpish this time but 1-1 me thinks with Gerrard probably scoring from a penalty

13-06-2014, 09:50 PM
A bore draw.

yeezus.
13-06-2014, 11:28 PM
I hope England win but my head says 1-0 Italy.

13-06-2014, 11:31 PM
3-1 England.

14-06-2014, 12:05 AM
1-1

14-06-2014, 12:07 AM
Not that fussed honestly, think the Italians are a better team though so will go 2-1 to them. Just hoping its a good game like they all have been so far, so much better than 4 years ago.

14-06-2014, 12:08 AM
I think england will win. IMO they have a strong squad this year and quite young, players like wilshere, sterling, sturridge, Lallana will all give them a attacking edge and are all very good technically. For me there biggest issue is there defence

14-06-2014, 12:13 AM
Hope England win but if it's still 0-0 after 70 minutes or so can see both teams accepting that, conserving energy in the humidity and hoping they can take 6 points from the other 2 games.

0-0 or 1-0 Italy imo.

14-06-2014, 12:26 AM
I think england will win. IMO they have a strong squad this year and quite young, players like wilshere, sterling, sturridge, Lallana will all give them a attacking edge and are all very good technically. For me there biggest issue is there defenceThing is Italy have quality young players like Insigne, Immobile, Balotelli, De Sciglio and Verratti along with a quality defense and top experienced players like De Rossi, Pirlo and Marchisio. On paper there is only 1 winner but of course that doesn't mean anything.

Lewis77
14-06-2014, 12:38 AM
I think it will be an England win, just a vibe. I also think it won't be by an odd goal, I say 3-1 England. I'd like to see Italy win but I don't think they will.

14-06-2014, 12:58 AM
1-0 to Italy

14-06-2014, 06:55 AM
1-2 Italy

14-06-2014, 07:25 AM
I don't think either side is any great shakes at the moment. A draw for me. Judging by form so far in the tournament, England are going to have to work like demons to achieve anything and I'm not sure they are capable of that.

14-06-2014, 07:28 AM
2-0 Italy. First goal from a set piece and second when England push forward looking for the equaliser.

14-06-2014, 07:31 AM
If England give the likes of Sterling and Barkley a chance then I will break the habit of a lifetime and support them, love watching those guys and Sturridge.

But instead it looks like Woy is gonna favour Wellbeck due to his defensive qualities, mad.

If England have the balls to go for it and they can actually keep the ball a bit, think they could do well.

14-06-2014, 08:57 AM
England 2-1

14-06-2014, 09:01 AM
2 nil Italy, but hoping that it's a far greater margin than the 2

14-06-2014, 09:13 AM
1 - 0 Italy would be the most likely outcome I think. Italy always seem to have better players than England.

14-06-2014, 09:15 AM
If England play an open expansive game they will win. If they close the game down they'll lose by a goal.

14-06-2014, 09:26 AM
2-0'England

14-06-2014, 09:46 AM
1-1 for me.

14-06-2014, 09:53 AM
This is Italy we are talking about, 0-0 would be my prediction. Step one of their cynical march through another tournament.

14-06-2014, 09:58 AM
1-0 either way.

14-06-2014, 10:08 AM
2-1 England, and flag sales go through the roof.

Turkish Green
14-06-2014, 10:16 AM
0-0

Itlay won't score. England can't score.

But what do I know, I lost a ton on Spain last night. :boo hoo:

14-06-2014, 11:00 AM
0-0

Itlay won't score. England can't score.

But what do I know, I lost a ton on Spain last night. :boo hoo:

Ouch, I lost £20 on them but stuck a ton on Chile -1 ;D

14-06-2014, 11:44 AM
I think it will be a draw. But if someones gonna win I can see England edging it.

14-06-2014, 11:46 AM
Italy 2-1.

Anyone know if I can watch it 'as live' on any of the freeview channels on Sunday morning?

14-06-2014, 12:19 PM
Italy 2-1.

Anyone know if I can watch it 'as live' on any of the freeview channels on Sunday morning?

BBC2 6:05am-7:50am

14-06-2014, 12:23 PM
Like to see England win, but expect a 1-1 draw - it all really depends what score the referee has already opted for, I guess....

14-06-2014, 12:24 PM
The town will be an interesting place to be at about 0100 on Sunday, potential for a bit of drunken trouble methinks.

14-06-2014, 12:29 PM
The town will be an interesting place to be at about 0100 on Sunday, potential for a bit of drunken trouble methinks.

Best hide my England then top then eh :greengrin

Northfield Hibby
14-06-2014, 12:41 PM
Abe!

14-06-2014, 12:43 PM
Abe!

The best supported team at the World Cup :greengrin

14-06-2014, 01:04 PM
Usually want England to do well but not against Italy.

Crops73
14-06-2014, 01:42 PM
2-0 Italy. 1966 to mentioned within the first 60 seconds.

If Scotland had won it we would still be going on about it.

Wouldn't we? :agree:

14-06-2014, 01:45 PM
Hope Italy pump them :agree:

Crops73
14-06-2014, 01:46 PM
Hope Italy pump them :agree:

Why? :confused:

14-06-2014, 01:49 PM
If Scotland had won it we would still be going on about it.

Wouldn't we? :agree:

If any country with a population of 5-6 million won it, you would expect them to go on about it for quite some time.

It's the fact that they feel the need to mention it at every given opportunity, despite being so far below par ever since.

14-06-2014, 01:51 PM
Italian sports news outlet Sport Mediaset have tweeted (https://twitter.com/Sport_Mediaset/status/477806699055972352) that Italy goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon has been ruled out of tonight's match against England with an ankle injury.

14-06-2014, 01:52 PM
]If any country with a population of 5-6 million won it[/B], you would expect them to go on about it for quite some time.

It's the fact that they feel the need to mention it at every given opportunity, despite being so far below par ever since.

You're so predictable! :faf:

14-06-2014, 02:00 PM
You're so predictable! :faf:

If its predictable, then it's generally correct.

14-06-2014, 02:05 PM
If its predictable, then it's generally correct.

14-06-2014, 02:28 PM

Because its England, our closest rivals. I will be supporting ABE just like i will be supporting ABH next season.

14-06-2014, 02:38 PM
BBC2 6:05am-7:50am

Cheers :aok:

14-06-2014, 02:52 PM
Can see a draw.i have no idea how italy are playing but if they close england down then i see them sneaking it.

Dunno what to expect from england

Crops73
14-06-2014, 02:53 PM
Because its England, our closest rivals. I will be supporting ABE just like i will be supporting ABH next season.

Does "rivals" mean you have to want them to lost to everyone else?

I can, however, understand the ABH thing, but that is a local thing is it not?

I don't love England but I certainly do not hate them.

14-06-2014, 03:01 PM
Does "rivals" mean you have to want them to lost to everyone else?

I can, however, understand the ABH thing, but that is a local thing is it not?

I don't love England but I certainly do not hate them.

I dont hate England, and yes you have it in one. I want them to lose every game they play, i even want them to lose the toss.

Crops73
14-06-2014, 03:06 PM
I dont hate England, and yes you have it in one. I want them to lose every game they play, i even want them to lose the toss.

OK, I give in. :rolleyes:

Heads or tails anyone?

14-06-2014, 03:20 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjNqQsHGVZU#t=108:faf:

14-06-2014, 03:34 PM
OK, I give in. :rolleyes:

Heads or tails anyone?

Probably for the best.

Lewis77
14-06-2014, 03:39 PM
£4 on an England win 5-2 - 250/1

With the heat, therefore players getting tired, therefore mistakes and with England having a younger team, why not.

Lewis77
14-06-2014, 03:40 PM
I think it will be a 3-1 win for England.

14-06-2014, 03:41 PM
Neil Lennon with his gut hingin oot here.

14-06-2014, 03:49 PM
Both teams would take getting out of this game, without getting beat, so a snore draw is on the cards. If there is a winner though, it will be Italy. Don't see either of these teams still being in the competition at the business end though BTW.

14-06-2014, 03:49 PM

Why not? It would be a boring world if we all wanted the same team to win. Oh and I hate England and I don't give a toss if you have a problem with that.

Crops73
14-06-2014, 03:53 PM
Why not? It would be a boring world if we all wanted the same team to win. Oh and I hate England and I don't give a toss if you have a problem with that.

Well hush my mouth...

14-06-2014, 05:49 PM
Thing is Italy have quality young players like Insigne, Immobile, Balotelli, De Sciglio and Verratti

I've heard that he's a bit slow.......

14-06-2014, 05:52 PM
0-0 bore. I don't think either team will be taking any chances of losing the game.

14-06-2014, 06:09 PM
Getting excited now.

C'mon England

Come home as soon as possible

14-06-2014, 06:17 PM
Hope im wrong but can see England having pace off the bench and winning it, Mon the Pirlo

SJNB Hibby
14-06-2014, 06:43 PM
1-1, England to score early, Italy to tie it up mid 2nd half, hope I'm wrong, would live to see Italy score 5-6

14-06-2014, 06:47 PM
Forza Italia! :partyhibb

14-06-2014, 06:58 PM
Italy goalkeeper and captain Gianluigi Buffon (ankle) has indicated he is unlikely to play.

:(

14-06-2014, 07:06 PM
May the best team win so long as they're not English.

14-06-2014, 07:43 PM
C'mon eeeeeettaaaalllleeeeee

14-06-2014, 07:52 PM
#ITA Starting XI vs #ENG Sirigu; Chiellini, Barzagli, Paletta, Darmian; De Rossi; Verratti, Pirlo, Marchisio; Candreva; Balotelli

England team to face Italy - Hart, Johnson, Cahill, Jagielka, Baines, Henderson, Gerrard, Sterling, Welbeck, Rooney, Sturridge.

14-06-2014, 08:01 PM
#ITA Starting XI vs #ENG Sirigu; Chiellini, Barzagli, Paletta, Darmian; De Rossi; Verratti, Pirlo, Marchisio; Candreva; Balotelli

England team to face Italy - Hart, Johnson, Cahill, Jagielka, Baines, Henderson, Gerrard, Sterling, Welbeck, Rooney, Sturridge.

That looks about the weakest English team I've seen for yonks starting a major tournament. Think they'll greatly miss the more experienced players they once had.

Come on Italy. Bag a few.

14-06-2014, 08:22 PM
Given the over-hype and general flag waving of previous tournaments, there has been a very subdued reaction and lack of flag carrying on white van mans vehicles for this one. I would like to see them doing well, if only to see my friends happy and hopeful for a few weeks.

I don't see them winning tonight though. Italy for me

14-06-2014, 08:23 PM
That looks about the weakest English team I've seen for yonks starting a major tournament. Think they'll greatly miss the more experienced players they once had.

Sorry, I see it the other way. The Lampard's, Terry's, Ferdinand's etc are well past it and the reason why they bottle it. The youngsters might do it!!!

14-06-2014, 08:25 PM

Italy don't look anything special either to be fair.

Danny Welbeck, what does he actually do? I dinnae understand why he's in the team. Happy to see him in it though.:greengrin

14-06-2014, 08:31 PM
Italy don't look anything special either to be fair.

Danny Welbeck, what does he actually do? I dinnae understand why he's in the team. Happy to see him in it though.:greengrin

No idea either why Wellbeck is liked by Hodgson. He must see something in him that we don't.

Saying that he'll probably go on and score tonight.

itslegaltender
14-06-2014, 08:34 PM
a goaless draw tonight is 13/2 with Willy Hills. tempting.

14-06-2014, 08:37 PM
a goaless draw tonight is 13/2 with Willy Hills. tempting.

If you fancy 0-0, then back no-goalscorer in the first scorer market.

If the match finishes 1-0 either way and the goal is an own-goal, the bookies pay out as 0-0 as OG's don't count in that market,

14-06-2014, 08:42 PM
No idea either why Wellbeck is liked by Hodgson. He must see something in him that we don't.

Naaaaaaah. He'll not score. I did read a thing Paul Scholes was saying about using Welbeck to follow Pirlo about the park and stop him getting any time on the ball. Be interesting to see if that's the game plan.

14-06-2014, 08:50 PM
i dont think italy are anywhere near the standard of what they used to be and are there for the taking.

England will set up:

johnson cahill jagielka baines

gerrard henderson

Sterling Rooney Wellbeck

Sturridge

Im assuming wellbeck starts as he has a ton of energy and pace, he also wins the ball high up the pitch and puts their defenders under pressure. When the game opens up you will see lallana coming on and using the ball effectively and exploiting the space.

If it was me i would have wilshere ahead of henderson

14-06-2014, 08:55 PM
i dont think italy are anywhere near the standard of what they used to be and are there for the taking.

England will set up:

johnson cahill jagielka baines

gerrard henderson

Sterling Rooney Wellbeck

Sturridge

Im assuming wellbeck starts as he has a ton of energy and pace, he also wins the ball high up the pitch and puts their defenders under pressure. When the game opens up you will see lallana coming on and using the ball effectively and exploiting the space.

If it was me i would have wilshere ahead of henderson

Henderson is decent, and has a good season, but Wilshere is a far better footballer.:agree:

14-06-2014, 09:10 PM
Henderson is decent, and has a good season, but Wilshere is a far better footballer.:agree:

100% agree. Think he has went for henderson as he has that undertstanding with gerrard and will graft away and be disciplined. Wilshere is technixally immense and also works hard but fitness has been a issue of late

14-06-2014, 09:11 PM

Not a chance, Henderson is hugely underrated and a far better player than most people give him credit for, Roy knows better thankfully.

14-06-2014, 09:13 PM

You're having a laugh, very strong team with and plenty enough experience to cope with big games.

14-06-2014, 09:14 PM
Not a chance, Henderson is hugely underrated and a far better player than most people give him credit for, Roy knows better thankfully.

Not that you're biased or anything :wink:

I cant stand Wilshere, or Arsenal (my least favourite English team), or the England national team :greengrin but Wilshere looks a much better player than Henderson to me.

14-06-2014, 09:15 PM
Not that you're biased or anything :wink:

I cant stand Wilshere, or Arsenal (my least favourite English team), or the England national team :greengrin but Wilshere looks a much better player than Henderson to me.

I don't know how you get the impression that my opinion is a biased one :greengrin

14-06-2014, 09:16 PM
Balotelli for a brace

14-06-2014, 09:17 PM
Balotelli for a brace

Aye those teeth are awful.

14-06-2014, 09:27 PM
I always try and stay neutral to be honest as far as England are concerned...then I saw Italy were 21/10 on SkyBet. Good job I'm watching it at home with my (part Italian) girlfriend and not down the pub.

14-06-2014, 09:31 PM
I always try and stay neutral to be honest as far as England are concerned...then I saw Italy were 21/10 on SkyBet. Good job I'm watching it at home with my (part Italian) girlfriend and not down the pub.

I've backed Italy @ 3.5 (5/2) on Betfair.

That's a massive price.

14-06-2014, 09:32 PM

I think playing Wellbeck is a good idea.

He's really disciplined and will do exactly as asked. His work rate is good and he's decent in the air which is always useful. If he does his job for 65/70 minutes it open the game up for someone like Barkley or Lallana to come on and have a run at Italy.

14-06-2014, 09:33 PM
I predict that in a few hours the expert panel will either be wetting themselves and pronouncing that Engerlund will go all the way to the final or they will be ripping Woy and his merry men to shreds with their post mortem.

14-06-2014, 09:34 PM
I predict that in a few hours the expert panel will either be wetting themselves and pronouncing that Engerlund will go all the way to the final or they will be ripping Woy and his merry men to shreds with their post mortem.

Nothing like hedging your bets :greengrin

14-06-2014, 09:38 PM
"road rage Britain caught on camera" is on ITV.

Tempting.

14-06-2014, 09:40 PM

Tempting.

What, you fancy going out a having road rage?

Stax
14-06-2014, 09:42 PM
Engerland to beat Italy, both teams to score..... I've got them and had Costa Rica in a btts double, £1200 of a £10 if it comes in...c'mon Scouse's boys :greengrin

14-06-2014, 09:43 PM

Tempting.

Go for it. It's the only station tonight where you'll see an Englishman getting points.

14-06-2014, 09:45 PM
Engerland to beat Italy, both teams to score..... I've got them and had Costa Rica in a btts double, £1200 of a £10 if it comes in...c'mon Scouse's boys :greengrin

:aok: hope you're happy at the end mate

14-06-2014, 09:47 PM
Go for it. It's the only station tonight where you'll see an Englishman getting points.

14-06-2014, 09:48 PM
gie the baw tae Balotelli

14-06-2014, 09:49 PM
Stick on draw after the earlier result.

Italy to win the national anthems 1-0

14-06-2014, 09:50 PM
It'll be interesting to see if they stick with today's approach at halftime and spend most of it talking about one of tomorrows games rather than analysing the first half action :greengrin

14-06-2014, 09:51 PM
:aok: hope you're happy at the end mate

Even if he isn't after tonight I can see England finishing at least second. The important games are the other two and tonight's other result maybe takes Uruguay out of the equation.

First or second, they look like they will have an easier than normal first knock out game due to the weakness of group d. It's the quarters that will be difficult.

I can see them sizing each other up tonight and drawing.

14-06-2014, 09:52 PM
England are nowhere near as poor as the media, for a change, would have you believe. Not a particularly good Italian side. Think it'll be close but expect both will get out this group after the earlier upset.

yeezus.
14-06-2014, 09:52 PM
come on england! Do britain proud!

14-06-2014, 09:55 PM
They should play the sex pistols version. Just once to see how everyone reacts.

14-06-2014, 09:56 PM
Pirlo <3

14-06-2014, 09:58 PM
Italy must have the best anthem of the lot.

Absolute class.

Green Reaper
14-06-2014, 10:00 PM

Absolute class.

Them or France for me

Stax
14-06-2014, 10:01 PM
Even if he isn't after tonight I can see England finishing at least second. The important games are the other two and tonight's other result maybe takes Uruguay out of the equation.

First or second, they look like they will have an easier than normal first knock out game due to the weakness of group d. It's the quarters that will be difficult.

I can see them sizing each other up tonight and drawing.
Have to agree unfortunately, the sending off and Suarez obviously being nowhere ready also will have implications. Saying that Campbell was outstanding and may cause problems for both England & Italy.

14-06-2014, 10:02 PM
If any country with a population of 5-6 million won it, you would expect them to go on about it for quite some time.

Uruguay have - twice, and they're always perfect gentlemen come World Cup time. :rolleyes:

Population last census 3.23 million.

14-06-2014, 10:02 PM

Absolute class.

Them or France for me

Both excellent Anthems :agree:

14-06-2014, 10:03 PM
Some effort by Sterling. Thought it was in for a second.

14-06-2014, 10:04 PM
Who else thought that was in??

14-06-2014, 10:04 PM
BBC graphics man getting a wee bit excited after that Sterling shot.

"Goal" flashes up on the screen followed by "England 1-0 Italy" appearing on the scoreboard! :greengrin

Lewis77
14-06-2014, 10:05 PM
Didn't expect the Brazilians to be so anti-English, I'm actually shocked. What's with the 'boos' anyone know why?

14-06-2014, 10:05 PM
Who else thought that was in??

Yep thought it was in.

Nearly score again there.

Good start by England.

Corstorphine Hibby
14-06-2014, 10:07 PM
The left back Chiellini looks like he's wearing different coloured boots on each foot.

Lewis77
14-06-2014, 10:09 PM
glen johnson is not a defender of the class needed here.

14-06-2014, 10:11 PM
The left back Chiellini looks like he's wearing different coloured boots on each foot.

He is.

It's one of the new Puma models. One pink, one blue.

14-06-2014, 10:11 PM

He is - one red one green

14-06-2014, 10:13 PM

He has another pair similar at home. :greengrin:

14-06-2014, 10:13 PM
He is.

It's one of the new Puma models. One pink, one blue.

Has he got four feet? :greengrin

14-06-2014, 10:14 PM
It's being played at some pace so far.

Lewis77
The longer this game goes the more England will get in it, come on I need my 5-2, I need my grand!

Engerlund fans singing when they aren't winning...what's going on

Both excellent Anthems :agree:

Uruguay's is great! Like a very bad Italian comic opera.

Someone once told me it's a sort of "Donizetti's Greatest Hits" condensed into about 5 minutes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jc6L_0NZlqk

I believe it's the longest of them all. You keep thinking it's finished, then it starts up again and goes on another three or four minutes.

That's what a national anthem should be. :not worth

14-06-2014, 10:16 PM
England look sharp. Especially the front boys.

14-06-2014, 10:17 PM
England look sharp. Especially the front boys.

They're gonnae win this. :agree:

CyberSauzee
14-06-2014, 10:19 PM
Phil Neville commenting on how Baines is getting torn a new one. Talking from experience obviously is Phil.

14-06-2014, 10:22 PM
Uruguay's is great! Like a very bad Italian comic opera.

Someone once told me it's a sort of "Donizetti's Greatest Hits" condensed into about 5 minutes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DSXEUCYQmHU

I believe it's the longest of them all. You keep thinking it's finished, then it starts up again and goes on another three or four minutes.

That's what a national anthem should be. :not worth

i'l listen to it at HT :) to be honest i'm not a great fan of having any national anthems before sporting events, sportsmen/athletes shouldn't need a wee song/tune to get the adrenaline pumping(imo of course)

Lewis77
14-06-2014, 10:27 PM
Ok I have a few quid on England tonight but I have always been in the 'I'd rather England not win' camp. However after all the booing by the Brazilians which even the commentator has referred to, I really do want England to win here. What has England ever done to Brazil? Cannae abide rudeness.

14-06-2014, 10:27 PM
i'l listen to it at HT :) to be honest i'm not a great fan of having any national anthems before sporting events, sportsmen/athletes shouldn't need a wee song/tune to get the adrenaline pumping(imo of course)

Well, if Uruguay ever come to Hampden again, I'm going just for the anthem. It's awesome! :not worth

14-06-2014, 10:29 PM
Well, if Uruguay ever come to Hampden again, I'm going just for the anthem. It's awesome! :not worth

i don't think there's much chance of them getting invited again :greengrin

14-06-2014, 10:29 PM
Phil Neville commenting on how Baines is getting torn a new one. Talking from experience obviously is Phil.

Just when I thought I wouldn't hear a more boring commentator than michael owen...then boon the BBC go and roll out g nev

14-06-2014, 10:30 PM
Just when I thought I wouldn't hear a more boring commentator than michael owen...then boon the BBC go and roll out g nev

:agree: I thought it was Michael Owen at first.

14-06-2014, 10:34 PM
superbio :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

1-0 Italy. :thumbsup:

Green Reaper
Beauty!!!!

1-0

Italy

Great strike. Well deserved in the last few minutes as well

Boooooooom!!! Forza italia

14-06-2014, 10:35 PM

MoscowHibs
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeesssssssssssssss...

Corstorphine Hibby

He sounds like Steve Hawkins' speech synthesizer.

Lovely dummy and goal.

It's Phil Neville who's commentating.

Pirlo made that. He is world class.

CyberSauzee
14-06-2014, 10:36 PM

Was just thinking Phil is hankering after Manchester. Not for him 25 degrees, some of the world's best players and beautiful women. He's after rain, Bury Town and the fat slags from Viz.

And an England goal now.

14-06-2014, 10:36 PM
FT soon surely

14-06-2014, 10:37 PM
1 1

****in boooooo

italians are p@sh :agree:

Pirlo made that. He is world class.

It was just so simple ,what a finish

1-1, Sturridge.

Good goal.

Green Reaper
Another great goal

Fantastic equaliser from England on the break.

Great cross by Rooney, great finish by Sturridge.

14-06-2014, 10:38 PM
just saw gerrard on the screen, he's playing after all

14-06-2014, 10:39 PM
Pains me to say this but good goal from Sturridge. :aok:

14-06-2014, 10:40 PM
England physio breaks his ankle in the celebrations and is stretchered off.

SJNB Hibby
14-06-2014, 10:41 PM
First thing Rooneys done all night :rolleyes:

14-06-2014, 10:46 PM
Been a good game so far.

14-06-2014, 10:47 PM
damn post :(

Good 1st half.

ionahibby
Decent game though had to red button to switch to 5 live commentary bbc doing my nut in! Fair play to them for being patriotic but this "us" and "we" is irritating!

14-06-2014, 10:48 PM
Been a far better game than I was expecting.

Both teams had good efforts and chances.

Tommy75
14-06-2014, 10:52 PM
Decent game though had to red button to switch to 5 live commentary bbc doing my nut in! Fair play to them for being patriotic but this "us" and "we" is irritating!

I'm sure commentators in every country refer to their team as "we" and "us".. Even Scottish ones?

:faf: Just watch the ****** game and forget about the commentary!

England physio breaks his ankle in the celebrations and is stretchered off.

That's a new one!

I don't think I've ever seen the physio stretchered off before.

I take it the Italian physio will look after both sets of players now or will England have a replacement? :confused:

14-06-2014, 10:55 PM
I'm sure commentators in every country refer to their team as "we" and "us".. Even Scottish ones?

It used to bother me as well although I've grown immune to it now but having English commentators who are biased towards England on a programme that is being shown across the UK is a bit different to an Italian commentator being biased towards Italy on a programme that is only being shown in Italy.

14-06-2014, 10:56 PM

:agree: was expecting a borefest.

England having pace is a real difference for them - but several players not started yet, Gerrard / Bains / Rooney (1 cross excepted)

Heat not affected things too much so far

WTF is it with folk on here that get so irritated about a commentator? :confused:

yeezus.
Can't be doing with the BBC commentary or the division in my house. Dad shouting for Italy, me shouting for England. Off to the pub to watch the second half I think.

C'mon England, a Henderson screamer please :pray:

14-06-2014, 10:58 PM

That's been the story of the World Cup so far for me.
Exciting attacking football in all games :aok:

CyberSauzee
14-06-2014, 10:59 PM
That's a new one!

I don't think I've ever seen the physio stretchered off before.

I take it the Italian physio will look after both sets of players now or will England have a replacement? :confused:

Don't be daft. Why would you want to help out your opponents?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/world-cup/10848858/World-Cup-2014-Roy-Hodgson-takes-largest-ever-backroom-staff-to-Brazil-as-England-take-no-chances.html

14-06-2014, 11:00 PM
WTF is it with folk on here that get so irritated about a commentator? :confused:
Kalm downnn Kalm downnn :wink:

14-06-2014, 11:01 PM

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/world-cup/10848858/World-Cup-2014-Roy-Hodgson-takes-largest-ever-backroom-staff-to-Brazil-as-England-take-no-chances.html

Because it's only a game of football and physio's often help opposition players.:rolleyes:

14-06-2014, 11:02 PM
Kalm downnn Kalm downnn :wink:

You watching the game from your hot tub? :greengrin

Can't be doing with the BBC commentary or the division in my house. Dad shouting for Italy, me shouting for England. Off to the pub to watch the second half I think.

C'mon England, a Henderson screamer please :pray:

Were you never telt to listen to your father ?

Lewis77
For me Italy look more dangerous on the ball than England. They're playing the ball more than England instead of just legging it around the pitch.

I need that 5-2 England win for my grand to come in.

You quite often see physios and doctors coming on to attend to an opposition player.

14-06-2014, 11:05 PM
You watching the game from your hot tub? :greengrin

Yeah :greengrin

ionahibby
Was expecting to see a certain mr butcher in the commentary team tonight. Is it itv he is with or has he just not bothered?

Put it this way. See that wee chuckle they all just had with thierry henry about his handball? Doubt they'd be doing the same if it was diego Maradona sat there.

I'm half irish by the way :greengrin

14-06-2014, 11:08 PM
GET IN :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

ionahibby
Mon the Italy!!!

Ooooooft!

14-06-2014, 11:09 PM
2-1 Italy, Balotelli.

What a cross that was. Inch perfect.

SJNB Hibby
Yes!!

http://i.imgur.com/0x2IUK4.gif

14-06-2014, 11:10 PM
Baines left exposed again.

Who is supposed to be helping him out??

CyberSauzee
I love Leighton Baines.

Paint dries quicker.

wow...what a ****** dive by wellbeck

SJNB Hibby
14-06-2014, 11:11 PM
England will score again though---Italy need at LEAST 1 more

ionahibby
wow...what a ****** dive by wellbeck

Surprised there was no booking.

Baines left exposed again.

Who is supposed to be helping him out??

Who gives a ****? The important thing is italy scored :thumbsup:

14-06-2014, 11:12 PM

Wonder what horrendous shirt they are wearing.

1987kev
Big mistake leaving Ashley cole out the squad as a football player unbelievable defender, Baines great going forward can't defend for toffee

Nice dummy, nice raker.

14-06-2014, 11:13 PM
Sturridge beauty

14-06-2014, 11:15 PM
That's more of a penalty than the one in the first game.

14-06-2014, 11:16 PM

I'm stunned Gerrard wasn't screaming for it.

It would have been soft but I've seen them given.

Balotelli offside for the 24th time

Strong appeal for a penalty there.

14-06-2014, 11:17 PM
Stonewall pen :agree:

14-06-2014, 11:17 PM
Balotelli offside for the 24th time

Imagine how bad he will be at Milan next season with Filipo Inzaghi coaching him.

Offside at least 30 times a game and never score from more than 4 yards out will be the order of the day.

14-06-2014, 11:18 PM
Thursday night in a loser goes home.

Pleasing

CyberSauzee
14-06-2014, 11:18 PM
England tiring now. A few of them off the pace.

14-06-2014, 11:19 PM
italians unlucky after 28 ole's

14-06-2014, 11:21 PM
Rooney has to hit the target there. Really poor

14-06-2014, 11:21 PM
Rooney in acres of space there. Pity.

14-06-2014, 11:22 PM
Imagine how bad he will be at Milan next season with Filipo Inzaghi coaching him.

Offside at least 30 times a game and never score from more than 4 yards out will be the order of the day.

you gross exaggerator you

:)

14-06-2014, 11:23 PM
that was a strange angle shot of sturridge, i though he was actually sitting inside the physio's holdall bag

14-06-2014, 11:24 PM
Nice outfit

14-06-2014, 11:26 PM
mon italy, move up to 2nd gear :)

14-06-2014, 11:29 PM
Didn't expect the Brazilians to be so anti-English, I'm actually shocked. What's with the 'boos' anyone know why?

It's quite sad behavior. Especially given the way England are playing.

They're playing well with pace and desire and deserve a point at least. WTF are they on?

14-06-2014, 11:32 PM
The Italians letting England come at them. They need to score another otherwise we know the outcome.

14-06-2014, 11:34 PM
It's quite sad behavior. Especially given the way England are playing.

They're playing well with pace and desire and deserve a point at least. WTF are they on?

The side of the team that's beaten them in 2 world cup finals apparently. Doesn't look like they have much time for England :greengrin

14-06-2014, 11:34 PM
give a team enough possession and they will eventually score

14-06-2014, 11:39 PM
did that engerlund player come on with a long-sleeved shirt, seriously

14-06-2014, 11:39 PM
Hmmmmmmm not going as I thought :greengrin

14-06-2014, 11:41 PM
Italy pressing fantastically, even high up the pitch.

Thats how you defend a lead.

14-06-2014, 11:43 PM
That's the pitch getting the blame now...

Hmmmmmmm not going as I thought :greengrin

Really? I'd have thought you'd be used to unrealistic expectations falling around your ears at major tournaments :greengrin mind you it's usually penalties at the qf stage so in that respect this is different I suppose :devil:

well done gerrard

ionahibby
Heat getting to England. Not one Italy player down with cramp their Mediterranean conditions def have an advantage.

14-06-2014, 11:44 PM
England have played well going forward, but been minging at the back.

Deserve a point imo.

14-06-2014, 11:44 PM
What's the point of a white line if the ref takes no action when the players move forward :confused:

14-06-2014, 11:45 PM
well done rooners

14-06-2014, 11:46 PM
Really? I'd have thought you'd be used to unrealistic expectations falling around your ears at major tournaments :greengrin mind you it's usually penalties at the qf stage so in that respect this is different I suppose :devil:

Oh it will probably still be pens at the QF stage, I'm just talking about this game :greengrin

14-06-2014, 11:48 PM
The hard way it is then, never mind still confident :greengrin

14-06-2014, 11:49 PM
5 freakin mins...eh

14-06-2014, 11:51 PM
Why are England trying to play through them?

Surely it's Butcher time.

14-06-2014, 11:52 PM
damn bar now :(

14-06-2014, 11:54 PM
BOOOOOOOOO :greengrin

well done :)

Full time, 2-1 Italy.

Nae luck. :bye:

Good luck Uruguay next Thursday! :aok:

They think it's all over.

It is now.

14-06-2014, 11:55 PM
Pirlo :not worth

14-06-2014, 11:55 PM

14-06-2014, 11:56 PM
Italians do what they do best.

gerrard will be well p@ssed that he didn't do a, well..a gerrard

Lewis77
Italy doing what they do so well, sit back and soak it up. England have looked very average to me. Ok they have had a fair bit of the ball after the game went 2-1 but you get the feeling that has more to do with Italy's play rather than that of England and that if need be Italy could up the gear again.

Backward header near his own box in injury time. Sauzee-esque calm and composure :greengrin

Before the draw for the finals was made, Hodgson said he wanted to avoid the heat of Manaus. Local mayor got miffed and said England wouldn't be welcome. Think that is behind at least some of the booing.

England probably deserved a draw - but Italy are masters of holding a lead

Green Reaper
14-06-2014, 11:58 PM

Absolutely sublime at 35, wish the free kick had went in as he deserved that.....,and I had a bet on Italy 3-1 :-)

CyberSauzee
14-06-2014, 11:59 PM
damn bar now :(

According to his book he worked out how to take consistent free kicks that end up where you are aiming when he was sitting on the cludgie. Apparently it's by only connecting with the first three toes of your foot. And and a bit of practice, but not the years manic depressive Phil Neville would have you believe.