21-06-2014, 08:49 PM
Shame this one has to end! Great game!

21-06-2014, 08:52 PM
Fantastic game

21-06-2014, 08:52 PM
Great game, Muller has been smashed there!

21-06-2014, 08:53 PM
Good game from both teams.

21-06-2014, 08:54 PM
Great game, Muller has been smashed there!

Think it's safe to say he's not simulating this time.

Great game, best so far.

21-06-2014, 08:55 PM
This world cup is starting to get ridiculous.

The games have been so entertaining and it has been brilliant to watch.

21-06-2014, 08:57 PM
Is that about 82 goals in total scored so far?

21-06-2014, 08:57 PM
Bosnia-Nigeria should be decent :agree:

21-06-2014, 09:05 PM
Great game. Needs more long range goals though!!!

ManBearPig
21-06-2014, 09:06 PM
that was superb hope nigeria game is as good

21-06-2014, 09:23 PM
Just read a pretty interesting article on the goals scored and what clubs they play for

Bayern Munich: 9 (Muller x3, Robben x3, Mandzukic x2, Gotze x1)

Manchester United: 5 (Van Perise x3, Rooney x1, Fellaini x1)

Barcelona: 5 (Neymar x2, Sanchez x1, Messi x2)

Real Madrid: 4 (Benzema x3, Alonso x1)

Liverpool: 3 (Suarez x2, Sturridge x1)

Pachuca: 3 (E Valencia x3)

21-06-2014, 09:36 PM

Oh yes.:aok:

21-06-2014, 09:37 PM

Oh yes.:aok:

:faf: :top marks

21-06-2014, 10:00 PM
Nice touch by the Nigerians - giving the Bosnians a stolen laptop and some forged notes as a pre-match gift.

21-06-2014, 10:13 PM
Nice touch by the Nigerians - giving the Bosnians a stolen laptop and some forged notes as a pre-match gift.

What a shocking thing to say, i recently found out via email i have a Nigerian uncle who just passed away, he left me a fortune

21-06-2014, 10:19 PM
What a shocking thing to say, i recently found out via email i have a Nigerian uncle who just passed away, he left me a fortune

You too?! Small world!

21-06-2014, 10:21 PM
Bad decision there should be 1-0 Bosnia

21-06-2014, 10:22 PM
Terrible decision by the linesman Dzeko was well onside

21-06-2014, 10:22 PM
Could see Dzeko was miles onside in real time, his run was perfect.

21-06-2014, 10:24 PM
Could see Dzeko was miles onside in real time, his run was perfect.

I was just saying the same

21-06-2014, 10:28 PM
This is a decent end to end game so far

21-06-2014, 10:29 PM
wow, wonder what car park he will go sit in after that goal

21-06-2014, 10:29 PM
1-0 Nigeria

21-06-2014, 10:32 PM
The African teams in general seem to be fantastic all round athletes and their fitness levels put our mob to shame.

21-06-2014, 10:35 PM
Emenike is a total tank, forget trying to go shoulder to shoulder with him

21-06-2014, 11:50 PM
Nigeria win and Bosnia go out, Dzeko should never have been called offside but think Nigeria deserved that

22-06-2014, 01:40 AM
Wayne Rooney still sees bright England future

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/27960805

"We want to make history and make this country winners again," Rooney said.

Out after only 2 games, it seems 'reality' still hasn't reached him. Though you have to admire the 'belief' he has in himself - I don't think any other striker whose taken 3 WC's to score just 1 goal would have it !

22-06-2014, 09:57 AM

Out after only 2 games, it seems 'reality' still hasn't reached him. Though you have to admire the 'belief' he has in himself - I don't think any other striker whose taken 3 WC's to score just 1 goal would have it !

He's not that far off from beating Sir Bobby Charlton's goalscoring record. Both for England and Manchester United.

22-06-2014, 10:00 AM

Are you writing off Wayne Rooney now? Had a fine career with plenty to come so I don't think the fact that he struggled at a World Cup will bother him too much do you?

22-06-2014, 11:09 AM

I think he is entitled to have that belief in himself.

22-06-2014, 11:21 AM
Are you writing off Wayne Rooney now? Had a fine career with plenty to come so I don't think the fact that he struggled at a World Cup will bother him too much do you?

Suppose not,hes always got his ladies of leisure to fall back on if things dont go well !

22-06-2014, 05:23 PM
Belgium v Russia is utter ***** so far.

22-06-2014, 05:24 PM
:agree: Dull

22-06-2014, 05:24 PM

Think we can agree Group H is quite boring

22-06-2014, 05:35 PM
Think we can agree Group H is quite boring

Very.

22-06-2014, 05:45 PM
1-0 Belgium.

88 minutes.

22-06-2014, 05:45 PM
Thank ****

22-06-2014, 06:20 PM
some random during the game

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BqwC372CIAAiMvN.jpg

22-06-2014, 06:31 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BqrmzCaCYAEj-Ch.jpg

Here are the betting slips for guy who bet $350K to win $30K on Argentina to beat Iran (via @WilliamHillUS (https://twitter.com/WilliamHillUS))

a lucky boy :)

22-06-2014, 07:01 PM
£350k?! I baulk at £3 bets!

22-06-2014, 07:18 PM
Not liking the way the Koreans are falling over, hope they get beat

22-06-2014, 07:26 PM
Good run and finish by Algeria

22-06-2014, 07:26 PM
1-0 Algeria.

Can't believe how bad South Korea have been.

22-06-2014, 07:28 PM
2-0 Algeria.

22-06-2014, 07:28 PM
Haha brilliant 2-0

22-06-2014, 07:37 PM
3-0 Algeria.

22-06-2014, 07:38 PM
3-0 can't decide if they are playing well or if Korea are just rotten

22-06-2014, 07:39 PM
3-0 can't decide if they are playing well or if Korea are just rotten

South Korea have been abysmal.

22-06-2014, 07:39 PM
Who would have thought Algeria v South Korea would be better, with more goals, than Belgium v Russia?!

22-06-2014, 07:42 PM
South Korea have been abysmal.

I think Algeria have invoked the power of Zarabi

22-06-2014, 07:49 PM
Gutted. Koreans falling apart. I have a feeling they'll get back into it though.

22-06-2014, 07:59 PM
Gutted. Koreans falling apart. I have a feeling they'll get back into it though.

Was it you that told me you ate some of the delicacies over there?

22-06-2014, 08:07 PM
3-1.

I have just had a flashback to Hampden in April 2013. :greengrin

22-06-2014, 08:07 PM
Booooooo

22-06-2014, 08:08 PM
Was it you that told me you ate some of the delicacies over there?

보신탕 :greengrin? Yep. Smelt terrible but tasted nice. Dog lovers start to dislike me when I tell them that. Its a special breed thats farmed, so its not like a random stray alsatian or anything.

22-06-2014, 08:09 PM
Next goal is absolutely crucial now.

22-06-2014, 08:11 PM
보신탕 :greengrin? Yep. Smelt terrible but tasted nice. Dog lovers start to dislike me when I tell them that. Its a special breed thats farmed, so its not like a random stray alsatian or anything.

Haha thought so, my pal lives there and hasn't tried it yet, keep trying to talk her into it

22-06-2014, 08:11 PM

Did you eat the chicken ringpieces?

22-06-2014, 08:15 PM
Did you eat the chicken ringpieces?

I knew id get hounded for mentioning it.
Grasshoppers as well. Must have missed the poultry anuses.

Its hard to find, you have to find a particular restaurant. Most koreans are embarassed about it.

22-06-2014, 08:17 PM
What an effort by Ki. That would have been a goal of the tournament candidate.

22-06-2014, 08:17 PM
Almost 3-2 there.

Great shot and save.

This is turning into a really good game.

22-06-2014, 08:18 PM
I knew id get hounded for mentioning it.
Grasshoppers as well. Must have missed the poultry anuses.

Its hard to find, you have to find a particular restaurant. Most koreans are embarassed about it.

I'm barking mad about it :agree: I often threaten my dog with the barbecue when she's disobedient though so I suppose I'm a bit of a hypocrite :greengrin

22-06-2014, 08:19 PM
4-1.

Excellent goal by Algeria. Great link up play and that could now be game set and match.

Sensational fourth for Algeria. What a sexy goal.

22-06-2014, 08:29 PM
4-2 now

22-06-2014, 08:29 PM
4-2.

22-06-2014, 08:30 PM
Bonkers game. Bonkers tournament.

22-06-2014, 08:30 PM
It's certainly been a very exciting game.

22-06-2014, 08:31 PM
Wasn't really looking forward to this game but it's been brilliant!

22-06-2014, 08:32 PM
Game on.Could go either way.

22-06-2014, 08:32 PM
I think that makes it 90 goals so far this World Cup in total :top marks

22-06-2014, 08:34 PM
I think that makes it 90 goals so far this World Cup in total :top marks

I think your right and there are certainly many more to come, that's for certain.

22-06-2014, 08:52 PM
Full time.

4-2 Algeria.

22-06-2014, 09:43 PM
Usa! Usa! Usa!

22-06-2014, 09:56 PM
Rowan vine starts in midfield for portugal.

hoping for a portugal win, will make the last two games huge.

22-06-2014, 09:57 PM
Rowan Vine is Portuguese :confused:

22-06-2014, 10:04 PM
Ronaldo getting the tricks out.

22-06-2014, 10:05 PM
1-0 shocking defending. Good finish by nani.

1-0 Portugal, Nani.

Good good :)

22-06-2014, 10:06 PM
Some of the defending is comical

22-06-2014, 10:06 PM
Was nice of Tim Howard to lie on the ground for Nani

22-06-2014, 10:28 PM
Can somebody at the Beeb not give that prat Lawrenson the sack

22-06-2014, 10:31 PM
Can somebody at the Beeb not give that prat Lawrenson the sack

That's too good for him I demand a stoning

22-06-2014, 10:32 PM
US playing well!

22-06-2014, 10:39 PM
USA have been the better team, dunno what's going on with Meireles normally I really like him but he's been shocking so far

22-06-2014, 10:42 PM
They don't stop the clock for the water break? I assume it's added into the injury time though?

Anyone know why C.Ronaldo is getting abuse?

22-06-2014, 10:43 PM
"Will it be a familiar outcome?" Yes, yes it will, his free kick was pish.

22-06-2014, 10:45 PM
Nani hits the post due to shan Howard goalkeeping, but he recovers to make a great second save.

22-06-2014, 10:48 PM
Now I'm no fan of Ronaldo but Lawrensons just slated him for going down easy, looked like he got taken clean out to me

22-06-2014, 11:04 PM
Now I'm no fan of Ronaldo but Lawrensons just slated him for going down easy, looked like he got taken clean out to me

It's just the stock media approach, complain about Ronaldo, praise Messi, regardless of what's actually happening.

22-06-2014, 11:08 PM
It's just the stock media approach, complain about Ronaldo, praise Messi, regardless of what's actually happening.

They've done nothing but praise him in the studio. You don't support man united do you?

22-06-2014, 11:13 PM
What a chance there for the Americans!

22-06-2014, 11:14 PM
Some block that!

Superb attack by USA great defending by portugal. Bradley puts it anywhere but where he did and it's 1-1.

should have burst the net from there

22-06-2014, 11:16 PM
If I played in the same team as Nani I'd lose the heid and attack him

22-06-2014, 11:21 PM
pick that one out cracker

Cracking goal!

What a strike, well done!!

22-06-2014, 11:22 PM
Peach!!! 1-1.

i ****ing love the world cup.

22-06-2014, 11:22 PM
Well deserved!

22-06-2014, 11:23 PM
Great strike. Game on!

22-06-2014, 11:29 PM
Score stays the same and it means a draw between the USA and Germany sees both teams through. But I doubt German legend and usa coach Jurgen Klinsmann would be happy with that.

22-06-2014, 11:39 PM
woohoo 2-1 uncle sam

2-1 USA!

Portugal out unless they score.

2-1 usa. Thought he was offside. Dempsey from three yards.

Edit:

Onside. Portugal vs ghana looking like a dead rubber.

****ing hell :faf::faf:

22-06-2014, 11:41 PM
Stuck it in with the belly!

22-06-2014, 11:43 PM
this would be a heck of a scalp if they pull it off

22-06-2014, 11:44 PM
Actually depresses me a bit when average teams like the USA get to world cups and we don't, wish we could play some of the teams they do to qualify

22-06-2014, 11:51 PM
Picked usa and Germany to go through in the work predictor. Delighted with this result!

22-06-2014, 11:53 PM
that was bradley giving the ball away so cheaply

2-2!

Fantastic entertainment!

Full time!

22-06-2014, 11:54 PM
Haha just had to delete a wee post slating Ronaldo, he showed me :na na:

22-06-2014, 11:55 PM
Thought the US were worth the win, hope they go through.

22-06-2014, 11:56 PM
what a p*sser that must be, they just kept on giving the ball away so cheapley

22-06-2014, 11:57 PM
Lawrenson 'Ronaldo wont be to dissapointed' Alluding to Portugal heading out the world cup.

What a scandelous thing to say? The biggest competition in the world and this idiot comes out with this statement regarding the world best player?.

Mark Lawrenson is a complete and utter bellend.

22-06-2014, 11:59 PM
Klinsman will arrange a tedious nil nil draw with Germany so both go through to the next round. :greengrin

22-06-2014, 11:59 PM
Great second go by Portugal but surely changes nothing r.e. USA Vs Germany. Points enough for both.

23-06-2014, 12:01 AM
can't see the Germans playing for a draw after the carve-up between them and Austria in the 1982 WC in spain

but then again :)

23-06-2014, 12:15 AM
Lawrenson 'Ronaldo wont be to dissapointed' Alluding to Portugal heading out the world cup.

What a scandelous thing to say? The biggest competition in the world and this idiot comes out with this statement regarding the world best player?.

Yep, he talks ***** virtually every time he's on the telly. IMO today he was matched by Hansen, I didn't agree with a word he said either half time or full time.

23-06-2014, 12:22 AM
Yep, he talks ***** virtually every time he's on the telly. IMO today he was matched by Hansen, I didn't agree with a word he said either half time or full time.

Hansen and Lawro are old school dinosaurs that played 30 years ago. Both are annoyingly predictable with their chat, when has Lawro ever said anything positive?

23-06-2014, 12:26 AM
Hansen and Lawro are old school dinosaurs that played 30 years ago. Both are annoyingly predictable with their chat, when has Lawro ever said anything positive?

I don't mind Hansen :agree:

23-06-2014, 12:29 AM

You like Oasis so your opinion means nothing. :na na:

23-06-2014, 12:32 AM
You like Oasis so your opinion means nothing. :na na:

http://www.bookblogbake.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/10th-doctor-crying.gif:wink:

23-06-2014, 12:37 AM
Ya beauty. Ghana still have a decent chance to qualify.

23-06-2014, 05:19 AM
Ya beauty. Ghana still have a decent chance to qualify.

Id fancy them to beat Portugal and the Germans to beat USA, which would be enough for the Black Stars :agree:

23-06-2014, 10:08 AM
Actually depresses me a bit when average teams like the USA get to world cups and we don't, wish we could play some of the teams they do to qualify

They're hardly "average". Been well above Scotland in FIFA rankings for years now. I bet the USA wouldn't mind playing the likes of Lithuania, San Marino or Wales.......countries that Scotland have toiled against in the past.

23-06-2014, 10:18 AM
They're hardly "average". Been well above Scotland in FIFA rankings for years now. I bet the USA wouldn't mind playing the likes of Lithuania, San Marino or Wales.......countries that Scotland have toiled against in the past.

I would say in world terms they are average, we are as well and the like of Lithuania and Wales would destroy teams in the CONCACAF bar Mexico, Costa Rica and the USA

We would be well above them playing St Kitts, Belize, Haiti etc

23-06-2014, 11:53 AM
Was gutted when the leveller went in - didn't feel Portugal deserved it but credit to them for going to the death.

Hopefully Portugal turn up in the last game and manage to hold the Ghanaians to a draw...I don't fancy our chances against a very quick German forward line...

0-0 it definitely won't be!

23-06-2014, 12:13 PM
Id fancy them to beat Portugal and the Germans to beat USA, which would be enough for the Black Stars :agree:

Not necessarily.

If Ghana beat Portugal 1-0 and Germany beat USA 1-0, both Ghana and USA would have 4 points, both teams would have a goal difference of zero and both would have scored 4 goals.

USA would go through as they beat Ghana 2-1.

23-06-2014, 12:26 PM
Not necessarily.

If Ghana beat Portugal 1-0 and Germany beat USA 1-0, both Ghana and USA would have 4 points, both teams would have a goal difference of zero and both would have scored 4 goals.

USA would go through as they beat Ghana 2-1.

Fair enough. I was probably distracted as I have just opened a panini pack and I finally have Mr Souleymane Bamba :flag:

23-06-2014, 01:18 PM

Mmm bop was my favourite song by them !

23-06-2014, 02:25 PM

:agree: Far and away the worst pundit this time. He was never a good enough player to criticise others the way he does.

23-06-2014, 02:46 PM
Mmm bop was my favourite song by them !

Did they have other songs?

23-06-2014, 03:46 PM
Did they have other songs?

Yes but i would have to google it !

23-06-2014, 04:52 PM
Good goal by David villa there

23-06-2014, 05:09 PM
Chile are a quality side. They and Colombia could definitely go far in this tournament. Loving the three at the back thing.

23-06-2014, 05:28 PM
Ha! Jambo ******* just got done

23-06-2014, 05:39 PM
Is that the boy who played for Hearts just come on for chile? Mental.

23-06-2014, 05:43 PM
Is that the boy who played for Hearts just come on for chile? Mental.

Ex-Hibbies Claros and Bamba both make important contributions for their teams in the world cup. Ex-jambo Pinilla comes on as sub for the last ten minutes, and throws himself on the ground TWICE in an embarrassing attempt to win a pen.

Hearts class.

23-06-2014, 07:53 PM
nice story

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/27701640

Ed McIlvenny holds a place in World Cup folklore, but you will not find the Scot listed among the greats of the game.

McIlvenny captained the United States as they produced one of the biggest World Cup shocks in history (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport3/worldcup2002/hi/history/newsid_1749000/1749379.stm) - beating England 1-0 in Belo Horizonte at the 1950 finals.

:clapper:

23-06-2014, 07:54 PM
That FIFA song would make a decent ringtone :greengrin

23-06-2014, 07:56 PM
Cameroons anthem is like someone who doesn't know how to play the piano has tried to play the French one Haha

well done ITV, three ad breaks in 30 mins is impressive stuff

23-06-2014, 07:59 PM
Cameroons anthem is like someone who doesn't know how to play the piano has tried to play the French one Haha

well done ITV, three ad breaks in 30 mins is impressive stuff

This is the first game im not bothered about watching. Brazil should win at a canter. 6-0?

23-06-2014, 08:03 PM
This is the first game im not bothered about watching. Brazil should win at a canter. 6-0?

ITV4 Croatia Mexico :)

23-06-2014, 08:03 PM

Im flicking between the two games to be honest

23-06-2014, 08:04 PM
Got the Brazil game on tv and Croatia-Mexico on the iPad ;-)

23-06-2014, 08:05 PM

Ooo I forgot about that. Big game. Cmon the mexicans.

23-06-2014, 08:06 PM

I thought the Japan v Greece game was definitely THE worst game of the tournament by a mile. Greece have been awful and Japan and South Korea both major disappointments.

Apart from that, best WC in living memory!

23-06-2014, 08:06 PM
Theres something about Croatians that annoy me. Smug.
Is that xenophobic?

23-06-2014, 08:12 PM

Just noticed ITV4 hd on channel 178 on virgin :-)

23-06-2014, 08:12 PM
Is that xenophobic?

Slavaphobic?

23-06-2014, 08:16 PM
Slavaphobic?

Just look at the manager Kovac there. Makes John Collins look racked with self doubt.

Herrera hits the bar from distance.

Neymar. 1-0.

Neymar one nil

23-06-2014, 08:20 PM
I thought the Japan v Greece game was definitely THE worst game of the tournament by a mile. Greece have been awful and Japan and South Korea both major disappointments.

Apart from that, best WC in living memory!

Iran vs Nigeria was eye bleeding stuff too.

23-06-2014, 08:21 PM
Newsflash, Brazilian striker Fred touches the ball in the box

23-06-2014, 08:26 PM
1-1 go Cameroon

That wasn't in the script!

Another excellent game so far - really enjoying this! :agree:

23-06-2014, 08:27 PM
1-1

23-06-2014, 08:27 PM
Unbelievable how bad Mexico were in qualifying and how good they look in Brazil. Another team that could get to the semis IMO.

23-06-2014, 08:32 PM
Brazil better hope they avoid the Dutch i think the would beat them

23-06-2014, 08:33 PM
Is that xenophobic?

They have the brutality of the Italians without the magic.

23-06-2014, 08:34 PM
Neymar scores. 2-1 Brazil. 4 goals in 3 games.

23-06-2014, 08:35 PM
Neymar again decent goal but the commentator needs to calm down a tad, shocking defending

Mr Grieves
23-06-2014, 08:43 PM
Is that xenophobic?

Croatia has to have the most miserable population in the world. They're a right dour bunch

23-06-2014, 08:46 PM
Hulk :faf:

23-06-2014, 08:54 PM
Pretty simple finish for Neymars first. Ive done that in fives loads of times. Not sure why Ian Wright is knocking the head off it.

23-06-2014, 08:57 PM
You really wouldn't want to get on the Mexico #2's bad side. Hard as nails.

23-06-2014, 09:01 PM
Two really poor defences, don't know what the Cameroon goalie was doing for the 2nd Neymar goal (maybe he'd backed Brazil at 14/1 to win 4-1). I loathe Ian Wright, but he was spot on about that Brazillian defence, any quality teams that run at them will tear them a new one.

23-06-2014, 09:04 PM
Hulk is utter gash.

(((Fergus)))
23-06-2014, 09:08 PM
Jesus robbie savage

23-06-2014, 09:09 PM
Fred. 3-1

23-06-2014, 09:09 PM
Freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeedddd

23-06-2014, 09:11 PM
Two really poor defences, don't know what the Cameroon goalie was doing for the 2nd Neymar goal (maybe he'd backed Brazil at 14/1 to win 4-1). I loathe Ian Wright, but he was spot on about that Brazillian defence, any quality teams that run at them will tear them a new one.

Im watching the mexico game, but they have some of the best defenders in the world in Thiago Silva Marcelo Dani Alves and yon chelsea curly locked boy. Dante cant get a game ffs! Its a great defence with two holding midfielders to protect it.

23-06-2014, 09:13 PM
Im watching the mexico game, but they have some of the best defenders in the world in Thiago Silva Marcelo Dani Alves and yon chelsea curly locked boy. Dante cant get a game ffs! Its a great defence with two holding midfielders to protect it.

They do have good individual defenders but as a unit they are shocking, a decent team will cause them real problems imo

23-06-2014, 09:16 PM
Meheeco are playing some real nice stuff again, ariba

They do have good individual defenders but as a unit they are shocking, a decent team will cause them real problems imo
Like I say I probably shouldn't comment as im not watching the game :greengrin But based on the first two games some of the criticism has been over the top. They seem well organised, which is half the battle.

Fred must be the worst forward I've ever seen in a Brazil shirt.

Without Neymar this Brazil side wouldn't have much to write home about attack wise.

23-06-2014, 09:19 PM
Chicarito coming on.

23-06-2014, 09:22 PM
No offence hibsbollah, everybody's entitled to their opinion of course, but that defence has looked slow and far too casual in all 3 games so far. Luiz is a bombscare at the back and was clearly at fault for the Croatian goal, Tiago Silva is definitely a decent defender but was at sea for the Cameroon goal, although Luiz and Marcelo didn't cover themselves in glory for it either. Robben, Van Persie, any forwards with pace and skill will cause them serious problems IMO.

23-06-2014, 09:23 PM
Clear pen not given for Mexico. Terrible decision.

23-06-2014, 09:26 PM
No offence hibsbollah, everybody's entitled to their opinion of course, but that defence has looked slow and far too casual in all 3 games so far. Luiz is a bombscare at the back and was clearly at fault for the Croatian goal, Tiago Silva is definitely a decent defender but was at sea for the Cameroon goal, although Luiz and Marcelo didn't cover themselves in glory for it either. Robben, Van Persie, any forwards with pace and skill will cause them serious problems IMO.

You may be right. Its all about how they play now they're out of the group. I do agree about Luiz, hes prone to losing the head occasionally.

BigKev
23-06-2014, 09:26 PM
Clear pen not given for Mexico. Terrible decision.

Shocker! Mexico by far the better side.

23-06-2014, 09:29 PM
1-0 Mexico

23-06-2014, 09:30 PM
Yess Marquez 1-0

23-06-2014, 09:30 PM

You could be right, and Brazil could go out to the Dutch or the Germans because of your scenario. Although i think its this kind of thinking that's all wrong with the game over here.

Listening to Clark Carlisle, he's saying much the same and concentrating on the negatives of the Brazilian side, yet they never mention how crap their team are at the back, without the fantastic offensive players to get them through any deficiency they may have at the back like Brazil have?

Give me attacking flair football every time over mundane 4-4-2 pish we mostly watch here, and remember the south american countries do tend to do very well on the whole, and Brazil are the team everybody wants to play against.

23-06-2014, 09:32 PM
I love the Mexican manager Haha

23-06-2014, 09:33 PM
2-0 Mexico now

23-06-2014, 09:34 PM
Are the people commentating at the Mexico -Croatia game actually their? It sounds like they are in a shed

23-06-2014, 09:34 PM
2-0!!

So its Brazil-Chile and Holland-Mexico next round. Two potentially magic games.

23-06-2014, 09:35 PM
2-0!!

So its Brazil-Chile and Holland-Mexico next round. Two potentially magic games.

Chile and Holland to go through

23-06-2014, 09:36 PM
Are the people commentating at the Mexico -Croatia game actually their? It sounds like they are in a shed
They sound miles away from the action :agree:

23-06-2014, 09:38 PM

Was just about to say the same, no way are they at that game by the sound of it

23-06-2014, 09:40 PM
3-0 meheecho

http://abload.de/img/untitled-126dspk.gif
http://a.pomf.se/bewjka.gif

Was just about to say the same, no way are they at that game by the sound of it

Aye sounds strange eh

Their defence has been terrible and any decent team is going to cause them huge problems. As has been mentioned they are all "world Class" defenders but they are not a "world class" defence. If their sitting midfielder's give anyone time to turn and run at the back four then they look like they will concede as they are just not operating as a unit at all. I think the thing with Brazil is that people have the same expectation of them as they have of Hibs - That we will score one more than them (:greengrin) and whilst there is no getting away from the fact Neymar is a danger, beyond that they have Hulk and Fred who have looked honking. I appreciate Hibsbollah saying it is how they play from now that counts and to an extent thats true, but i really dont see from where they are right now, how they can expect to lift the trophy.

I will be back to eat a slice of humble pie after the final !

23-06-2014, 09:41 PM
Come on Mexico get another and top this group

23-06-2014, 09:42 PM
Fred must be the worst forward I've ever seen in a Brazil shirt.

Without Neymar this Brazil side wouldn't have much to write home about attack wise.

I keep reading and hearing people saying that Brazil aren't up to much, I must be watching something completely different.

No attacking threat apart from Neymar? Both full back would probably be good enough to play as wingers for almost every country in the tournament. Oscar is a brilliant player.

Brazil will win this world cup.

23-06-2014, 09:43 PM
4-1 Brazil

23-06-2014, 09:45 PM
4-1 and a game against Chile. There will be goals galore in that game!

23-06-2014, 09:45 PM
croatia get a goal back 3-1

so that will be

Brazil v Chile

Holland v Mexico

croatian red card

23-06-2014, 09:50 PM
I keep reading and hearing people saying that Brazil aren't up to much, I must be watching something completely different.

No attacking threat apart from Neymar? Both full back would probably be good enough to play as wingers for almost every country in the tournament. Oscar is a brilliant player.

:agree: Not sure they'll win it but they are definitely being underrated.

23-06-2014, 09:51 PM
Ive barely noticed Mandukic this tournament. Major disappointment.

23-06-2014, 09:53 PM
This is the tournament that keeps on giving, is that about 106 goals now?

23-06-2014, 09:56 PM
4-1 Brazil
14/1 with betfair!

23-06-2014, 09:57 PM

Never noticed him when he played against Scotland too!

23-06-2014, 10:01 PM
I watched the Mexico v Croatia game as I felt it offered more in terms of both sides looking to win. Have to say, Mexico were superb and if Stubbs changes his mind can we get yon Mexican fellae with the floppy arms? :greengrin

23-06-2014, 10:04 PM
This is the tournament that keeps on giving, is that about 106 goals now?

108 mate. Only 64 goals away from beating the 171 record set back in France 98. I think it's going to beat that record. It's been a brilliant World Cup!

twiceinathens
23-06-2014, 10:04 PM
Mexico had two perfectly good goals disallowed in their first game, and Brazil's third goal tonight was offside. Mexico could have topped the section.

23-06-2014, 10:05 PM
I watched the Mexico v Croatia game as I felt it offered more in terms of both sides looking to win. Have to say, Mexico were superb and if Stubbs changes his mind can we get yon Mexican fellae with the floppy arms? :greengrin

Bring the Mexican GK with him too. Ochoa. He's a free agent, so LD get it sorted!

23-06-2014, 10:06 PM

He missed the first game through suspension, scored 2 in the second game. Not too bad to be honest. 2 in 2 world cup games is decent.

23-06-2014, 10:13 PM
Does Fraser Forster have a right to feel a bit hard done by to be left out of the England team for the Costa Rica game? I'm a little surprised he's went with Ben Foster, a guy who previously quit playing for England, instead.

23-06-2014, 10:15 PM

I didn't say no threat without him, with him they are a side that could win the tournament, if they stop giving away chances that a top side would happily punish. Without him though, and they lose their single real top drawer talent. Not to say that they don't have decent players, but if Neymar went out injured, I really wouldn't see them having enough to beat a Holland or a Germany. Fred and Hulk have been woeful, I doubt either would trouble a top team.

They struggled against Croatia and Mexico. Chile is going to be a big test.

:agree: Not sure they'll win it but they are definitely being underrated.

I'm not sure underrated is the right word, they were the massive pre tournament favourites and along with the inevitable comparisons to previous Brazil sides and yeah, they probably don't come off as well, Neymar aside. I think people have expected better from them.

23-06-2014, 10:17 PM
Does Fraser Forster have a right to feel a bit hard done by to be left out of the England team for the Costa Rica game? I'm a little surprised he's went with Ben Foster, a guy who previously quit playing for England, instead.

Don't see what he has to do to get a game, other than move to a Premiership team, presumably.

23-06-2014, 10:19 PM
Don't see what he has to do to get a game, other than move to a Premiership team, presumably.

That's what I think as well.

23-06-2014, 10:20 PM
I didn't say no threat without him, with him they are a side that could win the tournament, if they stop giving away chances that a top side would happily punish. Without him though, and they lose their single real top drawer talent. Not to say that they don't have decent players, but if Neymar went out injured, I really wouldn't see them having enough to beat a Holland or a Germany. Fred and Hulk have been woeful, I doubt either would trouble a top team.

They struggled against Croatia and Mexico. Chile is going to be a big test.

Fair enough, you didn't say no threat, and my reply was more my own thoughts on how this Brazilian team have been spoken about generally, rather than just your opinions on it.

Fred and Hulk have been poor so far, true. But so have Higuain and Di Maria, I don't see them getting anywhere near the level of criticism. Fred and Hulk are good players, I do fancy Brazil to go on and win this World Cup, Neymar will get the golden boot, but Hulk and Fred will both play a part.

24-06-2014, 12:04 AM
Mexico had two perfectly good goals disallowed in their first game, and Brazil's third goal tonight was offside. Mexico could have topped the section.

Quite right! And there was the Fred "penalty"...

24-06-2014, 12:24 AM
Croatia has to have the most miserable population in the world. They're a right dour bunch

A Croatian waitress served me dinner last Sunday night and miserable would not be a good word to describe her - ten would be more appropriate.

24-06-2014, 12:28 AM

No. It's clearly what's known in the trade as 'off-tube comms' meaning theyre in a commentary booth - probably itv's studios at Waterloo.. The reason it's so noticeable is that the sound mixer has not done them any favours - the crowd are too low.

It's common especially in foreign league matches shown on television here but not being there, the commentator is at the mercy of the director - the commentator sees only what the viewer sees...

(((Fergus)))
24-06-2014, 11:23 AM

And it's amazing how we just accept this when the technology is there to vastly improve the quality of officiating on pivotal points (especially offsides and penalty calls).

24-06-2014, 01:17 PM
Looking forward to the Colombia game tonight :greengrin

http://s6.postimg.org/nksqabgfl/8_Ad2_VLf_Y_BQ.jpg

Lewis77
24-06-2014, 01:26 PM

Aye

24-06-2014, 03:21 PM
Is it going to be to little to late for england or will costa rica wipe the floor with them?

Lewis77
24-06-2014, 03:26 PM
Is it going to be to little to late for england or will costa rica wipe the floor with them?

Head says 2-2, heart says 4-1 Costa Rica. F*** it, 5-1!

24-06-2014, 03:45 PM
The talk from the England camp sounds near suicidal. Maybe drafting in the guys who haven't had a go yet will help, but Costa Rica will want to keep up the momentum and top the group.

If they get the first goal, England will crumble.

24-06-2014, 03:52 PM
Might be an interesting game - England will hope to "do a Spain" and finish on a high note, while Cost Rica will want to win this one badly to keep up the momentum ...

... can't see England winning it myself

24-06-2014, 04:27 PM
Ben Foster has looked more assured in 25 minutes than Joe Hart looked in 2 games.

24-06-2014, 04:31 PM
Italy v Uruguay is essentialy a winner takes all match and it's being played like a training match. Time for Uruguay to up the ante, draw suits Italians.

Lewis77
24-06-2014, 04:46 PM
Ben Foster has looked more assured in 25 minutes than Joe Hart looked in 2 games.

First time i've seen England look like a solid unit this world cup (so far in this game).

24-06-2014, 04:51 PM
Costa Rica are treating this like a training session imo

24-06-2014, 04:58 PM

Not as much as my mate Moray is looking forward to the next Blackpool game.

Stax
24-06-2014, 04:58 PM
First time i've seen England look like a solid unit this world cup (so far in this game).
Didn't look to solid when they nearly got done by a long ball just before half time.

24-06-2014, 05:00 PM

They still cannae keep the ball. Other teams pass it about just to keep ahold of it, England's players just get rid of it. They're good enough to hold it, dunno if it's cultural, confidence or coaching.

24-06-2014, 05:02 PM
Ian Wright.

His wife and kids just been held up at gun/knife point and he's back on a plane sharpish to comment on England games.

FFS get your priorities right son eh?

What a bellend!

Gus
24-06-2014, 05:05 PM
Ian Wright.

His wife and kids just been held up at gun/knife point and he's back on a plane sharpish to comment on England games.

FFS get your priorities right son eh?

What a bellend!

He went back, no doubt talked it over with his wife and I'm sure she is fully aware of his contract that keeps them in their nice house etc.....

They will have had security put in or moved into a nice hotel until he returns.

What a bellend indeed

24-06-2014, 05:10 PM

Looks like half of Blackpool is lost up that t shirt.

Dan Sarf
24-06-2014, 05:15 PM
Would Andy Townsend consider being our DOF? He knows absolutely everything about football.

24-06-2014, 05:18 PM
Italy down to 10 men

24-06-2014, 05:20 PM

Bet she is on her way round to the Huns club.

24-06-2014, 05:21 PM
Would Andy Townsend consider being our DOF? He knows absolutely everything about football.

Mark Lawrenson and Robbie Savage as well.

24-06-2014, 05:22 PM
Italy down to 10 men

Definite deserved red despite Italian protests.