View Full Version : Match of the Day World Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

19-06-2014, 08:17 PM
Was that a dive? Couldn't be, English players are too honest. Maybe when Sterling stood on the defenders foot it made his knees buckle or something?

Dan Sarf
19-06-2014, 08:18 PM
Andy says that's a nasty one. Thanks, Andy.

What were they saying about Muller diving?

Was that a dive? Couldn't be, English players are too honest. Maybe when Sterling stood on the defenders foot it made his knees buckle or something?

Did you no hear at half time? It's no in their DNA to dive and cheat.

19-06-2014, 08:19 PM
sterling needs to perfect his diving skills

Dan Sarf
19-06-2014, 08:19 PM
Andy says doctors are very aware of all that doctoring stuff nowadays.

19-06-2014, 08:21 PM
Italy - CR Draw

Or a Costa Rica win.

19-06-2014, 08:22 PM

Who needs doctors when you've got Danny Murphy?

Whats the world coming to eh? Doctors good at doctoring, hairdressers - they cut hair well, chefs cook good food....now if only football commentators were good at commentating :wink:

Time for changes Woy

And it should be Steven Gerrard, he's not kicked a ball all tournament.

19-06-2014, 08:25 PM
And it should be Steven Gerrard, he's not kicked a ball all tournament.

Good at tackling over the top of the ball though!

SJNB Hibby
19-06-2014, 08:25 PM
[QUOTE=SanFranHibs;4069051]Or a Costa Rica win.[/QUOTe
Riiiight

19-06-2014, 08:27 PM
Sturbridge dive

19-06-2014, 08:31 PM
FFS It's amazing what you see looking through tartan tinted glasses, dive here , dive there..............give it a rest ya fannies :greengrin

​yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaass

TheReg!
Yesssss lol

19-06-2014, 08:32 PM
Suarez last minute winner is coming

Please!

truly sickening

England are back in it. Uruguay had this in the bag but lucky England might escape.

Lewis77
Uruguay to score next.

19-06-2014, 08:33 PM
Thats about 4 dives now by sturridge

19-06-2014, 08:34 PM
sturridge has spent most of the game on his erky, is he wearing the wrong boots

19-06-2014, 08:34 PM
Thats about 4 dives now by sturridge

Don't be bloody ridiculous, it's not in his DNA!

Dan Sarf
19-06-2014, 08:36 PM
Andy says you've got to get yourself into a good position to score goals like Rooney's. It's like a master class in football

19-06-2014, 08:39 PM
Can't see England beating Costa Rica, Uraguay have been poor and are still being made to look good at points

19-06-2014, 08:40 PM
YASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

YASSSSS :thumbsup:

Oh yes. :thumbsup:

19-06-2014, 08:41 PM
Was it not enough for Gerrard to ruin Liverpools league chances? Attention seeker.

Stevie G you are a star. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

YAS YAS yas

SJNB Hibby
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees

ya dancer

Lewis77
Bottled!

pick that one out

Well done again Stevie!!!!:rolleyes:

the only way i could love Saurez more is if he went on a biting spree on Chiles and Lawrenson!!!!!

19-06-2014, 08:42 PM
Exceptional Suarez !!!;

http://cdn.makeagif.com/media/5-18-2014/8w7qHc.gif

just blow for FT man

Carlsberg evening on the cards after that wonderful f up by Stevie Geeeee! :-)

19-06-2014, 08:44 PM
Townsend is ****ing raging.

Extremely pleasing.

19-06-2014, 08:44 PM
Suarez is half fit too, its a shame. :faf:

19-06-2014, 08:45 PM
What will Woy say after this? ?
His glorious captain has fekked up!!

Dan Sarf
Exceptional Suarez !!!;

The Bernie Winters of football

Suarez has given them something to chew on.:greengrin

19-06-2014, 08:46 PM
lol@ the scottish boy :)

19-06-2014, 08:46 PM
fs 5 mins

19-06-2014, 08:47 PM
Boy in the Scotland top waving a saltire bouncing with the Uruguay fans!!!

19-06-2014, 08:47 PM
lol@ the scottish boy :)

Lewis77
19-06-2014, 08:48 PM
After the media went on like they'd won the last game I wonder what they'll say now.

Boy in the Scotland top waving a saltire bouncing with the Uruguay fans!!!

Aye what a fanny!

Whatabout another see u jimmy with yon hideous away top

They're coming home They're coming home They're coming

Englands coming home.

ToulouseHibs
19-06-2014, 08:49 PM
Theres a hiy you jimmy hat wearer going daft in the uraguay support sporting saltayre and kilt. Excellent work that man.

Envoyé de mon GT-I9305 en utilisant Tapatalk

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/20/peseze2a.jpg

Wots up Woy?

Woy the sad face?

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BqhVSrKCQAAP4pM.jpg

19-06-2014, 08:50 PM
Godin should have walked early - might have made big difference

They think its all over

Gerrard reverts to type. :faf:

HiBremian
19-06-2014, 08:51 PM
Aye what a fanny!

But nowt compared to the EPL. Money, money, money, buy the best players. Who then pump yer oot the WC.

Gerrard reverts to type. :faf:

30 seconds to go. Geoff Hurst coming on.

i'm really really REALLY embracing this WC :agree: victory for football tonight

Townsend is ****ing raging.

Extremely pleasing.

So am I.

Stax
One world class player on the pitch tonight was the difference between two average teams.

It is now
yeeeeeha

19-06-2014, 08:52 PM
Commentators sound happy!

Nice telly, where you live again?

30 seconds to go. Geoff Hurst coming on.

Nice telly, where you live again?

Not my photo mate :greengrin

HiBremian
Theres a hiy you jimmy hat wearer going daft in the uraguay support sporting saltayre and kilt. Excellent work that man.

Envoyé de mon GT-I9305 en utilisant Tapatalk

Nous avons besoins d'une photo!

But nowt compared to the EPL. Money, money, money, buy the best players. Who then pump yer oot the WC.

:faf: We're not out just yet :aok:

19-06-2014, 08:53 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/20/nejyguda.jpg***** bite them Luis !!!

Not my photo mate :greengrin

England last longer than world champions Spain. Progress.

19-06-2014, 08:54 PM

Stuck my pic of him in facebook! That's a beauty!

19-06-2014, 08:54 PM
another post mortem coming up :hilarious

19-06-2014, 08:55 PM
How many times......?
These muppets will never learn.
Saxon fuds.

It's not quite over yet.......................... YES IT IS :pray:

Can tell that boy spent all his money on the telly. And thought "I'll get the decor later" :tee hee:

19-06-2014, 08:56 PM
https://scontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpf1/t1.0-9/10482228_4409012279028_4256352384809214619_n.jpg

19-06-2014, 08:56 PM
How many times......?
These muppets will never learn.
Saxon fuds.

19-06-2014, 08:57 PM
It's not quite over yet.......................... YES IT IS :pray:

Can see Italy and Uruguay playing out a draw of it suits them both

Aye what a fanny!

Comedy gold that tv moment. Yer teas oot la'.

GoldenMeerkat
Gutted.

HiBremian
:faf: We're not out just yet :aok:

Fair do's. Cue "fighting on the beaches" speeches?

19-06-2014, 08:58 PM
Comedy gold that tv moment. Yer teas oot la'.

19-06-2014, 08:58 PM
Suarez, best striker in the world ?....gotta be up there with messi...

19-06-2014, 08:59 PM

Chin up mate. There's always Hibs :greengrin

HiBremian
another post mortem coming up :hilarious

Thank f*** for German telly :-)

Adrian,,,,ifs buts Chiles...Were not dead yet

Fair do's. Cue "fighting on the beaches" speeches?

More chance of Scotland qualifying for a World Cup than England staying in this World Cup

19-06-2014, 09:00 PM
wee draw tomorrow night then it's root a toot toot engerlund are oot

Depends on the Italy V Costa Rica game tomorrow really.

I like Glenn's hair.

Chin up mate. There's always Hibs :greengrin

:agree: I always support the underdog :wink:

http://abload.de/img/untitled-12v4sz4.gif

HiBremian
19-06-2014, 09:01 PM
More chance of Scotland qualifying for a World Cup than England staying in this World Cup

Nice one. Better Together in a pile of useless **** as they say ;-)

Lewis77
Johnson is a crap defender, the lad Sterling had no end product, Henderson is wishy washy and Gerrard's in his mid 30's and simply can't do what he used to. The rest aren't much better.

:agree: I always support the underdog :wink:

Just as well :greengrin

Wonder how many Liverpuddlians will be celebrating that Suarez double :greengrin

19-06-2014, 09:03 PM
Johnson is a crap defender, the lad Sterling had no end product, Henderson is wishy washy and Gerrard's in his mid 30's and simply can't do what he used to. The rest aren't much better.

Easy tiger, you almost sound as if you know what you're talking about.

19-06-2014, 09:04 PM
Just as well :greengrin

Wonder how many Liverpuddlians will be celebrating that Suarez double :greengrin

Now you know if you trawl back through the Suarez threads why I never supported the ersehole :greengrin

19-06-2014, 09:04 PM

Is that you Roy?

19-06-2014, 09:05 PM
englund beat themselves :rolleyes:

19-06-2014, 09:05 PM
Costa Rica will be licking their lips, they have a great chance to get through to the knockout stages now.

19-06-2014, 09:06 PM
Now you know if you trawl back through the Suarez threads why I never supported the ersehole :greengrin

Two quality finishes though :agree:

:singing: I just can't get enough, I just can't get enough...I just can't get enough of Suarez....

All this after the match in hindsight bull**** does my head in, we were beaten by a better team twice, no matter how you dress it up that's what happened.

19-06-2014, 09:07 PM
All this after the match in hindsight bull**** does my head in, we were beaten by a better team twice, no matter how you dress it up that's what happened.

Overhyped presenters and pundits out, Scouse Hibee in :thumbsup:

19-06-2014, 09:08 PM
:singing: I just can't get enough, I just can't get enough...I just can't get enough of Suarez....

19-06-2014, 09:09 PM
Excellent! Well done Uruguay!

Roy Hodgson said this World Cup that he wanted to get England to play more like Liverpool.

Well Roy, it hasn't quite happened but at least you've got Suarez scoring and Gerrard setting him up.

GOODBYE!!

19-06-2014, 09:10 PM

Roy Hodgson said this World Cup that he wanted to get England to play more like Liverpool.

Well Roy, it hasn't quite happened but at least you've got Suarez scoring and Gerrard setting him up.

GOODBYE!!

:top marksMade me laugh that one

19-06-2014, 09:11 PM

GOODBYE!!

19-06-2014, 09:13 PM
I feel sorry for Woy, i actually really like the guy, hope the media don't go for him

19-06-2014, 09:14 PM

GOODBYE!!

19-06-2014, 09:14 PM
Thought tonight Uruguay were just as poor as England. The difference was simply Suarez.

englund beat themselves :rolleyes:
:agree: Bang on. There tactics were shocking. Uncle Woy will be getting his jotters any day soon.

Dan Sarf
19-06-2014, 09:15 PM
Agree. Don't think they will go for him. He put a decent team together without a lot to choose from.

19-06-2014, 09:16 PM
England to get a new captain next week. His names Roger Malcolm and he'll be flying them home on BA3425.

19-06-2014, 09:16 PM

Thanks for the banter. Still incredible to think that you could still qualify even though it would take a miracle and, of course, England breaking the habit and actually winning a game.

19-06-2014, 09:17 PM
Thought tonight Uruguay were just as poor as England. The difference was simply Suarez.

:agree: Bang on. There tactics were shocking. Uncle Woy will be getting his jotters any day soon.

Who is a player in the team that beat us therefore we were beaten by the better team because they had the better players!

Dan Sarf
19-06-2014, 09:18 PM
Andy played a blinder though.

19-06-2014, 09:19 PM
England are the worst national team in the world if you take into account their financial circumstances. Hope it hurts. Ha ha ha.

The post mortem to an England defeat sounds a lot like a Hibs one. In fact I think, England are the Hibs of International football. Hanging on to glories from a past generation, and an obsession with one result in particular, both fail time and time again when it really matters. Is it the manager? Is it the players? Is it the culture and the supporters that expect too much? :greengrin

Thanks for the banter. Still incredible to think that you could still qualify even though it would take a miracle and, of course, England breaking the habit and actually winning a game.

The banters not finished we're not oot yet :greengrin

19-06-2014, 09:20 PM
I can see Italy and then England beating Costa Rica, but if Italy have the cigars out in the final game then Uruguay can get something.

Rooney played well tonight and shut a few critics up but I feel that Uruguay have more to offer the tournament than England.

Ideally I'd like Costa Rica and Uruguay to qualify...which is still possible.

19-06-2014, 09:20 PM
The banters not finished we're not oot yet :greengrin

:aok: Another night in your jacuzzi?

19-06-2014, 09:21 PM
The post mortem to an England defeat sounds a lot like a Hibs one. In fact I think, England are the Hibs of International football. Hanging on to glories from a past generation, and an obsession with one result in particular, both fail time and time again when it really matters. Is it the manager? Is it the players? Is it the culture and the supporters that expect too much? :greengrin

It's me! I'm the common denominator. :greengrin

19-06-2014, 09:22 PM
England are the worst national team in the world if you take into account their financial circumstances. Hope it hurts. Ha ha ha.

i still think they are one of the top sides

in the UK

19-06-2014, 09:22 PM
What do England need to happen to still qualify?

Beat Costa Rica and Italy to win their 2 games?

19-06-2014, 09:23 PM
:aok: Another night in your jacuzzi?

:agree: Hot tub looking over the Pentlands it's great after a defeat.

19-06-2014, 09:23 PM
I feel sorry for Woy, i actually really like the guy, hope the media don't go for him

:agree: It's not his fault that the EPL is full of players that can't play for England.

Cool_Hand_Luke
19-06-2014, 09:24 PM

Cant see any set of results happening when either would be happy to play for a draw
Potentially finishing
Italy - 7 points (if Italy beay Costa Rica)
Uruguay - 4 points

If Costa Rica get beat from Italy, then they could still finish on 6 points if they beat England, beating Uruguay into 2nd place
If Cost Rica beat Italy then Italy would also finish on 4 points if the last game was a draw, so one of Italy or Uruguay would go out

So cant see either of them wanting to take a chance on drawing the last game (assuming the last games are played at the same time :dunno:)

19-06-2014, 09:25 PM
A bit strong surely.

Just a wee bit :greengrin

19-06-2014, 09:27 PM
Just a wee bit :greengrin

He's lucky I'm not biting :greengrin

19-06-2014, 09:27 PM
Japan v Greece coming up @11pm

19-06-2014, 09:28 PM
He's lucky I'm not biting :greengrin

Unlike Saurez. :greengrin

19-06-2014, 09:28 PM
Who is a player in the team that beat us therefore we were beaten by the better team because they had the better players!
Disagree
2 shots 2 goals from the :a bite: dosen't make them a better team. They were both *****. :aok:

19-06-2014, 09:29 PM
Unlike Saurez. :greengrin

Japan v Greece coming up @11pm

Greece. Do we have to.

Hope Japan thrash them.

I think Joe Hart was thinking too much about his Head & Shoulders adverts, Uruguay were Head & Shoulders above him.

19-06-2014, 09:30 PM
Breaking News.

England ban the import of corned beef.

19-06-2014, 09:30 PM
Disagree
2 shots 2 goals from the :a bite: dosen't make them a better team. They were both *****. :aok:

The better team won FFS it's not like I normally have to argue with a jock to convince him about England being ****** :greengrin

19-06-2014, 09:33 PM
The better team won FFS it's not like I normally have to argue with a jock to convince him about England being ****** :greengrin

Agreed and all the more impressive that the population of Uruguay is only around 3.5 million :agree:

19-06-2014, 09:34 PM

From a neutral point of view I also have to agree with him.

I don't think Uruguay were the better team and Suarez definitely was the difference.

19-06-2014, 09:34 PM
:aok: Maybe I've just lived down in Engerland too long.

19-06-2014, 09:35 PM

I don't think Uruguay were the better team and Suarez definitely was the difference.

Who is part of their team, it's not rocket science.

19-06-2014, 09:36 PM
:aok: Maybe I've just lived down in Engerland too long.

:greengrin :aok:

19-06-2014, 09:38 PM
the population of Uruguay is only around 3.5 million :agree:

That's the impressive bit. Regardless of size, almost nearly every nation has at least one world class player who can cut it at the highest level. I think King Kenny must have been our last one.

19-06-2014, 09:38 PM
Agreed and all the more impressive that the population of Uruguay is only around 3.5 million :agree:

Yep.

And we have a population of around five million.

There will be people on Hibs.net who were not even born when Scotland last played in a major tournament, yet we think its hilarious to laugh at England?

Aye, ****ing hilarious right enough.

Pathetic.

19-06-2014, 09:39 PM
I can see Suarez beating Italy as well.

19-06-2014, 09:41 PM
A couple don't want to buy panini stickers so are drawing their own for every player in the World Cup and making shineys out of tin foil:not worth:top marks

http://paninicheapskates.wordpress.com

19-06-2014, 09:41 PM
Yep.

There will be people on Hibs.net who were not even born when Scotland last played in a major tournament, yet we think its hilarious to laugh at England?

Pathetic.

I ain't laughing. I may have enjoyed an occasional smile though :wink:

19-06-2014, 09:43 PM
Yep.

Pathetic.

I think it is hilarious. Same as when I see Hertz lose. It's called rivalry I believe.

19-06-2014, 09:43 PM
Wish i'd bought 2 lemons on Saturday, going to go to the all night tesco to get this smile off my face again.:faf:

19-06-2014, 09:44 PM
Greece. Do we have to.

Hope Japan thrash them.

change of plan, i'm going to watch the Uruguay v engerlund game again, hopefully Saurez gets a hat rick this time, and a couple for Cavani would be the icing on the cake

19-06-2014, 09:45 PM
England are like Hibs - always failing on the centre stage. At least we don't expect anything different though.

19-06-2014, 09:46 PM
[QUOTE=johnrebus;4069238]Yep.

Pathetic.[/QUO
That's been the problem with the Scottish psych for century's.
England this England that. This should not or have never stopped us producing world class talents across the board IMO.

Independance could be the way forward to get us away from this pathetic self loathing of our neighbours. Time to move on and man up. :agree:

A couple don't want to buy panini stickers so are drawing their own for every player in the World Cup and making shineys out of tin foil:not worth:top marks

http://paninicheapskates.wordpress.com

As someone who has joined the Facebook panini swap page and am getting a wee bit obsessed, I have to say that's brilliant :hilarious

nribs
Yep.

Pathetic.

Is it pathetic to gloat over England getting rodgered. FFS it was the Leading story on the ITN news !!! Glad they got humped and I dont find myself pathetic :)

19-06-2014, 09:47 PM
Yep.

Pathetic.

I'm a wee bit pathetic as I had a chuckle to myself :na na:

19-06-2014, 09:52 PM
Is it pathetic to gloat over England getting rodgered. FFS it was the Leading story on the ITN news !!! Glad they got humped and I dont find myself pathetic :)

I'm a wee bit pathetic as I had a chuckle to myself :na na:

i think someones hurting :hilarious aye, it's pathetic to laugh eh

19-06-2014, 09:55 PM

I agree,italy were better than england but saurez was the difference tonight.
Costa rica will be a tough game as well depending on how the italy game goes tomorrow

19-06-2014, 09:56 PM

I'm hurting too but I'm laughing at the people laughing at England........................it's the only way :greengrin

19-06-2014, 09:56 PM
Greece or Japan?

The Greeks for me. Even though they make Butchers Hibs look an exciting, attacking outfit.

19-06-2014, 09:58 PM
Yep.

Pathetic.

Scotland v england rivalry goes back a long time,maybe even as far back as 1314,not sure if some of the older members of hibs.net will remember??

19-06-2014, 09:58 PM
Greece or Japan?

The Greeks for me. Even though they make Butchers Hibs look an exciting, attacking outfit.

I've had a lumpy bet on Japan and think this could be the best bet of the qualifying round.

Stax
19-06-2014, 10:01 PM
Yep.

Pathetic.
I wouldn't say pathetic. Same banter as my English mates make about Scotland home before the postcards etc when we USED to qualify. First time England will have done a Scotland since the 50'S if they go out in qualifying... Fwiw I think Scouse has dished it and taken it brilliantly on this thread. It's what footballs all about is it not?

19-06-2014, 10:01 PM
Greece or Japan?

7/5 for japan for me

19-06-2014, 10:02 PM
I'm hurting too but I'm laughing at the people laughing at England........................it's the only way :greengrin

In fairness,you must be used to it by now !!!!!

19-06-2014, 10:02 PM
Yep.

Pathetic.

What a pile of utter drivel!

19-06-2014, 10:03 PM

Aye. I'll be delighted to laugh at England the next time Scotland are actually ****ing there too.

TrinityHibs
19-06-2014, 10:04 PM
Yep.

Pathetic.

Have to agree. I was going to go on about clowns with Scotland tops in with Uruguayans but I just can't be bothered. As an aside well done Scouse I am sure its just like following HIbs.

19-06-2014, 10:04 PM
In fairness,you must be used to it by now !!!!!

Well I do have a lot of Scottish mates and studying their behavior has certainly helped!

19-06-2014, 10:06 PM
Yep.

Pathetic.

Never ever tire of watching England getting beat. Sweet :greengrin GIRUY

19-06-2014, 10:07 PM
Aye. I'll be delighted to laugh at England the next time Scotland are actually ****ing there too.

Got to agree with you John

It ****ing embarrassing our record of qualifying for any tournaments never mind big ones recently.

Its always worth a wee chuckle though when Engerland get beat at anything.

19-06-2014, 10:09 PM
Yep.

Pathetic.

Why are you always so miserable !?

19-06-2014, 10:10 PM
Have to agree. I was going to go on about clowns with Scotland tops in with Uruguayans but I just can't be bothered. As an aside well done Scouse I am sure its just like following HIbs.

Never celebrate someone scoring against hearts?

19-06-2014, 10:10 PM
Well I do have a lot of Scottish mates and studying their behavior has certainly helped!

Haha,well done mate,you win !!

Fwiw ,with a decent defence you may get somewhere but the premiership.is killing english football and until that changes then england will suffer

19-06-2014, 10:11 PM
Kone is a decent player. Plus he looks like an Elizabethan jester with that jaunty facial hair.

19-06-2014, 10:12 PM
Is there any sport England are good at?

TrinityHibs
19-06-2014, 10:14 PM
Never celebrate someone scoring against hearts?

I love Hearts losing. Would I go in with Celtc or the the Huns and celebrate? No

19-06-2014, 10:15 PM
Haha,well done mate,you win !!

Fwiw ,with a decent defence you may get somewhere but the premiership.is killing english football and until that changes then england will suffer

:agree: I can't see any way back for English football though until a restriction on foreign players is introduced.

19-06-2014, 10:16 PM

Jock baiting!

19-06-2014, 10:17 PM

Diving? :dunno:

19-06-2014, 10:17 PM

That's funny, he's really gone up in my estimations over the past two or three hours! :greengrin

19-06-2014, 10:25 PM
:agree: I can't see any way back for English football though until a restriction on foreign players is introduced.

Very true,since money talks it could be a while away yet

19-06-2014, 10:27 PM

Vote UKIP!

19-06-2014, 10:29 PM
Vote UKIP!

Ha I don't think so pal.

19-06-2014, 10:36 PM
Ha I don't think so pal.

Hmmm. I may have to stick a smilie on to my previous post in case anyone else suspects I'm senile and deranged.

Gus
19-06-2014, 10:39 PM
Between Hibs getting relegated and now this, ffs, work is going to be horrendous 2moro

19-06-2014, 10:44 PM
Between Hibs getting relegated and now this, ffs, work is going to be horrendous 2moro

However bad yours is ... Steven Gerrard's will be worse.

English meeja ... tossers ... soon as it goes wrong, they distance and victimise people. Andy Murray wins ... he's British. Loses? He's Scottish. Right up until the sclaffed header, Gerrard was England's captain ... immediately after that, he was referred to as Liverpool's captain.

19-06-2014, 10:46 PM

Just do what the England team did twice. Don't turn up.

Gus
19-06-2014, 10:52 PM
Just do what the England team did twice. Don't turn up.

Good advice

Gus
19-06-2014, 10:54 PM

English meeja ... tossers ... soon as it goes wrong, they distance and victimise people. Andy Murray wins ... he's British. Loses? He's Scottish. Right up until the sclaffed header, Gerrard was England's captain ... immediately after that, he was referred to as Liverpool's captain.

They are correct imo ;-), as for Gerrard he can chuck ***** at himself, captain arse, bottler

Stax
19-06-2014, 11:57 PM
F*** me, Greece v japan, 90 mins I'll never get back, that was brutal.

20-06-2014, 12:09 AM

Worse than Nigeria-Iran from the other night!

20-06-2014, 12:13 AM

I would ban Greece from the World Cup.

Eight matches they've played now at the finals and they've only scored two goals.

One win and seven defeats.

20-06-2014, 12:41 AM

Eight matches they've played now at the finals and they've only scored two goals.

They still qualified to get there. More than you can say for many nondescript also-rans of which Scotland is a notable contributer.

(((Fergus)))
20-06-2014, 01:16 AM
They still qualified to get there. More than you can say for many nondescript also-rans of which Scotland is a notable contributer.

Current Scotland team would put on a better show than Greece. Was an opportunity for them to lift that sorry country and they did nothing.

20-06-2014, 04:46 AM

20-06-2014, 05:37 AM
Wooo that crappy draw completed my accumulator of Colombia match more than 2.5 goals, Suarez to score and less than 2.5 goals during the bore fest.

GlenrothesHibee
20-06-2014, 05:57 AM

I wish Hibs had a similar record domestically

20-06-2014, 06:13 AM
After years of waiting, England are finally as good as Spain.

20-06-2014, 06:22 AM

:agree: they are brutal, They need to move on from this. It worked in Portugal and I thought it was great for them but they seem to think this is the way to play now.

20-06-2014, 06:28 AM

I watched two of my English mates leap off my couch when Costa Rica scored at Italia 90. Don't kid yourself about wanting others to get beat being limited to celtic minorities. I lived down south and it took weeks before the English stopped ribbing me about our defeat from Costa Rica. Suck it up, it's been well and truly merited!:greengrin

Costa Rica are a tiny insignificant nation, you will hammer them and scrape through and then your team will start playing very well in the later stages. Thats what you do.

20-06-2014, 06:32 AM
I watched two of my English mates leap off my couch when Costa Rica scored at Italia 90. Don't kid yourself about wanting others to get beat being limited to celtic minorities. I lived down south and it took weeks before the English stopped ribbing me about our defeat from Costa Rica. Suck it up, it's been well and truly merited!:greengrin

Costa Rica are a tiny insignificant nation, you will hammer them and scrape through and then your team will start playing very well in the later stages. Thats what you do.

When Uruguay and Italy play out a tame 0-0 draw, all you say above will be be irrelevant. :greengrin

20-06-2014, 06:54 AM
Watched it last nite here in Tunisia and I was the only Scot amongst dozens up on Dozens of England fans.

At both Suarez goals you could hear a pin drop.

My youngest .... Who is just bout 5 stood up at the 2nd and shouted

GET IN THERE!!!!

So so funny. She didn't understand the relevance (obviously) but brilliant moment!!

Twa Cairpets
20-06-2014, 07:00 AM
Yep.

Pathetic.

Tell us then, what would be an acceptable reaction to our much larger neighbours and historical sporting rivals getting pumped? Just because we're not there doesn't mean that we have to wallow in the misery that appears to be your permanent companion.

Sport is set up to be about rivalry - poking some fun at the big boys getting turned over, especially after listening to some of the drivel on ITV in particular, does not make us bad people. Maybe you need to pop into your GP to see about that blockage in your perspective gland?

20-06-2014, 07:06 AM
Tell us then, what would be an acceptable reaction to our much larger neighbours and historical sporting rivals getting pumped? Just because we're not there doesn't mean that we have to wallow in the misery that appears to be your permanent companion.

Sport is set up to be about rivalry - poking some fun at the big boys getting turned over, especially after listening to some of the drivel on ITV in particular, does not make us bad people. Maybe you need to pop into your GP to see about that blockage in your perspective gland?

A bit of a tangent here. I shouted at Holland to "get into these Kangaroos" the other night, only to be told I was a racist.

Bloody kids, I can't help it that I grew up in a time when racism was compulsory in Australia.

bringbackbenny
20-06-2014, 07:19 AM

morris dancing

20-06-2014, 07:44 AM

Not that old chestnut again......................total nonsense and not true!

20-06-2014, 07:53 AM

...with a bigger population than Uruguay.

20-06-2014, 08:02 AM
:agree: they are brutal, They need to move on from this. It worked in Portugal and I thought it was great for them but they seem to think this is the way to play now.

I remember it well, cause I had £5 e/w on them winning the tournament.

20-06-2014, 08:07 AM

Don't think it's the perspective gland - sounds like a bad case of opticorectalitis, where the optical nerves get entangled with their rectal counterparts, resulting in a ****ty outlook on life.

20-06-2014, 08:11 AM

Strangely enough mate I lived down South, not kidding myself at all, there's a massive difference between ribbing folk after a defeat and wanting others to get beat with a passion, I know the score :wink:

20-06-2014, 08:14 AM
I didn't think England looked to bad going forward last night, nice and tidy, quick feet, quick passing - seemed to lack a wee bit confidence when getting in a decent shooting position - perhaps due to the occasion and so many inexperienced tournament players.

What was so evident though is how poor they are defensively - Joe Hart's positioning at set pieces was really bizarre, almost Zibi-esque :bitchy: first 5 minutes of the second half England could have found themselves 3 behind. I would have put on Wilshire for the tiring Gerrard as well. They lacked that creative spark centrally.

I think Costa Rica will beat them as well - their central pairing can't seem to handle pace and movement.

20-06-2014, 08:16 AM

Fox hunting :wink:

20-06-2014, 08:36 AM
Strangely enough mate I lived down South, not kidding myself at all, there's a massive difference between ribbing folk after a defeat and wanting others to get beat with a passion, I know the score :wink:

There was a guy with a Scotland shirt and a Jimmy hat, joining in with the Uruguay fans at the game last night. Pitiful. :agree:

20-06-2014, 08:43 AM
Thought England were generally shocking last night - such a contrast to an excellent performance against Italy. Defensive blunders such as last night are inexcusable - you'd think someone would have pointed out that Suarez is THE danger man - so stick to him, seems no-one told Englishman no. 6 or no.5.

England were so predictable, they lacked any creativity and failed to change the pace of the game and provide any surprising elements when going forward - Uruguay weren't even very good last night, yet still England's super-rich footballers are unable to come up with the means to exert sustained pressure and create chances - very weak and disappointing performance.

This talk of England still having a chance to progress is nonsense - Costa Rica will beat them on the evidence of this showing ....

20-06-2014, 08:58 AM
Thought England were generally shocking last night - such a contrast to an excellent performance against Italy. Defensive blunders such as last night are inexcusable - you'd think someone would have pointed out that Suarez is THE danger man - so stick to him, seems no-one told Englishman no. 6 or no.5.

England were so predictable, they lacked any creativity and failed to change the pace of the game and provide any surprising elements when going forward - Uruguay weren't even very good last night, yet still England's super-rich footballers are unable to come up with the means to exert sustained pressure and create chances - very weak and disappointing performance.

This talk of England still having a chance to progress is nonsense - Costa Rica will beat them on the evidence of this showing ....

i tried to make this point last night in one of my posts, compared to a lot of the teams at this world cup England looked really bad.

20-06-2014, 09:14 AM
For all that Hodgson seems like a really nice bloke his mannerisms don't instill confidence, was mentioned last night on Talksport that although he's a decent manager, that's really all he is. Also mentioned his age, being a bit too old for the younger guys in the squad to relate to but he's only 4 years older than Van Gaal and he has no problems getting his Dutch team to perform the way they do, I just think it's Hodgson's mentality, a bit Like Fenlon, play it safe, don't lose and hope for a some luck.
Played Wellbeck last night, a player who's been out of form for a while now and had Lallana, a player bang on form sitting on the bench, that says it all, going with the tried and trusted. They got beat by Italy and they played the same team, what does that convey to the rest of the squad, even when they get beat they still can't force their way into the team.

20-06-2014, 09:21 AM
It's interesting how the English meeja and fans have grudgingly accepted their defeat and the probability that they will never be a force in world football again.

This is a comparatively new phenomenon. They had high hopes at the Euros two years ago.

20-06-2014, 09:22 AM
It's interesting how the English meeja and fans have grudgingly accepted their defeat and the probability that they will never be a force in world football again.

This is a comparatively new phenomenon. They had high hopes at the Euros two years ago.

In tandem with that, I have noticed less antagonism towards the team from Scots than in past years. Correlation perhaps?

chinaman
20-06-2014, 09:44 AM
Sky news doing a poll shoul'd suarez be more humble ? Pathetic really.

Twa Cairpets
20-06-2014, 09:44 AM
In tandem with that, I have noticed less antagonism towards the team from Scots than in past years. Correlation perhaps?

In some way's its a shame. It reduces the joy levels in them losing from a right royal GIRFUY reason-for-a-night-out to a more mellow, mature feeling of general well-being akin to a vintage Port and some rather fine cheese enjoyed at leisure.

20-06-2014, 09:48 AM

In some way's its a shame. It reduces the joy levels in them losing from a right royal GIRFUY reason-for-a-night-out to a more mellow, mature feeling of general well-being akin to a vintage Port and some rather fine cheese enjoyed at leisure.

I actually felt sorry for them last night. They seem to have reached that "we're ***** and we know we are" stage.

20-06-2014, 10:07 AM
My footballing day is starting on more 4 right now, Escape to Victory!!

RoslinInstHibby
20-06-2014, 10:10 AM
For all that Hodgson seems like a really nice bloke his mannerisms don't instill confidence, was mentioned last night on Talksport that although he's a decent manager, that's really all he is. Also mentioned his age, being a bit too old for the younger guys in the squad to relate to but he's only 4 years older than Van Gaal and he has no problems getting his Dutch team to perform the way they do, I just think it's Hodgson's mentality, a bit Like Fenlon, play it safe, don't lose and hope for a some luck.
Played Wellbeck last night, a player who's been out of form for a while now and had Lallana, a player bang on form sitting on the bench, that says it all, going with the tried and trusted. They got beat by Italy and they played the same team, what does that convey to the rest of the squad, even when they get beat they still can't force their way into the team.

:agree: wellbeck is not good enough, lallana should have started in his place, also think gerrard was poor in both games, didnt see why they started with Henderson either, would have gone with barkley or wilshere

20-06-2014, 10:11 AM
I actually felt sorry for them last night. They seem to have reached that "we're ***** and we know we are" stage.

Would agree 100% with your take.
To be fair it's a situation that has been coming for a number of years with the steady increase of " foreign" players plying their trade in the Premier League.
Not sure if this figure is correct but read somewhere that between 65/70% of Premier League players are from non UK countries

Re last nights game The England back four were guilty of "schoolboy" defending while as always a player with pace , in this case Suarez, will punish any sloppiness .

As they say " Massive surgery is required " !!

20-06-2014, 03:03 PM
Lineker sat there on match of the day in an Italy top

20-06-2014, 04:45 PM
1-0 Costa Rica

Costa Rica one nil up Yaaas justice as they were just denied a stonewall penalty

clear pen not given fir Costa Rica.

1-0 now though....Bryan Ruiz.

Italy been crap.

20-06-2014, 04:46 PM
1-0 Costa.

Great cross and header

Cost Rica deservedly ahead after getting a penalty denied 1-0

Stax
20-06-2014, 04:47 PM
Justice for Costa Rica, stonewaller denied just before...

Robbie Savage using the 'I'll speak very loud in a whiney high pitched voice' mode today. Erse.

Robbie Savage is a complete and utter Bellend.

20-06-2014, 04:48 PM
Robbie Savage using the 'I'll speak very loud in a whiney high pitched voice' mode today. Erse.
I wish someone would give him a ****in slap!

20-06-2014, 04:49 PM
Savage is just as badly annoying as Lawrenson. A proper bellend.

20-06-2014, 04:49 PM
This referee is going to give everything to Italy.

I like Robbie Savage, by the way. He usually gives a decent insight into games on 5 Live.

20-06-2014, 04:50 PM

When my mates leapt off the couch they were not propelled by the urge to rib. ;) Although, rather than a passion against Scots, it might have been a more personal one against me.:greengrin

20-06-2014, 04:51 PM
linesman looking straight at it so can't exactly blame the referee who was back at the half way line

McLeod1875
20-06-2014, 04:52 PM
What is Lineker up to with that shirt. Cringey as it gets.

Trumpet.

20-06-2014, 04:52 PM
This referee is going to give everything to Italy.

I like Robbie Savage, by the way. He usually gives a decent insight into games on 5 Live.

I agree. And he is Welsh. Even sounds Welsh.

20-06-2014, 04:55 PM

You listening to him today? He's been awful, his greatest insight so far has been "The referee has his vanishing spray out. I could do with some of that for my trousers, I spilt wine on them last night".

Other than that his contribution has been "he was offside", "he was never offside", "that was never a foul", "in the prem that's not a foul", "clearly a pen" and "refs from small countries shouldn't be allowed to ref at the biggest competition in the world".