View Full Version : Match of the Day World Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

15-06-2014, 10:07 PM
I grew up with Maradona being seen as the world's best and we watched him play (not as much as we now watch Messi because TV coverage has changed) and he could be brilliant. Nevertheless, for me Messi is the best I've ever seen.

In terms of the best ever, I go off the auld lads, like my fathers generation who can remember Pele, Best, Eusebio and the majority of the auld boys I know say Messi is the best.

*If this is down to the fact we see so much of Messi compared to even the likes of Maradona because of the change in TV coverage, I don't know?

Messi has only ever played with incredible players. World Cup aside, what Maradona achieved with Napoli is pretty incredible in itself.

Lewis77
15-06-2014, 10:26 PM
Messi has only ever played with incredible players. World Cup aside, what Maradona achieved with Napoli is pretty incredible in itself.

Aye well, everyone has their opinion, Saying that Messi looks overweight and a touch unfit in this game.

15-06-2014, 10:31 PM
Some atmosphere the Argentinian fans are creating.

Dan Sarf
15-06-2014, 10:39 PM

Could he have won the league with Hibs, Hearts and Dundee though?

15-06-2014, 10:48 PM
Could he have won the league with Hibs, Hearts and Dundee though?

Thats one achievement that will never be replicated.

15-06-2014, 10:48 PM
Some atmosphere the Argentinian fans are creating.

Best atmosphere so far, really getting behind there team, the team need it. :greengrin

Dan Sarf
15-06-2014, 11:22 PM
Night all.

15-06-2014, 11:23 PM

2-0, Messi.

15-06-2014, 11:42 PM
2-1.

5 minutes left.

16-06-2014, 05:17 AM
I really like watching Valbuena play :cb

https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xap1/t1.0-9/q71/s720x720/10390113_683980501675125_1929802074832534698_n.jpg

16-06-2014, 06:43 AM
Haha that is excellent

(((Fergus)))
16-06-2014, 08:38 AM
Loving the France shirt - apparently for their next fixture though, their traditional crest will be replaced with a graphic of Jonathan Pearce's face.

:greengrin Le Cockney Gaulois

16-06-2014, 08:41 AM
What's this fashion for commentators to talk like Yoda all about?

"He did well to beat his man...Messi".

Say what you see you twats, you are not the main attraction here.

16-06-2014, 11:56 AM
Bit about Belgium today on the BBC website -

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/27827569

Decent read. There's a bit in it though, where they have a wee box for 'Belgium's Different Nationalities', so I expected to see they had a load of players born elsewhere that just play for Belgium because of parents/grandparents.Here's the list -

Adnan Januzaj - born and schooled in Belgium, has Kosovan-Albanian parentage and a family lineage that reaches to Turkey
Vincent Kompany - born in Brussels, Kompany's father, Pierre, is a Congolese immigrant. His mother, Jocelyne, is Belgian
Romelu Lukaku - born in Antwerp but his father played up front for DR Congo when it was known as Zaire
Mousa Dembele - born in Belgium but his father is from Mali
Axel Witsel - his Martiniquais parentage made him eligible for France
Nacer Chadli - born in Belgium but played senior international football for Morocco, but only in a friendly
Marouane Fellaini - Born in Brussels to Moroccan parents from Tangier

Why bother having a section called 'Belgium's Different Nationalities', when they are all Belgians, born in Belgium? :confused:

16-06-2014, 03:03 PM
Looking forward to Germany V Portugal, should be a great game

16-06-2014, 03:06 PM
Looking forward to Germany V Portugal, should be a great game

Should.. But I always tend to find they are sometimes a let down, hope I'm wrong :agree:

16-06-2014, 03:11 PM
Should.. But I always tend to find they are sometimes a let down, hope I'm wrong :agree:

I agree but this time it seems different somehow, all the big stars have played their part so far

16-06-2014, 03:13 PM
Lahm in midfield and no recognised striker from ze Germans.

16-06-2014, 03:15 PM
What's this fashion for commentators to talk like Yoda all about?

"He did well to beat his man...Messi".

Say what you see you twats, you are not the main attraction here.

That does my nut in as well. Lawrenson's especially bad at it...every sentence he utters. Says the sentence then puts the subject of it at the end, usually with a "have" or "has" in front of it. E.g "they've looked tired tonight....have Brazil" or "he's done really well to ride that challenge and push on to win a corner...has Messi". Every time he speaks, he speaks like that, does Lawrenson...... Christ, it's infectious.

16-06-2014, 03:36 PM
That does my nut in as well. Lawrenson's especially bad at it...every sentence he utters. Says the sentence then puts the subject of it at the end, usually with a "have" or "has" in front of it. E.g "they've looked tired tonight....have Brazil" or "he's done really well to ride that challenge and push on to win a corner...has Messi". Every time he speaks, he speaks like that, does Lawrenson...... Christ, it's infectious.

He's always making messi puns too, is Lawrenson.

16-06-2014, 03:49 PM
Just watching the warm up's of both sides and how professional Portugal in particular are - why do we never ever see Hibs warm up as professionally and as disciplined looking ?

Our guys look like they are warming up for a game of 5's at the Jack Kane on a Friday night !

Is it just me being ridiculously pedantic :confused:

16-06-2014, 03:54 PM
Just watching the warm up's of both sides and how professional Portugal in particular are - why do we never ever see Hibs warm up as professionally and as disciplined looking ?

Our guys look like they are warming up for a game of 5's at the Jack Kane on a Friday night !

Is it just me being ridiculously pedantic :confused:

No - you're just seeing one of the many reasons why we got relegated, I think ...

C'mon them Germans! :greengrin

16-06-2014, 04:02 PM
i hope for the sake of the players it's cooler in Brazil than it is in Bathgate today :greengrin

http://cdn.sheknows.com/articles/2012/06/portable-fans-help-make-summer-days-cooler-eco.jpg

16-06-2014, 04:05 PM
So daft seeing Germany in white shorts :rolleyes:

16-06-2014, 04:06 PM
C'mon the Billys!

16-06-2014, 04:10 PM
Great start by both teams, pen for the Germans

16-06-2014, 04:11 PM
Pen Germany ! Should be 1-0 already and a red ! But only yellow ! Pen.... Scored

16-06-2014, 04:11 PM
1-0 Germany penalty 10 mins

16-06-2014, 04:13 PM
i hope for the sake of the players it's cooler in Brazil than it is in Bathgate today :greengrin

http://cdn.sheknows.com/articles/2012/06/portable-fans-help-make-summer-days-cooler-eco.jpg

Can Bathgate ever be described as cool? :greengrin

16-06-2014, 04:16 PM
Can Bathgate ever be described as cool? :greengrin

only at the weekends :(

16-06-2014, 04:17 PM
only at the weekends :(

16-06-2014, 04:23 PM
games tonight

Iran v Nigeria 8pm BBC 1

Ghana v Uncle Sam 11pm BBC 1

16-06-2014, 04:25 PM
Germany are looking good here, Goetze is a joy to watch at times, still need to watch Portugal on the break though

16-06-2014, 04:31 PM
2-0

Bullet heider that

2-0 All hell breaking out here!!!

16-06-2014, 04:32 PM
Yas.

Go on the Jerries.

16-06-2014, 04:32 PM
Well Portugal have got to go all guns blazing now ! Second half could be tasty !

16-06-2014, 04:37 PM
Good, Pepe is a chunt

16-06-2014, 04:37 PM
red card for pepe of portugal, silly man

16-06-2014, 04:38 PM
Well... Game over now you have to think ! What a chucter

16-06-2014, 04:38 PM
Is he out for 3 games now? Could be a real problem for Portugal

16-06-2014, 04:39 PM
Pepe sent off. That was a nap!

16-06-2014, 04:42 PM
What a tube! That's knacked my tip then.

16-06-2014, 04:42 PM
Is he out for 3 games now? Could be a real problem for Portugal

For some reason I think 2 ?! Dunno why but rest of the group stage anyhoo

16-06-2014, 04:45 PM
3-0

16-06-2014, 04:45 PM
Soft red card but doing something as stupid as that invites the opportunity for an early bath.

Pleased though, as Pepe is totally odious.

3-0

16-06-2014, 04:46 PM
Thomas Muller has some scoring record in the world cup think its now 7 goals in 7 games

This could get embarrassing!

Portugal :faf:

16-06-2014, 04:49 PM
Muller or kroos...hard decision for my sun dream fuming I went for kroos

16-06-2014, 04:49 PM
Soft red card but doing something as stupid as that invites the opportunity for an early bath.

Pleased though, as Pepe is totally odious.

3-0
Would hardly say soft if that was against a hibs player I'm sure no one would call it soft. Its a red everyday of the week.

16-06-2014, 04:51 PM
Would hardly say soft if that was against a hibs player I'm sure no one would call it soft. Its a red everyday of the week.

It was 100% a red card but more out of stupidity than viciousness.

The contact was minimal and milked for all it was worth.

Lewis77
16-06-2014, 04:53 PM

Aye but he hardly head butted him, just pressed his head up against muller.

16-06-2014, 04:53 PM
p.s. Muller is an actor

16-06-2014, 04:55 PM
Pepe has a cheek to moan about another player play-acting for a start. That clown is at it all the time.

Delighted he's off. Odious cant.

16-06-2014, 04:55 PM

The slap in the face was minimal and he milked that but his head is moved backwards by the headbutt he gets up straight after and confronts pepe.

16-06-2014, 04:56 PM
Hope Pepe runs on and heidbuts Chiles now

16-06-2014, 04:57 PM
I wonder if GlobalHibby will put that million of his up for us to get Vieira to knock Adrian Chiles head off live on TV in the next 5 mins?

16-06-2014, 04:57 PM
Pepe is a tw@t of the highest order.

16-06-2014, 04:58 PM

I don't think he milked the red card at all. He got right up and confronted Pepe.

16-06-2014, 04:58 PM
Did you get the picture of him walking off in the uk and the boy in the barca strip giving him the finger

16-06-2014, 04:59 PM
I thought the host was meant to actually host the programme i.e ask the panel questions instead of giving his own opinions. He gets worse and worse.

And Pepe deserves everything he gets.

16-06-2014, 05:00 PM
I feel disgusting... I agree with Adrian Chiles over something..(playacting)

Urgh..:panic:

Lewis77
16-06-2014, 05:01 PM
Surly if you're going to get sent off for pressing your head up against the player you may as well give the lad a proper slap? In for a penny in for a pound!

16-06-2014, 05:01 PM
Germany look very impressive so far.

It's been a great WC so far all in all. Not been a really poor game yet.

16-06-2014, 05:04 PM
I don't think he milked the red card at all. He got right up and confronted Pepe.

Lewis77
16-06-2014, 05:06 PM
Germany do look very, very strong! Germany v Holland s**t storm of a final would be good.

Germany look very impressive so far.

It's been a great WC so far all in all. Not been a really poor game yet.

:agree: Although its still very early in the competition, I'm beginning to think we just might get a European winner for the first time on this continent.

Portugal now defending with the sun in their eyes, this is gonna get Ronaldo!

16-06-2014, 05:08 PM
Germany do look very, very strong! Germany v Holland s**t storm of a final would be good.

Don't they consider themselves each others biggest rivals ?! You thought Spain v Holland was dirty !

16-06-2014, 05:09 PM

Are you pissed :hilarious
The German Muller is renowned for this. He's a cheating *******.
The games been ****ing ruined by these foreigners diving about like they've been shot. ****ing pathetic.

Lewis77
16-06-2014, 05:10 PM
Is it me or is that stadium only half full?

16-06-2014, 05:16 PM
Is it me or is that stadium only half full?

It's just you.

It's actually half empty.

16-06-2014, 05:17 PM
Pepe was furious as someone tried to get him sent off. By the letter of the law he deserved to go blah blah but sometimes the law is an ass. It's not fair that the guy who overreacted slightly walks and the instigating cheat walks free.

There should be a guy in the stands watching replays who can contact the referee and recommend that he also sends Muller off for his role. It would stop the simulation and maybe this game wouldn't be ruined.

16-06-2014, 05:20 PM
Pepe was furious as someone tried to get him sent off. By the letter of the law he deserved to go blah blah but sometimes the law is an ass. It's not fair that the guy who overreacted slightly walks and the instigating cheat walks free.'

There should be a guy in the stands watching replays who can contact the referee and recommend that he also sends Muller off for his role. It would stop the simulation and maybe this game wouldn't be ruined.

I tend to over react when guys face palm me. Red card, no excuses. Maybe Mueller deserved a yellow but Pepe had to walk.

16-06-2014, 05:22 PM
I tend to over react when guys face palm me. Red card, no excuses. Maybe Mueller deserved a yellow but Pepe had to walk.

My dad always says "if someone clipped you in the face like that in the street, would you roll around like a little girl" ?!

Yellow card Simulation I say, that'll stop it.

16-06-2014, 05:23 PM
My dad always says "if someone clipped you in the face like that in the street, would you roll around like a little girl" ?!

But there was contact so its not simulation is it?

16-06-2014, 05:26 PM

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aargh

16-06-2014, 05:27 PM

If Carl Froch had landed a clean right hook to Mueller's chin, the reaction was appropriate :agree:

If someone face palmed me with a straight arm in the street I'd probably end up doing time.

Think the ref who was only yards away called it correctly.

The way it is just now, players can try their luck like that and if the ref has been conned he will send the facepalmer off. Nothing really happens if the ref thinks he over-reacted.

If there was a TV ref who gave out cards for things like that then maybe players wouldn't react like Pepe did. It's infuriating watching it so I can only imagine what it's like to be on the end of it.

16-06-2014, 05:28 PM
If Carl Froch had landed a clean right hook to Mueller's chin, the reaction was appropriate :agree:

Somebody gets it...

16-06-2014, 05:28 PM
If it was any other player I might feel a twinge of sympathy, although pushing into another players face is asking for trouble.

However Pepe has made a career out of stamping, kicking, spitting, headbutting and diving. He's total **** and deserves all he gets.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=LqXOTSB7FPc

16-06-2014, 05:29 PM

I hate the way the game is going. I really do.

16-06-2014, 05:29 PM
Im stunned at how poor Portugal have been. All those champions league players, totally dominated by the Germans. I expected them to be a dark horse to win it this year.

16-06-2014, 05:31 PM
If it was any other player I might feel a twinge of sympathy, although pushing into another players face is asking for trouble.

However Pepe has made a career out of stamping, kicking, spitting, headbutting and diving. He's total **** and deserves all he gets.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=LqXOTSB7FPc

I don't disagree one bit. He's a truly loathsome player and he was stupid there too.

However, I understand why he was angry enough to confront him.

16-06-2014, 05:33 PM
Im stunned at how poor Portugal have been. All those champions league players, totally dominated by the Germans. I expected them to be a dark horse to win it this year.

Was just thinking this to myself, they are crap! So many good players all playing like individuals.

16-06-2014, 05:35 PM
The ref didn't give that pen as he had played a part in the ball getting there

16-06-2014, 05:36 PM
Was just thinking this to myself, they are crap! So many good players all playing like individuals.

I thought Germany looked excellent before the sending off so maybe if we're looking for dark horses...?

Darkish anyway.

16-06-2014, 05:37 PM
Hat-trick Mueller.

4-0 Germany.

16-06-2014, 05:37 PM
The way it is just now, players can try their luck like that and if the ref has been conned he will send the facepalmer off. Nothing really happens if the ref thinks he over-reacted.

If there was a TV ref who gave out cards for things like that then maybe players wouldn't react like Pepe did. It's infuriating watching it so I can only imagine what it's like to be on the end of it.

You, me, the ref and EdinMike's dad can only guess what level of pain Mueller was experiencing therefore any speculation that he was simulating is just that,sspeculation. The ref has to react to what he sees and not what he suspects. I think he saw a red card incident like I did.

16-06-2014, 05:38 PM
7-1 to score next wish i was a betting man..

16-06-2014, 05:39 PM
8 goals in 7 world cup games now for Mueller , great return considering he's not an out and out striker

16-06-2014, 05:39 PM
Is Lahm in the worlds best eleven in three different positions? :greengrin Leftback rightback or midfield, hes just class.

16-06-2014, 05:45 PM
You, me, the ref and EdinMike's dad can only guess what level of pain Mueller was experiencing therefore any speculation that he was simulating is just that,sspeculation. The ref has to react to what he sees and not what he suspects. I think he saw a red card incident like I did.

Which is why there should be a TV ref who can look at the whole incident, take a few moments to decide and then send players off when their obvious pain suddenly vanishes.

He can get his lawyers involved later if he wants to make a fool of himself.

16-06-2014, 05:47 PM
Is Lahm in the worlds best eleven in three different positions? :greengrin Leftback rightback or midfield, hes just class.

I think he his. Immense player.

16-06-2014, 05:50 PM
Which is why there should be a TV ref who can look at the whole incident, take a few moments to decide and then send players off when their obvious pain suddenly vanishes.

He can get his lawyers involved later if he wants to make a fool of himself.

Sorry PD but that's nonsensical. There's no question about the red card and even TV pictures couldn't ascertain what level of pain Mueller was experiencing.

16-06-2014, 06:26 PM
See all this stuff about diving? I just wished Colin Campbell hadn't tried to stay on his feet in 1979. It's nothing new, and it is painful to see pundits pretending it is.

16-06-2014, 06:55 PM
Anyone else want Iran to win?

16-06-2014, 06:57 PM

I've done a double Iran to draw and Ghana to win.

16-06-2014, 06:58 PM

Ive got close friends of Iranian descent.

16-06-2014, 07:01 PM
That Nigeria shirt <3

16-06-2014, 07:02 PM

Must be a cert to win if only 1-ran? :wink:

16-06-2014, 07:05 PM

He's been my favourite player for years - pure class.

Hey, Leeanne .... :cb

16-06-2014, 07:12 PM

Although Nigeria are green, I'm still rooting for the underdog !

16-06-2014, 07:15 PM
Go Naija!!!!!! Lots ofHibs flags in their support. 😊

16-06-2014, 07:24 PM
Pepe's own stupidity got him sent off, not Mueller's reaction to the hand in his face. Pepe actually walked back to the prostrate Mueller to lean over and make contact with his head. He has plenty of previous for behaving like a tw@t and yet he still gives the referee the option to punish him. I've no sympathy for Pepe, none whatsoever and I were Portuguese I'd never want to see him play for the national side again.

16-06-2014, 07:29 PM

As an honorary member of the University of Surrey Iranian society, I'm right behind them :thumbsup:

بیا ایران!

16-06-2014, 07:37 PM
Obi Mikel seems to have modelled himself on Nelson so far in this game, hoooof

16-06-2014, 07:46 PM
Worst game of the tournament so far.

Dire stuff.

16-06-2014, 07:49 PM
Been a very poor game from 2 very poor teams. Hope we get a goal in the 2nd half.

16-06-2014, 07:55 PM

His pain certainly disappeared quickly when Pepe rammed the nut on him, he was up like a shot. I agree with you though, it would be impossible to punish Muller as there was contact, if there hadn't been contact then he could be punished.

16-06-2014, 08:23 PM
Something I've always wondered... I assume in internationals like this, referee to player communication is primarily in English ?! Unless said ref speaks said Language..

How would it work ?

16-06-2014, 08:37 PM
Good move by Iran but poor attempt at a header.

Neither of these teams look much cop. Probably trying not to lose and hoping they sneak something against Bosnia.

16-06-2014, 08:45 PM
Good move by Iran but poor attempt at a header.

Neither of these teams look much cop. Probably trying not to lose and hoping they sneak something against Bosnia.

Quote from Chris Waddle

"The centre-forward for Iran has run himself into the ground and he needs someone up front with more legs.

More than two, Chris? :greengrin

16-06-2014, 08:46 PM
This games rubbish,mind you how can a hibs supporter moan about quality of football on show !

16-06-2014, 08:46 PM
This games rubbish,mind you how can a hibs supporter moan about quality of football on show !

More experience than most? :greengrin

16-06-2014, 08:50 PM
Quote from Chris Waddle

"The centre-forward for Iran has run himself into the ground and he needs someone up front with more legs.

More than two, Chris? :greengrin

I quite like Waddle, he's an idiot, but a likeable idiot.

0-0. Ganting entertainment.

16-06-2014, 08:50 PM
That game just broke the world cup :(

16-06-2014, 08:51 PM
T'was wubbish.

16-06-2014, 08:51 PM
That game just broke the world cup :(

Both teams should be fined

16-06-2014, 08:52 PM
Argentina will murder the mullahs next up. 6-0?

16-06-2014, 08:53 PM
Two very poor sides and the boo's were justified. Argentina and Bosnia should qualify from this group.

(((Fergus)))
16-06-2014, 08:56 PM
Bit about Belgium today on the BBC website -

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/27827569

Decent read. There's a bit in it though, where they have a wee box for 'Belgium's Different Nationalities', so I expected to see they had a load of players born elsewhere that just play for Belgium because of parents/grandparents.Here's the list -

Adnan Januzaj - born and schooled in Belgium, has Kosovan-Albanian parentage and a family lineage that reaches to Turkey
Vincent Kompany - born in Brussels, Kompany's father, Pierre, is a Congolese immigrant. His mother, Jocelyne, is Belgian
Romelu Lukaku - born in Antwerp but his father played up front for DR Congo when it was known as Zaire
Mousa Dembele - born in Belgium but his father is from Mali
Axel Witsel - his Martiniquais parentage made him eligible for France
Nacer Chadli - born in Belgium but played senior international football for Morocco, but only in a friendly
Marouane Fellaini - Born in Brussels to Moroccan parents from Tangier

Why bother having a section called 'Belgium's Different Nationalities', when they are all Belgians, born in Belgium? :confused:

Considering it's the BBC, the subtext might be that (the children of) immigrants can be sporting heroes rather than terrorists and/or scroungers.

16-06-2014, 09:03 PM
I'm torn for the next one. Lots of American friends and family but I like Ghana and the Ayew brothers as well. After seeing Portugal today either team must fancy their chances of qualifying second if they win...

16-06-2014, 09:06 PM
Going to avoid the next game and watch it as live tomorrow at work...feeling quite deflated after the Iran 'game' as it was beyond awful.

16-06-2014, 09:08 PM

'mon then Ghana. :agree:

16-06-2014, 09:11 PM
'mon then Ghana. :agree:

There's an ex Ryman Premier League player lining up for Ghana :agree:

I tipped him to Hibs many years ago and nowt was done.

16-06-2014, 09:13 PM
There's an ex Ryman Premier League player lining up for Ghana :agree:

I tipped him to Hibs many years ago and nowt was done.

which player?

16-06-2014, 09:16 PM
which player?

Albert Adomah - He went from Harrow Borough to Barnet and was ten sold to Bristol City.

Currently with Middlesboro

16-06-2014, 09:18 PM
Albert Adomah - He went from Harrow Borough to Barnet and was ten sold to Bristol City.

Currently with Middlesboro

Are you Steve Marsella?:greengrin

16-06-2014, 09:25 PM
Are you Steve Marsella?:greengrin

Joking aside, Adomah was due to sign with Blackpool a few seasons ago (when Blackpool were in the EPL) and I was privy to the negotiations - I was at Underhill the night of the supposed transfer and there was an almighty fracas between the Blackpool rep and the Barnet directors.

I had told Blackpool Hibs a week before that the deal was as good as done - ouch!

BTW - Adomah is a cracking lad and a true professional. 100% committed to succeeding as a footballer.

I wish him well and he was a stand-out at non-league level,

16-06-2014, 09:47 PM
The punditry is at a higher level than normal tonight; Seedorf, Thierry Henry and Danny Murphy at least seem to say interesting things occasionally.

16-06-2014, 10:00 PM
Them' Yankee top be gant..

16-06-2014, 10:01 PM
1-0 the shermans after 30 seconds.

16-06-2014, 10:01 PM
1-0 USA after 30 seconds.

16-06-2014, 10:03 PM
Usa usa usa

16-06-2014, 10:04 PM
I do like Clint Dempsey.

16-06-2014, 10:19 PM
Football is repaired again!

16-06-2014, 10:20 PM
A lot better game this. Ghana look dangerous in attack but that was almost 2-0 for the USA.

16-06-2014, 10:34 PM
I must be watching a different game from Robbie Uber Critic Savage, i think Ghana are looking decent and lively, if they keep going they will get a goal

16-06-2014, 10:37 PM
Savage is such a tit. "We don't like to see that, signalling their was an elbow when their wasn't"

Yes, Robbie. Unfortunately the coach doesn't have the benefit of multiple replays.

16-06-2014, 10:39 PM
I think a Ghana player must be rattling Savages wife

16-06-2014, 10:51 PM
The commentary team can whine all they want, I've fair enjoyed it

16-06-2014, 10:54 PM
Savage is such a tit. "We don't like to see that, signalling their was an elbow when their wasn't"

Yes, Robbie. Unfortunately the coach doesn't have the benefit of multiple replays.

:agree: Tim Howard made a good save and for some reason Savage said something like 'Well if you can't save a shot like that then you shouldn't be a goalkeeper' Absolute nonsense.

16-06-2014, 11:21 PM
Just loving that Ghana strip.

16-06-2014, 11:24 PM
The BBC have been miles ahead of ITV at this World Cup.

Think Neil Lennon, Seedorf and even Rio Ferdinand have all been decent to listen to but Savage is just brutal.

16-06-2014, 11:37 PM
I haven't understood a word Robbie Savage has said. Please send him and Phil Neville to the Gary Neville school of co-commentary.

Been impressed with a few of the US players, the midefid in particular have impressed me a lot.

16-06-2014, 11:38 PM
The BBC have been miles ahead of ITV at this World Cup.

Think Neil Lennon, Seedorf and even Rio Ferdinand have all been decent to listen to but Savage is just brutal.

Savage is just one of those guys you want to repeatedly smack in the gob till it's shut permanently.

16-06-2014, 11:40 PM
Ghana have just brought a sub on. First name is Albert. :greengrin

16-06-2014, 11:43 PM
Yaaas what a goal

16-06-2014, 11:43 PM
1-1.

8 minutes left.

16-06-2014, 11:44 PM
Well deserved imo.

16-06-2014, 11:45 PM
No surprise that Savage is criticising Howard for going down too soon there.

16-06-2014, 11:47 PM
I've got 2-1 Ghana in the predictor.

Come on the Black Stars!

EDIT-2-1 USA!

*******!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2-1 usa.

2-1 USA what another great game

great header

16-06-2014, 11:48 PM
Unreal! Goalscorer floored with disbelief!

16-06-2014, 11:54 PM
This is already my favourite world cup since Italia 90

16-06-2014, 11:56 PM
Full time, 2-1 USA.

16-06-2014, 11:56 PM
2-1 full time.

Another good game, great result for the Americans.

16-06-2014, 11:57 PM
not starting Boateng was a massive mistake. If Boateng had half the chances out wide that Atsu had, you have to think Ghana would have had a much better chance of a few goals. Atsu was poor. Muntari as well, he should have been driving the team on, but he did nowt.

17-06-2014, 12:00 AM
Belgium, Brazil and Russia to come today, should hopefully all be good

17-06-2014, 09:55 AM
Pepe was furious as someone tried to get him sent off. By the letter of the law he deserved to go blah blah but sometimes the law is an ass. It's not fair that the guy who overreacted slightly walks and the instigating cheat walks free.

Yup. Muller's a notorious cheat even by Bundesliga standards. All his histrionics were aimed at getting Pepe sent off. Now Pepe is admittedly a guy with severe personality problems - he's a thug, he's stupid, and he's not above a dramatic collapse to con the referee himself - but in this instance he's been treated very unfairly.

Even nastier - the German substitutes, led by Scheisskopf - sorry, Schweinsteiger - no, I was right first time round - were lined up on the touchline applauding as Pepe walked off. Loew walked over and told them to cut it out, to be fair, but I really hope the Germans don't win this thing. I don't like national stereotyping, but this lot really do ooze arrogance out of every pore.

An official in the stand coordinating things and dealing with stuff like this would be a very good thing.

17-06-2014, 10:14 AM
Superb result in the end against a very good Ghana side IMO.

Still fancy Germany and the USA to go through from the group, though losing Altidore last night was a bit of a blow.

Game against Portugal is going to be huge - thankfully, we should be wearing our slightly classier home shirts rather than the rather unaesthetic away kit from last night! :greengrin

17-06-2014, 11:07 AM
So far 44 goals scored in only 5 days! That is absolutely incredible! Anyone think that this World Cup is going to beat the 171 record of the total number of goals scored back in France 98? I've got a feeling it probably is. It's been so enjoyable barring the Iran vs Nigeria game yesterday.

17-06-2014, 11:42 AM
His pain certainly disappeared quickly when Pepe rammed the nut on him, he was up like a shot. I agree with you though, it would be impossible to punish Muller as there was contact, if there hadn't been contact then he could be punished.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh.

Shirley you can distinguish between, say, a handshake, which involves contact and, say, a smack in the mouth, which also involves contact. The only thing they have in common is that there is contact. For the one contact you shouldn't be sent off and for the other you should.

Pepe is a git but that was no more a "head butt" than a pound of fish. There was contact, that is all. If the tournament had any desire to stamp out cheating, Muller would be banned from the rest of the tournament, even though there was contact.

17-06-2014, 11:49 AM
Great result for the USA yesterday, especially as many predicted the side to finish without a point in the group. John Brooks is a young defender too, and he had to make an impact on the biggest stage of all, replacing a solid centre-back in Matt Besler. He duly delivered and looked as stunned as almost everyone else!

Next up Portugal on Sunday. A draw, coupled with a German win, should see the States through.

17-06-2014, 12:54 PM
This is already my favourite world cup since Italia 90

Funny how that was such an iconic World Cup yet had the record lowest number of goals.

This one has been great so far.

17-06-2014, 01:42 PM
Yup. Muller's a notorious cheat even by Bundesliga standards. All his histrionics were aimed at getting Pepe sent off. Now Pepe is admittedly a guy with severe personality problems - he's a thug, he's stupid, and he's not above a dramatic collapse to con the referee himself - but in this instance he's been treated very unfairly.

Even nastier - the German substitutes, led by Scheisskopf - sorry, Schweinsteiger - no, I was right first time round - were lined up on the touchline applauding as Pepe walked off. Loew walked over and told them to cut it out, to be fair, but I really hope the Germans don't win this thing. I don't like national stereotyping, but this lot really do ooze arrogance out of every pore.

An official in the stand coordinating things and dealing with stuff like this would be a very good thing.

You're hatred of all things German is sometimes rather un-Christian. You really do seem to have a rather large Abplatzung on your shoulders.

17-06-2014, 01:52 PM

Ahem.......the case for the defence presents some clips of Ronaldo.........

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8rc8ANXNQcU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qvtef7kzf6Q

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOqhS_8CN-k

Doddie - I think the last clip is perhaps why the Germans were clapping :agree::wink:

Goes without saying I can't stand cheating, feigning/faking injury, getting players sent off mate - Muller, for me, should be banned, Pepe too for his unprofessionalism and reaction......if UEFA and FIFA start handing out 10 game bans for faking injury then it will stop - too much cash and money at stake though and they would say 'it's part of the game' :rolleyes:

17-06-2014, 02:11 PM

Bit harsh perhaps to reduce Germany to cheats, I feel, particularly against the Portuguese. Idiotic Pepe head-butted Müller - that's a walking offence, clear provocation or not - personally I've known all about German "gamesmanship" ever since the Hamburg game, so no surprises there - never really forgiven "them" either ... Thought Götze going down for the penalty was incredibly Fred-like, but little mention was made of it over here - the Portuguese claim in the 2nd half looked more like one to me, but I'm not really sure?

Think the German team is probably the best all-round prepared team in the tournament, all the talk about the lack of a striker can now be dispensed with - don't think they would simply crumble and give up like the Portuguese did during the game: I expect Germany to struggle against better, more focused teams, but I can see them making it through to the semis at least: this sort of win works wonders for confidence.

Portugal really only have themselves to blame for a miserable showing and petulant Ronaldo did his team no good either: his failing to trail back and work for the team was like them being two men down.

Still - everything still to play for, I suppose

17-06-2014, 02:27 PM
To say it wasn't a sending off is laughable. Staight red always Duncan Ferguson went to jail for one! i dont like to see players acting but the portugese are one of the worst!

17-06-2014, 03:17 PM
Funny how that was such an iconic World Cup yet had the record lowest number of goals.

This one has been great so far.

USA 94 was my favourite. Very underrated tournament. This tournament already has double the goals at the same stage in 2010. Amazing.

Three good games coming up in the next six hours;
Belgium playing four attacking players against Algeria kicking off at 5pm, Mexico-Brazil should be a game for the purists at 8pm, and cmon the Koreans against Russia at 11pm.

A fantastic feast of football fun :agree:

17-06-2014, 03:24 PM
USA 94 was my favourite. Very underrated tournament. This tournament already has double the goals at the same stage in 2010. Amazing.

Belgium playing four attacking players against Algeria kicking off at 5pm, Mexico-Brazil should be a game for the purists at 8pm, and cmon the Koreans against Russia at 11pm.

Except for Romania I hated 94, when I was 10 in 1990 I wanted to be Schillaci:cb

17-06-2014, 03:58 PM
Except for Romania I hated 94, when I was 10 in 1990 I wanted to be Schillaci:cb

Stoichkov, Hagi, Maradonas coke-fuelled celebration, that Saudi boy running through an entire team to score, it was magic:greengrin

17-06-2014, 04:05 PM

Was a good one. Ireland beating Italy. Letchkovs diving header to knock out Germany...

France 98 was my favourite. Was at university but working over the summer and in a job that allowed me to watch every single game!

Caught every one of this tournament so far as well. It's been fantastic

17-06-2014, 04:11 PM
Was a good one. France 98 was my favourite. Was at university but working over the summer and in a job that allowed me to watch every single game!

Caught every one of this tournament so far as well. It's been fantastic

I think you judge how good a tournament is, based on your personal circumstances at the time. In 94 id just left my job and had a bigger than expected amount of redundancy money, and was waiting to start uni, so I spent the summer watching every game, and getting blootered every night :hilarious

17-06-2014, 04:24 PM
Algeria penalty!
1-0

17-06-2014, 04:26 PM
Stoichkov, Hagi, Maradonas coke-fuelled celebration, that Saudi boy running through an entire team to score, it was magic:greengrin

Diego was stitched up in that World Cup:grr:

17-06-2014, 04:31 PM
Diego was stitched up in that World Cup:grr:

Explain:dunno:

17-06-2014, 04:35 PM
Explain:dunno:

It was Ephedrine a performance enhancer he tested positive for not coke, he has admitted every other time he cheated or what he took, but still says he doesn't know how that was in his system, I believe the mad bassa

17-06-2014, 04:38 PM
I think you judge how good a tournament is, based on your personal circumstances at the time.

Agree with that. 98 and 94 top my list.

The highlight of 94 was penalty king Jorge Campos and his jerseys. In fact, all the jerseys were a bit mad.

17-06-2014, 04:40 PM
http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/after-the-fall-the-world-cup-dream-is-over-for-diego-maradona-but-there-may-be-worse-to-come--a-little-matter-of-pounds-500000worth-of-smuggled-cocaine-and-the-naples-mafia-paul-greengrass-and-toby-follett-report-1411755.html

17-06-2014, 05:27 PM
cant say im overly impressed with belgium

17-06-2014, 05:29 PM
Nice flick wi the perm. 1-1.

17-06-2014, 05:29 PM
Fellaini

17-06-2014, 05:36 PM
Good counter attacking goal that

17-06-2014, 05:39 PM
Good come back. 2.1

17-06-2014, 05:41 PM
Belgium rampant now. Hazard and Fellaini taking over.

17-06-2014, 05:44 PM
I think the referees are contributing to the entertainment. They're allowing play to continue after physical contact. They're not giving fouls when a player who's not been as strong as his opponent falls down.

17-06-2014, 05:48 PM
I think the referees are contributing to the entertainment. They're allowing play to continue after physical contact. They're not giving fouls when a player who's not been as strong as his opponent falls down.

:agree: Agree completely. The contrast with Scottish refs is stark.

17-06-2014, 06:58 PM
Dani Alves looks proper radge with that new hairdo

17-06-2014, 07:10 PM
Dani Alves looks proper radge with that new hairdo

Ive been watching Paulinho their #8 a lot.Never really noticed him at Spurs but he never seems to put a foot wrong for Brazil.

17-06-2014, 07:18 PM
Tensions high. There is a very strong possibility of a red card in this game.

17-06-2014, 07:24 PM
What an effort from the Mexican fron 30 yards, great save, ref gives a goal kick.

17-06-2014, 07:26 PM
What a save by the Mexican goalie

17-06-2014, 07:26 PM
Brilliant save from Neymar header now.

17-06-2014, 07:27 PM
Marvellous cross from Neymar, great leap from Neymar, **** off Lawro!

17-06-2014, 07:34 PM
Pearce is STILL going on about confusion caused by the goal-line tech in the Franceland game. Shirley he's read hibs.net on the matter by now?

17-06-2014, 07:42 PM
Sammy Davis Jr gets a blow to the head.

Second best game so far behind Holland-Spain imo. Some quality play. Lawro thinks 'brazil havent got going at all' :dunno:

Hes a ****ing know nothing.

17-06-2014, 07:52 PM
Sammy Davis Jr gets a blow to the head.

Second best game so far behind Holland-Spain imo. Some quality play. Lawro thinks 'brazil havent got going at all' :dunno:

Hes a ****ing know nothing.
For a team expecting to win the cup I think they have been disappointing in both games so far.

RoslinInstHibby
17-06-2014, 07:56 PM
For a team expecting to win the cup I think they have been disappointing in both games so far.

I would agree, expected more from brasil

17-06-2014, 07:59 PM
Lineker almost gets the pronunciation of Belo Horizonte right :greengrin

17-06-2014, 08:01 PM
Lineker almost gets the pronunciation of Belo Horizonte right :greengrin

Haha almost!

17-06-2014, 08:04 PM

This is clearly a me against the world moment. :greengrin

17-06-2014, 08:06 PM
Brazil would be better playing James Collins upfront than Fred

17-06-2014, 08:06 PM

I think they have been ok,under some pressure as well but will get better as the tournament moves on

17-06-2014, 08:08 PM
Brazil would be better playing James Collins upfront than Fred

Hes a Brazilian Nish :agree:

patch1875
17-06-2014, 08:10 PM
Switched over crap game.

17-06-2014, 08:11 PM
Switched over crap game.

:grr: you're all on drugs

17-06-2014, 08:22 PM
Switched over crap game.

What game is on the other side, might join you this one is boring.:greengrin

17-06-2014, 08:25 PM
Another great save

17-06-2014, 08:26 PM
Switched over crap game.
It's a good game, loads of tension. A nit like a derby.

17-06-2014, 08:29 PM
Fred actually moved... O he was getting substituted.

That guy must have a picture of Scolari pumping a goat or something to start.

He brings f all to the team.

17-06-2014, 08:30 PM
Its livened up a bit now. :aok:

Another great save

Ochoa for Hibs.
he's not even their first choice keeper.

Brazil playing a lot better now.

17-06-2014, 08:33 PM
The big European teams have nothing to fear from Brazil on this form, think one of them will win the tournament

17-06-2014, 08:34 PM
Ochoa for Hibs.
he's not even their first choice keeper.

He's not even got a club. The team he played with in French first division last season was relegated and he's now a free agent. C'mon LD get him signed :greengrin

17-06-2014, 08:36 PM
The big European teams have nothing to fear from Brazil on this form, think one of them will win the tournament

Based on performances until now, I would say the winner will be either Germany or Netherlands.

17-06-2014, 08:37 PM
He's not even got a club. The team he played with in French first division last season was relegated and he's now a free agent. C'mon LD get him signed :greengrin

:agree: he's been outstanding. Most of this Mexican team plays in their domestic league. Just shows there's plenty of talent outside the big European leagues.

Mexico definitely deserve a point from this game.

Really does he need picked up?? ;-)

Refs been decent..... Mexico excellent

17-06-2014, 08:39 PM
Refs been decent..... Mexico excellent

He has been tbf especially in the first 20 or so minutes when the tackles were flying in.

17-06-2014, 08:40 PM
Based on performances until now, I would say the winner will be either Germany or Netherlands.

:agree: I think we could see the first European team to win on this continent.

17-06-2014, 08:43 PM
That keeper is going to suddenly rip of his shirt and prove hes one of the X-Men :greengrin

17-06-2014, 08:44 PM
That keeper is going to suddenly rip of his shirt and prove hes one of the X-Men :greengrin

I liked his self congratulation nod of the head Haha

17-06-2014, 08:44 PM
the mexican goalie wont be short of offers after today, great saves from him.

17-06-2014, 08:47 PM
So much for the home conspiracy theories, thought he was a cert to give a dodgy pen there.

17-06-2014, 08:48 PM
the mexican goalie wont be short of offers after today, great saves from him.

On a free as well. Dempster you know what to do!

Is brasil's number 20 lewis Stevenson?

Great last 15 minutes.

paul_hfc3
Number 20 for Brazil looks like Lewis Stevenson

mexico are a good team, enjoying them more than brasil

Never understand all the criticism Fred gets. He's not im there to do anything fancy, he's a goalscorer and a bloody good one at that.

41 goals in 43 games for Cruziero
34 in 88 for Lyon
62 in 96 for Fluminense
17 in 34 for Brazil

152 goals in 261 games or 1 goal every 1.7 games is a brilliant return.

Gordy M
17-06-2014, 08:49 PM
So much for the home conspiracy theories, thought he was a cert to give a dodgy pen there.
Just about to post the same, where are all the folk saying it was corrupt to ensure brazil went through????

17-06-2014, 08:50 PM
Well done Mexico. Hope they get through the group.
leanne, sign that keeper!!

TheFamous1875
17-06-2014, 08:50 PM

Shame for Brazil he doesnae play like Lewis Stevenson :notworth:

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

17-06-2014, 08:52 PM
Never understand all the criticism Fred gets. He's not im there to do anything fancy, he's a goalscorer and a bloody good one at that.

34 in 88 for Lyon
62 in 96 for Fluminense
17 in 34 for Brazil

Maybe because the majority of times people get to see him is in tournaments and he's been utter gashtastic

17-06-2014, 08:56 PM
Marcelo shows once again he's a cheat...fact

17-06-2014, 08:56 PM

Paul-hfc3 thinks like antwerphibs.

17-06-2014, 08:57 PM

What a trumpet

pontius pilate
17-06-2014, 08:57 PM
Id love to have the mexican GK in a hibs shirt what a game he had

Deek9
17-06-2014, 09:07 PM
What happens if teams finish group on same points? Is it goal difference, head to head or what?

17-06-2014, 09:07 PM

34 in 88 for Lyon
62 in 96 for Fluminense
17 in 34 for Brazil

He was rubbish tonight, just standing there, no movement, no thought, repeatedly drifting offside. The Brazilian Thomas Sowumni.

He may be coming back from injury, but he needs to do a lot more than he's doing.

:agree: That was too blatant for even a World Cup referee to give. He got away with quite a lot over the whole game, though, as did a few of his team-mates. It's a fact of life though - referees favour the hosts, always have, always will. I've watched every WC since 1966 and it's always been the same.

Marcello should have been booked for diving against the Croats, and he should have been booked tonight. Shouldn't be playing against Cameroon.

I pressed the red button tonight and got the Five Live commentary - and Irish commentator whose name I didn't catch, and Brad Friedel. Good commentary, pulled no punches about the refereeing or the cheating. Really enjoyed it - recommend it.

17-06-2014, 09:09 PM
What a trumpet

yep i agree marcelo is a :trumpet:

seanshow
17-06-2014, 09:18 PM
Fair play to Mexico and a good watch, it was like a tousy Scotland v England game.