View Full Version : Match of the Day World Cup

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

hibbytam
13-06-2014, 11:47 PM
Pinilla on.

Suddenly, it's a Yam fest

Well, they were promised 2 world cup stars.

13-06-2014, 11:56 PM
If points were awarded for never give up effort,then Oz would win every world cup.

Sadly, at the moment their technical ability, does nowhere near match their spirit.

Hibs could do with an Oz transplant.

14-06-2014, 12:03 AM
15 goals scored so far in 2 days and much more to come I'm sure.

Really enjoying this World Cup so far! Hope it continues in this fashion!

14-06-2014, 07:32 AM
I am kicking myself about Holland as I fancied them last week but failed to act. Also failed to back Kaymer for US open. Lucky white heather anyone! Always go with your hunches.

RoslinInstHibby
14-06-2014, 07:49 AM
Fantastic world cup so far......anyone else think its partially down to the players having confidence in the actual balls being used? No complaints like last time

Lewis77
14-06-2014, 08:14 AM
Looking at that RVP header again this morning, it really is a great goal. The skill needed to do that man! I wish he'd sign for Hibs!

14-06-2014, 08:20 AM
Very impressed by Holland. They have flown under my radar a wee bit as I have Argentina in mind as a favorite, but the more I think about it, the more I think it could be Holland's time, especially after seeing that.

Finalists last time, great players and a great manager, aye they can win it. Annoyed I didn't get a bet on before this game though as surly now the odds will change?

* The RVP goal was beautiful.

Classic Dutch football. Playing Spain in the first game has worked out a treat for them. Psychologically they have nobody to fear. Van Gaal has certainly set them up well.

14-06-2014, 08:23 AM
Fancied the Netherlands to beat Spain before we got underway last night but not so emphatically! They were absolutely sublime.

Elected to record the Chile vs Australia game and watch it as live this morning - another excellent game.

Looking forward to both games this evening too!

McKenzie
14-06-2014, 08:32 AM
500/1 pre match for 5-1 holland, who had a punt?

Lewis77
14-06-2014, 09:55 AM

Ahhhhhh man!

14-06-2014, 11:22 AM
That sir, is total rubbish!

I am proud to be Scottish and proud to be British.

:agree::top marks

14-06-2014, 11:30 AM

Thanks for that b. Couldn't find a quote anywhere after the gaem !!

On the subject of coverage
Anyone else agree ITV coverage a bit like the " amateur hour " with Adrian Chiles a real turn off :rolleyes:

Dan Sarf
14-06-2014, 12:03 PM
Thanks for that b. Couldn't find a quote anywhere after the gaem !!

On the subject of coverage
Anyone else agree ITV coverage a bit like the " amateur hour " with Adrian Chiles a real turn off :rolleyes:

In moi... opinion... ever so 'umble though it... may be... oi 'ave to say that... oi do totally agree... with yew. And furthermore... lest there be any... grounds for... any miserablist type of... misinterpretation... or anything... similar... along those lines... that was... in fact... a... thundering great... yes.... from me.

14-06-2014, 12:07 PM
In moi... opinion... ever so 'umble though it... may be... oi 'ave to say that... oi do totally agree... with yew. And furthermore... lest there be any... grounds for... any miserablist type of... misinterpretation... or anything... similar... along those lines... that was... in fact... a... thundering great... yes.... from me.

Very well put if I may say so :not worth
Glad someone agrees

14-06-2014, 12:10 PM

http://pdy.pr/VFowpL

Dan Sarf
14-06-2014, 12:18 PM
Very well put if I may say so :not worth
Glad someone agrees

I thank yew.... very much... indeed.

14-06-2014, 12:18 PM
Agree with the gist, but dont agree about Scottish coverage. Scottish coverage of our own game is dreadful enouhg, without having them ruin the world cup too. Like it or not, BBC and ITV just do it better. Not because they are English, just because they are better. I stopped watching Sportscene a couple of years back because watching a presenter state the obvious, then having some semi-illiterate current player (who cant or wont say anything for fear of anonoying one of his mates), or even worse some absolute welt like Sandy Clark repeat what i just saw with my own eyes, was not what i considered good coverage.

Why does any of the coverage have to be so parochial? Why cant we appreciate it for what it is, without having to have a pathetic, tenuous Scottish link?

Ill get pleters for this, but i enjoy watching a tournament more when Scotland arent involved, in a funny sort of way.
Excellent post and I agree with all of it. I will be voting yes though, but that's for a different thread.

14-06-2014, 01:19 PM
This is a perennial gripe from me, and if anything it gets worse every World Cup.

Last night the commentator kept referring to "the Dutch" and "the Spanish". Why not Italy and Holland? I notice they never talk about "the English".

To me this betray a sort of "us and them" attitude.

14-06-2014, 01:21 PM
This is a perennial gripe from me, and if anything it gets worse every World Cup.

Last night the commentator kept referring to "the Dutch" and "the Spanish". Why not Italy and Holland? I notice they never talk about "the English".

because they're playing tonight :)

14-06-2014, 01:22 PM

Because they ain't Spanish :greengrin

14-06-2014, 01:27 PM
because they're playing tonight :)

Because they ain't Spanish :greengrin

:faf: That would certainly come into it.

14-06-2014, 02:49 PM

I know what you're saying and agree with you, but pedantic as it might sound, the team is The Netherlands, not Holland, which is just a part of the Netherlands. The collective name for people from the Netherlands is dutch, so that is actually correct.

14-06-2014, 03:59 PM
come on Colombia!! not predicted a right score yet but im going for 3-0 to the donkey botherers

14-06-2014, 04:06 PM
1-0 Colombia

14-06-2014, 04:07 PM
Glad Columbia got the early goal, means Greece might have to break the habit of a lifetime and attack.

14-06-2014, 04:09 PM
Great news. The most negative team in international football are 1-0 down.

14-06-2014, 04:24 PM
Greece are ponderous. Seem to be time wasting despite trailing 1-0.

14-06-2014, 04:27 PM
Cuadrado is a good player. Got him in my World Cup fantasy team.

14-06-2014, 04:31 PM
Cuadrado is a good player. Got him in my World Cup fantasy team.

He is indeed :agree: I've always had a soft spot for Fiorentina, Cuadrado plays a wing back for them but as an attacking midfielder for Colombia. Hes the utility man, the Colombian Lewis Stevenson.:greengrin

14-06-2014, 04:32 PM
Great news. The most negative team in international football are 1-0 down.

:applause:

14-06-2014, 04:33 PM
This match is that dire that even Georgio flatonmaarse is looking quite good.

14-06-2014, 04:40 PM
Ham-es Rodriguez. Ham-es? Is that how we are pronouncing James now?

14-06-2014, 04:46 PM
Ham-es Rodriguez. Ham-es? Is that how we are pronouncing James now?

Apparently that's the correct pronounciation.

I've just checked with my mate Paul Merson.

14-06-2014, 04:46 PM
Amazing. Greece put together a nice move. Good save by the Colombian keeper.

14-06-2014, 04:58 PM
This is a fascinating analysis of the Colombia Greece game. They are talking about Colombia v Greece right?

14-06-2014, 05:05 PM
Can some of our Brasil-based posters clear up something which is ripping my pedantic knitting?

Belo Horizonte is pronounced how?

(and then I'll ask about Sao Paulo :greengrin)

14-06-2014, 05:08 PM
Can some of our Brasil-based posters clear up something which is ripping my pedantic knitting?

Its pronounced Belo Horizonte

14-06-2014, 05:15 PM
Its pronounced Belo Horizonte

As it looks, you mean?

Not according to Wiki and other sites I have seen. Or on the basis of my 2 weeks :greengrin in Brazil a few years back.

Bello Rizonch?

14-06-2014, 05:17 PM
2-0.

How good do the Colombia fans look? Looks like it would be great fun to be in there.

14-06-2014, 05:21 PM
Oh dear he's hit the bar.

14-06-2014, 05:21 PM
As it looks, you mean?

Not according to Wiki and other sites I have seen. Or on the basis of my 2 weeks :greengrin in Brazil a few years back.

I made my pronouniation on the back of 8 pints, the only link i have with Brasil is Leith being twinned with Rio

14-06-2014, 05:23 PM
I want James to score for Columbia.

Just so they sit down next to him.

14-06-2014, 05:24 PM
Anyone know if England are playing tonight? :rolleyes:

14-06-2014, 05:26 PM

Yes just after the Scotland game.

14-06-2014, 05:27 PM

Don't think so. Nothing on the Stefan Grapelli about them playing.

Nah only kidding. They've already discussed who England could play in the next round.

14-06-2014, 05:30 PM
I want James to score for Columbia.

Just so they sit down next to him.

The folk that think England will win the World Cup really should. Equal shout between being touched by madness and finding themselves ridiculous.

14-06-2014, 05:34 PM

Have you still got your Back Home single from 1970.

14-06-2014, 05:36 PM

Scotland have the album. :wink:

14-06-2014, 05:36 PM

14-06-2014, 05:37 PM

I salute you, follow your team and give it big licks

14-06-2014, 05:37 PM

No I swapped it for a 1966 match programme.

14-06-2014, 05:41 PM
I'm here all night into the early morning

BRING IT ON :greengrin

14-06-2014, 05:41 PM
No I swapped it for a 1966 match programme.

This must be like playing tennis against 100 players at once, yet you are hitting them all back.:aok::not worth

14-06-2014, 05:42 PM
This must be like playing tennis against 100 players at once, yet you are hitting them all back.:aok::not worth

14-06-2014, 05:49 PM
Sorry if this has been asked already but why is there a game on at 2am?

14-06-2014, 05:51 PM

Ivory Coast v Japan. Only about 9pm in Brazil and scorching.

14-06-2014, 05:52 PM

Being pedantic, it's not. It's at 10pm, local time.

14-06-2014, 05:52 PM

It's to allow the celebrating English fans an opportunity to watch another game whilst getting pished.

14-06-2014, 05:53 PM

Think Recife is only 4 hours behind.

14-06-2014, 05:54 PM
Think Recife is only 4 hours behind.

Cheers. :aok:

14-06-2014, 05:55 PM

Being pedantic, it's not. It's at 10pm, local time.

Yes I know that but it's the only one in the competition to be played at that time.

14-06-2014, 05:58 PM
Yes I know that but it's the only one in the competition to be played at that time.

It will be to get the schedule of "3 games a day" back on track.

14-06-2014, 05:59 PM
It will be to get the schedule of "3 games a day" back on track.

14-06-2014, 06:00 PM

No idea then.

Edit. I now know.

14-06-2014, 06:09 PM

ltef :greengrin

14-06-2014, 06:19 PM
It's to allow the celebrating English fans an opportunity to watch another game whilst getting pished.

I give you credit, you follow Your team and that can't be easy on here 10/10

14-06-2014, 06:22 PM
I give you credit, you follow Your team and that can't be easy on here 10/10

It's just football mate, I give it out knowing that if it all backfires I will have to batten down the hatches, I love it. :greengrin

14-06-2014, 06:28 PM
the Italian job on Film 4 just now, hopefully see another Italian job tonight...the Balotelli one, mon the Azzurri

eetalia

14-06-2014, 06:32 PM
Gerrard first yellow in the game for a dive.

14-06-2014, 06:34 PM
Gerrard first yellow in the game for a dive.

Stevie G does not dive he just goes down graciously :greengrin

14-06-2014, 06:35 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v251/a_devil_inside/Diving.jpg

http://www.7amkickoff.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/rooney-dive.jpg

14-06-2014, 06:53 PM
I genuinely think there has been more entertainment in the opening few games we have had than the whole of the last World Cup which quite frankly was rubbish.

Tell you what though, i do miss the Vuvuzela though.

14-06-2014, 06:55 PM
I genuinely think there has been more entertainment in the opening few games we have had than the whole of the last World Cup which quite frankly was rubbish.

Tell you what though, i do miss the Vuvuzela though.
:agree: it's been a very good start.

14-06-2014, 07:25 PM
Credit to the ref there.

They have been criticised a lot but that penalty decision was spot on.

Gordy M
14-06-2014, 07:27 PM
Credit to the ref there.

They have been criticised a lot but that penalty decision was spot on.
:agree: Though the commentators were desperate for him to have got it wrong!! Then had to back track big time when they saw the replay!

14-06-2014, 07:32 PM
Stevie G does not dive he just goes down graciously :greengrin

:cb

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vP8u_AD2VCk

:embarrass:tee hee:

Is it me or is there a fair few empty seats?

:agree: Though the commentators were desperate for him to have got it wrong!! Then had to back track big time when they saw the replay!

After they saw what its really for you get Townsend with - "As soon as the defender touches Lugano he's going down."

The guys arms are looped right round his waist pulling him down. He could barely have fouled him more.

Gordy M
14-06-2014, 07:34 PM
After they saw what its really for you get Townsend with - "As soon as the defender touches Lugano he's going down."

The guys arms are looped right round his waist pulling him down. He could barely have fouled him more.
Hahaha i know, absolute stick on. Think il turn the sound down.

14-06-2014, 07:37 PM
I actually want Costa rica to win

14-06-2014, 07:38 PM
Joel Campbell is a pretty good player. Never seen much of him, but in Champions League, and in this game so far, he looks like a player.

Arsene Wenger should have kept him at Arsenal last season and sent that Sanogo (who is absolute tatties) out on loan.

14-06-2014, 07:46 PM
I expected more from Uruguay. They don't look all that great.

RoslinInstHibby
14-06-2014, 07:53 PM
I expected more from Uruguay. They don't look all that great.

Most teams would miss suarez to be fair to them

14-06-2014, 07:56 PM
Most teams would miss suarez to be fair to them

No doubt, but the way they are playing tonight, they wouldn't be getting the ball to Suarez enough.

14-06-2014, 08:14 PM
Uruguay just stopped playing there.

Great cross and finish.

Great determination to get the cross in and a very good finish.

Game on.

14-06-2014, 08:17 PM
2-1 Costa Rica.

Uruguay defence look shocking and their keeper hasn't convinced either.

14-06-2014, 08:18 PM
2-1 costa rica.

wow!!!!

14-06-2014, 08:19 PM
2-1 Costa Rica.

Uruguays whole team look poor. They've nae shape in midfield. When they actually do get the ball up the park Cavani and Forlan might as well be playing for opposite teams, have they passed the ball to one another yet in this game?

14-06-2014, 08:36 PM
Uruguays whole team look poor. They've nae shape in midfield. When they actually do get the ball up the park Cavani and Forlan might as well be playing for opposite teams, have they passed the ball to one another yet in this game?

Sounds familiar :greengrin

14-06-2014, 08:38 PM

I thought I heard the Costa Rica fans chanting "Are you Hibees in disguise?" earlier, right enough.

14-06-2014, 08:40 PM

I didn't want to flatter Hibs by saying Uruguay remind me of us tonight, but they do. They're slow, they're giving the ball away stupidly all over the park, the centre halfs look very suspect, there's nobody trying to drive them forward, movement off the ball is pish, they have players that look like they should be doing better.....

14-06-2014, 08:43 PM
3-1

14-06-2014, 08:43 PM
Uruguay could do with a Michael Nelson in their team. Wasting all this valuable time trying to pass it from the back, to midfield then to the forwards.

Hoof. You know it makes sense.

3-1 Costa. Game over.

14-06-2014, 08:44 PM
Great goal.

3-1.

3-1 Costa Rica.

wow!!!!

wow!!!

14-06-2014, 08:45 PM
Great goal.

3-1.

Just waiting on Hawkeye confirming that it went over the line. That'll be in 10 minutes. :agree:

14-06-2014, 08:45 PM
Did the keeper need to go out to the striker there? He was fairly wide. Probably wouldn't have had the shot from there if the keeper hadn't been rushing him.

14-06-2014, 08:46 PM
http://media.giphy.com/media/P6NGyxkKCrtlK/giphy.gif

14-06-2014, 08:49 PM
Did the keeper need to go out to the striker there? He was fairly wide. Probably wouldn't have had the shot from there if the keeper hadn't been rushing him.

Agree.

Good finish but keeper has made strikers mind up for him. He's not even come out convincingly, he's sliding away from the ball and the player.

He's looked dodgy all night imo.

14-06-2014, 08:54 PM
Some things never change with Uruguay.

Needlessly malicious tackle.

Uruguay 10 men.

Uruguay down to 10 men.

Ridiculous challenge.

14-06-2014, 08:55 PM
what an absolute clown that uragauyan was

14-06-2014, 08:56 PM
If I was the Uruguay coach, I would send him home for that.

14-06-2014, 08:57 PM
I actually want Costa rica to win

Kinda an outlandish bet as they were 1-0 down at the time but thanks Costa Rica!!

14-06-2014, 09:00 PM
what game was it that the uruguayans kicked the Scottish players throughout the whole game ? sure it was at Hampden

14-06-2014, 09:00 PM
what game was it that the uruguayans kicked the Scottish players throughout the whole game ? sure it was at Hampden

Last group game mexico 86. 2 sent off I think.

Edit. Only 1 red card.

14-06-2014, 09:03 PM

Mmmm, i'm positive it was a 'Friendly' at Hampden, could be wrong right enough :)

14-06-2014, 09:03 PM

First sending off was after only 40 seconds for a wild tackle on Strachan. Definitely last group game of 1986. Scotland had these shorts with the stripe across them. Weird.

14-06-2014, 09:04 PM

One sent off in first minute for assaulting Gordon Strachan IIRC.

14-06-2014, 09:08 PM
just googled :) we played them in a Friendly at Hampden in 83(2-0 us) and drew 0-0 in the WC in 86, not going to mention the scoreline in the first game against them in the 54 WC finals :rolleyes:

14-06-2014, 09:12 PM
Scotland had these shorts with the stripe across them. Weird.

The second football strip I owned. First was the hibs one with insave on the white stripe. White stripes were popular in the mid 80's :greengrin

14-06-2014, 09:13 PM
Well done Costa Rica. They won their first game in the 1990 finals too. I was there - the memory is still painful.

14-06-2014, 09:25 PM
I can see England winning this game but what do people see in Welbeck? he is absolutely rotten

14-06-2014, 09:29 PM
Thierry, that cardigan is boggin' mate. Stay clear of Paul Kanes fashion tips!

Green Man
14-06-2014, 09:38 PM
One sent off in first minute for assaulting Gordon Strachan IIRC.

I never realised Joe Tortolano was Uruguayan :greengrin

14-06-2014, 09:51 PM
Think he has. What does the boy Fred bring to the team. Don't think he's even had a touch of the ball all game.

They kicked us off the park in '86 in Mexico (0-0), '83 at Hampden (2-0), '62 at Hampden (2-3), and in Basel in the World Cup in 54 (7-0).

In other words, every time they played us.

They're thugs and bampots, the lot of them. There was no way they were going to end with 11 on the park tonight - the only surprise is it took Pereira almost the full 90 before the red mist descended.

The camera showed us him full-face about 30 seconds before he launched himself, and you could see it written all over that someone in red and white was going to be in severe pain very shortly.

No sympathy - just hope Costa Rica do the same to Engerlund.

14-06-2014, 09:56 PM
The Italian national anthem isn't the same without Buffon screaming with bulging eyes and veins popping out his neck.

davhibby
15-06-2014, 12:17 AM
Sol Bamba starts for Ivory Coast

CyberSauzee
15-06-2014, 01:06 AM
Why is the commentator calling the Ivory Coast by their French name? We didn't hear of Espana winning a corner last night or Italia beating England earlier.

Makaveli
15-06-2014, 01:38 AM
Why is the commentator calling the Ivory Coast by their French name? We didn't hear of Espana winning a corner last night or Italia beating England earlier.

It's a special case. Côte d'Ivoire has long been the only officially recognised name for that country in any language.

CyberSauzee
15-06-2014, 01:57 AM
It's a special case. Côte d'Ivoire has long been the only officially recognised name for that country in any language.

For diplomacy/govt related events iirc. No one else refers to them as such. Commentator just makes himself sound like a pretentious twat.

15-06-2014, 02:03 AM
It's a request by FIFA that they don't call them the Ivory Coast.

CyberSauzee
15-06-2014, 02:10 AM
So commentator explains it's FIFA who have demanded they use Cote d'Ivoire in commentary. But it's ok to call them Ivory Coast elsewhere. And FIFA tell governments not to get involved in football admin or they'll be suspended; but it's ok for them to dictate a country's 'naming' policy.

Wonder what would happen if The Netherlands kicked up a fuss about their inaccurate name?

15-06-2014, 02:19 AM
FIFA have also ruled that us Scots can't use the word crap anymore.

We have to call it by it's real name....England.

CyberSauzee
15-06-2014, 02:22 AM
Great goal.

hibbytam
15-06-2014, 02:32 AM
So commentator explains it's FIFA who have demanded they use Cote d'Ivoire in commentary. But it's ok to call them Ivory Coast elsewhere. And FIFA tell governments not to get involved in football admin or they'll be suspended; but it's ok for them to dictate a country's 'naming' policy.

Wonder what would happen if The Netherlands kicked up a fuss about their inaccurate name?

It's not that big a deal. And sounds better in french anyway.

Lewis77
15-06-2014, 02:47 AM
Strange game and now I'm shattered, thank god it's sunday.

hibbytam
15-06-2014, 02:55 AM
Glad Côte d'Ivoire won, Japan were just a bit boring. Organised, but boring.

and it won me a fiver

15-06-2014, 02:57 AM
What's with all this "Cote d'Ivoire" during the commentary?

It's the Ivory Coast in English.

15-06-2014, 03:06 AM

It's another silly FIFA ruling although the commentator still called them Ivory Coast loads of times.

Knackered. Never watched so much football in a day. I'm off to bed.

15-06-2014, 12:12 PM
Its been the best tournament I can remember, a range of different styles but most of the teams going for the win and some excellent attacking football. Highlights for me so far were Holland, Chile's total football, the individual performances from Oscar, Robben, Pirlo and Campbell from Costa Rica. I feel like the unfeasibly excited bloke from The Fast Show 'The World Cup, its brilliant!' :greengrin

Germany Portugal tomorrow at 5pm should be a belter.

15-06-2014, 12:18 PM

Bayllo-o-hee-zon-tchee (belo horizonte)

He-see-fay (recife)

Hee-o (Rio)

Mana-ows (Manaus)

It can vary slightly depending on where you are, but if you said them like that, a Brazilian would understand. :greengrin

15-06-2014, 12:27 PM
The general rule is:

You don't say "h"s

"R"s are (sometimes) pronounced as "h"s

Double "r"s are always pronounced as "h"s

For example: "henrique" is pronounced enn-hee-kay

15-06-2014, 12:35 PM

Just imagine if they had to start calling Iran ایران or Japan 日本. :greengrin

15-06-2014, 04:22 PM
Cheeky Cheeky equador Haha

15-06-2014, 05:50 PM
Sickener for Ecuador!!

Last kick of the ball, go Switzerland

And great use of advantage by the ref in the middle if the park.

15-06-2014, 05:51 PM
shows what a farce rankings are if the Swiss are 6th in the world

15-06-2014, 05:53 PM
And great use of advantage by the ref in the middle if the park.
:agree: Fantastic piece of refereeing. They don't get much credit but he was spot on there :aok:

Sickener for Ecuador!!

Unbelievable play by Behrami to keep going after being fouled and set up the cross...

I gain a point in the predictor after that late goal for Switzerland. :thumbsup:

(((Fergus)))
15-06-2014, 05:57 PM
:agree: Fantastic piece of refereeing. They don't get much credit but he was spot on there :aok:

It made up for a **** piece of linesmanship early on. Goal-line technology is only part of the solution. There has to be a video referee.

15-06-2014, 06:00 PM
Bayllo-o-hee-zon-tchee (belo horizonte)

He-see-fay (recife)

Hee-o (Rio)

Mana-ows (Manaus)

It can vary slightly depending on where you are, but if you said them like that, a Brazilian would understand. :greengrin

Thank you.

So all this schecht about Horry Zonty is just that. :)

And "Sao" Paulo is pronounced like a nasal "San"?

15-06-2014, 06:00 PM
It made up for a **** piece of linesmanship early on. Goal-line technology is only part of the solution. There has to be a video referee.
At this level definitely. Even in the Scottish Championship next year :wink:

15-06-2014, 06:36 PM
Just started to watch France game and they start talking about England ffs get over yourselves!

15-06-2014, 06:42 PM
Thank you.

So all this schecht about Horry Zonty is just that. :)

And "Sao" Paulo is pronounced like a nasal "San"?

Definitely schecht! :greengrin

Sao Paulo = sa-owng pa-owl-o. No "san", ever.

15-06-2014, 06:45 PM
Just started to watch France game and they start talking about England ffs get over yourselves!

Imagine it if they had won. :wink:

15-06-2014, 06:48 PM

It's one of the home nations so why not?

15-06-2014, 06:51 PM
Hopefully we'll see the wee man at one point tonight... Imagine if Claros scored !!

It really would be a crazy World Cup then ! :greengrin

15-06-2014, 06:55 PM
Hopefully we'll see the wee man at one point tonight... Imagine if Claros scored !!

It really would be a crazy World Cup then ! :greengrin

Sol Bamba was playing against Japan although I don't think I noticed him more than twice. Got booked.

15-06-2014, 06:56 PM

I really think it's you that needs to get over himself with this constant crying about commentators, FFS just watch the game and ignore it.

15-06-2014, 07:05 PM
Definitely schecht! :greengrin

Sao Paulo = sa-owng pa-owl-o. No "san", ever.

I meant nasal.... not a full N, but with it in the back of the nose.

15-06-2014, 07:05 PM
I wonder how long it took the Hondurans to come up with that badge design.

15-06-2014, 07:09 PM
I wonder how long it took the Hondurans to come up with that badge design.

Probably quite a while as it was the last letter they tried.

Design was from a 6 year old as part of a Honduran Blue Peter competition.

15-06-2014, 07:15 PM
Probably quite a while as it was the last letter they tried.

Design was from a 6 year old as part of a Honduran Blue Peter competition.

Of course - Pedro azul. :greengrin:

Scrappy match so far.

Frogs just hit the bar.

15-06-2014, 07:17 PM
I really like watching Valbuena play :cb

15-06-2014, 07:19 PM
Do they make boots in black anymore ? My eyes !

15-06-2014, 07:23 PM
I really like watching Valbuena play :cb

I just heard Pearce saying he's leaving Marseilles in the summer? France looking awfy good all over the pitch.

15-06-2014, 07:24 PM
I just heard Pearce saying he's leaving Marseilles in the summer? France looking awfy good all over the pitch.

If he leaves them then I'm done with him:faf:

15-06-2014, 07:29 PM
If he leaves them then I'm done with him:faf:

Good call by the ref there. Palacio stamping on Pogba, Pogba thrashes his leg out as a result but no need for a red. Both players booked.

15-06-2014, 07:35 PM

Good call by the ref there. Palacio stamping on Pogba, Pogba thrashes his leg out as a result but no need for a red. Both players booked.

Glad he never went off but commentators never mentioned you cant sit on the ground protecting the ball should have blew earlier.

15-06-2014, 07:39 PM
Despite his record, I just dont rate Benzema. Never seems to turn up for the big games.

15-06-2014, 07:42 PM
Penalty and a red card to Honduras

15-06-2014, 07:44 PM
Correct decision. Two obvious bad fouls.

Benzema scores 1-0

15-06-2014, 07:44 PM
Silly foul can have no complaints.

15-06-2014, 07:51 PM
Despite his record, I just dont rate Benzema. Never seems to turn up for the big games.

:agree: Apparently himself and Ribery also have a pretty negative effect on the atmosphere within the squad.

15-06-2014, 07:52 PM

I really think it's you that needs to get over himself with this constant crying about commentators, FFS just watch the game and ignore it.

I'm not really as bothered by the media frenzy surrounding the England football team as I used to be but I thought that talking about the England game once again at the start of tonight's programme was poor.

Particularly since Henry and Lineker had already given their thoughts last night.

15-06-2014, 07:52 PM
Correct decision. Two obvious bad fouls.

Benzema scores 1-0

If that was on the half way line I doubt he would have been booked, it was a penalty but no need to book him IMO

15-06-2014, 07:55 PM

Palacios should have got a second yellow for his reaction to the contact from Pogba. Why is it that football players try and rewrite the laws of physics when it comes to being tackled?

15-06-2014, 07:55 PM
If that was on the half way line I doubt he would have been booked, it was a penalty but no need to book him IMO

Really? Pogba was about to bring the ball down and would probably have had a shot at goal had to be a yellow card for me.

15-06-2014, 07:56 PM
Imagine it if they had won. :wink:

:bitchy:

15-06-2014, 07:57 PM

Aye righty-o

15-06-2014, 08:00 PM
:agree: Apparently himself and Ribery also have a pretty negative effect on the atmosphere within the squad.

It doesn't take much for the French to have a falling out. Even with Ribery at home, it's only a matter of time before the toys come out the pram for one reason or another.

15-06-2014, 08:00 PM

Impossible to do so on any news or sport programme at this moment, no offence but I'm on the outside looking in and it's not on in my book, will just be watching the games from now on and not any studio bull.

15-06-2014, 08:01 PM
Impossible to do so on any news or sport programme at this moment, no offence but I'm on the outside looking in and it's not on in my book, will just be watching the games from now on and not any studio bull.

It could be worse mate, you could support England :wink:

15-06-2014, 08:06 PM
2-0 France, Benzema.

15-06-2014, 08:07 PM
Good goal again there

15-06-2014, 08:08 PM
No Goal.........Goal! Lol

15-06-2014, 08:08 PM
And to me it looked like the keeper managed to stop the whole ball...

Goal Line tech is useful at last.

15-06-2014, 08:09 PM
What part of hawkeye showing two different parts of the same shot doesn't that twat peirce get?

15-06-2014, 08:10 PM
i thought it was over before any technology came into play :agree: keeper knocked it over with his hand

15-06-2014, 08:10 PM
Pearce getting excited about nothing, the technology was spot on showed the first activation and then the second Pearce is a knob still questioning the technology.

15-06-2014, 08:11 PM
2-0 France, Benzema.

Og by the keeper, strictly speaking. Benzema got lucky, he missed a sitter.

I didn't think the whole ball had crossed the line there. Is the technology 100%

What part of hawkeye showing two different parts of the same shot doesn't that twat peirce get?

Correct. He's still banging on about it.

(((Fergus)))
five live commentators fail to understand IT, say IT is to blame.

It's like teaching your granny to use a computer

15-06-2014, 08:12 PM
Pearce is a knob still questioning the technology.

:grr: oy! lay off the commentators you!:greengrin

Honduras are dirty bassas on this evidence.

I didn't think the whole ball had crossed the line there. Is the technology 100%

It was well over!

15-06-2014, 08:13 PM
:grr: oy! lay off the commentators you!:greengrin

Touche :greengrin

15-06-2014, 08:14 PM
It was well over!

You must be watching in HD :greengrin

Touche :greengrin

Just ignore them if you don't agree with them :tee hee:

Great build up from the French midfield again, Benzema straight at keeper again.

15-06-2014, 08:15 PM
You must be watching in HD :greengrin

You must be watching in braille :greengrin

15-06-2014, 08:17 PM
It doesn't take much for the French to have a falling out. Even with Ribery at home, it's only a matter of time before the toys come out the pram for one reason or another.

The problem obviously started in Domenech's time. Laurent Blanc commanded much more respect and Deschamps definitely won't take any nonsense from them. However I think there's a problem with French French, African French and North African French cliques. As with a lot of national teams now, there are too many millionaire schemie radges.

15-06-2014, 08:17 PM
JORGE!! I now want Hondouras to win

15-06-2014, 08:18 PM
Got to agree re JP, trying to cause a drama cos the goal line technology did its job properly, strange.

15-06-2014, 08:18 PM
Claros :D

15-06-2014, 08:19 PM
Pearce getting excited about nothing, the technology was spot on showed the first activation and then the second Pearce is a knob still questioning the technology.

Having seen about 40 replays I still don't think it was over the line...but that's the reason we have technology and you have to trust it works.

Stax
15-06-2014, 08:21 PM
He's also going to town on the cost of the World Cup & and how the money could have been spent on Brazil's woes. While I agree with his sentiment I don't expect to hear it from a BBC commentator. Can't listen to him without thinking he should of stuck to robot wars.. Anyway Claros on now, mon Jorge :greengrin

15-06-2014, 08:22 PM
Got to agree re JP, trying to cause a drama cos the goal line technology did its job properly, strange.

Hes still banging on about it.

(((Fergus)))
15-06-2014, 08:23 PM

Having seen about 40 replays I still don't think it was over the line...but that's the reason we have technology and you have to trust it works.

However the system has been calibrated -- 1 cm over, 1 mm over, whatever -- it is the same for both sides, all of the time.

Jonathan Pearce really is an idiot.

Maybe they'll get the tannoy working for the next match. :greengrin:

15-06-2014, 08:24 PM
Great build up from the French midfield again, Benzema straight at keeper again.

You're clearly not a fan of his. He's quality.

15-06-2014, 08:25 PM
good substitutions by deschamps, id take benny off next seeing as we dont have many strikers in the squad

15-06-2014, 08:27 PM
good substitutions by deschamps, id take benny off next seeing as we dont have many strikers in the squad

Id get Valbuena off, think he's the more likely to get nailed by one of the Hondurans.

hibbydog
15-06-2014, 08:29 PM
Johnathon Pearce is a bell end.

he's been using the goal line technology nonsense as a chance to mention 1966.

Oh aye, and rambling on about supporting England loud and proud. Errr... The game he is commentating on is FRANCE vs HONDURAS!!!

Helmet.

Dan Sarf
15-06-2014, 08:30 PM
Nevin, "as a Hibs supporter I have to say Claros didn't exactly set the heather alight."

15-06-2014, 08:31 PM
3-0, Benzema.

great finish 3-0 benzema :flag:

What a peach. Benzema. Told you he was pish :greengrin

15-06-2014, 08:32 PM
What a peach. Benzema. Told you he was pish :greengrin

This isny a big game though Haha

15-06-2014, 08:32 PM
That's enough now France. 3 nil gets me 3 points on the predictor, foot off the gas please :greengrin

15-06-2014, 08:34 PM
This isny a big game though Haha

Aye you're right. He'll fluck it up in the knockout stages :agree:

15-06-2014, 08:34 PM
Did Figueroa just get away with an assassination attempt on Evra?

Green Reaper
15-06-2014, 08:35 PM
That's enough now France. 3 nil gets me 3 points on the predictor, foot off the gas please :greengrin

My prediction as well, blow the whistle ref! :-)

15-06-2014, 08:36 PM
Did Figueroa just get away with an assassination attempt on Evra?

Not sure, hawkeye said no goal?

**** this is confusing?

15-06-2014, 08:38 PM
Imagine trying to watch Inception with Jonathan Pearce...

15-06-2014, 08:39 PM

A 3 page thread on annoying commentators and a separate 2 page thread on Phil Neville's contribution to the same subject would suggest that's easier said than done. :greengrin

15-06-2014, 08:39 PM
The french strip is really smart,shame we couldnt get a design like that at hibs

15-06-2014, 08:40 PM
The french strip is really smart,shame we couldnt get a design like that at hibs

We put the cocks inside the shirts.

15-06-2014, 08:40 PM

I had 2-0 France.

Gutted about that third goal going in.

I think Honduras should put in an appeal about that second goal! :greengrin

15-06-2014, 08:41 PM
A 3 page thread on annoying commentators and a separate 2 page thread on Phil Neville's contribution to the same subject would suggest that's easier said than done. :greengrin

It is, because now I've joined in with an attack on Jonathan Pearce :greengrin

15-06-2014, 08:43 PM
Keown - I know that Honduras are a proud nation, but France have been so much better in this game.

What you on about Keown?

15-06-2014, 08:43 PM

:agree: me too!

15-06-2014, 08:44 PM
We put the cocks inside the shirts.

Well, I admire your honesty. :agree:

(((Fergus)))
15-06-2014, 08:45 PM
Blaze McTweedy should be the fireman in Balamory

pontius pilate
15-06-2014, 08:45 PM
:agree: me too!

And me

15-06-2014, 08:47 PM
Imagine trying to watch Inception with Jonathan Pearce...

Would go something like this

http://stream1.gifsoup.com/view5/4042908/mars-attacks-head-explode-o.gif

hibby67
15-06-2014, 08:47 PM
I had 2-0 France.

Gutted about that third goal going in.

I think Honduras should put in an appeal about that second goal! :greengrin

I've got them 3-0 delighted :)

15-06-2014, 08:51 PM
Nice to see Claros get a game, even if its not the best circumstances for him to come on.

15-06-2014, 08:52 PM

3-0 France f/t.
Now its Messi time.

15-06-2014, 08:54 PM
Blaze McTweedy should be the fireman in Balamory

15-06-2014, 08:58 PM
It could be worse mate, you could support England :wink:

:cool2:

15-06-2014, 09:01 PM
3-0 France f/t.
Now its Messi time.

He's just Sergio's sidekick. :wink:

Time For Heroes
15-06-2014, 09:07 PM
Fancy Benzema top scorer in the world cup

15-06-2014, 09:09 PM
He's just Sergio's sidekick. :wink:

As fantastic as he is, I honestly don't think you can start to compare Messi with Maradona until he dominates a world cup. I'd love it if he has a Maradona 86 type tournament.

15-06-2014, 09:10 PM

Pretty happy with my front two in my fantasy team so far!

15-06-2014, 09:14 PM
Loving the France shirt - apparently for their next fixture though, their traditional crest will be replaced with a graphic of Jonathan Pearce's face.

Lewis77
15-06-2014, 09:36 PM
My pick for the World cup winners are about to kick off (Argentina). Although after watching Italy last night I wouldn't under estimate them. Honestly if you listened to the English media last night you'd have thought England won

15-06-2014, 09:38 PM
As fantastic as he is, I honestly don't think you can start to compare Messi with Maradona until he dominates a world cup. I'd love it if he has a Maradona 86 type tournament.

Im shamefaced. Alan Shearer is parroting my tired cliche just now. The thought of sounding like Shearer fills me with dread.

Lewis77
15-06-2014, 09:58 PM
I grew up with Maradona being seen as the world's best and we watched him play (not as much as we now watch Messi because TV coverage has changed) and he could be brilliant. Nevertheless, for me Messi is the best I've ever seen.

In terms of the best ever, I go off the auld lads, like my fathers generation who can remember Pele, Best, Eusebio and the majority of the auld boys I know say Messi is the best.

*If this is down to the fact we see so much of Messi compared to even the likes of Maradona because of the change in TV coverage, I don't know?

15-06-2014, 10:03 PM
Argentina 1-0 up after less than 3 minutes.

Own goal.