View Full Version : Match of the Day World Cup

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

12-06-2014, 09:34 PM
Blatter's fingerprints all over this...

At least nobody's blaming Petrie. :greengrin:

12-06-2014, 09:34 PM
Who cares if it wasn't a pen, I got neymar in my sun world cup team :)

12-06-2014, 09:35 PM
Loving the ref's work with the aerosol.

I hoping the ref was going to just spray it right along that row of multi coloured sappy boots instead of the grass :greengrin

South korea 2002 all over again.

He's very manly though, don't you think?

A former Chelsea captain who NEVER speaks of his time at the Club, in the same way Lineker NEVER speaks of his time at Everton. Man's a wanchor.

12-06-2014, 09:36 PM

Remind me??

12-06-2014, 09:36 PM
Oscar playing well

12-06-2014, 09:37 PM
Remind me??

Dodgy decision after dodgy decision for the hosts to ensure progress.

12-06-2014, 09:37 PM
Dodgy decision after dodgy decision for the hosts to ensure progress.

Agree - ref's a homer.

12-06-2014, 09:38 PM
TBH not all that impressed with Brasil, look very lightweight and if Croatia had been more attack minded, they would have caused them more problems, very skillful but also very error prone too.

12-06-2014, 09:39 PM
O O here's Neymar. He's trying to slip it into Fred!!!! Farf!! ;-)

Lewis77
Not impressed by Brazil so far in this game, Neymar should of gone and it wasn't a pen.

It has to be said Andy Townsend is absolutely world class at watching super slow mo HD replays and telling us exactly what we can all see.:rolleyes:

It's real time for him, he thinks in slow motion.

12-06-2014, 09:41 PM
Better ref from a better football country is needed for games like this, the ref looks overwhelmed by the occasion and scared not to let everyone down.

12-06-2014, 09:41 PM
Brazil are a mistake just waiting to happen at the back.

They'll meet Spain once they get out the group and I'm not sure how they'll handle them.

blaikie
12-06-2014, 09:43 PM

Think you could be right!

12-06-2014, 09:43 PM
Better ref from a better football country is needed for games like this, the ref looks overwhelmed by the occasion and scared not to let everyone down.

Agree, where is he from?

That looks like another shocking call.

12-06-2014, 09:44 PM
Ref is a disgrace.

Lewis77
Nothing wrong with that croatia goal, this is BS!

Agree, where is he from?

Japan I think

coco22
Oscar playing well

He's been brilliant on the ball.

12-06-2014, 09:45 PM
Agree, where is he from? That looks like another shocking call.

It was. Great jump and header by Olic.

Brazil getting the Big decisions from the poor officials.

Ref gives Croatia literally nothing

Who does Olic play for? liked the look of him tonight think he's done well

12-06-2014, 09:46 PM
This ref is a shocker, you cant have refs this bad at the world cup. It just has to be the best refs not the best refs from every country. :rolleyes:

Who does Olic play for? liked the look of him tonight think he's done well

Wolfsburg I think.

blaikie
Is that Craig Thomson?

The French commentators (including Wenger) are sort of agreeing with the ref., although they're saying that the foul would never have been given in England.

Nevi_SOL
12-06-2014, 09:47 PM
Some of the play acting here is ridiculous

12-06-2014, 09:47 PM
Agree, where is he from?

Japanese referee Yuichi Nishimura.

12-06-2014, 09:49 PM
I thought it was a foul on the keeper to be honest.

12-06-2014, 09:49 PM
Wolfsburg I think.

Cheers, he does, just checked and depressed myself by seeing he's the same age as me

12-06-2014, 09:50 PM
Cheers, he does, just checked and depressed myself by seeing he's the same age as me

Nearly mid 30's I think. Not checked.

Superb from Oscar.

Finish!!

Dan Sarf
12-06-2014, 09:51 PM
Croatia 1 Brazil 2 Ref 1

**** me...was just about to say Croatia deserved a draw....

i'd fancy some of the other top European sides(Spain/Germany/Italy) against this Brazilian team :agree:

3-1 Brazil, certainly no shame for the Croatians

He's deserved that goal, Croatia don't deserve to be 3-1 down though, still think if Brazil don't pick up a bit then a decent team will have them

12-06-2014, 09:52 PM
Superb from Oscar.

Fact

12-06-2014, 09:52 PM
Fact

:greengrin :

12-06-2014, 09:54 PM
What's with those new Nike boots that are like babies shoes, horrendous

12-06-2014, 09:54 PM
He's deserved that goal, Croatia don't deserve to be 3-1 down though, still think if Brazil don't pick up a bit then a decent team will have them

Lot of pressure on them in the opening match, 3-1 is a great result, they could well relax niw and play a bit against Cameroon and Mexico. Still a big threat to Argentina and Spain for the tourney.

12-06-2014, 09:57 PM
Brazils man of the match......

The ref

Dan Sarf
12-06-2014, 10:00 PM
Great news about Hyundai. They're bringing all football fans together, apparently.

Not in Edinburgh they're not.

12-06-2014, 10:01 PM
That was a fantastic third goal. The keeper is getting blamed but the earliness of the strike beat him.

I love seeing goals like that.

12-06-2014, 10:02 PM
Protests outside the itv studios, pelting the windows with stones!

hibbymick
12-06-2014, 10:04 PM
That was a fantastic third goal. The keeper is getting blamed but the earliness of the strike beat him.

I love seeing goals like that.

I thought the Croatia keeper was rank rotten.

12-06-2014, 10:05 PM
Brazils man of the match......

The ref

That is the problem with these situations it will all be about the ref giving a penalty by mistake, where Fred threw himself down to try and con ref. The only culprit here is Fred. Refs have no chance when this goes on. The talk will be on the ref making what I think is a genuine error when it should be about the cheating of Fred.

12-06-2014, 10:06 PM
never a pen, farcical

Good run up though

https://vine.co/v/Mdm1DTDEMmJ

Dan Sarf
12-06-2014, 10:07 PM
That is the problem with these situations it will all be about the ref giving a penalty by mistake, where Fred threw himself down to try and con ref. The only culprit here is Fred. Refs have no chance when this goes on. The talk will be on the ref making what I think is a genuine error when it should be about the cheating of Fred.

Eet ees part of zee game nowhadays

yeezus.
12-06-2014, 10:09 PM
Having watched that performance I sincerely doubt Brazil will win the WC. Then again, Spain lost 1-0 to Switzerland in their opening game and went on to win the tournament (WC or EURO?)

12-06-2014, 10:09 PM
I thought the Croatia keeper was rank rotten.

Should have done better with the penalty but apart from that he didn't have much to do.

Nevi_SOL
12-06-2014, 10:11 PM
Good run up though

Keeper done well not moving to one side but ballsed up with the save.

12-06-2014, 10:11 PM
Why are they talking about England???

WTF? Ricky Lambert?

Dan Sarf
12-06-2014, 10:13 PM
Keeper done well not moving to one side but ballsed up with the save.

Superb!

WTF? Ricky Lambert?

They won the world cup in 1966 and the beeb mentioned it last night?!

WTF? Ricky Lambert?

Because Scotland, Wales and Ireland were crap and didn't make it, did you really think you wouldn't see all the English crap every night on the telly.

12-06-2014, 10:14 PM
Should have done better with the penalty but apart from that he didn't have much to do.

He was poor at the other two goals as well, the third in particular.

hibbytam
12-06-2014, 10:15 PM
Protests outside the itv studios, pelting the windows with stones!

I thought the coverage was bad too, but that's taking it a little too far.

12-06-2014, 10:15 PM
Good run up though

Ah, Alan O'Brien with another one of those mazy runs, I'd forgotten all about him, fair brought a tear to my glass eye.

12-06-2014, 10:16 PM
TBH not all that impressed with Brasil, look very lightweight and if Croatia had been more attack minded, they would have caused them more problems, very skillful but also very error prone too.
Yes, totally agree. I wasn't impressed with them at all, and if Croatia had a decent goalie it would have been a very different result. IMO he should have saved all of the goals. Although he's skillful, I'm not a fan of Neymar, and Luiz was clearly at fault for the Croatian goal. That Brazilian defence looks dodgy, and actually I could see more attack-minded teams tearing them a new one, particularly if Luiz is playing. That said, they'll qualify comfortably for the next round. Not convinced by them at all though, but I suppose it is the first game blah blah blah...

Lewis77
12-06-2014, 10:19 PM
Rickie Lambert sounds like an idiot attempting to do a politically incorrect impersonation of a mentally challenged person.

CyberSauzee
12-06-2014, 10:21 PM
The usual western European morals to conning a ref from Lee Dixon. 'Cheating' is getting the ref to give you a decision by exaggerating a challenge, but the game he was brought up in of going in hard through the back of a player was never deemed to be breaking the rules...

I've said it since I read 'The Hand of God' years ago, us lot in the UK are very parochial when it comes to rules and other footballing cultures.

To expand on that, the book is a superb biography on Maradona. In it, author Jimmy Burns talks of the culture in South America; one where it is looked upon as very favourable to deceive the referee to gain an advantage for your team.

It's only in the last 15+ years that UEFA/FIFA have taken a dim view on diving, so much that simulation is now an offence. We never campaigned to get tackles that went straight through a player outlawed, yet we still look on the game as a man's game where diving is not acceptable but getting the ball and the man is.

Imagine this: if Hibs are in the Scottish Cup final, one of our players cons the ref to give us a last minute penalty, and we score and win, will you be on your high horse sitting at home with your fish supper and a purple tin; or will you be with the majority getting pished up in Leith?

hibbymick
Is it just me who would like to smash Adrian Chiles in the kisser wi a 20lb salmon, canny stand the guy.

I thought the coverage was bad too, but that's taking it a little too far.

Some will do anything to get Adrian chiles off the telle

hibbytam
Because Scotland, Wales and Ireland were crap and didn't make it, did you really think you wouldn't see all the English crap every night on the telly.

I would have preferred more analysis and reaction to the game that was just on. Especially given that they'd already talked about England for a good hour before the game.

12-06-2014, 10:22 PM

I was kind of expecting a bit more anslasys of the game considering it was the opening one and was full of such controversy.

I liked the way Cannavaro shrugged off the threat of Lambert coming on and doing anything though.

12-06-2014, 10:25 PM
I was kind of expecting a bit more anslasys of the game considering it was the opening one and was full of such controversy.

I liked the way Cannavaro shrugged off the threat of Lambert coming on and doing anything though.

Live games, news at 10 coming on, all very hurried I noticed, think the Lambert thing was a snippet of a longer interview with him, it is a Roy of the Rover type story though.

12-06-2014, 10:26 PM
The usual western European morals to conning a ref from Lee Dixon. 'Cheating' is getting the ref to give you a decision by exaggerating a challenge, but the game he was brought up in of going in hard through the back of a player was never deemed to be breaking the rules...

I've said it since I read 'The Hand of God' years ago, us lot in the UK are very parochial when it comes to rules and other footballing cultures.

To expand on that, the book is a superb biography on Maradona. In it, author Jimmy Burns talks of the culture in South America; one where it is looked upon as very favourable to deceive the referee to gain an advantage for your team.

It's only in the last 15+ years that UEFA/FIFA have taken a dim view on diving, so much that simulation is now an offence. We never campaigned to get tackles that went straight through a player outlawed, yet we still look on the game as a man's game where diving is not acceptable but getting the ball and the man is.

Imagine this: if Hibs are in the Scottish Cup final, one of our players cons the ref to give us a last minute penalty, and we score and win, will you be on your high horse sitting at home with your fish supper and a purple tin; or will you be with the majority getting pished up in Leith?

Be delighted and as equally p1ssed off if happened against us. As a neutral tonight that was cheating player first mistake by ref second.

12-06-2014, 10:29 PM
Some will do anything to get Adrian chiles off the telle

Including a mob outside chucking stones, protest about fifa my erse, "get Chiles out " (in portugese) was the shout.

The Baldmans Comb
12-06-2014, 10:31 PM

WTF? Ricky Lambert?

Errr because England are competing in the World Cup and their opening game is tomorrow night and its an English broadcasting station.

12-06-2014, 10:31 PM
Is it just me who would like to smash Adrian Chiles in the kisser wi a 20lb salmon, canny stand the guy.
To be fair I suppose he was always going to be a wee bit biased for this game, he's half Croatian.

Gus
12-06-2014, 10:34 PM
Errr because England are competing in the World Cup and their opening game is tomorrow night and its an English broadcasting station.

You are right about everything but not the night of the game ;-)

12-06-2014, 10:38 PM
You are right about everything but not the night of the game ;-)

Always thought that ITV was British and not English.

yeezus.
12-06-2014, 10:46 PM

*Northern Ireland* didn't make it :wink:

12-06-2014, 10:49 PM
*Northern Ireland* didn't make it :wink:

Oops, sorry to any N Irish readers of this forum, my bad.

12-06-2014, 11:03 PM
Watched it all with a group of Brazilians. They were cringing at the opening ceremony and thought is was an embarrassment.

Neymar should have walked for his premeditated elbow. The penalty was a joke.

Was offered tickets for the game but couldn't be arsed. The traffic will be horrendous and the stadium is 22km away from the city centre.

Agree that Brasil will do well to get past 2nd round.

12-06-2014, 11:13 PM
Always thought that ITV was British and not English.

England are a British team.

13-06-2014, 12:11 AM
England are a British team.

No, England are a team from Britain, and that's not the same thing. They can't be a "British" team by definition, as "British" means England, Scotland, Wales and N. Ireland and England are only one of the four things necessary for something to be defined as "British". (I know I'm going to regret jumping in on this thread, but what the hell! :greengrin)

(((Fergus)))
13-06-2014, 03:34 AM
rickie lambert sounds like an idiot attempting to do a politically incorrect impersonation of a mentally challenged person.

Is this sort of comment acceptable in this forum?

13-06-2014, 03:41 AM

IMO no.

Lewis77
13-06-2014, 03:57 AM
IMO no.

The only person who could draw offence is rickie lambert or an 'idiot' who would do anything so crass as to mimic someone who is mentally challenged.

So on whose behalf are you being overly sensitive?

13-06-2014, 05:47 AM
Thought Fabio Cannavaro was diplomacy personified when pressed on which English players the Italians 'feared' !!

RoslinInstHibby
13-06-2014, 07:38 AM
1st game n all that but i thought brazil were really poor (as was the ref btw) neymar has goals in him, no doubt about that but i dont think he is a great player. Hulk and fred are hopeless. Brazil will need a drastic improvement if they are going to win the tournament

13-06-2014, 08:40 AM
The only person who could draw offence is rickie lambert or an 'idiot' who would do anything so crass as to mimic someone who is mentally challenged.

So on whose behalf are you being overly sensitive?

On your behalf I think :wink:

13-06-2014, 08:51 AM
World Cups are like The Fast Show. You know the punch lines, it's only the way they are delivered that are different.

This week, I will mostly be getting angry about Ian Wright.

Brazil played some excellent football, which was nice.

Watching England is like making love to a beautiful woman.

Me, John Motson, commentating on a match that doesn't involve England, what were they thinking.

Arent England Brrrrilliant???!!!

Of course, I'm very very drunk.

Dan Sarf
13-06-2014, 09:17 AM
World Cups are like The Fast Show. You know the punch lines, it's only the way they are delivered that are different.

This week, I will mostly be getting angry about Ian Wright.

Brazil played some excellent football, which was nice.

Watching England is like making love to a beautiful woman.

Me, John Motson, commentating on a match that doesn't involve England, what were they thinking.

Arent England Brrrrilliant???!!!

Of course, I'm very very drunk.

13-06-2014, 09:20 AM

He's a twat. Best ignored IMO.

yeezus.
13-06-2014, 09:23 AM

I hope that comment is (has been?) removed. Out of order and incredibly insulting. Beefester is right though probably best ignored.

13-06-2014, 11:46 AM
1st game n all that but i thought brazil were really poor (as was the ref btw) neymar has goals in him, no doubt about that but i dont think he is a great player. Hulk and fred are hopeless. Brazil will need a drastic improvement if they are going to win the tournament

Big Phil knows what he's doing. A slow start will suit him just fine as the squad will improve over the next few weeks.

They also seem to have the refs in their pocket, so don't worry about Brazil.

13-06-2014, 02:07 PM

After giving it some thought I totally disagree and Brazil have an onimous look about them. They weren't clinical and some of the passing let them down, but they look like a team who know exactly what way to play and are supremely well organised. Two holding midfielders like extra defenders to cover Dani Alves and Marcelo who will attack down the flanks all the time, with Hulk doing the running up front and Oscar and Neymar doing the flashy stuff just behind. They won by two goals against their main challenger in the group and the refs look like they'll favour them too. A very good start for the hosts.

RoslinInstHibby
13-06-2014, 02:16 PM
After giving it some thought I totally disagree and Brazil have an onimous look about them. They weren't clinical and some of the passing let them down, but they look like a team who know exactly what way to play and are supremely well organised. Two holding midfielders like extra defenders to cover Dani Alves and Marcelo who will attack down the flanks all the time, with Hulk doing the running up front and Oscar and Neymar doing the flashy stuff just behind. They won by two goals against their main challenger in the group and the refs look like they'll favour them too. A very good start for the hosts.

A win's a win mate, just feel they are a bit of a one man show , they will need to improve if they are gonna win it.

As a side point , full credit to kaka! Would have been easy for him to take the hump and not support the team. To see him in the crowd acting like a regular fan was class.

13-06-2014, 03:46 PM
Looks a tad wet for Mexico V Cameroon :cb

13-06-2014, 03:59 PM
Liking the Cameroon goalies homage to Mr T:not worth

13-06-2014, 04:10 PM
Liking the Cameroon goalies homage to Mr T:not worth

Looking forward to seeing Nkoulou. He's Marseilles prize asset. Classy defender. (Watch as he scores two ogs now) :greengrin

13-06-2014, 04:13 PM
Yet another dodgey decision already.

Thats another blunder by the officials.

Looking forward to seeing Nkoulou. He's Marseilles prize asset. Classy defender. (Watch as he scores two ogs now) :greengrin

Mexico look decent going forward here, their no 7 is getting lots of the ball but can't pick a cross, wrongly ruled offside goal for Mexico there too

13-06-2014, 04:14 PM
Mexico score goal that actually seems to be onside, but given as offside ...

13-06-2014, 04:14 PM
The Cameroon right back is getting slaughtered.

13-06-2014, 04:23 PM
Enjoying this so far. No pressing at all, loads of space. Eto'o off the post.

13-06-2014, 04:26 PM
https://twitter.com/espn/status/477484674898345985

13-06-2014, 04:28 PM
Thought that was a great tackle:rolleyes:

13-06-2014, 04:31 PM
FFs another shocking decision

This World Cup is a fix.

Bad decision again. Should be 2-0 Mexico.

13-06-2014, 04:33 PM
What the **** is going on with football? Should be 2-0. :confused:

13-06-2014, 04:35 PM
Very poor decisions, Mexico deserve to be 2 up

13-06-2014, 04:41 PM
Cheeky wee elbow there

FFS the ref was 5 yards away from that forearm smash?

That looked worse than what Neymar got booked for yesterday, baffling

13-06-2014, 04:47 PM
Mexico denied a stonewaller now.
This is insane.

13-06-2014, 04:49 PM
Don't think I've ever wanted a team I have no links with to score as much as I want Mexico to get one here

13-06-2014, 04:56 PM
Don't think I've ever wanted a team I have no links with to score as much as I want Mexico to get one here

:agree: but you just have a feeling Cameroon will nick one.

13-06-2014, 04:57 PM
is that a bullet hole behind cannavaros head ? :gun:

13-06-2014, 05:00 PM
is that a bullet hole behind cannavaros head ? :gun:Brazil fans threw something while celebrating I think

13-06-2014, 05:22 PM
Yaaaaaas viva mexico:flag::hibees

13-06-2014, 05:25 PM
Yes!

13-06-2014, 05:25 PM
Great passing move in the build up to that goal.

13-06-2014, 05:31 PM
Do we really need a 3 minute introduction to tell us that England invented the beautiful game?

I'm annoyed, just watched it. Good old England, just think if if hadn't been for them we wouldn't be having a World Cup in Brazil!

So patronising it's unreal!!

Independance?? It's a YES fro me!!

The Foot-Ball Club (active 1824–41) of Edinburgh, Scotland, is the first documented club dedicated to football, and the first to describe itself as a football club.[8] The only surviving club rules forbade tripping, but allowed pushing and holding and the picking up of the ball.[9] Other documents describe a game involving 39 players and "such kicking of shins and such tumbling".

Source: Wikipedia

There are however serious doubts as to which club/manager invented hoofball and alas Edinburgh have a few recent candidates :wink:

nomad
13-06-2014, 05:33 PM
Did not get past the above. If Scotland votes no why should we have a football team along with NI and Wales. One country one team. Must look odd from around the world!!

Its a Yes from me!!:na na:

13-06-2014, 05:45 PM
I fancy Mexico to give Croatia some trouble. They're a lot better than their qualification (4th in concacaf) suggests.

13-06-2014, 05:48 PM
Tbh 3-0 to Mexico would be about right. They've been very good.

13-06-2014, 05:52 PM
Good save.

13-06-2014, 05:54 PM
Looking forward to Brasil-Mexico on Tuesday.

13-06-2014, 05:56 PM
Well deserved victory, hope the refs don't ruin the next game.

13-06-2014, 05:57 PM
Justice was done there, hope goal difference doesn't play a part in this group in the end :rolleyes:

Now time to see what Europe can offer, really looking forward to the next game :greengrin

13-06-2014, 06:09 PM
Diego Costa starts up front for Spain.

chinaman
13-06-2014, 06:16 PM
is that a bullet hole behind cannavaros head ? :gun:and sadly he missed the flump with the bullmastiff dial...

13-06-2014, 06:56 PM
Loads of gaps, have they had trouble selling tickets?

13-06-2014, 07:19 PM
Wish Mark Lawrenson would **** off

13-06-2014, 07:21 PM

13-06-2014, 07:26 PM

Absolute trumpet

13-06-2014, 07:28 PM
Never a pen IMO.

Never a penalty

Lovely pass from Xavi to Costa that led to the penalty - simple yet sublime.

13-06-2014, 07:29 PM
Never a pen IMO.

Maybe not but it's 1-0 for football.

13-06-2014, 07:29 PM
It's like a friendly.

yeezus.
13-06-2014, 07:31 PM
There's my prediction of 0-1 Holland out the window. What was I thinking!?

Looking forward to seeing Germany wipe the floor with Portugal.

13-06-2014, 07:34 PM

How on earth the BBC keep this depressing eejit in employment I've no idea.

13-06-2014, 07:39 PM
Maybe not but it's 1-0 for football.

Don't think that's the point

13-06-2014, 07:44 PM
What a ball and header! :thumbsup:

13-06-2014, 07:45 PM
That was a great ball by Iniesta should have been two, but then a great goal by the Dutch, this is much better

Lovely goal

What a ball and header! :thumbsup:

:agree: peach of a goal

13-06-2014, 07:46 PM
Hoofball! :wink:

13-06-2014, 07:48 PM
Van Persie could get on the end of a Nelson ball he is that good.

13-06-2014, 07:48 PM
Great goal.

13-06-2014, 07:50 PM
Van Persie could get on the end of a Nelson ball he is that good.

Steady. Nobodies that good. :wink:

13-06-2014, 07:50 PM
Stunning goal but why does Laurenson have to be such a t!t

13-06-2014, 07:51 PM
Is it wrong to hope the second half is goal-less just because I've got 1-1 in the predictor league?

13-06-2014, 07:56 PM
Nice half time feature on England in the Spain v Holland game. It all ties in.

13-06-2014, 08:00 PM
Already blaming the pitch if they lose :rolleyes:

13-06-2014, 08:04 PM
I'm glad we got that update on England, I was wondering what had changed since our last update during the Mexico game.

13-06-2014, 08:06 PM
'You don't win anything with squids'! Very good from the commentator!

13-06-2014, 08:10 PM
Yas! Get in there! :thumbsup:

13-06-2014, 08:10 PM
well done Dutchies another good goal

13-06-2014, 08:11 PM
Great goals 2 Dodgy penalties 1

13-06-2014, 08:13 PM
well done Dutchies another good goal

Great goal. Slight deflection off the defender which made it unsavable.

13-06-2014, 08:16 PM
Silly there by costa, but ffs that Dutch defender went down in stages......get a grip man !

13-06-2014, 08:19 PM
Unlucky again for Holland, there are lots of reasons to dislike Robben but he really is a fantastic footballer

13-06-2014, 08:22 PM
Go Holland!

13-06-2014, 08:23 PM
wow. Spain. end of

13-06-2014, 08:23 PM
Foul on the goalie Shirley.

13-06-2014, 08:27 PM

You never get away with doing that to a keeper normally. Bad positioning by Casillas though.

13-06-2014, 08:28 PM

Never in a million years. Two players challenging for the ball. About time a decision like that was given, goalies get too much protection. Casillas flapped at that.

13-06-2014, 08:28 PM
Nice to see a ref not folding to xavi moaning like spoiled child

13-06-2014, 08:30 PM
Uh oh Haha what was he thinking

Lol

BBC got the pick of the early games that's for sure.

13-06-2014, 08:31 PM
Crazy

13-06-2014, 08:31 PM
1-4 for football

13-06-2014, 08:32 PM
Well, this is quite good!!!

Hop Holland Hop!

13-06-2014, 08:33 PM
Fed up with the over passing of Spain.

Holland. Few passes.....goal.

Simples.

13-06-2014, 08:33 PM
Bodes well for Man U next season:agree:

13-06-2014, 08:36 PM
Spain are missing something and I can't put my finger on it.

They look toothless.

13-06-2014, 08:37 PM
Edwin der Graaf himself would struggle to get into this Dutch midfield.

The dutch have just killed spain as a country.

Green Reaper
Holy Moly!

That's Spain dead as a country now.

Wow stunning by Robben.

13-06-2014, 08:38 PM
Fed up with the over passing of Spain.

Holland. Few passes.....goal.

Simples.

Hope we see more of this from Holland. It's a joy to watch!

The monkey is well and truly off Robbens back.

They could go all the way.

Holland show what you can do with a bit quality, their squad doesn't seem the best but with quality like Robben, Van Persie and Sneijder it can make a real difference they have been sensational

http://static.fjcdn.com/gifs/Reaction_3b29b2_262148.gif

13-06-2014, 08:39 PM
Spain are so crap that he decided to take the ball for a wee run first before scoring. :faf:

33/1 could be worth a wee punt. :agree:

Bet Holland would swap this gubbing for a 1-0 win four years ago.

That's Spain dead as a country now.

:greengrin:top marks

Bodes well for Man U next season:agree:

United fans must be licking their lips in anticipation! I wonder if Robben is available on the market.

If he can get them playing like that the prem will be sensational next year.

13-06-2014, 08:40 PM
http://static.fjcdn.com/gifs/Reaction_3b29b2_262148.gif

13-06-2014, 08:40 PM
Butcher having a nightmare here.

13-06-2014, 08:41 PM
I don't think Spain will win the World Cup.

13-06-2014, 08:42 PM
Spain will be baking cakes next season!

Torres handling the taps behind the bar? :dunno:

13-06-2014, 08:42 PM
Imagine going all that way to get gubbed 5-1. :wink:

13-06-2014, 08:43 PM
imagine going all that way to get gubbed 5-1. :wink:

ltyf.

13-06-2014, 08:44 PM
Even with just five minutes to go this could end up seven.

tic tac fluck up ? ! ! !

Spain are going out of the group stages :jmcp:

It definitely benefitted Holland conceding early, as it took away the pressure of conceding as they already conceded.

13-06-2014, 08:45 PM
Holland are just awesome tonight.

13-06-2014, 08:45 PM

nah, that's big nosed Czech man stuff.

13-06-2014, 08:46 PM

Villa offering face painting, family bull fight event?

They will have to come down to earth soon. You just have to worry about unpaid bills to small contractors and Universities.

13-06-2014, 08:47 PM
nah, that's big nosed Czech man stuff.

I always felt the job was more suited for hasbeens.

EDIT: Thank you Torres for proving my point. :greengrin

13-06-2014, 08:48 PM
Why do they never pass to that black guy with the orange boots? He could have been played in!

If goal difference counts then Spain could be in trouble.

13-06-2014, 08:48 PM
The dutch have just killed spain as a country.

Spain are poor but there is no way a 5-1 gulf between these two. Casillas ansd foul on the keeper account for two of the goals. At least one of the others was because they have been chasing the game and left themselves exposed at the back. Oh and that Robben is a total pr1ck.

13-06-2014, 08:49 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BqCa9l9CEAAAvHW.jpg

13-06-2014, 08:49 PM
Torres...

13-06-2014, 08:51 PM
11 goals so far in 3 games, would have been 13 but for rank officials, mon the World Cup:greengrin

Looking forward to seeing what Chile have in their locker now

13-06-2014, 08:52 PM
It definitely benefitted Holland conceding early, as it took away the pressure of conceding as they already conceded.

13-06-2014, 08:53 PM
Torres...

It's indicative of the condition of Spain's team that Torres gets to come on. He is not great these days and I'd have thought they could do better than that.

13-06-2014, 09:03 PM
Thierry Henry is so cool. 'Robbens like me,'You show me the goal and some grass, I say, you're in trouble':greengrin

13-06-2014, 09:04 PM
Excellent from the Dutch. Nightmare from Spain with Casilas surely winning his final cap.

Anyone thing RVP was lucky not to walk after his double cruncher on Pedro? Commentators played it down cos RVP plays in England don't you know :greengrin

13-06-2014, 09:04 PM
Thierry Henry is so cool. 'Robbens like me,'You show me the goal and some grass, I say, you're in trouble':greengrin

Henry speaks a lot of sense. Liking him. :agree:

13-06-2014, 09:07 PM
superb game of football,we'll be lucky to see another game like that for the rest of the tournament, the one-touch football from both sides was superb to watch

13-06-2014, 09:09 PM
Terry Butcher was on the telly!

13-06-2014, 09:32 PM
Terry Butcher was on the telly!

Was he in the Spanish dugout by any chance?

13-06-2014, 09:36 PM
I'd wanted Spain to win, and even though I detest Robben I thought he was brilliant tonight. If Spain are to go through to the next round they need to drop most of the older players, with exception of Iniesta, who at times in the 1st half still looked different class. If they do that then their style will change, but it could help them as far as results go. Sadly, Xavi, who I rated as probably the best midfielder in the game for over a decade, is now definitely past it. Torres, for Spain IMO is pretty crap TBH. I think Spain might actually struggle to get to the next round in any case, because I've seen Chile a few times, and they're a dangerous team to underestimate.

13-06-2014, 09:58 PM
How noisy is the Chile crowd? Such an emotional anthem. They're going to win this.

13-06-2014, 10:01 PM
Are Chile red hot favourites?

13-06-2014, 10:11 PM
1-0 Chile

13-06-2014, 10:12 PM
Haha Mon Chile, i like their no 10 already after he's been described as a playboy off the pitch

13-06-2014, 10:12 PM
Lovely one touch passing. 1-0 Chile 11 mins.

13-06-2014, 10:13 PM
What a ****ing goal!!!

13-06-2014, 10:13 PM
Chile too hot for the Aussies 2-0

13-06-2014, 10:14 PM
The Chileans are running riot.

I'm predicting six or seven.

13-06-2014, 10:14 PM
I love the world cup:greengrin 2-0 whaddapeach.

GlasgowHibee
13-06-2014, 10:15 PM
Not sure if Chile are really good or if Austrailia are really bad.

13-06-2014, 10:21 PM

Chile are really good.

Not sure they'd get away with this 3-0-7 formation (with the defenders at the halfway line) against a quality side mind you.

13-06-2014, 10:28 PM
no goals for 14 mins, poor game

:)

13-06-2014, 10:35 PM
Wow. 2-1 Cahill.

13-06-2014, 10:35 PM
He scores some amount of headers for a wee bloke

13-06-2014, 10:39 PM
I was ready to turn it over.

Australia can do this with a bit of effort and Chile's midget defenders could be their undoing.

13-06-2014, 10:40 PM
Imagine if Hibs played like Chile.

13-06-2014, 10:40 PM

... instead of mince?

13-06-2014, 10:44 PM

Our youngest world cup team.....hugely short of experience during a period of transition and expectations vey low.

On the positive side, Australia have yet to lose a World Cup Final.......:greengrin

13-06-2014, 10:45 PM

They aren't afraid to try things, won't always come off but its a joy to watch when it does, kinda football i like to see

13-06-2014, 10:49 PM
They aren't afraid to try things, won't always come off but its a joy to watch when it does, kinda football i like to see

A bit better than a Nelson long hopeful diagonal ball:no way:

13-06-2014, 10:53 PM
I dont want to jinx it but I'm really enjoying how open the games have been so far the past few world cups have been very tight.

13-06-2014, 10:56 PM

Blind learned everything from watching videos of Hibs. Great use of the long diagonal ball tonight.

13-06-2014, 11:00 PM

That's frilly knickered talk.

Bread and butter son, bread and butter, never mind this fancy foreign 5hite.

13-06-2014, 11:04 PM
Blind learned everything from watching videos of Hibs. Great use of the long diagonal ball tonight.

:agree:True. Growing up in Amsterdam, the Young Daley Blind perfected his technique by watching Silky Soccer-The Michael Nelson Way DVD on a loop.

13-06-2014, 11:06 PM
I await the inevitable 'Dutch Blind' puns.
Actually, im away to my bed :aok:

13-06-2014, 11:07 PM
Jambo *******, Mon the Chile

13-06-2014, 11:07 PM
Ryan McGowan on

Lewis77
13-06-2014, 11:19 PM
Very impressed by Holland. They have flown under my radar a wee bit as I have Argentina in mind as a favorite, but the more I think about it, the more I think it could be Holland's time, especially after seeing that.

Finalists last time, great players and a great manager, aye they can win it. Annoyed I didn't get a bet on before this game though as surly now the odds will change?

* The RVP goal was beautiful.

13-06-2014, 11:21 PM
Come on Oz!

Good game now and that McGowan has done OK so far.

13-06-2014, 11:26 PM
Ryan McGowan on

As the saying goes break a leg

13-06-2014, 11:32 PM
As the saying goes break a leg

:agree: Literally.

13-06-2014, 11:46 PM
Pinilla on.

Suddenly, it's a Yam fest