View Full Version : Match of the Day World Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18

12-07-2014, 08:16 PM

If the Dutch can be bothered this could go the same way again!!

GoldenMeerkat
Yes! We want 7!

12-07-2014, 08:17 PM
Oh dearBrazil are woeful at the back !

Calamity defending once again from David Luiz. PSG Will be looking for their £50M receipt and sending it back to Chelsea demanding their £50M back.

****ing hell brazil averaging a goal lost every 12 minutes in the last 2 games!

12-07-2014, 08:18 PM
1. Should've been a straight-red, he was 'Last man' - 1st-minute shouldn't make any difference.

2. Is it me or does the crowd sound more like a 'One-Direction' gig for U-14's ??

12-07-2014, 08:20 PM
Luiz is an absolute bomb scare

(((Fergus)))
12-07-2014, 08:21 PM
If the Dutch can be bothered this could go the same way again!!

They might fancy getting one over the "Moffen" by going one better...

12-07-2014, 08:23 PM
Brazil are that bad, a Blind man can score against them. :duck:

12-07-2014, 08:36 PM
forget fred and Jo, Bert and Ernie would do better upfront

Saturday Boy
12-07-2014, 08:39 PM
forget fred and Jo, Bert and Ernie would do better upfront

Eric and Ernie would be better.

12-07-2014, 08:52 PM
I did a scorecast on the game, Van Persie to score first, Holland to win 2-1 (40-1), but with Brazil's defending I've got no chance.

12-07-2014, 08:54 PM
Pointless game imo. Third or fourth - does anyone really care?

12-07-2014, 08:55 PM
anyone else think Robben could have stayed on his feet at the penalty bit :confused:

12-07-2014, 08:56 PM

the Dutch will :)

12-07-2014, 08:59 PM
If Joey Deacon was Dutch there's a chance he would get through that defence. (anyone under 35 Google is your friend)!

(((Fergus)))
12-07-2014, 09:00 PM
I don't usually mind Ian Wright :tin hat:, but his insistence throughout this tournament on calling Hoddle "Gaffer" - at every opportunity - is severely twisting my thrupennies.

(((Fergus)))
12-07-2014, 09:04 PM
On the other hand, one of the highlights of this tournament has been the way Martin O'Neil leaves out the "c" from the word "actually".

12-07-2014, 09:05 PM
empty seats again - leaving early of queues for pies?

12-07-2014, 09:06 PM

Usually decent games with lots of goals though- 2 so far tonight, 5 in 2010, 4 in 2006, 5 in 2002, 3 in 1998 4 in 1994 and 3 in 1990. Good goal return in comparison to the finals in those years which produced a total of 9 goals :greengrin

12-07-2014, 09:09 PM
anyone else think Robben could have stayed on his feet at the penalty bit :confused:

He was definitely fouled. If he didn't go down he might not have got it.

My player of the tournament.

12-07-2014, 09:17 PM
This game means nothing, North Korea are in the final against Portugal :faf:

http://metro.co.uk/2014/07/12/north-korea-media-tells-country-that-its-team-has-reached-world-cup-final-4796033/

12-07-2014, 09:17 PM
Brasil continuing to be pretty dirty / heavy in challenges and getting away with too much

Hernanes...that was a yellow all day

12-07-2014, 09:19 PM
He was definitely fouled. If he didn't go down he might not have got it.

My player of the tournament.

looked incredibly soft,...although he did appear to enjoy his yellow card a bit later on

12-07-2014, 09:26 PM
terrible dive from oscar, is that the first dive in the box that's received a yellow card

Stax
12-07-2014, 09:28 PM
F*** me, stonewaller of the tournament and oscar booked??

12-07-2014, 09:29 PM
F*** me, stonewaller of the tournament and oscar booked??

It must be now that Brazil can't win it that FIFA have stopped telling the refs to give them everything.

12-07-2014, 09:32 PM

http://metro.co.uk/2014/07/12/north-korea-media-tells-country-that-its-team-has-reached-world-cup-final-4796033/

That is actually brilliant, up there with Kim Jong il played a round of golf with 38 under and 11 hole in ones:faf::not worth

Stax
12-07-2014, 09:37 PM
It must be now that Brazil can't win it that FIFA have stopped telling the refs to give them everything.
:agree: They've had a few iffy decicions ( especially Japanese ref 1st game). But that's the 1st time I've seen a player booked for simulation & the defender strechered off :greengrin

12-07-2014, 09:39 PM
Clarke Carlisle is a dick.

12-07-2014, 09:40 PM
Clarke Carlisle is a dick.

12-07-2014, 09:49 PM
ouch 3-0

Stax
12-07-2014, 09:50 PM
Great goal..

12-07-2014, 09:52 PM
Goal 170 of the tournament thus far. Only 2 more required for it to be a record.

12-07-2014, 09:54 PM
FT 3-0 Netherlands.

12-07-2014, 10:06 PM
Be glad to see the back of Ian wright.....Jesus...."the gaffer" this, the "gaffer" that.....get his **** out your mouth wrighty.......

GoldenMeerkat
12-07-2014, 10:15 PM
A very worthy third-place for the Dutch, with Arjen Robben a worthy winner of the Golden Ball.

over the line
13-07-2014, 08:12 AM
I've never seen the point in this fixture, who cares who is third or fourth? Must be tough for the players to get up for it after the heartbreak of the semis. But on this occasion it was another chance to see Brazil in pain I suppose, so not a total waste of time! :D

13-07-2014, 09:08 AM
Be glad to see the back of Ian wright.....Jesus...."the gaffer" this, the "gaffer" that.....get his **** out your mouth wrighty.......

Worse it's a show of respect to Glen Hoddle.

Has it been long enough that his belief that 'all disabled people deserve it' has been forgotten? Odious character.

13-07-2014, 10:06 AM

Sadly its a hoax. The whole web page was so believable too.

http://metro.co.uk/2014/07/12/liverpool-post-incredibly-cringey-facebook-advert-for-their-usa-tour-4795759/

13-07-2014, 02:01 PM
Worse it's a show of respect to Glen Hoddle.

Has it been long enough that his belief that 'all disabled people deserve it' has been forgotten? Odious character.

:agree: he should have been cast down with the mutilated for that comment alone.

13-07-2014, 02:09 PM
:agree: he should have been cast down with the mutilated for that comment alone.

yes he should have, and Martin O'Neill, I used to quite like hi, but now I think he's an @rse

13-07-2014, 02:10 PM
yes he should have, and Martin O'Neill, I used to quite like hi, but now I think he's an @rse

His argumentative small-man syndrome has been quite entertaining imo!

13-07-2014, 02:13 PM

Hes an utter gob*****, got emptied from the Beeb years ago, because he was trying to talk over Lynam. Last night he wouldnt shut up to let the presenter do a link. Earlier in the week Lee Dixon practically told him to shut it.

Fraid he's a bit of a wee whiney nyaff.

13-07-2014, 02:18 PM
It's been a cracking tournament and this has been a suitably enjoyable thread to go with it. Hopefully it goes out with a bang tonight to round it all off.

13-07-2014, 02:23 PM
It's been a cracking tournament and this has been a suitably enjoyable thread to go with it. Hopefully it goes out with a bang tonight to round it all off.

Hear hear - one of the most enjoyable threads ever, IMO. :hnet:

13-07-2014, 02:44 PM
Hear hear - one of the most enjoyable threads ever, IMO. :hnet:

If there's three or more enjoyable posts on this thread before the tournament ends, it'll be a new record for the highest number of enjoyable posts in a World Cup thread. :agree:

Dan Sarf
13-07-2014, 03:09 PM
I've never seen the point in this fixture, who cares who is third or fourth? Must be tough for the players to get up for it after the heartbreak of the semis. But on this occasion it was another chance to see Brazil in pain I suppose, so not a total waste of time! :D

It means more tickets for FIFA to sell on the black market. Which is the whole point of the World Cup, isn't it?

13-07-2014, 03:17 PM
£40 on Germany -1 tonight.

Returns £250 so fingers crossed!!!!

13-07-2014, 03:25 PM

We should have a 'Babe of the Tournament' poll ;-)

13-07-2014, 03:26 PM
We should have a 'Babe of the Tournament' poll ;-)

The babe I posted the other week would be Miss Yam for July 2014. No questions like!!

13-07-2014, 03:26 PM
So glad I have not to watch or listen to any amateur BBC commentary, just real tactics and real indepth match analysis on Dutch and German telly, and not have to listen to slavers like wright, hansen and the rest.For the budget the BBC has it really is pi55 poor.

13-07-2014, 03:27 PM
If there's three or more enjoyable posts on this thread before the tournament ends, it'll be a new record for the highest number of enjoyable posts in a World Cup thread. :agree:

It's been a festival of free flowing banter and passionate debate. Following England's early exit, there was nothing left to concentrate on but the football. :agree:

13-07-2014, 03:42 PM
It's been a festival of free flowing banter and passionate debate. Following England's early exit, there was nothing left to concentrate on but the football. :agree:

Don't mention England, you'll annoy ScouseHibee!!!

13-07-2014, 04:07 PM
So glad I have not to watch or listen to any amateur BBC commentary, just real tactics and real indepth match analysis on Dutch and German telly, and not have to listen to slavers like wright, hansen and the rest.For the budget the BBC has it really is pi55 poor.

Aye, rub it in. :greengrin

13-07-2014, 04:14 PM
If Messi scores in the last minute tonight

http://media.giphy.com/media/3X3JaTDVqY8RG/giphy.gif

13-07-2014, 04:14 PM
Don't mention England, you'll annoy ScouseHibee!!!

13-07-2014, 04:16 PM

As long as Germany have scored 3 before then and the Argentines none, I will be celebrating in a way that makes that pig look disinterested :wink:

13-07-2014, 04:23 PM

Paha... This world cup for me will be remembered as the 'Steve gif' World Cup :thumbsup:

13-07-2014, 04:27 PM
Paha... This world cup for me will be remembered as the 'Steve gif' World Cup :thumbsup:

http://31.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m4gh5n5iTr1rn95k2o1_500.gif :wink:

13-07-2014, 04:36 PM

Agree. That an his comical tailoring. I saw him sporting a t shirt with sleeves and cuffs like a shirt.

However the worst 'pundit' in history is Shearer. A very boring man who doesn't have a clue.

13-07-2014, 04:50 PM
C'mon the Erics!!!

Dave-O
13-07-2014, 05:42 PM
Mon the Geeeemans!!.......:greengrin

Time For Heroes
13-07-2014, 05:58 PM
The babe I posted the other week would be Miss Yam for July 2014. No questions like!!

Too be fair I reckon I could rival you with the thing of beauty from super Leigh's celebration with his debut goal for selick

13-07-2014, 06:01 PM
Too be fair I reckon I could rival you with the thing of beauty from super Leigh's celebration with his debut goal for selick

They would be on a par I would reckon but that thing you mentioned was very very scary. Here's this one

13-07-2014, 06:02 PM

But German TV is pretty bad! NOS even worse.

13-07-2014, 06:05 PM
Here we go! Mon the Germans!

13-07-2014, 06:06 PM
Honestly don't care who wins just hope its a cracker

13-07-2014, 06:12 PM
Cmon the Great Grandmotherland!
(Thats Argentina, by the way.)

Can't wait. I feel that Lionel is bringing his mojo along tonight. 3-1 Messi(2) Higuain, Klose.

13-07-2014, 06:15 PM
DiMaria makes the bench. Mertesacker on the Deutsche bench. No other surprises.

13-07-2014, 06:19 PM
BBC vs ITV for World Cup final coverage. It's the equivalent of having to choose between Shakira and Susan Boyle for a one night stand.

13-07-2014, 06:20 PM
Mon Argentina !

13-07-2014, 06:27 PM
In actual neutral with this game. Really don't care who wins, but would live to see a cracking game with lots of goals

13-07-2014, 06:44 PM
Rio Ferdinand appears to have come directly from his part time gig as a funeral director for the Dutch national team.

13-07-2014, 06:58 PM
Sickener for Kahdeira getting injured in the warm up

13-07-2014, 07:00 PM
Sickener for Kahdeira getting injured in the warm up

Imagine. Awful for him.

13-07-2014, 07:02 PM
love that argentina anthem, always good to have a wee bounce to yourself in the stands :greengrin

13-07-2014, 07:04 PM
Great work Lavezzi, higuain misses from tight angle.

13-07-2014, 07:05 PM
love that argentina anthem, always good to have a wee bounce to yourself in the stands :greengrin

We should adopt it :greengrin

13-07-2014, 07:10 PM
End to end. What a first ten mins!

Off the bar
13-07-2014, 07:11 PM
End to end. What a first ten mins!

good game so far

13-07-2014, 07:14 PM
There a great pace about this game, really enjoying it so far

13-07-2014, 07:17 PM
That looked a sare one there

13-07-2014, 07:17 PM
Kramer could have a broken jaw there. Ouch

13-07-2014, 07:20 PM
He should have buried that one:grr:

13-07-2014, 07:20 PM
How very un-German!

Off the bar
13-07-2014, 07:21 PM
What a miss

13-07-2014, 07:21 PM
Higuain you ****ing erse.

13-07-2014, 07:25 PM
Gee whizz I thought it started at 9pm. Better get the telly box on. :doh:

13-07-2014, 07:27 PM
Germany starting to dominate. Everything through Schweinsteger.

13-07-2014, 07:28 PM
Germany starting to dominate. Everything through Schweinsteger.

Yep Phil's had a great first 30 mins as well

13-07-2014, 07:29 PM
Disallowed goal. Well offside. Good call.

13-07-2014, 07:30 PM
:(

13-07-2014, 07:32 PM
Yep Phil's had a great first 30 mins as well

Yep. Three great crosses from right back already. That #9 was really good last time so no big loss losing Kramer (except for him of course)

13-07-2014, 07:35 PM
Lavezzi has been superb.

13-07-2014, 07:49 PM
Good first half. Reckon there are goals in the second half.

13-07-2014, 07:52 PM
Both teams have had plenty to be optimistic about. Higuain missed a sitter and then carelessly ran offside when he 'scored'. Messi needs to step it up.

hibbydog
13-07-2014, 07:55 PM
Alan shearer. Blue jacket and black suit pants. And as for that handkerchief?

Bell end

So who for best goal then? Rodrigues for me:top marks

Hope a big shark appears and takes Chiles and Wright away for dinner. :greengrin

13-07-2014, 07:59 PM
So who for best goal then? Rodrigues for me:top marks
Same :agree:

13-07-2014, 08:01 PM
Notice that Putin and Blatter are sat next to each other :gun:

13-07-2014, 08:03 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BscjoKcIQAAs7Yc.jpg

13-07-2014, 08:03 PM
Beckham's laddies wearing Argentina shirts :greengrin

13-07-2014, 08:04 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/14/qe5egyju.jpg

WTF?

13-07-2014, 08:04 PM
Stunned. Lavezzi off for Ageuro. Thought Lavezzi was their biggest threat :dunno:

13-07-2014, 08:05 PM
Stevie that's priceless mate!!

13-07-2014, 08:08 PM
Messi misses a one on one now :grr:
You just know Muller et al will make them pay for these chances

13-07-2014, 08:09 PM
Half time at the Copacabana fan park

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bscuk5kIMAAWOu1.jpg

13-07-2014, 08:09 PM
missed first half - enjoying BBQ in the perthshire sun. back to holiday cottage now for second half ... sounded from radio on drive back that it had been decent

13-07-2014, 08:17 PM
Getting the impression EBC's Mowbray and Lawrenson wanting Argentina to win this ..........

13-07-2014, 08:18 PM
missed first half - enjoying BBQ in the perthshire sun. back to holiday cottage now for second half ... sounded from radio on drive back that it had been decent

You wont see many better 0-0s :agree:

13-07-2014, 08:22 PM
this has extra time all over it

13-07-2014, 08:24 PM
this has extra time all over it

Or a last minute Messi winner :cb

13-07-2014, 08:25 PM
There'll be a few nursing bruises tomorrow.

13-07-2014, 08:26 PM
Sending off is coming

13-07-2014, 08:26 PM
Or a last minute Messi winner :cb
or muller to win golden boot 2 WCS in a row :wink:

13-07-2014, 08:32 PM
You wont see many better 0-0s :agree:

Messi missing since his miss :greengrin
I hope the tetchyness does not end up spoiling it

13-07-2014, 08:41 PM
For such an expensive player Ozil makes a lot of bad decisions.

13-07-2014, 08:47 PM
Anyone else bored to the back teeth at this game, I've ended up getting the lappy on my knees again and surfing.

13-07-2014, 08:47 PM
Klose ;(

13-07-2014, 08:48 PM
Anyone else bored to the back teeth at this game, I've ended up getting the lappy on my knees again and surfing.

It had been a great game IMO until the last 10 minutes but I think both sides are now looking scared to lose it!

Goetze isn't a bad player to bring off your bench!

13-07-2014, 08:50 PM
It had been a great game IMO until the last 10 minutes but I think both sides are now looking scared to lose it!

Goetze isn't a bad player to bring off your bench!

They're just cancelling each other out, apart from the German header 1st half, it's all half chances, fascinating to watch but boring at the same time, a lot of mistakes being made by both teams.

13-07-2014, 08:52 PM
Extra tiiiiime.
Tension.

13-07-2014, 08:53 PM
They're just cancelling each other out, apart from the German header 1st half, it's all half chances, fascinating to watch but boring at the same time, a lot of mistakes being made by both teams.

13-07-2014, 08:54 PM
Only 3 shots on target all by Germany, says it all, they both look like they don't want to lose rather than looking like they want to win.

13-07-2014, 08:55 PM

Totally disagree. With less excellent defending itd be goals a plenty. Gteat attacking, great defending. Its just top quality football everywhere you look. Plus about six of the best players in their positions on the planet.

13-07-2014, 08:55 PM

You know what I mean, like a game of chess, boring but fascinating.................well I know what i mean. :greengrin

13-07-2014, 08:57 PM
Totally disagree. With less excellent defending itd be goals a plenty. Gteat attacking, great defending. Its just top quality football everywhere you look. Plus about six of the best players in their positions on the planet.

Is that not cancelling each other out, 2 excellent defenses and 2 decent attacks = 2 teams very equal and giving very little away.

13-07-2014, 08:58 PM
Gawd its so tense ! :greengrin

13-07-2014, 09:01 PM
ooofff close by shirley there...

13-07-2014, 09:01 PM
End to end start to extra time.

13-07-2014, 09:02 PM
Romero is scared. You can see it in his eyes.

Stax
13-07-2014, 09:02 PM
Not for me, two great teams with good defences and both teams have had chances they should have taken.

Off the bar
13-07-2014, 09:07 PM
Only thing worse than that miss is his haircut

13-07-2014, 09:07 PM
Starting to open up a bit now, tired legs and heads kicking in, a mistake by someone is all this might take.

13-07-2014, 09:11 PM
Agueros been poor.

Off the bar
13-07-2014, 09:15 PM
That first 15 flew by!

13-07-2014, 09:16 PM
Sorry but this is just dull now. Never mind penalties, I'd make them keep playing until somebody scores. That would teach them.

13-07-2014, 09:20 PM
Agueros been poor.

And knackered.

13-07-2014, 09:22 PM
Schweinsteiger has been immense in this game

13-07-2014, 09:24 PM
Argentina should be down to 9. Aguero should have been off for that challenge on Schweinsteiger

13-07-2014, 09:24 PM
Great goal:not worth:not worth

13-07-2014, 09:25 PM
Schweinsteiger has been immense in this game

He has indeed. In fact he's been excellent the whole tournament.

Bang wan nil Ze Germans

well deserved after Argies rough tactics last 30 mins

That is a hell of a cool finish at this timeof this game.

Great Strike but **** off Gotze :(

Wow. Great goal.

Lovely - Goetze - 1-0 !!!!

Schurrle what a ball and what a finish

Gooooooooooaaaaaaaaaaaallllllllll!!!!!!!!!

Off the bar
13-07-2014, 09:28 PM
Stunning goal

13-07-2014, 09:30 PM
Well done Germany. Argentina should have taken their chances. Lahm goes down as one of the alltime greats now.

13-07-2014, 09:30 PM
great goal - one of best of tournament.....Messi has again gone missing - as has Muller though - will be a hard job deciding on MOM as both holding mids must be top candidates along with CH's on both sides...

Brasilians with something to cheer at last

13-07-2014, 09:33 PM
great goal - one of best of tournament.....Messi has again gone missing - as has Muller though - will be a hard job deciding on MOM as both holding mids must be top candidates along with CH's on both sides...

Brasilians with something to cheer at last

Schweinsteiger by a mile, followed by Boetang if we are just picking Germans

13-07-2014, 09:34 PM

Mascherano has also had a good game

13-07-2014, 09:36 PM

agree:agree:

13-07-2014, 09:36 PM
Can't really lose this evening.
The English hate both Arg and Ger :-)

Sweeeet

Off the bar
13-07-2014, 09:37 PM

Boetang has been immense

13-07-2014, 09:37 PM
Ach we'll gub them in September! Well played Germany

13-07-2014, 09:38 PM
Can't wait to play the world champions in September ;)

13-07-2014, 09:38 PM
Sebastian was easily the best player on the park this evening. He had and showed everything tonite.

Outstanding

13-07-2014, 09:39 PM

More than good...I thought he was vying for mom... he is so much better in that role than as CH that Barca have had him play

Deserved! ****in YES!!!!!

More than good...I thought he was vying for mom... he is so much better in that role than as CH that Barca have had him play

But was still behind Sebastian imho

Stax
13-07-2014, 09:43 PM
A good World Cup, one of the players of the tournament for me.

13-07-2014, 09:43 PM
Germans will be cacking themselves when they get round to realising their next competitive game :rolleyes:

13-07-2014, 09:44 PM
Deutschland deserved it. Been very good throughout the tournament.

13-07-2014, 09:45 PM
Superb, a victory for football, Germany were the top side throughout the tournament for me no problem with them winning it.

Yet another poor final - that's 3 in a row IMO.

Deserved winners though

Can't wait to play the world champions in September ;)

We've played World Champions in their own backyard and gubbed them. Just ask Scouse Hibee. :greengrin

13-07-2014, 09:47 PM
Think of Aguero's pain. Dundee also gubbed Man City 2-0 today

Gotze is either the coolest guy in the world or doesn't realise the enormity of what he's just done

We've played World Champions in their own backyard and gubbed them. Just ask Scousehibee. :greengrin

13-07-2014, 09:48 PM
Yet another poor final - that's 3 in a row IMO.

Deserved winners though

You must have watched a different game to me mate! :confused:

13-07-2014, 09:49 PM
We've played World Champions in their own backyard and gubbed them. Just ask Scouse Hibee. :greengrin

Haven't got a clue mate before my time.

13-07-2014, 09:51 PM
Did I hear Glenn Hoddle correctly. Play penalties after 90 minutes then play the extra time. If it remains a draw then the winners have already been decided earlier with the penalty shoot out. Great idea. :rolleyes:

13-07-2014, 09:51 PM
Congratulations to North Korea for their world cup win.

13-07-2014, 09:52 PM
Haven't got a clue mate before my time.

How do you know that it was before your time? :greengrin

You must have watched a different game to me mate! :confused:

First half was ok but 2nd half was dull as the fear of losing set in.

Just sick of goalless finals after a great tournament

German wags :top marks

HibeesLA
13-07-2014, 09:53 PM

That many gifs are going to break hibs.net lol

13-07-2014, 09:53 PM
The German wags

http://media.giphy.com/media/5ZosQz0wbTcCA/giphy.gif

13-07-2014, 09:54 PM
How do you know that it was before your time? :greengrin

Because I can't ever remember Scotland gubbing England, nor can I remember England being World Champions :na na:

13-07-2014, 09:54 PM
That many gifs are going to break hibs.net lol

Already looking :D

13-07-2014, 09:56 PM
Messi player of the tournament? :faf:

13-07-2014, 09:57 PM
Messi player of the tournament :faf: - not even in my top 10

GoldenMeerkat
Disagree with Messi getting the Golden Ball award.

Did I hear Glenn Hoddle correctly. Play penalties after 90 minutes then play the extra time. If it remains a draw then the winners have already been decided earlier with the penalty shoot out. Great idea. :rolleyes:

You couldn't make it up, oh wait, the clown just did!!

13-07-2014, 09:58 PM
WTF how can they justify Messi getting that? :confused:

(((Fergus)))
13-07-2014, 10:00 PM
Great to see teams going up stairs after a final.

13-07-2014, 10:02 PM
Messi player of the tournament? :faf:

Messi player of the tournament :faf: - not even in my top 10

Disagree with Messi getting the Golden Ball award.

I would have awarded it to Luis Saurez just for his goals against England. Mind you he'll probably have another bite at the cherry in four years time.

13-07-2014, 10:03 PM
Luis Saurez
he'll probably have another bite at the cherry in four years time.

He might be a bit long in the tooth by then.

(((Fergus)))
13-07-2014, 10:04 PM
I'd love to cuddle Angela Merkel.

13-07-2014, 10:05 PM
gold and green 'ticker' .... the hosts really expected to win :greengrin

(((Fergus)))
13-07-2014, 10:06 PM
Fantastic tournament, marred only by the late appearance of that friend of suspenders

13-07-2014, 10:07 PM

http://i.imgur.com/p26EVRL.gif

13-07-2014, 10:08 PM
Well that's the best World Cup I've seen by far, back to reality and the cabbage again now:faf:

13-07-2014, 10:09 PM
Deserved! ****in YES!!!!!

13-07-2014, 10:11 PM

https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRK98Dtu8q01qH9BZjelvtyvceGyZgDe KRSLDGGbPdijfS5ovA91g

13-07-2014, 10:13 PM

Couldn't get drunk enough to even contemplate that. Eeeew!

13-07-2014, 10:16 PM
Messi getting 'Player of the tournament' is, imho, another example of Sepp & Co's interference . Much like the obvious edict to the refs on NO BOOKINGS for diving !!

13-07-2014, 10:30 PM
Such a shame Scotland just don't do world cups anymore... 14 years. Too long

13-07-2014, 10:31 PM
Glad the Germans won, they have been the best team in the World Cup and I have to give credit for the way they have restructured their whole set up to put hem back on top of the world.

(((Fergus)))
13-07-2014, 10:31 PM
Messi getting 'Player of the tournament' is, imho, another example of Sepp & Co's interference . Much like the obvious edict to the refs on NO BOOKINGS for diving !!

Would like to know how they decide these awards but maybe they thought Neuer and Rodriguez are both getting a prize so...

13-07-2014, 10:32 PM
Just checked my betting account forgot that I had two bets one from 4 years ago for Germany to win the tournament in 2014 and bet them again about a year ago just scooped over a grand that I completely forgot about and I was supporting Germany great night rightly deserved.

13-07-2014, 10:32 PM
Argentina blew at least 3 great chances to win. Hummels looked done in extra time but they seemed to be settling for pens instead of going for it. Bet ****** :'(

13-07-2014, 10:46 PM
Adidas poster child wins the Adidas Golden Ball whilst captain of an Adidas sponsored team?

Surely no?

13-07-2014, 11:10 PM

Agreed. He only scored 4 goals (three of which were peaches) and dragged his team to the final.

What's the need for the baseless, tedious messi bashing?

13-07-2014, 11:25 PM
Agreed. He only scored 4 goals (three of which were peaches) and dragged his team to the final.

He had some good moments, but player of the tournament? Not for me. Can think of at least half a dozen who've had better tournaments.

It's not bashing. The guy is an incredible talent, so a lot is expected of him. I don't think he lived up to his billing and in the last two games at points didn't seem all that interested or fit...

13-07-2014, 11:28 PM
He had some good moments, but player of the tournament? Not for me. Can think of at least half a dozen who've had better tournaments.

It's not bashing. The guy is an incredible talent, so a lot is expected of him. I don't think he lived up to his billing and in the last two games at points didn't seem all that interested or fit...

Half a dozen? Not sure, for me above messi would have been:

Mascherano
Rodriguez
Robben

then who?

13-07-2014, 11:33 PM

Mascherano
Rodriguez
Robben

then who?

David Luiz?

13-07-2014, 11:36 PM

Mascherano
Rodriguez
Robben

then who?
Lahm Neuer even Müller from Germany alone. Pogba from France as well was a stand out although I'd say Messi was in the mix don't think he was anywhere near his best.

13-07-2014, 11:36 PM

Mascherano
Rodriguez
Robben

then who?

Neuer, Kevas, could make a case for Neymar as well.

13-07-2014, 11:38 PM
Neuer, Kevas, could make a case for Neymar as well.

Keepers get their own award though.

13-07-2014, 11:42 PM
Lahm Neuer even Müller from Germany alone. Pogba from France as well was a stand out although I'd say Messi was in the mix don't think he was anywhere near his best.

Lahm and meuller are just so dull though, good at everything, excellent at nothing. Pogba didn't do much in the 1/4 or 1/2 finals though...

13-07-2014, 11:45 PM
Lahm and meuller are just so dull though, good at everything, excellent at nothing. Pogba didn't do much in the 1/4 or 1/2 finals though...

Disagree with the Lahm comment, he is excellent at FB - either side.

Personally Klose should have had the award. 36 years old and breaks the record for goals in WCs. :agree: Due to no outstanding individual.

13-07-2014, 11:48 PM

I'd say Lahm is one of the best readers of the game in the world. So I wouldn't agree, Pogba probably was a stretch but was just trying to point out that in this tournament messi was not really IMHO up with the better players

13-07-2014, 11:52 PM
I'd say Lahm is one of the best readers of the game in the world. So I wouldn't agree, Pogba probably was a stretch but was just trying to point out that in this tournament messi was not really IMHO up with the better players

But I'd say he say within the top 5, and anyone in the top 5 probably deserves it.

as for klose? Euch. Hate him for stealing ronnie's record

13-07-2014, 11:54 PM
Lahm and meuller are just so dull though, good at everything, excellent at nothing. Pogba didn't do much in the 1/4 or 1/2 finals though...Best right and left back in the world over the last 5 years excellent at nothing? Well then...

13-07-2014, 11:56 PM
as for klose? Euch. Hate him for stealing ronnie's record

Each to their own. He's a fantastic servant to Germany, brilliant record for them and an old school poacher of goals, something I feel is missing sometimes!

14-07-2014, 12:02 AM
The thing about Germany is they are for the most part in their mid to early 20's think they can win a few more tournaments

14-07-2014, 12:09 AM
The thing about Germany is they are for the most part in their mid to early 20's think they can win a few more tournaments

Yep I noticed that as well, they could win the next 3 tournaments easily as they'll just get better.

14-07-2014, 06:27 AM
Oh ma ****ing heed! That was one mental night. Just had a peek out the window and the town is as quiet as a morgue.

14-07-2014, 06:58 AM
Yep I noticed that as well, they could win the next 3 tournaments easily as they'll just get better.

Unless Spain, France or Italy come up with something I reckon you're right.

14-07-2014, 08:01 AM

:love ya!: :drool:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/worldcup2014/article-2690785/Germany-WAGs-come-force-World-Cup-final-against-Argentina-Maracana.html

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2014/07/13/article-2690785-1F9FB2CC00000578-831_634x423.jpg

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2014/07/13/article-2690785-1F9F83C900000578-844_634x486.jpg

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2014/07/13/article-0-1F9DB04200000578-114_634x624.jpg

14-07-2014, 09:01 AM
What do you think of my 'best world cup xi'? Will revisit when the tournament is finished. Ive watched all but one game, im fairly sure ive missed someone, Still struggling for a right back, lots of left backs jump out at me but not a rb. (Dont say Dani Alves ffs :grr:)

GK Ochoa (Mexico)

LB Mena (Chile)
CB Thiago Silva (Brazil)
CB Medel (Chile)
RB Debuchy (France)

MF Lahm (Germany)

MF Cuadrado (Colombia)
MF Messi (Argentina)
MF Rodriguez (Colombia)
MF Robben (Netherlands)

CF Muller (Germany)

SUBS
Navas (Costa Rica)
Blind (Netherlands)
F Rodrigues (Mexico)
Vidal (Chile)
Shaqiri (Switzerland)
Van Persie (Netherlands)
Sanchez (Chile)

OK, here's The final edit.

Ochoa (Mexico)

LB Mena (Chile)
CB Klaar (Netherlands)
CB Medel (Chile)
RB Lahm (Germany)

MF Mascherano(Argentina)

MF Cuadrado (Colombia)
MF Messi (Argentina)
MF Rodrigues (Colombia)
MF Robben (Netherlands)

CF Muller (Germany)

Subs

Neuer (Germany)
Blind (Netherlands)
Boateng (Germany)
Vidal (chile)
Shaqiri (Switzerland)
Van Persie (Netherlands)
Klose (Germany)

14-07-2014, 09:04 AM
David Luiz?

To be fair to Luiz, prior to the SemiFinal, he was FIFA's player of the tournament, presumably on the basis of the OPTA stats.

14-07-2014, 09:56 AM

You would imagine that the team that won the World Cup, might have had the player of the tournament as well. Messi knew how cringeworthy that award was, and he at least had the decency to be embarrassed by it.

14-07-2014, 09:57 AM

Seriously, get some therapy!

14-07-2014, 10:40 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/28289452

Brazil coach Luiz Felipe Scolari has resigned following his country's failure to win the 2014 World Cup, reports Brazilian broadcaster Globo TV.

14-07-2014, 11:15 AM
Was very surprised the German medical-team allowed Kramer to continue after his head-knock -

http://www.sbnation.com/soccer/2014/7/13/5895991/christoph-kramer-gets-nailed-in-the-face

To to me it's obvious he's done and I hope he's okay - anyone seen/heard how he ??

14-07-2014, 02:58 PM
My Top 5 "babes of the World Cup"

(5)

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_07_2014/post-101-0-35889800-1405318358.jpeg

(4)
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BrPTFVrCIAAZ9mB.jpg

(3)
http://i.imgur.com/0LeOrJV.jpg

(2)
http://i.imgur.com/bYK3KDY.gif

(1)
http://media0.giphy.com/media/hiMq6ZEgC0L1C/200.gif

14-07-2014, 03:51 PM
Just checked my betting account forgot that I had two bets one from 4 years ago for Germany to win the tournament in 2014 and bet them again about a year ago just scooped over a grand that I completely forgot about and I was supporting Germany great night rightly deserved.
What price did you get for them 4 years ago?

14-07-2014, 05:13 PM
4 long years till the next WC :boo hoo::boo hoo:

some facts

The 2014 World Cup saw a joint-high number of goals scored (171).

said France 98 total wouldn't be beaten :) :smug:

Clint Dempsey’s goal (29 seconds) vs Ghana for the USA was the fifth fastest in World Cup history.

Tim Howard made 15 saves in the USA’s round of 16 defeat to Belgium – no goalkeeper has ever made as many saves in a single World Cup game (1966-2014).

All eight group stage winners progressed to the quarter finals stage for the first time in World Cup history.

UEFA have won the last three World Cups, the first time a single confederation has won three in a row.

Germany scored two more goals vs Brazil than England have in their past two World Cup campaigns combined.

One point was England’s lowest-ever haul in a World Cup group stage.

Spain conceded 5+ goals in an international (1-5 vs Netherlands) for the first time since losing 6-2 to Scotland in June 1963.

:6:-:2:

hibbytam
14-07-2014, 06:00 PM
A little bit of hibs/world cup related trivia. I was just reading this article on the golden ball/glove awards.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/28294339

The Golden Ball and other individual awards are chosen by Fifa's Technical Study Group, a 13-strong committee who analyse matches at international tournaments.
The group was set up after the 1966 World Cup to monitor trends and developments in the game.
Current members include former Liverpool manager Gerard Houllier and ex-Hibernian boss Mixu Paatelainen.

14-07-2014, 06:17 PM
A little bit of hibs/world cup related trivia. I was just reading this article on the golden ball/glove awards.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/28294339

The Golden Ball and other individual awards are chosen by Fifa's Technical Study Group, a 13-strong committee who analyse matches at international tournaments.
The group was set up after the 1966 World Cup to monitor trends and developments in the game.
Current members include former Liverpool manager Gerard Houllier and ex-Hibernian boss Mixu Paatelainen.

So Messi's award may well be justified. As I said earlier, it will be based on technical data, not personal preference.

14-07-2014, 08:27 PM
Here's another link between Hibs and the World Cup. The first bit was referred to by one of the commentators for a USA match in Brazil.

The USA took part in the inaugural World Cup in 1930 and their winger Bart McGhee scored the second ever goal in the competition when the US beat Belgium.

What he could have added was .............. :greengrin

Bart was born in Edinburgh and his Dad James McGhee was a Hibs captain who played for Scotland, going on to manage Hearts before he departed for a new life in the States.

There's a bit about James here on Wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_McGhee but it should not be forgotten that when the lesser greens enticed many of our players west, with outlawed financial inducement, James refused to go and stuck by the Hibs

14-07-2014, 09:06 PM
Well that was fun.. Sad thing is now I'll be in my 30's when the next World Cup rolls rounds... :boo hoo:

14-07-2014, 09:14 PM
Well that was fun.. Sad thing is now I'll be in my 30's when the next World Cup rolls rounds... :boo hoo:

I'll be about 3 weeks shy of my 30th birthday when the next World Cup final is played.

So depressing.

14-07-2014, 09:16 PM
I'll be about 3 weeks shy of my 30th birthday when the next World Cup final is played.

So depressing.

Ssshheeeeesh, how do you think I feel? :greengrin

14-07-2014, 09:21 PM
Can't imagine Russia 2018 will be as good. Could be a right mess politically on gay rights for starters.

Looking forward to Euro 2016 with a Scottish team at the finals to support.

14-07-2014, 09:21 PM
My Top 5 "babes of the World Cup"

(5)

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_07_2014/post-101-0-35889800-1405318358.jpeg

(4)
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BrPTFVrCIAAZ9mB.jpg

(3)
http://i.imgur.com/0LeOrJV.jpg

(2)
http://i.imgur.com/bYK3KDY.gif

(1)
http://media0.giphy.com/media/hiMq6ZEgC0L1C/200.gif

One of my favourites was the Chilean-journalist, Jehedelyn Nunez, who 'flashed' celebrating Sanchez's equaliser V Brazil -

http://youtu.be/sAmmGIoag4s

She's definitely not shy -

http://youtu.be/o8IJpWXCPNQ

14-07-2014, 09:24 PM
Ssshheeeeesh, how do you think I feel? :greengrin

True.

That's actually cheered me up a bit.

Cheers. :aok:

14-07-2014, 09:25 PM
True.

That's actually cheered me up a bit.

Cheers. :aok:

:greengrin :top marks

14-07-2014, 09:46 PM

I will be in my early 50's and it will be the last before i retire !

14-07-2014, 11:16 PM

So depressing.

That's if you live so long ...... :devil:

15-07-2014, 12:34 AM
That's if you live so long ...... :devil:

Always an elder to knock ya on the noggin' :na na:

(((Fergus)))
15-07-2014, 10:55 AM
Here's another link between Hibs and the World Cup. The first bit was referred to by one of the commentators for a USA match in Brazil.

The USA took part in the inaugural World Cup in 1930 and their winger Bart McGhee scored the second ever goal in the competition when the US beat Belgium.

What he could have added was .............. :greengrin

Bart was born in Edinburgh and his Dad James McGhee was a Hibs captain who played for Scotland, going on to manage Hearts before he departed for a new life in the States.

There's a bit about James here on Wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_McGhee but it should not be forgotten that when the lesser greens enticed many of our players west, with outlawed financial inducement, James refused to go and stuck by the Hibs

Can't imagine Russia 2018 will be as good. Could be a right mess politically on gay rights for starters.

Looking forward to Euro 2016 with a Scottish team at the finals to support.

No more kissing and cuddling after goals, just a manly handshake or raised fist salute.

My world cup babe: