View Full Version : Match of the Day World Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18

29-06-2014, 11:03 PM
Holland should see them off fairly comfortably IMO.

29-06-2014, 11:06 PM
Some quality pens there, what a save from the Costa Rican goalie.

Why do they not enforce the ******** rules at the Worldcup?

(1) Goalies to stay on their line at penalties
(2) Defenders not allowed to bearhug attackers at corners
(3) Arjen ******** Robben to get booked when he cheats

30-06-2014, 08:47 AM
Why do they not enforce the ******** rules at the Worldcup?

(1) Goalies to stay on their line at penalties
(2) Defenders not allowed to bearhug attackers at corners
(3) Arjen ******** Robben to get booked when he cheats

Because;

(1) Would have to wait on FIFA or a referee to grow a set, or a backbone in a short period of time.
(2) See 1
(3) Tom Daly is just average after this world cup with some of the diving going on, once again FIFA would have to enforce their own rules, .....just like they did with Suarez.....:confused:

30-06-2014, 09:13 AM
Interesting article on Robben. Fwiw, I don't care how fast he can run or how many goals he's scored, his "shot in the back with his hands in the air" going to ground and berating the referee is pathetic.

https://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/blogs/desmond-kane/robben-diving-shameful-could-hold-key-dutch-glory-203628281.html

30-06-2014, 09:59 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/28082629

Arjen Robben apologised for diving as the Netherlands beat Mexico 2-1 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/27961190) in the last-16 of the World Cup but said it was not for the decisive penalty.

There have been no bookings for simulation so far at Brazil 2014. Six players were booked for diving at the last World Cup in South Africa.

i've saw a few incidents where the player has dived and been spoken to by the referee, but oddly no bookings :confused:

30-06-2014, 10:07 AM
Arjen Robben apologised for diving as the Netherlands beat Mexico 2-1 in the last-16 of the World Cup but said it was not for the decisive penalty.

Think the nauseating scrote Robben is in an even greater state of denial than Suarez. Seriously deluded. :bitchy:

30-06-2014, 10:17 AM
Think the nauseating scrote Robben is in an even greater state of denial than Suarez. Seriously deluded. :bitchy:

which is a great shame, he's a class footballer without adding the diving part to his game

30-06-2014, 10:28 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/28082629

Arjen Robben apologised for diving as the Netherlands beat Mexico 2-1 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/27961190) in the last-16 of the World Cup but said it was not for the decisive penalty.

There have been no bookings for simulation so far at Brazil 2014. Six players were booked for diving at the last World Cup in South Africa.

i've saw a few incidents where the player has dived and been spoken to by the referee, but oddly no bookings :confused:

I think there's been a desire to avoid bookings in general.

30-06-2014, 10:51 AM
I think there's been a desire to avoid bookings in general.

:agree: been a few bad tackles early doors that certainly would have merited a yellow

30-06-2014, 12:43 PM
The Mexican guy getting kicked in the head was well out of order - not even a foul/penalty and the defender not even talked to.

30-06-2014, 12:45 PM
The Mexican guy getting kicked in the head was well out of order - not even a foul/penalty and the defender not even talked to.

Would that be the kick in the head where there was not actually any contact at all? :Ummm:

30-06-2014, 02:17 PM
Would that be the kick in the head where there was not actually any contact at all? :Ummm:

http://www.theguardian.com/football/gallery/2014/jun/29/world-cup-2014-holland-mexico-pictures-gallery?picture=440785525

30-06-2014, 02:18 PM
Look at photo number 8

30-06-2014, 02:27 PM
Look at photo number 8

There's a spooky Isle of Man shadow thing going on.

30-06-2014, 02:28 PM
http://l1.yimg.com/bt/api/res/1.2/MySm6AyYnGk2agj.gA7YSw--/YXBwaWQ9eW5ld3M7cT04NTt3PTYzMA--/http://media.zenfs.com/it-IT/blogs/the-rio-report/alejandra170614.jpg

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_06_2014/post-45629-0-52052800-1404138429.jpg

30-06-2014, 02:40 PM
There's a spooky Isle of Man shadow thing going on.

30-06-2014, 02:44 PM

Contact or not, that looked like dangerous play to me, on the part of both defenders.

(((Fergus)))
30-06-2014, 02:52 PM

30-06-2014, 02:57 PM
What do you think of my 'best world cup xi'? Will revisit when the tournament is finished. Ive watched all but one game, im fairly sure ive missed someone, Still struggling for a right back, lots of left backs jump out at me but not a rb. (Dont say Dani Alves ffs :grr:)

GK Ochoa (Mexico)

LB Mena (Chile)
CB Thiago Silva (Brazil)
CB Medel (Chile)
RB Debuchy (France)

MF Lahm (Germany)

MF Cuadrado (Colombia)
MF Messi (Argentina)
MF Rodriguez (Colombia)
MF Robben (Netherlands)

CF Muller (Germany)

SUBS
Navas (Costa Rica)
Blind (Netherlands)
F Rodrigues (Mexico)
Vidal (Chile)
Shaqiri (Switzerland)
Van Persie (Netherlands)
Sanchez (Chile)

30-06-2014, 03:27 PM

Naw that would be the one where there was contact and if the other foot from the other player had made contact it would have killed him, :wink: was a penalty too.

30-06-2014, 03:30 PM
France and Germany wins please!

30-06-2014, 03:31 PM
http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/live-experience/cps/1680/media/images/75944000/jpg/_75944939_022965444-hero.jpg

30-06-2014, 03:32 PM
What do you think of my world cup 'best world cup xi'? Will revisit when the tournament is finished. Ive watched all but one game, im fairly sure ive missed someone, Still struggling for a right back, lots of left backs jump out at me but not a rb. (Dont say Dani Alves ffs :grr:)

GK Ochoa (Mexico)

LB Mena (Chile)
CB Thiago Silva (Brazil)
CB Medel (Chile)
RB ?

MF Lahm (Germany)

MF Cuadrado (Colombia)
MF Messi (Argentina)
MF Rodriguez (Colombia)
MF Robben (Netherlands)

CF Muller (Germany)

SUBS
Navas (Costa Rica)
Blind (Netherlands)
F Rodrigues (Mexico)
Vidal (Chile)
Shaqiri (Switzerland)
Van Persie (Netherlands)
Sanchez (Chile)

I'd have Mascherano and Neymar in ahead of Lahm and Muller.

30-06-2014, 03:41 PM
I'd have Mascherano and Neymar in ahead of Lahm and Muller.

Hmmm. Id say Lahm is untouchable at holding midfield but thats just me. Ive just remembered France's Newcastle RB Debuchy has had a good couple of games so ill go for him.

30-06-2014, 03:52 PM
What do you think of my 'best world cup xi'? Will revisit when the tournament is finished. Ive watched all but one game, im fairly sure ive missed someone, Still struggling for a right back, lots of left backs jump out at me but not a rb. (Dont say Dani Alves ffs :grr:)

GK Ochoa (Mexico)

LB Mena (Chile)
CB Thiago Silva (Brazil)
CB Medel (Chile)
RB Debuchy (France)

MF Lahm (Germany)

MF Cuadrado (Colombia)
MF Messi (Argentina)
MF Rodriguez (Colombia)
MF Robben (Netherlands)

CF Muller (Germany)

SUBS
Navas (Costa Rica)
Blind (Netherlands)
F Rodrigues (Mexico)
Vidal (Chile)
Shaqiri (Switzerland)
Van Persie (Netherlands)
Sanchez (Chile)
I would agree with a lot of those, but even though I like Tiago Silva, he's made one or two too many mistakes for me this time round. At right back I quite like what I've seen of Mertens (Belgium) and Fabian Johnson (US), but that's just my opinion.

30-06-2014, 03:57 PM
I would agree with a lot of those, but even though I like Tiago Silva, he's made one or two too many mistakes for me this time round. At right back I quite like what I've seen of Mertens (Belgium) and Fabian Johnson (US), but that's just my opinion.

Yep, good shout, Mertens has been good.

30-06-2014, 03:57 PM

GK Ochoa (Mexico)

LB Mena (Chile)
CB Thiago Silva (Brazil)
CB Medel (Chile)
RB Debuchy (France)

MF Lahm (Germany)

MF Cuadrado (Colombia)
MF Messi (Argentina)
MF Rodriguez (Colombia)
MF Robben (Netherlands)

CF Muller (Germany)

SUBS
Navas (Costa Rica)
Blind (Netherlands)
F Rodrigues (Mexico)
Vidal (Chile)
Shaqiri (Switzerland)
Van Persie (Netherlands)
Sanchez (Chile)

I would take out Robben on account of him being a cheating bawbag and drama queen. :greengrin

30-06-2014, 03:59 PM
Hmmm. Id say Lahm is untouchable at holding midfield but thats just me. Ive just remembered France's Newcastle RB Debuchy has had a good couple of games so ill go for him.

Don't get me wrong Lahm is an incredible player. Saw some stats for Mascherano earlier though:

Most accurate long passes in the tournament.
2nd most passes completed (joint with Lahm incidently).
Highest succesful tackle percentage.

To be honest I'd have them both in there, your team is a little top heavy ;-)

Lewis77
30-06-2014, 04:00 PM
I'm going 3-2 for France. If not 2-2 after extra time france win on pens.

30-06-2014, 04:02 PM
Francais v Deutschland QF this friday plz ta muchly

having said that, a Nigeria v Algeria QF would be interesting as well

30-06-2014, 04:03 PM
Don't get me wrong Lahm is an incredible player. Saw some stats for Mascherano earlier though:

Most accurate long passes in the tournament.
2nd most passes completed (joint with Lahm incidently).
Highest succesful tackle percentage.

To be honest I'd have them both in there, your team is a little top heavy ;-)

I like an attacking midfield :greengrin
Unless we drop Robben to make way due to aforementioned dramaqueenery. But hes just been too good.

Lewis77
30-06-2014, 04:14 PM
Sounds like he is commentating on a mildly exciting episode of One Man And His Dog.

Come-bye Kevin, come-bye!

30-06-2014, 04:22 PM
Whoah thats a great move. Save from Pogba.
Nigeria looking dangerous.

30-06-2014, 04:24 PM
I think valbuena is my favourite player so far, mon the wee guy :thumbsup:

30-06-2014, 04:24 PM
Have i missed much, just got home as Pogba hit that volley, back at work this week and its getting in the way of my World Cup viewing

Lewis77
30-06-2014, 04:26 PM
Looking good. I wonder if he'll move after the World Cup?

30-06-2014, 04:29 PM
Have i missed much, just got home as Pogba hit that volley, back at work this week and its getting in the way of my World Cup viewing

You need to draw up your world cup eleven and then we argue about it :agree:

Nigeria had a nice goal chalked off for offside. Good first 20 mins.

30-06-2014, 04:33 PM
Looking good. I wonder if he'll move after the World Cup?Juventus have absolutely no reason to sell and if they did Vidal is more likely to leave.

30-06-2014, 04:39 PM

Not overly...I've already started to potter about doing other things in all honesty with the game on in the background.

Neither side look particularly clinical.

30-06-2014, 04:39 PM
You need to draw up your world cup eleven and then we argue about it :agree:

Nigeria had a nice goal chalked off for offside. Good first 20 mins.

Ochoa

Thiago Silva
Yepes
Medel

Philip

Rodriguez
Messi
Neymar
Quadrado

Robben
Muller

30-06-2014, 04:46 PM
Ochoa

Thiago Silva
Yepes
Medel

Philip

Rodriguez
Messi
Neymar
Quadrado

Robben
Muller

Not bad :agree: plenty of goals in there.

30-06-2014, 04:48 PM

Do you mean this one?

30-06-2014, 04:54 PM
Not bad :agree: plenty of goals in there.

You know me, don't see the point in defending, all out attack, if I was allowed I'd go

Ochoa

Lahm
Lahm
Lahm

Lahm
Lahm
Lahm
Lahm
Lahm

Lahm
Messi :faf::faf:

Was actually gutted I didn't find room for Schweinsteiger, I have an un natural love in for him as well

Best description of Lahm ever was on here, can't remember who said it but it was 5 foot 6 of liquid cool :cool2:

Lewis77
30-06-2014, 05:00 PM
I'd play 3-5-2 as follows

Ochoa

Thiago Silva
Mertesacker
gary medel

James Rodriguez
Charles Aranguiz
toni kroos
Pogba
arjen robben

Neymar
Messi

Lewis77
30-06-2014, 05:09 PM
This game is becoming a wee bit of a let down. Mon lads give us a goal.

30-06-2014, 05:11 PM
This game is becoming a wee bit of a let down. Mon lads give us a goal.

France need to get Giroud off and play Benzema through the middle

30-06-2014, 05:12 PM
Ooft that looked a dull one there

Nasty.

Ouchhhhh.

30-06-2014, 05:14 PM
Nasty.

My ankles can be total chocolate at times and seeing that makes me feel it

30-06-2014, 05:26 PM
My ankles can be total chocolate at times and seeing that makes me feel it

Same, have to flinch at those.

30-06-2014, 05:27 PM
Nearly a goal, great play.

30-06-2014, 05:28 PM
Got bored to tears in the 1st half, now watching Murray at Wimbledon.

30-06-2014, 05:33 PM
I like this stadium, watching on TV it just seems to go up and up

30-06-2014, 05:35 PM
What an effort that was!

30-06-2014, 05:36 PM
1-0

30-06-2014, 05:36 PM
1-0 France, 12 minutes left.

30-06-2014, 05:38 PM
Turned the screw! Good goal, shame Kebabs effort didnt go in!

30-06-2014, 05:42 PM
146 goals scored now... 10 more games to get 26 goals and beat the 171, assuming no more goals in this game that is

i'm putting my Vbuttons on the 171 record staying intact

maybe :)

Lewis77
So there is a Greek on the pitch.

Enyeama is having a fine game (goal aside).

Greizmam is class.

And he scores! 2-0!

30-06-2014, 05:49 PM
Well worked wee corner there 2-0 France

make that 147 goals

Own goal infact by Yobo.

GoldenMeerkat
Allez les Bleus!

Lewis77
poor lad

30-06-2014, 05:55 PM
Couple of potentially tasty quarter finals in Colombia V Brazil and perhaps France V Germany

30-06-2014, 06:00 PM
This has been a fantastic tournament! :agree:

30-06-2014, 06:04 PM

First of all a bite on the shoulder is on the neck and now this try Specsavers.

30-06-2014, 06:20 PM
good win for us against a plucky nigeria, next up ze germans

30-06-2014, 06:24 PM
I think valbuena is my favourite player so far, mon the wee guy :thumbsup:

gutted hes leaving Marseille :boo hoo:

30-06-2014, 06:48 PM
gutted hes leaving Marseille :boo hoo:

He's given us 8 years service and there will be a big fee. Good luck to him.

30-06-2014, 08:04 PM
Think its a bit off that you can referee a knock out game if your country is still in the competition

30-06-2014, 08:17 PM
Algeria score but offside. Germans need to watch the counter!

30-06-2014, 08:17 PM
Algeria playing well. Unlucky with the offside.

30-06-2014, 08:18 PM
Another good chance gone.

30-06-2014, 08:18 PM
Germany really need to wake up here or they will get a big shock

30-06-2014, 08:19 PM
Algeria started well. They'll enjoy playing France in the quarters if they win this.

30-06-2014, 08:28 PM
Germany are playing like they are stoned out their nut

30-06-2014, 08:28 PM
Germany really need to wake up here or they will get a big shock

Just like they did in 1982. The West Germany manager at the time said that if Algeria beat his team then he would be on the next train home.

30-06-2014, 08:29 PM
Germans not looking very german. Passing very slack so far.

30-06-2014, 08:30 PM
Germans are being uncharacteristically careless at the back. Boateng and Mertesacker do not play like German defenders at all!

30-06-2014, 08:32 PM
Boateng is a bomb scare of a centre half. Painfully slow

30-06-2014, 08:33 PM
Algeria look immense at the moment ! But you know what will happen just before HT...

30-06-2014, 08:40 PM
Good save. Germans almost took the lead.

30-06-2014, 08:41 PM
Neuer has been Germany's best defender playing like a sweeper

30-06-2014, 08:41 PM
Great save from George Clinton out of P-Funk in the Algeria goal.

30-06-2014, 08:45 PM
Anyone notice Lahm playing next to Muller when they get the ball up the pitch? He does it all.

30-06-2014, 08:47 PM
It's a good game this one. Not too many clumsy fouls and play-acting.

30-06-2014, 08:54 PM
I don't know if its a master stroke by Löw but in the first 35 he seemed to be content to let Algeria have the ball and run at the Germans they seem to have run out of steam towards the end and the Germans are on top come the end of the half

30-06-2014, 08:57 PM
So is that Al Jazeera then Glenn? :faf::faf:

30-06-2014, 08:58 PM
What a joy to watch a team in green playing so well :greengrin

30-06-2014, 08:59 PM
So is that Al Jazeera then Glenn? :faf::faf:

What did he say? I stuck him on mute in case he started picking on the disabled again.

30-06-2014, 09:00 PM
What did he say? I stuck him on mute in case he started picking on the disabled again.

He tried to say Algeria, but said Al Jazeera instead:rolleyes:

30-06-2014, 09:01 PM

Called Algeria, Al-Jazeera...

....whoops !

30-06-2014, 09:05 PM
What a team goal that would have been. Must have been 30+ passes to start the half.

30-06-2014, 09:11 PM
Beautiful move, great save from Lahm.

30-06-2014, 09:13 PM
This Al-Jazerra keeper is top-notch.

greenlad
30-06-2014, 09:17 PM
This Al-Jazerra keeper is top-notch.

Good thing Hearts released him:-) One of their 11 signings in one day in the early Romanov days.

30-06-2014, 09:18 PM
A german goal is coming.

30-06-2014, 09:19 PM
Get Ozil off and Draxler in, he's a great player and would love to see what he can do here

30-06-2014, 09:28 PM
Neuer plays that sweeper/keeper role so well but I can't help thinking he's going to get caught out at least once in this WC and it could be costly.

30-06-2014, 09:31 PM
Neuer plays that sweeper/keeper role so well but I can't help thinking he's going to get caught out at least once in this WC and it could be costly.

Living dangerously!

30-06-2014, 09:32 PM
anyone explain how this is still 0-0 :greengrin so open...another great game

30-06-2014, 09:35 PM
anyone explain how this is still 0-0 :greengrin so open...another great game

Two great keepers, and some poor final balls.
Agree, its a been another good game.

30-06-2014, 09:36 PM
Germany 13/8 to win in 90 mins seems a decent bet considering the amount late goals

What a save.

What a save.:hibees

30-06-2014, 09:37 PM
The standard of keeping has been brilliant!

30-06-2014, 09:38 PM
Germany getting closer.

30-06-2014, 09:38 PM
Its not the first time ive said this but its like a wholedifferent sport from watching the SPL.

30-06-2014, 09:41 PM
Who does the Algerian keeper play for ? Lucky team !

Algeria, Chile, Columbia and Costa Rica have really added something to the tournament. Would be nice to see one of these teams win it instead of the usual suspects.

Its not the first time ive said this but its like a wholedifferent sport from watching the SPL.

or even the Championship :rolleyes:

I have finished watching saying - fantastic game as often this WC as I did watching Hibs last season saying that was Tom Kite ...

30-06-2014, 09:42 PM
Townsend as astute as ever:

'Muller should score, if that's Klose it's in the back of the net.'

Fair enough he should score but I think 2010 golden boot winner and scorer of 9 WC goals Muller knows where the goals are.

30-06-2014, 09:43 PM

Used to play for the Peados.

30-06-2014, 09:45 PM
Well worked German free kick. :greengrin:

30-06-2014, 09:46 PM

CSKA Sofia

30-06-2014, 09:50 PM
0-0.

Extra time.

Certainly didn't predict that outcome!

30-06-2014, 09:50 PM
Decent game that.:agree:

30-06-2014, 09:55 PM
Reckon Germany have to take off Kroos or Ozil (both have been poor imo) for Klose or Draxler.

30-06-2014, 09:56 PM
Reckon Germany have to take off Kroos or Ozil (both have been poor imo) for Klose or Draxler.

Ozils been ineffective. Kroos has looked dangerous imo.

30-06-2014, 09:57 PM
Did Hoddle just say ' its going to go either way this...we just don't know do we lads...':doh:

30-06-2014, 09:58 PM
1-0 Germany.

Finally, good play by Muller there, goals a belter too at second view

Yes! Yes! Yes!

Get in

30-06-2014, 09:59 PM
After all that, Germany sclaff the opener.

30-06-2014, 09:59 PM
**** sake. I had a France and Germany both to win to nil double. Could they not have don't this 5 mins ago!

30-06-2014, 10:00 PM
As per usual.. The team that deserves to win are losing :rolleyes:

30-06-2014, 10:01 PM
After all that, Germany sclaff the opener.

Had to be!

30-06-2014, 10:01 PM
That's a brilliant finish to be fair.

30-06-2014, 10:02 PM

whats wrong with Ozil? He's been humpty tonight.

30-06-2014, 10:03 PM
I just can't get a bet up. Had one up first couple of days but the amount of late goals that's killed me or ET is sole destroying.

I'm chucking it!

30-06-2014, 10:05 PM
Brahimi will be a good signing for Spurs if they get him.

30-06-2014, 10:05 PM

That's how good this World Cup is, even taps ins have been great

30-06-2014, 10:13 PM
France V Germany has the makings of a really good game, especially the way Germany are defending

30-06-2014, 10:23 PM
Ozil is the German Alan O'Brien tonight

30-06-2014, 10:25 PM
Is Muller playing without Shinpads?

30-06-2014, 10:26 PM
Is Muller playing without Shinpads?

Nah, he just plays with really wee ones and rolls his socks down

30-06-2014, 10:27 PM
Nah, he just plays with really wee ones and rolls his socks down

Must be really wee!

30-06-2014, 10:29 PM
2-0 Germany.

Game over.

Get in there!

Cruel on Algeria who have played so well but are out on their feet now.

If anyone on the pitch today didn't deserve a goal it was him

30-06-2014, 10:31 PM
Goal Algeria. Well deserved too.

2-1, maybe not game over.

About a minute left!

What a goal, well done Al Jazeera you did yourself proud:top marks

30-06-2014, 10:32 PM
Full time;

2-1 Germany.

30-06-2014, 10:33 PM
I fancy France to beat them

30-06-2014, 10:35 PM
Big up to aljeezera.....great effort....looked a real slick side

30-06-2014, 10:41 PM
I fancy France to beat them
So do I to be honest, I like the Germans but the defence is going to let them down.

30-06-2014, 10:42 PM
Algeria were tremendous. Epitome of a side that gave absolutely everything they had.

30-06-2014, 10:43 PM
So do I to be honest, I like the Germans but the defence is going to let them down.

Can see lots of goals. From both sides.

30-06-2014, 10:45 PM

I don't think any defences have been exactly brilliant this World Cup.

30-06-2014, 10:51 PM
I don't think any defences have been exactly brilliant this World Cup.

Thought the Mexican defence looked good. Only lost 1 goal in the group stages and that was in the last minute.

They really missed Vasquez yesterday though who had done a great job sitting in front and protecting.

01-07-2014, 05:38 AM
Thought the Mexican defence looked good. Only lost 1 goal in the group stages and that was in the last minute.

They really missed Vasquez yesterday though who had done a great job sitting in front and protecting.

:agree: Mexico just dont concede goals. Like Iran, theyve got an amazing number of clean sheets in qualifying. Played some nice attacking stuff too.

01-07-2014, 09:14 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/28102841

Cameroon officials are to investigate claims that seven of their players were involved in match-fixing at the World Cup in Brazil.
The ethics committee of the African country's football federation will look at allegations of "fraud" by "seven bad apples" in their three group games.

Cameroon's build up to the tournament in Brazil was marred by the players refusing to board a plane to Brazil (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/27755342) until a dispute over bonus payments had been settled.

i mind a time when players around the world used to say they'd play for their country for free :deal:

01-07-2014, 10:52 AM
I reckon Colombia have a decent defence as well. At the moment, IMO they look the best 'all-round' team in the World Cup, but that's just my opinion.

01-07-2014, 11:28 AM
Reckon Germany would be much more sound with Khedira and The Schwienstiger in front of their back line with Lahm organising from RB. That Mustafi was pony at RB, cant understand why Löw isnt playing recognised FBs.

01-07-2014, 12:54 PM
Do you mean this one?

How is the lad, is he out of intensive care yet? I think this could be the last world cup, the amount of players who have had near death experiences this year must be alarming for the authorities, and FIFA will be looking for a solution.

01-07-2014, 03:31 PM
I've stuck a £5 on Messi to score first, Argentina to beat Switzerland 4-1 at 50/1 with betfred. It'll probably be a draw. I've also got Dempsey to score first, Belgium to draw 1-1 with US at 40/1. Ach, I'll enjoy both games whatever.

01-07-2014, 03:47 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2uEpcfonkt4

Lewis77
01-07-2014, 04:03 PM
Is it just me or did the commentator just say Shakira is playing for the Swiss?

Siralbertkidd
01-07-2014, 04:04 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2uEpcfonkt4

Just one of the many things Americans wronkly believe....:greengrin

01-07-2014, 04:06 PM
Is it just me or did the commentator just say Shakira is playing for the Swiss?

Gaga is playing for Argentina :greengrin

Lewis77
01-07-2014, 04:09 PM
Playing a game of football against Argentina is much like making love to a beautiful women. You have to move fast, stretch the rear and be sure to stick one in as quick as possible.

Lewis77
01-07-2014, 04:19 PM
Playing a game of football against Argentina is much like making love to a beautiful woman, you have to take your opportunities and be sure to keep the Messi business in the opposition's box.

01-07-2014, 04:23 PM
How is the lad, is he out of intensive care yet? I think this could be the last world cup, the amount of players who have had near death experiences this year must be alarming for the authorities, and FIFA will be looking for a solution.

:tuttut:
Dont mock. It could very easily have turned gangrenous and the whole head could have fallen off completely.

01-07-2014, 04:32 PM
Rubbish game.

Also that ground looks a bit unsafe in the top tiers :confused:

01-07-2014, 04:41 PM
Did Lawrenson just say, about that missed Swiss chance.... "what was that? Should've put a skirt on..." ??

Lewis77
Very poor finish there by the Swiss.

Just one of the many things Americans wronkly believe....:greengrin

I fancy we can beat Belgium tonight - they haven't been great so far!

And say what you want for American 'soccer' but the USA fans have been outstanding in Brazil. Great to see it finally taking off.

This game has been awful. Hoping the Swiss can find a way to get the win.

Did Lawrenson just say, about that missed Swiss chance.... "what was that? Should've put a skirt on..." ??

Aye there'll be uproar!

01-07-2014, 04:43 PM
:tuttut:
Dont mock. It could very easily have turned gangrenous and the whole head could have fallen off completely.

:greengrin genuine laugh out loud moment. :top marks

01-07-2014, 04:44 PM
Is it just me or do Argentina look even more nervous than Brazil at times?

The pressure on them must be huge, a chance to win a WC on your biggest rivals own patch.

01-07-2014, 04:50 PM
After having supported Nigeria then Algeria, I'm just glad there are no more countries whose names end in 'geria' for me to support....for their sake.

01-07-2014, 05:05 PM
I know Shaqiri is a decent player but he looks more like a power lifter than a fitballer

Lewis77
01-07-2014, 05:06 PM

And say what you want for American 'soccer' but the USA fans have been outstanding in Brazil. Great to see it finally taking off.

I'd like to see America go through but I just don't think they will. I believe the quality that Belgium possess will be that wee bit too much for you.

Nevertheless, I have never seen the US get so excited about a World Cup before. The impression which comes across is that the 'Football Fervour' which took hold in various Continents/Countries at varying times over the past 140 years has now truly reached the USA. If you live there it is a very exciting time for you. It is the equivalent of being in Scotland/England 140 years ago or Brazil 100 years ago. I for one welcome what the US will bring to the game once it really takes hold. However you have to stop calling it, "Sacc..er".

Please! Do you really not know how annoying it is? How can you call a game where you primarily use your hands football? Always amazed me that one.

Lewis77
01-07-2014, 05:10 PM
Could be a case of who has the best stamina again?

01-07-2014, 05:10 PM

The only country to sell more tickets than the USA is Brazil.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/blogs-magazine-monitor-27978699

01-07-2014, 05:12 PM
Di Maria needs to do more he's been pretty gash in the world cup so far

01-07-2014, 05:14 PM
Is there a worse commentary team than Pearce and Lawrenson?

01-07-2014, 05:16 PM
What's going on here?

1st the Swiss keeper takes about 3 steps to his left to make an easy save look spectacular then that attempted cross is just crazy.

Lewis77
01-07-2014, 05:19 PM
Have any Swiss players left their own half?

01-07-2014, 05:20 PM
However you have to stop calling it, "Sacc..er".

Please! Do you really not know how annoying it is? How can you call a game where you primarily use your hands football? Always amazed me that one.

Think you'll find that the word "soccer" has nothing to do with the Americans - it's always been the name of the sport in Britain: it differentiated association "football" as you refer to it originally from rugby football (a game where people primarily use their hands by the way!) - Perhaps you're just to young to know of its original use in the UK (including Scotland)? Maybe it's time to stop blaming the Americans for everything?

01-07-2014, 05:20 PM
Now I've just finished saying Di Maria has been pish so far but Pearce takes i a step further talking about someone at the World Cup not liking to use their right foot, agree to a certain extent but im sure his Champions League medal more than makes up for it you tit

01-07-2014, 05:21 PM
Messi and Argentina been looking fairly ordinary in this match. Could change in an instant however.

Stax
01-07-2014, 05:21 PM
Di Maria needs to do more he's been pretty gash in the world cup so far
Wow that attempted cross... Some tekkers are good....

01-07-2014, 05:22 PM
Wow that attempted cross... Some tekkers are good....

I really like the guy but he's better than what he has offered so far

Lewis77
01-07-2014, 05:25 PM
Think you'll find that the word "soccer" has nothing to do with the Americans - it's always been the name of the sport in Britain: it differentiated association "football" as you refer to it originally from rugby football (a game where people primarily use their hands by the way!) - Perhaps you're just to young to know of its original use in the UK (including Scotland)? Maybe it's time to stop blaming the Americans for everything?

I was simply having a wee joke about the phonetic pronunciation, hence the "Sacc...er". Jesus!

01-07-2014, 05:28 PM

The word "Soccer" originated from Oxford University in England sometime in the 1880's which was a common slang term for association football back then.

Stax
01-07-2014, 05:30 PM
I really like the guy but he's better than what he has offered so far
I rate him and get ripped for it from mates but hard to stick up for him so far.

Lewis77
01-07-2014, 05:32 PM
Is the wee man gunae shine with a few minutes to go again?

01-07-2014, 05:32 PM
I was simply having a wee joke about the phonetic pronunciation, hence the "Sacc...er". Jesus!

OK, but I live in Germany - you'll need to come up with something better than that to make me laugh ... :greengrin

01-07-2014, 05:35 PM
Some save by the keeper. Must have saw that really late.

01-07-2014, 05:36 PM
Wonder what Macherano said there haha

01-07-2014, 05:43 PM
Messi seems really frustrated, 3 or 4 men on him every time he touches the ball.

Guy made a total meal of it but he's lucky to avoid a booking there.

01-07-2014, 05:46 PM
Messi seems really frustrated, 3 or 4 men on him every time he touches the ball.

Guy made a total meal of it but he's lucky to avoid a booking there.

With so many of them marking him out of the game, you'd expect other Argentine players to make better use of the extra space.

01-07-2014, 05:49 PM
Is aguero injured?

01-07-2014, 05:53 PM
Is aguero injured?

Yeah mate, for the whole shebang I think.

Lewis77
01-07-2014, 05:56 PM

I'm going to bite, even though the original post was a wee joke in relation to the American pronunciation of the word soccer, but your post is so pompous that I have to entertain it.

The Word Soccer has everything to do with America when it comes to football as that is what they officially call the game. The use of the word Soccer in my experience is used sparingly in Scotland and is more prevalent in England as a nickname for the sport. It is my understanding the very genesis of the word is that of an alternative, a nickname if you will! All of which in reality matters not a jot! However, the humourless,patronising let's just call it passive-aggressive tone of your post called for a response, auld fella!

01-07-2014, 06:00 PM
Yeah mate, for the whole shebang I think.

He's been pretty poor anyway, but he usually gave defenders something to think about to give messi more space. An attribute higuain doesn't seem to hav

(((Fergus)))
01-07-2014, 06:02 PM
Gaga is playing for Argentina :greengrin

Cher is playing too.

01-07-2014, 06:02 PM
Columbia are going to win the whole thing...only team playing as a team for the team.

01-07-2014, 06:06 PM
Columbia are going to win the whole thing...only team playing as a team for the team.

Was just thinking that they have nothing to fear from anyone left in this, if they play the way they have been then they have a great chance

Stax
01-07-2014, 06:07 PM
I'm going to bite, even though the original post was a wee joke in relation to the American pronunciation of the word soccer, but your post is so pompous that I have to entertain it.

The Word Soccer has everything to do with America when it comes to football as that is what they officially call the game. The use of the word Soccer in my experience is used sparingly in Scotland and is more prevalent in England as a nickname for the sport. It is my understanding the very genesis of the word is that of an alternative, a nickname if you will! All of which in reality matters not a jot! However, the humourless,patronising let's just call it passive-aggressive tone of your post called for a response, auld fella!
Passive aggressive? Matters not a jot? You seem to be getting a bit excited yerself fella.. As for pompous yours is the 1st post on here I've read talking about the very genesis of a word...

01-07-2014, 06:07 PM
The Word Soccer has everything to do with America when it comes to football as that is what they officially call the game. The use of the word Soccer in my experience is used sparingly in Scotland and is more prevalent in England as a nickname for the sport.

not just the usa. Commonly used in ireland, Australia and new Zealand too to differentiate between their own forms of the game.

01-07-2014, 06:08 PM

A pedant points out it's "Colombia". :greengrin

"Columbia" is the University etc.

But you could have a shout there. Unless Brasil seriously up their game, Colombia could beat them, mostly due to being better organised and disciplined.

01-07-2014, 06:12 PM
Di Marias decision making is complete pish.

01-07-2014, 06:13 PM

You may well have bitten, but you obviously haven't understood anything ... it's not and never was THEIR word, it was and always has been OUR word (including in Scotland, where I grew up and the word was in common use) nor is it a nickname in England, just because you don't use it doesn't mean it no longer exists or it no longer carries the meaning it always did ... you should maybe look at the history of our own game? Anyway, whether it matters a jot or not is up to you, it's just a piece of knowledge you obviously have no knowledge of: you chose for some reason to call it experience on your part, I call it ignorance: maybe you're happy with that - it's your choice?

01-07-2014, 06:13 PM
Be interesting to see which Penalty messi will take. Given the stick Ronaldo got for being listed at number 5. The same as Neymar the other day for the winner.

01-07-2014, 06:27 PM
What a run by Messi.

Di Maria has been horrible but that is some finish.

01-07-2014, 06:28 PM
Well done buddy, you had a stinker but kept going, bit like Ozil last night

01-07-2014, 06:28 PM
Bugger, was looking forward to penalties.

01-07-2014, 06:29 PM
What a run by Messi.

Di Maria has been horrible but that is some finish.

Remember at the start when you were saying messi was off form? ;)

Stax
01-07-2014, 06:29 PM
Tell you what, that Di Maria is some player :greengrin

01-07-2014, 06:31 PM
Ooooohhhh gutted for the boy. No chance with the rebound.

01-07-2014, 06:35 PM
Tell you what, that Di Maria is some player :greengrin

Obviously we can spot a player even one who is man of the match in the champions League final

BH Hibs
01-07-2014, 06:36 PM
Commentators anti Argentina bias ****ing dreadful

01-07-2014, 06:38 PM

Pearce and Lawrenson were more cringeworthy than usual

01-07-2014, 06:38 PM
It was the same for the Germans last night.

Stax
01-07-2014, 06:41 PM
Obviously we can spot a player even one who is man of the match in the champions League final

01-07-2014, 06:43 PM

Aye, the commentary team last night were willing the Algerians to win.
Thought it was Scots who had the monopoly on bitterness ?

(((Fergus)))
01-07-2014, 07:12 PM
You may well have bitten, but you obviously haven't understood anything ... it's not and never was THEIR word, it was and always has been OUR word (including in Scotland, where I grew up and the word was in common use) nor is it a nickname in England, just because you don't use it doesn't mean it no longer exists or it no longer carries the meaning it always did ... you should maybe look at the history of our own game? Anyway, whether it matters a jot or not is up to you, it's just a piece of knowledge you obviously have no knowledge of: you chose for some reason to call it experience on your part, I call it ignorance: maybe you're happy with that - it's your choice?

What he might have been getting at is that "soccer" is a slangy abbreviation of "Assoc." just as "rugger" is a slangy, eh, extension of "rugby".

01-07-2014, 07:35 PM
Pearce and Lawrenson were more cringeworthy than usual

Lawro with his comment at the end.... "this game never, ever, surprises you."

01-07-2014, 07:37 PM
People on twitter are moaning that the BBC won't be showing Eastenders because of the football :faf:

01-07-2014, 07:37 PM
My American pal is in the boozer! Flown over for work. This could get a bit Lionel!

01-07-2014, 07:40 PM
My American pal is in the boozer! Flown over for work. This could get a bit Lionel!

Ritchie?

01-07-2014, 07:41 PM
Ritchie?

Blair. :wink:

01-07-2014, 07:44 PM
Ritchie?

01-07-2014, 07:44 PM
Blair. :wink:

01-07-2014, 08:03 PM
Belgium starting off the stronger. :thumbsup: Get intae them!

01-07-2014, 08:11 PM
Belgium most be the only team in the world that don't give their best player the ball much:confused:

01-07-2014, 08:18 PM
A prat on the pitch. Security slower than our defence last season.

01-07-2014, 08:20 PM
Belgium most be the only team in the world that don't give their best player the ball much:confused:

Hazard? They have so many good players.

01-07-2014, 08:23 PM
Hazard? They have so many good players.

Yep they have lots of good players but Hazard is the one that can make things happen, give him the ball and let him run at folk

(((Fergus)))
01-07-2014, 08:24 PM
what a sitter there for prince harry

01-07-2014, 08:26 PM
Yep they have lots of good players but Hazard is the one that can make things happen, give him the ball and let him run at folk

Yep, compare with Argentina who put everything through Messi. Hold on, thats not Ron 'lazy n-word' Atkinson doing the colour commentary is it?

01-07-2014, 08:31 PM
Yep, compare with Argentina who put everything through Messi. Hold on, thats not Ron 'lazy n-word' Atkinson doing the colour commentary is it?

Danny Murphy, Shirley?

01-07-2014, 08:32 PM

It's Danny Murphy but he does sound like Ron Atkinson.

01-07-2014, 08:34 PM
It's Danny Murphy but he does sound like Ron Atkinson.

He talks sense, usually. Unlike Ron.

01-07-2014, 08:49 PM
Very pacy entertaining game, don't think its been that great really, fast version of this afternoons game in my book

CorrieHibs
01-07-2014, 09:03 PM

That was dreadful last night. He was screaming for Algeria to score!

01-07-2014, 09:17 PM
Very pacy entertaining game, don't think its been that great really, fast version of this afternoons game in my book

USA is just all about speed energy and power, not a fan of the way they play. But it works for them.

01-07-2014, 09:19 PM
I hope Susi scores to shut Murphy up

01-07-2014, 09:33 PM
I hope Susi scores to shut Murphy up

Looking unlikely now!

01-07-2014, 09:35 PM
USA is just all about speed energy and power, not a fan of the way they play. But it works for them.

Play to your strengths buddy!

01-07-2014, 09:43 PM
Tim Howard has played very well.

01-07-2014, 09:45 PM
Play to your strengths buddy!

Totally. But you'd hope that the usa would develop some quality young players, especially with that massive latino/ hispanic population who follow the game.

I love watching Dempsey mind you. Such an intelligent striker.