View Full Version : Collins: yea, nay or conditional yea?

10-06-2014, 04:03 PM
Would you support JC back at Easter Road? Forget how likely it is, just hypothetically speaking.

I prefer the DOF option, although I'd be happy to have him back in any capacity.

10-06-2014, 04:04 PM

10-06-2014, 04:08 PM
It's a big "yea" from me.

10-06-2014, 04:08 PM

10-06-2014, 04:09 PM
Dunno

Yes

He'd never make it as a manager. Too protective of his reputation IMO.

No

BigKev
10-06-2014, 04:10 PM
His signings were shocking. Be a good DoF I'd think though.

His signings were hopeless and I don't like the idea of directors of football at all, a manager needs autonomy over the squad, a director of football would surely compromise that. Can't see it working.

No thanks.

SneakersO'Toole
Undoubtedly yes. Worth the risk IMO.

But he wouldn't come back as long as Petrie is at the club. #petrieout

wills
10-06-2014, 04:12 PM
Heard he had more interest in John Collins than the club not well liked by most of the staff at ER

10-06-2014, 04:12 PM

But he wouldn't come back as long as Petrie is at the club. #petrieout

This.....

10-06-2014, 04:13 PM
No thanks

nribs
10-06-2014, 04:15 PM
No

I voted no. Yeh, his signings were, on the whole, pretty *****, but they certainly weren't his first choices. It would come down to a/ could he be trusted to make better choices this time, and b/ would he be given money to do it? Somehow I don't think he would. I would also be quite surprised if Collins would even consider the job while Petrie is still lurking about.

Kaff
Yes

No from me!!

Dream team ? Collins DOF / Murray first team coach

10-06-2014, 04:17 PM
No from me.

Sent from my iphone

10-06-2014, 04:18 PM
While he undoubtedly had some good ideas I'm genuinely amazed there are some who want him back as manager. When he was given decent money to spend (in comparison to what a new manager will get now) he brought in the likes of Makalamby, AOB, HK Terry, Jonleit, Donaldson, Brian Kerr. A resounding no for me.

10-06-2014, 04:18 PM
No from me sadly.

I liked a lot of his ideas but some of his signings were atrocious.

10-06-2014, 04:19 PM
While he undoubtedly had some good ideas I'm genuinely amazed there are some who want him back as manager. When he was given decent money to spend (in comparison to what a new manager will get now) he brought in the likes of Makalamby, AOB, HK Terry, Jonleit, Donaldson, Brian Kerr. A resounding no for me.

:agree: Shivers down the spine material.

hibby67
10-06-2014, 04:20 PM
NO for me

10-06-2014, 04:21 PM
No

10-06-2014, 04:21 PM
Yes

10-06-2014, 04:22 PM
Absolutely yes

10-06-2014, 04:22 PM

He's had three jobs outside of being a football player, and he's walked out on them all because things weren't going his way. We need someone with staying power, and who isn't precious.

khib70
10-06-2014, 04:23 PM
Definite yes for me. This hellish decline started the day he walked out the door

10-06-2014, 04:24 PM
Signings? Signings?

We are having a giraffe shirley

Every manager bar the odd signature signing has had to shop in the bargain basement of final day journeymen

To hold any Hibs manager accountable for this is bad enough

To hold a Hibs-Supporting manager accountable is a crime

There is only one man I hold responsible for our signing policy...............and his coat is on a shoogly peg.

Unfortunately it looks like Leeann has already selected her head of football operations

wfortune
10-06-2014, 04:25 PM
Hell Yeah

Spudster
10-06-2014, 04:26 PM
Huge recruitment drive needed and that was probably his weakest area first time round, it would be non-nonsensical. As first team coach with a DOF responsible for signings then maybe (not sure if that is an option above or if the opposite is suggested :confused:)

10-06-2014, 04:27 PM
[QUOTE=Pretty Boy;4056046]No from me sadly.

I liked a lot of his ideas but some of his signings were atrocious.[/QUOTE

Were they "his" signings or Tommy Craig's?

Green forever
10-06-2014, 04:27 PM
I like JC and his philosophy on football , his signings weren't good but whether that was all his fault or not then we will never know. But this is hopefully a new beginning so lets start afresh and not look back.
hHaving said that if he was in charge of the academy for example then I certainly wouldn't complain as he could definitely enlighten our youngsters as to what it takes to be a professional sportsman.

Makaveli
10-06-2014, 04:29 PM
Aye

Up The Bracket
10-06-2014, 04:29 PM
No danger.

We are in a position now where we need to build a new team, his signings were utterly dreadful and if he was to take charge and bring similar level players in to before then we have absolutely no chance whatsoever of promotion.

10-06-2014, 04:30 PM
No. Walked from Hibs when he didn't get his own way, walked from Livi when he didn't get his own way, has done heehaw in football since leaving us.

The Green Machine
10-06-2014, 04:31 PM
Absolutely not!

10-06-2014, 04:32 PM
"Nostalgia only gets in the way - time to turn the page" - Howie Greenfield

10-06-2014, 04:33 PM

He polarises the support so much because there's so many unknowns and 'what ifs' about Collins. How much truth there is in the stories about six packs, players delegations, alcohol bans, how much he placed undeserved trust in Tommy Craig (who apparently was the man responsible for recommending Alan O'Brien), what happened at Charleroi etc.

And for everyone who remembers wee bits of tactical genius, like playing Boozy as sweeper in the Huns game, someone else will remind you about Kevin McCann at centre half, or will tell you he 'never really' won the League Cup, it was all down to Mowbrays team.

10-06-2014, 04:34 PM
It's a no from me. I'd rather he is just left to get on with bringing Celtic down :wink:

10-06-2014, 04:34 PM
In a heartbeat!

Get the right team around him to help. With him and (it would seem) Dempster not settling for second best in any shape we could be the first club to drag Scottish football from the dark ages in terms of professionalism and lifestyle.

10-06-2014, 04:41 PM
He polarises the support so much because there's so many unknowns and 'what ifs' about Collins. How much truth there is in the stories about six packs, players delegations, alcohol bans, how much he placed undeserved trust in Tommy Craig (who apparently was the man responsible for recommending Alan O'Brien), what happened at Charleroi etc.

And for everyone who remembers wee bits of tactical genius, like playing Boozy as sweeper in the Huns game, someone else will remind you about Kevin McCann at centre half, or will tell you he 'never really' won the League Cup, it was all down to Mowbrays team.

Really good reply. And some valid points made which I agree with. Ultimately tho' I doubt any club will match John Collins' expectations and when things don't work out rather than seeing things through he walks. Saying that, someone else has suggested he get involved with the youngsters, IMO that would be a good idea.

Bob Box Fish
10-06-2014, 04:43 PM
There's absolutely no chance he would come back.

macd123
10-06-2014, 04:50 PM
Definitely not.

10-06-2014, 04:51 PM
Nope,been there done that .......

10-06-2014, 04:52 PM
Yes! Petrie should have backed him!

10-06-2014, 04:59 PM
Another massive No

10-06-2014, 05:02 PM
The type of role that i think would suit John Collins best, is being in charge of the academy.

10-06-2014, 05:05 PM
Thought I read he was going to Celtic? It's a no from me ... don't think he should return to the manager post: he had his chance and - for whatever reasons - he walked away

10-06-2014, 05:07 PM
Wouldnae let him near a chequebook but I'd bring him in to reshape the whole ethos of the club as a football team, right down to the grassroots.

He's got ideas light years ahead of Scottish football.

10-06-2014, 05:08 PM
Collins in, Petrie out.

10-06-2014, 05:16 PM
No while Petrie is here as we all know.

10-06-2014, 05:30 PM
No from me. He still wont be in a position to bring in first choice signings, thats for sure. The dross Collins brought in was shocking. Time to move on with Collins!

10-06-2014, 05:43 PM

Really? You want to take risks?

If JC had any ability as a football manager, and any desire to be afootball manager, he would have a job as a football manager.

Instead, he walked away from Hibs when he didn't get his way.

A year later Charleroi employed him, and he walked away from them too.

10-06-2014, 05:59 PM
He couldn't work within the budget he was set. There is even less money now. Don't think he'd be a good fit.

10-06-2014, 06:03 PM
The type of role that i think would suit John Collins best, is being in charge of the academy.

Agreed. Knows what it takes to make it and was a great professional. Wealth of experience.

10-06-2014, 06:03 PM
Never understand the fascination.

yekimevol
10-06-2014, 06:09 PM
Ive got several issues with this idea of bring back Collin in all honesty.

1) Firstly he wasn't sacked guys, Collins turned his back on hibs as he found the job to hard and apparently he didn't get the support he wanted; Ive heard every rumor under the sun as well all have about the support to the extent that he got to spend 1.5 million on player to 100K.

2) Remember the signings that he did make, they where terrible so why would you make him director of football the man in charge of signing players ?

Green Cabbage 7
10-06-2014, 06:11 PM

We're they not in the same bracket as loans and freebies, as Petrie is still about, it's not all the managers, it's the barrell were scrapping in ,as targets we are supposedly in for end up at rivals, so I don't really blame jc judgement on players, just what was left, just like the managers after him.

Bob Box Fish
10-06-2014, 06:41 PM

10-06-2014, 06:48 PM
Yes for his ideas on how to play the game, but no to player selection. He wouldn't be able to pick a decent fives team from all the World Cup squads.

10-06-2014, 07:08 PM
John Collins has never given me the impression that he understands the basics of management. i.e. the management of people. Good ideas, personal ability and attention to detail does not make someone good at communication, motivation, discipline, inspiration, respect, tactics, etc. As for director of football, Im not sure what that entails.

OsloHibs
10-06-2014, 07:11 PM
No. He walked away.

Calum68
10-06-2014, 07:15 PM
No. He walked away.

He had good reason to from what I understand.

10-06-2014, 07:22 PM
He's been a manager, a DoF and now apparently keen on the Assistant Manager gig at Celtic.

He seems to have the right ideas, but hasn't made the roles he's had since us last. Would he have the stomach for the fight ahead of us?

Maybe as a DoF, but definitely not manager.

10-06-2014, 07:38 PM
I'd have him back in a long term role in charge of the academy, but not in any role dealing with the first team.

OsloHibs
10-06-2014, 07:40 PM
He had good reason to from what I understand.

Then he could do it again.

10-06-2014, 07:45 PM
Absolutely no danger :bitchy:

Hibeewilly
10-06-2014, 07:47 PM
Undoubted yes from me. With such a lot of new players coming in what an opportunity for him to once again try and educate and instill the good dietry fitness and lifestyle habits into the squad and he liked to play at a high tempo. 200% yes from me

Blocks Biloxi
10-06-2014, 07:47 PM
Yes, as first team coach.

Hibeewilly
10-06-2014, 07:50 PM
Not as long as Petrie is there you are bang n the money

VPHIBEE
10-06-2014, 07:55 PM
Just what we need, replace Butcher with another terrible man manager! Never from me.

10-06-2014, 08:12 PM

No from me sadly.

I liked a lot of his ideas but some of his signings were atrocious.

We need to appoint better scouts then!

JC's signings didn't work out but that's an area where the club could and should help the manager more anyhow. He turned the players he had into better players, after all.

Resounding yes to his return, by the way, in any capacity.

10-06-2014, 08:18 PM
Definite yes for me. This hellish decline started the day he walked out the door

Hard to disagree

Yes yes yes for me

hibeejeebies
10-06-2014, 08:47 PM
With the advent of Slendertone, Collins could be a shout this time :cb

pontius pilate
10-06-2014, 08:49 PM
No I would like the club to go further afield have a look at Europe or even sth america bring back some flair

Lewis77
10-06-2014, 08:50 PM
Aye!