View Full Version : New manager odds

Pages : 1 2 [3]

19-06-2014, 12:20 PM
The 4 on the shortlist - according to what i just head on Radio Highlands DAB.

Pat Kane
Jim Kerr
The bar man from Still Game
Dougray Scott.

dinnae want the bar man fae still game, thon old codgers always complain aboot his pies being cauld

19-06-2014, 12:46 PM
Stubbso

McCallo

Veno

Collapso

Changed that for you :wink:

19-06-2014, 12:49 PM
dinnae want the bar man fae still game, thon old codgers always complain aboot his pies being cauld

So you dont like boaby then?

19-06-2014, 12:57 PM
FWIW

my guess (and it is purley that, no ITK)

Venus

Stubbs

Coyle

McColl

TheFamous1875
19-06-2014, 01:00 PM
FWIW

my guess (and it is purley that, no ITK)

Venus

Stubbs

Coyle

McColl

I think if Coyle wanted it, he would get it. Can't see that, though!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

19-06-2014, 01:06 PM
I see from the Report headlines that we're looking for a new "Manger" which I suppose is slightly better than a new Minger!

Yet more shoddy reporting by the BBC - you just can't get the staff these days.

Yes indeed. I think it's because the next man in charge will need to be some kind of Messiah to succeed.

Bleeds green
19-06-2014, 01:23 PM
No interview for Murray?

19-06-2014, 01:28 PM
Its a travesty if Pilton Johnny isn't quoted. OK he is a yam fud but has a lot of knowledge of the game.

19-06-2014, 01:49 PM
Its a travesty if Pilton Johnny isn't quoted. OK he is a yam fud but has a lot of knowledge of the game.

Did Murray even get an interview?

If so, i'd imagine the shortlist to be

McCall
Stubbs
Venus
Murray

Pretty good shortlist I reckon.

19-06-2014, 02:03 PM
Gemmill
Duncan Ferguson
Venus
Stubbs

Nevi_SOL
19-06-2014, 02:09 PM
Gemmill
Duncan Ferguson
Venus
Stubbs

Is this just a guess. Would be happy with that shortlist.

19-06-2014, 04:05 PM
Is this just a guess. Would be happy with that shortlist.

Complete Guess :greengrin

19-06-2014, 05:50 PM
I'd rather Venus than Stubbs.

19-06-2014, 05:55 PM

But will give the new guy support regardless!

Lendo
26-01-2019, 09:21 AM
Sadly, it’s time to revive this thread.

any bookies posting odds yet?

26-01-2019, 09:24 AM

Ha

26-01-2019, 09:35 AM
Maybe Mark Venus would fancy the job ?
Mark Venus and John Doolan...... now that interests me.

26-01-2019, 10:49 AM
Mark Venus and John Doolan...... now that interests me.Yup good shout

26-01-2019, 10:52 AM
No doubt we'll get wishful thinking about Stevie Clark, but I think he is just biding his time for Brenda to leave Celtic in the hope he gets the gig.

Haven't got any thoughts about the next manager, think we might look for an interim to the end of the season, whilst assessing the longer term.

26-01-2019, 10:54 AM
Started reading this and thought we had narrowed it down to 4 already :)

CyberSauzee
26-01-2019, 10:56 AM

Mark Venus for no other reason than to resurrect a song about Craig Levein being a ****ing p____.

26-01-2019, 10:58 AM

👀😂

26-01-2019, 11:11 AM
Why do we always get fixated with old players, coaches, managers returning?

When has this worked out well? People rate Whittaker? Stokes done well when he returned?

It is just as risky as getting a new person in. Perhaps even more so as there is a legacy involved. Sometimes better to have good memories than to tarnish them with someone returning.

26-01-2019, 11:13 AM

When has this worked out well? People rate Whittaker? Stokes done well when he returned?

It is just as risky as getting a new person in. Perhaps even more so as there is a legacy involved. Sometimes better to have good memories than to tarnish them with someone returning.

Scott Allan?

26-01-2019, 11:38 AM
Scott Allan?

One recent example, great. I guess we should always look at former players, coaches and managers when recruiting then...

May as well go for a management team of:

Ian Murray
Kevin Thomson

or

Garry O'Connor
Derek Riordan

Could even get Tam in on it.

Being serious, we are a bit of a basket case of a club, we yoyo far too much and I think part of this is due to our fascination with bringing old employees back. The deal to bring Scott Allan back in the summer has probably taken a lot of effort, been a big deal the club have been working on. I'm glad he is returning. However, we have a tiny squad now, we now likely don't have a manager and there are clear problems with recruitment beyond bringing in loans and ex-players back. As a club, we need to be more forward thinking.

26-01-2019, 11:51 AM

Agree with this. Stubbs for example - thanks for the amazing cup win, always a legend, but his managerial career has hardly blossomed since he left two and a half years ago.

Mac_17
26-01-2019, 11:55 AM
Agree with this. Stubbs for example - thanks for the amazing cup win, always a legend, but his managerial career has hardly blossomed since he left two and a half years ago.

If his managerial career did blossom then he wouldn’t be getting mentioned, cause we couldn’t afford to bring him back.

26-01-2019, 11:56 AM
If his managerial career did blossom then he wouldn’t be getting mentioned, cause we couldn’t afford to bring him back.

He's being quoted because he's still within our reach. If he had left Hibs and done very well then he wouldn't be available to us.

26-01-2019, 12:11 PM

He's being quoted because he's still within our reach. If he had left Hibs and done very well then he wouldn't be available to us.

To be honest if it’s just temporary to the end of the season I can’t see many better alternatives. Knows the club, gets on well with LD and has a point to prove after his St Mirren experience. And gives the board time to explore other options for the permanent role.

26-01-2019, 12:15 PM

His only managerial experience in the Scottish Premiership was pretty disastrous.

26-01-2019, 12:18 PM
To be honest if it’s just temporary to the end of the season I can’t see many better alternatives. Knows the club, gets on well with LD and has a point to prove after his St Mirren experience. And gives the board time to explore other options for the permanent role.

It's not my first choice but it's a decent option. Like you said he knows the club, knows a lot of the players and the fans adore him.

BigKev
26-01-2019, 12:18 PM
Why do folk think we'll appoint a manager until the end of the season? Just because Man Utd have done it?

Back in the real world I'm sure Dempster will be working on a shortlist for Lennon's replacement.

26-01-2019, 12:20 PM
Why do folk think we'll appoint a manager until the end of the season? Just because Man Utd have done it?

Back in the real world I'm sure Dempster will be working on a shortlist for Lennon's replacement.

We should have a short list drawn up at all times so like you I'd like to think we're working through it as we speak.

26-01-2019, 12:20 PM

I'd imagine if there is a good succession planning policy in place, the club may already have at least a long list of potential candidates.

26-01-2019, 12:26 PM
Kenny Miller could be in with a good shout

26-01-2019, 12:30 PM

I'm sure we have a shortlist. Unfortunately not all on that shortlist will be immediately available. If they are then great but if not then we’ll need soneone in unless we use one of the coaches. That’s the real world!

26-01-2019, 12:41 PM

First person I thought of.

One Day In Time
26-01-2019, 12:49 PM
Tommy Wright? I hate talk of ex players coming in. Prefer to remember them as legends rather than putting them in the managerial firing line

26-01-2019, 12:52 PM
just some one who picks the best 11 available. plays players in their position and has them organised. good football is desirable also.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

26-01-2019, 01:03 PM

His priority is to play, he shouldn't be a starter for us

Torto7062
26-01-2019, 01:11 PM
Tommy Wright? I hate talk of ex players coming in. Prefer to remember them as legends rather than putting them in the managerial firing lineDefo my shout done wonders with Saintys...

26-01-2019, 01:11 PM
Tommy Wright? I hate talk of ex players coming in. Prefer to remember them as legends rather than putting them in the managerial firing line

100%

Lemonade
26-01-2019, 01:38 PM

As manager ?

No chance and no thanks .

26-01-2019, 01:43 PM
Defo my shout done wonders with Saintys...

St Johnstone are horrendous to watch though. I thought I'd Hibs fans were accustomed to good football?

26-01-2019, 02:06 PM
Gordon Strachan.

You heard it here first.

26-01-2019, 02:10 PM
Gordon Strachan.

You heard it here first.

No I didn’t. About 50 people have said it.

26-01-2019, 02:11 PM
Gordon Strachan.

You heard it here first.

Sorry but i’d heard that before.

Wellbankhibby
26-01-2019, 02:27 PM
Sorry but i’d heard that before. Always wanted Strachan if not Steve Clark good choice

26-01-2019, 02:28 PM
Sorry folks.

I hadn't trawled through the previous 18 pages and all the other threads which no doubt will make mention o

seanshow
26-01-2019, 02:28 PM
GarryO&Deeks
Strachan&S.Brown
Jeebsie&Kano

.....the #2's being player assistants

Bangkok Hibby
26-01-2019, 02:29 PM
Gordon Strachan.

You heard it here first.

Nah pretty sure Ive heard it loads

26-01-2019, 02:36 PM
Gordon Strachan.

You heard it here first.

Well, if the players are upset about the Lennon hairdryer treatment, it's lucky that Strachan is renowned for his arm-round-the-shoulder management style... Errr, really?

26-01-2019, 02:58 PM
Ian Murray or similar.

Got to be a good Hibs man, that’s the most important thing.

26-01-2019, 03:03 PM
Ian Murray or similar.

no it doesn’t

26-01-2019, 03:07 PM
Whats the odds on Stubbsy being unveiled at Paisley tomorrow scarf above his head with a Persevered "Tee" shirt on.

Borderlands
26-01-2019, 03:10 PM
IMHO anyone thinking any decent manager is now going to touch this poisoned chalice, is living on another planet ,hopefully suspension is temp or we will be visiting lower divisions again ,again only my two pennies

26-01-2019, 03:10 PM
Ian Murray or similar.

Like John Hughes? Who's win ratio was very similar to Fenlons

26-01-2019, 03:11 PM

Probably because it cost a fortune to get rid of Butcher.

26-01-2019, 03:18 PM
Like John Hughes? Who's win ratio was very similar to Fenlons

Good call, I forgot about Hughes. Even Mixu.

BigKev
26-01-2019, 04:03 PM
IMHO anyone thinking any decent manager is now going to touch this poisoned chalice, is living on another planet ,hopefully suspension is temp or we will be visiting lower divisions again ,again only my two pennies

This post reeks.

26-01-2019, 06:22 PM
It’s an attractive job which many managers either currently employed or not would love to take on, has nevio Scala thrown his hat in the ring yet [emoji23]

Skol
26-01-2019, 06:24 PM
Is the boy Baxter still looking for a job ?

LustForLeith
26-01-2019, 06:33 PM
Is the boy Baxter still looking for a job ?

Stanley?

26-01-2019, 06:43 PM
Adam Le Fondre as player/manager?

Sweet Left Peg
26-01-2019, 06:47 PM

.....Craig Levein's a ****ING woman

26-01-2019, 06:50 PM
It’s an attractive job which many managers either currently employed or not would love to take on, has nevio Scala thrown his hat in the ring yet [emoji23]

It certainly is. There will be dozens of applications.

26-01-2019, 06:59 PM
Jimmy Bocco...

26-01-2019, 07:03 PM
It certainly is. There will be dozens of applications.

Aye, more hats in the ring than a trilby convention.

26-01-2019, 07:50 PM
Marco Siva could be available shortly:greengrin

26-01-2019, 07:53 PM
The DR claiming Lee Clark, Stubbs and Scott Gemmill all in the frame. Sounds like a load of guesswork nonesense tbh.

stu in nottingham
26-01-2019, 08:02 PM
Ian McParland.

You heard it here first.

:wink: Ian hasn't worked in a managerial job since 2011. He works in local TV covering football.

He's a big Hibby though!

26-01-2019, 08:02 PM
Get yer money on Scott Brown player manager.

26-01-2019, 08:04 PM
Whats the odds on Stubbsy being unveiled at Paisley tomorrow scarf above his head with a Persevered "Tee" shirt on.
500/1

26-01-2019, 08:06 PM
The DR claiming Lee Clark, Stubbs and Scott Gemmill all in the frame. Sounds like a load of guesswork nonesense tbh.

It’s a strange article as they are labelling it as an exclusive but it’s essentially an opinion piece on who ‘could’ get the job. Hardly an exclusive.

FWIW I think Gemmel will be in with a good shout, mentioned it before but think he interviewed before when Stubbs got the job.

26-01-2019, 08:07 PM
It’s a strange article as they are labelling it as an exclusive but it’s essentially an opinion piece on who ‘could’ get the job. Hardly an exclusive.

FWIW I think Gemmel will be in with a good shout, mentioned it before but think he interviewed before when Stubbs got the job.

Lee Clark😜

26-01-2019, 08:09 PM

Hopefully. Clark was pretty rank at Killie, Stubbs has had his day with us and Gemmill hasn’t exactly set the heather on fire with the 21s.

26-01-2019, 08:09 PM
Lee Clark😜

What about him Billy and why you winking at me? 😂

26-01-2019, 08:10 PM

Aye that’s why I jumped in. Didn’t really read it tbh. Like you say I’m sure Gemmill was in for it before and more fits the mould that Dempster/Craig are looking for.

allmodcons
26-01-2019, 08:13 PM
From McBookie. Looks to be based on whose been mentioned on here so far :hilarious

Next Permanent Hibernian Manager

Ian Murray 6/4
Owen Coyle 4/1
Stuart McCall 4/1
Alex McLeish 8/1
Tony Mowbray 8/1
Mixu Paatelainen 8/1
Steve Clarke 10/1
John Hartson 10/1
Kenny Shiels 12/1
Billy Reid 16/1
Neil Warnock 16/1
Craig Brown 20/1
Derek Adams 20/1

Totally uninspiring list of names. Steve Clarke, yes please, but not going to happen.

Scotty Leither
26-01-2019, 08:14 PM
Venus wasn't happy at the perceived lack of financial backing for him and Mowbray before they left, which would kind of rule him out methinks. Once bitten and all that.

26-01-2019, 08:17 PM
Totally uninspiring list of names. Steve Clarke, yes please, but not going to happen.

It's a list from 2014 so I wouldn't worry too much.

26-01-2019, 08:29 PM
Kenny Miller with Ian Murray as his assistant ...

allmodcons
26-01-2019, 09:08 PM
It's a list from 2014 so I wouldn't worry too much.

:greengrin I need to pay better attention. I did think there was some unusual names on there. Thanks for heads up.

26-01-2019, 09:12 PM

2014 or not that might be on Kickbacks leader.........oooof!

Seekyit
26-01-2019, 09:14 PM
:greengrin I need to pay better attention. I did think there was some unusual names on there. Thanks for heads up.

:greengrin You're not alone. I was baffled.

26-01-2019, 09:16 PM
Mark Warburton surely?

GibbytheHibby2
26-01-2019, 10:55 PM
Mark Warburton surely?

He used to be a fanny
And other **** like that
But now that he's a Hibee
He's found his magic hat!

😂😂😂

26-01-2019, 11:05 PM
He used to be a fanny
And other **** like that
But now that he's a Hibee
He's found his magic hat!

😂😂😂

26-01-2019, 11:19 PM
The Airdrie manager is favourite? Lol no.

Ideal choice would be Clarke, but I'll take Strachan after Stubbs steadies the ship.

26-01-2019, 11:51 PM

At the end of the day, the Hibs job is a big number for any ambitious coach, and always will be, and we should grab the keenest customer going.

Let's not appoint some old has-been.

ads913
26-01-2019, 11:51 PM
Can only be Stubbs get the band back together.

27-01-2019, 12:12 AM
Can only be Stubbs get the band back together.

No, he's failed at every club including Hibs. Take out the cup win and he done bugger all.

27-01-2019, 12:18 AM
No, he's failed at every club including Hibs. Take out the cup win and he done bugger all.

I’ve been slated for making this statement earlier in another thread. Be careful, Hermit 😆😝

27-01-2019, 12:21 AM
I’ve been slated for making this statement earlier in another thread. Be careful, Hermit 😆😝

Not sure why, its hard to argue with the facts.

Dunfyhibee
27-01-2019, 12:43 AM

Failed as in made the league cup final, finished a point worse off than Lennons league winners in an easier league and won the Scottish cup for hibs??? What a failure, jeezo have a word

Tornadoes70
27-01-2019, 12:52 AM
Failed as in made the league cup final, finished a point worse off than Lennons league winners in an easier league and won the Scottish cup for hibs??? What a failure, jeezo have a word

Correct.

The Cup win was the ultimate success story of modern times across footballing history.

Unique and will never be emulated.

In saying that I'd rather Stubbsy remained the Legend that he is and go for Gary Holt my own personal preference.

@LoveStubbsy

Mon the Cabbage!!!

27-01-2019, 02:23 AM
Kenny Miller with Ian Murray as his assistant ...

Miller is a disaster in the dugout - won't be manager material until he's happy to hang his boots up.

Mixu62
27-01-2019, 02:38 AM
Our season needs saving. We need gazza, a fishing rod and a six pack.

27-01-2019, 02:46 AM
Our season needs saving. We need gazza, a fishing rod and a six pack.

A movie with Diane Lane would save my evening. That's my immediate concern.

WestCoastHibby
27-01-2019, 02:47 AM
Owen Coyle!!??
FFS do me a favour...he's made his money from serial pay offs being absolute Barry White

27-01-2019, 02:54 AM

Could handle three years of mediocrity with another cup win thrown in.

27-01-2019, 09:23 AM

Taking out the cup win, we played good football and reached two cup finals under Stubbs so failed is too strong a word for his time at Hibs. I was though ready to move on from Stubbs before that final.

However failed would be an accurate description of his two subsequent attempts at management.

27-01-2019, 09:31 AM

What???? 3 semi finals out of 4 cup competitions. 2 finals from 4, and 1 cup win. All from the championship, from a squad he basically built himself. Signed and developed John Mcginn & Scott Allan, who went on to make hibs good money. Finished a whole 1 point worse off than Lennons team that won the league.

While stubbsys tactics were frustrating sometimes, particularly the teams lack of ability in breaking down defensive teams, he was far from a failure when it came to actual achievements.

john18722
27-01-2019, 09:33 AM
“Take out the cup and he did nothing” is such a ridiculous argument. He did win the cup and it was the best day I have ever had supporting Hibs. So you cannot just “take out the cup”.

27-01-2019, 09:39 AM
What about him Billy and why you winking at me? 😂

Oops wrong Emoji🤣

27-01-2019, 09:40 AM
Is Stubbs a serious contender?

I thought the reason he left would prohibit him from coming back?

70KevinHFC62
27-01-2019, 09:40 AM
Think we should look at Gary Rowett or Heckinbotham. Heckinbotham done a cracking job before he went to Leeds

LustForLeith
27-01-2019, 09:42 AM
I’m waiting on a tabloid picking up those odds from four years ago and saying that’s the shortlist

27-01-2019, 09:44 AM
Tony Mowbray 8/1? Why would he leave Blackburn to come back here? :faf:

27-01-2019, 09:49 AM
Who’s offering odds on the new manager can someone post the shortlist?

27-01-2019, 10:27 AM

You're looking at odds from 5 years ago.

27-01-2019, 10:33 AM
George burley been approached...allegedly

27-01-2019, 10:47 AM
What???? 3 semi finals out of 4 cup competitions. 2 finals from 4, and 1 cup win. All from the championship, from a squad he basically built himself. Signed and developed John Mcginn & Scott Allan, who went on to make hibs good money. Finished a whole 1 point worse off than Lennons team that won the league.

While stubbsys tactics were frustrating sometimes, particularly the teams lack of ability in breaking down defensive teams, he was far from a failure when it came to actual achievements.

Yep, this is what frustrates me about Lennon’s most vocal supporters. Downplaying Stubbs achievements at Hibs for no apparent reason. Stubbs was a great manager for us, first season was always a write off with Sevco and the plums in the league and not even having a team to begin with but still got a cup semi and playoffs, second season finalists in both major cup competitions and done what no other Hibs manager has done in over a century.

hibs#1
27-01-2019, 11:08 AM
George burley been approached...allegedly

Not managed in about 7 years.

27-01-2019, 12:15 PM
I can’t see Stubbs coming back, but , just for a second, imagine he did and we won the cup again?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

mentalhibee
27-01-2019, 12:19 PM
Get Stubbsy back in now, and brink Allan and Cummings in with him.

fiolex1
27-01-2019, 12:19 PM
I can’t see Strachan coming. He is based in England and was happy to manage Scotland as it meant only being up here now and again. Only my opinion but can’t see him being up here on a full time basis.

27-01-2019, 12:27 PM

RE: Strachan. I recall an interview last year saying that he had been spending a lot of time in Edinburgh, for family reasons. Interim appointment may suit him and his circumstances.

Every player I’ve heard speaking about him has praised his coaching and man management style (Riordan aside). He has the knowledge, the cv and he’s going to command respect from the players.
He’s also out of work, unlike other potential targets....££££££

27-01-2019, 12:31 PM
Gary Holt. Not my choice but seen his name mentioned.

27-01-2019, 12:52 PM
Gary Holt. Not my choice but seen his name mentioned.

Gary would jump at the chance. Not been spoken to yet

27-01-2019, 01:10 PM
Next Killie manager when Clarke goes to Celtic.

We’ll go for someone like Ian Murray.

Santa Cruz
27-01-2019, 01:29 PM
I like McFadden. Anyone else think he could be the way forward?

27-01-2019, 01:32 PM
The way we are playing just now would suit Terry Butcher :confused::confused::confused:

27-01-2019, 02:28 PM
Get Scotty Brown as player-coach.

I'm just kidding. 😂

27-01-2019, 03:33 PM
I know he wasn’t everyone’s cup of tea as a player but Jim Goodwin was the radio Scotland pundit today. At half time he called for the changes that Hibs made, particularly Shaw, and seemed to have a real understanding of Hibs players and what they offered and needed to do. I know it was only pinditry but sounded a very good and intelligent coach.

27-01-2019, 03:47 PM
Is Stubbs a serious contender?

I thought the reason he left would prohibit him from coming back?
Well it should if LD is consistent.

ads913
27-01-2019, 03:50 PM
Nope, he rebuilt hibs brought in exciting players and the football was joy to watch. He turned us around and won the cup(**** your 1902) raised Hibs stock.

27-01-2019, 04:14 PM
Get Scotty Brown as player-coach.

I'm just kidding. 😂

Wi Gordon Strachan as Director of Fitba.

27-01-2019, 04:17 PM
Gary would jump at the chance. Not been spoken to yet

And lets hope it stays that way , Huge no no from me , Id rather have Stubbs back

27-01-2019, 04:20 PM
Don't think Gary Holt would even make the long list...has done nothing of note as a manager / head coach....and tbh it is unclear whether he really is in charge of tactics or selection at Livi anyway...