View Full Version : New manager odds

Pages : 1 [2] 3

15-06-2014, 12:06 AM
IF true it cannot come as any surprise to anybody on here

Makes me even more determined (and I've been placid) to get rid of Tom Farmer :agree:

Finbar
15-06-2014, 08:09 AM
Hibs need to show a bit of ambition here. For years we've been signing average managers and players and hoping that they do better than expected. We have to get a good one this time, no mistakes.

15-06-2014, 08:18 AM
Petrie will have his horribly arrogant mitts over the appointment......sadly I am hearing he is very much still pulling strings. I cannot stand the man now......he is the ruin of Hibernian FC :agree:

So you don't believe Dempster then?

it’ll be my recommendation (http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/leeann-dempster-responsibile-for-recruiting-boss-1-3444534)

When asked about Petrie, she said...

“I’ll be doing it myself, but I’ll maybe be asking another board member to attend [the interview] but if you want to ask the question ‘will that board member be Rod Petrie?’ the answer to that is ‘no’.

nribs
15-06-2014, 08:24 AM
So you don't believe Dempster then?

it’ll be my recommendation (http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/leeann-dempster-responsibile-for-recruiting-boss-1-3444534)

When asked about Petrie, she said...

“I’ll be doing it myself, but I’ll maybe be asking another board member to attend [the interview] but if you want to ask the question ‘will that board member be Rod Petrie?’ the answer to that is ‘no’.
End of the week she hopes. That's good news. I'm convinced she's going to get the right guy in.

15-06-2014, 08:26 AM
Petrie will have his horribly arrogant mitts over the appointment......sadly I am hearing he is very much still pulling strings. I cannot stand the man now......he is the ruin of Hibernian FC :agree:

Hearing from who?
Have you decided that LD is either a liar, weak or both?

15-06-2014, 09:03 AM

I have heard the opposite.

15-06-2014, 09:10 AM
I have heard the opposite.

I have not heard anything.

15-06-2014, 09:16 AM
http://www.express.co.uk/sport/football/482439/Former-Chelsea-and-Leeds-striker-Jimmy-Floyd-Hasselbaink-in-line-to-take-over-at-Hibs

Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink!

That article seems to suggest they know more than Hibs.net about who is on the shortlist and will be interviewed. That can't be right, surely :confused:

15-06-2014, 09:22 AM

Neither have I really. Just wanted to join in.

jimmyboco1875
15-06-2014, 09:29 AM

I've heard loads

15-06-2014, 09:31 AM
I've heard Griffiths is coming back

15-06-2014, 09:33 AM
I heard it through the grapevine.

Neil Aspin anyone?

Me too. :greengrin

15-06-2014, 09:36 AM
I've heard Griffiths is coming back

You're wrong. Only imminent signing is Matty Jack. Even he is ****ed off that no one has ever filled his role, so he's coming out of retirement to do it himself. :agree:

15-06-2014, 09:53 AM
http://www.express.co.uk/sport/football/482439/Former-Chelsea-and-Leeds-striker-Jimmy-Floyd-Hasselbaink-in-line-to-take-over-at-Hibs

Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink!

Would be delighted by this if true! The Dutch always seem to have a level headed intelligent approach to the game. His likely contacts would be a big bonus. Really would love this appointment...

mcfly
15-06-2014, 09:55 AM

Utter rubbish - how could you possibly "have heard"

Stop posting nonsense.

Trust Leanne to get the right manager and we move on

15-06-2014, 09:56 AM
Boy on the bounce seems to think we have made an official approach ith McCall.

Great just what I've always wanted, Kenny Black in the home dugout at er.

15-06-2014, 01:22 PM
Great just what I've always wanted, Kenny Black in the home dugout at er.

What's wrong with him?

15-06-2014, 01:27 PM
What's wrong with him?

He was probably the biggest thug in the hearts team at that time, and that hearts team was filled with dirty hatchet men. I couldn't stand him back then and I still can't stand him now.

15-06-2014, 01:28 PM
What's wrong with him?
Where you been for the last thirty years ? :rolleyes:

15-06-2014, 01:29 PM
I've heard nothing but "I've heard" everytime I speak to someone who has heard nothing but wants to be heard so starts of with "I've heard" :greengrin

15-06-2014, 01:34 PM
I've heard Hibs are looking for a manager, hope that helps folks.

15-06-2014, 01:37 PM
I've heard Hibs are looking for a manger, hope that helps folks.

So we are getting a Messiah. This is good news.:thumbsup:

15-06-2014, 01:41 PM
I've heard that if you say "I'm hearing that ..." then your information is more up to date.

chewit
15-06-2014, 01:41 PM
I've heard Hibs are getting a Messiah...:wink:

Gerard
15-06-2014, 01:44 PM
I've heard Hibs are getting a Messiah...:wink:

No he's just a very naughty boy

15-06-2014, 01:54 PM
Where you been for the last thirty years ? :rolleyes:

Not born :wink:

15-06-2014, 02:06 PM
What's wrong with him?

He was ready to release Stevie May before Tommy Wright took over!

15-06-2014, 02:08 PM
Not born :wink:
Lucky bassa. :aok:

15-06-2014, 02:18 PM

Who are you hearing that from?

15-06-2014, 02:34 PM
I don't think there is much money being placed add to the fact no real string rumours hence no movement in the market.

I wonder if messageboard threads are where most string rumours originate from?

15-06-2014, 02:54 PM
He was ready to release Stevie May before Tommy Wright took over!

Black has been at Well since 2011, not St Johnstone?

15-06-2014, 03:22 PM
Nicky Butt is looking for a job.

http://www.teamtalk.com/premier-league/9349625/Former-Manchester-United-midfielder-Nicky-Butt-wants-to-become-a-manager

15-06-2014, 03:48 PM
I've heard loads

Me too. Most of it a load of Lillian Gish.

15-06-2014, 03:59 PM
Steve Lomas? No thanks. Does he not have a reputation as being a bevy merchant? He could take the lads out on bonding sessions at least

15-06-2014, 04:02 PM

I've heard that Blackpoolhibs knows nothing.

15-06-2014, 04:17 PM

Nothing about anything?

15-06-2014, 04:40 PM
Nothing about anything?

And not so much about that. :greengrin

15-06-2014, 06:25 PM

Nothing about anything?

And not so much about that. :greengrin

:na na: :greengrin

Turkish Green
15-06-2014, 06:43 PM
I've heard Hibs are looking for a manager, hope that helps folks.
I've heard that to. So that's it corroborated.

15-06-2014, 07:11 PM
Black has been at Well since 2011, not St Johnstone?

For some strange reason I thought you were talking about Lomas! Jumping between posts I think.

15-06-2014, 07:53 PM
For some strange reason I thought you were talking about Lomas! Jumping between posts I think.

15-06-2014, 08:18 PM
I've heard that if you say "I'm hearing that ..." then your information is more up to date.

I'm hearing that if you add "can't name my source but info is 100% accurate" then your information is better than what everyone else has/is heard/hearing.

15-06-2014, 08:24 PM
I've heard nothing

15-06-2014, 09:12 PM
I've heard nothing

Strangely enough I was out tonight and no one mentioned anything at all about the managerial situation which ties in with our suspicions.

Green Man
15-06-2014, 09:44 PM
I heard something tonight. It had nothing to do with the new Hibs manager though.

15-06-2014, 09:50 PM
As far as I'm concerned the wall of silence is falling on deaf ears.

15-06-2014, 09:56 PM
I heard that there will be changes at Easter Road this summer.

Source? I read it on .net.

15-06-2014, 10:55 PM
The new manager will be appointed on Tuesday

Source: me

Auckland Hibs
15-06-2014, 10:57 PM
The new manager will be appointed on Tuesday

Source: me

Any idea on who it could be?

15-06-2014, 10:58 PM
Any idea on who it could be?

Steven Pressley :agree:

nribs
15-06-2014, 11:37 PM

Wind up or gen?

15-06-2014, 11:39 PM
Wind up or gen?

Wind up mate :greengrin

nribs
15-06-2014, 11:42 PM
Wind up mate :greengrin
:) heard his name before and thought he was doing a decent job at Coventry

Auckland Hibs
16-06-2014, 01:41 AM

FWIW I'd take him at ER ahead of many of the other names that have been banded around.

Seems to have done a pretty decent job so far down South on a very tight budget.

16-06-2014, 02:08 AM
Hearing rumours about John Collins and a French consortium wanting to takeover the club :confused:

I heard the very same. Source was a relative who was talking to Kenny McLean

16-06-2014, 05:44 AM
;4064536']I heard the very same. Source was a relative who was talking to Kenny McLean

Well.......JC will be announced as Celtic assistant mgr today/tomorrow so he must be a busy boy :wink:

GlasgowHibee
16-06-2014, 06:47 AM
I noticed that the bookies have now placed Ian Murray as the favourite.

nribs
16-06-2014, 06:50 AM
I noticed that the bookies have now placed Ian Murray as the favourite.

Think he has always been the favourite with the bookies or at leather has been for a while.

NW
16-06-2014, 08:21 AM
Scott Gemmell now being linked. Worked with George Craig at Scot u17 and highly regarded as a coach

Moon unit
16-06-2014, 08:21 PM
Go Dutch!...feel that Dutch coaching staff could at last make proper use of East mains !

16-06-2014, 08:34 PM
Next Permanent Hibernian Manager

Mark Venus 1/1
Ian Murray 4/1
Stuart McCall 6/1
Danny Lennon 8/1
Scott Gemmell 12/1
Owen Coyle 12/1
Tony Mowbray 12/1
Kenny Shiels 12/1
Steve Lomas 14/1
Jonathan Hill 14/1
Steve Clarke 16/1
Mixu Paatelainen 16/1
Billy Reid 16/1
Jim Gannon 16/1
Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink 16/1
Michael ONeill 20/1
Alex McLeish 20/1
John Collins 20/1
Neil Warnock 20/1
Craig Brown 20/1
Derek Adams 20/1
Darren Ferguson 20/1
John Hartson 25/1
Ian McParland 25/1
Nacho Novo 25/1

16-06-2014, 08:37 PM
Nacho Novo?!

edwards
16-06-2014, 08:44 PM
Next Permanent Hibernian Manager

Mark Venus 1/1 No
Ian Murray 4/1 No
Stuart McCall 6/1 Yes
Danny Lennon 8/1 Might be
Scott Gemmell 12/1 possible
Owen Coyle 12/1 Yes
Tony Mowbray 12/1 don't think so
Kenny Shiels 12/1 NOoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Steve Lomas 14/1 Possible
Jonathan Hill 14/1 No
Steve Clarke 16/1 Possible
Mixu Paatelainen 16/1 No
Billy Reid 16/1 No
Jim Gannon 16/1 Noooooooooooo
Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink 16/1 Unsure
Michael ONeill 20/1 Possible
Alex McLeish 20/1 Don't think so
John Collins 20/1 No
Neil Warnock 20/1 No
Craig Brown 20/1 Yer havin a laugh
Derek Adams 20/1 No
Darren Ferguson 20/1 No
John Hartson 25/1 No
Ian McParland 25/1 Unsure
Nacho Novo 25/1 No

jax67
16-06-2014, 09:06 PM
Go Dutch!...feel that Dutch coaching staff could at last make proper use of East mains !

16-06-2014, 11:26 PM
http://i2.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article2364378.ece/alternates/s1227b/Irvine-Welsh-Dream-Team.jpg

16-06-2014, 11:27 PM
http://i2.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article1440364.ece/alternates/s2197/John%20Collins%201

16-06-2014, 11:28 PM
http://i4.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article3704007.ece/alternates/s2197/John-Collins.jpg

16-06-2014, 11:28 PM
http://i4.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article3704021.ece/alternates/s2197/John-Collins.jpg

16-06-2014, 11:29 PM
http://i4.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article3704022.ece/alternates/s1227b/John-Collins.jpg

16-06-2014, 11:30 PM
So you're wanting Mark Venus as the new gaffer then spike? :greengrin

16-06-2014, 11:38 PM
So you're wanting Mark Venus as the new gaffer then spike? :greengrin

I think I have an open mind on these matters!!

http://www.scotsman.com/webimage/1.3441694.1402566696%21/image/1900577488.jpg_gen/derivatives/articleImgDeriv_628px/1900577488.jpg

17-06-2014, 01:19 AM
I spoke with a scout of an English Championship club yesterday, he told me Coyle is not interested in the job.

Now that I do believe.

Rumour flying about Steven Pressley the boy Craig who just came in likes him. Good with young players ticks the boxes for what Hibs want

More chance of Reg Presley getting the job.

hibs supporter
17-06-2014, 02:40 AM
Venus is now 4/5 and McCall is now 7/4 on sky bet Murray now 9/2

Graham Law
17-06-2014, 04:31 AM
Fairly sure if someone goes and sticks a couple of hundred on yourself for the hibs job you would soon appear in the betting ? Very fickle market place and only takes small and or regular chain of bets to change the prices of the betting.

Not that I encourage you all do this as he will never get the job , but as an example if all you guys (and girls) with internet betting accounts (say 20 plus people) all went online and bet say 10 pound each on Nacho Novo at his current price of 25/1 he would drop to 4/1 or 5/1 for the job.

Graham Law
17-06-2014, 04:35 AM
On the topic of betting did anyone ever take over the beat the bookie section when I left for OZ ?

Made you guys a few quid in my time doing that - maybe lost a bit as well mind :-)

17-06-2014, 11:16 AM
Been more money for McCall now.... hes back in to 7/4 and Venus out to 6/4 (skybet)

17-06-2014, 12:01 PM

Players would love this at training, check the video out. :greengrin

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2533689/Cheeky-penalty-Royal-Antwerp-players-aim-glamour-models-special-shooting-practice.html

17-06-2014, 12:16 PM
Seeing all those pictures of JC has made me want him back haha

Would be ideal if we got JC as manager, Murray as assistant and Boozy as first team coach. Even Murray as manager, Collins as DOF and Boozy as assistant would be very promising.

17-06-2014, 12:18 PM
I've got a copy of a Hibs training video from last season. If I remember correctly it showed Collins trying to hit a coo on the erse with a shovel and missing.

Lmc2105
17-06-2014, 07:48 PM
Sky Bet.

Mark Venus 6/4
Stuart McCall 7/4

He was 11/2 yesterday.

His odds have slashed massively the space of 24 hours.

nribs
17-06-2014, 07:54 PM
Sky Bet.

Mark Venus 6/4
Stuart McCall 7/4

He was 11/2 yesterday.

His odds have slashed massively the space of 24 hours.
Who SM?

Bronson
17-06-2014, 07:56 PM
McCall the new favourite with skybet at 11/8. Venus 6/4, Murray 10/3.

Any of the 3 would be fine with me, McCall has done a terrific job at Motherwell and his relationship with Dempster makes him my personal pick.

Lmc2105
17-06-2014, 08:00 PM
Who SM?

Yeah mate sorry

Venus was 1/2 yesterday

nribs
17-06-2014, 08:02 PM
Yeah mate sorry

Venus was 1/2 yesterday

No probs :) so some cash being laid I'm SM tonight.

banchoryhibs
17-06-2014, 08:04 PM
McCall the new favourite with skybet at 11/8. Venus 6/4, Murray 10/3.

Any of the 3 would be fine with me, McCall has done a terrific job at Motherwell and his relationship with Dempster makes him my personal pick.

I have been informed from a very reliable source who asked IM directly yesterday that Hibs have not contacted him. Probably puts him out of the running

Lmc2105
17-06-2014, 08:08 PM
No probs :) so some cash being laid I'm SM tonight.

In the last 24 hours at least yes a fair whack has been stuck on McCall

17-06-2014, 08:19 PM
McCall would be first choice for me.

17-06-2014, 08:55 PM
Billy McKinlay is apparently interested in the role. Worth considering anyway.

17-06-2014, 08:58 PM
I have been informed from a very reliable source who asked IM directly yesterday that Hibs have not contacted him. Probably puts him out of the running

But has Murray contacted Hibs.

You apply for the job not wait for the club to contact you.

17-06-2014, 09:00 PM
But has Murray contacted Hibs.

You apply for the job not wait for the club to contact you.

Murray has a 2 year contract with Dumbarton.

Of course he wouldn't contact Hibs

17-06-2014, 09:00 PM
I've got a copy of a Hibs training video from last season. If I remember correctly it showed Collins trying to hit a coo on the erse with a shovel and missing.

I will finish this for you shall I?

.....a shovel and missing on the three occasions he attempted it.

17-06-2014, 09:02 PM
Billy McKinlay is apparently interested in the role. Worth considering anyway.

I've heard folk raving about him as a coach for years but I'm surprised he's not been given a chance anywhere yet?!

17-06-2014, 09:04 PM
Did bm **** Robbos wife? Or was that John Clark?

17-06-2014, 09:05 PM
Did bm **** Robbos wife? Or was that John Clark?

Eamonn Bannon and Davie Dodds tag team allegedly.

17-06-2014, 09:06 PM
In the last 24 hours at least yes a fair whack has been stuck on McCall

How much is a fair whack. :greengrin

Or could it be 5 folk have stuck a £10 bets on him to get the job and the bookies have slashed the price. :greengrin

Andy Bee
17-06-2014, 09:12 PM

Or could it be 5 folk have stuck a £10 bets on him to get the job and the bookies have slashed the price. :greengrin

Global Hibby stuck this months £20k on him. :agree:

17-06-2014, 09:17 PM
scotDMsport ‏@scotDMsport (https://twitter.com/scotDMsport) 18m (https://twitter.com/scotDMsport/status/479005050271170561) Collins is out running but #Hibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hibs?src=hash) have permission to speak to another former #Celt (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Celt?src=hash) about manager's job. See tomorrow's Scottish Daily Mail.

17-06-2014, 09:20 PM
scotDMsport ‏@scotDMsport (https://twitter.com/scotDMsport) 18m (https://twitter.com/scotDMsport/status/479005050271170561) Collins is out running but #Hibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hibs?src=hash) have permission to speak to another former #Celt (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Celt?src=hash) about manager's job. See tomorrow's Scottish Daily Mail.

Was thinking Venus or mjallby but that tweet suggests they're currently in a job?

Dr jo? Win jansen? Henrik larrson? John barnes?

Lmc2105
17-06-2014, 09:20 PM

Haha that is a very good point silver :greengrin

Andy Bee
17-06-2014, 09:22 PM
Was thinking Venus or mjallby but that tweet suggests they're currently in a job?

Jackie Mac :dunno:

17-06-2014, 09:23 PM

Only one in the betting that fits it would be Darren Jackson at 33/1.

nribs
17-06-2014, 09:25 PM
Why are they tweeting about Collins fitness regime?

17-06-2014, 09:27 PM
Only one in the betting that fits it would be Darren Jackson at 33/1.

Billy stark is my guess

17-06-2014, 09:29 PM
DJ?

17-06-2014, 09:29 PM
Simon Donnelly

nribs
17-06-2014, 09:31 PM
Simon Donnelly

That would be interesting I think he's at Patrick just now?

17-06-2014, 09:36 PM
no to DJ

no to SD

There have zero experience in management

far to big a risk

17-06-2014, 09:37 PM
Darren Jackson is a horrific coach

I'd be gutted

17-06-2014, 09:42 PM
Steven Pressley (stolen the idea from the bounce btw)

17-06-2014, 09:45 PM

Mowbray it is then. :greengrin

nribs
17-06-2014, 09:46 PM

Not sure we would need permission to talk to him?

17-06-2014, 09:47 PM

Who gave us permission - his sons?

17-06-2014, 09:48 PM
Not sure we would need permission to talk to him?

Of course. Didn't think of that. :aok:

17-06-2014, 09:50 PM
Willie McStay.

And we would need permission to talk to him.

17-06-2014, 09:50 PM
Who gave us permission - his sons?

Tony did.

Leanne: Hi Tony can we have your permission to talk to you.

Mowbray: Aye.

Simples.

17-06-2014, 09:51 PM
Steven Pressley is the only one I can think of.

17-06-2014, 09:54 PM
Willie McStay.

cool

"On 25 November 2010, McStay was appointed manager of Ross County.[8] McStay left the club by mutual consent after less than three months as manager.[9] McStay had taken charge of only nine games, none of which were won, during that time.[10]"

17-06-2014, 09:55 PM
Willie McStay.

I really hope it's not him.

Gordy M
17-06-2014, 09:56 PM
Peter grant? Not sure if he is in a job at the moment?

Bronson
17-06-2014, 09:56 PM
Paul Hartley? Bit of a long shot mind you, and never been our biggest fan (feelings more than mutual).

John Hartson?:rolleyes:

17-06-2014, 09:57 PM

he not

Henrik Larsson?

Really hope its not W McStay

I imagine most likely is B Stark, or S Pressley

17-06-2014, 09:58 PM
Bertie Auld?

17-06-2014, 09:58 PM

Paul Hartley and Pressley are the only two I can think of that we'd need permission for?!

Pretty sure there's more mind!

17-06-2014, 10:00 PM
Bertie Auld?

Think we're looking for a youngish manager.

17-06-2014, 10:02 PM
Think we're looking for a youngish manager.

Think 'holistic'.

Gordy M
Paul Hartley and Pressley are the only two I can think of that we'd need permission for?!

Thing is, im sure they would make more of pressley being an ex yam than celt?? Who knows? Jackie mcnamara, cant see him leaving utd.

I hear John Collins has hinted that the Celtic board are far to out of shape to be taken seriously

hes on the verge of resigning.

17-06-2014, 10:03 PM
Chris sutton

Think 'holistic'.

Never heard of him. What age is he?

Derek Riordan returns. :greengrin

scuttle

Billy Stark...has been on short lists for previous Hibs jobs apparently

17-06-2014, 10:04 PM
Thing is, im sure they would make more of pressley being an ex yam than celt?? Who knows? Jackie mcnamara, cant see him leaving utd.

Jackie Mac would make me moist..

JustSimplyHibs
17-06-2014, 10:05 PM
Alan Stubbs :wink:

He's at Everton...

Gordy M
If they have asked for permission, does that not normally signal that its a 'done deal'?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2660700/Everton-Hibs-permission-speak-Stubbs-Easter-Road-managers-job.html

17-06-2014, 10:07 PM
Hibs have approached the bbc for John hartson?

17-06-2014, 10:07 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2660700/Everton-Hibs-permission-speak-Stubbs-Easter-Road-managers-job.html

Wow - didn't see that coming.

Gordy M
17-06-2014, 10:09 PM
Wow - didn't see that coming.
Interesting, stubbs is certainly highly rated at everton.

He's at Everton...

Good shout.

strange one

no idea how to feel about that

If they have asked for permission, does that not normally signal that its a 'done deal'?

No :greengrin

17-06-2014, 10:11 PM

He's at Everton...

:agree: Appointed by the end if the week I recon

17-06-2014, 10:12 PM
It's Stubbs! Bring on the big scouser to the Hibs :thumbsup:

Interesting:hmmm: The Mail always seems to have their finger on the pulse when it comes to Hibs:hmmm:

Paul Lambert.

scuttle
17-06-2014, 10:13 PM
Has he applied for the job or are we approaching him, if its the latter he would probably knock us back IMHO

17-06-2014, 10:13 PM
Well respected coach at Everton, I think he manages the development squad/ U21's there

17-06-2014, 10:14 PM
Well respected coach at Everton, I think he manages the development squad/ U21's there

David Moyes as his number 2. :greengrin

Gordy M
17-06-2014, 10:14 PM
No :greengrin
Well i hope it is!!!! Id quite like stubbs as the new manager. Someone a bit different, knows the scottish game, and if he is on martinez coaching staff then id imagine he likes to play football on the deck? Only my opinion.

17-06-2014, 10:16 PM

So we would need to pay compensation and would have less for playing budget. Can't get my head round why we would do that when there's loads of good guys we could get who are not in a job.

17-06-2014, 10:18 PM
So we would need to pay compensation and would have less for playing budget. Can't get my head round why we would do that when there's loads of good guys we could get who are not in a job.

How do you know we'd need to pay compensation?

I'd be surprised of Everton stood in his way of he got a chance to become a manager, especially fir what would be a small amount of money.

WestCoastHibby
17-06-2014, 10:19 PM
Steve Clarke would be a great appointment IMO.

From a supporter view, I would love it to be Ian Murray with boozy as a coach or assistant.

My kind of shout. Whoever it is he should be given a one year rolling contract max, with BIG bonus and contract add ons should we return straight back up. Same for players a fair basic rate but enhanced "performance" related pay.

Get some competitive spirit back in the club.

17-06-2014, 10:21 PM

I'm sure Everton would not be seeking compensation for Stubbs and would be easy to deal with.

17-06-2014, 10:21 PM

Saw Everton twice last season and they play great football with a passion.

Can't see him come here though, with a load of ***** players and low budget.

No chance.

17-06-2014, 10:22 PM

No chance.

He is with the U21's at Everton

17-06-2014, 10:23 PM

No chance.

Not like you to be negative.

17-06-2014, 10:24 PM

No chance.

Not really got a load of ***** players, most have been freed. He'd be coming here with a clean slate abd a bigger budget than most teams in the league.

17-06-2014, 10:27 PM
Stubbs? That's out of leftfield! I remember applauding him on when it was gis first appearance back from cancer. Celtic had that minging bumblebee top I'm sure.

17-06-2014, 10:27 PM
Uninspiring but happy to be proved wrong and will get behind him :agree:

17-06-2014, 10:28 PM
He's always had a soft spot for us since he came on as a sub at ER after his spell out of the game due to his cancer. He got a great reception and he's made reference to it a couple of times in interviews and in his book

17-06-2014, 10:29 PM
Stubbs? That's out of leftfield! I remember applauding him on when it was gis first appearance back from cancer. Celtic had that minging bumblebee top I'm sure.

Good point, wonder if he remembers the reception he got that day and plays a part in his thinking. Realise that's unlikely but I'd like to think he thinks well of us because of that day.

17-06-2014, 10:55 PM
Speaking to him in next few days... This is going to run and run

nribs
17-06-2014, 11:06 PM
Speaking to him in next few days... This is going to run and run
If the story is true.I'm sure Hibs will know what compensation if any will be due. If this is the guy Hibs want LD has said the new manager has to show a desire to manage Hibs so if he does it could be quite straight forward.

17-06-2014, 11:10 PM
Unless they've already had an application from him for the job and the permission is just to offer it to him?

Could be done and dusted by the end of the week.

17-06-2014, 11:12 PM
An experienced ex Old Firm centre half is exactly what we need.
Oh wait a minute....

17-06-2014, 11:15 PM
An experienced ex Old Firm centre half is exactly what we need.
Oh wait a minute....

Experienced? Chuck that word in to differentiate between Butch and Mowbray? Stubbs is as experienced as mowbray was.....

18-06-2014, 01:09 AM
That would be interesting I think he's at Patrick just now?

Dundee Utd I think.

hhibs
18-06-2014, 12:15 PM
[QUOTE=WestCoastHibby;4066862]My kind of shout. Whoever it is he should be given a one year rolling contract max, with BIG bonus and contract add ons should we return straight back up. Same for players a fair basic rate but enhanced "performance" related pay.

Get some competitive spirit back in the club.[/QUOT

Agreed ,this must be the way to go,must incentivise success and cut out failures.

18-06-2014, 02:25 PM
It's Stubbs! Bring on the big scouser to the Hibs :thumbsup:

Would it not be better if the players were able to understand what he said though. :greengrin

18-06-2014, 02:26 PM
How do you know we'd need to pay compensation?

I'd be surprised of Everton stood in his way of he got a chance to become a manager, especially fir what would be a small amount of money.

Sure they wouldnt as they would see it as him furthering his career.

nribs
18-06-2014, 02:31 PM
Dundee Utd I think.

Correct not sure how I got that wrong :)

18-06-2014, 02:51 PM
If it's Stubbs, fine, if it's Venus, fine, just get the finger out and make the appointment. I know it is a vital point in the development of the Club but every day a new name is added to the list and immediately becomes "favourite to land the gig". Just get it done and dusted and we can then move on to getting some players in .

18-06-2014, 02:53 PM
I reackon that we will have a massive announcement with manager players sponsor, all rolled into one.

18-06-2014, 03:07 PM
If it's Stubbs, fine, if it's Venus, fine, just get the finger out and make the appointment. I know it is a vital point in the development of the Club but every day a new name is added to the list and immediately becomes "favourite to land the gig". Just get it done and dusted and we can then move on to getting some players in .

This appointing a manaqger thing is a bit of a hit or a miss every time....just have to wait and see how he goes.

Hopefully he'll do a Mowbray rather than a Butcher.

But whomever it is, we're getting closer and closer to kick off and we aint got a freckan team yet.....:rolleyes:r

18-06-2014, 03:16 PM
This situation is starting to get farcical. What the hell is happening?

18-06-2014, 03:21 PM
Not like you to be negative.

Fair enough, but what exactly is there to be positive about right now?

nribs
18-06-2014, 03:23 PM
Going through a selection process for a new manager. Interviewing them etc etc

TowerHibs
18-06-2014, 03:31 PM

Farcical why????

18-06-2014, 03:43 PM
Sacking a manager, receiving applicants, interviewing all parties interested personally, making up a short list, negotiating terms, coordinating an announcement - time elapsed so far to do this - one week.

Farcical right enough.

BVB Hibs
18-06-2014, 03:47 PM
Even if it means not getting players in til late and a poor start to the season, I'd much rather get the managerial appointment spot on than worry about timing.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

18-06-2014, 03:52 PM
Getting it right is more important than anything.

18-06-2014, 03:56 PM
Fair few people reckon Stubbs is a done deal. Just need to wait and see I suppose.

18-06-2014, 03:58 PM
March this year - http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/26637545

18-06-2014, 04:01 PM

Patience please!

Rome wasn't built in a day and the Hibernian revival won't be either.

It's essential we get the foundations right this time then we can start building for a new and hopefully successful era.

18-06-2014, 04:05 PM
No to all names linked to us so far.

Choccy for the Chair!

nribs
18-06-2014, 04:08 PM
No to all names linked to us so far.

Choccy for the Chair!

Brian McClair? Is that a hint?

Dave-O
18-06-2014, 04:09 PM
Well is it Stubbs or no?, am in suspenders here....oops sorry wrong forum. :embarrass

hibs supporter
18-06-2014, 04:17 PM
Just went on sky bet they are not taking bets anymore so must know something

18-06-2014, 04:27 PM
Well is it Stubbs or no?, am in suspenders here....oops sorry wrong forum. :embarrass

Yuillsy
18-06-2014, 04:35 PM

He had the cheek to score a header about 10 mins after that wonderful reception. If it is him good luck and he can look forward to that kind of reception on a regular basis!

maturehibby
18-06-2014, 04:39 PM
We could coax Sir Alex out of retirement and he too would get us relegated so until Petrie goes we will be going no where - have held off since speaking but the option of another sacrificial lamb 6 months down the line without Petrie going is inevitable

lugz
18-06-2014, 04:44 PM
hibs given permission to speak to Stubbs

18-06-2014, 04:47 PM

How many times do we have to tell you ------------ it's Alan and not Una that's in for the Hibs job. Behave yersel!

Tinribs
18-06-2014, 05:40 PM
March this year - http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/26637545

That is some haircut on Stubbs! Think i had a parting like that in about 1983.

But back on-topic, if it's him then that's ok by me. Young guy still, and despite the feelings of some Toffees, i think he may do a job for us.

18-06-2014, 05:43 PM
Surprised bookies take bets on a new manager. It's not a sporting event it's a business decision taken by a company, surely the chance of info getting out to punters is real and inevitable.

cat1875
18-06-2014, 05:58 PM
Just went on sky bet they are not taking bets anymore so must know something

they stopped taking bets at 12.45 when Stubbs went 1/3 on yawn!!!!!!

coco22
18-06-2014, 06:13 PM
He had the cheek to score a header about 10 mins after that wonderful reception. If it is him good luck and he can look forward to that kind of reception on a regular basis!

Great reception for Stubbs that day. The boy behind me followed it up with 'right, parties over stubsy.....someone kick that ***** in the ****ing baw' which, while harsh, was very funny.

Nevi_SOL
18-06-2014, 08:01 PM
Let's get Stubbs signed up. Then Barkley to follow on loan

18-06-2014, 08:46 PM
What's Stubbs stats with Everton under 21's

18-06-2014, 08:54 PM
What's Stubbs stats with Everton under 21's

His job in that role is to prepare youngsters for the first team.

I'd say in that respect he's probably done a good job.

18-06-2014, 10:06 PM
Surely we'll have a new manager by Friday at the latest!!??

We have a whole team to sign!!

nribs
18-06-2014, 11:19 PM
LD was reported as saying she hoped to have someone in by the end of the week.

19-06-2014, 05:27 AM
I reckon we will have an announcement today.

Lewis77
19-06-2014, 05:51 AM
Maybe a long shot but he could only say no, I'd take him.

pontius pilate
19-06-2014, 06:19 AM
I have maintained that we would have the new man in place tomorrow to tie in with the sponsorship announcement a triple whammy of good news to take the club forward. My only slighy concern with alan stubbs is his contact llist does he have one? Is it full? Is it any good? Time will tell but he will get my full support like any new manager will

Lewis77
19-06-2014, 06:22 AM
I have maintained that we would have the new man in place tomorrow to tie in with the sponsorship announcement a triple whammy of good news to take the club forward. My only slighy concern with alan stubbs is his contact llist does he have one? Is it full? Is it any good? Time will tell but he will get my full support like any new manager will

I hope to God it's not Alan Stubbs.

19-06-2014, 06:23 AM
I reckon we will have an announcement today.

19-06-2014, 06:32 AM
I hope to God it's not Alan Stubbs.

Why?

Lewis77
19-06-2014, 06:40 AM
Why?

It's unimaginative, It's flaccid, It shows lack of ambition, of vision!

19-06-2014, 06:40 AM

He has watched the reserve league in England for the last few years so might not be a bad place to start

19-06-2014, 06:45 AM

Who's your preference?
We could do a lot worse than Stubbs, just about anyone on the skybet list is unimaginitive, flaccid etc..

Lewis77
19-06-2014, 06:48 AM
He has watched the reserve league in England for the last few years so might not be a bad place to start

I want more for the club than Alan Stubbs. If it's his job well of course I hope he is a great success. However at present I fear it is too unimaginative.

jimmyboco1875
19-06-2014, 06:51 AM
95% of us including me wanted butcher last time, in my eyes he was the perfect guy for us, it didn't work out so who's to say a guy like stubbs working with a premiership under 21 team might just be what we actually need, fresh ideas and also a good knowledge of decent u21 players

Lewis77
19-06-2014, 06:52 AM
Who's your preference?
We could do a lot worse than Stubbs, just about anyone on the skybet list is unimaginitive, flaccid etc..

I know but for me it's too unimaginative, Surly there is some gem from over sees we can find who would bring new ideas, a new flavor rather than another English defender. Let's just give the job back to Terry.

Lewis77
19-06-2014, 06:54 AM
95% of us including me wanted butcher last time, in my eyes he was the perfect guy for us, it didn't work out so who's to say a guy like stubbs working with a premiership under 21 team might just be what we actually need, fresh ideas and also a good knowledge of decent u21 players

Another English defender takes charge, I want more for the club than that. However, If he comes let's hope he's fantastic.

jimmyboco1875
19-06-2014, 06:56 AM
Another English defender takes charge, I want more for the club than that. However, If he comes let's hope he's fantastic.

Would stubbs be the right choice if he was an English midfielder??

19-06-2014, 06:56 AM
rather than another English defender. Let's just give the job back to Terry.

If you want to be taken seriously at least come up with some decent reasoning rather than this nonsense.

19-06-2014, 06:59 AM
I know but for me it's too unimaginative, Surly there is some gem from over sees we can find who would bring new ideas, a new flavor rather than another English defender. Let's just give the job back to Terry.

Or Mowbray ... English defender and great manager

Lewis77
19-06-2014, 07:01 AM
If you want to be taken seriously at least come up with some decent reasoning rather than this nonsense.

It's like for like. it's unimaginative. I hope if he does get the job he is great but at present I want more for the club than Alan Stubbs.

Lewis77
19-06-2014, 07:06 AM
Or Mowbray ... English defender and great manager

Tony was a 'good' manager for us and has been a very average manager since leaving us. He is not a 'great' manager.

19-06-2014, 07:13 AM
It's like for like. it's unimaginative. I hope if he does get the job he is great but at present I want more for the club than Alan Stubbs.

No jimmy calderwood or Danny Lennon would be unimaginative

who is your idea of imaginative?

19-06-2014, 07:17 AM
How on earth does Alan Stubbs show a lack of imagination? He'd never have crossed my mind.

19-06-2014, 07:23 AM
How on earth does Alan Stubbs show a lack of imagination? He'd never have crossed my mind.

Exactly! This would be as imaginative an appointment as they come!

19-06-2014, 07:26 AM
Like for like? One experienced manager with scottish football background against and EPL coach.

Unimaginative? He didn't appear on any forum suggestions, bookies list or paper gossip until thr mail article saying we wanted talks. It's hardly been an obvious choice.

Lewis77
19-06-2014, 07:30 AM
No jimmy calderwood or Danny Lennon would be unimaginative

who is your idea of imaginative?

That's the point, I can't give you the name of some little known South American gem of a manager because I am just a fan and it's not my job to find one. As a fan I entrust the running of my club to those who are supposed to know what they're doing, who have expertise. The fact that I feasibly could come up with a name like Alan Stubbs is the worrying thing.

I am just a touch gutted because I wanted to be excited by the new manager and Alan Stubbs just doesn't do it for me.

If he gets the job I hope he is a great.

I would of gone all out to get Rene Meulensteen. Dream bigger than Alan Stubbs.

19-06-2014, 08:18 AM
@ScottBurns75: Mark Venus has now been interviewed for the @HibernianFCClub job. For the latest see today's @ScotExpress.

nribs
19-06-2014, 08:28 AM
@ScottBurns75: Mark Venus has now been interviewed for the @HibernianFCClub job. For the latest see today's @ScotExpress.

Wonder of the book is back open?

Shearer
19-06-2014, 08:29 AM

He'd be my choice, fingers crossed for him

nribs
19-06-2014, 08:31 AM
"@Burchyboy27: Looks like my old team mate alan Stubbs in line for Hibs job,top man with a great attitude,he'd do a great job..big moany twat mind you! Ha"

From Mark Burchill.

Juice-Terry
19-06-2014, 08:50 AM
He'd be my choice, fingers crossed for him

Agree wholeheartedly. (Venus)

19-06-2014, 08:57 AM

Scott's info on us is usually 100% .. he's a Well fan - so he has good info on us now :cool2:

Lee Marvin
19-06-2014, 09:08 AM
That's the point, I can't give you the name of some little known South American gem of a manager because I am just a fan and it's not my job to find one. As a fan I entrust the running of my club to those who are supposed to know what they're doing, who have expertise. The fact that I feasibly could come up with a name like Alan Stubbs is the worrying thing.

I am just a touch gutted because I wanted to be excited by the new manager and Alan Stubbs just doesn't do it for me.

Aaaaaaaahahahahaha

19-06-2014, 09:15 AM

Exactly!! Lewis 77 used the same word " unimaginative " in 4 separate emails. :wink:

nribs
19-06-2014, 09:29 AM
Johnathan Woodgate. Heard this a couple of times. No idea how reliable this info is but I got told he had 100% been interviewed. I would have thought I'd have seen it on here if true.

nribs
19-06-2014, 11:24 AM
Interviews are over and it's down to 4. Hold on to your hat's guys an announcement will be made soon :agree:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/27920157

19-06-2014, 11:29 AM

Nope can't agree with you, but opinions thats what its all about.

Hibstrooper
19-06-2014, 11:31 AM
Interviews are over and it's down to 4. Hold on to your hat's guys an announcement will be made soon :agree:

It mentions Stubbs & Venus however who are the other two? It talks about Murray but doesn't imply he is on the shortlist.

19-06-2014, 11:32 AM

Perhaps you would care to name some of these over seas gems.

19-06-2014, 11:36 AM

So let me get this straight as long as he is unknown and a South American he is the manager for you. Certainly a unique reqruitment strategy.

19-06-2014, 11:43 AM
It mentions Stubbs & Venus however who are the other two? It talks about Murray but doesn't imply he is on the shortlist.

Stubbs & Venus are not necessarily on the shortlist ( though I expect they are ). It only says they have been interviewed.

19-06-2014, 11:43 AM
Veno

Stubbso

McCallo

Fatso

19-06-2014, 11:45 AM
So let me get this straight as long as he is unknown and a South American he is the manager for you. Certainly a unique reqruitment strategy.

He also said Stubbs would be too much of a risk. I suppose he must think a South American would be risk-free. Strange guy.

19-06-2014, 11:50 AM

http://static.fjcdn.com/gifs/Reaction_3b29b2_262148.gif

19-06-2014, 11:51 AM
Perhaps you would care to name some of these over seas gems.
Carlos Puyol ??????

19-06-2014, 11:53 AM
Veno

Stubbso

McCallo

Fatso

What about Nidsy?

19-06-2014, 11:57 AM

I see from the Report headlines that we're looking for a new "Manger" which I suppose is slightly better than a new Minger!

Yet more shoddy reporting by the BBC - you just can't get the staff these days.

19-06-2014, 12:07 PM
The 4 on the shortlist - according to what i just head on Radio Highlands DAB.

Pat Kane
Jim Kerr
The bar man from Still Game
Dougray Scott.

19-06-2014, 12:18 PM
Veno

Stubbso

McCallo

Fatso

Who's fatso , jimmy calderwood?