View Full Version : danny lennon anyone?

pritchie
10-06-2014, 03:27 PM
id take danny lennon and see if murray fancied being number 2 to him

10-06-2014, 03:28 PM
I think he'll be considered - but I think many on here will (unfairly) rip him to shreds in this thread.

Devilstorment

please no

No fur me

10-06-2014, 03:29 PM
What's he done to justify being considered?

If this whole rebuild of the club and promotion talk is real - Danny Lennon is not the man

Did ok with St Mirren. Won them a cup and seemed to play decent football. Would do ok in the Championship I reckon

iainm1875
10-06-2014, 03:30 PM
St Mirren fan at work didn't rate him.

sauzee=legend
10-06-2014, 03:30 PM
TBH I would rather have John Lennon.

I think experience is the key to this next appointment as the championship is going to be real tough and to have an in-experience manager in charge and if we don't start well might be a diificult task for him to turn things around.

SDavey1992
10-06-2014, 03:31 PM
I wouldn't be annoyed if it was him. He did wonders there. Won a cup, played nice football. I quite like Lennon.

AndyB_70
10-06-2014, 03:31 PM
No no no

10-06-2014, 03:32 PM
Nice guy but relegation candidate every year, so no for me.

MG1965
10-06-2014, 03:33 PM
I think Danny Lennon would be a good shout!!

pritchie
10-06-2014, 03:33 PM
hes established st.mirren as an spl club on a low budget won a trophy? done well id say won more than butcher ever did as a manager

ionahibby
10-06-2014, 03:34 PM
Did ok with St Mirren. Won them a cup and seemed to play decent football. Would do ok in the Championship I reckon

We need to do more than just "ok" in the championship so it's a no from me.

10-06-2014, 03:34 PM
Naw.

10-06-2014, 03:35 PM

Led Cowdenbeath to the Championship with two successive promotions, then St.Mirren to their highest league finishes whilst winning their first trophy in 26 years.

As with the Mowbray thread, people might not fancy him as Hibs manager now, and that is fair enough - but he has a good CV thus far.

10-06-2014, 03:35 PM
We should definitely go for someone that was seen as less preferable than Tommy Craig...

10-06-2014, 03:36 PM
I like Lennon too but I can't help thinking we can do better.

TowerHibs
10-06-2014, 03:38 PM
Us fans need to stay out the whole situation and let LD pick who she feels is right.

Majority wanted mixu, yogi and Butcher and fan demand and opinion polls are very persuasive. I would love a out the box appointment, club needs freshened up

Petrie still has to go

Bronson
If he or Kenny Shiels are seriously considered I'll freak out.

GoldenMeerkat
Thanks, but no thanks.

Us fans need to stay out the whole situation and let LD pick who she feels is right.

In a nutshell. Dempster isn't Rodders though so she'll pay heehaw attention to what Hibs.net say on appointing a manager anyway.

Hedlund12
10-06-2014, 03:39 PM
No, no and no..... can't put on this domain what I think of him - I'd get barred from the site.... PLEASE NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

10-06-2014, 03:40 PM
Imagine Lennon :wink:

10-06-2014, 03:40 PM
No thanks.

10-06-2014, 03:41 PM
Absolutely not! !!!!!

Stax
10-06-2014, 03:47 PM
Not for me, I'd be seriously underwhelmed. I can't think who I want / who we'll be able to attract at the moment mind..

10-06-2014, 03:48 PM
id take danny lennon and see if murray fancied being number 2 to himno thanks

TowerHibs
10-06-2014, 03:50 PM
Everyone saying no.....who do the want??? Genuine question. Just feel like we are either getting someone who hasn't managed at this level or someone like Lennon - manager for a few years, made mistakes but will learn from them.

Just think how suicidal people would be if Jimmy calderwood gets the job yet I'm not sure he has done a **** job anywhere.

10-06-2014, 03:54 PM
Lmfao

10-06-2014, 04:22 PM
Its a no from me

10-06-2014, 04:28 PM
Mare chance wed get neil lennon !

Dave-O
10-06-2014, 04:51 PM

Naw you wouldn't Danny, now bolt....:greengrin

10-06-2014, 04:53 PM

Haha ,thanks for the laugh mate ,liked that

Ps,im no danny either !

10-06-2014, 04:54 PM
I think he'll be considered - but I think many on here will (unfairly) rip him to shreds in this thread.

Considering his St Mirren team was rotten and there fans hated the way he plays why would we want him? He was in a relegation battle all season as well. So if he was feeling the pressure there he'd fold here.

10-06-2014, 04:54 PM

10-06-2014, 04:56 PM
Massive no from me. Not good enough for St Mirren should means he's nowhere good enough for Hibs

10-06-2014, 04:59 PM
I don't want him either but for someone to say no because all he will ever be is fighting relegation well..............in most of my 41 years as a Hibby so have Hibs unfortunately. We need someone to take us forward as a team, as a club and DL aint it. We need to get out of this cycle we have been in for most of my time. We are THE biggest underachievers in Scottish football given our fan base and the resources we have. We need to get back to Premiership and the to the top end of it as we should ALWAYS be, fighting for the top and to be winning trophies

10-06-2014, 05:52 PM
100% no.

10-06-2014, 05:53 PM
Considering his St Mirren team was rotten and there fans hated the way he plays why would we want him? He was in a relegation battle all season as well. So if he was feeling the pressure there he'd fold here.

I don't believe for one second that all their fans thought that way, especially those who are realistic enough to know that a trophy win is a rare thing to be treasured. I accept that they won't have played well all the time, but they often looked good when I saw him and the team that beat us 3-2 earlier this year played quick, incisive, attacking football.

Led Cowdenbeath to successive promotions and then St. Mirren to 8th, 10th, 10th and 7th IIRC - they're highest ever SPL finish as well as a very rare trophy.

Besides, my main point is not that he should be considered for the Hibs job - it is that his CV is good for a young manager and his achievements shouldn't be written off.

10-06-2014, 06:12 PM

NO to lennon

10-06-2014, 06:14 PM
I don't believe for one second that all their fans thought that way, especially those who are realistic enough to know that a trophy win is a rare thing to be treasured. I accept that they won't have played well all the time, but they often looked good when I saw him and the team that beat us 3-2 earlier this year played quick, incisive, attacking football.

Led Cowdenbeath to successive promotions and then St. Mirren to 8th, 10th, 10th and 7th IIRC - they're highest ever SPL finish as well as a very rare trophy.

Besides, my main point is not that he should be considered for the Hibs job - it is that his CV is good for a young manager and his achievements shouldn't be written off.

they looked quick as we were slow as pish, its a big no from me.

10-06-2014, 06:16 PM

10th, 10th and 7th!! That's rotten Stevie. Also Cowdenbeath is totally different to Hibs. I'm sorry but I think we'll have to agree to disagree. He's a poor manager in my eyes and Hibs job would be way out his depth.

10-06-2014, 07:09 PM
10th, 10th and 7th!! That's rotten Stevie. Also Cowdenbeath is totally different to Hibs. I'm sorry but I think we'll have to agree to disagree. He's a poor manager in my eyes and Hibs job would be way out his depth.

Not for St. Mirren it's not. It's all about context.

Sumner
10-06-2014, 07:10 PM
... Hell NO

10-06-2014, 07:10 PM
Not for St. Mirren it's not. It's all about context.

Hibs and St. Mirren are very different clubs with different expectations. The pressure here would be ten times that of Saints. He struggled there and was sacked why would we want him??

10-06-2014, 07:16 PM
Who's the better manager Lennon or Murray? I don't want either but funny how some discount the experienced proven manager yet would accept the Hibee old boy!

10-06-2014, 07:18 PM
Hibs and St. Mirren are very different clubs with different expectations. The pressure here would be ten times that of Saints. He struggled there and was sacked why would we want him??

In my 2nd to last post I said I'm not saying he's the man for us, just that he deserves more credit than he gets!

I'm perfectly aware of the differences between the clubs, but his achievements - in context - at St. Mirren are greater than any of our recent managers since Collins.

10-06-2014, 08:00 PM

No no no

10-06-2014, 08:05 PM
Simple we don't

erskine-hibby
10-06-2014, 08:06 PM

10-06-2014, 08:14 PM
Danny Lennon like to have his teams play football. Tick

If Leanne went in for him, Id give him my backing.

However we need someone who can source, and sign, a huge number of players in time for the season. Mowbray (whom Im not entirely convinced about) has been involved at a decent level for a while, and could be someone capable of rustling up the number and quality of players that we will need.

10-06-2014, 08:16 PM
Danny Lennon, good god no!!

scuttle
10-06-2014, 08:16 PM
Nut

10-06-2014, 08:31 PM
Lennon or any other ex Hibs player is a BIG NO from me
From memory we have had ten ex Hibs FC players as our Manager since WW2 ( someone please correct me if I am, wrong ) and only ONE Ned Turnbull could be called truly successful !!

I just hope we can " persuade" a number of top class candidates to apply .

10-06-2014, 08:41 PM
Lennon or any other ex Hibs player is a BIG NO from me
From memory we have had ten ex Hibs FC players as our Manager since WW2 ( someone please correct me if I am, wrong ) and only ONE Ned Turnbull could be called truly successful !!

I just hope we can " persuade" a number of top class candidates to apply .

John Collins did no too bad imho . big no from me for Danny Lennon
nice guy but god NO .

10-06-2014, 09:01 PM
Naw fanks

10-06-2014, 09:01 PM
Was very surprised that Danny Lennon wasn`t even mentioned here or in press when Fenlon left . His teams have a reputation for playing good football , he won a cup with St M and when going got tough his team raised their game while we collapsed under Butcher . Not saying he`d be my first choice but if we`re looking for a quick appointment and not going through a proper selection process he`d certainly be a strong candidate . 1 year contract with low basic salary and big bonus for promotion .

portycabbage
10-06-2014, 09:25 PM

MG can't be Danny Lennon or he would have said: "Danny Lennon thinks Danny Lennon would be a good shout". Danny Lennon likes to say "Danny Lennon" a lot, despite the fact he's called Danny Lennon himself. Danny Lennon that is, not MG (a.k.a. Danny Lennon).:wink:

p.s.- Danny Lennon. I'll stop now.

youngster
10-06-2014, 09:31 PM
what about a manager with a bit of lower league experience with a younger assistant?

building a team round both the younger guys in the squad that are left and a younger assistant manager who is assisted by an older wiser head similar to the Falkirk model with Alex Smith.

Someone like Dick Campbell or the likes i.e. someone who is well versed in the lower leagues and is well experienced? As for an assistant god knows but surely a look to long term is the best option.

10-06-2014, 09:36 PM
what about a manager with a bit of lower league experience with a younger assistant?

building a team round both the younger guys in the squad that are left and a younger assistant manager who is assisted by an older wiser head similar to the Falkirk model with Alex Smith.

Someone like Dick Campbell or the likes i.e. someone who is well versed in the lower leagues and is well experienced? As for an assistant god knows but surely a look to long term is the best option.

yes, lets ignore the move to modern thinking football...and get a football dinosaur..

10-06-2014, 09:38 PM
Do Barca have any decent interpreters on their books just now?

10-06-2014, 09:40 PM

Kept St Mirren in the SPFL.

10-06-2014, 09:43 PM
Kept St Mirren in the SPFL.

Gary Locke managed to finish with a better win ratio and would have finished second bottom with a piss poor squad. Should we consider him as well?? ;)

10-06-2014, 09:48 PM
Gary Locke managed to finish with a better win ratio and would have finished second bottom with a piss poor squad. Should we consider him as well?? ;)

I don't want Lennon as the manager, and NO.

10-06-2014, 09:50 PM
I don't want Lennon as the manager, and NO.

Haha thought that :D

Same here!!!

10-06-2014, 09:52 PM
No from me

10-06-2014, 09:53 PM
Not for me ............. nothing against him, unfairly sacked IMO. But I want to be inspired at this point.

Nutmegged
11-06-2014, 01:16 AM

Did Gary Locke win consecutive promotions to get a provincial club up to the second tier in Scottish Football then did he get his new club their hihest finish in 25 years while winning them the first national trophy in 26*years?

I'm not Championing Danny for the job but I doubt we'll attract anyone with experiance of success within Scotland that Lennon has.

overachieved at St Mirren, was a huge success in the lower leagues and has a big knowledge of all aspects of the Scottish game, I don't think he'd be the worst candidate