View Full Version : NHC England v Honduras

Stax
07-06-2014, 08:37 PM
Just starting on ITV, Jorge on the bench.

pontius pilate
07-06-2014, 08:39 PM
Good stuff thanks for that

07-06-2014, 08:48 PM
3 minutes in and no mention of 1966 :grr:

Stax
07-06-2014, 08:50 PM

07-06-2014, 08:52 PM

That was well covered in celebrity pointless earlier :greengrin

07-06-2014, 09:06 PM
Glad to see tylsleydale doing his pre match prep with andre marriner. Calling sturridge wellbeck!

07-06-2014, 09:08 PM
Game over?

Players off due the lightning. Half hour delay ffs.

07-06-2014, 09:08 PM
Electrical storm, players off the pitch for 30 mins

07-06-2014, 09:11 PM
Electrical storm, players off the pitch for 30 mins

Aye but was the ball over the line or had the Russian linesman been struck by that lightning? :greengrin

NthCarolinaHibs
07-06-2014, 09:11 PM
Weather problems..well if this is no a case for Summer football..eh..hod oan...

07-06-2014, 09:12 PM
Aye but was the ball over the line or had the Russian linesman been struck by that lightning? :greengrin

I am reliably informed that it was over the line :greengrin

07-06-2014, 09:41 PM
Adrian Chiles must be the biggest buffoon ever to appear on television.

07-06-2014, 09:43 PM
Back on in 10 mins

07-06-2014, 09:52 PM
Adrian Chiles must be the biggest buffoon ever to appear on television.

To be fair he has some pretty stiff competition, the likes of Gerry Armstrong, Mark Lawrenson and Liam MacLeod :wink:

07-06-2014, 10:00 PM
Quality tackle Izaguirre. :greengrin

Stax
07-06-2014, 10:01 PM
As an aside, I really think England / premiership sides are missing a trick not having Glen Hoddle involved in a coaching role. One of few pundits I enjoy listening to and always seems to be one step ahead in his analysis. His thoughts on "karma" another matter altogether though..wibble :greengrin

07-06-2014, 10:01 PM
WTF! Sturridge done well not to react to that.

07-06-2014, 10:02 PM
Some heavy challenges going in England team are pulling out them all over the sjop

07-06-2014, 10:13 PM
What channel is it on? I would look but the telly is off.

07-06-2014, 10:19 PM

No much point in asking for the channel then :greengrin

07-06-2014, 10:21 PM
The tackling hasn't been that bad, they're blowing it out of proportion. The one on Gerrard wasn't great, but it wasn't malicious or anything. The one of Sturridge on the halfway line was nothing at all, he didn't need to start rolling about like a wee bitch.

Cannae defend Izaguirre though, what the **** was he thinking? :greengrin

Stax
07-06-2014, 10:21 PM
973 on sky, but if yer telly's off your snookered :greengrin

07-06-2014, 10:22 PM
No much point in asking for the channel then :greengrin

:greengrin. It is now. Decided to leave my music on and watch the fitba without the commentary. Half time...come on Honduras.

07-06-2014, 10:23 PM
973 on sky, but if yer telly's off your snookered :greengrin

It's no the snooker am looking for it's the fitba. :greengrin

07-06-2014, 10:25 PM
No mention yet of 1966, I thought it was always mentioned :confused:

07-06-2014, 10:27 PM
No mention yet of 1966, I thought it was always mentioned :confused:

You just did !!!

GlasgowHibee
07-06-2014, 10:31 PM
Jorge Claros on for Honduras! :greengrin:thumbsup:

You just did !!!

So it's a.net myth that 1966 is always mentioned on TV when England play, maybe the 2nd half then...............................Claros is on

'Mon Claros!

Viva Claros :thumbsup:

07-06-2014, 10:33 PM
So it's a.net myth that 1966 is always mentioned on TV when England play, maybe the 2nd half then...............................Claros is on

They were too busy crying about the big bad Hondurans putting hard tackles on England players to talk about anything else.

07-06-2014, 10:34 PM
They were too busy crying about the big bad Hondurans putting hard tackles on England players to talk about anything else.

And rightly so!

07-06-2014, 10:34 PM
Hibs get a mention 'On comes the former Hibernian player, Claros, nicknamed Pitbull'

07-06-2014, 10:36 PM
Hibs get a mention 'On comes the former Hibernian player, Claros, nicknamed Pitbull'

You watching on a delay?

07-06-2014, 10:37 PM
You watching on a delay?

We all are :greengrin

07-06-2014, 10:39 PM
Hibs get a mention 'On comes the former Hibernian player, Claros, nicknamed Pitbull who once lost 5-1 in a Scottish Cup Final against their bitter rivals Hertz'

Thank goodness it wasn't Liam McLeod commenting :rolleyes:

07-06-2014, 10:40 PM
I miss Claros.

07-06-2014, 10:40 PM
We all are :greengrin

Are we?

07-06-2014, 10:41 PM
Are we?

Yes it was delayed for 40 mins :wink:

07-06-2014, 10:43 PM
Yes it was delayed for 40 mins :wink:

Of course. :aok:

AndyB_70
07-06-2014, 10:49 PM
Italy are nothing special. Might as well just give them the cup now.

07-06-2014, 10:51 PM
Italy are nothing special. Might as well just give them the cup now.

Italy are usually slow starters at tournaments, that's our best chance of beating them in my opinion

07-06-2014, 10:53 PM
And rightly so!

Was going to happen.....red card.

07-06-2014, 10:59 PM
Even James Collins would have tucked that chance away.

07-06-2014, 11:01 PM
Even James Collins would have tucked that chance away.

Joan might have but James nah

Stax
07-06-2014, 11:04 PM
Italy are usually slow starters at tournaments, that's our best chance of beating them in my opinion
Fair comment, fwiw I think Lallana will play a big part in England's performances and should start in that game.

07-06-2014, 11:04 PM
If only a lightning strike had hit Chiles and Townsend, Hoddle sweats for England,

07-06-2014, 11:07 PM
England need to learn how to keep possession otherwise they'll struggle.

07-06-2014, 11:09 PM
I know it's only a friendly but England are rank rotten of what I've seen up to now.

07-06-2014, 11:12 PM
I know it's only a friendly but England are rank rotten of what I've seen up to now.

:agree: Hoping they have a lot more to offer when the tournament starts.

07-06-2014, 11:13 PM
England

http://img.thesun.co.uk/aidemitlum/archive/01445/claros_1445982a.jpg

07-06-2014, 11:16 PM

They've no really been tested defensively, and it's just not came off for them going forward. Welbeck shouldn't be starting for them. Not good enough at all.

Lewis77
07-06-2014, 11:18 PM
Just genuinely heard the English commentator saying that "Honduras are very much like Costa Rica, so England don't have anything really to worry about".

This was said when the score was 0-0 and Honduras had played half the game with ten men. Over confidence?

During the Thunderstorm i think it was Townsend that was going on about how potent the front line was for England and how temas will struggle to handle them. Am i just missing something?

Wilshere is a really good player. I can't stand him to be honest. But he's so quick and tidy with the ball. More so than other players England have.

07-06-2014, 11:19 PM
Just genuinely heard the English commentator saying that "Honduras are very much like Costa Rica, so England don't have anything really to worry about".

This was said when the score was 0-0 and Honduras had played half the game with ten men. Over confidence?

No just confidence.

07-06-2014, 11:20 PM

I thought the same, but if this Honduras team beat Costa Rica twice, then I don't think they have anything to fear either.

07-06-2014, 11:20 PM
Good workout for a friendly......................next.

beensaidbefore
07-06-2014, 11:22 PM
Claros has looked decent tonight. Wish we could get him back. Composed on the ball, and can be seen to be organising the players around him. Very few England players attemptng to take the ball round him either. Could do with that kind of player for next year.

Anyone know if if he left on good terms with hibs, and was there any indication he would wish to return? Before anyone starts, i know it is unlikely he ever will return, just interested if he enjoyed his time here?

07-06-2014, 11:24 PM
Claros has looked decent tonight. Wish we could get him back. Composed on the ball, and can be seen to be organising the players around him. Very few England players attemptng to take the ball round him either. Could do with that kind of player for next year.

Anyone know if if he left on good terms with hibs, and was there any indication he would wish to return? Before anyone starts, i know it is unlikely he ever will return, just interested if he enjoyed his time here?

Abramovich needs to get him signed up.

07-06-2014, 11:25 PM
Been watching some of the USA v Nigeria, the US team play some tidy football.

beensaidbefore
07-06-2014, 11:27 PM
Abramovich needs to get him signed up.

Hmmm

Lewis77
07-06-2014, 11:27 PM
No just confidence.

Ha! We'll see.

07-06-2014, 11:30 PM
Ha! We'll see.

We will indeed :greengrin

07-06-2014, 11:37 PM
Been watching some of the USA v Nigeria, the US team play some tidy football.

Two **** teams. They'll do nowt at the World Cup.

08-06-2014, 12:23 AM
No just confidence.

Or maybe it it should slightly amended to no justified confidence !! or no justifiable confidence!

08-06-2014, 01:54 AM

Led to beeline he absolutely loved it here and was very settled ... However he won't be with us next season

08-06-2014, 02:46 AM

Predictable arrogance: that old assumption that England are so much bigger and better than they actually are and that it's a formality that they will crush all other "diddy" teams. They (the commentators) just never learn.

08-06-2014, 06:48 AM
Predictable arrogance: that old assumption that England are so much bigger and better than they actually are and that it's a formality that they will crush all other "diddy" teams. They (the commentators) just never learn.

I don't think there is anything arrogant in thinking that they should beat Honduras. The media down there have actually been very realistic for years, no worse than the Scottish media really.

08-06-2014, 07:33 AM
I don't think there is anything arrogant in thinking that they should beat Honduras. The media down there have actually been very realistic for years, no worse than the Scottish media really.

:agree: Absolutely, this media love England myth is ridiculous.

08-06-2014, 08:23 AM
[/B]

:agree: Absolutely, this media love England myth is ridiculous.

Nah. It's not.

08-06-2014, 08:37 AM
Load of rubbish of a game. Turned it over after a bit. Two awful teams:agree:

08-06-2014, 08:47 AM
Nah. It's not.

Blinkered.

08-06-2014, 08:50 AM
The majority of folk in England know they are nowhere near good enough to win the World Cup, to be fair a lot of the sensible media know it too, it's more the tabloids that try and whip them into a frenzy then kick them in the baws when it inevitably goes wrong.

08-06-2014, 08:52 AM
The majority of folk in England know they are nowhere near good enough to win the World Cup, to be fair a lot ofthe sensible media know it too, it's more the tabloids that try and whip them into a frenzy then kick the, in the baws when it inevitably goes wrong.

Correct, even Scouse Hibee knows this. :agree:

08-06-2014, 08:59 AM
Correct, even Scouse Hibee knows this. :agree:

Shssssssssssssssssssssssh I don't like to admit it too often though :wink: :greengrin

08-06-2014, 09:01 AM
Blinkered.

I was going for 'bigoted', but I'll take 'blinkered'. :na na:

08-06-2014, 09:17 AM
I was going for 'bigoted', but I'll take 'blinkered'. :na na:

08-06-2014, 09:48 AM
Most of the lads in my local were banging on about how they should "batter" such small teams. Mind you, most of the lads in my local know **** all about football.

One even said they'll beat Italy 4-0!

08-06-2014, 09:50 AM
Most of the lads in my local were banging on about how they should "batter" such small teams. Mind you, most of the lads in my local know **** all about football.

One even said they'll beat Italy 4-0!

I know plenty of Hibs fans that say the very same thing about Hibs, clueless the lot of them, England and Hibs fans.