View Full Version : MacDonald and Adu - anybody hearing these rumours?

03-06-2014, 05:40 PM
We're supposed to be in talks with MacDonald and I'm hearing something about Freddy Adu. Anybody heard anything?

03-06-2014, 05:42 PM
Adu must be late forties by now.

03-06-2014, 05:43 PM
Adu must be late forties by now.

He's 25.

03-06-2014, 05:44 PM
He's 25.

Aye, and I am 19.

03-06-2014, 05:45 PM
Aye, and I am 19.

Whats your problem? Freddy Adu is 25.

dmc1875
03-06-2014, 05:48 PM
Adu and MacDonald? Odd ones.

I would be ASTOUNDED if we signed three ex jambos in Stevenson Barr and MacDonald and even more shocked with adu and rumours about McFadden.

Tin hat on here... I would also be absolutely delighted

number 27
03-06-2014, 05:49 PM
Adu was being tipped to be the worlds best player at one point, it certainly would be strange to see him at Hibs.

03-06-2014, 05:50 PM
Adu and MacDonald? Odd ones.

I would be ASTOUNDED if we signed three ex jambos in Stevenson Barr and MacDonald and even more shocked with adu and rumours about McFadden.

Tin hat on here... I would also be absolutely delighted

I'd take MacDonald, Adu and McFadden. Rest I don't overly rate.

I'd be very happy with MacDonald. Good keeper and a decent guy.

Just don't see it though, think he could do better than the Championship.

Whats your problem? Freddy Adu is 25.

He put in a transfer request on fitba manager.

Pray4Marc
03-06-2014, 05:51 PM
We're supposed to be in talks with MacDonald and I'm hearing something about Freddy Adu. Anybody heard anything?

Have you been playing Football Manager 2003?

03-06-2014, 05:54 PM
Have you been playing Football Manager 2003?

No, hilarious stuff though. I'd welcome Adu to be honest as he could/should do a very good job in Championship.

Don't play any games. Obvious to see that no one has heard of the Adu rumours then and resorting to the smart **** comments again!

It's simply something I've heard. As well as the MacDonald one.

blaikie
03-06-2014, 05:55 PM
If we are going for Football Manager type signings somebody should tell Butcher to sign up Mark Kerr!!!!

Lmc2105
03-06-2014, 05:58 PM
Being the Hibernian Researcher for Football Manager I could only imagine how Hibees who play the game would react!

He was classed as a wonder kid!!!

03-06-2014, 06:00 PM
If we are going for Football Manager type signings somebody should tell Butcher to sign up Mark Kerr!!!!

What the hell is "Football Manager type signings"? He has played 17 games for the American top team. Has played in Brazil, played in Portugal (Benfica) and various European clubs.

He may be better in a game than in real life but so are most players. I'd welcome him over the most other wingers we're likely to be linked with.

Once again, only something I've heard. Could be drivel, who knows.

03-06-2014, 06:02 PM
Did you read this on Facebook, or Twitter? :rolleyes:

hfc-1875
03-06-2014, 06:04 PM
No, hilarious stuff though. I'd welcome Adu to be honest as he could/should do a very good job in Championship.

Don't play any games. Obvious to see that no one has heard of the Adu rumours then and resorting to the smart **** comments again!

It's simply something I've heard. As well as the MacDonald one.

When was the last time u seen adu play?

03-06-2014, 06:04 PM
Did you read this on Facebook, or Twitter? :rolleyes:

Neither. Heard it from someone and asking if anybody on here knew about it. Asking to see if it a rumour with some foundation.

03-06-2014, 06:06 PM
When was the last time u seen adu play?

When was the last time you saw him play? Am I a scout for Hibs or something? Merely stating if he is anything like he was, he'd be worth signing up. If he isn't, then he isn't.

03-06-2014, 06:07 PM

Where are you getting this information .... Sorry no rumours.

Football rumours/agent scotland??

hfc-1875
03-06-2014, 06:07 PM
When was the last time you saw him play? Am I a scout for Hibs or something? Merely stating if he is anything like he was, he'd be worth signing up. If he isn't, then he isn't.

Never seen him play to be honest. But I'm not the one saying he'd be a good addition because of a reputation he had about 10 years ago.

03-06-2014, 06:13 PM
New American owners will want him as their first signing

03-06-2014, 06:18 PM
Never seen him play to be honest. But I'm not the one saying he'd be a good addition because of a reputation he had about 10 years ago.

Ah, apologies. Didn't realise I wasn't allowed an opinion.

If you haven't seen him play ever, how do you feel you are allowed to criticise someone for thinking he'd be worth having? I've seen him play at Benfica (not 10 years ago) and seen some clips of him at AS Monaco (also not 10 years ago) and it shows a skilful winger. I might be wrong and this is just something I've heard.

03-06-2014, 06:18 PM
Much Adu about nothing imo........

03-06-2014, 06:19 PM
Where are you getting this information .... Sorry no rumours.

Football rumours/agent scotland??

MacDonald rumours are rife and are on Twitter amongst other places.

Adu as previously stated was something I've heard - I came here seeking to find whether there is any substance to it.

03-06-2014, 06:25 PM
MacDonald rumours are rife and are on Twitter amongst other places. Adu as previously stated was something I've heard - I came here seeking to find whether there is any substance to it.

I have been aware of the Macdonald rumour for a bit. Where did you hear the adu something???

03-06-2014, 06:26 PM
I have been aware of the Macdonald rumour for a bit. Where did you hear the adu something???

Why does that matter? I came here to see if there is anything to it - guess there isn't.

03-06-2014, 06:26 PM
I usually get bored of ridiculous rumours at the end if the season, but Freddy Adu has really made me laugh so thanks to whoever thought up that one.

If only we can get Isaac Okoronkwo, Julius Agahowa and Tommy Scindal Larsen too.

03-06-2014, 06:28 PM
How about Ibrahima Bakayoko? Anyone heard anything about him?

Hibstrooper
03-06-2014, 06:28 PM
Why does that matter? I came here to see if there is anything to it - guess there isn't.

You should PM someone ITK like BMs Dug :agree:

03-06-2014, 06:29 PM
Adu is another who says he's 25 but he's late 30's lol.

Joking aside not heard anything but I'd take him right now! MacDonald I think will sign for us.

Edit.. Wonder if the deal to bring Brill down is off since we've been relegated.

03-06-2014, 06:30 PM
[QUOTE="madhatter;4046501"] Why does that matter? I came here to see if there is anything to it - guess there isn't.[/

I'm just asking like as it's clear there are a lot of new ITK folk on here just now. Just wanted to know if there were any substance to you sources that's all.

03-06-2014, 06:31 PM
We have this thread about signings and another on Butcher being sacked, how can this be or is LD playing football manager already ?.

03-06-2014, 06:33 PM
I usually get bored of ridiculous rumours at the end if the season, but Freddy Adu has really made me laugh so thanks to whoever thought up that one.

If only we can get Isaac Okoronkwo, Julius Agahowa and Tommy Scindal Larsen too.

How is it ridiculous? He is without a club and unlike the players you mentioned isn't 30+ (late 30s for Okoronkwo and Larsen).

Incidentally, I believe it is Tommy Svindal Larsen. Who is 40. Freddy Adu is 25. Why is it so difficult to grasp?

03-06-2014, 06:34 PM
[QUOTE="madhatter;4046501"] Why does that matter? I came here to see if there is anything to it - guess there isn't.[/

I'm just asking like as it's clear there are a lot of new ITK folk on here just now. Just wanted to know if there were any substance to you sources that's all.

Did I profess to be ITK? I said I heard something - I then asked a question. I didn't say "Adu to sign 3 year deal tomorrow", did I?

03-06-2014, 06:38 PM
I didn't say you were ITK I said there were a lot of new ITK folk in here.

Just asked a question that's all?? So where did you hear the Adu rumour then??

03-06-2014, 06:42 PM
What's To Madeira up to these days?

03-06-2014, 06:48 PM
I didn't say you were ITK I said there were a lot of new ITK folk in here.

Just asked a question that's all?? So where did you hear the Adu rumour then??

I also just asked a question in my post. Most posts have been suggesting he is 50+ years old. Tell you what, there was similar rumours about N****wo Kanu and Jay Jay Okocha when they played - Kanu was supposed to be 47-50 when at Portsmouth if you believe things. Even with the age lies, if they are true, I'd still have taken both of them.

In terms of the rumour. I could have over heard it in the lav for all it matters. I've come here to see if anybody had heard something - once again not professing to be in the know so why have such a "give us your sources!" type response...

03-06-2014, 06:56 PM
I also just asked a question in my post. Most posts have been suggesting he is 50+ years old. Tell you what, there was similar rumours about N****wo Kanu and Jay Jay Okocha when they played - Kanu was supposed to be 47-50 when at Portsmouth if you believe things. Even with the age lies, if they are true, I'd still have taken both of them. In terms of the rumour. I could have over heard it in the lav for all it matters. I've come here to see if anybody had heard something - once again not professing to be in the know so why have such a "give us your sources!" type response...

I never queried any ages etc just curious as to where you had heard it that's all. Not a rumour that has been doing the rounds.

Tbh you'll have to expect those sort of questions when you post a rumour or something you've heard on here.

nribs
03-06-2014, 07:00 PM
I also just asked a question in my post. Most posts have been suggesting he is 50+ years old. Tell you what, there was similar rumours about N****wo Kanu and Jay Jay Okocha when they played - Kanu was supposed to be 47-50 when at Portsmouth if you believe things. Even with the age lies, if they are true, I'd still have taken both of them.

In terms of the rumour. I could have over heard it in the lav for all it matters. I've come here to see if anybody had heard something - once again not professing to be in the know so why have such a "give us your sources!" type response...

Nah haven't heard anything what have you heard?

03-06-2014, 07:00 PM

Need to get in on kallstrom an aw, hacken should let him go for about 55k, bargain IMO

03-06-2014, 07:01 PM
Cherno Samba joining as well

03-06-2014, 07:03 PM
I never queried any ages etc just curious as to where you had heard it that's all. Not a rumour that has been doing the rounds.

Tbh you'll have to expect those sort of questions when you post a rumour or something you've heard on here.

Tbh I know that. Seems large portions of the support would be disappointed unless Messi and Ronaldo were signing and Louis Van Gaal had second thoughts about Man Utd and decided to come to Hibs. I'm certainly not at liberty to tell anybody my source especially since in this case (as my question suggests) they are probably unreliable.

James.
03-06-2014, 07:06 PM
Cherno Samba joining as well

With Taribo West on a free transfer I heard :agree:

03-06-2014, 07:06 PM

Unreal on Champ Man 01/02

03-06-2014, 07:07 PM
Fredy adu is rubbish always was. 100 percent hype.

mince at benfica.

03-06-2014, 07:08 PM
Does it really matter where anyone actually heard anything, I think it's shocking the way people are jumping down the throats of anyone who says they heard something, this biard is getting ****ing ridiculous at times.

03-06-2014, 07:10 PM

mince at benfica.

Yep, read that on Benfica.net.

03-06-2014, 07:11 PM

Be better off with John West

03-06-2014, 07:11 PM
Adu is another who says he's 25 but he's late 30's lol.

Joking aside not heard anything but I'd take him right now! MacDonald I think will sign for us.

Edit.. Wonder if the deal to bring Brill down is off since we've been relegated.

Any info or just a hunch?

davehiby
03-06-2014, 07:14 PM
[QUOTE=madhatter;4046471]When was the last time you saw him play? Am I a scout for Hibs or something? Merely stating if he is anything like he was, he'd be worth signing up. If he isn't, then he isn't.[/Q

:top marks :not worth

03-06-2014, 07:15 PM

Or Fred.

03-06-2014, 07:16 PM
Remember the days when we were linked with the likes of Daniel Braatan?

The Tubs
03-06-2014, 07:18 PM

I heard there's a guy called Fred West who's lethal at burying chances away.

davehiby
03-06-2014, 07:18 PM
Or Fred.

think hes a bit hung up the now !

03-06-2014, 07:20 PM
Yep, read that on Benfica.net.

Don't think there is a benfica.net

watched a full season worth of benfica games when he was there (on tv admittedly) but he was terrible.

much Ado about Adu

mince at benfica.

Not as big as the hype about Hibs then clearly - you honestly think a player that was mince at Benfica couldn't do a job at Hibs?

We're a championship club and a hostile one to work for. Too many people living in the past.

He may be crap and may not come but as I stated, unless Ronaldo, Messi or similar are rumoured, or some illustrious return of "one of our own", people on here will always be disappointed.

We could use a player with some hype at ER. Too many with nothing about them. I'd prefer to buy a shirt with Adu on the back than Matt Done.

Whoever comes, like any management team, will get no patience and no acceptance unless they are "one of our own", or a "tried and tested journeyman". Anyone else, whether they be an unknown quantity or a player with hype will not be welcomed unless they pull the cat out of the bag within the first 5 games. This is, without doubt, a big problem at Hibs as well. No patience, I understand this, but remember any new player we may get will have had no hand in our relegation or our fall. Remember the boos that Wotherspoon got? Done alright for himself when he got away and was given some patience and understanding. Focus any negative comments to Petrie and boards' door - Petrie Out!

Mark79
03-06-2014, 07:22 PM
Freddy Guarin and david bellion are the two I have heard.

SuperAllyMcleod
03-06-2014, 07:23 PM

This really deserved a better response than being ignored,

03-06-2014, 07:28 PM

The club have certainly signed a few relatives of Kerr though most with the first name of Juan. :greengrin

Aldoo
03-06-2014, 07:28 PM
Much adu about nothing from Smartie

This really deserved a better response than being ignored,

Agreed, I was frantically scrolling through the thread ignoring the bickering to see if someone had posted this before I got the chance. Good to see that it was maybe a namesake that had got there first.

03-06-2014, 07:29 PM
Marc Emmers.

Aww man, Belgian midfielder in his mid-thirties, available on a free. An absolute Rolls-Royce of a midfielder on Champ Man, cannae mind if it was Champ Man 98 or Champ Man 01/02. Either way, I loved that guy.

03-06-2014, 07:29 PM
I'm certainly not at liberty to tell anybody my source.

Because it's one of your mates at the wind up. I hope for your sake he doesn't read Hibs.net!

03-06-2014, 07:30 PM
Because it's one of your mates at the wind up. I hope for your sake he doesn't read Hibs.net!

Nah, it isn't. Good one - I wouldn't keep guessing, save your time.

03-06-2014, 07:31 PM
New American owners will want him as their first signing

....before McLeish arrives?

Bronson
03-06-2014, 07:37 PM
Freddy Guarin and david bellion are the two I have heard.

We could sign Djemba-Djemba and reunite two of Fergie's worst ever signings.

Is Quinton Fortune still kicking a ball?

03-06-2014, 07:40 PM
Adu was being tipped to be the worlds best player at one point, it certainly would be strange to see him at Hibs.

I thought that was Joe Tortolano?

03-06-2014, 07:41 PM
We could sign Djemba-Djemba and reunite two of Fergie's worst ever signings.

Is Quinton Fortune still kicking a ball?

Don't worry about Sauzee4's obsession with Bellion. If he was gay, he'd be with him. FACT! :greengrin

03-06-2014, 07:55 PM
Adu is definitely signing. He's bought a house at Porty . #aduliketobebesidetheseaside

Bronson
03-06-2014, 07:57 PM
Don't worry about Sauzee4's obsession with Bellion. If he was gay, he'd be with him. FACT! :greengrin

What an odd player to be obsessed with, he was murder!!

03-06-2014, 07:59 PM

It's not for me to judge but I agree it's weird.

03-06-2014, 08:01 PM
Adu is definitely signing. He's bought a house at Porty . #aduliketobebesidetheseaside

Can't believe this made me laugh!! ( head hanging in shame)

03-06-2014, 08:19 PM
Blackpool rejected him after trial in January

Saying that if there's truth in this and he signs I hope he does well and deff won't be turning my nose up

Mark79
03-06-2014, 08:21 PM

Not on fitba manager he wisnae......and at that point he was a sunderland player.

03-06-2014, 08:27 PM
I thought that was Joe Tortolano?

Na it was Steve Baggio Fulton :agree:

03-06-2014, 08:27 PM

It got me too. :no way:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tW3HN_pvbE4

03-06-2014, 08:28 PM
It got me too. :no way:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tW3HN_pvbE4

Hee hee it's only going to get worse from here!!

03-06-2014, 08:30 PM

Classic.... had me laughing

03-06-2014, 08:32 PM
Hee hee it's only going to get worse from here!!

Adutit !

03-06-2014, 08:33 PM
Adutit !

Haha, I rest my case!

03-06-2014, 08:33 PM
Anyone else think this is all a load of made up pish?
Adu.

03-06-2014, 08:34 PM
Need to adopt the black lace number if he signs 😉

Bronson
03-06-2014, 08:35 PM
The jokes are terrible, can't take it anymore.

Going to have to bid you all Adu.

03-06-2014, 08:44 PM

I'm blaming a long day at work, it's clearly the tiredness that had me quietly chuckling away.

nribs
03-06-2014, 08:45 PM
Anyone else think this is all a load of made up pish?
Adu.

Adutoo

03-06-2014, 08:46 PM

:faf::faf:

03-06-2014, 08:49 PM

This is the winter of our discontent :greengrin

03-06-2014, 08:55 PM
Adu is absolutely woeful.

03-06-2014, 08:57 PM

jst1875
03-06-2014, 09:03 PM
Butchers stool pigeon for next season..
Adu

supershotmo
03-06-2014, 09:04 PM
Agadoo doo doo

03-06-2014, 09:17 PM
This is the winter of our discontent :greengrin

There was sale advert in the window of Blacks the camping specialists - 'Now is the discount of our winter tents'.

crewetollhibee
03-06-2014, 09:29 PM
There was sale advert in the window of Blacks the camping specialists - 'Now is the discount of our winter tents'.

Brilliant.

03-06-2014, 09:30 PM
Blackpool rejected him after trial in January

Saying that if there's truth in this and he signs I hope he does well and deff won't be turning my nose up

I wouldn't worry, he is rejecting everyone these days, nice lad though.

03-06-2014, 09:37 PM
This is a 4 page thread of guff

Glorious St Pat
03-06-2014, 10:15 PM
I'd take MacDonald, Adu and McFadden. Rest I don't overly rate.

My Motherwell season-ticker holder brother-in-law just said to me the other day that McFadden was finished. Full of bright intentions but his legs have gone. Claimed he was struggling in games to last the pace hence why Motherwell empted him.

villager
03-06-2014, 10:40 PM
http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2070622-what-happened-to-americas-pele-the-rise-and-fall-of-freddy-adu

03-06-2014, 10:41 PM
Mika Aaritalo available?

03-06-2014, 11:15 PM
I'd be very happy with MacDonald. Good keeper and a decent guy.

Just don't see it though, think he could do better than the Championship.

Overheard a conversation in a prominent Edinburgh hotel between two business guys who were tsliking àbout Hibs with one of them related to McDonald and the relative said that McDonald was in talks with Hibs but that he still had a possible "testimonial" to get from Hearts although he felt that was more of a hope after the administration!

03-06-2014, 11:20 PM
Ronald McDonald? It would make sense if we still had a Butcher in charge.

dmc1875
03-06-2014, 11:21 PM
Adu is nowhere near as good as his name and reputation suggests

03-06-2014, 11:24 PM
Mika Aaritalo available?

:rotflmao:

Used to sign him for £100k and sell him 12 months later for £20m+.....one of the gems of all time. :agree:

04-06-2014, 01:01 AM
:rotflmao:

Used to sign him for £100k and sell him 12 months later for £20m+.....one of the gems of all time. :agree:

Legend. Scored a barrel load.

GlenrothesHibee
04-06-2014, 02:33 PM
On Twitter that we are after him. Can anyone shed more light on this?

E10 Rifle
04-06-2014, 02:34 PM
It's not been mentioned on here and the silence from the club on this issue is deafening

Cherno Samba too. Heard Sam Dalla Bona is in contact with us as well.

http://i.imgur.com/jxUF01M.gif

04-06-2014, 02:39 PM
Was training with Blackpool.

He's the next Russell Latapy don't you know?

04-06-2014, 02:42 PM
It's not been mentioned on here and the silence from the club on this issue is deafening

This was being discussed at some length somewhere on here earlier today or yesterday.. Sorry can't remember the thread title.

R11Loaded
04-06-2014, 02:49 PM
His fall from Football Manager grace is almost complete

Class doesn't show on a maroon jersey

ManBearPig
04-06-2014, 03:01 PM
His fall from Football Manager grace is almost complete

this. fm legend along with bakayoko

04-06-2014, 03:03 PM
Fred Adu doo doo push pineapple shake the tree...

04-06-2014, 03:11 PM
My ITK mate says we're waiting for him to get back from his holidays before speaking to him. Seemingly he's taken a caravan up at Seton Sands and is having a whale of a time.

#Aduliketobebesidetheseaside

04-06-2014, 03:12 PM
My ITK mate says we're waiting for him to get back from his holidays before speaking to him. Seemingly he's taken a caravan up at Seton Sands and is having a whale of a time.

#Aduliketobebesidetheseaside

:not worth

R11Loaded
04-06-2014, 03:16 PM
this. fm legend along with bakayoko

Although in saying this, we will be in the Scottish championship and if his mind was right he might be worth a go

ManBearPig
04-06-2014, 03:26 PM
Although in saying this, we will be in the Scottish championship and if his mind was right he might be worth a go

certainly had ability. might need work permit though

04-06-2014, 03:45 PM
Fred Adu doo doo push pineapple shake the tree...

McGivern - Ad-a-few-few-few-a-few-too-ma-ny

Edmond Dantes
04-06-2014, 04:38 PM
Cherno Samba too. Heard Sam Dalla Bona is in contact with us as well.

Rumour has it we're in for To Madeira as well

04-06-2014, 04:44 PM
We're going to sign Kenny Miller too donchaknow! He'll walk over hot coals to come back to his beloved club...

04-06-2014, 04:46 PM
Rumour has it we're in for To Madeira as well

Where's he at now? Heard he was a bit of a one season wonder...

04-06-2014, 06:45 PM

Do you work in Greggs? You seem to hear a different rumour every day.

brian6-2
05-06-2014, 07:43 AM
Titus Bramble. A name thats been put to me by two different folk linking him to us.

07-06-2014, 03:19 PM
Do you work in Greggs? You seem to hear a different rumour every day.

Drives the 26 bus I believe?? :-)