View Full Version : Sam Stanton to be released ???
31-05-2014, 09:35 AM
I'm probably giving butcher to much credit but maybe he has told all the players they're free to go so he can see who's up for the fight. If all the young boys come back and say we're staying then he will know he has a squad that's together and ready to fight for the club. As I said though I'm probably giving him to much credit.
31-05-2014, 09:41 AM
I'm probably giving butcher to much credit but maybe he has told all the players they're free to go so he can see who's up for the fight. If all the young boys come back and say we're staying then he will know he has a squad that's together and ready to fight for the club. As I said though I'm probably giving him to much credit.
It would be nice if Butcher told the supporters what he's up to.
31-05-2014, 09:50 AM
To be fare to Rod it's good news he has the relegation clause in the contracts. No player at Easter Road that played there part in the relegation should be rewarded with the same salary as they had in the SPL.
I want Stanton to stay as the lad has potential and will do a job fir us next season.
New players coming in: Hibs should stretch themselves financially to get us the quality needed to become a decent team that entertains and will get us out the championship the first time of calling.
I mostly agree with this but it is mental to use it as a blunt instrument, no successful business gives exactly the same to everyone or you tend not to keep the good ones.
We really need to find a way to benchmark at 50% if the reduction does indeed apply then vary according to who did do better or who we regard as a prospect or investment, to bludgeon everyone the same way takes no account of potential to develop for us or the likely sell on value if properly managed. On a straightforward performance basis there's plenty of "experienced" better paid players who should be behind the youngsters on the pay scale.
Losing Stanton or Cummings and to a lesser extent Harris and Forster because of this would be ludicrous and would actually be the thing that has the biggest negative effect on my thinking for next season.
31-05-2014, 09:51 AM
Aye, like when he is leaving.
31-05-2014, 09:52 AM
I imagine Stanton and Harris could pick up a team with no issues, probably at the same level of pay or higher than 50% of their current level. To the Club they are assets that if properly developed could be worth multiples of this salary later.
Putting aside the situation with Rod surely the Club should find some way of seeking direct sponsorship of these players to help retain their salary, retain their skill and their motivation in a season we well need them.
I for one would do so and would seek repayment on their sale - or something like this! I imagine their could be others who would do the same for our key talent - or am I thinking this is too imaginative?
**** them if they don't want to stay because of the wage cut well I guess they need to took over the road to understand what loyalty is I'm football and especially at such a young ages with a long career ahead of them. It will be the usual agents filling their heads with pish where loyalty goes out the window. If they do go for money reasons, well **** them for me.
however especially from Harris perspective it's more likely he wants to get away from the management team and this an opportunity to do so.
31-05-2014, 09:53 AM
Is this entire thread just speculation? I would love for the club every once in a while to come out and squash these sorts of rumours. That means Terry coming and saying something to reassure fans and players.
31-05-2014, 09:56 AM
It worrys me that San has deleted his twitter. I was hoping to read him saying it's nonsense but instead I find he is no longer there. Hate hibs silence in all this for once it would be nice to know what's going on.
31-05-2014, 10:04 AM
Is this entire thread just speculation? I would love for the club every once in a while to come out and squash these sorts of rumours. That means Terry coming and saying something to reassure fans and players.
It worrys me that San has deleted his twitter. I was hoping to read him saying it's nonsense but instead I find he is no longer there. Hate hibs silence in all this for once it would be nice to know what's going on.
Its definitely not nonsense chaps
(((Fergus)))
31-05-2014, 10:23 AM
To be fare to Rod it's good news he has the relegation clause in the contracts. No player at Easter Road that played there part in the relegation should be rewarded with the same salary as they had in the SPL.
I want Stanton to stay as the lad has potential and will do a job fir us next season.
New players coming in: Hibs should stretch themselves financially to get us the quality needed to become a decent team that entertains and will get us out the championship the first time of calling.
I wonder if Celtic players have a relegation clause in their contracts.
31-05-2014, 10:48 AM
Anyone know where Butcher actually is??? Seems to have dropped off a cliff since last Sunday? ? In hiding perhaps? ?
Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
31-05-2014, 10:55 AM
I find it quite unbelievable that because youngster Sam Stanton didn't perform heroically in a struggling pathetic insipid excuse for a Hibs side that many appear to be writing him off.
The reality of Rod Petrie as chairman is James Collins on ten times that of Sam Stanton...
31-05-2014, 12:26 PM
Anyone know if Booth will be staying or has he been told to go aswell?
Anyone know where Butcher actually is??? Seems to have dropped off a cliff since last Sunday? ? In hiding perhaps? ? Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Hopefully away speaking with players he is trying to sign!!
31-05-2014, 12:32 PM
I find it quite unbelievable that because youngster Sam Stanton didn't perform heroically in a struggling pathetic insipid excuse for a Hibs side that many appear to be writing him off.
The reality of Rod Petrie as chairman is James Collins on ten times that of Sam Stanton...
I don't see anyone, never mind many people, writing Stanton off. Certainly not on this thread.
My own point of view is that if we can get someone better in this season and need Sam's wage to do it, then we should do it because we need to come back up asap.
In an ideal world, we'd keep him, he'd fill that role himself, and we get the best of both worlds. I think he has loads of potential to be a cracking player. Potential may not be enough to bring us up, though.
Stepping outside of emotional attachment to the youth players though, I can't hand on heart say that Stanton was convincing enough regularly enough to make me think he'd stroll through the Championship. Certainly when I think of the other youth players I think there is as compelling an argument to replace them with better (again, providing we can get better) as there is to persevere with them.
31-05-2014, 12:36 PM
Sorry, letting the likes of Stanton and Forster go at this stage is absolutely ridiculous. Really felt for them last season stuck in there with the pathetic excuses for so called experienced football players who should have been helping them along.
BarneyK
31-05-2014, 02:16 PM
£8k a week! :devil:
31-05-2014, 06:33 PM
Maybe of all the most important clauses on relgation should be in Rod's contract...
31-05-2014, 06:44 PM
Maybe of all the most important clauses on relgation should be in Rod's contract...
Clause 17.a. Relegation.
Should Hibernian FC be relegated I Rod Petrie will agree to relocate to another continent, donate my share holding to Kicks for Kids and shave off my mustache.
31-05-2014, 07:31 PM
Sorry, letting the likes of Stanton and Forster go at this stage is absolutely ridiculous. Really felt for them last season stuck in there with the pathetic excuses for so called experienced football players who should have been helping them along.
It's akin to selling the family silver and smacks of short term thinking if not desperation. Hopefully these rumours have no substance.
31-05-2014, 08:02 PM
It's akin to selling the family silver and smacks of short term thinking if not desperation. Hopefully these rumours have no substance.
They are not rumours mate, they are unfortunately fact.
31-05-2014, 08:50 PM
J, can you follow the logic of giving Sammy a new and relatively lengthy new contract only to turn around a few weeks later and tell him he may have to move on? Buggered if I can :confused:
Bronson
31-05-2014, 08:53 PM
If you don't mind me asking, you know this how?
31-05-2014, 09:07 PM
Is Sam staying then???
edwards
31-05-2014, 09:14 PM
J, can you follow the logic of giving Sammy a new and relatively lengthy new contract only to turn around a few weeks later and tell him he may have to move on? Buggered if I can :confused:
Jonny probably because they could sell him on for decent money and to help us next season with the dwindling season ticket sales nothing would shock me with petrie. Possibly an english club have been sniffing about with a hlaf decent bid.
31-05-2014, 09:26 PM
Hehe quality made me proper laugh
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
This Santon guys got a draughty contract seems to be the gist of it.
31-05-2014, 09:29 PM
Is that a Hibs Net Fact or a real fact? If real then how do you know?
31-05-2014, 10:14 PM
It's a fact it doesn't matter how he knows, I know or anyone else on here we wouldn't post it if it's not true believe me.
31-05-2014, 10:27 PM
Sounds like the wrong players are bring punted so far...
I don't really disagree with Thomson, McPake etc but it's annoying that Collins, Nelson, McGivern, Craig etc are still there.
31-05-2014, 10:31 PM
I don't really disagree with Thomson, McPake etc but it's annoying that Collins, Nelson, McGivern, Craig etc are still there.
All four are under contract and the transfer window is still shut. Are you finding this difficult to follow?
31-05-2014, 10:33 PM
Been told to find new clubs so hopefully wont be here much longer.
31-05-2014, 10:37 PM
No chance of Nelson or McGivern finding new clubs!! We're stuck with them I'm afraid.
31-05-2014, 10:38 PM
Been told to find new clubs so hopefully wont be here much longer.
Two of these guys would struggle to get a game in non league football. The choice is yours.
31-05-2014, 10:38 PM
No chance of Nelson or McGivern finding new clubs!! We're stuck with them I'm afraid.
Mystic Meg eh !!
31-05-2014, 10:59 PM
I get what you are saying about young players TH. I am more concerned about how we are going to attract the bit of quality we are going to need to the club if we are offering less than £1000 per week. I would bet there are clubs in English non league paying more than that.I don't think it's a "bit of quality" we'll need for the coming season. It will need a whole lot of quality, and a hellava lot more guts and determination to get this club to where it really should be in the coming year. we MUST be striving to be in the top 2 or 3 for most of the season then push on to get back to the premier league. anything else will be an abject failure and see us losing even more fans, and more chance of getting out of the sheitehole we are now in. I am sick to the back teeth of hearing that it will be a better league, very interesting, good to go to other grounds we've not been to in years etc. I am prepared to go to these places, to support my team but it is at the very top end of Scottish football that I expect us to be, and feel that the fans deserve to be.!
31-05-2014, 11:00 PM
Gary Mackay I believe is Sams agent Gary Mackay I believe is a jambo fud
31-05-2014, 11:11 PM
that argument is nonsense. If they have signed contracts for ex amounts, then that is binding, surely the European laws would defend that, unless you're more a UKIP man than you suggest. while we're on it, why are you suggesting that we be fair to Rod? if he has connived, and construed and cajoled young players to sign 4 year deals, as previously suggested then somehow slipped in a wee clause here or there to cover his bets then he should be lambasted, hounded and possibly charged for fraudulent actions if it were to come out that way.
31-05-2014, 11:16 PM
that argument is nonsense. If they have signed contracts for ex amounts, then that is binding, surely the European laws would defend that, unless you're more a UKIP man than you suggest. while we're on it, why are you suggesting that we be fair to Rod? if he has connived, and construed and cajoled young players to sign 4 year deals, as previously suggested then somehow slipped in a wee clause here or there to cover his bets then he should be lambasted, hounded and possibly charged for fraudulent actions if it were to come out that way.
Lets be honest there was no underhand slipping clauses into any players contracts so this speculation Ned's to stop.
im more interested in loyalty, I've said before,if anyone wants away for financial reasons then they should be ashamed. They have taken this club to the championship and should have the fire in their belly to make sure they do all they can to get us back up not just move because I they can get better money especially young guys with 15 years ahead of them in the game.
31-05-2014, 11:24 PM
Lol, lol and lol again..... So Rod is now fraudulently and deviously fooling both players and their agents but it has never once been reported in the press? There are threads on this site which are becoming ridiculous and some posters are losing all sense of perspective....
31-05-2014, 11:25 PM
I'm probably giving butcher to much credit but maybe he has told all the players they're free to go so he can see who's up for the fight. If all the young boys come back and say we're staying then he will know he has a squad that's together and ready to fight for the club. As I said though I'm probably giving him to much credit.is that really the kind of manager we need though? right boys, who wants to stay? remember, I bring a big bag o' buns to EM every Monday morning!. we need someone, who can stand up, tell everyone what his plans are for the team and who he wants to stay. I've never seen such a shambolic response or action from the current incumbents ever, and they have made some absolute schoolboy howlers. they've released 2 players that were fit for weeks, that we badly needed weeks ago and then this sheite about releasing some of our best young talent that were pushed into games when others were on standby with experience and match fitness. :grr:
31-05-2014, 11:29 PM
is that really the kind of manager we need though? right boys, who wants to stay? remember, I bring a big bag o' buns to EM every Monday morning!. we need someone, who can stand up, tell everyone what his plans are for the team and who he wants to stay. I've never seen such a shambolic response or action from the current incumbents ever, and they have made some absolute schoolboy howlers. they've released 2 players that were fit for weeks, that we badly needed weeks ago and then this sheite about releasing some of our best young talent that were pushed into games when others were on standby with experience and match fitness. :grr:
re the buns, the players actually get cakes on a Friday, yup a Friday where the loser of a drill on the Thursday, has to bring them in. Gregg's make a roaring trade, 30 cakes picked up on the way to east mains......so it's chippes and cakes, what next he's gona bring sushi in on Wednesdays to even up the health balance :greengrin
31-05-2014, 11:30 PM
My dog died about three weeks ago and I am starting to think that the Machiavellian Rod Petrie was to blame. He is guilty of everything else in the world according to Hibs.net so it shouldn't be too difficult to convince a Hibs supporting judge that he killed ma dug should it? Now to tell the vet to keep quiet that the hound was 15 with failing kidneys........
31-05-2014, 11:32 PM
Ok well can some answer me this. Does Sam want to be at hibs? Is it only a wage that's the problem??
31-05-2014, 11:32 PM
All four are under contract and the transfer window is still shut. Are you finding this difficult to follow? I am not finding it difficult to follow, and I'm sure the poster you refer to does not either. we are, smartarse, venting our feelings on here about our club and the way it is being run. 2 of our best (such as it was) and experienced players who have been match fit for weeks yet put on the sidelines, are serious reasons why we are pissed off seeing them released. they should have been played/used weeks ago, to help us get out of the position we are in, and I am sure you know that.
31-05-2014, 11:35 PM
Ok well can some answer me this. Does Sam want to be at hibs? Is it only a wage that's the problem??
31-05-2014, 11:37 PM
re the buns, the players actually get cakes on a Friday, yup a Friday where the loser of a drill on the Thursday, has to bring them in. Gregg's make a roaring trade, 30 cakes picked up on the way to east mains......so it's chippes and cakes, what next he's gona bring sushi in on Wednesdays to even up the health balance :greengrin I lost a masonary drill once, never had any complaints from my mates though
31-05-2014, 11:39 PM
My dog died about three weeks ago and I am starting to think that the Machiavellian Rod Petrie was to blame. He is guilty of everything else in the world according to Hibs.net so it shouldn't be too difficult to convince a Hibs supporting judge that he killed ma dug should it? Now to tell the vet to keep quiet that the hound was 15 with failing kidneys........I feel sorry for your dug's mate
31-05-2014, 11:43 PM
I am not finding it difficult to follow, and I'm sure the poster you refer to does not either. we are, smartarse, venting our feelings on here about our club and the way it is being run. 2 of our best (such as it was) and experienced players who have been match fit for weeks yet put on the sidelines, are serious reasons why we are pissed off seeing them released. they should have been played/used weeks ago, to help us get out of the position we are in, and I am sure you know that.
Not being a smartarse - it was a daft statement with no basis in clear thought. Like a great deal of what has been spouted on this forum since we were relegated it was simply an excuse to whine with no clear answers for the way forward. Who for example, has clearly and concisely mapped out a path for Hibs in how they are run once RP has left? This whole site is like watching High school students discussing politics. They all know what they want but are clueless about the practicalities.
31-05-2014, 11:48 PM
Lol, lol and lol again..... So Rod is now fraudulently and deviously fooling both players and their agents but it has never once been reported in the press? There are threads on this site which are becoming ridiculous and some posters are losing all sense of perspective....just tracked back to this post of yours, and , while you are on it I do think that your correct. it cant be true, because it was not reported in the press:rolleyes:Rod would never try any tricks like that. Derek Riordan stories, all those years ago about being due a re-signing fee , from Hibernian, before he eventually signed for Celtic must have all been a load of tosh
31-05-2014, 11:54 PM
just tracked back to this post of yours, and , while you are on it I do think that your correct. it cant be true, because it was not reported in the press:rolleyes:Rod would never try any tricks like that. Derek Riordan stories, all those years ago about being due a re-signing fee , from Hibernian, before he eventually signed for Celtic must have all been a load of tosh
I don't recall the details of that - was the signing fee in the contract and Rod refused to pay up?
01-06-2014, 12:08 AM
I don't recall the details of that - was the signing fee in the contract and Rod refused to pay up?I don't recall either, and I was not privy to it. it does still remain in my memory bank, for what remains of it, that there were arguments about how it all transpired and I have always had misgivings about how it was handled, by PETRIE.
01-06-2014, 12:32 AM
I lost a masonary drill once, never had any complaints from my mates though
Think u need to go to bed
01-06-2014, 12:34 AM
I am following this thread cos I want to know if Stanton is staying going??
But this thread is not giving me any info and is all over the place.
Now back on topic..........
Is he he staying or going?
01-06-2014, 12:44 AM
I'll wager he's staying !
01-06-2014, 12:48 AM
Back on topic, masonry drills are cool
01-06-2014, 01:22 AM
Can't be bothered reading it either. I understand everyone has been told that they can find other clubs . The reason is either that they are not in plans, or in Stanton's case - like others - "We like you, we want to keep you, but understand that if you get an offer to stay in the Premiership or better, then we are not going to stand in your way(too much)."
So, is this folly or good management? "You've signed a contract, so tough- you're staying" generally gets results like ordering Agents to get you out as fast as possible. Playing it this way might get some loyalty without paying more to get it. To me the club is acting fairly. Those with the stomach for a fight might stay, those that don't can and will (with my blessing) pass right off.
Anyone who does not want to stay and play for Hibs should leave. That's not directed at Sammy, that goes for every player.
01-06-2014, 06:10 AM
Nope, can't follow it at all.
At one point I was almost thinking it suited the powers that be for Hibs to be relegated.
01-06-2014, 06:11 AM
From two players who were told.
01-06-2014, 06:13 AM
Is Sam staying then???
It's really down to him.
FWIW I don't expect any quick resolution on this.
01-06-2014, 06:14 AM
Real, as #308.
01-06-2014, 07:11 AM
It's a fact it doesn't matter how he knows, I know or anyone else on here we wouldn't post it if it's not true believe me.
Sorry. Of course, in the whole history of Hibs Net nobody has ever posted anything that turned out to be bollocks. What was I thinking :rolleyes:
01-06-2014, 07:48 AM
People berating the boy if he goes because of a wage cut
How do we know that he might leave because he MIGHT get the opportunity to play at a higher level than the championship
IF he leaves for that reason then that's fair enough...he has the ability
I would suspect this has been the way it has been put to him that Hibs won't stand in his way
I do believe the wages have been cut but do not suspect that would be SAM'S main motivation for leaving IF he leaves at all
I hope however as suggested by others earlier he shows loyalty to Hibs and as a Hibby he wants to fight to get us back up
01-06-2014, 07:55 AM
no idea whats happening but really hope he stays.
01-06-2014, 08:16 AM
People berating the boy if he goes because of a wage cut
How do we know that he might leave because he MIGHT get the opportunity to play at a higher level than the championship
IF he leaves for that reason then that's fair enough...he has the ability
I would suspect this has been the way it has been put to him that Hibs won't stand in his way
I do believe the wages have been cut but do not suspect that would be SAM'S main motivation for leaving IF he leaves at all
I hope however as suggested by others earlier he shows loyalty to Hibs and as a Hibby he wants to fight to get us back up
If I came through the ranks at a side, then in my 1st proper season (playing many games) we went down
Id be determined to stay and bring them right back up
Interesting that Scott Robertson has already tweeted he will be reporting to East Mains for pre season
01-06-2014, 08:59 AM
Right man , I have had enough.
Why on earth are you still making out you know Sam?
You don't know him at all. Infact , he is "furious" that you are telling folk you know him.
Stop being a bell end.
01-06-2014, 09:02 AM
**** them if they don't want to stay because of the wage cut well I guess they need to took over the road to understand what loyalty is I'm football and especially at such a young ages with a long career ahead of them. It will be the usual agents filling their heads with pish where loyalty goes out the window. If they do go for money reasons, well **** them for me.
however especially from Harris perspective it's more likely he wants to get away from the management team and this an opportunity to do so.
This. If they jump at the first opportunity and it's money related , then they're rats and I hope they go on to have stinking careers. Saying that you'd like to think they'd want to stay and repay Hibs for developing them and help get us out this mess.
01-06-2014, 09:03 AM
Why do folk ask this? As if anyone's going to reveal who's feeding them info on a public forum.
This. If they jump at the first opportunity they're rats and I hope they go on to have stinking careers.
It depends what their wage is post cut. McDonald, Stevenson et al were still on decent dough at the PBS after their wages were cut.
01-06-2014, 09:09 AM
Everyone is entitled to be slightly hysterical after relegation but I'm still surprised we have 11 pages based on a story in the Sun which makes no sense.
If the young boys were out of contract and wanted to move then we would still be entitled to compensation having developed them. They are of course under contract, so why exactly would we let them leave for free?
There may be a few "ITK" posters all over this but personally I think it's a lot of pish and we've bigger things to worry about.
01-06-2014, 09:12 AM
Everyone is entitled to be slightly hysterical after relegation but I'm still surprised we have 11 pages based on a story in the Sun which makes no sense.
If the young boys were out of contract and wanted to move then we would still be entitled to compensation having developed them. They are of course under contract, so why exactly would we let them leave for free?
There may be a few "ITK" posters all over this but personally I think it's a lot of pish and we've bigger things to worry about.
Knowing Scoopyboy personally and having a rough idea where his info is coming from, I tend to believe him.
Unlike a lot of posters on this forum, his snippets are far from 'a lot of pish', as you so eloquently put it.
ozzie
01-06-2014, 09:13 AM
Is it not that it's in there contract that they will be on 50% of their wages but I'm sure I also read somewhere that certain players were told they could find other clubs if they want if not they can come back for pre season training and 're negotiate there contracts?
01-06-2014, 09:17 AM
This. If they jump at the first opportunity and it's money related , then they're rats and I hope they go on to have stinking careers. Saying that you'd like to think they'd want to stay and repay Hibs for developing them and help get us out this mess.So if the company that trained you and put you through college decided tae half your wage and another company came along and said they'd give you your original wage, you stay on the half wages out of loyalty would you?
01-06-2014, 09:24 AM
And that is an opinion you are entitled to have, however you are wrong, :greengrin
I would have agreed with you previously regarding The Sun but they now have a reporter who is very Hibs orientated, I have exchanged information with him in the past and is very accurate.
Regards why would let young laddies go for free the only half reasonable answer I can come up with is Hibs didn't think they would be relegated at the time of the contract offer and they now feel they are overpaying the player. I'm just guessing at that bit and it may well be a poor guess but I defy anybody to explain what the hell is going on at our club.
01-06-2014, 09:25 AM
Is it not that it's in there contract that they will be on 50% of their wages but I'm sure I also read somewhere that certain players were told they could find other clubs if they want if not they can come back for pre season training and 're negotiate there contracts?
This is the bit I still cant seem to make sense of. I can understand it that we are trying to ship out a lot of the guys Fenlon brought in - Butcher may not like them, they dont fit into his plans for the team, or even with the 50% reduction, their wages take up a reasonable amount of the budget.
What I dont get is why the young guys, many of whom Butcher seemed to back and rely upon (which is evident by them getting contracts), are subject to the same stance of 'you can go if you want'. What was the point in offering them new deals? What was the point in spending X amount of money bringing them through the academy and into the first team, to then allow them to leave?
01-06-2014, 09:27 AM
Knowing Scoopyboy personally and having a rough idea where his info is coming from, I tend to believe him.
Unlike a lot of posters on this forum, his snippets are far from 'a lot of pish', as you so eloquently put it.
I'm not suggesting anyone is lying. I just think we could do without all the panic here, I personally don't believe any of these players will leave for free.
01-06-2014, 09:27 AM
So if the company that trained you and put you through college decided tae half your wage and another company came along and said they'd give you your original wage, you stay on the half wages out of loyalty would you?
I see your point but football isn't any ordinary job. In the scenario you've proposed, the wage offered could possibly be the maximum you'll earn. These guys could stick with with Hibs for a year on say 4-500 quid, back up to 9-1000 the following year and if they're performing they could earn a move and find themselves earning five times that 2 years down the line. Let's not forget they're 20, not middle-aged men with families to support.
So aye, I'd like to think loyalty maybe would play a part in their decision. Especially if they are any sort of supporter, which I'm sure they both claim to be.
01-06-2014, 09:32 AM
And that is an opinion you are entitled to have, however you are wrong, :greengrin
I would have agreed with you previously regarding The Sun but they now have a reporter who is very Hibs orientated, I have exchanged information with him in the past and is very accurate.
Regards why would let young laddies go for free the only half reasonable answer I can come up with is Hibs didn't think they would be relegated at the time of the contract offer and they now feel they are overpaying the player. I'm just guessing at that bit and it may well be a poor guess but I defy anybody to explain what the hell is going on at our club.
I should have chosen my words more carefully as I'm not doubting your information as such. I just don't believe the end result of these conversations will be these players walking for free. The club is clearly a shambles but that would be a step too far to comprehend.
Surely if we felt we are overpaying anyone we get back round the table. Or wait for an offer to come in.
I understand the current hysteria and if these guys did walk then it would be fully merited. Until that happens I will give Hibs the benefit of the doubt.
R11Loaded
01-06-2014, 09:51 AM
I fully believe that you don't sign a contract without knowing the clauses and if you're relegated you then need to earn the right to remain at the club. Is Stanton a Hibs fan? If so money at 18 shouldn't make him leave. Most his age would love £400 a week to play football anyway!
Class doesn't show on a maroon jersey
01-06-2014, 10:07 AM
That's what I thought.
01-06-2014, 10:11 AM
Sorry. Of course, in the whole history of Hibs Net nobody has ever posted anything that turned out to be bollocks. What was I thinking :rolleyes:
I think if you look at the people who have posted it, they are not I'm a habit of making things up, others possibly yeah I know folk post pish.
Dave-O
01-06-2014, 10:16 AM
I'm not a employment law expert but is it not the case the club have to be seen to be non-favorable to all players with the 50% cut and being told if they want to leave they can, knowing that the young players would command a fee if they exercise that right, and thus hoping the duds of the club ie Nelson/Mcgivern et al who still have a year or so contract to run just walk away?
01-06-2014, 10:16 AM
I should have chosen my words more carefully as I'm not doubting your information as such. I just don't believe the end result of these conversations will be these players walking for free. The club is clearly a shambles but that would be a step too far to comprehend.
Surely if we felt we are overpaying anyone we get back round the table. Or wait for an offer to come in.
I understand the current hysteria and if these guys did walk then it would be fully merited. Until that happens I will give Hibs the benefit of the doubt.
I think your missing the point, no one has told the likes of Stanton that he can leave for free. He has been told he can leave if we get a decent offer for him we won't stand in his way. Others including Craig, Nelson! McGivern etc have been told they can leave period if thy prey can find another club.
01-06-2014, 10:25 AM
If I came through the ranks at a side, then in my 1st proper season (playing many games) we went down Id be determined to stay and bring them right back up Interesting that Scott Robertson has already tweeted he will be reporting to East Mains for pre season
As would I
My point was it is not necessarily the money that is the potential reason for moving as people seem to be taking as red.
More he may want to play at a higher level.
He might actually want to play in a team that plays a style of football that suits his game IE on the deck with proper movement and people offering options to pass to
For what it's worth I think he will stay and if he does let's hope we play a style that suits him
01-06-2014, 10:42 AM
As would I
My point was it is not necessarily the money that is the potential reason for moving as people seem to be taking as red.
More he may want to play at a higher level.
He might actually want to play in a team that plays a style of football that suits his game IE on the deck with proper movement and people offering options to pass to
For what it's worth I think he will stay and if he does let's hope we play a style that suits him
If he leaves it certainly wont be to move to a team that plays 'his brand of football'
Otherwise, why sign a 4 year extension a few months ago?
He played a role in putting Hibs to the level we are now at (albeit a smaller portion of blame due to age etc)
He should repay Hibs development of him by helping us win the league next year
Simples.
01-06-2014, 10:43 AM
I think your missing the point, no one has told the likes of Stanton that he can leave for free. He has been told he can leave if we get a decent offer for him we won't stand in his way. Others including Craig, Nelson! McGivern etc have been told they can leave period if thy prey can find another club.
Well the original story said "a modest fee". You now say a decent offer. Which is it?
01-06-2014, 10:52 AM
To quote Scoopyboys post on page 2 "He has been told he is free to go should he get another club fixed up."
So what is the accurate story guys?
01-06-2014, 10:53 AM
Well the original story said "a modest fee". You now say a decent offer. Which is it?
I didn't originally say a modest fee so don't care what was posted, I'm telling you what it is. Let's say a fee, people will have their own ideas of what is a decent or modest fee.
01-06-2014, 10:55 AM
I didn't originally say a modest fee so don't care what was posted, I'm telling you what it is. Let's say a fee, people will have their own ideas of what is a decent or modest fee.
So if Hibs receive an offer that matches their valuation of a player, they may be happy to sell the player.
And this qualifies as news or something to worry about?
01-06-2014, 11:01 AM
If he leaves it certainly wont be to move to a team that plays 'his brand of football' Otherwise, why sign a 4 year extension a few months ago? He played a role in putting Hibs to the level we are now at (albeit a smaller portion of blame due to age etc) He should repay Hibs development of him by helping us win the league next year Simples.
Callum I totally take your point just putting suggestions out that iIF he moves it may not just be down to money
Simples
01-06-2014, 11:19 AM
So if Hibs receive an offer that matches their valuation of a player, they may be happy to sell the player.
And this qualifies as news or something to worry about?
I doubt any offer in these circumstances will meet the clubs valuation. Put it how you wish if that makes you feel a bit better but believe me I'd much preferred a conversation that your a huge part of my plans next season ala Robertson than your free to go if we can get some cash for you.
Bronson
01-06-2014, 11:51 AM
Why do folk ask this? As if anyone's going to reveal who's feeding them info on a public forum.
I take everything on here with a pinch of salt until someone can back it up, it's hardly top secret stuff.
01-06-2014, 11:52 AM
is that really the kind of manager we need though? right boys, who wants to stay? remember, I bring a big bag o' buns to EM every Monday morning!. we need someone, who can stand up, tell everyone what his plans are for the team and who he wants to stay. I've never seen such a shambolic response or action from the current incumbents ever, and they have made some absolute schoolboy howlers. they've released 2 players that were fit for weeks, that we badly needed weeks ago and then this sheite about releasing some of our best young talent that were pushed into games when others were on standby with experience and match fitness. :grr:
The manager didn't think so, they may have been fit for the bench but i think the manager was putting over that they weren't ready to start games, "players do tell lies" and a pretty common lie is a player saying they are fit when they aren't, the manager would have spoken to the medical team about there fitness, physio would have been keeping a close eye on them at training and the feedback the manager was obviously getting that the 2 mentioned were not fit enough to start games, Champions League Final, Diego Costa for example of a player declaring himself fit and only lasting 6 minutes of the game.
01-06-2014, 11:56 AM
re the buns, the players actually get cakes on a Friday, yup a Friday where the loser of a drill on the Thursday, has to bring them in. Gregg's make a roaring trade, 30 cakes picked up on the way to east mains......so it's chippes and cakes, what next he's gona bring sushi in on Wednesdays to even up the health balance :greengrin
The cake thing has been going on for years at EM, this had nothing to do with Butcher.
01-06-2014, 12:01 PM
Sure we will find out when the players return for pre-season in a few weeks time.
We won't here anything until then from the club.
01-06-2014, 12:07 PM
All four are under contract and the transfer window is still shut. Are you finding this difficult to follow?
With zero information from the club, yes I am.
Now, do one with your sarcasm :bye:
I doubt any offer in these circumstances will meet the clubs valuation. Put it how you wish if that makes you feel a bit better but believe me I'd much preferred a conversation that your a huge part of my plans next season ala Robertson than your free to go if we can get some cash for you.
Am I reading this right? Others can leave but Scott Robertson is going to be a key man next year?
01-06-2014, 12:10 PM
I think if you look at the people who have posted it, they are not I'm a habit of making things up, others possibly yeah I know folk post pish.
Name and shame i say. :cb
01-06-2014, 12:12 PM
What date does pre season start?
01-06-2014, 12:15 PM
Am I reading this right? Others can leave but Scott Robertson is going to be a key man next year?
No self harming bud, it's only a game :greengrin
01-06-2014, 12:56 PM
To quote Scoopyboys post on page 2 "He has been told he is free to go should he get another club fixed up."
So what is the accurate story guys?
That's what the players were told on Monday.
After the players concerned spoke to their agents they were sent back to the club for clarification themselves.
IMO you cannot be told you are free to find another club then go back to them when they get fixed up and say "oh by the way we want money for you".
If they want money for them then surely they should have been put on the transfer list or open to offers or whatever you want to call it.
I am standing by what I stated on page 2.
01-06-2014, 01:02 PM
After the players concerned spoke to their agents they were sent back to the club for clarification themselves.
IMO you cannot be told you are free to find another club then go back to them when they get fixed up and say "oh by the way we want money for you".
If they want money for them then surely they should have been put on the transfer list or open to offers or whatever you want to call it.
I got a slightly different version from my two lads at EM
They say that all players were told if they did not want to play in the Championship the club would be willing to discuss a " solution /way out"
Nothing was formerly agreed
This was early last week so things may have changed in the meantime !!
01-06-2014, 01:07 PM
They say that all players were told if they did not want to play in the Championship the club would be willing to discuss a " solution /way out"
I agree that it's possible things may have changed in the meantime but for a few of the players unlikely as they are now away on holiday. I know one player in question flew out on Tuesday night and was no further forward.
Similarly managers / officials at other clubs are away on holiday so we may find that there isn't much movement for a while.
01-06-2014, 01:20 PM
With zero information from the club, yes I am.
Now, do one with your sarcasm :bye:
I promise to stop being sarcastic when you stop whining.....:rolleyes:
01-06-2014, 02:10 PM
Well, I hope SS ends up staying, however it happens. The end.
01-06-2014, 02:47 PM
Fair play. I was responding to SMXAA who stated that nobody was suggesting that the likes of Stanton was free to go. That is exactly what you are stating.
My point is simply that this doesn't make sense, so probably best to see how this plays out rather than whine and panic as various folk have done. I don't see a scenario where Stanton is allowed to go for nothing or even a modest fee. If that happens it's yet another disaster IMO.
Given the various different versions of events it would seem fair to class this story as speculation IMO.
01-06-2014, 02:58 PM
Fair play. I was responding to SMXAA who stated that nobody was suggesting that the likes of Stanton was free to go. That is exactly what you are stating.
My point is simply that this doesn't make sense, so probably best to see how this plays out rather than whine and panic as various folk have done. I don't see a scenario where Stanton is allowed to go for nothing or even a modest fee. If that happens it's yet another disaster IMO.
Given the various different versions of events it would seem fair to class this story as speculation IMO.and that would surprise you given the current leadership at this club would it?
01-06-2014, 03:02 PM
Given the various different versions of events it would seem fair to class this story as speculation IMO.
My version and SMAXXA's version are not identical so we can't both be 100% spot on.
Sometimes itk posters (a phrase I don't like incidentally) can be wrong and can also be itk depending who is or isn't at the club at any given time.
I would wager that SMAXXA at this moment in time and probably for the last year has had the most knowledge of any poster on the board but as I'm sure he would acknowledge that can change.
01-06-2014, 03:20 PM
My version and SMAXXA's version are not identical so we can't both be 100% spot on.
Sometimes itk posters (a phrase I don't like incidentally) can be wrong and can also be itk depending who is or isn't at the club at any given time.
I would wager that SMAXXA at this moment in time and probably for the last year has had the most knowledge of any poster on the board but as I'm sure he would acknowledge that can change.
Appreciate that and I'm certainly not discouraging people from sharing info, I just don't think this one adds up. Or perhaps just don't want to believe!
01-06-2014, 03:22 PM
and that would surprise you given the current leadership at this club would it?
Given we would be entitled to compensation and we are talking about the few potential assets the club have, then yes I would be surprised.
01-06-2014, 03:25 PM
Can I ask? What do your two lads do at East Mains? The place appears to have become a right old talking shop doesn't it?
TheOneWhoKnocks
01-06-2014, 08:05 PM
Sammy is on holiday for a couple of weeks and I can imagine he'll look to assess offers he may have elsewhere. Personally I can see him staying at Hibs if they bring in a decent crop of players and he gets used more effectively. Playing in the championship next season will bring the best out in him and should stroll it against weaker sides. While he was on loan at Cowdenbeath he appeared to be a stand out performer until his injury. Getting a 50% cut is obviously a kick in the stanes after just signing the deal but he may get offered the chance to re-negotiate.
01-06-2014, 08:17 PM
Can I ask? What do your two lads do at East Mains? The place appears to have become a right old talking shop doesn't it?
It's no secret as I have explained before
Two relatives of mine have sons who are Hibs players .
I never ask them for information as I wouldn't want to compromise them but now and again they will in the course of a conversation pass a comment .
Nothing wrong in that is there ?
Does that answer your question ?
01-06-2014, 08:17 PM
Sammy is on holiday for a couple of weeks and I can imagine he'll look to assess offers he may have elsewhere. Personally I can see him staying at Hibs if they bring in a decent crop of players and he gets used more effectively. Playing in the championship next season will bring the best out in him and should stroll it against weaker sides. While he was on loan at Cowdenbeath he appeared to be a stand out performer until his injury. Getting a 50% cut is obviously a kick in the stanes after just signing the deal but he may get offered the chance to re-negotiate.
Wow you've got a fantastic posts to usernames ratio, 7/4. You on the run from the law? :cb
01-06-2014, 08:19 PM
I agree that it's possible things may have changed in the meantime but for a few of the players unlikely as they are now away on holiday. I know one player in question flew out on Tuesday night and was no further forward.
Similarly managers / officials at other clubs are away on holiday so we may find that there isn't much movement for a while.
Agree totally with what you write !!
I never ask my lads for info/quotes etc : just am grateful when they pass on a wee snippet !!
02-06-2014, 11:49 AM
It's no secret as I have explained before
Two relatives of mine have sons who are Hibs players .
I never ask them for information as I wouldn't want to compromise them but now and again they will in the course of a conversation pass a comment .
Nothing wrong in that is there ?
Does that answer your question ?
Nothing wrong with that but I really wonder who they are.
They're doing well to hang in there all this time :wink:
02-06-2014, 01:44 PM
Nothing wrong with that but I really wonder who they are.
They're doing well to hang in there all this time :wink:
That's not for revealing : anyway you won't need to bother yourself with who they are as they have both asked in the light of present situation/events at ER that I stop posting quotes from them . ( They read Hibs Net)
Which I will now not do
Happy now ?
steviehibsleith
02-06-2014, 02:20 PM
That's not for revealing : anyway you won't need to bother yourself with who they are as they have both asked in the light of present situation/events at ER that I stop posting quotes from them . ( They read Hibs Net)
Which I will now not do
Happy now ?
Do not stop posting inside info just set up a differnt user name and keep it flowing. I will not IP trace you promise :cb
Looks like the inside leakers are running for cover.
02-06-2014, 02:32 PM
Do not stop posting inside info just set up a differnt user name and keep it flowing. I will not IP trace you promise :cb
Appreciate what you are saying :greengrin
But when I spoke with one of the lads last night there does genuinely seem to be " an atmosphere" at EM currently and I think it's better just to let things move on a bit and not post " quotes"
I am lucky that I am friends with a number of ex Hibs players plus a couple of current ones and wouldn't like to compromise things .
Will wait and see how things shape up in the next three/four months !!
Meanwhile will just enjoy other peoples "insider" info :greengrin
02-06-2014, 03:26 PM
Which I will now not do
Happy now ?
Very.
Thanks.
FRes Hibbie
02-06-2014, 03:38 PM
Right man , I have had enough.
Why on earth are you still making out you know Sam?
You don't know him at all. Infact , he is "furious" that you are telling folk you know him.
Stop being a bell end.
Am I the only one that would like this to be resolved?
Every time Sleeping Giant posts something like this Bob Marleys Dug disappears. What is actually going on?
Hibiza
02-06-2014, 03:43 PM
no chance. Sammy here for a while. :flag:
02-06-2014, 04:44 PM
Very.
Thanks.
Pleased
:greengrin:aok:
12-06-2014, 02:13 PM
Go on Leeann - see attached link
meeting with Sams representative re new deal
And
Wants new manager to make most of training centre to get the best youngsters progressing thro the ranks
http://m.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-must-have-youth-focus-1-3441525
Nevi_SOL
12-06-2014, 04:13 PM
Always good news imo
12-06-2014, 08:59 PM
And
Wants new manager to make most of training centre to get the best youngsters progressing thro the ranks
http://m.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-must-have-youth-focus-1-3441525
Thought Sammy had just signed a new four year deal? Is this latest one a newer deal then? :greengrin
12-06-2014, 09:01 PM
think it is to review his salary
12-06-2014, 09:25 PM
And
So no actual need for 13 pages of hysteria following a 50 word story in the Sun. Oh well...
And
Hopefully she sees young Sam as a key player for us and realized there's no need to cut his wage by half.
13-06-2014, 03:06 AM
Hopefully she sees young Sam as a key player for us and realized there's no need to cut his wage by half.
Sadly he was part of a failed squad just like the rest of them. IMO as good as he is/could be we "reward" and "punish" on the present, he signed the deal just like the rest of them and should have to stay on it until a bonus or clause allows his wage to go up.
Call me a tough prick but when we start giving out special privileges on potential rather than merit it may set a standard for other players to think their wage is safe.
13-06-2014, 07:29 AM
Sadly he was part of a failed squad just like the rest of them. IMO as good as he is/could be we "reward" and "punish" on the present, he signed the deal just like the rest of them and should have to stay on it until a bonus or clause allows his wage to go up.
Call me a tough prick but when we start giving out special privileges on potential rather than merit it may set a standard for other players to think their wage is safe.
I actually agree with this. I think its ashame his wages will be cut BUT he did sign the contract after all and, as good a player as he is, he WAS still part of the team that got ducking relegated.
13-06-2014, 07:34 AM
Sadly he was part of a failed squad just like the rest of them. IMO as good as he is/could be we "reward" and "punish" on the present, he signed the deal just like the rest of them and should have to stay on it until a bonus or clause allows his wage to go up. Call me a tough prick but when we start giving out special privileges on potential rather than merit it may set a standard for other players to think their wage is safe.
Ok so would you rather st Johnstone offer him more and we are left without a player who COULD be a star man in the championship and IF he keeps progressing could net us a couple of million in the next few years.
Yep he was part of the team relegated but after a couple of games he was being touted as the man to kick on our season. Too much pressure put on his young shoulders and then the style of play meant the majority of the time the ball just flew over his head.
To me this is a move by Leeann designed to convince the best youths to stay and take their chance to shine and fend off other teams who will undoubtedly try and pinch him
Leeann states in the article the focus will be on building from the academy so this to me is her reinforcing that intent
Not saying he would definitely go as by all accounts he wanted to stay even on half wages. However his agent is that w******r Gary Mackay so nothing is beyond the realms of possibility
IF he is getting his wages negotiated for the better then to me it shows good business sense by Leanne
It also reinforces that she is calling the shots in over-ruling KING RODs previous contract for him
However we don't know what he is signing now
Maybe he has agreed to stay but has asked for some sort of release clause if we fail to get out the championship
So every single one of those guys got us relegated, yes it's a team game but no way should every one get shown the door because of it.
Sam was one of the few bright lights in that team and was showing enough quality to merit being kept, the youngsters needed guidance last year and the senior pro's like Craig etc gave them none, it's these guys that need shown the door and the youngsters with potential kept. I'm pretty sure Sam won't be on mega bucks at his age, so it won't cost us too much to accept his contract that he recently signed, it's getting rid of the high earning losers we should be thinking about, McGivern, Craig, Nelson, Heffernan etc.
So every single one of those guys got us relegated, yes it's a team game but no way should every one get shown the door because of it.
Sam was one of the few bright lights in that team and was showing enough quality to merit being kept, the youngsters needed guidance last year and the senior pro's like Craig etc gave them none, it's these guys that need shown the door and the youngsters with potential kept. I'm pretty sure Sam won't be on mega bucks at his age, so it won't cost us too much to accept his contract that he recently signed, it's getting rid of the high earning losers we should be thinking about, McGivern, Craig, Nelson, Heffernan etc.
Spot on
R11Loaded
13-06-2014, 09:43 AM
Nobody was showing Sam the door, they'd still need to offer us money for his contract.
Class doesn't show on a maroon jersey
jimmyboco1875
13-06-2014, 10:01 AM
Sam stanton will be a HUGE player for us next season..
13-06-2014, 10:42 AM
Maybe the club have heard there is interest in Stanton and have decided to sort out a new contract for him with new clauses in it in case a club make a offer for him.
Sorry but can't blame any of the young lads for last season, they got no help at all from there experienced team mates and we were reminded more than once by the manager that it was only the young lads that cared and rather than the experienced pro's helping the young lads through games it was the other way about and the young lads were carrying the losers, feel sorry for the young players as they had no one to look up to at the club last season to learn there trade from and that must have put a lot of pressure on them.
13-06-2014, 11:14 AM
Our highlight of last season was Stanton breaking into the team. Doesnt deserve his wages being reduced. Absolute priority to make sure he's happy and with us as long as possible.
Hibs07p
13-06-2014, 12:08 PM
To renegotiate Sams contract makes perfect sense. Because of the relegation, some players contracts will have clauses regarding wage reductions etc, and will have to be applied across the board, from a legal aspect. If any of the players are of significant value to the club, the club will renegotiate, if not, tough, try and find another club, offering better, with a possible transfer fee involved. The club know Sam has potential and is of value to the club, therefore, I believe they will offer him similar terms to what he is currently on.
Hibiza
13-06-2014, 12:48 PM
Sam not been given a wage cut.
13-06-2014, 01:01 PM
It doesn't matter if another club are interested. He's under contract for what? 4 years? If another teams wants him they need to cough up money.
I don't blame Sam Stanton at all. He was the only shining light like someone said. But he signed the deal and were both now where we are. If he wants his wage back up then he should perhaps focus on promotion?
13-06-2014, 04:23 PM
It doesn't matter if another club are interested. He's under contract for what? 4 years? If another teams wants him they need to cough up money.
I don't blame Sam Stanton at all. He was the only shining light like someone said. But he signed the deal and were both now where we are. If he wants his wage back up then he should perhaps focus on promotion?
Again, I'm having to agree here. People are talking about St Johnstone but are they gonna pay a transfer fee? Even if he was out of contract they'd still have to stump up some cash for him.
007 Mickey Weir
13-06-2014, 06:28 PM
Sam will sign a revised new deal this week and that will be end of it. He is a Hibs fan that is living playing for us. No desire to play anywhere else just now. But he does deserve to be getting a better deal than the one he has ended up with after the 50% reduction
13-06-2014, 06:35 PM
Sam not been given a wage cut.
Sam will sign a revised new deal this week and that will be end of it. He is a Hibs fan that is living playing for us. No desire to play anywhere else just now. But he does deserve to be getting a better deal than the one he has ended up with after the 50% reduction
Nae wonder we are confused.