View Full Version : The bookies have spoken for our chances next season...

Paperboy
29-05-2014, 10:11 PM
According to oddschecker the odds to win The Championship are

Rangers 1/2
Hearts 4/1
Hibs 5/1

each way terms offered for a top two finish.

Thoughts?

Hibby Gav
29-05-2014, 10:16 PM
Even the bookies are throwing those numbers at us !
I guess it'll change by the tine it all kicks off...hopefully we will all feel like putting a few quid down by then.

hibs4thecup1988
29-05-2014, 11:44 PM

Rangers 1/2
Hearts 4/1
Hibs 5/1

Thoughts?

Changed a bit already since yesterday.

The Rangers were 1/5 yeserday, Hearts 7/2 Hibs 11/2.

Hibs have shortened

29-05-2014, 11:49 PM
Hearts are still in administration - they have just a few weeks left to avoid a further -15 point penalty. Even without it they'll struggle to compete with a playing budget of less than £2m.

But we need to throw the chequebook at this - a bit like last time where we lost nearly £2 million as a result of going down.

29-05-2014, 11:50 PM
Imagine playing Hearts in the play offs! Which I think may happen. What a nerve racking game that would be.

29-05-2014, 11:52 PM
Their prices are meaningless consider we've still got to sign a lot of players and could be managed entirely differently both on and off the park. The same could go for any team incidentally.

hibs4thecup1988
29-05-2014, 11:52 PM
Hearts are still in administration - they have just a few weeks left to avoid a further -15 point penalty. Even without it they'll struggle to compete with a playing budget of less than £2m.

But we need to throw the chequebook at this - a bit like last time where we lost nearly £2 million as a result of going down.

We spent £1.7 million last time someone told me. This serious?!

As for Hearts...do they really get another 15 point deduction if still in admin? Imagine that...and the rangers get 25 points....

would make it interesting lol

Mixu62
29-05-2014, 11:55 PM
I note there isn't a price for Falkirk quoted there. Don't write them off.

29-05-2014, 11:56 PM
Imagine playing Hearts in the play offs! Which I think may happen. What a nerve racking game that would be.

No it wouldn't. Unless there is a massive culture change within our club over the next season, we would be guaranteed to lose.

29-05-2014, 11:58 PM
No it wouldn't. Unless there is a massive culture change within our club over the next season, we would be guaranteed to lose.

Sad I can't even say I think your wrong!!

29-05-2014, 11:59 PM
We spent £1.7 million last time someone told me. This serious?!

As for Hearts...do they really get another 15 point deduction if still in admin? Imagine that...and the rangers get 25 points....

would make it interesting lol

Hearts will be out of admin IMO. Be funny though if they didn't and got hit with -15. Prob only chance we have of finishing above them if previous seasons are anything to go by.

Paperboy
30-05-2014, 05:10 AM
I note there isn't a price for Falkirk quoted there. Don't write them off.

25/1 for Falkirk

Russ
30-05-2014, 05:37 AM

Rangers 1/2
Hearts 4/1
Hibs 5/1

Thoughts?
Never in your wildest dreams were Ranges ever 1/2. This post is all that is wrong with this place, ABSOLUTE PISH

30-05-2014, 05:46 AM
Hearts will be out of admin IMO. Be funny though if they didn't and got hit with -15. Prob only chance we have of finishing above them if previous seasons are anything to go by.

Your a strange one cat. Between this and your get Farmer out posts.

30-05-2014, 06:08 AM
Never in your wildest dreams were Ranges ever 1/2. This post is all that is wrong with this place, ABSOLUTE PISH

The rangers are 1/2 with William hill. Who is talking pish now ?

patch1875
30-05-2014, 06:40 AM
With The mess the rangers are in I'm not convinced they are certs for the title.

30-05-2014, 06:58 AM
What price on us getting relegated if Butcher still in charge?

McSwanky
30-05-2014, 06:59 AM
The rangers are 1/2 with William hill. Who is talking pish now ?

1/3 with Ladbrokes and 1/6 with SkyBet. That Hills price is the best you'll get among the major bookies. Hearts are just shading it from Hibs for second favourite at most bookies, but barely anything in it.

30-05-2014, 07:11 AM

1998-1999 we posted a loss of close to £2.8m (£2,793,893)

30-05-2014, 07:33 AM
The fact Hearts are favourites over us after what they have been through gives me the boak !

30-05-2014, 07:36 AM

Hibs 5/1

Thoughts?

Is that to stay up?

30-05-2014, 07:38 AM

Well it's about time we stepped up to the mark and put they jokers in their place.

30-05-2014, 07:45 AM

Don't worry it will be Admiral Nelsons Finest Hour ably assisted by corporal McGivern . :confused:

30-05-2014, 08:08 AM
The bookies had us 8-1 on to stay up after the 1st leg of the play off . So what do they know eh .

30-05-2014, 08:34 AM

Absolutely no chance.

30-05-2014, 08:51 AM
Throw the chequebook? No point signing Messi if he wont play for Butcher.

H18Y GW
30-05-2014, 08:59 AM
I've snapped 5/1 up as to be that price without having a team means the bookies maybe have a wee whiff of what's coming in.

Not for a second do I believe we let go 14 without back up .

Be on !!!

30-05-2014, 09:03 AM
Thoughts?

Lump on rangers.

magpie1892
30-05-2014, 09:07 AM

Rangers 1/2 at Paddy Power and William Hill. Just checked online. 'Who's talking pish now?'

There's a reason they've drifted from 1/5 to 1/2 - admin #2 may well be on the cards and that's -25 pts for our orange pals.

Devilstorment
30-05-2014, 09:28 AM
We don't have a playing squad at the moment, not really sure how the bookies are pricing us....

magpie1892
30-05-2014, 10:15 AM
We don't have a playing squad at the moment, not really sure how the bookies are pricing us....

Their asumption is that we're going to bring players in. Which seems reasonable.

Devilstorment
30-05-2014, 10:18 AM
Their asumption is that we're going to bring players in. Which seems reasonable.

yeah, but who!? could be Messi, could be Pat Butcher, could be an old dug (not Pat Butcher again). I think those odd's will change dramatically!!

magpie1892
30-05-2014, 10:24 AM
yeah, but who!? could be Messi, could be Pat Butcher, could be an old dug (not Pat Butcher again). I think those odd's will change dramatically!!

I don't. We'll stay third favourites to go up unless we don't sign anyone. Even though this is Hibs, I don't see us starting the season with the current squad at the club.

30-05-2014, 10:35 AM
I've snapped 5/1 up as to be that price without having a team means the bookies maybe have a wee whiff of what's coming in.

Not for a second do I believe we let go 14 without back up .

Be on !!!

I admire your optimism, its still a pish price though.

mmmmhibby
30-05-2014, 10:44 AM

They were actually 4/7 with betfair last night. Maybe you should've checked before posting that.

30-05-2014, 11:22 AM
As a betting man I'd probably hang fire a bit for the Hibs price. When we were relegated last time we got off to a shaky start and ended up walking the league. Might be better prices available a couple of games into the new season. The price that does interest me is 11/2 St Mirren for relegation, particularly now that Craig is the manager, just going along to put my notes down for that one.

hibs4thecup1988
30-05-2014, 11:30 AM
They were actually 4/7 with betfair last night. Maybe you should've checked before posting that.

Yup he hasn't been back eh...

30-05-2014, 11:38 AM
Your a strange one cat. Between this and your get Farmer out posts.

Nothing wrong with wanting Sir Tom to leave IMO. I get why others may want him to stay. I've no problem with that. As for Hearts they have finished above us nearly every season so what makes this one coming different? Best way to judge the future is to view it's past.

30-05-2014, 01:08 PM
Don't worry it will be Admiral Nelsons Finest Hour ably assisted by corporal McGivern . :confused:

If either of those two jokers are playing for us come the end of the season the stadium will be empty, Hearts or not.

30-05-2014, 01:15 PM
5/1 over the course of a season is horrible odds given the situation. Irrelevant, but to put into context, Spain could be had at 7/1 for the world cup..

Paperboy
30-05-2014, 04:18 PM

Considering they were 1/2 and my wildest dreams involve spending a Friday night with Kelly Brook, I'm quite looking forward to tonight!

30-05-2014, 04:20 PM
The bookies had us favourites to win just about every one of our last 5 games!!

H18Y GW
30-05-2014, 04:56 PM
5/1 over the course of a season is horrible odds given the situation. Irrelevant, but to put into context, Spain could be had at 7/1 for the world cup..

Spain are playing in far better company than we are,I bet if you pushed the bookies for prices for the SPL in 15/16 Der Hun will be second favs

les83
30-05-2014, 05:07 PM
The bookies had us favourites to win just about every one of our last 5 games!!

I'm glad the bookies thought we were gona win, since no of us did!!!

Unless there are huge changes at Hibs I think we can all imagine the kind of bottling crap we can expect to watch again next season.

30-05-2014, 05:21 PM

Never even considered the prospect of that. :eek:

BoltonHibee1875
30-05-2014, 05:50 PM

We won't make the playoffs!

30-05-2014, 05:51 PM
We won't make the playoffs!

Aye we will. £50 says we do.

30-05-2014, 05:55 PM
Wow! EVS for Hibs not to make the play-offs, cannae see folk falling over each other for that one.

BoltonHibee1875
31-05-2014, 08:35 AM
Aye we will. £50 says we do.

We will be in a relegation battle!!

31-05-2014, 09:30 AM
We will be in a relegation battle!!

Mid table for me.

We are in as big a mess just now as I can recall in all my 50 odd years of following Hibs.

And that includes 1990....at least we had sense of unity and purpose then that reassured us we would get through the takeover bid...at the moment we have no team, a psih manager, a board we would hang, and no plan..

Hope is all we have 7or8 weeks frm season kick off

31-05-2014, 10:50 AM
Mid table for me.

We are in as big a mess just now as I can recall in all my 50 odd years of following Hibs.

And that includes 1990....at least we had sense of unity and purpose then that reassured us we would get through the takeover bid...at the moment we have no team, a psih manager, a board we would hang, and no plan..

Hope is all we have 7or8 weeks frm season kick off

The fact we got through the takeover bid came down to three key decisions IMO. Sheila Rowland voted against her (ex) husbands wishes, David Duff refused to sell his shareholding (at great personal cost to himself) and Kenny McLean eventually persuaded Tom Farmer to get off the fence.

I don't personally think this is worse than 1990, just my opinion though.