View Full Version : Games Today

24-05-2014, 10:15 AM
How come Derby v QPR is allowed to be played the same day as CL final?

24-05-2014, 10:21 AM

I think it's because it's not a top flight game

24-05-2014, 10:26 AM

Our cup final 2 years ago was on the same day as the Champions League final.

24-05-2014, 10:31 AM
And it was decided that no other games will be played on the same day as CL final, which was why last year the final was on Sunday. If it only concerns top flight and cup games watch for UEFA changing rules again.

24-05-2014, 10:32 AM
I think it's because it's not a top flight gameCheers, wee discussion last night and nobody mentioned this.

24-05-2014, 10:35 AM
And it was decided that no other games will be played on the same day as CL final, which was why last year the final was on Sunday. If it only concerns top flight and cup games watch for UEFA changing rules again.

OK cheers never knew that.

24-05-2014, 10:56 AM

Thanks for reminding me.

24-05-2014, 11:00 AM
Derby v QPR may not rank as a big game but it's worth a few bob to the winner!

24-05-2014, 11:10 AM
Derby v QPR may not rank as a big game but it's worth a few bob to the winner!

When's KO?

24-05-2014, 11:12 AM
When's KO?

3pm.

24-05-2014, 11:17 AM
Cheers. Wouldn't mind watching it, but got the kids on a rainy day. Have to think of something fun and dry. Watching football, ain't one of those things.

24-05-2014, 11:59 AM
Silly rule if so considering the championship play off final will draw a far bigger crowd than the Scottish cup final

24-05-2014, 12:01 PM
Looking forward to this, really enjoyed watching Derby recently. Think they could run amok on the big pitch too.

s2hart
24-05-2014, 12:05 PM
Did the Championship play off not always used to be on the bank holiday Monday? The last of the play off matches! Or am I wrong?

24-05-2014, 12:06 PM
Come on QPR. Never liked that Steve McLaren since he failed to take Calderwood off our hands.

24-05-2014, 12:07 PM
Did the Championship play off not always used to be on the bank holiday Monday? The last of the play off matches! Or am I wrong?

That's what I thought.

24-05-2014, 12:14 PM

That sounds about right. I had the chance of a ticket for The Hammers v Blackpool game and was well hacked off when I discovered it was on the same day as that final v them. Turns out Wembley would've been more fun!

s2hart
24-05-2014, 12:14 PM
That's what I thought.

Not really looked hard enough but it could be something to do with the World Cup!

24-05-2014, 01:36 PM
At Tynie today at the fans charity match, not good viewing. We're currently getting humped 7-1

24-05-2014, 01:41 PM
Oh dear 8-1, their number 8s a player Hibs have nae really got any decent players that I've noticed.

24-05-2014, 01:52 PM
Full time at hearts vs Hibs fans charity game 8-1, a much better and more organised hearts dominated and won with ease. For a change ;)

12AlbionPlace
24-05-2014, 02:46 PM
Seen the Hearts team picture on Twitter, I see at least two Whitehill Welfare players in there.

Did Hibs have any Lowland league players??

24-05-2014, 02:47 PM
The championship playoff has been awful

24-05-2014, 02:55 PM
The championship playoff has been awful

Agreed, pretty much often the case, I feel Derby beginning to come more into the game though.

24-05-2014, 02:58 PM
I thought as last year CL Final was at Wembley, that we were moved to the Sunday, as UEFA deemed Scotland and England as one (UK), and the two games can't be played in same country on same day?

24-05-2014, 03:17 PM
Red card for QPR. Correct decision.

24-05-2014, 03:19 PM
Good decision by the ref, took his time and consulted his assistant spot on.

24-05-2014, 03:19 PM
Seen the Hearts team picture on Twitter, I see at least two Whitehill Welfare players in there.

Did Hibs have any Lowland league players??

I think their No8 plays for WW but all the Hibs players where just fans afaik. The Hibs team was out together in a rush and had never player together but I believe the hearts side had played a few times together and had a couple of players from a higher standard.

24-05-2014, 03:21 PM
Good decision by the ref, took his time and consulted his assistant spot on.

Lee Hendrie on Sky Sports News saying he isn't sure if it should have been a red, he thought other players could have got back in time. Even after watching the replays he's saying that! It was a clear red. The boy was clean through.

24-05-2014, 03:22 PM
I think their No8 plays for WW but all the Hibs players where just fans afaik. The Hibs team was out together in a rush and had never player together but I believe the hearts side had played a few times together and had a couple of players from a higher standard.

I heard a few weeks back they had the Whitehill captain playing. I don't know him but the chat was that he'd be far too good for the rest in this game.

24-05-2014, 03:23 PM
I took Derby to win and both to score. Can't see QPR scoring now though.

24-05-2014, 03:47 PM
QPR score! Zamora.

Derby defender will be devastated!

24-05-2014, 03:48 PM
1-0 qpr :(

24-05-2014, 03:48 PM
Watching the replay, the defender has sold it there. That's horrendous.

24-05-2014, 03:50 PM
A real sucker punch by QPR.

24-05-2014, 03:52 PM
Harry Houdini does it again, gutted for Derby.

24-05-2014, 03:55 PM
I hope they go straight back down.

The boy Keogh for Derby is crying his eyes out. Cannae imagine how bad he's feeling just now.