View Full Version : Yams Hearts New Assistant Manager - Stevie Crawford

scott7_0(Prague)
22-05-2014, 01:59 PM
Hearing rumbles that he has resigned at Falkirk with the view to being appointed as Nelsons assistant.

#agentcrawford

22-05-2014, 02:14 PM
What the ****?

Stevie, please no.

22-05-2014, 02:19 PM
Not exactly a Hibs legend Crawford is he?

News doesn't really bother me one way or the other.

22-05-2014, 02:21 PM
A cheap option?

The 'Tache will be getting the blame nae doubt.

22-05-2014, 02:24 PM
Anyone know views about Crawford as a coach - earning a good reputation ???

22-05-2014, 02:26 PM
Another puppet. They should have just kept Locke and built a management team around him in my opinion.

Their fans are still talking about being European contenders, a big team and thinking about unrealistic signings. It still hasn't sunk in yet with them and maybe Locke is better off out of there as someone will get it when reality kicks in.

Poor Stevie. I'm afraid you've been had and have actually signed for a small club.

scott7_0(Prague)
22-05-2014, 02:27 PM
Anyone know views about Crawford as a coach - earning a good reputation ???

Cannae be that good if he is having to step down a level to be come Hearts #2 :greengrin

scott7_0(Prague)
22-05-2014, 02:50 PM
Now confirmed on Hearts website. I notice they just couldn't bring themselves to say he played for Hibs.... dicks.

Stevie enjoyed a colourful playing career on both sides of the border, playing for several Scottish Premiership teams and winning 25 caps for Scotland.

22-05-2014, 02:54 PM
For a player who played so many times for Scotland, he was underwhelming for us.

Wright and Jackson were both far better players.

22-05-2014, 03:10 PM
25 caps for Scotland? that is unbelievable!! We really were bad eh!

22-05-2014, 03:25 PM
Has he not failed as a Manager somewhere already?

22-05-2014, 03:48 PM
He can put cones out better than Broony so i've heard !.

22-05-2014, 03:49 PM

Exactly what I was thinking. Bertie has a lot to answer for.

22-05-2014, 03:55 PM
He can put cones out better than Broony so i've heard !.

Has he been places and done things though?

jimmyboco1875
22-05-2014, 04:00 PM
He was a great finisher I can remember

22-05-2014, 04:13 PM
He was a great finisher I can remember

I hope you are being ironic?

He wasn't named Stevie 5 sitters for nothing

22-05-2014, 04:14 PM
I liked Stevie Crawford as a Hibs player, so it saddens me that I am now compelled to despise him and wish him every misadventure in his new post. :greengrin

22-05-2014, 04:16 PM
I was never a fan of him as a player, more wasted chances than Kenny Miller! Hit a wee purple patch with the Pars but mostly down to how good Brewster was.

Plus he was on 5k a week there which was paid for by a local businessman allegedly... Bit of financial doping again ;)

22-05-2014, 04:48 PM
Did not realise he got that many caps. Pretty embarrassing to think how bad Scotland were for that to happen. He shouldn't have been near a national squad (I'd make an exception for Faroe Islands...)

Ran about a lot but not the most natural in front of goal. Wonder how long he'll last there...

22-05-2014, 04:54 PM
He was a good player for us so let's not start rewriting history. I wish him well

22-05-2014, 04:58 PM
He was a good player for us so let's not start rewriting history. I wish him well

Agree with the first sentence.

Not the second!

22-05-2014, 05:25 PM
When i think back of good players over the last 36 years of following hibs i never think of crawford,typical that the jumbos cant even mention he played for hibs,shows they havent changed a bit,phannies

22-05-2014, 05:28 PM
Can you be an assistant manager of a team that has no manager?
Also, sure he got the Spanish Archer from East Fife as manager there a couple of years back.

22-05-2014, 05:39 PM

I'd argue he underachieved at Hibs.

22-05-2014, 05:40 PM
Can you be an assistant manager of a team that has no manager?
Also, sure he got the Spanish Archer from East Fife as manager there a couple of years back.

Matty - exactly my thought...could only be asst. Coach :greengrin

22-05-2014, 05:43 PM
I'd argue he underachieved at Hibs.

What would be achievement? Not being argumentative to be honest.

IMO he was great in the first division but struggled when we came back up so I think we know what his level was :greengrin

I liked him anyway.

22-05-2014, 06:25 PM
Where's Rudi? Though he was new player coach since he has been hovering around for 6 months pulling pints?

22-05-2014, 06:31 PM

:agree: Incredible really, when you think that great players like Alex Edwards, Jimmy O'Rourke and Alan Gordon never got a single cap for Scotland. Crawford couldn't lace their boots.

majorhibs
22-05-2014, 07:03 PM
What would be achievement? Not being argumentative to be honest.

IMO he was great in the first division but struggled when we came back up so I think we know what his level was :greengrin

I liked him anyway.

How many did he actually score in that season as #9 in a team that got promoted with a record # points? Whilst being fed all game from Sauzee, Latapy etc & wi big Mixu supplying the knockdowns, I think he managed about 14 or something, & was he not on a few of the pens. as well? When Mcleish released hin I remember personally being pretty happy about it. 1 on 1 wi their keeper I cant recall a #9 whos heed went more up their rear end than him since. Missed an absolute barrowload for us in 1st div. Hope he's their forwards coach.

Skol
22-05-2014, 07:08 PM
and the majority of those goals were penalties

22-05-2014, 07:22 PM
I'd be more than happy to have someone of the quality of Stevie Crawford play up front for us at the moment. He's a brave man going to that mob. I wish him luck once he moves on to a better club.

22-05-2014, 07:24 PM
Where's Rudi? Though he was new player coach since he has been hovering around for 6 months pulling pints?

God knows. That desperate wee rodent has been hanging about like a bad smell for ages. Washed up nobody still desperate to feel like a big shot again.

22-05-2014, 09:22 PM

He was a good player for us but I won't be wishing anyone well who is employed by them in any capacity.

I sincerely hope he, Harry "4-6-0" Potter and the caveman tea lady are an absolute disaster.

22-05-2014, 09:24 PM
Crawford scored 23 in 73 for us so a goal roughly every 3 games.

Not a bad return really. I always quite liked him.

22-05-2014, 09:26 PM
Saw on twitter that they have been linked with one of our own Darren McGregor who has apparently been told he can leave St Mirren and also Gomis from Dundee United who I believe is out of contract, both would do well at championship level but would they really be willing to take that step down?

22-05-2014, 09:35 PM
:agree: Incredible really, when you think that great players like Alex Edwards, Jimmy O'Rourke and Alan Gordon never got a single cap for Scotland. Crawford couldn't lace their boots. took the words right out of my mouth.!

22-05-2014, 09:53 PM
I remember being really excited when I heard we were signing him(I was very young). I also remember being fairly underwhelmed by him overall, however he had a few good moments. I remember him bleaching his hair one summer along with another couple of players as well