View Full Version : anyone getting the train on wednesday?

19-05-2014, 03:28 PM
been to hamilton a couple of times (not the stadium though)

i know where the station is but is it far from the ground? was planning to drive through but bumped the car and its away for repair and haven't got a courtesy car

19-05-2014, 03:42 PM
Have a look here (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?283792-first-leg-pre-match-pints-plans)

19-05-2014, 03:43 PM
The return looks a bit of a trek. Hamilton West looks pretty near on the map. Where you travelling from?

kennyh
19-05-2014, 03:48 PM
Hamilton West ~ come out the station by the walkway not up the steps as you will then be on the path that runs along by Sainsbury's. You will be at the turnstiles in a few mins.

19-05-2014, 03:54 PM
The return looks a bit of a trek. Hamilton West looks pretty near on the map. Where you travelling from?

waverly i think bud

19-05-2014, 03:57 PM
Hamilton West ~ come out the station by the walkway not up the steps as you will then be on the path that runs along by Sainsbury's. You will be at the turnstiles in a few mins.

cheers bud will have a look at train times etc for there

19-05-2014, 03:57 PM
Have a look here (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?283792-first-leg-pre-match-pints-plans)

cheers :)

yeezus.
19-05-2014, 04:19 PM
I'm getting the train fae Stranraer to Hamilton West - costing me a bomb but I'm definitely not missing this!

19-05-2014, 05:14 PM
Train will cost a fortune if leaving Edinburgh or haymarket between 16:30 and 18:30 as normal peak time fares apply.

19-05-2014, 05:21 PM
Train will cost a fortune if leaving Edinburgh or haymarket between 16:30 and 18:30 as normal peak time fares apply.

the prices are a bit steep, managed to get myself on a bus now so all good :greengrin

19-05-2014, 05:22 PM
£25.20 for an anytime day return which you'll need if travelling at peak time.

19-05-2014, 05:36 PM
Im training it, the last one home is at 10:33 which works pretty well.

19-05-2014, 05:40 PM
£25.20 for an anytime day return which you'll need if travelling at peak time.

robbing barstewards

19-05-2014, 05:50 PM
£10.60 for an off peak day return from HMKT - HAMMY WEST

19-05-2014, 05:53 PM
Bring back the football specials ...:greengrin

19-05-2014, 06:18 PM
Train times work well for me, always best way to travel.

19-05-2014, 06:39 PM
Car for me and the lad, usual parking space in the big car park next to Morrisons.

19-05-2014, 06:41 PM
£10.60 for an off peak day return from HMKT - HAMMY WEST

You our will have to leave before 16:30 for tickets to be valid. Anytime between 16:30'and 18:30 and it's the full fare.

19-05-2014, 06:41 PM
Im training it, the last one home is at 10:33 which works pretty well.

Where are you changing trains?

19-05-2014, 06:43 PM
Dont envisage leaving early being a problem. Not sure about thistles tho.

Last train from Bellshill to Slateford will do nicely.

TheCabbage
20-05-2014, 07:27 AM
You our will have to leave before 16:30 for thistle to be valid. Anytime between 16:30'and 18:30 and it's the full fare.

And it's not valid going via Glasgow so it's only valid on Motherwell/Bellshill trains.

20-05-2014, 02:13 PM
Where are you changing trains?

I dunno but it gets in to Edinburgh pretty late, 12:30 so probably two changes?

If you want to avoid the peak time prices get the 17:56 from Edinburgh gets into Hamilton 19:30, should be enough time barring any delays...

20-05-2014, 04:20 PM
Change at Cambuslang for me, there for about 30 mins so time for a quick pint if there's a pub near station.

20-05-2014, 04:25 PM
Hamilton West is the best option. I remember when we played there in 2004 against Albion Rovers in the Cup there was a wee sneaky path up the side of the railway that cut some time off the journey, brought you out at the main stand - hopefully it's still there.

For anyone making a nash after work, the 17:46 from Haymarket will get you into Hamilton West for 19:01 (changing in Motherwell with a 20 minute wait) for £8.90. Getting back is a bit dearer though.

20-05-2014, 04:32 PM
I dunno but it gets in to Edinburgh pretty late, 12:30 so probably two changes?

If you want to avoid the peak time prices get the 17:56 from Edinburgh gets into Hamilton 19:30, should be enough time barring any delays...

Please note that is not a direct train, there are no direct trains from Edinburgh/Haymarket to Hamilton stations, a change must be done at either Bellshill or Motherwell or both. Don't get caught out.

Also the 17:56 service is an all stops service to Glasgow Central via Shotts. 18 stations it stops at and you will need to change at Bellshill on that one.

Your return journey has you going into glasgow and changing there, note that your ticket must say under route, "via Glasgow" or you can't travel through Glasgow as your ticket will get rejected at the barriers and you will have to pay a "change of route" suppliment fare.

20-05-2014, 04:33 PM
And it's not valid going via Glasgow so it's only valid on Motherwell/Bellshill trains.

You can buy a route via glasgow ticket but its more expensive

20-05-2014, 04:35 PM
Hamilton West is the best option. I remember when we played there in 2004 against Albion Rovers in the Cup there was a wee sneaky path up the side of the railway that cut some time off the journey, brought you out at the main stand - hopefully it's still there.

For anyone making a nash after work, the 17:46 from Haymarket will get you into Hamilton West for 19:01 (changing in Motherwell with a 20 minute wait) for £8.90. Getting back is a bit dearer though.

Are 2 singles cheaper than a return?

20-05-2014, 04:36 PM
Theres a train from Bellshill to Wav at about 2324 so no need to go anywhere near the weej.

20-05-2014, 04:37 PM
Change at Cambuslang for me, there for about 30 mins so time for a quick pint if there's a pub near station.

Thats a james hunt of a journey. Cambuslang is the last staion before Central, you then have to double back on yourself to get to Hamilton. Enjoy! :greengrin

20-05-2014, 04:40 PM
Theres a train from Bellshill to Wav at about 2324 so no need to go anywhere near the weej.

Yes, thats the all stopper form the central that arrives in edinburgh at 00:34 Bellshill, Holytown, Carfin, Cleland, Hartwood, Shotts, Fauldhouse, Addiewell, West Calder, Livingston South, Kirknewton, Curriehill, Wester Hailes, Kingsknowe, Slateford, Haymarket and Eventually Edinburgh Waverley......

Rather you than me.

20-05-2014, 04:44 PM
Aye, an hour isnae deadly, I've been on it once or twice to say the least, Suits me fine, I stay about 200yds fi Slateford Station so saves fannying about at HMKT/WAV.

20-05-2014, 04:45 PM
Please note that is not a direct train, there are no direct trains from Edinburgh/Haymarket to Hamilton stations, a change must be done at either Bellshill or Motherwell or both. Don't get caught out.

Also the 17:56 service is an all stops service to Glasgow Central via Shotts. 18 stations it stops at and you will need to change at Bellshill on that one.

Your return journey has you going into glasgow and changing there, note that your ticket must say under route, "via Glasgow" or you can't travel through Glasgow as your ticket will get rejected at the barriers and you will have to pay a "change of route" suppliment fare.

None of that's a problem, I don't mind changing as long it gets me there before KO. Much more relaxing than the M8 at rush hour.

20-05-2014, 04:46 PM
Aye, an hour isnae deadly, I've been on it once or twice to say the least, Suits me fine, I stay about 200yds fi Slateford Station so saves fannying about at HMKT/WAV.

Suits you but the other fans have a **** of a journey home.

20-05-2014, 04:46 PM
None of that's a problem, I don't mind changing as long it gets me there before KO. Much more relaxing than the M8 at rush hour.

Bronson
20-05-2014, 04:47 PM
Anyone know roughly how long it will take to get from Hamilton West to the ground?

BS44
20-05-2014, 04:51 PM
Suits you but the other fans have a **** of a journey home.

Is going to and from the match easier Queen St Central Station?

20-05-2014, 04:52 PM
Anyone know roughly how long it will take to get from Hamilton West to the ground?

Took about 5 mins on Monday.

20-05-2014, 04:53 PM
Is going to and from the match easier going Queen St Central Station?

Depends, its quicker via glasgow but it dearer. Much slower but cheaper via bellshill and motherwell with up to two changes opposed to one via glasgow

Bronson
20-05-2014, 05:29 PM
Took about 5 mins on Monday.

Ideal, cheers:aok:

20-05-2014, 05:49 PM
Are 2 singles cheaper than a return?

Dunno - getting a lift on the way back :thumbsup:

20-05-2014, 10:22 PM

How are you getting to Bellshill?
You can catch that same train back via Shotts line from Cambuslang, there's nothing direct from Hamilton to Bellshill.

BS44
20-05-2014, 10:34 PM
Depends, its quicker via glasgow but it dearer. Much slower but cheaper via bellshill and motherwell with up to two changes opposed to one via glasgow

I'm a billionaire so paying the extra few quid is fine. Thanks for the info though.

20-05-2014, 11:38 PM
How are you getting to Bellshill?
You can catch that same train back via Shotts line from Cambuslang, there's nothing direct from Hamilton to Bellshill.

Rough times - 2200 HAMW - MWL 2211
MWL 2218 BHILL 2224

Quick pint or two in Bellshill.

Although Im now considering meeting folk in the weej before the game and returning via GQS.

Hedlund12
21-05-2014, 12:43 PM
I'm driving to Hamilton - only my 10 yr old and I in the car. If anyone wants a lift let me know. Can take 3-4 people. Leaving Newtongrange at 5:45. Offer there for anyone who needs it....