View Full Version : Hamilton v Falkirk 2nd leg 3pmToday

18-05-2014, 08:10 AM
2nd leg today kicks off at 3pm, can't see that this match is live on tv today (anyone know different) outcome will obviously have a bearing on us staying up as I believe that Hamilton will be tougher to beat than Falkirk.

So hoping for a Falkirk win as they will also have played more games recently which hopefully will take more out the legs and result in a few injuries & niggles to their players.

Hopefully the 10 day break that Hibs will have had works in our favour as we should be fresher and any injuries/niggles any players have should have cleared up.

C'mon the Bairns.

18-05-2014, 08:13 AM
2nd leg today kicks off at 3pm, can't see that this match is live on tv today (anyone know different) outcome will obviously have a bearing on us staying up as I believe that Hamilton will be tougher to beat than Falkirk.

So hoping for a Falkirk win as they will also have played more games recently which hopefully will take more out the legs and result in a few injuries & niggles to their players.

Hopefully the 10 day break that Hibs will have had works in our favour as we should be fresher and any injuries/niggles any players have should have cleared up.

C'mon the Bairns.

May the worst team win!

18-05-2014, 08:20 AM
For ticket purposes only, hoping for a Hamilton win.

18-05-2014, 08:29 AM
Hoping for a Falkirk win on penalties after a bruising encounter with both teams reduced to 9 men.

kennyh
18-05-2014, 08:34 AM
I'm going today. Falkirk have been accies bogie team for a number of years but that has changed this season, I think Accies have beaten them three times this season, I have seen Falkirk twice this season and both times been very disappointed as they were rubbish BUT Falkirk have improved dramatically in the run in and I expect a very close game. I've seen Accies about 6 times and they never give up, they have options up front, they have scored a good few late winners and only lost once when I've been though that was the vital game away at Dumbarton when the pressure was on.

Both teams are creating lots of chances and I expect they would both score against Hibs in both legs, so would Hibs have sussed out how to score a minimum of three goals over two games. I seriously doubt it but hope I am wrong.

My hopes today are a good game, plenty goals and an Accies win, then next week to see Hibs finally come alive and give the fans something to cheer.

GGTTG

Tynie01011973
18-05-2014, 08:37 AM
BBC ALBA has Championship Play-Off Final listed on today's programme guide from 4.00 to 6.15pm (Virgin Channel 161)

BigKev
18-05-2014, 08:45 AM
Think the Alba game is Dunfermline v Cowdenbeath?

18-05-2014, 09:05 AM
May the worst team win!

Very much this.

Preferably with a few sending offs and injuries as well.

I was speaking to a Dundee fan last night who told me that they weren't very good and he couldn't believe a team as poor as them won the league. He said that tells you all you need to know about Falkirk and Hamilton, said any half decent team would have walked the Championship this year.

I've not watched either team but he was insistent that neither are very good.

18-05-2014, 09:25 AM
Think the Alba game is Dunfermline v Cowdenbeath?

Correct.

18-05-2014, 10:27 AM
I'm just really p***** off, disappointed, and angry that HFC are even in this position (again) and the long suffering fans are being put through the wringer once more, worried about whether or not we are good enough to overcome the likes of Falkirk or Hamilton Accies over two legs FFS. As a club, surely we can be much better than this. :grr:

18-05-2014, 10:46 AM
Extra time and pens please as a few sending offs

18-05-2014, 10:55 AM
BBC ALBA has Championship Play-Off Final listed on today's programme guide from 4.00 to 6.15pm (Virgin Channel 161)

The Championship play off final is between Dunfermline and Cowdenbeath.

18-05-2014, 11:44 AM

The away end at hamilton doesnt hold many ,would have thouht falkirk would be bigger or am i missing something ?

KdyHby
18-05-2014, 11:48 AM
Very much this.

I was speaking to a Dundee fan last night who told me that they weren't very good and he couldn't believe a team as poor as them won the league. He said that tells you all you need to know about Falkirk and Hamilton, said any half decent team would have walked the Championship this year.

Raith Rovers put us out the cup :-(

18-05-2014, 11:55 AM
The away end at hamilton doesnt hold many ,would have thouht falkirk would be bigger or am i missing something ?

If we play Hamilton, we're getting the stand behind the goal plus the temporary seating on the east side of the stadium which is an allocation of 2,700.

If we play Falkirk, we're only getting the stand behind the goal which is an allocation of 2,000.

18-05-2014, 12:28 PM
Very much this.

I have seen both play PB and i disagree with the Dundee fan, i also thought Dundee looked okay when i seen them play too, both Hamilton and Falkirk play good football and like to get forward and both teams have goal scorers in there teams, if i was to pick out from them then i would hope Falkirk go through today.

18-05-2014, 12:29 PM
I'm just really p***** off, disappointed, and angry that HFC are even in this position (again) and the long suffering fans are being put through the wringer once more, worried about whether or not we are good enough to overcome the likes of Falkirk or Hamilton Accies over two legs FFS. As a club, surely we can be much better than this. :grr:

It's the stands fault.

The Leith Dutch
18-05-2014, 12:35 PM

I honestly think who we play is irrelevant.
If we play as we have been recently I'm not sure it matters how bad the opposition are - we'll lose.

If we actually turn up, show a little fight and some of our players have a decent game we can and should beat either of them.

Very much in our hands.

18-05-2014, 12:39 PM

jonny
18-05-2014, 01:36 PM
Guys,
For anyone outside the UK / Ireland that wants to take this game in it would seem to be live on Falkirk TV at a cost of £7.99.
Here's the link:
http://www.falkirkfc.tv/index.php/subscribe

If anyone finds any other "legal" means of watching it then please drop me a PM.

Jdawg
18-05-2014, 01:51 PM
I'm going today. Falkirk have been accies bogie team for a number of years but that has changed this season, I think Accies have beaten them three times this season, I have seen Falkirk twice this season and both times been very disappointed as they were rubbish BUT Falkirk have improved dramatically in the run in and I expect a very close game. I've seen Accies about 6 times and they never give up, they have options up front, they have scored a good few late winners and only lost once when I've been though that was the vital game away at Dumbarton when the pressure was on.

Both teams are creating lots of chances and I expect they would both score against Hibs in both legs, so would Hibs have sussed out how to score a minimum of three goals over two games. I seriously doubt it but hope I am wrong.

My hopes today are a good game, plenty goals and an Accies win, then next week to see Hibs finally come alive and give the fans something to cheer.

GGTTG
Be good if you can post your thoughts on the game once you're back

18-05-2014, 01:54 PM
For several Falkirk fan mates... I'm rooting for them ! And then I'll give them dog poop in a few days time :wink:

18-05-2014, 01:56 PM

:agree: Sums up where we are as a club at the moment.

They say any team is capable of of beating a better opponent in a one-of match. Sadly, this is over two legs, so Hibs have no chance :cb

18-05-2014, 02:11 PM
Listening on the radio and the commentators have mentioned several times how tired Falkirk looked in the 1st leg.

Surelt after a 10 day break we can take advantage against either team given they have played a minimum of 2 games in that time.

18-05-2014, 02:15 PM
Hamilton go 1 up :rolleyes:

18-05-2014, 02:16 PM
1-0 Hamilton.

2-1 aggregate.

18-05-2014, 02:17 PM
Listening on the radio and the commentators have mentioned several times how tired Falkirk looked in the 1st leg.

Surelt after a 10 day break we can take advantage against either team given they have played a minimum of 2 games in that time.

Don't tempt fate PB.

jonny
18-05-2014, 02:22 PM
BBC text commentary, canny beat it:

1513 Falkirk look the more assured side
1515 GOAL Hamilton

18-05-2014, 02:23 PM
I'm starting to feel I'll now.. Said Falkirk mates said the first leg could have been 4 or 5 - 1

And if Hamilton really can score for fun, then God help us...

18-05-2014, 02:27 PM
I'm starting to feel I'll now.. Said Falkirk mates said the first leg could have been 4 or 5 - 1

Calm doon, it'll be fine. :wink:

18-05-2014, 02:28 PM

Dinnae chuck it already!

18-05-2014, 02:28 PM
Watching live stream to see what we are up against.

18-05-2014, 02:30 PM
Dinnae chuck it already!

And I'm on the phone discussing about getting tickets and travel arrangments for Wednesday with my Auld man (he's no helping)...

Xanex ! Nurse !!!! :greengrin

18-05-2014, 02:32 PM
Hamilton sound well on top now.

18-05-2014, 02:33 PM
Falkirk had a shot keeper saved

Billy
18-05-2014, 02:34 PM
Hamilton sound well on top now.

Hamilton look more likely to score again but Falkirk have had a few chances.

18-05-2014, 02:34 PM
Scotland misses a sitter

18-05-2014, 02:36 PM
Chance for Falkirk on a break, keeper saves low shot

Billy
18-05-2014, 02:37 PM
Chance for Falkirk on a break, keeper saves low shot
Loy was never going to score from there, he has to come onto his right before shooting. Tame shot in the end.

18-05-2014, 02:41 PM
Hamilton keeper flaps at a corner but it goes out for goal kick

18-05-2014, 02:45 PM
Hamilton have a couple of players who can go past men in midfield creating danger on counter attack.

Billy
18-05-2014, 02:46 PM
HT: 1-0 Accies

18-05-2014, 02:46 PM
Ht 1.0

18-05-2014, 02:55 PM
Dunfy v Cowdenbeath 2nd leg starting Live on BBC Alba KO 4:05pm

18-05-2014, 03:02 PM
Hamilton keeper flaps at a corner but it goes out for goal kick

Flaps at corners in general or just at that one ,as that's an area we could exploit .You mentioned in another post midfielders that can go by players and be threat on counter attack so assume they also have some pace ?
Sounds like they have been better team in both games once they get into their stride so fact that's only one goal in each game and are missing chances so that indicates that when pressure is on they aren't free scoring .
However looks like we will possibly need to score in both legs so hopefully T B is working on plan

18-05-2014, 03:04 PM
Falkirk close, off the line

18-05-2014, 03:05 PM
Brilliant crowd at East End Park for the Dunfermilne v Cowdenbeath game.

18-05-2014, 03:08 PM
1-0 Cowdenbeath.

wow, goal cowdenbeath after 30 seconds

poor jumbo jim

1-0 Cowdenbeath after 20 seconds.

Hemmings with a real poachers finish.

18-05-2014, 03:09 PM
Jefferies puss tripping him.

18-05-2014, 03:10 PM
keeper saved volley from Falkirk. great chance missed

18-05-2014, 03:10 PM
some dunfy director said winning this would be worth 500k to the club

18-05-2014, 03:12 PM
Falkirk all over them

18-05-2014, 03:19 PM
From BBC

""I tell you, Accies goalkeeper - 31-year-old Kevin Cuthbert - is in inspired form here. That's three brilliant saves he's made in the match and on another day all those Falkirk efforts would've hit the back of the net."

Ominous

18-05-2014, 03:21 PM
Tbh not sure who I would prefer.

Both appear very good going forward.

Don't think it matters at this stage as both will give us hard games!!

18-05-2014, 03:24 PM
Watching the Dunf game and I do wonder what they coach players, they don't seem to know to run into space for a pass and the passing is pathetic.. Schoolboy stuff !!!

18-05-2014, 03:24 PM
Tbh not sure who I would prefer.

Both appear very good going forward.

Don't think it matters at this stage as both will give us hard games!!

True! .... I should've added "either way"!!!!

On one hand we can't seem to score and on the other we can't keep a clean sheet :-(

18-05-2014, 03:25 PM
True! .... I should've added "either way"!!!! On one hand we can't seem to score and on the other we can't keep a clean sheet :-(

It's a hard one but I am hoping to eventually get some goals..

18-05-2014, 03:27 PM
I'd prefer thy team who didn't score TEN goals 2 weeks ago.

18-05-2014, 03:28 PM
Hello 380 guests :kbacker:

18-05-2014, 03:28 PM
I would like us to play Falkirk first half and Hamilton second half.

MM19
18-05-2014, 03:30 PM
Hopefully it will go to extra time and they'll be tired when they play us

18-05-2014, 03:31 PM
If we play Hamilton, we're getting the stand behind the goal plus the temporary seating on the east side of the stadium which is an allocation of 2,700.

If we play Falkirk, we're only getting the stand behind the goal which is an allocation of 2,000.

Ok cheers didnt realise that thanks

18-05-2014, 03:32 PM
Falkirk unlucky to be a goal down

18-05-2014, 03:34 PM
It's a hard one but I am hoping to eventually get some goals..

On phone so not sure if this will work but....

18-05-2014, 03:41 PM
Hello 380 guests :kbacker:

18-05-2014, 03:42 PM
Hamilton had a great chance keeper saved.

18-05-2014, 03:43 PM
rather falkirk go through, have visions of MAC coming back to bite us on the bahookie

18-05-2014, 03:43 PM
For anyone who is interested in seein Kane Hemmings play, the Dunfy vs Cow game is on ALBA

jimmyboco1875
18-05-2014, 03:45 PM
For anyone who is interested in seein Kane Hemmings play, the Dunfy vs Cow game is on ALBA

Looks a no bad player but are we even interested in him mate

Has had a few chances so far

Either these commentators are a bit excitable, or this has been an unbelievable game

Have watched both legs, am not convinced he's all that. He's ok.

18-05-2014, 03:51 PM
Been more impressed with Nat Wedderburn their centre half, really strong looking, left sided - reminds me of Sol.

18-05-2014, 03:51 PM
We face Hamilton

18-05-2014, 03:52 PM
Looks a no bad player but are we even interested in him mate

Supposedly mate. A few good posters on here seem to think so anyway.

18-05-2014, 03:52 PM
Been more impressed with Nat Wedderburn their centre half, really strong looking, left sided - reminds me of Sol.

agreed, kane hemmings touch seems really poor and he's not exactly rapid. He obviously has an eye for goal mind you as shown with the first.

18-05-2014, 03:53 PM
Hamilton it is then.

Good from a ticket point of view.

18-05-2014, 03:53 PM
Full time, 1-0.

Hamilton it is.

18-05-2014, 03:55 PM
Hamilton it is then.

Good from a ticket point of view.

Is it? I thought Falkirk would give us a bigger allocation?

18-05-2014, 03:56 PM

2700 at Hamilton, only 2000 at Falkirk.

18-05-2014, 03:56 PM

Hamilton are giving us the stand behind the goal plus the temporary seating on the east side of the stadium, which is 2,700.

Falkirk were only due to give us the stand behind the goal, which is 2,000.

18-05-2014, 03:57 PM
That's good then

Canny wait.....

18-05-2014, 03:58 PM
There were two Hamiltons in this game. I hope we face the team that played the second half.

18-05-2014, 04:16 PM
I don't know who Kenny Crawford is, but apparently he has taken up the 'Anti-Hibs' pill as well...

17:05:
BBC Scotland's Kenny Crawford at New Douglas Park"Hibs have reason to be fairly worried when they visit New Douglas Park on Wednesday. Accies are flying and should've scored more today. However, they're not impenetrable at the back as Falkirk showed. But if Kevin Cuthbert plays like this again, Hibs have no chance!"

18-05-2014, 04:18 PM
I don't know who Kenny Crawford is, but apparently he has taken up the 'Anti-Hibs' pill as well...

17:05:
BBC Scotland's Kenny Crawford at New Douglas Park"Hibs have reason to be fairly worried when they visit New Douglas Park on Wednesday. Accies are flying and should've scored more today. However, they're not impenetrable at the back as Falkirk showed. But if Kevin Cuthbert plays like this again, Hibs have no chance!"

I was thinking that as well after reading that a few minutes ago.

Ridiculous comment to hear from a BBC reporter.

18-05-2014, 04:21 PM

It's even more ridiculous considering Falkirk were all over Hamilton in the 2nd half.

If they play like they did in the 1st half it's going to be tough for us, play like they did in the 2nd and I'm quite confident.

18-05-2014, 04:23 PM

:top marks Ridiculous and bitter.

Most clubs would use that to fire the players up.....:cb

18-05-2014, 04:26 PM
It's even more ridiculous considering Falkirk were all over Hamilton in the 2nd half.

If they play like they did in the 1st half it's going to be tough for us, play like they did in the 2nd and I'm quite confident.

Hamilton will be the more nervous in my opinion. If we start with a whirlwind as we have done so many times this season (without the early goal) I feel if we get the early goal we will win. 0-0 going into the home leg and we may toil as home form has deserted us for a few seasons now.

Lose the first leg by a couple of goals and we will toil. To turn it around.

18-05-2014, 04:57 PM
I'm a doom a gloomer... But start the drums (are we allowed ?) Onwards to the ticket queue !!