View Full Version : Good Luck David Wotherspoon

16-05-2014, 02:54 PM
I've no real feeling about tomorrow's cup final, but I hope Wotherspoon is selected and has a good game. Given his disappointments at our 2 cup finals in not making the squad, hopefully he puts that right on Saturday.

He was going nowhere in the latter part of his career with us so him moving on was most certainly the right move at the right time.

Best of luck David :aok:

16-05-2014, 02:58 PM
I've no real feeling about tomorrow's cup final, but I hope Wotherspoon is selected and has a good game. Given his disappointments at our 2 cup finals in not making the squad, hopefully he puts that right on Saturday.

He was going nowhere in the latter part of his career with us so him moving on was most certainly the right move at the right time.

Best of luck David :aok:

Good shout, I thought he was really unlucky to miss out on the first cup final in particular, so hope he gets his chance and takes it tomorrow.

16-05-2014, 02:58 PM
Yes,good luck,always liked him as a player,wasn't afraid to try and take someone on

Weststandwanab
16-05-2014, 03:02 PM
Yes,good luck,always liked him as a player,wasn't afraid to try and take someone on My best wishes too.

andy1875
16-05-2014, 03:03 PM
Part of a squad in 3 consecutive SC finals.

Has this been done before outside a non Old Firm side?

Good luck to the lad anyhow.

16-05-2014, 03:11 PM
Good shout, I thought he was really unlucky to miss out on the first cup final in particular, so hope he gets his chance and takes it tomorrow.

I could never understand why he was overlooked by Fenlon in favour of some of the wasters and imposters who embarrassed everyone connected to HFC that day. I'll never forgive those p*****. Good luck Spoonie.

16-05-2014, 03:20 PM
Yes good luck David, and also good luck John Rankin too. :timebomb:

yeezus.
16-05-2014, 03:24 PM
I'm not overly bothered about the final but I would rather St. Johnstone win seeing they haven't been in one before and I'm not a fan of Utd.

16-05-2014, 03:40 PM
Think he'll be in the squad, although not sure if he will start

16-05-2014, 03:47 PM
I could never understand why he was overlooked by Fenlon in favour of some of the wasters and imposters who embarrassed everyone connected to HFC that day. I'll never forgive those p*****. Good luck Spoonie.

I thought he should have been in the squad, he had done well in the semi against Aberdeen as well.

16-05-2014, 03:51 PM
Good luck Lad..Hope the Saints win it

Nutmegged
16-05-2014, 03:55 PM
I'm hoping for a good final regardless of who wins, there is enough talent going to be on the pitch that could give us a belter.

Spoony was very unlucky, particularly in 2012, I suppose him winning the Scottish Cup would just sum our Season up, the majority wanted rid of him, we got rid, we've dropped like a stone and he could lift the Scottish.

16-05-2014, 03:58 PM
Good luck Spoony, hope your team wins it.
He is from Perth and a St Johnstone fan aye ?

Nutmegged
16-05-2014, 04:07 PM

I'm sure he is a Saints fan...Living the dream right now, taking your own club to it's first ever Scottish Cup, stuff of Legend

16-05-2014, 04:09 PM
Yes good luck David, and also good luck John Rankin too. :timebomb:

16-05-2014, 04:17 PM
Part of a squad in 3 consecutive SC finals.

Has this been done before outside a non Old Firm side?

Good luck to the lad anyhow.

Wasn't in the Hibs squad for either game was he?

bookert
16-05-2014, 04:45 PM
Best of luck to spoony, treated horribly on the last two cup final days.

...WentToMowAnSPL
16-05-2014, 04:52 PM
Best of luck ... Always liked him

16-05-2014, 05:19 PM
He should have been on the bench last year.

16-05-2014, 05:30 PM
Yeh ................. good luck to him tomorrow. Wasn't that bothered when we let him go TBH but will certainly be happy to see his move pay off with a SC winners medal.

roryg
16-05-2014, 06:00 PM
All the very best to David.

16-05-2014, 06:15 PM
Agreed always thought he was a trier for Hibs. Good luck Spoony for tomorrow.

16-05-2014, 06:40 PM
Im going to the game tomorrow,in the st johnstone end,got tickets offered through a friend and im in glasgow tonight and tomorrow so why the hell not.

Will be strange if st j win and im in beside them !

16-05-2014, 06:49 PM
I hope St J win the cup tomorrow. If they do, it will be in their first ever Scottish Cup final.

16-05-2014, 06:49 PM
Hope you're in the starting eleven Spoony. Always had time for the lad and wish him well

16-05-2014, 07:17 PM
Wotherspoon was an inconsistant player who when the finals came round was serverly out of form and the decision to drop him was a justified one at the time.

Never the less though he was never one to hide and I really hope he goes on to win it tomorrow.

16-05-2014, 07:22 PM
C'Mon Dundee Hibernian! :thumbsup:

sadtom
16-05-2014, 07:28 PM
C'Mon Dundee Hibernian! :thumbsup:

^^
(but good luck Spoony too)

16-05-2014, 08:36 PM
All the very best, D.

Didn't deserve to miss out on two finals for us and I'd take an inconsistent Wotherspoon over our consistently pish midfielders.

16-05-2014, 08:50 PM
Missed out in 2012 despite our squad being populated by utter wasters.
Missed out in 2013 the week after coming on against Dundee and scoring the winner with an outstanding header.

Very harsh

16-05-2014, 08:50 PM
Ps. Good luck tomor. Rooting for the Saints

16-05-2014, 09:17 PM
Saints were my grandfather's team. I never mind seeing them do okay (except at our expense of course) and won't mind them winning tomorrow.

16-05-2014, 09:32 PM
I've backed DU, sorry Spoony.

16-05-2014, 09:42 PM
Would prefer Saints to win it (always go for the underdog - probably why I'm a Hibee). Just think if they lift the Cup they'll have a 100% success record in Scottish Cup Finals ... of course if they don't then it'll be 100% failure.
Good luck David!:aok:

16-05-2014, 10:07 PM
Always remember that goal he scored to knock the stuffing out of Hearts.

Should be a good match tomorrow.

16-05-2014, 10:11 PM
Good luck....3rd time lucky son....get yourself a goal

ehf
16-05-2014, 10:32 PM
You certainly would not have seen Spoony out on the town acting the Big Time Charlie hours after disgracing the jersey; good luck tomorrow.

16-05-2014, 11:13 PM
Good luck D:aok:

Hope you and Saints can overcome United and take home the cup:thumbsup:

16-05-2014, 11:17 PM
Aye good luck to the lad, go get yourself a winners medal. Forcthe record I'd love him to do so but if I see a thread on here saying we should have kept him.........grrrrrrrr

16-05-2014, 11:43 PM
Couldn't care less who wins the final although it would be good to see Wotherspoon have a good game.

Wish him all the best.

17-05-2014, 01:10 AM
Good luck later David. Hopefully its a great game all round from the neutrals perspective.

17-05-2014, 01:44 AM
Definite good luck from me. I've run a few 10ks now but I'll always remember my first one where spoony and his girlfriend where cheering me and everyone else on in the last stretch. It definitely improved my performance. :agree:

17-05-2014, 06:48 AM
Good luck to our former goalscoring midfielder.

17-05-2014, 06:58 AM
Good luck to both Wotherspoon and Rankin. Both underappreciated at Easter Road.

hibs4thecup1988
17-05-2014, 07:17 AM

Spot on the money.

I liked both if them. I'd love st Johnston to do it more for spoony after missing out. He was out of form last year btw someone else said?! He scored the week before and done enough in my book to get into the 18 still couldn't believe it he wasn't in. Sigh.

Never mind. Also the United thing with Alan combe all those years ago makes me have a non liking to them.

Hope it's a cracker though

17-05-2014, 08:18 AM

He hails from Bridge of Earn, A mistake also made with Stevie May who is from Newburgh, but both are Saints Fans.

If I could have got a seat on a bus I would have been there, but seats were more difficult to find than a Willie Wonka Golden Ticket

17-05-2014, 08:41 AM
I'm hoping for a good final regardless of who wins, there is enough talent going to be on the pitch that could give us a belter.

Spoony was very unlucky, particularly in 2012, I suppose him winning the Scottish Cup would just sum our Season up, the majority wanted rid of him, we got rid, we've dropped like a stone and he could lift the Scottish.

Was it the majority? Or just the gurniest?

17-05-2014, 08:45 AM
I've got a good mate in the who is a Saints fan and is flying back from China to watch the game - that plus Wotherspoon in their squad means I'm definitely backing them for the final

Capt Mainwaring
17-05-2014, 10:22 AM

Both frustrating players when at Easter Road but both hard working honest types unlike so many other Wages Thiefs we've suffered/suffering.

Wish them both good luck for the final today.

17-05-2014, 01:04 PM
Just had a great feature on sportscene with spoony and stevie may.

Best of luck to both these guys, liked spoony a lot when he broke through and I didn't feel he was given enough of a chance after Hughes left the club.

17-05-2014, 01:30 PM
t's good to see David Wotherspoon in the Saints line-up. The midfielder has a remarkable record of winning 11 Scottish Cup ties in a row but was left out of the last two finals by former club Hibs. "David's been an outstanding signing for us," manager Tommy Wright told the BBC earlier this week. "A creative force who just needed to be loved again. He needed an arm around his shoulder."

KingFranck
17-05-2014, 01:43 PM
Totally agree good luck Spoony why we let you go I'll never know also feel the same about Rankin

macd123
17-05-2014, 02:24 PM
Bit like lewis stevenson, i never understood why people got on his back so much. Was one of our best players. Good luck today.

hibbytam
17-05-2014, 02:37 PM
Both frustrating players when at Easter Road but both hard working honest types unlike so many other Wages Thiefs we've suffered/suffering.

If we had those two in the team, we wouldn't be in the position we are now.

macd123
17-05-2014, 02:51 PM
And he now has an assist in a cup final!

17-05-2014, 02:53 PM
And he now has an assist in a cup final!

Superb corner. The boy only had to nod it home.

17-05-2014, 03:49 PM
t's good to see David Wotherspoon in the Saints line-up. The midfielder has a remarkable record of winning 11 Scottish Cup ties in a row but was left out of the last two finals by former club Hibs. "David's been an outstanding signing for us," manager Tommy Wright told the BBC earlier this week. "A creative force who just needed to be loved again. He needed an arm around his shoulder.

Not something we are very good at.

Gerard
17-05-2014, 03:51 PM
Not something we are very good at.

Things change, have faith:wink:

17-05-2014, 03:54 PM
Well done saints

17-05-2014, 03:58 PM
Things change, have faith:wink:

So next season we are going to cheer our players who try something even if they don't come off, and encourage the team if they put in the effort and try to play, even if we don't get a result?

Would love to see it, but there are many who confuse this kind of support with 'accepting mediocrity'.

17-05-2014, 04:04 PM
Great to see a player appreciated by his team's supporters, given the abuse he got at ER!

Fenriz
17-05-2014, 04:05 PM
Great game. Well done Spoony!

17-05-2014, 04:15 PM
I'm wondering if maybe Pat Fenlon got it wrong and should have went with Wotherspoon instead of tom Soares or Francombe?

17-05-2014, 04:17 PM
Well done D. Best move of his life last summer. Boyhood team, tremendous run in Europe, top 6 and a SC winner. Wow. To think we all thought he was moving down as well :-(

17-05-2014, 04:18 PM
Well done D, lad.

17-05-2014, 04:19 PM
Great to see a player appreciated by his team's supporters, given the abuse he got at ER!

Ken what, some people ( you?) need to move on.

Spoony was alright for us.....but was also a bomb scare at times.

Let's not do all this revisionist ' he was hounded out ' nonsense.

Good luck to him, lets leave it there.

MartinfaePorty
17-05-2014, 04:24 PM

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

17-05-2014, 04:25 PM
Well-chuffed for Spoony !!

17-05-2014, 04:31 PM

He, like Rankin IMO, recieved a lot of unfair abuse from our fans. Not the greatest player in the team but certainly not the worst.

17-05-2014, 04:32 PM
Delighted for him though, nice to see him enjoying his football and in a team he prospers well in.

17-05-2014, 04:37 PM
Just makes the decision to not include him in both final squads look quite ridiculous, really.

Anyway, well done to David! Absolutely delighted for him.

17-05-2014, 04:38 PM
I'm wondering if maybe Pat Fenlon got it wrong and should have went with Wotherspoon instead of tom Soares or Francombe?

Francombenot being in that team instead of Kujabi is arguably the reason we got such a big pumping. Dreadful call from Fenlon.

17-05-2014, 04:42 PM

100%:agree:

hibeemikey21
17-05-2014, 04:56 PM
Francombenot being in that team instead of Kujabi is arguably the reason we got such a big pumping. Dreadful call from Fenlon.

Francombe was certainly no world beater and kujabi was nowhere near as bad as his legend suggests. Had a total mare in a huge game, but he wasn't generally all that bad IMO

Weststandwanab
17-05-2014, 05:13 PM

Good luck to him, lets leave it there. Harsh IMO

Just makes the decision to not include him in both final squads look quite ridiculous, really.

Anyway, well done to David! Absolutely delighted for him. So correct another stupid Fenlon decision

100%:agree: 100% wrong possibly

17-05-2014, 09:23 PM

He was appreciated at Easter Road when he played well too, just a pity it wasn't very often.

bookert
17-05-2014, 09:32 PM
He was appreciated at Easter Road when he played well too, just a pity it wasn't very often.don't.remember that in the.games I.went to see him in, ie I remember a cup game against Killie ( may have been mcpakes first game) the two best players on park by a country mile were spoony and Hanlon, but they got unbelievable abuse from those in the ff stand all game.

17-05-2014, 09:35 PM
don't.remember that in the.games I.went to see him in, ie I remember a cup game against Killie ( may have been mcpakes first game) the two best players on park by a country mile were spoony and Hanlon, but they got unbelievable abuse from those in the ff stand all game.

FF stand renowned for clueless ****wits abusing players.

17-05-2014, 09:44 PM
Pleased and chuffed for the lad

Well done Spoony :aok:

17-05-2014, 09:47 PM
Well done, Spoony. Stevie will be chuffed, though pity it is not for his beloved Hibees.

Emerald
17-05-2014, 10:01 PM

Another Fenlon moment. If spoony had been kept we would have had a direct wide player and a good right back. Who did Pat replace him with? Pat ruin a football club Fenlon. Ah well opinions eh.

hibeesjoe
17-05-2014, 10:03 PM
Well done spoony. Always a hibs player I admired and got shafted out of his cup finals. Nice to see someone hibs related win the Scottish cup

17-05-2014, 10:08 PM
Fair play to the guy and he was a Saints fan? Made the right decision to leave our bunch of failures.

17-05-2014, 10:11 PM
Spoony. I remember an away game at Motherwell when, after three minutes and one misplaced pass, the guy behind me (a passionate Hibs fan if ever there was) shouted "Wotherspoon, you're ****ing useless".

Unfortunately that is it with some Hibs fans, and I'm sure those of other teams, they pick on a player and can only see the negatives.

I, personally, thought Spoony was a good player capable of doing something out of nothing. With a bit more luck, he would have had wonder goals against Celtic and Hertz.

Pity we have replaced him with players that can do nothing out of nothing!. Who's fault is that? Definitely, Fenlon. But not helped by those Hibs fans that could only see the negatives.

17-05-2014, 10:14 PM

Right, Green Day, who in your opinion has not had bombscare moments during the last three years.

GlenrothesHibee
17-05-2014, 10:21 PM
Spoony got the last laugh. Moved onto bigger and better things

17-05-2014, 10:25 PM

:devil:

Better, not sure about the bigger bit.

17-05-2014, 10:27 PM

St Johnstone's clearly a far better team than us at the moment but there's no danger that they're bigger than us.

17-05-2014, 10:31 PM
The same argument could be made about the much maligned John Rankin who was often mercilessly booed by the Hibernian "faithful"

tonyhib7
17-05-2014, 10:32 PM
Well done to Spoony has provide he can be a valuable member in the team but didn't happen with us. Remember one game when he was coming on as a substitute and before he had set foot on the park sum p---k a few rows behind us in the ff was giving him abuse what chance have young lads got to gain confidence when guys like that are always on there back.

hibeesjoe
17-05-2014, 10:40 PM
:devil:

Better, not sure about the bigger bit.

We're so big we are playing in the play offs. The whole big team thing is cringey.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

macd123
17-05-2014, 11:13 PM

It's not revisionist, loads of people were saying it at the time. It's pretty clear he is a very good spl player and it was clear back then.

The problem for spoony was trying to develop as part of losing teams under poor managers with few good senior pros. It's not surprising the fans got edgy when we were winning 2 games in a calendar year. Spoony, like harris now, tries to beat men but this is not the best environment to try things like that just now. When it doesn't work you look a bit stupid and folk complain.

My concern now is for handling, harris and cummings. You can hear the start of the grumblings already. How are we going to stop the same happening to them?

Salisbury Hibby
17-05-2014, 11:18 PM
We're so big we are playing in the play offs. The whole big team thing is cringey.

It is and it isn't. Facts are that we do have a big support, and therefore a big turnover. Why clubs with smaller supports are doing better than us is something that I hope the new CEO is going to find out and correct.

SON OF PADDY
17-05-2014, 11:29 PM
Well done David ! I'am truly pleased for you. "Jealous as F@#k mind " !!

17-05-2014, 11:38 PM

Exactly. Delighted for him.

GlenrothesHibee
18-05-2014, 05:26 AM

Until we can win a cup or at the very least finish in the top 6 or stay in the premiership im not going to call us or even think we're a big club.

Stewboy
18-05-2014, 05:39 AM
Well done to Spoony

Another deemed not good enough us to be replaced by dross

18-05-2014, 07:19 AM
Pleased for the lad, no good enough for some here and well done tae St. Johnstone. :agree: Amazing what you can dae even with a small club if it is run by somebody who kens what they are doing and who has drive, ambition and a passion for their club instead of a po faced beancounter who is or has none of those things.

18-05-2014, 11:05 AM

ken what, spoony was hounded out, same as others before him. ken what, there'll be more. there's always a gathering of erchies at ER who only seem to be there to give our players grief.

18-05-2014, 11:11 AM
I'm sure " The Voice Of Reason" Will be along any minute now :I'm waiti

Nailrod
18-05-2014, 04:19 PM
ken what, spoony was hounded out, same as others before him. ken what, there'll be more. there's always a gathering of erchies at ER who only seem to be there to give our players grief.At the end of the day, it's not the erchies that are the problem. A professional footballer can take a bit of abuse from the stands when things aren't going well.

The fact is that for the past seven years, the very small number of young players who have broken into the first team at ER, and the very much larger number who have had a few chances and never made it, have been playing alongside a bunch of anonymous journeymen struggling every week to avoid another beating.

If Spoony and Hanlon had been playing in a confident, successful, assertive team including a couple of players of genuine quality, the chances are they would have gone on to become the successful internationalists that their early promise suggested. Many other players who have never made it might have come through the ranks.

If any of the 'golden generation' had been brought into the Hibs team of the last seven years, I have a grim feeling that none of their careers would have gone any further than Hibs for a few seasons, then a free transfer to St Johnstone.

I'm glad Spoony has a cup-winner's medal. His early promise merited it. It's not his fault he was playing alongside a bunch of dross at ER.

Oh, and this:

The problem for spoony was trying to develop as part of losing teams under poor managers with few good senior pros. It's not surprising the fans got edgy when we were winning 2 games in a calendar year. Spoony, like harris now, tries to beat men but this is not the best environment to try things like that just now. When it doesn't work you look a bit stupid and folk complain... My concern now is for handling, harris and cummings. You can hear the start of the grumblings already. How are we going to stop the same happening to them?

Fergos
18-05-2014, 04:32 PM
It's not revisionist, loads of people were saying it at the time. It's pretty clear he is a very good spl player and it was clear back then.

The problem for spoony was trying to develop as part of losing teams under poor managers with few good senior pros. It's not surprising the fans got edgy when we were winning 2 games in a calendar year. Spoony, like harris now, tries to beat men but this is not the best environment to try things like that just now. When it doesn't work you look a bit stupid and folk complain.

My concern now is for handling, harris and cummings. You can hear the start of the grumblings already. How are we going to stop the same happening to them?

Spoony, I agree.....he wasnt appreciated by those never played the game experts in the stands and lacked confidence throughout his time at ER having been played in too many different positions. I posted on here months back that the best I saw him was when he broke into the team and played right back under yogi I'm sure....still stick by that.....and he would have been a better option there last year than Clancy or Maybury....

i agree also with your point on this generation of young ones...apart from Handling. This lad flatters to deceive, takes too many touches on a ball due to his compete lack of a first touch, plays nothing passes or falls on his arse. Not good enough.....great tattoos though.

GGTTH.

18-05-2014, 04:52 PM
Spoony, I agree.....he wasnt appreciated by those never played the game experts in the stands and lacked confidence throughout his time at ER having been played in too many different positions. I posted on here months back that the best I saw him was when he broke into the team and played right back under yogi I'm sure....still stick by that.....and he would have been a better option there last year than Clancy or Maybury....

i agree also with your point on this generation of young ones...apart from Handling. This lad flatters to deceive, takes too many touches on a ball due to his compete lack of a first touch, plays nothing passes or falls on his arse. Not good enough.....great tattoos though.

GGTTH.

I'd agree with that, but then again there are some folk here that said that playing him there ruined him? Wotherspoon was an ok player who some folk liked and others thought he was not good enough.

There is a lot of rewriting history going on here now, He had a poor season in his last year at us, he actually looked ok at times but ran as if he as treading in sand most of the time. We kept being told he was being played out of position, yet when he was played inside he was equally poor there too.

His time was up at Hibs, but well done to him in winning yesterday. :top marks