View Full Version : Hibs players views on Scottish Independence

15-05-2014, 11:49 PM
Have any players stated their views via twitter or through the press?

Particularly the players that aren't Scottish but within the Union.

I wonder if they'd be more hesitant to play in Scotland should we be a foreign country and potentially not be using the pound. All of these guys will have the vote and I'd guess that the non-Scots would be more inclined to vote 'no' when thinking of their own professional circumstances.

Could we become too exotic for them! End up with Joey Barton up here putting on a ridiculous Scottish twang after being here 5 mins? :wink:

ManBearPig
16-05-2014, 12:11 AM
Kick politics out of football ;-)

Nutmegged
16-05-2014, 01:36 AM
Have any players stated their views via twitter or through the press?

Particularly the players that aren't Scottish but within the Union.

I wonder if they'd be more hesitant to play in Scotland should we be a foreign country and potentially not be using the pound. All of these guys will have the vote and I'd guess that the non-Scots would be more inclined to vote 'no' when thinking of their own professional circumstances.

Could we become too exotic for them! End up with Joey Barton up here putting on a ridiculous Scottish twang after being here 5 mins? :wink:

Yon Joey Barton? Awck Aye ;-)

Salisbury Hibby
16-05-2014, 04:56 AM
I don't care and they should keep it private. It would just be another stick for some supporters to beat them with.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

16-05-2014, 05:08 AM
I can't see many players nailing their colours to the mast re the referendum. As you said it'd just be another stick for all sides to beat them with. And, especially with Hibs players, there's nae need tae hand oot any mair sticks ;)

16-05-2014, 05:27 AM
I think celebrities / sportsman should really keep their mouths shut about the subject. It's a personal issue.

16-05-2014, 05:32 AM
I think celebrities / sportsman should really keep their mouths shut about the subject. It's a personal issue.

I'm not so sure. We're all for people supporting good causes and in this case support for either side could be viewed as a good cause.

Is this really a political issue? Does it not go beyond that?

16-05-2014, 05:33 AM
Anyway, I was on the phone to Franck last night, and he sais to vote "oui".

(honest) :wink:

Salisbury Hibby
16-05-2014, 05:45 AM
Is this really a political issue? Does it not go beyond that?

1. Yes
2. No

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

16-05-2014, 06:39 AM
It's a strange question. The political beliefs of a Hibs player has never crossed my mind. It's up there with "I wonder what Heffernan takes in his tea?" I'd imagine that few of them vote, in line with a lot of men their ages.

16-05-2014, 06:40 AM
Not a current player but Michael Stewart seems to be a fanatical 'Yes' supporter. Shame, I didn't actually mind him until now :greengrin

16-05-2014, 07:47 AM
I think everyone is entitled to their view but as far as I'm aware only TB has declared his view. Which was support for the union.

(((Fergus)))
16-05-2014, 02:44 PM
From watching their attempts at teamwork it is clear the Hibs players are massively into independence. They seem determined to step down from the big league and live in a backwater instead.

yeezus.
16-05-2014, 03:54 PM
I don't see how it's relevant. If James Collins came out in support of a Yes vote I certainly wouldn't be changing my mind :greengrin

17-05-2014, 04:35 AM
Unless the issue is discussed in the establishments of George St, I expect most of them don't know what 'referendum' even means.

17-05-2014, 09:54 AM
From watching their attempts at teamwork it is clear the Hibs players are massively into independence. They seem determined to step down from the big league and live in a backwater instead.

From what I've seen of the "big league" mate perhaps not being in it is a good thing.

17-05-2014, 10:59 AM
It's a strange question. The political beliefs of a Hibs player has never crossed my mind. It's up there with "I wonder what Heffernan takes in his tea?" I'd imagine that few of them vote, in line with a lot of men their ages.

I was at a book signing at Easter Road before the last UK General Election and had a conversation with Ian Murray in which he say he was going home to watch Question Time.

Ian Murray; the thinking man's footballer/manager. :agree:

20-05-2014, 01:52 AM
What I'm getting at is should we become independent will rUK players be less inclined to play for a Scottish club?

20-05-2014, 05:39 AM
What I'm getting at is should we become independent will rUK players be less inclined to play for a Scottish club?

It'll be pretty much like an Irishman coming to play in Scotland at present. Unless taxes go daft, it won't change that much for them.

20-05-2014, 06:20 AM
It'll be pretty much like an Irishman coming to play in Scotland at present. Unless taxes go daft, it won't change that much for them.

Probably. Although how many British players go to play in Ireland?

20-05-2014, 10:34 AM

I see your point, but I think that's more to do with the perceived standard of the league and how it relates to a player's career prospects than to do with some kind of concern about crossing a border into a different country.

As far as I see it, not nearly enough of our young players go to play overseas, which I think holds us back as a national team.

If you look at the 10mil and less nations in Europe, their players are scattered throughout the continent.

20-05-2014, 12:26 PM

How many British players go to play in Wales?

(((Fergus)))
20-05-2014, 02:06 PM
How many British players go to play in Wales?

There are more Eng/Sco/NI players in the top six Welsh squads (48) than in the top six Irish ones (22) - which include Derry City (8 NI players).

20-05-2014, 03:27 PM
Not a current player but Michael Stewart seems to be a fanatical 'Yes' supporter. Shame, I didn't actually mind him until now :greengrin

My neighbour was on a stag do in Portugal last weekend and Michael Stewart was there too, he spent the full bus journey from Faro Airport to Albufeira trying to convince everyone on the stag do to vote yes.

20-05-2014, 04:17 PM
My neighbour was on a stag do in Portugal last weekend and Michael Stewart was there too, he spent the full bus journey from Faro Airport to Albufeira trying to convince everyone on the stag do to vote yes.
Keep politics out of stag dos.:agree:

20-05-2014, 05:00 PM

Salmond out, Stewart in.

20-05-2014, 06:31 PM
I think everyone is entitled to their view but as far as I'm aware only TB has declared his view. Which was support for the union.

And the tories :-/

21-05-2014, 02:08 PM

Michael Stewart has been a supporter of the SNP for many years.

23-05-2014, 09:34 AM
Don't know about the Hibs players, but Bowie wants us to stay.

23-05-2014, 09:46 AM
Don't know about the Hibs players, but Bowie wants us to stay.

So he said, but he could still swing the other way. :tee hee:

23-05-2014, 12:43 PM
So he said, but he could still swing the other way. :tee hee:

Time will tell. It will be much clearer in five years or so.:wink:

23-05-2014, 03:03 PM
Time will tell. It will be much clearer in five years or so.:wink:

He does like "Changes".

24-05-2014, 11:10 AM
I remember in the run-up to the first Devolution referendum in 1979 I was working for a daily and was detailed to contact various prominent Scottish sportsmen to canvass their views.

Half of them didn't know what I was talking about! I wonder if sportsmen are more politically aware these days.