View Full Version : stadium naming rights

15-05-2014, 05:06 PM
I see Murrayfield is up for sponsor for £20m,would anyone like to see easter road called something else for money?
I'm not really fussed as it will always be easter road to me anyway

15-05-2014, 05:10 PM
I see Murrayfield is up for sponsor for £20m,would anyone like to see easter road called something else for money?

Not too keen on calling it 'Something Else for Money'. Doesn't do it for me. Any other ideas?

15-05-2014, 05:14 PM
Etihad stadium has a ring to it.

15-05-2014, 05:17 PM
Not too keen on calling it 'Something Else for Money'. Doesn't do it for me. Any other ideas?

The 7up stadium maybe

HappyHibby93
15-05-2014, 05:21 PM
Would be surprised if Budge doesn't do this at the Wonga Dome

Sent from my GT-S5830i using Tapatalk 2

15-05-2014, 05:23 PM
What about being sponsored by THIS (https://www.hooters.com/Home/Default.aspx) lot.

Mark79
15-05-2014, 05:27 PM
If it brings in cash I couldnt give a flying. Always easter road to me.

15-05-2014, 05:51 PM
Would love it if they went down this route for ER, more money in the coffers and the fans will always call it Easter Road, I reckon the "older" generation would be dead against it though as they're all stubborn and set in their ways, dinosaurs.

15-05-2014, 05:58 PM
The Santa Claus Stadium.

Every team that's come to Easter Road this season have gone away thinking its Christmas.

15-05-2014, 06:00 PM
Some would sell their soul, their heritage, and their history. Nothing's sacred.

15-05-2014, 06:01 PM
If it brings in cash I couldnt give a flying. Always easter road to me.
This what's in a name ,but would be less keen on moving to a brand new stadium away from Leith

Nutmegged
15-05-2014, 06:03 PM
One of the easiest ways to get what is basically free cash, people are far to particular about the official name of the Stadium, it'll always br Easter Road to us, who cares what the official name is, if it brought in enough income that could see a vast improvement on the park and thay could fill up the stadium by a 3/4 thousand then who really cares.

15-05-2014, 06:09 PM
One of the easiest ways to get what is basically free cash, people are far to particular about the official name of the Stadium, it'll always br Easter Road to us, who cares what the official name is, if it brought in enough income that could see a vast improvement on the park and thay could fill up the stadium by a 3/4 thousand then who really cares.

:agree: From one of the older stubborn auld git golden generation as well.

Easy money.

15-05-2014, 06:12 PM
Some would sell their soul, their heritage, and their history. Nothing's sacred.

Yes, but seeing as selling the naming rights to the stadium equates to none of these, what is your point?

15-05-2014, 06:21 PM
Yes, but seeing as selling the naming rights to the stadium equates to none of these, what is your point?

Sorry, I disagree. I think it does. It should always remain Easter Road, and not used as an advertising board for some company who have no real connection to the club, the community, or its supporters. Na, just doesn't do it for me mate. I'm probably in a minority, but it's just my opinion though.

15-05-2014, 06:26 PM

Kwik fit stadium.. Get a few bob outta farmer!!

15-05-2014, 06:27 PM
Kwik fit stadium.. Get a few bob outta farmer!!

Or Kwikfitba Stadium.

15-05-2014, 06:34 PM
Always thought it was a great idea. Easy cash and straight into this battle chest we hear about. :aok:

15-05-2014, 06:37 PM
Dyno Rod. Been trying to clear the s+^te for months

15-05-2014, 06:44 PM
I'm not really fussed as it will always be easter road to me anywayTake the loot :agree: Money and particularly TV money has ruined fitba so might as well join in the greed and get as much dosh as possible from wherever possible IMO. Easter Road will always be Easter Road tae those that matter, the Hibs fans.

ArmadaleHibs
15-05-2014, 06:46 PM
The "we lose every game here" stadium

15-05-2014, 06:56 PM
Personally, if the money is big I'm not too fussed about changing the name of the stadium to a sponsor however, it should be like the shirt sponsorship i.e. for say a couple of years after which it would revert back to Easter Road or another sponsor's name. That way the original name lives on and we get dosh - win win.

You can rename ER "The Farmer's Den" or "The Pertrified Forest" - I don't care.

15-05-2014, 07:03 PM
Why does the BBC subscribe to this commercialisation ?
Would have thought public funded broadcaster would steer clear? Can it be that the leagues have it down as a t&c that news agencies refer to Stadium by the sponsors name? Surely not freedom of speech should mean journalists can call a stadium by whatever name they choose - like "Castle Greyskull"

15-05-2014, 07:07 PM
Why does the BBC subscribe to this commercialisation ?
Would have thought public funded broadcaster would steer clear? Can it be that the leagues have it down as a t&c that news agencies refer to Stadium by the sponsors name? Surely not freedom of speech should mean journalists can call a stadium by whatever name they choose - like "Castle Greyskull"

Or "The Pink Bus Shelter". :greengrin

15-05-2014, 07:10 PM
We could name it "the Primark arena"
Full of cheap imitations, low quality products and under paid workforce haha

15-05-2014, 07:13 PM
Or Petrie would go mad but it would be good for the fans "Poundland Amex"

Entry £1, pies £1, pizza slice £1, programme £1

Everything's a pound haha

We might need to badge the corporate as a multi-item deal

Bronson
15-05-2014, 07:19 PM
Would hate to have a stadium name like the 'Sports Direct Arena', takes away a huge part of the heritage of the club I think.

£20m is a lot of money, and it could do a lot of good for the club but I think it's sad that money and sponsors can completely dictate football these days.

Should always stay Easter Road for me. Offer me £100m, Leigh Griffiths and a Scottish Cup and I'll consider:greengrin

15-05-2014, 07:45 PM
The Andrex Extra Soft Arena.

Kaiser_Sauzee
15-05-2014, 08:23 PM
YesScotland Stadium

Stewboy
15-05-2014, 08:41 PM
You would call it Easter Rd
I would call it Easter Ed
Killie fans would call it Easter Rd
Well fans would call it Easter Rd
Etc
Only the media would call it the sports direct arena

Take the money and run....

15-05-2014, 08:45 PM
The 7up stadium maybe

that would be my choice :greengrin

15-05-2014, 09:04 PM
Sorry, I disagree. I think it does. It should always remain Easter Road, and not used as an advertising board for some company who have no real connection to the club, the community, or its supporters. Na, just doesn't do it for me mate. I'm probably in a minority, but it's just my opinion though.

The thing for me is it always will be Easter Road, history or heritage of the club will in no way be affected by this deal, we play in shirts with sponsors names who have no real connection either and we advertise all around the stadium in a similar manner. We need to take advantage of every financial avenue open to us, only my opinion though mate, I respect yours all the same.

15-05-2014, 09:27 PM
http://www.casinoally.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/mr-green-casino.jpg

big gogs
15-05-2014, 09:42 PM
Etihad stadium has a ring to it.
What about we have been had stadium

15-05-2014, 10:04 PM
What about 'Cadburys Easter Road'

15-05-2014, 10:06 PM
Realistically how much would a company pay to a non old firm club for naming rights to a stadium in a league that does not get big audience figures? There wouldn't be much to be made. That said if it meant a decent signing then more the better as others say it will always be Easter Road anyhoo

15-05-2014, 10:10 PM
Realistically how much would a company pay to a non old firm club for naming rights to a stadium in a league that does not get big audience figures? There wouldn't be much to be made

To be fair, I'm thinking even our whole league wouldn't get anywhere near 20mill in sponsorship money :-(

15-05-2014, 10:10 PM
Or Kwikfitba Stadium.

False advertising :greengrin

15-05-2014, 10:14 PM

:agree: Mine too.

Gerard
15-05-2014, 10:19 PM
Or Petrie would go mad but it would be good for the fans "Poundland Amex"

Entry £1, pies £1, pizza slice £1, programme £1

Everything's a pound haha

We might need to badge the corporate as a multi-item deal

Great idea players get paid £1 a week:wink::greengrin

15-05-2014, 10:49 PM
Realistically how much would a company pay to a non old firm club for naming rights to a stadium in a league that does not get big audience figures? There wouldn't be much to be made. That said if it meant a decent signing then more the better as others say it will always be Easter Road anyhoo

The SRU are getting £20M for 5 years, about £4M a year. A stadium which gets Europe wide exposure for 2 months of the year, is used for the Rugby League super Sunday and hosts Heineken Cup games. Arsenal get £100M from Emirates for 15 years, just over £6.5M a year. A stadium used in the most televised football league in the world and regularly featuring in the Champions League.

I think we would be looking at a pretty small sum for any sponsorship deal, probably in the tens of thousands as opposed to millions. Obviously any amount of extra cash is not to be sniffed at but it's unlikely to be a huge money spinner.

16-05-2014, 07:08 AM

The SRU are getting £20M for 5 years, about £4M a year. A stadium which gets Europe wide exposure for 2 months of the year, is used for the Rugby League super Sunday and hosts Heineken Cup games. Arsenal get £100M from Emirates for 15 years, just over £6.5M a year. A stadium used in the most televised football league in the world and regularly featuring in the Champions League.

I think we would be looking at a pretty small sum for any sponsorship deal, probably in the tens of thousands as opposed to millions. Obviously any amount of extra cash is not to be sniffed at but it's unlikely to be a huge money spinner.

Plus companies know we'd still call it ER.

These deals make more sense with new stadiums with no pre existing name.

16-05-2014, 12:29 PM

Agree its clearer with new ground but they obviously do make some sense though or companies would not stump up...might get rebranded RBS Arena or what but still will be murryfield to most

Boltons 'new' Reebok has now be resold / branded so just shows its a trend hear to stay...

Crabbies Arena - right colours and well it suits some of the occupants :wink:

16-05-2014, 02:16 PM
The thing for me is it always will be Easter Road, history or heritage of the club will in no way be affected by this deal, we play in shirts with sponsors names who have no real connection either and we advertise all around the stadium in a similar manner. We need to take advantage of every financial avenue open to us, only my opinion though mate, I respect yours all the same.

I respect your opinion too.

16-05-2014, 02:20 PM
:agree: Mine too.

Thank goodness for that mate! I thought I was in a minority of one. :aok:

GREEN WARLORD
16-05-2014, 02:23 PM
I'd still call it Easter Road and it's not even on Easter Road but i would be happy if someone was paying for stadium naming rights.

16-05-2014, 05:35 PM
I know where you're coming from Emerald Green, I wouldn't want it used by some company that hasn't got any connection with Hibs, but let's face it, it's not even on Easter Road. Hibernian Park was the only 'stadium' that could have been named ER, and that was on Bothwell Street.

16-05-2014, 05:57 PM
In principle I have no objection but it couldn't be called the Green Wonga Dome or the likes

16-05-2014, 06:06 PM

We would still call it by its rightful name, but broadcasters will refer to the "7up Stadium" or whatever it is called, which is the wide publicity that the sponsor will want.

I'm relaxed about it, assuming that the name is suitable. Getting the wrong tie up can hurt your brand, as Wonga found out last season.

16-05-2014, 06:16 PM
This "it'll always be Easter Road to me" doesn't really make much sense. Hibs will always be known as Hibs but that doesn't make changing the club name any less repulsive. I'm sure if you changed your own name to Tesco your friends would still know you as your old name but it doesn't really make a difference does it? You're still called Tesco and it sounds stupid.

Definite no from me.

16-05-2014, 06:21 PM
I know where you're coming from Emerald Green, I wouldn't want it used by some company that hasn't got any connection with Hibs, but let's face it, it's not even on Easter Road. Hibernian Park was the only 'stadium' that could have been named ER, and that was on Bothwell Street.

Theinsider
16-05-2014, 07:54 PM
What about club naming rights? Red bull Hibernian? With the red bull arena? Where do you draw the line?

16-05-2014, 07:59 PM
What about club naming rights? Red bull Hibernian? With the red bull arena? Where do you draw the line?Club colours, club name, our colours and our name is who we are.

16-05-2014, 08:20 PM
Green Ginger Arena

16-05-2014, 08:24 PM
This "it'll always be Easter Road to me" doesn't really make much sense. Hibs will always be known as Hibs but that doesn't make changing the club name any less repulsive. I'm sure if you changed your own name to Tesco your friends would still know you as your old name but it doesn't really make a difference does it? You're still called Tesco and it sounds stupid.

Definite no from me.

:agree: it's a ridiculous idea.

16-05-2014, 08:42 PM
:agree: it's a ridiculous idea.

Mrs Hibsbollah would call you lots of things for the right sized cheque....:agree: in fact maybe she calls you odd things already :wink:

16-05-2014, 09:50 PM

16-05-2014, 10:26 PM

On our beloved Hibs jersey's????? Frankly, I think a teams strip is more important than a stadium name. Sometimes they come up with good strip designs and sometimes they are crap. The old rugby shirt style was great, the late 60's/early 70's was great. Was a great feeling putting one on.

But the re-naming of a stadium, our spiritual home or not, in todays financial structure is not a huge issue for me. If Hibs had to move for whatever reason would you stop supporting them? Like strips, the stadium name can change but we will always be Hibs.

If someone were to offer us 20 million we should grab it. Erase the debt and spend the rest on players. :greengrin

Hey, we can always spend the money and after the contract is up change it back if desired :wink:

In todays football markets we have to take money where we can get it IF it is honest money and whilst we may not be able to verifiy the virtue of the money I think we can be a bit smarter than our money laundering, grubbing neighbours.

17-05-2014, 08:10 AM
What about club naming rights? Red bull Hibernian? With the red bull arena? Where do you draw the line?

Definitely draw the line at changing the tops to blue and white quarters, like the old Blackburn strip. Horrible.

Greenworld
17-05-2014, 09:18 AM

Yes get it done easy money .........surprised it's not already happened

17-05-2014, 09:31 AM
The club name and colours are not up for grabs and hopefully never will be. But don't have a problem with changing the stadium name for a wedge of cash .... as others have said... it will always be Easter Road.

The Green Flag arena would be my choice. Though like everybody else 7up would be the dream sponsor for strip and stadium.

leithsansiro
17-05-2014, 12:21 PM
York's stadium in England changed from Bootham Lane (nice and traditional) to KitKat Crescent (quite frankly, horrendous). As long as it's sensible and doesn't make us sound like total sellouts, I'd be fine. Folk would still call it Easter Road anyway.

If we do need to do it, my vote would still be on a tie-up with 7Up

17-05-2014, 02:36 PM
The club name and colours are not up for grabs and hopefully never will be. But don't have a problem with changing the stadium name for a wedge of cash .... as others have said... it will always be Easter Road.

The Green Flag arena would be my choice. Though like everybody else 7up would be the dream sponsor for strip and stadium.

I hope so too. We wouldn't want to be like Cardiff City for example, where some rich guy who now calls the shots wants to change the club colours from blue to red. Where does it all end I wonder?

17-05-2014, 08:12 PM
Nah its a no from me . Its Easter Road . Selling your soul is for the other side of town .

17-05-2014, 09:28 PM
Whether it is even being proposed or not, what difference would it actually make? Yeah, OK, we might make a shed load of cash BUT would it be spent wisely? I mean, IMHO, even with a war-chest of millions, I wouldn't trust the current management team to spend it on a prolific striker or anyone that is even remotely good :rolleyes: Anyway, it's a no from me :greengrin