View Full Version : NHC Spare a thought for Benfica

14-05-2014, 06:09 PM
Been in seven European Cup Finals in the last 50 years and have lost them all. They bottle finals more than us.

Will their luck change tonight against Sevilla? Hope it does. It would be a fitting tribute to one of the world's greatest players ever Eusebio who died earlier this year.

14-05-2014, 06:16 PM
Hope they win an that oscar cardozo scores the winner.

They hammered chelski last year but just couldn't find the winner.

roryg
14-05-2014, 06:20 PM
Good luck Benfica

14-05-2014, 06:28 PM
is it on the telly? What channel?

14-05-2014, 06:32 PM
is it on the telly? What channel?

Itv4 19:45 kick off.

14-05-2014, 06:39 PM
Do it for Eusebio lads! :agree:

14-05-2014, 07:08 PM
Games like this sometime seem like a different sport to what we see in Scotland. Always playing with the head up, accurate passing, no hopeful punts. Even the long balls seem thoughtful.

14-05-2014, 07:09 PM
I wish Hibs had a bad European record just like theirs

14-05-2014, 07:49 PM
Tim Sherwood is very irritating.

14-05-2014, 07:55 PM
What Stadium is that?

14-05-2014, 07:56 PM
They should have scored there. Two or three chances in a goal mouth scramble.

They seem as lucky as Hibs!

14-05-2014, 07:57 PM
What Stadium is that?

Just seen the Torino sign :idiot:

14-05-2014, 08:05 PM
Great game this.

14-05-2014, 08:08 PM
End tae end.

Stax
14-05-2014, 08:08 PM
Cracking game now, really open, Benfica looking slightly on top at the moment IMO

14-05-2014, 08:12 PM
Some second half. End to end to end to end.

14-05-2014, 08:13 PM
Just seen the Torino sign :idiot:

It's not Torinos. It's Juventus's.

14-05-2014, 08:17 PM
Need to get big oscar on ffs.

14-05-2014, 08:25 PM
Lima and rodrigo need to learn to pull the f***ing trigger!!!

14-05-2014, 08:27 PM
Cracking game of what I've seen.

C'mon FICA.

14-05-2014, 08:34 PM
Extra time looming. Attack attack attack. Fans certainly getting their monies worth.

14-05-2014, 08:37 PM
One of the best goalless ninety minutes I've ever watched. Some outstanding counterattacking but also credit some unbelievable last gasp defending from Sevilla. Some tired legs at Extra time I would have thought.

14-05-2014, 08:37 PM
Ffs go in the ****** net you stupid football.

14-05-2014, 08:42 PM
Players lying about on the floor for the whole of injury time waiting on extra time

Stax
14-05-2014, 08:55 PM
Ffs go in the ****** net you stupid football.
Been thinking that all f***** season :greengrin

micka_weer
14-05-2014, 09:01 PM
It's been some game!

14-05-2014, 09:02 PM
I wish we'd only been cursed for 100 years in the Scottish Cup!

Good game with some brilliant defending which makes a change from SPFL games and most EPL games I've seen on the box.

14-05-2014, 09:15 PM

But it is in Torino.

14-05-2014, 09:17 PM

Yeah sorry had worked that oot.

14-05-2014, 09:20 PM
Penalties.

14-05-2014, 09:24 PM
Love a wee game of penalties as a neutral.

14-05-2014, 09:29 PM
How far does that goalie want to be off his line??

Sevilla in the lead.

Tragic penalties from Benfica it has to be said.

14-05-2014, 09:30 PM
Benfeckup

Twiglet
14-05-2014, 09:30 PM
What are Benfica doing with their penalties?! Just hit it! Lost it for themselves.

eezyrider
14-05-2014, 09:31 PM
Benfica showing how not to take a penalty. Despite the goalie being off his line for the first miss both were woefully taken.

EZ

14-05-2014, 09:32 PM
Horrible decision to let the second Sevilla penalty stand.

14-05-2014, 09:32 PM
The curse strikes again.

14-05-2014, 09:33 PM
Love a wee game of penalties as a neutral.

:agree: Absolutely fantastic if spectacle if your team's not involved.

Just hope there's no sign of penalties a week on Sunday!

Stax
14-05-2014, 09:35 PM
Unbelievable :thumbsup:Every Sevilla pen hit the side net, there Endeth the lesson on how to take a penalty.

14-05-2014, 09:35 PM
Horrible decision to let the second Sevilla penalty stand.

Agree. What is the point of the fourth official?

Great pens from Seville though, bit like Hibs in shoot outs.

14-05-2014, 09:36 PM
Two shocking penalties by Benfica.

14-05-2014, 09:37 PM
Unbelievable :thumbsup:Every Sevilla pen hit the side net, there Endeth the lesson on how to take a penalty.

Yeah, their pens were as good as benficas were bad.....deary me....just smash it !

14-05-2014, 09:39 PM
Was supporting Sevilla but they`ve had tremendous luck . Finished 9th in league but qualified for EL because 7th and 8th weren`t let in by UEFA ( financial problems of Málaga and Rayo Vallecano I think ) . Last 16 penalties against Betis , QF against Porto with dodgy decisions and 94th minute winner in semi against Valencia with again massive luck with ref in 1st leg . And now penalties again . Not a great team like the Sevilla team that won other 2 ELs but an excellent manager ( would be great to see a Spanish manager at ER ) who has got a lot out of a very limited squad ( they almost made Champions League too ) .

14-05-2014, 09:53 PM
Shiiiite game.

14-05-2014, 09:58 PM
one of the better 0-0 games i've watched over the years

14-05-2014, 10:08 PM
:agree: Absolutely fantastic if spectacle if your team's not involved.

Just hope there's no sign of penalties a week on Sunday!

We'd be ok.

Hibs never lose penalties domestically. It's one thing we are good at.

14-05-2014, 10:10 PM
We'd be ok.

Hibs never lose penalties domestically. It's one thing we are good at.

You do know it can go to penalties, a week on Sunday

15-05-2014, 08:05 AM
Was supporting Sevilla but they`ve had tremendous luck . Finished 9th in league but qualified for EL because 7th and 8th weren`t let in by UEFA ( financial problems of Málaga and Rayo Vallecano I think ) . Last 16 penalties against Betis , QF against Porto with dodgy decisions and 94th minute winner in semi against Valencia with again massive luck with ref in 1st leg . And now penalties again . Not a great team like the Sevilla team that won other 2 ELs but an excellent manager ( would be great to see a Spanish manager at ER ) who has got a lot out of a very limited squad ( they almost made Champions League too ) .

Do you live there? Its an amazing place. Best Spanish city by far, to hot in the summer though. Prefer Betis to Sevilla but hey-ho.
Slightly back on topic. Is Torino Turin in Italian? Or do Juve and Torino share the stadium like they did in the della Alpi?

Paloschi
15-05-2014, 09:06 AM
Do you live there? Its an amazing place. Best Spanish city by far, to hot in the summer though. Prefer Betis to Sevilla but hey-ho.
Slightly back on topic. Is Torino Turin in Italian? Or do Juve and Torino share the stadium like they did in the della Alpi?

Torino is simply Turin in Italian.

Slightly misleading but that was the new Juventus Stadium. Torino play in the Olimpico Turino Stadium that was originally named after Mussolini.

I like Torino, but they play in Maroon. That puts me off very much.

15-05-2014, 10:29 AM
I always find it funny that we change some foreign names put keep others the same.

Torino = Turin
Munchen = Munich
Oporto = Porti
Paris (Paree) = Paris
Beograd = Belgrade
Mumbai = Bombay (now back to Mumbai)

Then there's countries like

Hvarska = Croatia.

Odd.

sidjames
15-05-2014, 11:53 AM
Exactly. Whats with all this "Sebeeya" stuff. Its "civil" ask any of the 600,000 Celtc fan(nie)s who wuz there btw big man.

15-05-2014, 02:39 PM
I always find it funny that we change some foreign names put keep others the same.

Torino = Turin
Munchen = Munich
Oporto = Porti
Paris (Paree) = Paris
Beograd = Belgrade
Mumbai = Bombay (now back to Mumbai)

Then there's countries like

Hvarska = Croatia.

Odd.

You blew it with the last one... it says Croatia as well, just in a different alphabet :wink:

Lang Toun Hibs
15-05-2014, 06:02 PM
The curse strikes again.

Taken from Benfica.net

"Grrrrrr....Rodus Petrienho!!!!"