View Full Version : Sect 43 group

14-05-2014, 03:44 PM
Have to say, ER isn't really the same without this group. I know the people in that part of the stand still start the singing an get the crowd started but I thought the offical sect 43 group really brought a really good atmostphere. They had some fantastic displays - lasts years cup final one in particular was absolute fantastic. Don't know the full extent of what happened behind closed doors etc. but I really do hope they can get back together for the sake of the group or that we can get another group like this going.

14-05-2014, 04:01 PM
Hear,hear. Seconded.

14-05-2014, 04:24 PM
Great idea.

14-05-2014, 04:31 PM
Either that or we go with the one my Dad wants to start, the 'Section 16' group, in the end section of the FF Stand.

It would be mostly made up of OAPs and kids, hence the name, HVHA*

* Which stands for High Voices & Heart Attacks :wink:

14-05-2014, 04:32 PM
Why the silence from them? What bloody happened? Grow up and get it sorted out. The club misses you guys, you brought brilliant atmosphere and colour!

14-05-2014, 04:39 PM
Why the silence from them? What bloody happened? Grow up and get it sorted out. The club misses you guys, you brought brilliant atmosphere and colour!

It was reported on here that they had a fall out after the Cup Final display last season. As far as I remember (I'm not a sect43 member), some of the Celtic Ultras were giving them stick for accepting money from a commercial company to help pay for their display. If that was the case, it's all a bit sad.

NOTE: If you are one of the people involved and have more accurate info, feel free to contradict me. I'm only giving my recollection of what people said on here.

14-05-2014, 05:03 PM
It was reported on here that they had a fall out after the Cup Final display last season. As far as I remember (I'm not a sect43 member), some of the Celtic Ultras were giving them stick for accepting money from a commercial company to help pay for their display. If that was the case, it's all a bad sad.

NOTE: If you are one of the people involved and have more accurate info, feel free to contradict me. I'm only giving my recollection of what people said on here.

Bloody sad if true ................ who gives a rats ass what they think.

I agree these guys did a lot of good and I for one would love to see them back.

14-05-2014, 05:15 PM
Perhaps they could get together one last time to try and push us over the line in the home leg. It'd be like an extra man.

14-05-2014, 05:28 PM
It was reported on here that they had a fall out after the Cup Final display last season. As far as I remember (I'm not a sect43 member), some of the Celtic Ultras were giving them stick for accepting money from a commercial company to help pay for their display. If that was the case, it's all a bad sad.

Cup Final display was the reason. Few fallings out. All of them have now pissed off and no longer attend ER for other reasons. Nothing to do with any other set of supporters though?

Reality is the majority of us are still there most weeks, same place. Only difference this season is no displays/flags. Section is empty compared to last season. Probably due to performances.

We'd welcome anyone to get involved, 20-25 meet reguarly not only pre-match but during the week/weekends for the social aspect, fives/gigs/pints.

14-05-2014, 05:36 PM

If that's right it is both sad and ironic, given how their club is credited with the introduction of crooks and commercialism to the Scottish game in the first place. (Lugton for reference, should anyone feel the urge).

Hibs3-2
14-05-2014, 05:41 PM
As ross has stated the guys who caused us to fallout haved moved on and no long attend ER.

If anyones up for meeting up with us pre/post matches (home or away) then just fire us a PM.

14-05-2014, 05:42 PM
Cup Final display was the reason. Few fallings out. All of them have now pissed off and no longer attend ER for other reasons. Nothing to do with any other set of supporters though?

Reality is the majority of us are still there most weeks, same place. Only difference this season is no displays/flags. Section is empty compared to last season. Probably due to performances.

We'd welcome anyone to get involved, 20-25 meet reguarly not only pre-match but during the week/weekends for the social aspect, fives/gigs/pints.

Hi Ross. thanks for the inside view. Apologies if I gave wrong info but that was actually said on here at the time, about the criticism from Celtc fans.

I hope you guys manage to get it together again as I appreciated your hard work. I'm just sorry I'm too far away to be of any help.

Weststandwanab
14-05-2014, 05:55 PM
Bloody sad if true ................ who gives a rats ass what they think.

I agree these guys did a lot of good and I for one would love to see them back. I agree with both points.

Hi Ross. thanks for the inside view. Apologies if I gave wrong info but that was actually said on here at the time, about the criticism from Celtc fans.

I hope you guys manage to get it together again as I appreciated your hard work. I'm just sorry I'm too far away to be of any help. Yes please if it is possible

14-05-2014, 05:58 PM
I agree with both points.

Yes please if it is possible

Welcome to get involved. Door always open. Everyone knows where we sit. Problem as been this season that there is no interest. We'll look into potentially organising a meet pre-match in the concourse. It may encourage others to get involved. Always a lot of talk on here, but we never see any difference.

wearethehibs
14-05-2014, 06:05 PM
As Ross has said a lot of us still meet up and we still stand in the same section but sadly things like songs and bouncing have struggled to catch on this season due to team performances.

You get a bit sick of starting chants when theres only 10-20 people joining in and I don't blame them, the most noise being made at ER this season is when everyone is booing.

14-05-2014, 06:05 PM
Start it up again

14-05-2014, 06:18 PM
As for the Green Brigade, their own club preferred to use an outside agency for the displays in the Champions League. My missus and 2 older boys put out some of the cards for the AC Milan display. Nice earner although they were watched so no chance of sabotage sadly.

Section 43 group has been missed.

ZS DOOM
14-05-2014, 06:22 PM
Start it up again

If only it was that simple, part of the reasons for it finishing was the lack of contribution from members and other fans.

The top of 43 is the emptiest it has been since the new east stand was opened. It's not easy trying to make an atmosphere when only a handful are willing to sing.

The group ended but that's not stopped us taking good numbers to perth, partick, dingwall etc. The atmosphere at home has been poor this season, too many fans getting on the players backs. We can't be expected to drown out all the booing :aok: There's been moments this season when ER has been rocking but usually the team concede and it all goes downhill from there. Hibs form is one of the biggest factors in the crowd joining in songs we start.

If anyone wants to get involved then fire a pm over then we can see what sort of extra numbers we're looking at. All are welcome and very much appreciated.

14-05-2014, 06:43 PM
Bottom tier of the FF is the way forward, the only way forward in my opinion for this to flourish as we'd all like it to.

14-05-2014, 06:58 PM
If only it was that simple, part of the reasons for it finishing was the lack of contribution from members and other fans.

The top of 43 is the emptiest it has been since the new east stand was opened. It's not easy trying to make an atmosphere when only a handful are willing to sing.

The group ended but that's not stopped us taking good numbers to perth, partick, dingwall etc. The atmosphere at home has been poor this season, too many fans getting on the players backs. We can't be expected to drown out all the booing :aok: There's been moments this season when ER has been rocking but usually the team concede and it all goes downhill from there. Hibs form is one of the biggest factors in the crowd joining in songs we start.

If anyone wants to get involved then fire a pm over then we can see what sort of extra numbers we're looking at. All are welcome and very much appreciated.

Are you the young guys who ate all the free haggis pies the catering people were handing out towards the end of the Ross County match? :greengrin

14-05-2014, 07:05 PM
Bottom tier of the FF is the way forward, the only way forward in my opinion for this to flourish as we'd all like it to.

Tell Hibs that. They've refused numerous times, sadly. Maybe Leeann Dempster will have a different view.

14-05-2014, 07:13 PM
Tell Hibs that. They've refused numerous times, sadly. Maybe Leeann Dempster will have a different view.

:agree: lets hope so.

ZS DOOM
14-05-2014, 07:13 PM
Are you the young guys who ate all the free haggis pies the catering people were handing out towards the end of the Ross County match? :greengrin

I was at work sadly but that wouldn't surprise me if it was:greengrin

14-05-2014, 07:16 PM
Too old, light weight and incontinent to join in, but hoping to see more of section 43/mental hibees in the future!
:not worth

14-05-2014, 09:26 PM
As someone involved in the East Stand Singing Campaign and initiation of H12thMan I'd like to give a personal view.

One challenge is the Edinburgh 'reserve' and the 'leave it to others' syndrome. The best singing in the section was year 1 I.e. 2010/2011 season. Anyone remember Green Day and the 11 minute Calderwood's GAWA?

Age group and gender was pretty mixed back then. We had written to 400 people asking them to buy tickets for the area. Once we won the standing battle with the stewards several hundred of us stood for 90 minutes that season.

3 seasons of anti-football has killed the enthusiasm. The other disappointment is that no matter how loud we sing, it seems to make absolutely ZERO difference to the team.

Another big loss is the lad that used to design the displays. Even in a good team effort like Sect43 with their songs, pyro, banners, 2 poles, corteos and awaydays there was one real creative guy who inspired the group with his energy, vision, organization skills. He was a good capo.

The other leaders are still there. If TB can be encouraged to play football next season that would give the guys an energy boost.

They deserve no less

14-05-2014, 10:04 PM

14-05-2014, 10:13 PM
Perhaps they could get together one last time to try and push us over the line in the home leg. It'd be like an extra man.

Totally agree :thumbsup: The atmosphere created by the group would be an excellent addition to the drama of the day and may, just may, be the difference :pray:

14-05-2014, 10:16 PM
As someone involved in the East Stand Singing Campaign and initiation of H12thMan I'd like to give a personal view.

One challenge is the Edinburgh 'reserve' and the 'leave it to others' syndrome. The best singing in the section was year 1 I.e. 2010/2011 season. Anyone remember Green Day and the 11 minute Calderwood's GAWA?

Age group and gender was pretty mixed back then. We had written to 400 people asking them to buy tickets for the area. Once we won the standing battle with the stewards several hundred of us stood for 90 minutes that season.

3 seasons of anti-football has killed the enthusiasm. The other disappointment is that no matter how loud we sing, it seems to make absolutely ZERO difference to the team.

Another big loss is the lad that used to design the displays. Even in a good team effort like Sect43 with their songs, pyro, banners, 2 poles, corteos and awaydays there was one real creative guy who inspired the group with his energy, vision, organization skills. He was a good capo.

The other leaders are still there. If TB can be encouraged to play football next season that would give the guys an energy boost.

They deserve no less

Gogs, a little bit of form and excitement, can cure a few evils

14-05-2014, 10:52 PM
Totally agree please create an atmosphere guys but please NO Green and White army

WeeCraigy
14-05-2014, 10:56 PM
Totally agree please create an atmosphere guys but please NO Green and White army

?

15-05-2014, 05:55 AM
A wee off-thread question to a degree but maybe you S43 boys may know.

The long banners ( type used at Celtc and at mainland European clubs eg Benfica, Bayern etc) .... What material have they used ? Is it paper, card ?

Having a wee thought here.... :)

Sorry for hijacking the thread but thought I'd ask on here rather than create a new yin.

Thanks guys :)

15-05-2014, 06:04 AM
Polycotton usually. Smaller message banners are usually just on papermills.

15-05-2014, 06:08 AM
Thanks Ross :)

hibsforeurope
15-05-2014, 06:55 AM
The best place for a group like sec43 behind the goals. It could help to bring back the advantage we had when playing down the slope. Could be like a mini Kop to put off opposition defences and inspire our strikers.

15-05-2014, 07:16 AM
The best place for a group like sec43 behind the goals. It could help to bring back the advantage we had when playing down the slope. Could be like a mini Kop to put off opposition defences and inspire our strikers.
Yep we need a mental part of the ground. North enclosure type part.

18Craig75
15-05-2014, 07:19 AM
Yep we need a mental part of the ground. North enclosure type part.

Great idea. Not sure how it could be implemented now that season tickets have been sold though. Even just the section directly behind the goal, then I'm sure the group would grow pretty quickly being in that area as fans from either side would join in.

15-05-2014, 07:36 AM
I like the idea of behind the goals but how can we make it happen?

Its obviously not impossible for it to happen. The biggest issue I see are the supporters who are already there and how the club would have to go about coaxing them to move.

Would anyone from that area care to put forward a suggestion or two that they would be 'happy' with?

15-05-2014, 07:42 AM

Its obviously not impossible for it to happen. The biggest issue I see are the supporters who are already there and how the club would have to go about coaxing them to move.

Would anyone from that area care to put forward a suggestion or two that they would be 'happy' with?

Its the perfect place for them. It would be worth understanding where the season tickets sit in the FF5 lower, and how many of them there are. The pricing in the FF5 lower is cheaper than in other areas of the ground, so this may be difficult to achieve for next season. We should move them to a block somewhere in the East, near the FF5 end, where there may not be many existing season ticket holders

15-05-2014, 07:43 AM
I stand in 43 and I'm willing to sing but it seems to make no difference to the players? Around us in the section there are still plenty of seats for people (if willing to pay) to get a season ticket for next year and show once again to the club that we are good, loyal fans and get an atmosphere back at Easter road so that teams like Caley and Partick don't just come to our stadium and have an easy time!

15-05-2014, 09:14 AM
Would it be worth trying to get the black seats in the FF. I know it is upper but they are always empty. The intention could be to move down after next season?

As log as you don't come into the West and ruin my sleep or steal my sandwiches.

R11Loaded
15-05-2014, 09:50 AM
Haven't made it to many games but to echo some comments, at the recent Partick game a boy infront spent half the time telling fans to stay off the players backs etc.

the atmosphere always becomes poisoned with boos and the sort. For 90 minutes, support the team.
After the game let them know what you think.

ZS DOOM
15-05-2014, 10:54 AM

Spoke to the club before about making a section behind the goals. we said we could draft a letter to all the fans who ait there asking about willingness to move etc. club said that wasn't an issue but it was the fact that they market the ff as a family stand and it is the stand with multiple deals and initiatives. They were unwilling to budge or negotiate.

they were even unwilling for us to move closer to the pitch in the east. I think we might be able to get a better response from Dempster as she helped the motherwell bois with their issues.

Moving to the FF is a whole new topic and a very large one. Any help from the hibs support in organising something would be great.

JustSimplyHibs
15-05-2014, 11:56 AM
Just a shame we cannae rip te seats out the FF5 lower... I'd happily move back to standing and get a wee bounce going.

15-05-2014, 12:14 PM
I think section 50 in the FF would be a great idea. If you have a look at the seating Plan for STs, it's currently almost empty. All the mad singers could sit/stand at the back. It's directly behind the goals, and I'm sure that would give the impetus for the rest of the stand to join in (especially the kids down the front).

What the club would think of doing this in the 'Executive Seats' is another matter, but it would be an incentive for people to go there.

The biggest problem has already been highlighted by people that are in the current Singling Section. While there is a lot of goodwill from other fans, there is just not enough people willing to actually go and join them and help out. It's all very well encouraging them to make a noise but you can't complain if you're not willing to make the effort yourself. It all seemed much easier in the days of the old terracing, where people would just stand in the noisiest part and join in.

Disclaimer: I only get to a handful of games per year but I try to always sit in or near the Singing Section when I'm there. Not much help in the grand scheme of things but there you go....

Aitcheffsee
15-05-2014, 06:27 PM
So the proposal is to shift season ticket holders to another part of the stadium to indulge thirty or forty other fans who when the going got tough stopped going to Easter Road. As a Season Ticket holder since 1987 and after being in FF since my 23 year old was about ten or eleven its a big naw from me!!

wearethehibs
15-05-2014, 06:55 PM
So the proposal is to shift season ticket holders to another part of the stadium to indulge thirty or forty other fans who when the going got tough stopped going to Easter Road. As a Season Ticket holder since 1987 and after being in FF since my 23 year old was about ten or eleven its a big naw from me!!

When did we stop going to ER?

cloudy
15-05-2014, 08:39 PM
My opinion is it would make more sense to have the family section in the east as the kids can see more of the pitch, probably sit wherever they want and plenty space outside the east for putting things on for the kids, getting the atmosphere back is a must and if moving the singing section to the FF we must get the club to take notice and allow this to happen, I cant see how they can stop it if the singers all bought tickets for that end

15-05-2014, 09:14 PM
My opinion is it would make more sense to have the family section in the east as the kids can see more of the pitch, probably sit wherever they want and plenty space outside the east for putting things on for the kids, getting the atmosphere back is a must and if moving the singing section to the FF we must get the club to take notice and allow this to happen, I cant see how they can stop it if the singers all bought tickets for that end

I'm not meaning to be confrontational but where do you sit?

davhibby
15-05-2014, 09:25 PM
It's too late to move from the east to the ff for next season but what about behind the other goal? For next season to try it out? Most teams only bring a few hundred so they could be housed in the top tier or the side of the west. Then if that worked then the club could move the family section for the next season

15-05-2014, 09:51 PM
Lower Famous Five should be re-marketed the singing section.

I agree about the fans behind the goal creating more noise and give the opposition players / GK more stick.

The East will take care of itself with the noise and with the FF being in the middle between East and West it may encourage more to sing.

Possibility of better displays from Upper FF to Lower FF also with banners over the tiers briefly when teams come out etc.

The Family section should be moved to West Lower closest FF.

15-05-2014, 11:23 PM
It's too late to move from the east to the ff for next season but what about behind the other goal? For next season to try it out? Most teams only bring a few hundred so they could be housed in the top tier or the side of the west. Then if that worked then the club could move the family section for the next season

Won't work. What happens when we play Hearts and The Rangers. :duck:

16-05-2014, 06:10 AM
When did we stop going to ER?

He does have a point about dropping numbers. From where I sit it looks like two thirds of the singing section has disappeared. (I am making no judgement on the reasons for that before I get jumped on.)
The atmosphere will improve considerably once we get better fitba. The 'loony' section will evolve naturally and form in it's own areas as it has done for over a hundred years of club history without the need for artificial stimulation. Section 43 did a great job but it all really comes down to what is happening on the park. The crowd and team feed off each other.

16-05-2014, 06:29 AM
When this was raised a few months ago the LWT forum invited supporters who backed the idea to meet the Hibs Director Garry O'Hagan and some of the management team to discuss it. A few PMS were sent and invites issued. GOH pitched up with some information two months in a row but no-one from the Hibs support came along to discuss it. It's a real shame as one or two posters had carried out some excellent research.

All change is possible if there is a large enough groundswell of support and there are volunteers willing to champion the cause.

TowerHibs
16-05-2014, 06:35 AM

Unfortunately whenever there is change discussed, there is a large element of our support like this. "I've sat in same seat for 13 years so it's a naw for me." I think the club would drag there heels as to not upset the poor souls who couldn't work out their way from the FF to the east, hopefully Dempster has some conviction when she comes in

16-05-2014, 06:41 AM
why not just move down to the front of the east so the noise can be heard more by the players and can wind up the opposition players?

16-05-2014, 06:45 AM
why not just move down to the front of the east so the noise can be heard more by the players and can wind up the opposition players?

or the West Lower next to the away fans.. that way I'm sure we'd have 2 singing sections - one in the east and one in the west

16-05-2014, 06:52 AM
I'm sure all the singers could just move to the bottom of the FF.anyone else would just have to put up with it or move.any objectors would be seen as singerists.

16-05-2014, 06:54 AM
Unfortunately whenever there is change discussed, there is a large element of our support like this. "I've sat in same seat for 13 years so it's a naw for me." I think the club would drag there heels as to not upset the poor souls who couldn't work out their way from the FF to the east, hopefully Dempster has some conviction when she comes in

The "poor souls" who've got the seat they wanted, and paid for, you mean? Aye, what a bunch of sissy moaners.

Reminds me if the time I went to McDonalds and asked for a Chicken Royale, then paid for it, they brought me a Big Mac and told me someone else wanted my burger and I was just to take what I was given.

That may or may not be a true story, but you get my point.

wearethehibs
16-05-2014, 06:56 AM
This thread shows that most fans want an atmosphere at ER and are trying to put forward suggestions of how to do it.

Its simple If you want ER to be an atmospheric stadium again, just sing, who cares what people around you think.

I bet if someone just stood up in the middle of the FF and belted out a WEEEEE ARRRRRRE HIBERNIAN FC, a lot of people would join in and if they didn't, it would be them that are weird and not the fan actually backing the team.

I can understand the whole the players are crap so it kills the atmosphere but if we cant be known for being good on the pitch we could gain a reputation for being good off it, constantly backing the team no matter what. I bet the players would eventually respond to it.

16-05-2014, 07:16 AM
The "poor souls" who've got the seat they wanted, and paid for, you mean? Aye, what a bunch of sissy moaners.

Reminds me if the time I went to McDonalds and asked for a Chicken Royale :shocked::shocked::shocked: then paid for it, they brought me a Big Mac and told me someone else wanted my burger and I was just to take what I was given.

....and did they also give you directions to the nearest Burger King?:greengrin

16-05-2014, 07:37 AM
....and did they also give you directions to the nearest Burger King?:greengrin

Haha. I dinnae eat any that *****!

ZS DOOM
16-05-2014, 08:10 AM

Reminds me if the time I went to McDonalds and asked for a Chicken Royale, then paid for it, they brought me a Big Mac and told me someone else wanted my burger and I was just to take what I was given.

we probably wouldn't need to move seeing as how empty the lower ff is most weeks. there are blocks of 50 or so seats free most weeks

ZS DOOM
16-05-2014, 08:13 AM
He does have a point about dropping numbers. From where I sit it looks like two thirds of the singing section has disappeared. (I am making no judgement on the reasons for that before I get jumped on.)
The atmosphere will improve considerably once we get better fitba. The 'loony' section will evolve naturally and form in it's own areas as it has done for over a hundred years of club history without the need for artificial stimulation. Section 43 did a great job but it all really comes down to what is happening on the park. The crowd and team feed off each other.

even in the peak of 43 we only had about 20 active guys (even that might be an over estimation).
The numbers of our wee group hasn't changed if not grown.
we cant do anything about the rest of the punters disappearing

16-05-2014, 08:18 AM
even in the peak of 43 we only had about 20 active guys (even that might be an over estimation).
The numbers of our wee group hasn't changed if not grown.
we cant do anything about the rest of the punters disappearing

That's why I said singing section rather than Section 43.
And of course you can't do anything about other punters, that's down to the club to give us a team that encourages people to attend.

TowerHibs
16-05-2014, 08:19 AM

Know the point your trying to make but you would still get a chicken royale, just the chance of it being more enjoyable rather than dull!!!! they will still be getting as good a seat watching the same product. People are talking about trying to help improve the product and the atmosphere.

Not sure if there is a study but if there was a small chance that having a large vocal crowd behind the goal increases the chance of it giving even a marginal gain to the team - then it should be considered.

Look at Sky cycling. Concentrate on marginal gains, 1% improvement here, 1% improvement there and hopefully they all add up. Unfortuantely, people will not be willing to change and claim the club/supporters dont have the right to ask them to move as they have sat in the FF for 13 years.

16-05-2014, 01:43 PM
Why would it be so difficult to have a singing section in the FF lower? Even if its to late for next season all the club have to do is anounce that from the season after the FF will be used for the singing/ultra's section and that the family section will be moved to either the east or west. That way everyone's got plenty of notice and time to get used to the idea.

16-05-2014, 02:03 PM
Why would it be so difficult to have a singing section in the FF lower? Even if its to late for next season all the club have to do is anounce that from the season after the FF will be used for the singing/ultra's section and that the family section will be moved to either the east or west. That way everyone's got plenty of notice and time to get used to the idea.

Exactly, the family section has not always been in the FF.

16-05-2014, 02:28 PM

The lower West by the FF seems a good choice given the players often take a few minutes with kids there signing autographs and posing for photies.

16-05-2014, 04:51 PM
The lower West by the FF seems a good choice given the players often take a few minutes with kids there signing autographs and posing for photies.

Jack - family section will be where ever management decide to sell and price family packages....no one needs to be forced to move. Families moved (as I did a couple of seasons in the past) to the FF as I was incentiveised to do so. They would move to where ever packages were priced most competitively...or make the choice to move / remain if cost was less of a factor...

Its management we need to persuade to make a change.

On a slight side issue the 'family section' always got my goat due to a high number of foul mouthed eejits who sat there purely because it was cheaper...if theres truly to be a family area then a level of behaviour more appropriate to that setting needs to be cultivated / enforced....

16-05-2014, 05:36 PM
I think the idea of the singing section coming into the FF lower is great. If you look on the website, there are hundreds of seats available at the end sections.

If anyone thinks that I'm giving up my seats in the central sections then they will be disappointed. I'll only do so with a damn good incentive such as black seats in the upper.

All those people who are keen for this to happen, where do you sit? I wonder how you would feel if a campaign was being started to move you out of your seat because other people think its a good idea.

16-05-2014, 05:58 PM
Jack - family section will be where ever management decide to sell and price family packages....no one needs to be forced to move. Families moved (as I did a couple of seasons in the past) to the FF as I was incentiveised to do so. They would move to where ever packages were priced most competitively...or make the choice to move / remain if cost was less of a factor...

Its management we need to persuade to make a change.

On a slight side issue the 'family section' always got my goat due to a high number of foul mouthed eejits who sat there purely because it was cheaper...if theres truly to be a family area then a level of behaviour more appropriate to that setting needs to be cultivated / enforced....

Re the side issue bit.

We have two kids, sometimes three with us ...... We sit in the FF because taking the kids to the East for example is too expensive, not because the FF is cheaper if you see what I mean.

I think the vast majority of the FF adults are not as a matter of course "foul mouthed eejits" ..... but unfortunately ( of late especially ) some have lost control having to watch the guff on offer ....... folk are only human for FF sake :greengrin

16-05-2014, 06:35 PM
I think the idea of the singing section coming into the FF lower is great. If you look on the website, there are hundreds of seats available at the end sections.

If anyone thinks that I'm giving up my seats in the central sections then they will be disappointed. I'll only do so with a damn good incentive such as black seats in the upper.

All those people who are keen for this to happen, where do you sit? I wonder how you would feel if a campaign was being started to move you out of your seat because other people think its a good idea.

Apart from the first season of the new East I have sat in the lower FF since the stand was built and before that the Coo Shed. I have always preferred watching from behind the goals.

But something has to be done about the lack of atmosphere at ER especially at bog standard league matches. In my view moving the singing section to the lower FF is the answer to that problem. I would be happy for the family section to be moved to the East for example and me with it.

If the lower FF did become the singing section the prices would be the same as the East and FF upper, with cheaper family tickets in the East. If that happened FF lower folk without kids who want a central view could move to the FF upper .... the best view in the stadium by a mile. If it wasn't for my mate having to use the family section cause of the kids I would move there in a heartbeat.

The lack of atmosphere at ER does nothing to attract fans to games and does nothing to help the team. Anything which can be done to change that should be a priority issue for Hibs ............... IMO the clubs rather stubborn stance in this area, based on preserving the view for 10 folk in the FF hospitality area and probably another 10 who use the black seats in the top deck is symptomatic of the malaise which has affected the club for far too long now. Failure to see the bigger picture to my mind.

16-05-2014, 08:30 PM
I wonder how many people advocating a Singing Section in the Famous Five are singers at moment?

I've watched some games on the tellybox with thousands singing most of the game.

We are discussing where to relocate two or three dozen lads.

It's not location that prevents atmosphere.

It's leaving it to others to sing and waiting till results improve

16-05-2014, 08:33 PM
I'd much prefer a new singing section alongside the away fans in the unused half of the South Stand, especially as (hopefully) we won't have any Cat A games next season. Should mix things up a bit at least.

I don't think we're ever going to have a situation where any singing section isn't reasonably close to the away end.

Hibee-Wylie
16-05-2014, 09:51 PM
Too late for this FF to happen next season as people have renewed season tickets. Definitely a shout for the 15/16 season. Looks amazing at Liverpool, Man utd, crystal palace that's where they have there singing sections

17-05-2014, 12:31 AM
I wonder how many people advocating a Singing Section in the Famous Five are singers at moment?

I've watched some games on the tellybox with thousands singing most of the game.

What a load of bollocks Gogs. Part of the reason why you don't have anything to do with us anymore.

Backward aged steps.

17-05-2014, 02:56 AM
What a load of bollocks Gogs. Part of the reason why you don't have anything to do with us anymore.

Backward aged steps.

Who pissed in your cornflakes bud.

Nothing backward about a move to the FF IMO. Most successful choirs sing from behind a goal. That's common sense.

Just making the point that some on here assume it's the job if one group to do the singing. I think that's bollocks. In clubs with a good atmosphere the majority stand and sing. Its every supporter's job.

Maybe that wusnae clear! Oh and I've never been a member of the group. Just gave a hand at the very start. You guys did a grand job from there.

17-05-2014, 04:27 AM
This mob in Australia have only even existed as a club for 2 years, the atmosphere is like this at EVERY game. It's sad that a club like Hibs cannot drum up enough support to get a similar atmosphere going. Imagine this behind the goal every week? There'd be more people wanting to be part of it, and others wanting to attend just to look at it IMO. Everyone is a winner.

Those people moaning aboot being possibly moved for something that would benefit the club in the long run should get over themselves. You'd think the suggestion was they are now banned from the stadium! Of course you don't have to move...you could just be a part of it?

For me, with so much football on the TV, you must create a point of difference to persuade people to actually GO to the match. A great atmosphere is something you struggle to replicate just watching on TV, however at the minute, sitting in a quiet stadium watching the guff on offer offers nothing to the paying fan.

http://youtu.be/HLk7QMTK_Tg

17-05-2014, 04:31 AM
Another example. Picture this in the lower FF :aok:

http://youtu.be/jKeRzlornkw

17-05-2014, 07:29 AM
From those interested here, it does seem unanimous that a move to the FF is required.

Whilst this could be difficult because of current ST holders, there are empty blocks at either side of the West Lower thay could be used.

17-05-2014, 07:36 AM
I have said it all along, any singing section where folk want to stand for 90 minutes and behave a little bit more risky than the norm, has to be in an area where the only people who are there are folk who choose to be there.

Having it in the east stand was and is a huge mistake, and the ONLY place this can take off is in the lower tier of the FF. Until such times as this happens, there will always be bickering on this.

Every decent singing section is behind the goal, in fact i'd say its an advantage for the gimps and rantic to have their teams playing towards a big noisy support.

Teams in England are now moving the opposition supporters to the side, to try and minimize this effect, we have done it to our own support.

17-05-2014, 02:19 PM
From those interested here, it does seem unanimous that a move to the FF is required.

Whilst this could be difficult because of current ST holders, there are empty blocks at either side of the West Lower thay could be used.

I'm sorry, but asking for a change of pricing policy that would move several hundred season ticket holders is going to require a lot more than "just go somewhere else". These are A1 seats we are talking about and all thats left in the west lower is not on the same level.
If you approach the board then a lot of what you say is going to have to be about offering incentives for people already in the FF lower to agree to this.
If you don't you are going to be met with a lot of*opposition from guys who feel they are getting a raw deal. Not everyone buys this "it has to be behind the goal" stuff and even if it was proven, they'll ask why you dont just go to the hundreds of seats that are available at the front and sides.

I can also tell you that one thing they won't respond to is any sort of emotional blackmail such as being made to feel like they are being obstructive or harming the team because they simply won't move. That certainly goes for the people in my group anyway.

Edit: post not aimed at you personally Ross. Just letting you all know how I feel as someone with damn good seats.

17-05-2014, 02:39 PM
You also have boxes in that section of the ground. Several rows will have to be empty or removed should a relaxed policy on standing be implemented.
Thats not even thinking about your flags and two sticks should they make a reappearance. The boxes certainly won't be removed as they are a source of income.

17-05-2014, 02:40 PM
I'm sorry, but asking for a change of pricing policy that would move several hundred season ticket holders is going to require a lot more than "just go somewhere else". These are A1 seats we are talking about and all thats left in the west lower is not on the same level.
If you approach the board then a lot of what you say is going to have to be about offering incentives for people already in the FF lower to agree to this.
If you don't you are going to be met with a lot of*opposition from guys who feel they are getting a raw deal. Not everyone buys this "it has to be behind the goal" stuff and even if it was proven, they'll ask why you dont just go to the hundreds of seats that are available at the front and sides.

I can also tell you that one thing they won't respond to is any sort of emotional blackmail such as being made to feel like they are being obstructive or harming the team because they simply won't move. That certainly goes for the people in my group anyway.

Edit: post not aimed at you personally Ross. Just letting you all know how I feel as someone with damn good seats.

No need for price changes etc, we could all relocate there if we wish, doesn't need to be done officially through the club.
We've tried that multiple times and failed. Time to bash our heads together and sort it out ourselves.

17-05-2014, 02:48 PM
Are we still in the period where the current Season Ticket holder's seats are withheld from public sale, to give them a chance to renew?

The reason I ask is that there are currently hardly any seats available in the FF front on the club's ST page. I can't imagine that they've already almost sold out for next season, given the season we've just had and not knowing what league we're going to be in yet.

17-05-2014, 03:13 PM
No need for price changes etc, we could all relocate there if we wish, doesn't need to be done officially through the club.
We've tried that multiple times and failed. Time to bash our heads together and sort it out ourselves.

As the seats haven't been released yet there's nothing to stop you all buying en masse in that section the minute they are released. At least then you will have presence there even if it's at the side.

I wouldn't give up on the official route though. People would probably accept a change in pricing policy if minor incentives were offered and maybe the new CEO will be more open minded.

17-05-2014, 03:22 PM
As the seats haven't been released yet there's nothing to stop you all buying en masse in that section the minute they are released. At least then you will have presence there even if it's at the side.

Thanks for answerig my question and that was the point I was trying to hint at. I agree with what you said, as it's likely there will be a number of seats available.

What I would point out, though, is that the area is currently designated a Family Section, so there could be a problem with any 'hangers on' at the bigger matches. I've noticed quite a number of people that only ever appear in and around the current Singing Section at Cat A games and their behaviour is, well, not exactly 'family friendly', if you know what I mean.

17-05-2014, 03:41 PM
Thanks for answerig my question and that was the point I was trying to hint at. I agree with what you said, as it's likely there will be a number of seats available.

What I would point out, though, is that the area is currently designated a Family Section, so there could be a problem with any 'hangers on' at the bigger matches. I've noticed quite a number of people that only ever appear in and around the current Singing Section at Cat A games and their behaviour is, well, not exactly 'family friendly', if you know what I mean.

That could be a problem but they couldn't actually force the ever-presents to move their season tickets. It would probably force the issue one way or another.

It would then be all about dialogue involving the club and the families within the FF lower.

18-05-2014, 09:48 AM

What I would point out, though, is that the area is currently designated a Family Section, so there could be a problem with any 'hangers on' at the bigger matches. I've noticed quite a number of people that only ever appear in and around the current Singing Section at Cat A games and their behavior is, well, not exactly 'family friendly', if you know what I mean.

Which gets back to what i said earlier that the bottom tier of the FF is the only place where everyone who wants to stand, and wants to behave that little more boisterous should be.

We watch the away end erupt and bounce when its full of bigots or gimps, even when its only half full you can hear the support they give their team all round the ground.

We should try and copy this in my opinion, as when i had my seat in the east roughly on the 18 yard line at the FF end, i could hardly hear section 43 but could hear the away end clearly, even ICT or Ross County who brought very few fans.

18-05-2014, 10:12 AM
Which gets back to what i said earlier that the bottom tier of the FF is the only place where everyone who wants to stand, and wants to behave that little more boisterous should be.

We watch the away end erupt and bounce when its full of bigots or gimps, even when its only half full you can hear the support they give their team all round the ground.

We should try and copy this in my opinion, as when i had my seat in the east roughly on the 18 yard line at the FF end, i could hardly hear section 43 but could hear the away end clearly, even ICT or Ross County who brought very few fans.

This is it in a nutshell BH ........ everything you have said here is utterly accurate and is exactly the experience I have sitting in the FF.

I understand why some of the people in the FF with 'good seats' would be reluctant to move. But its not as if folk are being asked to sit behind a pillar if they do. I would be more than happy to relocate from my 'good seat' in the FF if the end result was that I didn't have to watch fitba in a bloody morgue every week.

18-05-2014, 10:18 AM

Away fans are always more boisterous no matter where you put them and generally out sing the home fans.

18-05-2014, 11:01 AM
Away fans are always more boisterous no matter where you put them and generally out sing the home fans.

You can often put that down to a liberal consumption of alcohol in transit to the game. Where there's a will, there's a way.

18-05-2014, 11:57 AM
You can often put that down to a liberal consumption of alcohol in transit to the game. Where there's a will, there's a way.

So we compensate by giving every fan in the FF front, regardless of age, five pints of Beer.

Problem solved!

18-05-2014, 12:23 PM

:agree: That's a good point, and another reason why we should be putting them as far away from the front of the stand, and getting our singing section down the front of the FF and building it up. Being stuck way up in the east in my opinion is a problem vocally for the reasons i said earlier.

An most clubs down here have moved away supports to the side of their grounds to minimize their effect.

If we look at what Crystal Palace have done, from a small section down the side of the section behind one goal, that should be our goal.

The east is way to big for what we have at the moment, and i have even heard folk say they are a pest with their behavior, ie standing and choice language.

These are the main reasons i believe they need a section where only like minded folk would go, that and the noise would be better and again imo encourage the rest of the ground to join in.

18-05-2014, 12:55 PM

Me.

I see that happen at ER too.

Hopefully more will follow.

A winning team helps.

Hopefully we see that next season.

18-05-2014, 12:58 PM
I'd move back behind the goals in a heartbeat. Me and my old man had season tickets in there for ten years, row H right behind the goals. Was brilliant in the Mowbray and Collins days as we scored a barrowload.

18-05-2014, 01:03 PM
Exactly, the family section has not always been in the FF.
Yep, I remember when my old man started taking me every week about 20 year ago it was the family enclosure in the West we sat.

18-05-2014, 01:04 PM

Always said that the away end for some strange reason seems to have the best atmosphere from the four stands, so good shout for the singing section to be in the FF lower and if things improve then more folk in the top tier would be even better, could have the ground bouncing. :agree:

Peter Douglas can keep his A1 seat as long as he doesn't mind everyone standing up around him singing and having a good time waving flags setting of flares etc etc :wink: :greengrin

18-05-2014, 01:07 PM

Don't believe you, prove it. :greengrin

18-05-2014, 01:07 PM
I've always preferred being behind the goals at a game, it's where I have been going since I was about 4 year old.

I currently sit in the FF upper. I would definitely consider moving downstairs if there was a more relaxed attitide on standing though.

I can see why a few people wouldn't be happy about being forcibly moved to accomodate singers, I probably wouldn't be, and the corporate box windows in the FF lower would be a big problem imo. Surely a compromise could be found though. The FF upper isn't hugely busy these days, maybe splitting the family sectiom between there and one block at the side of the East and West and giving people the choice of where they moved to could work?

18-05-2014, 01:11 PM
:agree: That's a good point, and another reason why we should be putting them as far away from the front of the stand, and getting our singing section down the front of the FF and building it up. Being stuck way up in the east in my opinion is a problem vocally for the reasons i said earlier.

An most clubs down here have moved away supports to the side of their grounds to minimize their effect.

If we look at what Crystal Palace have done, from a small section down the side of the section behind one goal, that should be our goal.

The east is way to big for what we have at the moment, and i have even heard folk say they are a pest with their behavior, ie standing and choice language.

These are the main reasons i believe they need a section where only like minded folk would go, that and the noise would be better and again imo encourage the rest of the ground to join in.

Put away fans in the East next to FF, do gooders and families in the away end and the singing section in the FF and the radges where the split in the East would be. :greengrin

19-05-2014, 07:05 AM

Not true, as per the clips I posted earlier.

If we simply accept the status quo and do nothing to at least try and generate more atmosphere, then we're never going to generate more atmosphere! Simple as that.

IMO make the bottom tier of the West the Family area, like when I was a laddie with a seat in the "Family Enclosure" as it was back then. Nothing wrong with the view either.

19-05-2014, 08:23 AM
we need to close a stand, we should close the east or the west or the top tiers of the west and the ff. We've got a half full stadium most weeks, celtic and the sheep have done the same thing, I can't understand why there's so much opposition to it.

19-05-2014, 08:25 AM
we need to close a stand, we should close the east or the west or the top tiers of the west and the ff. We've got a half full stadium most weeks, celtic and the sheep have done the same thing, I can't understand why there's so much opposition to it.

Because people have ST's in those areas and don't want to move!

19-05-2014, 08:39 AM
Because people have ST's in those areas and don't want to move!

If you have a seat in the east would it be that different if you had a similar seat in the west or vice versa, it's madness to have all the stands open when the stadium is half full

19-05-2014, 08:42 AM
If you have a seat in the east would it be that different if you had a similar seat in the west or vice versa, it's madness to have all the stands open when the stadium is half full

Yes, one of the reasons I renew a ST is because I want my same seat with the same people around me who have been for years, it's part of my match day experience, I would be totally pissed off if forced to move. Maybe I'm just being selfish :greengrin

19-05-2014, 09:06 AM

It makes sense from an economic view, but for me its kind of admitting defeat closing home parts of the stadium. No logic in my statement, just how I feel.

HibeeMassive
19-05-2014, 09:26 AM
Yes, one of the reasons I renew a ST is because I want my same seat with the same people around me who have been for years, it's part of my match day experience, I would be totally pissed off if forced to move. Maybe I'm just being selfish :greengrin

I agree with this. We've had our same 8 seats since the West was built. As have most of the guys/gals around us.
We know them, they know us, we know we can take the kids with no hassle etc.

19-05-2014, 10:04 AM

Don't get me wrong I totally get that point and ideally we would want to keep all the stands open and attract a bigger crowd, but if we're talking about the greater good and wanting the club to show the same comittment as us, then we the fans might have to make some sacrifices (hopefully temporary) for the good of the club.

19-05-2014, 11:11 AM
I agree with this. We've had our same 8 seats since the West was built. As have most of the guys/gals around us.
We know them, they know us, we know we can take the kids with no hassle etc.

You can all move together, plenty room :wink:

19-05-2014, 11:20 AM

We need to play better, winning, football then the question won't need to be asked :greengrin

The support has shown, even in a *****ty season like this, there are the numbers to fill the home end. Even over the last few garbage seasons, despite the loss of rangers, our average attendance is up. The support is hankering for a decent team.

I also think the club would see it as an admission that they got the building of the East wrong/had no ambition. Hibs don't do we were wrong admissions.

Hibs3-2
19-05-2014, 12:35 PM
Back to topic. If anyone wants to meet up prematch before the hamilton home game, drop me a PM. Be prepared to consume a few lagers though

19-05-2014, 12:55 PM
RE: Moving Away Fans:

In terms of segregation, the East or West Stands would be the easiest to move Away fans into, as the are both divided underneath the stand.

The problem is that the South Stand is ideal for access and leaving after the game, as Away fans can be kept separate from Home fans quite easily. I see that as being the biggest blocker to moving them elsewhere, as the Police would have the final say.

wearethehibs
19-05-2014, 12:57 PM
RE: Moving Away Fans:

In terms of segregation, the East or West Stands would be the easiest to move Away fans into, as the are both divided underneath the stand.

The problem is that the South Stand is ideal for access and leaving after the game, as Away fans can be kept separate from Home fans quite easily. I see that as being the biggest blocker to moving them elsewhere, as the Police would have the final say.

Thought about that, if you put them in the west, they could still send the away fans the same way across the bridge and Hibs fans in the south could be sent round the east stand as there is access to the back of the east from that side.

19-05-2014, 01:06 PM
Thought about that, if you put them in the west, they could still send the away fans the same way across the bridge and Hibs fans in the south could be sent round the east stand as there is access to the back of the east from that side.

Cheers. I couldn't remember if they re-instated the access way from the South to the East. In that case, they could be in the West (I would draw the line at the East Stand, too hard to police), maybe sections 1,2,3 & 10,11,12.

What happens, though, in the event of a Category A match? That part of the West stand is too small for the likes of Celtc and Hearts. Do we then move everybody that has STs for the South into the West Stand and put the Away Fans in the South? Kind of defeats the purpose of moving the nutters* to the South in the first place.

* I obviously use the term 'nutters' in a purely affectionate way ;)

20-05-2014, 10:12 AM
I sit in the ff lower , pretty central . I only go there as i take 2 kids ( 3 next season ) its a great view but has zero atmosphere . But as its the family section its affordable ( £25 per kid ) If the club moved the family section id happily move . A singing section behind the goals would be superb imo . Id maybe even bite the bullet and pay extra to stay as i think it would defo add to the match day experience .

20-05-2014, 12:27 PM
Has anyone ever conducted any polls to firm up the logistics of the proposal?

I'm sure I remember a poll of supporters who supported the idea of a SS in the FF. This involved advising people where they would need to move to IIRC. To understand whether this is feasible should we not check with those most affected, namely

A poll of Famous Five ST's to understand how many would be willing to relocate from the FF

and

A poll of those in other stands to assess who would definitely relocate to the FF

I'm sure these stats could provide useful collatoral when discussing with management