View Full Version : Protest outside the main stand?

Pages : 1 [2]

10-05-2014, 07:49 PM
I see this type of thing posted fairly often - It's isn't the fans job to come up with plans, that's the job of the people running the club.

Are you suggesting getting rid of the people running the club and ALSO that its up to them to find their replacements?

10-05-2014, 08:09 PM
What is the difference between Hibs fans expressing their concerns behind the West stand post match this afternoon to those expressing their concerns on internet forums such as this? I know who`s opinion I would take on board first anyway, that`s for sure.

10-05-2014, 08:18 PM
Are you suggesting getting rid of the people running the club and ALSO that its up to them to find their replacements?

Given where we find ourselves and the state of the team, it`s the least they could do, but given where they have led us to, I`d rather they stayed as far away as possible from appointing anyone to a key position at the club.

10-05-2014, 08:26 PM
Nah, not true. Pat got plenty of support, even his doubters (I was one of them) wanted to be proved wrong. He got another chance after the 2012 Cup Final tanking.

It was nothing to do with the media (although his disdain for that side of his job didn't help him). It was everything to do with the fact he looked out of his depth and a few awful, awful results.

We finished in 7th place, with more points than the team in 6th, after being denied two wins in the run up to the split by catastrophic refereeing! That was the season after we JUST avoided relegation and we had another Scottish Cup Final. Yes, we came up against a very on form Celtic side - Stokes Brown and Hooper were unplayable that day - and got soundly beaten - but it was still an achievement. And in the league, it was still progress.

We progressed in the league, and we reached another Cup Final. We also went unbeaten against Hearts last season!

Freak results notwithstanding, those are the signs of a manager who done only what could be reasonably expected of him.

10-05-2014, 08:29 PM
We finished in 7th place, with more points than the team in 6th, after being denied two wins in the run up to the split by catastrophic refereeing! That was the season after we JUST avoided relegation and we had another Scottish Cup Final. Yes, we came up against a very on form Celtic side - Stokes Brown and Hooper were unplayable that day - and got soundly beaten - but it was still an achievement. And in the league, it was still progress.

We progressed in the league, and we reached another Cup Final. We also went unbeaten against Hearts last season!

Freak results notwithstanding, those are the signs of a manager who done only what could be reasonably expected of him.

Start of this season and St Pat had two defeats to the worst Hearts team ever.. A 100% derby defeat record this season for him. He was taking us backwards. Quickly.

10-05-2014, 08:33 PM

One word, Griffiths.

Long Time Hibee
10-05-2014, 08:38 PM
Ask Liam Craig, Ryan McGivern, Michael Nelson and James Collins to politely do one from this once proud, famous football club. And that's just for starters.

These 4 players above are everything this wrong with this side.

Gutless, talentless and if there's been a less inspiring captain than Liam Craig then I'd love to ken who.

Totally agree. Craig doesn't seem to care, McGivern is an international player??, Nelson has lost what he ever had??? and Collins 'that miss against THEM'.

weststandhibby
10-05-2014, 08:38 PM
Wealthy hibs supporters who care about the club. Probably around £5m. Farmer has killed this club. Instead of building a sustainable successful club he has built a sustainable failing club. Petrie is farmers employee not Hibs employee.
Yer having a fxxxxng laugh. If he hadn't bought into the club when wallet mercenary tried to kill us we wouldn't have a club!! Agree Petrie needs to go but FFS get a grip.

10-05-2014, 08:52 PM

Aspirations & expectations driven down to their logical conclusion this season,"lets rejoice in being slightly less crap" only leads to where we are now.

Long Time Hibee
10-05-2014, 09:10 PM
Like offering a loan for a player whilst a team with the same amount of money as us offered a permanent transfer. Said player scoring more goals in one half of the season than any of our strike force did the whole season.

100% agree. Rooney would have been a good buy. We go for the cheap loan option of Haynes. And why did he bring in Boateng?????

10-05-2014, 09:27 PM
100% agree. Rooney would have been a good buy. We go for the cheap loan option of Haynes. And why did he bring in Boateng?????

The instincts were right but the strategy was wrong. We badly needed a right back and we brought one in... TB also added a winger and a striker which were both needed too. Unfortunately, the ones we signed did nothing for us.

10-05-2014, 10:07 PM
Start of this season and St Pat had two defeats to the worst Hearts team ever.. A 100% derby defeat record this season for him. He was taking us backwards. Quickly.

And even with those two results, we were still 5th. Yes, we shouldn't lose to that level of opposition, but it happens. We didn't take our chances, and they took all of theirs. McPake didn't come out the season before and say "We will always beat Hearts" he said they would never walk over us, we would always compete, and in both those games it was us the made the most and best chances. Sometimes in football, it doesn't land for you, it doesn't hit the back of the net or the goalie makes a great save, but you just have to take it on the chin. A derby is just another game of football, and quite frankly if I cared about Hearts, I'd have a season ticket for Tynecastle, not Easter Road. If I was a Jambo, I would be revelling in the fact that it was my team that got Pat Fenlon sacked and, as a result, Hibs relegated. We were not the finished article, and there was still a patchy and rocky road to be traveled.

Nakedmanoncrack:

It was progress, I didn't say it was where we wanted our final destination to be. We should have been more patient. Everyone seems to be saying how much a mess the club is, and how much change is needed. Why wasn't Fenlon given more time then? He was moving things upward, and had showed no sign of peaking. In fact, it would seem that our action against accepting where we were with Pat has gotten us to where we are now.

Longtimehibee:

You can't have been a hibee that long. I watched Mixu balloon a penalty over the bar against Hearts. All strikers miss sitters. Collins' had a tough start to the season, but I have confidence in his ability and hope that he can kick on next season. Billy McKay had a poorer start to his ICT career than Collins' has had at Hibs. Higdon only scored 4 goals in his first year at St. Mirren. Collins' record at Swindon indicated there is more to him than we have seen.

10-05-2014, 11:26 PM
Same folk still having a go at people protesting. Guys any chance when your licking Petrie's jam roll you can tell him we're in bother! Thanks now bye.:top marks No that it'll bother him, he disnae pay for it, we do. How much have Petrie's **** ups cost him?

10-05-2014, 11:30 PM
I was as happy as any Hibs fan when Farmer saved us. This was nearly 25 years ago, i no longer feel the need to kiss his arse while under his ownership we struggle year after year after year after.............

Sell it or give it away, i don't care anymore. If you have the community at heart now as you did when you bought the club, then let someone else do the job. And take Rod Petrie with you, let this club live not die a slow death like it in doing under your ownership.Aye but we're still supposed tae be greatful for that 23 years later, what did he save it for? So he could kill it himself?

10-05-2014, 11:34 PM
My protest is simple, I am voting with my feet, I will not be renewing my season ticket or electronic Hibernian TV Xtra, I will not spend anymore money in the Club shop on replica kit.

I have emailed the board to express my reasons for doing this, I imagine I am not alone. Today we had an opportunity to escape the play offs against a poor Kilmarnock team, the manager insisted in playing this one dimensional long ball hoof, which Killie got to grips with after about 20 mins. We could still be playing now and still be a goal down. To put it simply, its just not good enough. :grr::top marks Not another farthing while any of these people remain at this club. Wouldnae haud yer breath on a reply tae you e-mail though. :agree:

10-05-2014, 11:38 PM
Unless these demos involve huge numbers they achieve little other than heap more ridicule on the rest of the long suffering support.Aye better tae dae **** all, heids much better stuck in the sand. :agree:

10-05-2014, 11:42 PM
And even with those two results, we were still 5th. Yes, we shouldn't lose to that level of opposition, but it happens. We didn't take our chances, and they took all of theirs. McPake didn't come out the season before and say "We will always beat Hearts" he said they would never walk over us, we would always compete, and in both those games it was us the made the most and best chances. Sometimes in football, it doesn't land for you, it doesn't hit the back of the net or the goalie makes a great save, but you just have to take it on the chin. A derby is just another game of football, and quite frankly if I cared about Hearts, I'd have a season ticket for Tynecastle, not Easter Road. If I was a Jambo, I would be revelling in the fact that it was my team that got Pat Fenlon sacked and, as a result, Hibs relegated. We were not the finished article, and there was still a patchy and rocky road to be traveled.

Nakedmanoncrack:

It was progress, I didn't say it was where we wanted our final destination to be. We should have been more patient. Everyone seems to be saying how much a mess the club is, and how much change is needed. Why wasn't Fenlon given more time then? He was moving things upward, and had showed no sign of peaking. In fact, it would seem that our action against accepting where we were with Pat has gotten us to where we are now.

Longtimehibee:

You can't have been a hibee that long. I watched Mixu balloon a penalty over the bar against Hearts. All strikers miss sitters. Collins' had a tough start to the season, but I have confidence in his ability and hope that he can kick on next season. Billy McKay had a poorer start to his ICT career than Collins' has had at Hibs. Higdon only scored 4 goals in his first year at St. Mirren. Collins' record at Swindon indicated there is more to him than we have seen.

Fenlon was garbage however you dress it up. It wasn't just the derby defeats (though they were bad, particularly the one at Tynecastle) but the 7-0 in Europe, 5-1 the year before, a piss poor performance in yet another cup final v Celtic. As for being 5th, we were hardly cemented in 5th - were about 8 points off 11th at that stage.

We might not have found ourselves quite in this predicament but if you think we would've been anywhere near the top 6, I think you're dreaming.

MADE IN LEITH
10-05-2014, 11:56 PM
Totally sick to the stomach...

We need a complete and unequivocal clear out from the top down.

There has been a rot at ER for the last decade or so and the Club is going nowhere.

We need a change in mind-set with a new positive forward thinking philosophy which encompasses a winning mentality. To achieve this the Club has no alteranative but to do what is right for the club and its fans and change our tangible human assets.

If nothing is done now then I fear the club will become further entenched in underacheivement and at best a top six finish year on year. This is not what Hibernain FC should expect or the fans should accept going forward. If Hibernain continue down this path then I fear that they will disappear into obscurity and disillusionment along with the fans.

I hope I am wrong and club moves forward in the coming years and get this whole sorry mess sorted once and for all.

10-05-2014, 11:59 PM
It's all relative and easy to argue in hindsight. If Fenlon had stayed, arguably we might not be in our current position, but a lot more fans would have been driven away by the rubbish they saw every week and we would have been on a different downward slide. That's where that was heading. Some people are looking at Fenlon's tenure from the perspective of being in the playoffs, and doesn't it just look much better from there? Which really speaks to how far the club has plummeted if that's the place we now wish we were in.

As for Butcher, well, who as a supporter ever imagines that their team will win 1 game out of the last 20? It's beyond even the most bitterly pessimistic supporter's worst expectations. The bigger picture is what matters here, and the fact is that regardless of whatever various managers or players or even board members were involved, we have failed as a club to deliver any reasonable return for fan's money for around six or seven years and our trajectory has been a steady downwards one in that time. We can argue over this manager or that player, but the one undeniable fact is that overall, the club has been failing steadily and heading in the wrong direction where it matters: on the park. The fans deserve better.

11-05-2014, 12:05 AM
Unless these demos involve huge numbers they achieve little other than heap more ridicule on the rest of the long suffering support.

What a ridiculous statement.....The ridicule is due to finishing 10th, 11th, 7th and 11th in 4 consecutive seasons, losing a final 5-1 to our rivals, and having a 9-0 european aggregate loss......Long suffering support indeed, however, some feel strong enough to make their voices heard....Sorry if this makes you squirm, should we just all walk away and say nothing?

11-05-2014, 12:22 AM
Are you suggesting getting rid of the people running the club and ALSO that its up to them to find their replacements?Just how far in tae the mire dae we have tae sink before you pull yer heid out of Petrie and Farmer's erses? And take a good look at the state of this club and where it is heading (and has been for years)

Well run club, 4 season in the bottom 7, 2 out of the last 3 fighting tae avoid relegation. Good job, well done, good show, jolly good show

Nailrod
11-05-2014, 04:15 AM
Petrie out? His bags already packed so what's the point?Why do you persist in repeating this inane point again and again? How are Petrie's bags 'already packed'?

The plan that has been announced so far is that Petrie will continue in his role as Chairman, with Dempster as CEO. A chairman doesn't work for a CEO. A chairman doesn't take orders from a CEO. Do you just not understand that?

Petrie has been around the club for twenty years, and Dempster will just have walked in the door. Do you seriously think, for example, that she is going to be allowed any independent access to the owner?

Dempster, like previous second-in-commands, will be responsible for the day-to-day running of the club. Anybody who imagines that she is going to be allowed to overrule Petrie on any matter of significance is a bloody fool. Anybody who believes that Petrie has any intention of relinquishing his stranglehold over the club is a bloody fool.

Nailrod
11-05-2014, 04:34 AM
Of course that's what has to happen. How the hell can anybody from outside the club canvass potential new investors?

"Excuse me, would you like to buy Hibs?"

"Er... ok. Exactly what would I be buying?"

"I've no idea, but will you buy it anyway?"

"Er... ok. How much is it going to cost me?"

If Petrie was anything other than a self-centred myopic blowhard, he would have recognised years ago that he hasn't the faintest idea how to run a successful football club. The only things he should be spending any time on right now are looking for a decent candidate to replace himself, and looking for potential investors to buy out STF.

11-05-2014, 05:23 AM
The instincts were right but the strategy was wrong. We badly needed a right back and we brought one in... TB also added a winger and a striker which were both needed too. Unfortunately, the ones we signed did nothing for us.

And how often have Haynes and Boateng played?? Boateng must be bad if he can't get a game ahead of Michael Nelson. Butcher for whatever reason f####d up badly in Jan(was Petrie to blame for not providing funds??) he wrote this season off far too early and now we could well lose our top flight status because of failure to bolster a tom kite squad in Jan.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

11-05-2014, 05:50 AM
Heard there was a few players out on the town last night.....surprised they showed face. I'm all for players having a social life but having been consigned to the playoffs?? Showing a lack of respect to the club.

Dr Jimmy
11-05-2014, 06:28 AM

The owners should be doing exactly that. Look to sell and appoint a company to find a buyer(s). As for the employees at board level, they get what's coming to them from any new owner based on their worth.......

11-05-2014, 06:30 AM
Fenlon was garbage however you dress it up. It wasn't just the derby defeats (though they were bad, particularly the one at Tynecastle) but the 7-0 in Europe, 5-1 the year before, a piss poor performance in yet another cup final v Celtic. As for being 5th, we were hardly cemented in 5th - were about 8 points off 11th at that stage.

We might not have found ourselves quite in this predicament but if you think we would've been anywhere near the top 6, I think you're dreaming.

There's no dressing up to be done, I'm not stating anything other than facts. There are no what if's necessary, it's just where we were. We WERE fifth, and we earned that by defending well and scoring the few goals we did with the players we had.

If I wanted to dress it up could throw out how better a chance he would have had with his creative players - Harris, Cairney and Stanton - fit. We were lacking quality in the final third, and Fenlon knew how to get performances out of Harris and Cairney. It's hypothetical, but it's not outrageous to suggest that we may have scored more goals under Fenlon if we had ANY of our creative players fit. Why would we drop to a lower placing with a better available squad under the same manager?

Patience was needed, a stomach for the kicks we would take on the way, with a manager who was still learning at this level. We can't buy great players who are the finished article, what makes you think we can sign great managers who are the finished article?

11-05-2014, 06:30 AM
Heard there was a few players out on the town last night.....surprised they showed face. I'm all for players having a social life but having been consigned to the playoffs?? Showing a lack of respect to the club.

Heard from who? Anyway, do you lock yourself away after a bad day at work? There's plenty to be upset about but trying to whip up faux outrage over every little thing is bonkers.

11-05-2014, 06:38 AM
The players might as well go and get smashed in george street while they have the cash. No one will employ them as football players after this if they relegate us from the position we where in.

11-05-2014, 06:38 AM

I heard differently. I heard there was a few players were " in the town" last night. Went out for a meal together. then off out for a few non alcoholic drinks after. All teetotal. Not showing any disrespect to anyone IMO.

A few guys out for dinner. Not partying. Guys, who need to try and relax before they get psyched up again to face what will be the most important fixtures of some of their careers and of our club.? Good for them. The right thing to try and do.

I don't agree they are being disrespectful to anyone. I have no no problem with this. Your post is unfair and mischievous Johnny.

Tha Cabbage Kid
11-05-2014, 07:22 AM
Would be fair to say most of 6s wanted butcher and petrie made it happen.

Sent from my GT-N8010 using Tapatalk

Ants
11-05-2014, 07:30 AM
Woke up this morning for work, switched on the television, Sky World News.... it was showing the protest outside the main stand.
"Sack the board" was the chant, clear and loud.
Looked to be a good few there protesting, noticed a lot of youngsters and thats the next generation of fans, hopefully not fed up already!!

BTW, 25 Degs C, lovely and sunny at 6.30 this morning.... Theres some things I dont miss back home!!

11-05-2014, 07:40 AM
And how often have Haynes and Boateng played?? Boateng must be bad if he can't get a game ahead of Michael Nelson. Butcher for whatever reason f####d up badly in Jan(was Petrie to blame for not providing funds??) he wrote this season off far too early and now we could well lose our top flight status because of failure to bolster a tom kite squad in Jan.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Boateng is is away back to London and Zoubir has returned to his parent club. This happened last week, at least that is my understanding.

MADE IN LEITH
11-05-2014, 07:59 AM
Woke up this morning for work, switched on the television, Sky World News.... it was showing the protest outside the main stand.
"Sack the board" was the chant, clear and loud.
Looked to be a good few there protesting, noticed a lot of youngsters and thats the next generation of fans, hopefully not fed up already!!

BTW, 25 Degs C, lovely and sunny at 6.30 this morning.... Theres some things I dont miss back home!!

Aint no sunshine over here thats for sure, there are bigger things to worry about. Its going to be a long miserable summer if we are relegated.

Lets hope the sun shines on Leith in the play offs and we dont need to bother about the Sun.

11-05-2014, 08:13 AM
Would be fair to say most of 6s wanted butcher and petrie made it happen.

Pretty much. There was a mob outside the main stand demanding that fenlon be sacked and threads on here about boycotts till he went, as well as plenty posts on here about giving butcher the job. So whilst I think protest is to be encouraged, it looked to me that it was the same demographic protesting this time as those that were there last time.

If I had been in petries place I'd have seen out the season with fenlon and then looked for a new manager close season.

Petrie is guilty of many things, parsimony being the main one but high on that list is that too often he reacts to the actions of the boo boys.

Tha Cabbage Kid
11-05-2014, 08:31 AM
What could petrie have done differently? He employed a good manager (atleast so we thought) and its went tyts up again. Should he give out more money to buy more players? Or wait until the closed season to assess. I would go for the later. Maybe petrie shouldnt have spent the money on east mains and easter road but just kept it for the playing squad. Hindsight would be a good thing to have. Everyone was singing his praises for that though including me

11-05-2014, 08:41 AM
Maybe time for a rich arab sheikh to buy us and boot the current arab into touch ..... seriously everything is in place
Stadium,east mains those must be attractive for investment what gets me with the filth being demoted second place has been up for grabs and imo we shouldve invested more in the team facts are paying managers off no continuity two massive games coming off . no confidence in the players hopefully we can stay up

11-05-2014, 08:45 AM
Given where we find ourselves and the state of the team, it`s the least they could do, but given where they have led us to, I`d rather they stayed as far away as possible from appointing anyone to a key position at the club.

Which was kindof my point.

11-05-2014, 08:46 AM
Just how far in tae the mire dae we have tae sink before you pull yer heid out of Petrie and Farmer's erses? And take a good look at the state of this club and where it is heading (and has been for years)

Well run club, 4 season in the bottom 7, 2 out of the last 3 fighting tae avoid relegation. Good job, well done, good show, jolly good show

Are you ill?

11-05-2014, 08:49 AM
Maybe time for a rich arab sheikh to buy us and boot the current arab into touch ..... seriously everything is in place
Stadium,east mains those must be attractive for investment what gets me with the filth being demoted second place has been up for grabs and imo we shouldve invested more in the team facts are paying managers off no continuity two massive games coming off . no confidence in the players hopefully we can stay up
That just aint going to happen so it is up to us if we care enough, and i suspect a fair number do, to invest in the playing side of this club. As i have said elsewhere £20 per week from 1,000 fans brings in a million pounds per year. If this could be set up my cheque for £1000 would be in the post the next day. I love this club but hate the state we have got ourselves into.

11-05-2014, 08:51 AM
The owners should be doing exactly that. Look to sell and appoint a company to find a buyer(s). As for the employees at board level, they get what's coming to them from any new owner based on their worth.......

As GG says would you trust them to to that.

puff the dragon
11-05-2014, 08:58 AM
What could petrie have done differently? He employed a good manager (atleast so we thought) and its went tyts up again. Should he give out more money to buy more players? Or wait until the closed season to assess. I would go for the later. Maybe petrie shouldnt have spent the money on east mains and easter road but just kept it for the playing squad. Hindsight would be a good thing to have. Everyone was singing his praises for that though including me

What could Petrie have done differently? - remove himself from any board/SFA position, sell his 10% and return all wages he has received during the life of any role he has had with Hibernian FC as his tenure has been an utter failure (stands are all well and good but the team have been utter gash for too long and he has been happy to allow it).

Rod Petrie is the biggest wage thief at Hibernian.

11-05-2014, 09:03 AM
Read what I was replying to and get back to me then. :aok:

Of course that's what has to happen. How the hell can anybody from outside the club canvass potential new investors?

"Excuse me, would you like to buy Hibs?"

"Er... ok. Exactly what would I be buying?"

"Er... ok. How much is it going to cost me?"

If Petrie was anything other than a self-centred myopic blowhard, he would have recognised years ago that he hasn't the faintest idea how to run a successful football club. The only things he should be spending any time on right now are looking for a decent candidate to replace himself, and looking for potential investors to buy out STF.

capitals_finest
11-05-2014, 09:21 AM
I would just like to say I agree with the protest outside the ground. Not because i want Butcher to be sacked or Petrie to go necessarily (although i m now leaning towards the later) but because the last few years have been absolutely shocking. The results and performances on the park have been a disgrace and the situation we find ourselves in now is completely unacceptable. I can see the damage it has done to the core support if the club and this really concerns me. The players need to see how much this means to us, debating on a website means nothing to anyone and frustrates me even more to be honest. The fans have every right to demand answers and I will be joining the protest next time round.

Also some of the comments on this forum is an absolute disgrace as well. One guy calling the young Hibs supporters in a protest video cretins... Bang out order.

mentalhibee
11-05-2014, 09:30 AM
It all kicked off when a Hibs official came out to confront about five hibs fans standing at the barriers straight after the game, another fan came out of nowhere and went absolutely ape hitting the barrier, screaming in his face etc. No idea who the hibs official was but him coming out caused the start of the protest I would say. Looks like it turned into a bit of a farce in the end. Did anyone else see this? Who was the Hibs official?

11-05-2014, 09:37 AM
No, because somebody who is successful doesn't keep making the same mistakes over and over again. They learn from each mistake they make which allows them to take a step closer to succeeding.

Rodders doesn't learn from his mistakes. He goes around in circles.

Yes, of course he does, thus illustrating your point perfectly. Now that you've qualified it anyway. :rolleyes:

11-05-2014, 09:38 AM
It all kicked off when a Hibs official came out to confront about five hibs fans standing at the barriers straight after the game, another fan came out of nowhere and went absolutely ape hitting the barrier, screaming in his face etc. No idea who the hibs official was but him coming out caused the start of the protest I would say. Looks like it turned into a bit of a farce in the end. Did anyone else see this? Who was the Hibs official?

Boy sounds like a tool, and should have been lifted.

Aaron
11-05-2014, 09:44 AM

How long after full time was this? I never seen it. Did the said five fans hang around for long?

11-05-2014, 09:49 AM

It was David Forsyth who came out, looking to appease the fans, but failed....

11-05-2014, 09:50 AM

Why?

mentalhibee
11-05-2014, 09:50 AM
It was just as the crowd came out of the main stand after full time. It caused the initial crowd to gather round.

11-05-2014, 10:01 AM
That just aint going to happen so it is up to us if we care enough, and i suspect a fair number do, to invest in the playing side of this club. As i have said elsewhere £20 per week from 1,000 fans brings in a million pounds per year. If this could be set up my cheque for £1000 would be in the post the next day. I love this club but hate the state we have got ourselves into.

10,000 Fans paying £10 per month would be better ... not many could afford £20 per week mate.

The idea that some Arab or whatever could buy us shouldn't be dismissed out of hand. There are many examples of folk owning more than one club .... the guy who owns Red Bull being a case in point. Though I doubt we would accept being called Red Bull Edinburgh.

The folk who own Man City have eye watering sums of money.

Though at first glance that may sound fanciful the fact is that these mega rich dudes aint in it for the money, there is no profit to be made owning any football club .... for them its all about the gory.

We may not be a big league club like City .... but we do have three factors in our favour which could prove attractive to the mega wealthy.

Factor 1:

All around Europe Scottish football is the go to example of a league monopolised by two clubs. There aint a fan in Europe who doesn't know it. That monopoly could be broken for the amount of money it takes to buy and pay two Man City players and would make headlines around the football world.

Factor 2:

Our Scottish cup hoodoo is so well documented people have been able to post examples of North American newspapers using Hibs as an example of the worlds longest running losing streaks in comparison to some of their own Gridiron and Baseball clubs who are in the same position. Imagine being the owner who turns that around.

Factor 3:

Us ................. Look at the turn out yesterday. But more importantly the turn outs for the Malmo game and the New Year derby. These were games where there was only the possibility of a positive result. In spite of years of being kicked in the John Daws the Hibs fans are still prepared to turn out when it matters. We have good crowd growth potential if we had a decent team.

Has anybody approached the wealthy in sport and tried to sell the club using the above examples. There are more ways to gain cudos and glory in the world of football than winning the sodding EPL or Champions ( sic ) league.

11-05-2014, 10:11 AM
Why?

Bit too philiisophical for this time of the morning I'm afraid.

11-05-2014, 10:18 AM

they could be the modern day famous five :)

11-05-2014, 10:22 AM
Are you suggesting that it's the supporters job to do that?

mentalhibee
11-05-2014, 10:24 AM

Nah, no one done anything bad enough to merit getting lifted. The guys that where there initially seemed to be putting there point across well. It was a shame the other guy lost the plot.

11-05-2014, 10:33 AM
Are you suggesting that it's the supporters job to do that?

You want rid of those in charge but you are/were suggesting that it is up to them to sort out their replacements? Correct?

What makes you think they would get that right?

This is the time for someone to step forward, a Fergus McCann type, and unify the support for change telling us exactly how they are going to do it. We are told repeatedly on this board there are plenty out there and that we are a fantastic opportunity apparently. If they are out there then now's the time to do it.

11-05-2014, 10:53 AM
You want rid of those in charge but you are/were suggesting that it is up to them to sort out their replacements? Correct?

This is the time for someone to step forward, a Fergus McCann type, and unify the support for change telling us exactly how they are going to do it. We are told repeatedly on this board there are plenty out there and that we are a fantastic opportunity apparently. If they are out there then now's the time to do it.

Any one that thinks McCann United a support has been victim to the revisionist Celtic agenda - biscuit tin mentality - he was booed when the flag was unfurled remember ? I think that was as coco (Wim) resigned over (funds?).

11-05-2014, 11:00 AM
Any one that thinks McCann United a support has been victim to the revisionist Celtic agenda - biscuit tin mentality - he was booed when the flag was unfurled remember ? I think that was as coco (Wim) resigned over (funds?).

Was that not about 4 years after he took over?

That said perhaps unifying the differing factions/individuals vying to take control might be more accurate. Not sure that's a problem here though.

11-05-2014, 11:29 AM
Rubbish, the Sky camera was there and numerous other press photographers.

The sky coverage and the other vids posted on here underline my point.

11-05-2014, 12:08 PM

Care to point out where i said or suggested that the people in charge were to be replaced? Or that they were to find their own replacements? You won't be able to do that, so no, you aren't correct.

I only responded to some people constantly asking what the fans plans are to sort out this shambles, by saying - It isn't the fans job to come up with plans, that task belongs to the people employed by the club.

11-05-2014, 12:40 PM
Heard from who? Anyway, do you lock yourself away after a bad day at work? There's plenty to be upset about but trying to whip up faux outrage over every little thing is bonkers.

Friend of mine was in that Why not for a part of the night. Various ways to blow off steam I suppose but I don't work in the public eye so not a fair comparison. I'm not trying to whip up anything, no agenda here. I've met lots of the players and they are genuinely likeable lads but I don't think going out on the town after a result which has pretty much confirmed the worst season since '98 is a)going to help the players and b)the right thing to do, if it was me I'd be tucked in bed hiding!

11-05-2014, 01:10 PM
10,000 Fans paying £10 per month would be better ... not many could afford £20 per week mate.

The idea that some Arab or whatever could buy us shouldn't be dismissed out of hand. There are many examples of folk owning more than one club .... the guy who owns Red Bull being a case in point. Though I doubt we would accept being called Red Bull Edinburgh.

The folk who own Man City have eye watering sums of money.

Though at first glance that may sound fanciful the fact is that these mega rich dudes aint in it for the money, there is no profit to be made owning any football club .... for them its all about the gory.

We may not be a big league club like City .... but we do have three factors in our favour which could prove attractive to the mega wealthy.

Factor 1:

All around Europe Scottish football is the go to example of a league monopolised by two clubs. There aint a fan in Europe who doesn't know it. That monopoly could be broken for the amount of money it takes to buy and pay two Man City players and would make headlines around the football world.

Factor 2:

Our Scottish cup hoodoo is so well documented people have been able to post examples of North American newspapers using Hibs as an example of the worlds longest running losing streaks in comparison to some of their own Gridiron and Baseball clubs who are in the same position. Imagine being the owner who turns that around.

Factor 3:

Us ................. Look at the turn out yesterday. But more importantly the turn outs for the Malmo game and the New Year derby. These were games where there was only the possibility of a positive result. In spite of years of being kicked in the John Daws the Hibs fans are still prepared to turn out when it matters. We have good crowd growth potential if we had a decent team.

Has anybody approached the wealthy in sport and tried to sell the club using the above examples. There are more ways to gain cudos and glory in the world of football than winning the sodding EPL or Champions ( sic ) league.
Yes, i only took that figure as an example for fans who have some disposable income. But please everyone feel free to chip in what they feel they can afford without hurting his/her family or leaving them short. The main thing is to get this up and running (there is still an untouched interest free loan of £1 million from Farmer not being used) Spend to bring Leigh home and we can pay for it.

11-05-2014, 01:23 PM
Ok BH, this is not a dig but a serious question, we all know what the protesters are protesting against but what are they protesting for?

Farmer out? Who replaces him?

Petrie out? His bags already packed so what's the point?

Sack the manager? We've been there and it hasn't helped, on the contrary it's got us where we are now. Who's gonna replace Butcher and how long do we give him? (I'm particularly interested in your opinion to this one)

I get it that fans are furious, apathetic and want to let off steam, of course I do I'm one of them. I just don't see the point in trashing plan A when there's no plan B or have I missed your plan B?

I see this type of thing posted fairly often - It's isn't the fans job to come up with plans, that's the job of the people running the club.

Care to point out where i said or suggested that the people in charge were to be replaced? Or that they were to find their own replacements? You won't be able to do that, so no, you aren't correct.

I only responded to some people constantly asking what the fans plans are to sort out this shambles, by saying - It isn't the fans job to come up with plans, that task belongs to the people employed by the club.

Apologies as that's not what you said.

Farmer and Petrie have nailed their colours firmly to the mast and we know what to expect from them and if folk (not you) want rid of Farmer and Petrie then surely someone, somewhere has to come up with a plan (and money) to do it.

11-05-2014, 01:40 PM
Apologies as that's not what you said.

Farmer and Petrie have nailed their colours firmly to the mast and we know what to expect from them and if folk (not you) want rid of Farmer and Petrie then surely someone, somewhere has to come up with a plan (and money) to do it.

No worries......We're all pissed off, but ultimately we all want the best for Hibs.

11-05-2014, 02:10 PM

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Bunch of 12 year olds. :greengrin

11-05-2014, 02:11 PM
Bunch of 12 year olds. :greengrin

They grow them kids big these days in Leith. :agree:

LeithBoozy
11-05-2014, 03:01 PM
Who is the 12year old kid with the grey hair on the left I wonder???, Santa's laddie. :wink:

Long Time Hibee
11-05-2014, 03:29 PM
Longtimehibee:

You can't have been a hibee that long. I watched Mixu balloon a penalty over the bar against Hearts. All strikers miss sitters. Collins' had a tough start to the season, but I have confidence in his ability and hope that he can kick on next season. Billy McKay had a poorer start to his ICT career than Collins' has had at Hibs. Higdon only scored 4 goals in his first year at St. Mirren. Collins' record at Swindon indicated there is more to him than we have see thus far

I've supported Hibs since I was 6-7 and am now 53 so a LongTimeHibbee. I've watched Gordon, O'Rourke, Stein, Cropley etc etc all great Hibs players. I understand that some players take time to settle and I like Collin's workrate but we cant afford to miss chances like his one v THEM. We have scored 31 goals this season which is one of the main reasons of why we are where we are. (as well as some awful defending and a lack of creativity in the middle!) I coach my sons amateur team and our striker has scored 55 goals this season which has been one of the main reasons for us being 2nd in our league and in 2 cup finals so I know how important goals can be for team spirit and most of all confidence. We had a chance to buy Rooney and maybe he would have solved our goal scoring problem?

11-05-2014, 04:08 PM

A admin.

11-05-2014, 04:09 PM
I heard differently. I heard there was a few players were " in the town" last night. Went out for a meal together. then off out for a few non alcoholic drinks after. All teetotal. Not showing any disrespect to anyone IMO.

A few guys out for dinner. Not partying. Guys, who need to try and relax before they get psyched up again to face what will be the most important fixtures of some of their careers and of our club.? Good for them. The right thing to try and do.

I don't agree they are being disrespectful to anyone. I have no no problem with this. Your post is unfair and mischievous Johnny.

You heard wrong.

11-05-2014, 04:14 PM

For what.

11-05-2014, 04:25 PM
For what.

Wasting your time silver, I already asked him this, but got a condescending reply in return.....Think FR is actually a troll.....

11-05-2014, 05:28 PM
Getting rid of Fenlon was NOT a knee-jerk reaction. He was a terrible manager and nowhere near the quality that we should be expecting.

Just because Butcher has been worse for us, doesn't make Fenlons sacking unjustified.

The mistake was bringing in Butcher, NOT getting rid of Fenlon, who should have departed before the beginning of the season.

Quite right.