PDA

View Full Version : B League in England

LincolnshireHib
08-05-2014, 02:40 PM
Hi there,

I used to live in Edinburgh as a student and was a Hibs season ticket holder at the time. I am, by trade, a Grimsby Town fan and have recently been reading about the now confirmed proposals for a B team league from Championship and Premier League clubs someone between League 2 (a division above Grimsby's current beleaguered position in the Conference) and the Premier League.

This is a tragic shame for most fans from the bottom half of the Championship - i.e clubs like Yeovil, Barnesley who probably wouldn't be able to reach the Premiership or fund a B-team - who will be a further promotion away from a better league. It undermines the ardent support found at the lower echelons of the Football League and non-league too. Grimsby, to give a good example, recently lost their Conference play-off semi final to Gateshead. The 1st leg in Grimsby say a crowd of over 5,000, with 328 travelling from the North East. The second leg saw a crowd of 8,111 and 1547 Grimsby fans travelling from Lincolnshire. This is not an isolated example of phenomenal support at League 1,2, Conference or even lower in recent years.

There is already a loan system in place that Premier League clubs could use better. They aren't obliged to hoard you talent. Not eveyrbody follows a Premier League team and they've already held the Football League to ransom on the Elite Player Performance Plan. As fellow followers of Hibernian FC and general football fans, I implore to sign this petition and put your support behind fans across England who follow their local team, in the say way people from Leith and Edinburgh follow Hibs.

Cheers,

Tom

http://www.change.org/en-GB/petitions/the-football-association-say-no-to-b-teams#share

Nutmegged
08-05-2014, 02:45 PM
Germany are fasing out B teams just ad Englan devcode its a good idea

Pretty Boy
08-05-2014, 02:49 PM
Signed.

Michael
08-05-2014, 02:53 PM