View Full Version : Hibs match on the box?

08-05-2014, 01:35 PM
Notice that BT Sport are scheduled to show a game this Saturday lunchtime...can only assume it's going to be us against Killie as that's the only show in town...

08-05-2014, 01:37 PM
Notice that BT Sport are scheduled to show a game this Saturday lunchtime...can only assume it's going to be us against Killie as that's the only show in town...

I would imagine so :agree:

capi
08-05-2014, 02:02 PM
BT website is showing that a 'TBC' broadcast kicks off at 7.45!

patch1875
08-05-2014, 03:18 PM
Bollox not got bt sports

Might have to go ;-)

Smiggy 7-0
08-05-2014, 05:15 PM
F*** the telly get yerselves doon there. We all know how crap we have been, but it's backs to the wall time so stand up and be counted. TBGAWA.

Smiggy 7-0
08-05-2014, 05:55 PM
Should also have said, Really hope it's not on telly.

shezer
08-05-2014, 06:02 PM
Should also have said, Really hope it's not on telly.

Hmmmm. Not really ideal for those of us in another country.

08-05-2014, 09:26 PM
On BT Sport website

SCOTTISH PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE

Wednesday May 7: St Johnstone v Celtic - 7.45pm

Saturday May 10: TBC v TBC - 7.45pm

Sunday May 11: Aberdeen v Motherwell - 12.15pm

7:45pm!?

Do they not all have to be at the same time?

08-05-2014, 09:30 PM
On BT Sport website

That's wrong, they all kick off at 12:15pm.

08-05-2014, 09:31 PM
On BT Sport website

On the SPL site.

Sunday 11th May 2014
12:15AberdeenvMotherwell. BT Sports
12:15CelticvDundee United. Sky
12:15Inverness CTvSt Johnstone. BBC Alba

08-05-2014, 09:39 PM
It will be us. There's not any reason for it not to be us.

gorgie greens
08-05-2014, 10:13 PM
i checked the tv guide on sky and for bt sports on saturday it said live spl fixture no teams mentioned as yet

08-05-2014, 10:20 PM
I assumed it would be us but read a tweet last night saying it's the yams v st mirren.

hopefully ours isn't and people actually show up and get the team to achieve 3 points

08-05-2014, 10:27 PM
I assumed it would be us but read a tweet last night saying it's the yams v st mirren.

hopefully ours isn't and people actually show up and get the team to achieve 3 points
That tweets going to be wrong. No tv man in their right mind would show a dead rubber ahead of our playoff shootout match.

08-05-2014, 10:31 PM
That tweets going to be wrong. No tv man in their right mind would show a dead rubber ahead of our playoff shootout match.

That's what I thought..

its strange that our game or that game hasn't been announced yet.

08-05-2014, 10:43 PM
Going to be stuck in Dundee for the game so praying its on BT, dont think I could handle the tension of having to listen to it on the radio...

08-05-2014, 10:49 PM

Absolutely no danger that they'll show St Mirren v Hearts over our game.

The St Mirren game is meaningless and in our game, both teams have something to play for.

It will definitely be our game that's on the TV.

09-05-2014, 11:00 AM
As of yet, there's still no official confirmation that the match is being covered on live TV tomorrow. This is direct from the club, who will know later this afternoon from BT Sport what the decision is.

09-05-2014, 11:29 AM
Maybe everyone is keeping quite to enable as much tickets to be sold before they announce it?

Wish they would hurry as i am going to book a train if its not on... Not that I can afford the £80.00 but oh well!!!

HibsNibs
09-05-2014, 11:48 AM
Wouldn't they need to be setting up the gear by now if it was going to be on ?

09-05-2014, 11:56 AM
Can you imagine if they oved it to 19:45? :devil:

I know that won't happen though.

09-05-2014, 12:11 PM
Can you imagine if they oved it to 19:45? :devil:

I know that won't happen though.

Would suit me :agree:

09-05-2014, 02:09 PM
Any news?

hibbymac
09-05-2014, 02:14 PM
As of yet, there's still no official confirmation that the match is being covered on live TV tomorrow. This is direct from the club, who will know later this afternoon from BT Sport what the decision is.

The decision will be made by BT sports, it's a no brainer. Probably Hibs holding back releasing the details as they won't want to put people off buying a ticket, which is understandable. GGTTH

09-05-2014, 05:23 PM
Still no decision? Surely too late to decide now.

09-05-2014, 05:24 PM
I've tweeted BT Sport but no reply. Seems very strange they've left it this late.. even with the theory of Hibs not wanting to release it early because of tickets :confused:

09-05-2014, 05:30 PM
BT sport can't make their minds up which occasion will attract more viewers.

Could it be the relegation tussle between Hibernian v Kilmarnock or perhaps the enthralling annual welly wanging contest from Upperthong.?

Fact.

TB134
09-05-2014, 05:30 PM
No sign of TV vans or cables etc when I passed the south stand at 4.
Looks like we ain't the live match.

09-05-2014, 05:34 PM
I'll be selfish. Hope it's not us.
Want folk to go and support the team rather than watch and shout at the telly.

GlasgowHibee
09-05-2014, 05:37 PM
BT Are desperate for it to be on TV, as are the SPFL.

Rod's made the decision for it not to be so that it attracts more people to the game and thus generates more money.

And that's a fact.

09-05-2014, 05:38 PM
I've tweeted BT Sport but no reply. Seems very strange they've left it this late.. even with the theory of Hibs not wanting to release it early because of tickets :confused:

At the same time BT Sports wouldn't want to leave it until the last minute otherwise they could lose out on viewers. Seems a strange one.

Hope its not us.

09-05-2014, 05:38 PM

Rod's made the decision for it not to be so that it attracts more people to the game and thus generates more money.

And that's a fact.

I dont think he has that power?

09-05-2014, 05:40 PM

And that's a fact.

I heard Rod has instructed Butcher to throw the game in order to get extra revenue from the playoff. :bonkers:

09-05-2014, 05:57 PM
The Freeview electronic guide for tomorrow has been updated and no sign now of any spfl game at 11.45 on BT.

09-05-2014, 05:59 PM
I am going to predict there will be no live game tomorrow on bt.

Nutmegged
09-05-2014, 06:00 PM

And that's a fact.

Sorry mate thats absolute nonsense, Hibs don't have the power to refuse entry to BT Sports.

Hibs like every other club have a contractual obligation to accommodate BT/Sky for any chosen game.

09-05-2014, 06:02 PM
The Freeview electronic guide for tomorrow has been updated and no sign now of any spfl game at 11.45.Says on BT sports 1 there is live SPL football at 11.45 till 2.30 ..

dutchhibby
09-05-2014, 06:03 PM
f*** bt sports and radio
we need to turn up in numbers to get behind the team and get ER rocking

:flag::flag::flag::flag:

09-05-2014, 06:04 PM
I had set bt to record at 11.45am but it has now disappeared from my listings. Think no game will be shown now

09-05-2014, 06:04 PM
Getting ridiculous now. If they're not going to show it, just come out and say its not going to be shown. I dont believe for a second that at 19:04 the night before the game a decision hasnt been made as to if a game will be shown, and if so what one, really dont understand the delay

09-05-2014, 06:05 PM
I'm presuming this is an extra game for TV, as we've had our allocated games. So Hibs are well working their rights to demand top dollar, if BT want to show it

IFONLY
09-05-2014, 06:07 PM
Says on BT sports 1 there is live SPL football at 11.45 till 2.30 ..

Not on my listings.....,Barclays Premier League Preview followed by Football Outposts

09-05-2014, 06:10 PM
Not on my listings.....,Barclays Premier League Preview followed by Football OutpostsStill showing on my listings as live SPL football ..11.45 ..

09-05-2014, 06:12 PM
Says on BT sports 1 there is live SPL football at 11.45 till 2.30 ..

Not on my tv it doesn't. Are you looking on Sky or cable? I'm talking about the Freeview guide.

IFONLY
09-05-2014, 06:12 PM

And that's a fact.-

And you know that how?

09-05-2014, 06:13 PM
Not on my tv it doesn't. Are you looking on Sky or cable? I'm talking about the Freeview guide.Virgin tv listings mate ..:agree:

09-05-2014, 06:16 PM
Ah. Keep looking - they will update it eventually.

jst1875
09-05-2014, 06:17 PM
Not on my tv it doesn't. Are you looking on Sky or cable? I'm talking about the Freeview guide.

http://www.sport.bt.com/watch-now-01363810618853#!

09-05-2014, 06:17 PM
Ah. Keep looking - they will update it eventually.Its Virgin mate ..they will prob update it the morn at 11.44 ...:greengrin

09-05-2014, 06:21 PM
Nothing showing on the SPFL website either

09-05-2014, 06:25 PM
Helicopter Saturday. Camera crew, Alex McLeish, that ex Motherwell twat and co sitting somewhere in Lanarkshire waiting to hear if they've to head for Paisley or Edinburgh.

Slim Shady
09-05-2014, 06:56 PM

Richard Gordon has tweeted that the game isn't live.

09-05-2014, 06:56 PM
Strong rumours on Twitter it ain't gonna happen.

09-05-2014, 07:01 PM
Excellent.

09-05-2014, 07:02 PM
Richard Gordon has tweeted that the game isn't live.

It will be but only for them watching it at Easter Road.

Excellent news that it's not on the Gogglebox. Anyone who was thinking about staying at home or watching in the pub might just be tempted to go.

MoscowHibs
09-05-2014, 07:02 PM
Excellent.

bathhibby
09-05-2014, 07:04 PM
Excellent.

Great I live in Somerset TVM Rod - you Can't

09-05-2014, 07:04 PM
Richard Gordon also saying that the tv crew were denied access to the stadium to rig everything up. That's why it's not on.

jst1875
09-05-2014, 07:05 PM
Excellent.

i might be excellent for you, but what about others who cant make it due to work commitments etc

09-05-2014, 07:05 PM
What a tosser Petrie is. Absolute roaster.

09-05-2014, 07:06 PM
i might be excellent for you, but what about others who cant make it due to work commitments etc

Correct. Selfish people just want it their way. What a Mickey Mouse league that won't show the decider.

09-05-2014, 07:08 PM
Petrie obviously thinks that not having the game on TV will bring a better crowd which will create more money and give the team a better chance of winning

Jonny1875
09-05-2014, 07:09 PM
****ing joke if it's not on

09-05-2014, 07:09 PM
What a tosser Petrie is. Absolute roaster.

09-05-2014, 07:10 PM
@RichardGordon48: Re Hibs v Killie .. I'm told TV crew were outside Easter Road most of day, weren't allowed in to rig, eventually told it wasn't happening

09-05-2014, 07:11 PM
Petrie bends over backwards for crappy TV schedulers with ridiculous kick-off times. Selfish git.

Petrie tells broadcasters to p!ss off to try and eek out every bit of support for the team possible. Selfish git.

I think it will be shown however it will only be announced at the last minute to get as many fans into the game.

if you want to see the game then go, its easy just hand your dosh over and they will give you a ticket. tough for them that cant afford it but thats life.

Yuillsy
09-05-2014, 07:12 PM
****ing joke if it's not on

Totally agree. If it's not on why can't it be a 3pm kick off?
I'm missing the game tomorrow because I work till 2 on a Saturday. No need for any games to kick off at 12:15 if they're not on live!

09-05-2014, 07:13 PM
I think it will be shown however it will only be announced at the last minute to get as many fans into the game.

Can see the thinking behind this but pretty sure it will be shown live and announced at the last minute.

09-05-2014, 07:14 PM
Petrie obviously thinks that not having the game on TV will bring a better crowd which will create more money and give the team a better chance of winning

I didn't think Petrie or anyone could refuse to have their game televised.

TV have their pick of games.

09-05-2014, 07:14 PM
I never thought I'd ever type this, but, if the stories are to be believed I think he is quite right. I can understand people who live further afield being a bit hacked off though.

GlasgowHibee
09-05-2014, 07:15 PM
I didn't think Petrie or anyone could refuse to have their game televised.

TV have their pick of games.

Incorrect.

Hibs have had their contractual share of games this season, as a result, the club decides.

Greenblood70
09-05-2014, 07:16 PM
I can see Hibs being fined for this, if indeed the tweets of Richard Gordon are true. I also was under the impression they are contractually obliged to provide access when chosen as the live venue. I don't think showing the game live would have much of an effect on the attendance anyway. There will be around 11k imo regardless.

Be good to get some clarification from Hibs directly on what's gone on and nip the speculation in the bud. I won't hold my breath on that one tho!

09-05-2014, 07:17 PM
Petrie bends over backwards for crappy TV schedulers with ridiculous kick-off times. Selfish git.

Petrie tells broadcasters to p!ss off to try and eek out every bit of support for the team possible. Selfish git.

The guy can't win.

From a selfish point I'm delighted that we're not on live telly. The players have enough to contend with tomorrow without thinking that there are thousands of others at home shouting @&@& off you hopeless git and booing while shouting on the wife to get him another lager from the fridge.

09-05-2014, 07:17 PM
@RichardGordon48: Just had confirmation Hibs v Killie NOT live on TV. BT Sports wanted to cover, were there and ready to do so - but blocked by club it seems

Confirmed!!

Jonny1875
09-05-2014, 07:18 PM
Sky's planner has changed, no more Spl

superbam
09-05-2014, 07:19 PM
pretty shan way to treat overseas fans, not surprising though

GlasgowHibee
09-05-2014, 07:20 PM
pretty shan way to treat overseas fans, not surprising though

They'll be able to watch online via the official Hibs stream.

Incorrect.

Hibs have had their contractual share of games this season, as a result, the club decides.

Wasn't aware of that.

I take it the club have no say in the play off final should we happen to land there.

Gus Fring
I've been asking about regarding this and I've been told that BT Sport did not give Hibs (or any club) the required notice that they would be covering tomorrows game. There's a possibility none of the games will be on TV tomorrow as apparently the clubs have all spoken to each other and will all block access.

The club is not under any obligation to honour this match.

FWIW My opinion is if this was Sky it wouldn't have been a problem but BT Sport have a reputation for not being co-operative. Looks like it's coming back to bite them. It's nonsense all 3 games are early kickoffs when only one would be covered anyway.

09-05-2014, 07:23 PM

Aye, no such option for those of us who live in distant parts of the UK though. I understand them wanting to maximise the audience in the stadium but it's a poor show from the club.

09-05-2014, 07:24 PM
then they can't watch it anyway because they're working (unless they work at Curry's I suppose).

Jonny1875
09-05-2014, 07:25 PM

Why should we pay to watch it when I could have watched it on a channel I already pay for? I didn't get my money's worth in December or January when I was over watching.

bathhibby
09-05-2014, 07:25 PM
Total Pash

09-05-2014, 07:26 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/10/besy5yra.jpg
official response from the club twitter, stuck in Dundee for an exam on Monday so looks like I'll have to rely on the radio.. can understand the decision by the club, just frustrating!

09-05-2014, 07:28 PM
then they can't watch it anyway because they're working (unless they work at Curry's I suppose).

09-05-2014, 07:29 PM
Good, it's gonnae upset a few scattered fans but might encourage those close to ER to attend.

Greenblood70
09-05-2014, 07:30 PM
I've been asking about regarding this and I've been told that BT Sport did not give Hibs (or any club) the required notice that they would be covering tomorrows game. There's a possibility none of the games will be on TV tomorrow as apparently the clubs have all spoken to each other and will all block access.

The club is not under any obligation to honour this match.

FWIW My opinion is if this was Sky it wouldn't have been a problem but BT Sport have a reputation for not being co-operative. Looks like it's coming back to bite them. It's nonsense all 3 games are early kickoffs when only one would be covered anyway.

Cheers for that explanation, seems the clubs are playing a bit of a dangerous game, the league isn't exactly inundated with huge money sponsorships and patronage so to possibly piss off the guys at BT seems a bit short sighted fro a business perspective.

Having said that I've been quick enough to moan about games having changed kick off times so from a personal point of view it seems fair enough.

I still don't think we'll have heard the last of this tho if BT trucks did roll up to Easster Road and were not granted access. I wonder if they'll withhold any cash or not show Hibs games in future.

09-05-2014, 07:31 PM
Richard Gordon loves to whinge about Hibs. Hope you enjoyed being horsed out of the cup by us two years on the bounce Dick......since you can't watch Hibernian spend the time watching reruns of 1980s Aberdeen teams you twat.

jst1875
09-05-2014, 07:31 PM

wrong ..................... i for one finish at 12.15, based in the west side of the city, i cant get across the town in time but would only have missed the first 5 mins on the box

eggbamyasi
09-05-2014, 07:34 PM
Richard Gordon also saying that the tv crew were denied access to the stadium to rig everything up. That's why it's not on.

@RichardGordon48: Re Hibs v Killie .. I'm told TV crew were outside Easter Road most of day, weren't allowed in to rig, eventually told it wasn't happening

Find that pretty much bollocks . No way the crew would get sent there if bt weren't 100 % that game was on, would cost them an absolute mega bucks . also I done some games where turned up on the morning of game to rig . Fwiw I think bt would have offered hibs a reduced amount due last minute decisions etc and if rp declined I can understand why tbh . We want as many at game as poss .
COME ON HIBS JUST ******G WIN ONE GAME !!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

Gus Fring
09-05-2014, 07:35 PM
Cheers for that explanation, seems the clubs are playing a bit of a dangerous game, the league isn't exactly inundated with huge money sponsorships and patronage so to possibly piss off the guys at BT seems a bit short sighted fro a business perspective.

Having said that I've been quick enough to moan about games having changed kick off times so from a personal point of view it seems fair enough.

I still don't think we'll have heard the last of this tho if BT trucks did roll up to Easster Road and were not granted access. I wonder if they'll withhold any cash or not show Hibs games in future.

All the money from TV contracts is pooled at the start of the season and shared out to clubs. There is a minimum number of games that each clubs agrees to which is 4 and Hibs have already been on 6 times. BT Sport obviously thought they were able to just do what they wanted today and get away with it and Hibs have decided to stand up for themselves and not take their crap. TV kickoff times and coverage hurt the club financially.

BT Sport have had this coming for a while and I'm actually quite proud it was my club that took the stand against them. TV (and the armchair viewers as well) should work round the teams and the fans in the stadium, not the other way around.

09-05-2014, 07:36 PM
Thanks Rod Petrie again for yet another ridiculous decision.

I like many cannot make tomorrow due to stupid KO time (which we presume was driven by TV schedule) yet when it comes to it, Petrie locks the door. What a guy.

Biggest game in years (for the wrong reasons) and many will have to listen to the biased tossers on BBC Scotland aka fat biscuits Preston, blobby Robertson and chicko. Terrific.

So tell me why it's a 12.15 KO again Rod?

09-05-2014, 07:38 PM
Total bollocks. I'm working in Glasgow tomorrow. Could have wrangled it so I could have got away to make a 3 o'clock kick off. 12.45, no chance. To say I'm gutted is an understatement.

09-05-2014, 07:39 PM
All the money from TV contracts is pooled at the start of the season and shared out to clubs. There is a minimum number of games that each clubs agrees too and the last derby meant Hibs quota was used. BT Sport obviously thought they were able to just do what they wanted today and get away with it and Hibs have decided to stand up for themselves and not take their crap.

BT Sport have had this coming for a while and I'm actually quite proud it was my club that took the stand against them. TV (and the armchair viewers as well) should work round the teams and the fans in the stadium, not the other way around.

So why is it still a 12.15 KO if we had known we would resist? I would guess Rod failed in the negotiations.

09-05-2014, 07:40 PM
Pretty farcical to be honest. The clubs should have told TV to bolt earlier in the week and moved all games to 3pm.

As it is me and my son will miss as we have a kids game in West Lothian at 11. Nightmare.

semaj64
09-05-2014, 07:40 PM

I like many cannot make tomorrow due to stupid KO time (which we presume was driven by TV schedule) yet when it comes to it, Petrie locks the door. What a guy.

Biggest game in years (for the wrong reasons) and many will have to listen to the biased tossers on BBC Scotland aka fat biscuits Preston, blobby Robertson and chicko. Terrific.

All games are 12.15 not Rods fault this time. away not on tv now so will there be more pay at the gate

09-05-2014, 07:41 PM
To be fair if I was working tomorrow it would either be annual or sick leave.

Gus Fring
09-05-2014, 07:42 PM

Rod didn't make it a 12:15 KO Time, that was the SPFL and BT. Rod is ensuring the club is not adversely affect financially by BT's decision to show Hibs on TV for a 7th time this season.

Tomorrow's game is absolutely crucial and if it means only an extra 100 fans turn up because they can't watch it on TV then it was worth it. People watching at home are no use to the team tomorrow.

Pretty farcical to be honest. The clubs should have told TV to bolt earlier in the week and moved all games to 3pm.

As it is me and my son will miss as we have a kids game in West Lothian at 11. Nightmare.

Exactly and even if ours was 3pm, zero disadvantage to any other clubs given they are all safe. Raging. I bet we will be dancing to Rod's and TV Companies tune for any play off game. Ching Ching.

The decision will be made by BT sports, it's a no brainer. Probably Hibs holding back releasing the details as they won't want to put people off buying a ticket, which is understandable. GGTTH

Television is killing regular attendance at football.

Greenblood70
09-05-2014, 07:43 PM
All the money from TV contracts is pooled at the start of the season and shared out to clubs. There is a minimum number of games that each clubs agrees too and the last derby meant Hibs quota was used. BT Sport obviously thought they were able to just do what they wanted today and get away with it and Hibs have decided to stand up for themselves and not take their crap.

I wasn't talking this season, I'm talking about it maybe affecting future contracts. It's made BT look pretty amateurish leaving it so late to make a decision on which game they were showing. You'd have thought they'd have made their plan clear that they'd want to show the play off/ relegation decider weeks ago. All seems very strange to me.

I just hope it doesn't end up backfiring on us if BT decide to get the hump about it. We need every penny we can get.

09-05-2014, 07:44 PM
Rod didn't make it a 12:15 KO Time, that was the SPFL and BT. Rod is ensuring the club is not adversely affect financially by BT's decision to show Hibs on TV for a 7th time this season.

Tomorrow's game is absolutely crucial and if it means only an extra 100 fans turn up because they can't watch it on TV then it was worth it. People watching at home are no use to the team tomorrow.

So why not make earlier decision to move KO to 3pm therefore more fans? Most of those that can't make it (who normally go) is down to earlier KO which was driven by TV.

If they'd changed the kick off to 3pm folk would still be moaning about short notice etc etc.

Rod taking another hit. Gets wearisome.

09-05-2014, 07:45 PM
Totally agree. If it's not on why can't it be a 3pm kick off?
I'm missing the game tomorrow because I work till 2 on a Saturday. No need for any games to kick off at 12:15 if they're not on live!

No need for them to be on at 12:15 anyway. Should all be 15:00 tomorrow.

09-05-2014, 07:45 PM

09-05-2014, 07:46 PM
Think the SPFL broadcast deal only allows BT and Sky to cover a certain number of live games from each ground in one season, and the limit has already been reached at ER.

09-05-2014, 07:46 PM

I agree however as a season ticket holder I would quite like to have seen the game. While I can accept not making some early tv games it is a little puzzling I am missing a game at 1215 when no tv being shown. Farce.

09-05-2014, 07:47 PM
Rod taking another hit. Gets wearisome.

Why isnt he out explaining the decision then people may then understand it.

Yuillsy
09-05-2014, 07:47 PM
To be fair if I was working tomorrow it would either be annual or sick leave.

Tried the annual leave route, nobody available to cover for me. If I go sick now my boss will know exactly what's happening and I don't fancy being sacked!

09-05-2014, 07:49 PM
This is absolute crap to be honest. Not being able to obviously get there I was hoping it was on TV so I could get a decent stream of the game to watch on Hibs International but now it looks like I'll be not watching at all, or paying another tenner to watch a really crappy stream on Hibs Xtra.

Can't see why people going to the game would be bothered one way or another about this. Highly doubt in these circumstances it'd make a big difference to the crowd either.

All those who CANNOT go have been screwed over.

Why isnt he out explaining the decision then people may then understand it.Because he feels he disnae have tae explain himself tae the peons. :dunno:

Rod probably sent Maurice out to the camera crew to tell them to &£&£ off.

Be there or be disappointed.

09-05-2014, 07:50 PM

Less so than crap football and high ticket prices, IMO

09-05-2014, 07:50 PM
Because he feels he disnae have tae explain himself tae the peons. :dunno:

Obviously. Strange one to be honest.

wearethehibs
09-05-2014, 07:51 PM
Good at least we wont be embarrassed in front of more people than necessary.

09-05-2014, 07:51 PM
Hibs have had 7 home games on TV this season, more than any other club in the league.

3 of those games were with sky and 4 of those games were with BT, Which means that BT have shown more Hibs home games than any other team in the league

09-05-2014, 07:52 PM
Sub standard football is killing regular attendance at football.

Fixed. :aok:

09-05-2014, 07:53 PM
Less so than crap football and high ticket prices, IMO

Fair point. A bit of both mate.

09-05-2014, 07:54 PM
if you want to see the game then go, its easy just hand your dosh over and they will give you a ticket. tough for them that cant afford it but thats life.

Don't be a dick

09-05-2014, 07:54 PM
Happy with Rod on this occasion. Hopefully add a few hundred more to the gate at least.

09-05-2014, 07:56 PM

Think we need to be asking the SPFL and BT Sport why its at 12.15pm not the Tache. This is a time that allows TV to broadcast a game when all the bottom six matches have to be played at the same time. The same way as the top six will do on Sunday and the English Premiership will do as well. The reality therefore appears that someone at BT Sport who does the scheduling cant count and has picked too many games at Easter Rd - Not Hibs fault. Now if they are not showing any game now the SPFL have gaffed because the three games could and should have all been at 3pm - again not Hibs fault.

Fixed. :aok:

Fair enough. :greengrin

Gus Fring
Can we just make it abundantly clear to all of those people complaining that this match was never advertised as being on TV. It was never confirmed as being on TV. Up until a few hours ago nobody knew for sure what game was going to be broadcast.

If we had won on Tuesday there was a good chance the game wouldn't have been televised and BT would have looked to have shown another relegation decider.

BT want to exploit this clubs possible darkest moment for years to make money to line their own pockets. Hibs won't see an additional penny of that money. In fact, it would actually cost the club money as people will stay at home instead of supporting the team.

If you can make it tomorrow, get your asses to Easter Road, the club have reduced the prices and unless we show them that people are prepared to take up the offers they won't have any reason to do it again.

If you can't make it tomorrow, stop complaining, you haven't lost anything you were never going to see the game anyway. Take solace in the fact your club has stood up for itself and told the TV companies to bolt and not capitulated like so many others have done over the years.

09-05-2014, 07:57 PM
Well half peeved that I won't see it & half pleased with the stand the clubs taking on this...Hopefully encourages more to make it along :flag:

hibee
I don't see the team or the club benefiting in any way from this game being on tv, just adds more pressure.

Those who cant make it. Remember its on Hibs TV

09-05-2014, 08:00 PM
Can we just make it abundantly clear to all of those people complaining that this match was never advertised as being on TV. It was never confirmed as being on TV. Up until a few hours ago nobody knew for sure what game was going to be broadcast.

If we had won on Tuesday there was a good chance the game wouldn't have been televised and BT would have looked to have shown another relegation decider.

BT want to exploit this clubs possible darkest moment for years to make money to line their own pockets. Hibs won't see an additional penny of that money. In fact, it would actually cost the club money as people will stay at home instead of supporting the team.

If you can make it tomorrow, get your asses to Easter Road, the club have reduced the prices and unless we show them that people are prepared to take up the offers they won't have any reason to do it again.

If you can't make it tomorrow, stop complaining, you haven't lost anything you were never going to see the game anyway. Take solace in the fact your club has stood up for itself and told the TV companies to bolt and not capitulated like so many others have done over the years.

So you don't believe BT Sport would have contacted Hibs and given the right price Rod would have given ok?

I don't see the team or the club benefiting in any way from this game being on tv, just adds more pressure.

:agree: Exactly. Think the club want the players focused on the game and the media and TV cameras might just make them freeze.

Some will disagree with that and it was a fair conclusion to jump to that ot WOULD be on TV. But spot on.

We've been moaning about the media revelling in our misery anyway. Sod giving them and watching Jambos the chance for a grand pish ripping.

09-05-2014, 08:01 PM

Eh we were going to see it because clearly BT Sports were going to show it until we refused!

Yes if we'd won in Tuesday and been safe it wouldn't have been on but then I wouldn't have been too fussed to watch it anyway would I?

It makes perfect sense to me that TV would wait for the most meaningful match and that was impossible to know until Tuesday night at the earliest.

Exploitation?! FFS, have a word. They just wanted the most important match, end of.

09-05-2014, 08:02 PM
This thread has turned in to a platform for folks to have a pop at Rod and nobody has the faintest idea what has happened.

09-05-2014, 08:02 PM
:agree: Exactly. Think the club want the players focused on the game and the media and TV cameras might just make them freeze.

I've heard it all now.

Gus Fring
09-05-2014, 08:03 PM
So you don't believe BT Sport would have contacted Hibs and given the right price Rod would have given ok?

No because that's not how the system works. Hibs don't get an extra penny, we get the same amount and we've already had it.

As it stands BT Sport didn't contact Rod. They just rocked up at the stadium this afternoon expecting to get free reign to rig up their equipment and broadcast the game. They didn't have the courtesy to check with the club first.

BT Sport are the ones in the wrong here, not Hibs.

This thread has turned in to a platform for folks to have a pop at Rod and nobody has the faintest idea what has happened.

I think we've got a 'faint idea' - BT Sport wanted to show the game, Hibs said no. That's it.

:top marks- excellent summary of the position.

09-05-2014, 08:04 PM

Well said, I agree

Amit
09-05-2014, 08:07 PM

Well said.

Weir7
09-05-2014, 08:08 PM
So why is it still a 12.15 KO if we had known we would resist? I would guess Rod failed in the negotiations.

I want rod sacked but not his fault.

Doncaster put these fixtures at 12:15 for TV. They should know what's in the contract and took the necessary action.

Delighted game not on TV. Just pity this shambles wasn't sortred earlier so game could have been at 3pm

09-05-2014, 08:11 PM
Good decision, even though it means I won't see the game now. About time the TV companies where put in their place.

Gus Fring
09-05-2014, 08:11 PM
Eh we were going to see it because clearly BT Sports were going to show it until we refused!

Yes if we'd won in Tuesday and been safe it wouldn't have been on but then I wouldn't have been too fussed to watch it anyway would I?

It makes perfect sense to me that TV would wait for the most meaningful match and that was impossible to know until Tuesday night at the earliest.

Exploitation?! FFS, have a word. They just wanted the most important match, end of.

BT Sport didn't tell anyone they were going to show it. Including Hibs. It's been clear since Wednesday they way the matches were going to play out but BT didn't confirm with anyone. They just turned up. BT Sport need to realise they don't run the league and they certainly don't run Hibernian!

09-05-2014, 08:13 PM
Well I find it very difficult to believe they just turned up and Hibs had zero knowledge of this.

These KO times were there for a reason, and we all know what that reason is. Hibs just pretending they had no idea.

Piss poor.

09-05-2014, 08:15 PM

And quite right too. There's not been that much to take pride in this season but well done Hibs on this one.

GlasgowHibee
09-05-2014, 08:16 PM
BT Have had the game penned in since Wednesday night, I find it hard to believe that they turned up unexpectedly without warning.

09-05-2014, 08:17 PM
This is causing quite a stir on sickback. They are also adamant we are going into admin????? :confused:

We should also be hammered by the sfa points deduction etc all the usual pish from that lot.

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/140084-Hibs-bin-TV

Weir7
09-05-2014, 08:18 PM
And quite right too. There's not been that much to take pride in this season but well done Hibs on this one.

Correct. About time club flexed its muscles.

Gus Fring
09-05-2014, 08:19 PM
Well I find it very difficult to believe they just turned up and Hibs had zero knowledge of this.

These KO times were there for a reason, and we all know what that reason is. Hibs just pretending they had no idea.

Piss poor.

My info comes from BT Sport. Not Hibernian. The contractual minimum is 4 the contractual maximum is 6. BT Sport wanted to show a SEVENTH game at Easter Road this season. The club is well within their rights to refuse entry.

You take BT's side though, a company that's been shafting the public for the last 50 years. I'm going to take Hibs side because thats my club!

I've heard it all now.

We'll stick around because I might think of something crazier later.

Who knows the reason? Nobody yet just guesses and accusations.

This is causing quite a stir on sickback. They are also adamant we are going into admin????? :confused:

We should also be hammered by the sfa points deduction etc all the usual pish from that lot.

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/140084-Hibs-bin-TV

Why bother going on to that cesspit and paying any heed to what those ****ers say. I wouldn't even give them the free publicity of a link.

Piss poor.

Why? It sounds like Hibs are technically within their rights. More bodies in the ground, better atmosphere for a vital match and more dosh for the club. I don't see what's piss poor about that, even though it means I'll miss out on seeing the game.

09-05-2014, 08:21 PM
Rod probably sent Maurice out to the camera crew to tell them to &£&£ off.

Be there or be disappointed.

“@p_mcpartlin: .@BTSportSPFL saying they won't be showing the Hibs v Kilmarnock match as they've been unable to get approval from SPFL and Hibs.”

Looks like it's not all down to Hibs, shock!

If the facts as stated in this thread are correct then I entirely agree with everything in this post - couldn't have put it better myself.

09-05-2014, 08:22 PM
“@p_mcpartlin: .@BTSportSPFL saying they won't be showing the Hibs v Kilmarnock match as they've been unable to get approval from SPFL and Hibs.”

Hopefully more folk will come along?

09-05-2014, 08:22 PM

Piss poor.

Thread after thread on here over the years complaining about the clubs not standing up to the TV companies and when OUR club does just that you describe it as piss poor. They really can't win can they?

09-05-2014, 08:24 PM
Twitters kinda fun just now. Amazing how little Scottish fitba journalists know about the TV deal with BT. Gordon Weddell seems to be the one who does.

09-05-2014, 08:24 PM

good point :agree:

09-05-2014, 08:25 PM
Why bother going on to that cesspit and paying any heed to what those ****ers say. I wouldn't even give them the free publicity of a link.

If you're not happy then delete it but other posters may in be interested even if you're not.

09-05-2014, 08:25 PM
Don't be a dick

so your a dick if you pay and go and see the club you love, okay ill remember that in the future.

09-05-2014, 08:26 PM

Just shows Hibs are capable of making good decisions. Must have consulted with Leanne :cb

Really good call by Hibs !

09-05-2014, 08:26 PM
so your a dick if you pay and go and see the club you love, okay ill remember that in the future.

No you're dick if you think it's that simple to see the game.

09-05-2014, 08:27 PM
Excellent decision from Hibs, solely leaves the outcome in the players / fans hands. more of this please & we may well have a product to sell ;-)

09-05-2014, 08:28 PM
Good at least we wont be embarrassed in front of more people than necessary.

and another good point :greengrin

09-05-2014, 08:29 PM

Pack it in lads. The eve of our biggest league game in years. We don't need this nonsense.

09-05-2014, 08:29 PM
Thread after thread on here over the years complaining about the clubs not standing up to the TV companies and when OUR club does just that you describe it as piss poor. They really can't win can they?

Exactly.

If Hibs have told them to bolt, and they are within their rights to do it, then this is an excellent move and the club should be applauded. You don't support your club by turning on the ****ing tv.

09-05-2014, 08:30 PM
Why? It sounds like Hibs are technically within their rights. More bodies in the ground, better atmosphere for a vital match and more dosh for the club. I don't see what's piss poor about that, even though it means I'll miss out on seeing the game.

There is absolutely no evidence that this will increase the crowd. Not one person on this thread who couldn't go but wanted to watch on TV is now going.

This is already reflecting badly on Hibs, regardless of who is truly to blame.

09-05-2014, 08:31 PM

well it is simple you pay the money and you watch the game, its no my fault your at the other side off the world, so less o the dick crap buddy.

09-05-2014, 08:32 PM
Exactly.

If Hibs have told them to bolt, and they are within their rights to do it, then this is an excellent move and the club should be applauded. You don't support your club by turning on the ****ing tv.

If in Edinburgh, correct.

For fans elsewhere, your point is incorrect.

northgreen24
My info comes from BT Sport. Not Hibernian. The contractual minimum is 4 the contractual maximum is 6. BT Sport wanted to show a SEVENTH game at Easter Road this season. The club is well within their rights to refuse entry.

You take BT's side though, a company that's been shafting the public for the last 50 years. I'm going to take Hibs side because thats my club!

cheers for all the info very interesting, it's funny that no matter what Hibs do Rod and co get it in the neck.

I am going tomorrow and would actually rather there was never a TV deal anyway, ok there will be people whole can't make it for various reasons but if this gets more through the door then fine by me

Let's try and keep it civil. I know we are all on edge but no need for the insults.

09-05-2014, 08:33 PM
well it is simple you pay the money and you watch the game, its no my fault your at the other side off the world, so less o the dick crap buddy.

But it's not that simple is it?

sbell1875
09-05-2014, 08:33 PM
Whilst the game not being live on tv will mean a number of fans, regular and non-regular attenders, from seeing the game there is no doubt in my opinion that more people will now go as a result.

The big question is this:

Who is more important to a football club? The fans who regularly support their team in the stand and financially or those who consistently sit at home and watch on tv?

No brainer in my opinion.

09-05-2014, 08:34 PM

So how do you know this info?

Specifically about BT turning up unannounced.

09-05-2014, 08:35 PM
Whilst the game not being live on tv will mean a number of fans, regular and non-regular attenders, from seeing the game there is no doubt in my opinion that more people will now go as a result.

Who is more important to a football club? The fans who regularly support their team in the stand and financially or those who consistently sit at home and watch on tv?

Those who regularly go will be there regardless.

sbell1875
09-05-2014, 08:36 PM

100% this. Possibly the best post I have ever seen on a football related thread.

09-05-2014, 08:37 PM
Exactly.

Well when I'm up in the middle of the night watching games on Hibs website it sure does feel like I'm supporting them, but you'll know better.

There is absolutely no evidence that this will increase the crowd. Not one person on this thread who couldn't go but wanted to watch on TV is now going.

This is already reflecting badly on Hibs, regardless of who is truly to blame.

Just because nobody on here has said they're going now because it's not on tv doesn't mean there won't be people who decide to go tomorrow because of this decision. As you said earlier as an overseas supporter your option is to pay a tenner for a stream or miss the game. Folk in edinburgh and the surrounding area who can make it can pay £15 or miss the game. Likely to boost the attendance imo. FWIW I sympathise with your position as I lived in NZ for 18 months and crappy streams in the middle of the night can be very frustrating. Plus with winter coming too... :greengrin

Excellent decision from Hibs, solely leaves the outcome in the players / fans hands. more of this please & we may well have a product to sell ;-)

Totally agree. It is a master stroke by Hibs. This horrendous journey that Hibs have been on, we been on our own. All we've seen if sniping, gloating and s******ing by the media at our demise. Very few have empathised with our dilemma . Quite the opposite, they have openly supported and sympathised with crooks, tax dodgers and charity thieves.

The fact that they won't be able to gloat and revel at our final collapse live on TV is a big fat two fingers right up to the media establishment :thumbsup: They deserve nothing less.

Only Hibs fans know the journey we've be on. Everyone else is an ignorant voyeur :flag:

09-05-2014, 08:38 PM
I have to admit the clash with the Eurovision Song Contest would have left me with a real dilemma. :greengrin

09-05-2014, 08:38 PM

Sounds to me like you're more interested in what's good for you than what's good for the club. You sound more like a customer than a supporter. Correct me if i'm wrong.

09-05-2014, 08:39 PM

I've not made many games this season as i'm at uni in Dundee and work security at a nightclub so wouldnt be able to get back from Edinburgh to start work in time so often have to rely on TV etc. for Hibs games. Are you saying im not as important a fan as someone who lives beside ER and can go more often than me?

Gus Fring
09-05-2014, 08:39 PM

My info comes from BT Sport. It states as much in the first line of the post you just quoted. I work in the media and I'm friends with people who work at both BT and Sky.

Can I ask how you intended to watch the match anyway? Is BT Sport available in New Zealand?

09-05-2014, 08:40 PM
Just because nobody on here has said they're going now because it's not on tv doesn't mean there won't be people who decide to go tomorrow because of this decision. As you said earlier as an overseas supporter your option is to pay a tenner for a stream or miss the game. Folk in edinburgh and the surrounding area who can make it can pay £15 or miss the game. Likely to boost the attendance imo. FWIW I sympathise with your position as I lived in NZ for 18 months and crappy streams in the middle of the night can be very frustrating. Plus with winter coming too... :greengrin

Well there's the option IF it's on Xtra, not even sure if it is. And as you say, it's pretty poor!

I know just because nobody here has said they're now going that it doesn't mean nobody will, but it's a sample of the support and IMO it gives an idea that there is unlikely to be this massive rush of fans now changing their minds and going! I believe at this point most who are going will have decided already, TV or no TV!

09-05-2014, 08:41 PM

My cousin is going who would have been lying in bed watching the game on telly.

Well when I'm up in the middle of the night watching games on Hibs website it sure does feel like I'm supporting them, but you'll know better.

I think the point is that you watching tv/a computer screen doesn't have any tangible benefit to the team or club, while any extra bodies who are encouraged through the turnstiles tomorrow do.

My info comes from BT Sport. It states as much in the first line of the post you just quoted. I work in the media and I'm friends with people who work at both BT and Sky.

Can I ask how you intended to watch the match anyway? Is BT Sport available in New Zealand?

Hibs International take the streams from whatever company is showing it and you get the TV quality stream with commentary etc.

09-05-2014, 08:42 PM
I think the point is that you watching tv/a computer screen doesn't have any tangible benefit to the team or club, while any extra bodies who are encouraged through the turnstiles tomorrow do.

Even though I'm paying?

09-05-2014, 08:42 PM
My cousin is going who would have been lying in bed watching the game on telly.

Damn him spoiling my point! Delete your post!

wearethehibs
09-05-2014, 08:43 PM
Safe to say I have a new least favourite poster on this site. Clueless has been taken over by Steve-o haha

09-05-2014, 08:44 PM
Even though I'm paying?

And this sums up the modern football fan. It's not all about ****ing money.

Sounds to me like you're more interested in what's good for you than what's good for the club. You sound more like a customer than a supporter. Correct me if i'm wrong.

You're wrong. I've spent many many thousands on Hibs over the years so do not start me with that crap.

sbell1875
I've not made many games this season as i'm at uni in Dundee and work security at a nightclub so wouldnt be able to get back from Edinburgh to start work in time so often have to rely on TV etc. for Hibs games. Are you saying im not as important a fan as someone who lives beside ER and can go more often than me?

Don't take this in the wrong way but someone in the stands cheering the team is better than someone not there.

I'm not in any way trying to insult you or question your support for the club but having went 3 seasons without a season ticket following uni my main reason behind getting a season ticket again was to do more to support my club.

As you explain above your reasons for not going and watching on tv are entirely justified so from that aspect I would say you're still an important supporter.

09-05-2014, 08:45 PM
And this sums up the modern football fan. It's not all about ****ing money.

Eh? I was told there was no tangible benefit to the club watching online. So income to Hibs is not a tangible benefit???

kj79

In no way having a dig or saying you don't care but afraid I'd say to say yes you are not as important as someone who attends more games. Fans are fine but SUPPORTERS are what the club needs who are people who put money into the club.

Hope this drags at least another 1-2k out of pubs and house tomorrow so no complaints from me. :flag::flag:

You're wrong. I've spent many many thousands on Hibs over the years so do not start me with that crap.

Don't take it personally. My opinion, and others that are posting similar comments aimed at you on here, is based purely on what you're posting.

09-05-2014, 08:46 PM
Safe to say I have a new least favourite poster on this site. Clueless has been taken over by Steve-o haha

Good on you mate.

Moody D
Short term good decision - dubious. Damaging to the future of Hibs and Scottish football indubitably. Petrie has well and truly lost it. Why piss off the company that is ploughing millions into football to challenge Sky? In Rod we trust - you are having a laugh

Not sure whether that's tongue in cheek but regardless of the fact that I disagree with him on this the guy clearly still loves the hibees and wants to see the game. I know from experience how hard it is to be on the other side of the world when you'd love to be at easter road.

Don't take it personally. My opinion, and others that are posting similar comments aimed at you on here, is based purely on what you're posting.

How dare I be upset that I can't watch this very important game. Terrible fan I am.

Edit - supporter! Before that gets picked up on :wink:

09-05-2014, 08:47 PM
I am in Spain what's.my options now then?

Sent from my C2105 using Tapatalk

09-05-2014, 08:48 PM
No to modern football. Well done Hibernian.

Early morning flight.

Couple of guys I know are now going rather than watching in the pub. Just goes to show how tv has ruined football by cutting gates.

09-05-2014, 08:49 PM
Short term good decision - dubious. Damaging to the future of Hibs and Scottish football indubitably. Petrie has well and truly lost it. Why piss off the company that is ploughing millions into football to challenge Sky? In Rod we trust - you are having a laugh

I concur. Whether WE (well, not me!) think this is a good decision or not, Hibs are again being portrayed pretty badly over this.

kj79

OVer 14 hours to kick off still, Flight is only 3-4 hours. Seems simple to me (sat in Edinburgh 5 mins away from Easter Rd)

How dare I be upset that I can't watch this very important game. Terrible fan I am.

This game not being on the tv means more fans will get off their arse and go to the ground, giving the club a bigger vocal backing, support from the stands and yes, more money in ticket sales. Those things slightly outweigh one disgruntled punter on the other side of the world that cant watch it on the box. Do you not see that?

Gus Fring
09-05-2014, 08:50 PM

You can't get BT Sport in Spain legally anyway so you should be unaffected.

If you want a legal route, you can watch the game on Hibernian TV.

09-05-2014, 08:50 PM
Damn him spoiling my point! Delete your post!

He's trying to get me to drive up from Wiltshire.

It's just not happening.

09-05-2014, 08:51 PM
I concur. Whether WE (well, not me!) think this is a good decision or not, Hibs are again being portrayed pretty badly over this.

Don't think so I think Hibs come out it well by standing up to tv companies and doing what is best for the club. You do seem rather blinkered on this Steve. Whilst I sympathise that you can't make it I do think the right decision has been made.

09-05-2014, 08:53 PM

Piss poor.

Well obviously they did turn up with Hibs having no knowledge of their appearance, because if Hibs had had discussions with them on the telephone then BT Sport would have been told to "bolt!" Hibs are contracted to appear in a pre determined amount of games. We have honoured our part of the contract. Why should a television company benefit when we don't ?

You are right the KO times are for a reason i.e. live television. If BT want to televise a game then why not show Partick V Ross County

09-05-2014, 08:53 PM

YEEESSSS! Another one!

09-05-2014, 08:54 PM
This game not being on the tv means more fans will get off their arse and go to the ground, giving the club a bigger vocal backing, support from the stands and yes, more money in ticket sales. Those things slightly outweigh one disgruntled punter on the other side of the world that cant watch it on the box. Do you not see that?

I doubt very much I'm the ONE disgruntled supporter, there are others on this very thread.

Yes I see your point however I think it's being exaggerated in terms if numbers who will now go that weren't before, and the difference it will make to the team, who are scared of their own shadows, never mind a big crowd!

If it's now a sell out and the team are roared to victory by 20,000, then that's great but I'm unsure it will play out that way.

The bigger issue for me is these people who were prepared to sit in a pub round the corner instead of going. What kind of supporters are they???

09-05-2014, 08:55 PM
I think Petrie poisoned my cat because it is sick and spewed on my laptop now I can't watch the illegal stream so will gave to actually go to a game. Truly dreadful decision making from Hibs and this could affect the face of football as we know it.

09-05-2014, 08:55 PM
Don't think so I think Hibs come out it well by standing up to tv companies and doing what is best for the club. You do seem rather blinkered on this Steve. Whilst I sympathise that you can't make it I do think the right decision has been made.

You have a look on Twitter / media etc and tell me if you think Hibs are coming out of this well. It's 50/50 at best.

09-05-2014, 08:57 PM
You have a look on Twitter / media etc and tell me if you think Hibs are coming out of this well. It's 50/50 at best.

Supporters of other clubs and the media don't particularly care for Hibs. Oh no.

09-05-2014, 08:58 PM
Supporters of other clubs and the media don't particularly care for Hibs. Oh no.

Not good being a hated team. Might put players off coming here. Along with the wages on offer of course...

09-05-2014, 08:59 PM

In fairness, alot of the people putting Hibs down because of it appear to be unaware of the terms of the BT agreement with the SPFL regarding games being shown etc.

I'm frustrated that I wont be able to watch the game tomorrow but I completely understand and support the decision made by the club :agree:

Unfortunately the answer to your question would be Yes. The club survives by people attending football games and paying admission money not by fans watching on TV

...WentToMowAnSPL
All the money from TV contracts is pooled at the start of the season and shared out to clubs. There is a minimum number of games that each clubs agrees to which is 4 and Hibs have already been on 6 times. BT Sport obviously thought they were able to just do what they wanted today and get away with it and Hibs have decided to stand up for themselves and not take their crap. TV kickoff times and coverage hurt the club financially.

I'm pleased... Coming down from Aberdeen tomorrow **** Off BT Sports... Get to the game

09-05-2014, 09:00 PM
STV and other media picking up the story which will really piss them off.

IMHO it is one of the very few decisions Hibs have made this season that I'm proud of. Well done. To those who think this will just piss the press off at Hibs, where have you been ? The football media cannot hide their detest for Hibs and revel at our continual failure. Showing the game tomorrow was just another Hibs-laughathion. A gloat fest for all the Yam-loving, Sevco-bitter journos and punters to stick the boot in.

Win or lose tomorrow, we owe the Scottish media NOTHING. Now, let's get right into them !

Stopped worrying about what the media say about Hibs some time ago. They don't have a good thing to say about us anyway. Ironic that the media are criticising us for blocking the media going to Easter Road

Unfortunately the answer to your question would be Yes. The club survives by people attending football games and paying admission money not by fans watching on TV

So teams like Man Utd, Barca, Chelsea etc. are all kept afloat by the folk that come through their gates every other saturday?

09-05-2014, 09:01 PM
Disappointed about it but agree with the decision. Well done Tache. Radio and internet for me. Could just about make it but the car is being a bit funny.

09-05-2014, 09:01 PM
Stv saying Hibs told BT Sport yesterday of their decision.

Gus Fring
09-05-2014, 09:03 PM
I doubt very much I'm the ONE disgruntled supporter, there are others on this very thread.

Yes I see your point however I think it's being exaggerated in terms if numbers who will now go that weren't before, and the difference it will make to the team, who are scared of their own shadows, never mind a big crowd!

If it's now a sell out and the team are roared to victory by 20,000, then that's great but I'm unsure it will play out that way.

The bigger issue for me is these people who were prepared to sit in a pub round the corner instead of going. What kind of supporters are they???

If 1 extra person turns up because it's not on TV then that's £15 extra in the clubs pocket. That's a win. A lot of people (including you) are ignoring the fact the SPFL have said no as well.

As for your point about how Hibs are coming out of this on Twitter? Who the **** cares? We've not exactly been media darlings the last few months why should we bend over and take it from them any more?

If you want to watch the game then watch it on Hibs TV. If you're only complaint is that your club has stopped you watching an illegal stream instead then sorry, you don't have a valid point.

09-05-2014, 09:03 PM

Not completely true.

09-05-2014, 09:04 PM

For me this move is spot on
we dictate who covers OUR game. & when. I only wish we could do this outwith the goldfish bowl & flag bear a 3pm Sat only KO.
It used to be good/bad letting folk know the score on the bridges bus stop en route home..
Good days.

We are Hibees
We are Hibees from Easter Road
We are Hibees, super Hibees

No one likes us, no one likes us,
No one likes us, we don't care,

If 1 extra person turns up because it's not on TV then that's £15 extra in the clubs pocket. That's a win. A lot of people (including you) are ignoring the fact the SPFL have said no as well.

As for your point about how Hibs are coming out of this on Twitter? Who the **** cares? We've not exactly been media darlings the last few months why should we bend over and take it from them any more?

If you want to watch the game then watch it on Hibs TV. If you're only complaint is that your club has stopped you watching an illegal stream instead then sorry, you don't have a valid point.

Why didn't you read my response to your question about how I intended to watch the game instead of accusing me re: illegal streams.

09-05-2014, 09:05 PM
So TV companies should run football and Twitter is a good indicator of a sensible opinion......Unbelievable.

09-05-2014, 09:05 PM
Our late (great) chairman, Mr Tom Hart warned that TV would ruin football in Scotland. That was 40 years ago and he was right then and he is right now.

09-05-2014, 09:06 PM
So TV companies should run football and Twitter is a good indicator of a sensible opinion......Unbelievable.

TV companies do run football.

09-05-2014, 09:06 PM
The tache stole the Nigerian girls...the tache started the unrest in the Ukraine!!! The world is going to be invaded by aliens, it's all the Tache's fault!!!

Well done Hibs, why should we accomodate the armchair fan if we have already fulfilled our contractural obligation...TV may plough money into our game but it's also partly responsible for the poorly attended crowds due to the stupid KO in turn less revenue for clubs hence cheaper players!!!

Imagine a game when all games kick off at 3pm, shock horror!!

Gus Fring
09-05-2014, 09:07 PM
Why didn't you read my response to your question about how I intended to watch the game instead of accusing me re: illegal streams.

I used the word IF several times. You can still watch the game, it's on Hibs TV. You still don't have a valid complaint. If you keep digging yourself a hole at this rate you'll dig right through and end up back in leith in time for the match tomorrow anyway

Our late (great) chairman, Mr Tom Hart warned that TV would ruin football in Scotland. That was 40 years ago and he was right then and he is right now.:agree:

Hope Hibs show the same balls on the pitch as off it tomorrow.

TV companies do run football.

This is a good thing? Anyway, they don't seem very good at it since Hibs told them to bolt.

09-05-2014, 09:08 PM
Well this escalated quickly.

Gus Fring
09-05-2014, 09:08 PM
Hibernian was founded in 1875.

Broadcast TV wasn't invented until 1930

09-05-2014, 09:09 PM
Well this escalated quickly.

Haha, a lot of infiltrators me thinks, intent on causing trouble and unrest

09-05-2014, 09:11 PM
I used the word IF several times. You can still watch the game, it's on Hibs TV. You still don't have a valid complaint. If you keep digging yourself a hole at this rate you'll dig right through and end up back in leith in time for the match tomorrow anyway

But I have already answered your question about where I intended to watch it so there was no need for "if you were planning to watch an illegal stream" because I never was?

Is it confirmed on Hibs TV? The issue with that is reliability and quality of picture. But if that's it, so be it. It is not a great way to watch the game let me tell you.

09-05-2014, 09:12 PM

I understand that Quinn's has lost over 50 covers for lunch tomorrow.

Hitting the UK economy this TV malarkey...but it has at least saved 50 scallops.

So teams like Man Utd, Barca, Chelsea etc. are all kept afloat by the folk that come through their gates every other saturday?

We are not Man Utd, Barca, Chelsea etc . They get at least a 100 times the TV money that we get each season. A fairer comparison would be teams like Aberdeen, Dundee Utd and Hearts who ARE kept afloat by punters through the gate

This is a good thing? Anyway, they don't seem very good at it since Hibs told them to bolt.

I didn't say that, but without the TV money we'd probably be screwed, rightly or wrongly.

That's a poor comparison because the TV money is off the scale on England.

Steve-O is just annoyed he can't watch the game and can't handle the conflict between his personal situation and basic logic on who and what Hibernians priorities should be. He is therefore coming out with ridiculous "reasons" as to why this decision will lead to the apocalypse.

09-05-2014, 09:13 PM
We are not Man Utd, Barca, Chelsea etc . They get at least a 100 times the TV money that we get each season. A fairer comparison would be teams like Aberdeen, Dundee Utd and Hearts who ARE kept afloat by punters through the gate

Who is keeping the smaller teams that get <5000 a week through the door?

09-05-2014, 09:14 PM
Steve-O is just annoyed he can't watch the game and can't handle the conflict between his personal situation and basic logic on who and what Hibernians priorities should be. He is therefore coming out with ridiculous "reasons" as to why this decision will lead to the apocalypse.

God Petrie is exaggerating what I am saying.