View Full Version : Hibs match on the box?

Pages : 1 [2]

09-05-2014, 09:14 PM
I didn't say that, but without the TV money we'd probably be screwed, rightly or wrongly.

As Bajillions pointed out, hibernian survived for 55 years without television.

Gus Fring
09-05-2014, 09:15 PM
But I have already answered your question about where I intended to watch it so there was no need for "if you were planning to watch an illegal stream" because I never was?

Is it confirmed on Hibs TV? The issue with that is reliability and quality of picture. But if that's it, so be it. It is not a great way to watch the game let me tell you.

Yes it's confirmed as being on Hibs TV. In fact as far as I know Hibs TV stream video from every home game and commentary from every game home and away? (I live in the UK so can't comment on if games are missed or what the stream is like)

This TV news will add 1500-2000 to the gate tomorrow. just watch.

Pleasing :greengrin

As Bajillions pointed out, hibernian survived for 55 years without television.

Yes, the years 1875-1930 are extremely relevant now.

09-05-2014, 09:17 PM
Yes it's confirmed as being on Hibs TV. In fact as far as I know Hibs TV stream video from every home game and commentary from every game home and away? (I live in the UK so can't comment on if games are missed or what the stream is like)

Hibs International is good because as I say, they use streams direct from TV pictures.

Hibs TV that does every game use one camera and it's usually a very questionable stream which I've been frustrated by many times in the past to the point it's hardly worth bothering. Sounds like I might have to try again tonight.

Mcpakeisgod
09-05-2014, 09:18 PM
Unfortunately I won't make the football as im working till 1 . I would have caught the 2nd half on tv but I think people have to put aside there selfishness and accept that with more fans and atmosphere generated at the game , the encouragement has more chance of transferring on to the pitch .

I'll be quite happy to listen on the radio!
Cmon hibs!!

09-05-2014, 09:18 PM
Yes, the years 1875-1930 are extremely relevant now.

Hey we managed to win two Scottish Cups without TV................now we know the secret!!

09-05-2014, 09:22 PM
According to some people, there are only 600 tickets left in the Hibs end!

That definitely makes this decision more annoying...:greengrin

09-05-2014, 09:25 PM
Years and years we've been dictated to by ***** tele deals and we've all moaned about the clubs not standing up to the tele companies, Hibs finally tell BT to get themselves to **** and still you've got folk moaning. The club cannae do right for doing wrong.

I feel a bit shan for far-flung Hibees and those working/ looking after their bairns etc but if it gets more bodies through the turnstiles I'm all for it.

09-05-2014, 09:25 PM
According to some people, there are only 600 tickets left in the Hibs end!

That definitely makes this decision more annoying...:greengrin

Missing a 0 from your post.

Seriously, if that was the case it would be all over the fishy site and official twitter and Facebook. Guess what? It isn't. Someone's pulling someone's pisser.

09-05-2014, 09:26 PM
Years and years we've been dictated to by ***** tele deals and we've all moaned about the clubs not standing up to the tele companies, Hibs finally tell BT to get themselves to **** and still you've got folk moaning. The club cannae do right for doing wrong.

I feel a bit shan for far-flung Hibees and those working/ looking after their bairns etc but if it gets more bodies through the turnstiles I'm all for it.

Totally agree :top marks

09-05-2014, 09:27 PM

09-05-2014, 09:28 PM

Seriously, if that was the case it would be all over the fishy site and official twitter and Facebook. Guess what? It isn't. Someone's pulling someone's pisser.

Seems to be the e-ticketing site suggesting these numbers?

09-05-2014, 09:29 PM

I do feel sorry for those who genuinely can't make it, my Grandad being one, but on the whole I agree with the decision.

09-05-2014, 09:30 PM
Genuinely amazed at the backlash at Hibs' decision. A TV company is looking for a freebie.If they want the game let them pay for it.:aok:

09-05-2014, 09:32 PM

Its people doing a "dot" count. I would guess that there are still about 4000 available in our end and at least 2500 in the Killie end. If we get over 15000 then that would be a pretty decent crowd given the KO time and how poor we have been all season

09-05-2014, 09:32 PM
That's a poor comparison because the TV money is off the scale on England.

Correct - if ever there was a statistic to kill football it's the £84m parachute payment from last years EPL as opposed to the £83m Man U collected for winning it in 2012/2013 that is truly an afront to all things football & surely should be a benchmark to what's wrong with the game.

09-05-2014, 09:33 PM
Genuinely amazed at the backlash at Hibs' decision. A TV company is looking for a freebie.If they want the game let them pay for it.:aok:

Spot on Mr Y

09-05-2014, 09:35 PM
Well done Hibs.

09-05-2014, 09:38 PM
Who is keeping the smaller teams that get <5000 a week through the door?

Their fans, television money is miniscule in this country. Hibs got £900000 for finishing 7th last season, that was tv money, sponsorship deals etc

09-05-2014, 09:41 PM
Their fans, television money is miniscule in this country. Hibs got £900000 for finishing 7th last season, that was tv money, sponsorship deals etc

And where would we be without that £900k though?

I know the TV money is not great by any stretch, but unfortunately it's still needed!

09-05-2014, 09:44 PM
The TV companies throw their loose change at us and we scramble after it like bairns at a pour-oot. Lets scrap live football in Scotland as its chicken feed the pay us. Lets have 2 years of no live games in this country with all Sat. games with a 3pm k o. If the product is good most fans will, after a few weeks, get up off their backsides and get along to the game.

09-05-2014, 09:45 PM
[QUOTE=eddiethedog; Hibs got £900000 for finishing 7th last season, that was tv money, sponsorship deals etc[/QUOTE]

Not sure I agree with that.

09-05-2014, 09:46 PM

Is that you Tom English?

09-05-2014, 09:53 PM
The TV companies throw their loose change at us and we scramble after it like bairns at a pour-oot. Lets scrap live football in Scotland as its chicken feed the pay us. Lets have 2 years of no live games in this country with all Sat. games with a 3pm k o. If the product is good most fans will, after a few weeks, get up off their backsides and get along to the game.

What if the product is bad?

Gus Fring
09-05-2014, 09:54 PM
Who is keeping the smaller teams that get <5000 a week through the door?

I know the TV money is not great by any stretch, but unfortunately it's still needed!

You're still scratching around to justify you not taking your clubs side on this. Football Clubs wouldn't cease to exist if the TV coverage went away, they would just have less money to spend and if TV went away everybody would be affected in the same way. There's no SPFL sponsor this year, the league still exists.

Hibs weren't getting any extra money for this game. It would have actually cost them money to have the game on TV. I said earlier, even if only one extra punter buys a ticket tomorrow that wasn't going to bother then it's still £15 the club wouldn't have gotten if it was on TV.

If the point you are trying to make is that we should let the smaller of the 2 TV companies rule the roost because they give us money then that's nonsense.

I'll give you a great example of how messed up the TV deal is, there's only been 2 games broadcast from Rugby Park this season and 6 from Easter Road. That means Killie got the same amount of money to spend on players as we did but our attendances (and kick off times) were affected 3 times as many as theirs did.

09-05-2014, 09:55 PM
Correct - if ever there was a statistic to kill football it's the £84m parachute payment from last years EPL as opposed to the £83m Man U collected for winning it in 2012/2013 that is truly an afront to all things football & surely should be a benchmark to what's wrong with the game.

That's 12/13 - the 13/14 figures are even more. Its becoming obscene. What do they do with all this money. Give it to overpaid players. £1Billion TV deals and £50-£100 match tickets. That's not football for real supporters. Only a few of them get the German model where with huge TV deals should come affordable match tickets. Germans got a new TV deal and the team that finished bottom of the league gets more TV money than all the SPFL Clubs put together. Its the same in the English Premiership. You can't compete with that, the rich will get richer and the poor will be left to fight for the scraps.......That's Scottish Football unfortunately!! That's why I cancelled SKY Sports, didn't subscribe to BT sport and put my "football money" into watching my club.

09-05-2014, 09:56 PM
Well done Hibs. To everyone taking a pop at Petrie and the board ( who can't do anything right these days it seems) .... have a read at this excellent post :

Originally Posted by Bajillions:
Can we just make it abundantly clear to all of those people complaining that this match was never advertised as being on TV. It was never confirmed as being on TV. Up until a few hours ago nobody knew for sure what game was going to be broadcast.

If we had won on Tuesday there was a good chance the game wouldn't have been televised and BT would have looked to have shown another relegation decider.

BT want to exploit this clubs possible darkest moment for years to make money to line their own pockets. Hibs won't see an additional penny of that money. In fact, it would actually cost the club money as people will stay at home instead of supporting the team.

If you can make it tomorrow, get your asses to Easter Road, the club have reduced the prices and unless we show them that people are prepared to take up the offers they won't have any reason to do it again.

If you can't make it tomorrow, stop complaining, you haven't lost anything you were never going to see the game anyway. Take solace in the fact your club has stood up for itself and told the TV companies to bolt and not capitulated like so many others have done over the years.

Amit
09-05-2014, 10:02 PM
Well done Hibs. We would have lost out financially on two fronts. If it was screened then some people would have watched the game on tv instead of attending. Plus no cash from the broadcaster for the additional game being screened which is out with the contractual obligations.

09-05-2014, 10:05 PM

I'd be happier if, worldwide, we went back to the tv deals of 25-30 years ago. In general, player budgets were more or less in proportion to the number of punters that clubs got through the turnstiles. OK, there'd be less money about but a lot of players are being paid far too much in any case. The impact would be negligible for most SPL teams, especially given that it'd be easier to hold on to decent players instead of them bogging off to the English 2nd tier to quadruple their wages.

09-05-2014, 10:09 PM
Full marks to Hibs for saying they'd rather have fans in the ground supporting the team than TV cameras.

I can understand the frustrations of those who can't make the game, but step back from your personal situation and consider what is best for our club tomorrow. It's cash at the turnstiles and fans in the stands.

Gus
09-05-2014, 10:11 PM
I was going but unforeseen circumstances means I can't, but I would of been able to watch it on the telly, so personally I'm gutted but such is life.

I just hope if there is a bigger attendance then it is a stadium filled (as much as poss) with supporters and not one of vile hatred if not going our way. I would prefer those fans to have watched it on BT.

MON THE HIBS

09-05-2014, 10:11 PM
[QUOTE=Bajillions;4003554]Hibs weren't getting any extra money for this game. It would have actually cost them money to have the game on TV. I said earlier, even if only one extra punter buys a ticket tomorrow that wasn't going to bother then it's still £15 the club wouldn't have gotten if it was on TV.
QUOTE]
Could not agree more. I complained to the Club about the last Aberdeen match moving to the Monday night. Told them they had to do something about this because it meant that kids were being excluded. That they had to make a stand. I actually got a call back from the Club agreeing with me! Guy said that the Aberdeen match moving had cost them thousands in lost gate money. Home support was well down and Aberdeen Support was about 50-60% what they would have expected if it had been 3pm on the Saturday. Got the impression they were as frustrated about this as I was. One thing he said was the inconsistency in the times when the matches were being moved. If there was a fixed TV slot people would at least know when the TV games was going to be, as opposed to Fri night, Sat lunchtime, Sun lunchtime or Mon night - came off the phone agreeing with him and forgot I was the one who had been complaining!!

09-05-2014, 10:12 PM
That's 12/13 - the 13/14 figures are even more. Its becoming obscene. What do they do with all this money. Give it to overpaid players. £1Billion TV deals and £50-£100 match tickets. That's not football for real supporters. Only a few of them get the German model where with huge TV deals should come affordable match tickets. Germans got a new TV deal and the team that finished bottom of the league gets more TV money than all the SPFL Clubs put together. Its the same in the English Premiership. You can't compete with that, the rich will get richer and the poor will be left to fight for the scraps.......That's Scottish Football unfortunately!! That's why I cancelled SKY Sports, didn't subscribe to BT sport and put my "football money" into watching my club.

In this day & age when players are commanding £300k a wk (Jesus) that's just wrong.
Cancer drugs to needy patients at £90k per treatment being rejected on a postcode lottery.
Bring back Saint & Greaves

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=nqwxJzpHBAg
Can someone sort link please ;-)

09-05-2014, 10:12 PM
Right, hibs are probably right to tell by to do one. However I am in Spain, can't get back and really want to see the game. I am a season book holder and if I could I would be at ST tomorrow

So my question is if I sign up for hibs tv international, can I as I live in uk or can anyone subscribe and then it just lets you view if ip address is abroad?

Anyone experienced watching hibs tv on a pub WiFi, will it be watchable?

Understand hibs reasoning but FFS!

Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk

09-05-2014, 10:13 PM
Look at the crowds for most tv games. Down on sat 3pm games. We only need to attract about 2000 extra every week to make up the money "lost" to the TV companies. Get an improved product on the park and we can do this. Most of the money went to the bigot brothers anyway so stuff them and stuff TV.

09-05-2014, 10:15 PM
Right, hibs are probably right to tell by to do one. However I am in Spain, can't get back and really want to see the game. I am a season book holder and if I could I would be at ST tomorrow

So my question is if I sign up for hibs tv international, can I as I live in uk or can anyone subscribe and then it just lets you view if ip address is abroad?

Pm me

09-05-2014, 10:16 PM
Could not agree more. I complained to the Club about the last Aberdeen match moving to the Monday night. Told them they had to do something about this because it meant that kids were being excluded. That they had to make a stand. I actually got a call back from the Club agreeing with me! Guy said that the Aberdeen match moving had cost them thousands in lost gate money. Home support was well down and Aberdeen Support was about 50-60% what they would have expected if it had been 3pm on the Saturday. Got the impression they were as frustrated about this as I was. One thing he said was the inconsistency in the times when the matches were being moved. If there was a fixed TV slot people would at least know when the TV games was going to be, as opposed to Fri night, Sat lunchtime, Sun lunchtime or Mon night - came off the phone agreeing with him and forgot I was the one who had been complaining!!

I've made that same point before - how difficult is it to insist on set times for the TV games and sufficient notice for the fans when the SPFL is negotiating the contract? Do Sky or BT really need the flexibility to have a game kick off at 12:15, 12:30 or 12:45 rather than a standard 12:15?

09-05-2014, 10:19 PM
I'm going tae take the clubs side here but I think they should have said something, that they were doing it and why. Personally I'm all for sticking it up TV companies, IMO TV has ruined fitba with it's silly money, was far better before.

09-05-2014, 10:22 PM
Pm me

Got a secret way of viewing the game? PM me.

09-05-2014, 10:24 PM

I'll throw my hat into that ring too. PM me :greengrin

Virginia Hibs
09-05-2014, 10:26 PM
I am led to believe that neither the SPFL or BT realised that Hibs had been live 6 times already (contractual commitment) When they eventually contacted Hibs they admitted that it was their error, Hibs then told them tae bolt. BT have not been in touch with Hibs. Inconvenience for all clubs as all 3 games could have been at 3pm, generating income with potentially bigger crowds.

09-05-2014, 10:29 PM
Huge arrogance from BT Sport - somehow couldn't see them trying that at Old Trafford or the Emirates. Well done Hibs

09-05-2014, 10:31 PM
Why bother going on to that cesspit and paying any heed to what those ****ers say. I wouldn't even give them the free publicity of a link.

Some flump on there claiming that the decision is worse than anything Vlad ever did.

Anyone seen their moral compass lately?

09-05-2014, 10:31 PM
As someone VERY close to this situation, but I don't work for Hibs ...if you get my drift? ...... Bajillions is pretty much bang on with what he's been saying.

GGTTH!

09-05-2014, 10:32 PM

No secret mate, paid my dues , seems I'm in Lanzarote :)

09-05-2014, 10:35 PM
Totally agree. It is a master stroke by Hibs. This horrendous journey that Hibs have been on, we been on our own. All we've seen if sniping, gloating and s******ing by the media at our demise. Very few have empathised with our dilemma . Quite the opposite, they have openly supported and sympathised with crooks, tax dodgers and charity thieves.

The fact that they won't be able to gloat and revel at our final collapse live on TV is a big fat two fingers right up to the media establishment :thumbsup: They deserve nothing less.

Only Hibs fans know the journey we've be on. Everyone else is an ignorant voyeur :flag:

Totally agree with all this. Up thum.

09-05-2014, 10:38 PM
BT Sport and Sky need Scottish football to fill their schedules as much as the clubs need it to advertise and promote themselves and the SPFL.

Hibs were right to tell them to bolt. If they'd offered more cash then fair enough. It will add more to the crowd tomorrow

09-05-2014, 10:39 PM
Hibs are again being portrayed pretty badly over this.

Who cares, they do that anyway.

09-05-2014, 10:40 PM

If you have a laptop, you can buy the game for a tenner on Hibs Xtra. You will be e-mailed a password to watch the video stream. There's an e-mail add on there if you have any probs. Hope you sort something out.

I'll be waking up early to tune in. Feeling really nervous. Good luck to everyone going to the game tomorrow and fingers crossed something finally goes our way.

09-05-2014, 10:42 PM
So teams like Man Utd, Barca, Chelsea etc. are all kept afloat by the folk that come through their gates every other saturday?

You have noticed that those clubs play in Leagues which have rather better deals than the spiffle, yes?

09-05-2014, 10:42 PM
If you want to watch the game then watch it on Hibs TV. If you're only complaint is that your club has stopped you watching an illegal stream instead then sorry, you don't have a valid point.

You obviously dont know the difference between Hibs TV international and Hibs TV XTRA

Correct me if im wrong, but have you watched either?

Hibs TV International (which you need to pay to access), takes streams from BT Sports/Alba etc, and streams them through the Hibs offcial site. This shows all replys etc

Previous experience show that this stream is usually very stable, with pretty decent resolution etc

Hibs TV Xtra (in which you pay 10GBP per game), which is also an official source shows every home game.

This is done using one camera mounted in the West, with no replys etc

Previous experice shows this stream to be quite unreliable, with often terible resolution (example, I couldnt see where the ball was whole 1st half against Partick).

That still cost me 10 quid btw, no refund offered.

I wholly sympathise with overseas viewers

09-05-2014, 10:44 PM
You have noticed that those clubs play in Leagues which have rather better deals than the spiffle, yes?

Yes, but they also take into account the needs of their millions of fans worldwide who cant make their games. Granted it was an extreme example, but the notion that its only the fans that go through the turnstiles on a Saturday that keep a club afloat is just not true.

bandylegs_jLeighton
09-05-2014, 10:45 PM
Well done Hibs. Right decision all things considered IMO.

Hibby
09-05-2014, 10:53 PM
Yes, but they also take into account the needs of their millions of fans worldwide who cant make their games. Granted it was an extreme example, but the notion that its only the fans that go through the turnstiles on a Saturday that keep a club afloat is just not true.

Totally with you on that one bud!!

Gus Fring
09-05-2014, 10:55 PM
You obviously dont know the difference between Hibs TV international and Hibs TV XTRA

As i said earlier I haven't ever watched it is I'm based in the UK so its not available to me.

09-05-2014, 10:55 PM

In the case of Scottish football, if there was no deal to show games in Scotland and every game was at 3pm on a Saturday crowds would increase, the game here would improve and subsequently increase crowds even more.

Don't have a problem with games being shown abroad.

09-05-2014, 11:00 PM
In the case of Scottish football, if there was no deal to show games in Scotland and every game was at 3pm on a Saturday crowds would increase, the game here would improve and subsequently increase crowds even more.

Don't have a problem with games being shown abroad.

And in an ideal situation that would be that would be the case, but the days in which TV didnt have a control over football like it does today are gone, and I doubt theyll ever return. But you could also argue that there might be a number of fans who genuinely cant get to games for whatever reason such as living overseas etc. would we be risking losing their loyalty and support if they can never watch the team play because they're never on TV? Part of the reason teams like Man Utd, Barca etc, have such big followings is because of television.

Gus Fring
09-05-2014, 11:03 PM
You are a tosser! Not first time I have thought it either.
Have a thought about folk that can't make it for good reason.
I have just bought a load of kit from club shop for wee ones. (money to Hibs??)
This was for a load of youngsters dyin to see the game tomoz. Hopefully, with their jelly and ice cream.
Possible future Hbees!!
Wind yer neck in!!

Thanks for that.

Im happy you've bought stuff from the club. Well done.

You've missed the point I was making though. This match was never supposed to be broadcast. It was never advertised. BT Sport tried to get a freebie out of YOUR club and the club said no as it would hurt them.

Nobody has lost anything as the game was never confirmed in the first place. If you made plans based on a hunch I'd appreciate it if you didn't abuse me for it when I'm just trying to defend the club for making the right decision.

09-05-2014, 11:07 PM
And in an ideal situation that would be that would be the case, but the days in which TV didnt have a control over football like it does today are gone, and I doubt theyll ever return. But you could also argue that there might be a number of fans who genuinely cant get to games for whatever reason such as living overseas etc. would we be risking losing their loyalty and support if they can never watch the team play because they're never on TV? Part of the reason teams like Man Utd, Barca etc, have such big followings is because of television.

As I said I wouldn't have a problem with the games being sold abroad. Any comparisons with Man Utd, Barca etc simply don't wash as there is zero in common with their leagues and the spiffle.

You're right though, it'll probably never happen but I reckon the games in Scotland would improve a great deal if it took 5 years away from being broadcast live in Scotland. Given the standard at the moment no-one watches a game live on the telly and thinks "I might go along to the next game", in fact I'm sure plenty are put off.

09-05-2014, 11:08 PM
Thanks for that.

Im happy you've bought stuff from the club. Well done.

You've missed the point I was making though. This match was never supposed to be broadcast. It was never advertised. BT Sport tried to get a freebie out of YOUR club and the club said no as it would hurt them.

Nobody has lost anything as the game was never confirmed in the first place. If you made plans based on a hunch I'd appreciate it if you didn't abuse me for it when I'm just trying to defend the club for making the right decision.

A bit over the top saying the guy has a hunch, mate.

Gus Fring
09-05-2014, 11:12 PM
A bit over the top saying the guy has a hunch, mate.

09-05-2014, 11:18 PM
As I said I wouldn't have a problem with the games being sold abroad. Any comparisons with Man Utd, Barca etc simply don't wash as there is zero in common with their leagues and the spiffle.

You're right though, it'll probably never happen but I reckon the games in Scotland would improve a great deal if it took 5 years away from being broadcast live in Scotland. Given the standard at the moment no-one watches a game live on the telly and thinks "I might go along to the next game", in fact I'm sure plenty are put off.

Thats something we can agree on at least :greengrin clubs are too happy to take the guaranteed pay day of a TV deal rather than take the risk of increased crowds however, shame.

09-05-2014, 11:22 PM
No additional payment = Bolt

It wasn't even a decision.

09-05-2014, 11:27 PM
Feel sorry for fans that won't see the game for whatever reason. But Rod and the SPFL have made the right decision. BT signed the TV deal and knew that they could only televise 6 games from any ground. They ****ed up and want Hibs to bend. If BT or any TV company want a new contract which gives them more games from ER than they have to pay. The EPL clubs pick up a minimum £30m we pick up around. £600k for finishing 10/11 in our league.
For me the right decision has been made

09-05-2014, 11:32 PM
There's a huge smell of yam on the board this evening. Can I just remind you all you've cheated tax payers in many countries out of vital public services by your major success of "shedding debt" as if it were dog poo on your shoes........

On topic. While I have some sympathy for those abroad - and it's likely they will be catered for - those in the UK seem to think live tv is a right rather than a privilege. I'm sure there will be live football on the telly. They will have fulfilled their part of the bargain. The 12.15 KO times across the board are because TV companies are barred from showing live matches at 3:00 and knowing a result in advance may disadvantage one team - so all games are played at the same time. 7:00 on a Sunday night would get the same sort of reaction of folks who can't see the game for one reason or another.

The fact that there is an actual play off is the stuff TV wet dreams are made of - the fact they cannot count is their mistake not ours. If I was Rod I would keep this dark too since there's no advantage in broadcasting the game.

Feel sorry for fans that won't see the game for whatever reason. But Rod and the SPFL have made the right decision. BT signed the TV deal and knew that they could only televise 6 games from and ground. They ****ed up and want Hibs to bend. If BT or any TV company want a new contract which gives them more games from ER than they have to pay. The EPL clubs pick up a minimum £30m we pick up around. £600k for finishing 10/11 in our league.
For me the right decision has been made

This... Big time

Hibby

I haven't been through thread and struggle anyway.

However, please accept my apologies for calling you a tosser.

I said it on public forum, so will apologise on one.

I disagreed with you, (again!) Still do. .......

But.... Anyway My apologies.

Hibby

davhibby
09-05-2014, 11:49 PM
Really happy with the decision. Maybe it will make BT realise if they didn't pay bottom end rates then they wouldn't have missed out on possibly their highest viewed game of the season

Makaveli
09-05-2014, 11:59 PM
I have real sympathy for folk who aren't physically able to go to games and those who are abroad but IMO Hibs have made the right call.

It's been amateur hour from BT all along with the "tbc" match selection and some listings even showing the kick-off as 19.45. They had days to sort it and couldn't. Showing up at Easter Road with their rigs on Friday knowing we had said no on Thursday is just crass.

We might look stubborn to some but BT look unprofessional and Doncaster et al have once again been shown up as woefully out of their depths. How can it come to this, that the broadcasting contract doesn't cover such eventualities? I suppose the same way a top-flight league can go a year without attracting a sponsor.

10-05-2014, 12:13 AM
I never thought I'd ever type this, but, if the stories are to be believed I think he is quite right. I can understand people who live further afield being a bit hacked off though.

It means we have to watch the crappy hiberniantv/xtra stream but if it gets the stadium packed with singing Hibs fans, I'll be happy with that.:flag::flag:

Gus
10-05-2014, 12:27 AM
Actually I'm with BT now I've had time to think about it. Hibs were contractually tied in for 6 football matches, I don't think we have played football on 6 different occasions so we have not fulfilled our end.

BT in Rod out

10-05-2014, 01:31 AM
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/hibernian/274737-hibernian-refuse-to-allow-tv-coverage-of-crucial-kilmarnock-match/

The club are well within their right to do this in my opinion and it's about time we start being nasty *******s and not pushovers. Starting from the top.

:flag::flag:

Jdawg
10-05-2014, 02:31 AM
BT obviously didn't expect a knock back. They would obviously have known that the exceeded their quota for genes at are this season.

Unknown whether they perhaps offered a one of fee but they didn't then did them. If it's a one of fee then say £50k to hibs and £30k to killie.

If they really wanted to show it then stump up the case.

Separately, can't sleep due to nerves

10-05-2014, 04:43 AM
I like £50M. Wouldn't share TV money with Killie though.

Pacing up and down here. :) GGTTH

Crossgates Hibs
10-05-2014, 04:58 AM
Really happy with the decision. Maybe it will make BT realise if they didn't pay bottom end rates then they wouldn't have missed out on possibly their highest viewed game of the season

Exactly I'm sure if they offered Hibs and Killie a million each they would be welcome to film. It's about supply and demand they want extra then pay for it.

10-05-2014, 05:00 AM
I like £50M. Wouldn't share TV money with Killie though.

Pacing up and down here. :) GGTTH

Delighted that I not the only member of the wide awake club. Hibs must be taking years of my life :hibees

10-05-2014, 05:09 AM
Delighted that I not the only member of the wide awake club. Hibs must be taking years of my life :hibees

I haven't slept properly since Tuesday night. It's only a game though.:greengrin

10-05-2014, 05:22 AM
I haven't slept properly since Tuesday night. It's only a game though.:greengrin

It is only a game but it's mental how it effects all our life's

10-05-2014, 06:50 AM
I am on my way to work. I'm peed off, not because the game isn't on tv but because of the kick off time. Had it been 3 o'clock I could have made it as it is, I can't. The reason for the early kick off was because one of the games was going to be on tv and now none are so I've missed out for nothing. I get its not the clubs fault but I'm peed off none the less :(

Weir7
10-05-2014, 07:11 AM
I have real sympathy for folk who aren't physically able to go to games and those who are abroad but IMO Hibs have made the right call.

It's been amateur hour from BT all along with the "tbc" match selection and some listings even showing the kick-off as 19.45. They had days to sort it and couldn't. Showing up at Easter Road with their rigs on Friday knowing we had said no on Thursday is just crass.

We might look stubborn to some but BT look unprofessional and Doncaster et al have once again been shown up as woefully out of their depths. How can it come to this, that the broadcasting contract doesn't cover such eventualities? I suppose the same way a top-flight league can go a year without attracting a sponsor.

Spot on re Doncaster. How he's still in a job after the hun debacle sums up Scottish fitba

10-05-2014, 07:15 AM
Rod didn't make it a 12:15 KO Time, that was the SPFL and BT. Rod is ensuring the club is not adversely affect financially by BT's decision to show Hibs on TV for a 7th time this season.

Tomorrow's game is absolutely crucial and if it means only an extra 100 fans turn up because they can't watch it on TV then it was worth it. People watching at home are no use to the team tomorrow.

Exactly. Well done Hibs for saying no to TV. I just wish we could do that more often. I've missed loads of games this season because of the ridiculous kick off times designed to suit TV.

10-05-2014, 07:29 AM
It is only a game but it's mental how it effects all our life's

Oh shut up you tart!

10-05-2014, 07:37 AM
But if I was in Edinburgh and even if I had BT I would still go to the game.

Several points which I am sure have been made.

1. A crucial game for Hibs and we need all the support at the game we can get.

2. Also, if it is correct that Hibs have fulfilled their quota and no additional money is paid to Hibs for this game (Seems unrealistic but has been said on this thread) then it is a lose-lose for Hibs. Less money at the gate and less fans to cheer the team on.

3. As much as we might not like it, Hibs and any other club are not run for overseas fans or fans who 'can't make it' because they have moved away from the Edinburgh area. Hibs need as many bodies through the turnstiles as possible.

That said.....I don't understand why games cannot be shown on tv if 1. There is a local area blackout and 2. Teams get additional money. Works well in other countries.

There is something wrong with the whole tv and indeed even radio contract with the Scottish League in Scotland. There has obviously been a deal been done not too long ago to prevent overseas listeners from listening to the games online and then it was extended to Open All Mics. Why on earth would they do that? Could the tv stations have prompted it hoping if fans around the world we re prevented from listening to the games for free they might subscribe to their tv channel?

But come on Hibbies....if you can make it get along to Easter Road to shout the boys on !

All the above are only my opinions.....they just happen to be correct :wink:

The Baldmans Comb
10-05-2014, 07:49 AM
Anything that gives Hibs an edge today is all that matters.

Banning TV boosts crowds and even the fools who run our club realise that and in this case they are completly correct in their decision.

Weir7
10-05-2014, 07:53 AM
But if I was in Edinburgh and even if I had BT I would still go to the game.

Several points which I am sure have been made.

1. A crucial game for Hibs and we need all the support at the game we can get.

2. Also, if it is correct that Hibs have fulfilled their quota and no additional money is paid to Hibs for this game (Seems unrealistic but has been said on this thread) then it is a lose-lose for Hibs. Less money at the gate and less fans to cheer the team on.

3. As much as we might not like it, Hibs and any other club are not run for overseas fans or fans who 'can't make it' because they have moved away from the Edinburgh area. Hibs need as many bodies through the turnstiles as possible.

That said.....I don't understand why games cannot be shown on tv if 1. There is a local area blackout and 2. Teams get additional money. Works well in other countries.

There is something wrong with the whole tv and indeed even radio contract with the Scottish League in Scotland. There has obviously been a deal been done not too long ago to prevent overseas listeners from listening to the games online and then it was extended to Open All Mics. Why on earth would they do that? Could the tv stations have prompted it hoping if fans around the world we re prevented from listening to the games for free they might subscribe to their tv channel?

But come on Hibbies....if you can make it get along to Easter Road to shout the boys on !

All the above are only my opinions.....they just happen to be correct :wink:

Teams get no money for being on tv. Money goes to SPFL. Helps pay prize money based on league position.

10-05-2014, 07:55 AM
We could all learn from Dutch football.

All clubs own the TV channel, so all money goes back to the clubs. Every game is available PPV.

So those who want to stay in their pit can, those who live abroad can watch and those who fancy the game live can go.

After all that, attendances are up.

WellingtonHibby
10-05-2014, 08:03 AM
anyone had any joy buying the game off Hibs TV? the page keeps getting stuck at the transfer to paypal stage...?:confused:

hibeesjoe
10-05-2014, 08:07 AM
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/hibernian/274737-hibernian-refuse-to-allow-tv-coverage-of-crucial-kilmarnock-match/

The club are well within their right to do this in my opinion and it's about time we start being nasty *******s and not pushovers. Starting from the top.

:flag::flag:

Quite right. I likes Hibs stand here. It would just cost hibs money in lost revenue as it looked like BT wouldn't have to pay any additional money for it.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

10-05-2014, 08:17 AM
Well done Petrie, correct decision.

hongkonghibee
10-05-2014, 08:20 AM
anyone had any joy buying the game off Hibs TV? the page keeps getting stuck at the transfer to paypal stage...?:confused:

Are you trying to buy the match from this page? http://www.hiberniantv.co.uk/xtra If so, maybe try it on different browser other than Internet Explorer as I know the live streaming wont work using that browser. Just an idea?

Piersquared
10-05-2014, 08:22 AM
Are you trying to buy the match from this page? http://www.hiberniantv.co.uk/xtra If so, maybe try it on different browser other than Internet Explorer as I know the live streaming wont work using that browser. Just an idea?

Is it actually the whole match or only audio commentary? How much does it cost?

ginger_eejit
10-05-2014, 08:24 AM

Hibs TV International (which you need to pay to access), takes streams from BT Sports/Alba etc, and streams them through the Hibs offcial site. This shows all replys etc

Previous experience show that this stream is usually very stable, with pretty decent resolution etc

Hibs TV Xtra (in which you pay 10GBP per game), which is also an official source shows every home game.

This is done using one camera mounted in the West, with no replys etc

Previous experice shows this stream to be quite unreliable, with often terible resolution (example, I couldnt see where the ball was whole 1st half against Partick).

That still cost me 10 quid btw, no refund offered.

I wholly sympathise with overseas viewers

So even if you've got a Hibs TV International subscription, you have to pay an additional ten quid for Hibs TV Xtra to watch a single cam footage from the West Stand?

Nutmegged
10-05-2014, 08:25 AM
I owe GlasgowHibby a major apology....he called it and I rather embarassed myself....sorry bud, heres hoping we get the result today

Beers are on me

10-05-2014, 08:25 AM
Why cant the game be shown in uk through hibs tv today as i thought it was only 3pm games that couldnt be?

hongkonghibee
10-05-2014, 08:27 AM
Is it actually the whole match or only audio commentary? How much does it cost?

If you are outside the UK/Ireland, you can watch the whole game live video and audio. cost 10 pound for one match http://www.hiberniantv.co.uk/xtra
If you are in UK/Ireland only audio is available though the official site http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk on the "live matches" page of HibsTV

WellingtonHibby
10-05-2014, 08:30 AM

Aye. It just freezes when it's transferro me to the PayPal Page

hongkonghibee
10-05-2014, 08:30 AM
Why cant the game be shown in uk through hibs tv today as i thought it was only 3pm games that couldnt be?
Due to SPFL broadcasting rights, no matches can be shown live by the clubs to people living in UK, no matter the time.

Piersquared
10-05-2014, 08:32 AM
If you are outside the UK/Ireland, you can watch the whole game live video and audio. cost 10 pound for one match http://www.hiberniantv.co.uk/xtra
If you are in UK/Ireland only audio is available though the official site http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk on the "live matches" page of HibsTV

Seems like Hibs have missed a trick here with it being a 12.15 ko they could have shown it live in the UK too. Must have an impact on the broadcasting deal. I wonder if hiding your ip address would work? Probably need a bank card with a non-UK address right enough.

10-05-2014, 08:35 AM
So even if you've got a Hibs TV International subscription, you have to pay an additional ten quid for Hibs TV Xtra to watch a single cam footage from the West Stand?

Yep - you sure do

hongkonghibee
Aye. It just freezes when it's transferro me to the PayPal Page

Try emailing Andrew Sleight for help as he is in charge of HibsTV Xtra. [email protected]

WellingtonHibby
Try emailing Andrew Sleight for help as he is in charge of HibsTV Xtra. [email protected]

Cheers pal.

10-05-2014, 08:39 AM

Take it you are in the Capital already bud.

norhfc
10-05-2014, 08:41 AM
I just booked the game on Hibstv, dead easy with just 2 or 3 clicks to paypal. Costs a tenner, hopefully good picture and result obviously.

10-05-2014, 08:42 AM
As a paid up Hibs international TV, and I don't mind paying ten quid if it means we have more people to cheer the team on.

I think if we get good numbers it will give the team a real lift.

10-05-2014, 08:44 AM
I've looked at the ER ticket site and there is still ONE seat available in the whole of the East Stand. elsewhere there looks like less than 1000 in total available (I'm not sad enough to count them)

10-05-2014, 08:56 AM

Just bought mine no probelms a few mins ago

Best $20NZD ive ever spent....I hope.

10-05-2014, 09:08 AM
I've looked at the ER ticket site and there is still ONE seat available in the whole of the East Stand. elsewhere there looks like less than 1000 in total available (I'm not sad enough to count them)

That's for online purchase.

Plenty printed off yesterday for pod sales today.

hibIBZ
10-05-2014, 09:14 AM
Is the game on the radio? On my phone so does that mean it will have to be open all mics?

Godsahibby
10-05-2014, 09:25 AM
I'm in Ireland so going to miss the game. Disappointed I won't get to see it on the tele but back the club with the decision to not show it.

10-05-2014, 09:27 AM
Take it you are in the Capital already bud.

No pal when tried booking half 5 train it was not avaliable. Went to train station said nothing could do.

Set alarm for half 5 but didnt fancy drive up alone so sacked it off.

10-05-2014, 09:34 AM
I owe GlasgowHibby a major apology....he called it and I rather embarassed myself....sorry bud, heres hoping we get the result today

Beers are on me

This is why I love Hibs !!

Nice

10-05-2014, 10:10 AM
Just bought mine no probelms a few mins ago

Best $20NZD ive ever spent....I hope.

Live video up now - hope the broadcast stream and the result are better than last week's .... :flag:

cwilliamson85
10-05-2014, 10:19 AM
Don't have a radio in the house and with bbc Scotland not working on iPhone / iPad anybody recommend where I can listen to it?

I have Tunein radio app which I have seen a few people use before but don't know what station to look for.

Any help would be much appreciated.

hibIBZ
10-05-2014, 10:21 AM
Don't have a radio in the house and with bbc Scotland not working on iPhone / iPad anybody recommend where I can listen to it?

I have Tunein radio app which I have seen a few people use before but don't know what station to look for.

Problem with tunein radio is you only get FM so that generally mean just open all mics. Live matches usually on 810mw

10-05-2014, 10:22 AM
Live video up now - hope the broadcast stream and the result are better than last week's .... :flag:

Video coming thro fine

Crowd is a bit sparse... :greengrin

10-05-2014, 10:23 AM
Central FM app is good.

10-05-2014, 10:25 AM
Central FM app is good.

Dont think the game is on it:confused:

alhibby
10-05-2014, 10:33 AM
Dont think the game is on it:confused:

It is, they were on about it last night

McHibby
10-05-2014, 10:37 AM
It is a bit of a nightmare for me, but I kinda agree with Hibs telling BT to beat it. I couldn't get up to Edinburgh this weekend and I am the biggest jinx ever if I listen to the radio... I take some of the responsibility for the County result on Tuesday. I decided to risk it and look at what happened. So this is a radio-free household today. I shall be relying on fellow .netters to keep me updated.

I am seriously stressed out already, and the game's still half an hour away :worried:

gorgie greens
10-05-2014, 10:43 AM
Stuck 400 miles away I would love to be watching the game on TV but I'm glad Hibs have made the decision they have ,the more in Easter Road today the better and if the result goes our way then hopefully a few extra season tickets may be sold on it,will just have to listen to the radio

10-05-2014, 10:50 AM
I was in two minds about going, but if i'm honest i went out last night had a few beers and thought **** it, i will watch it on the telly. Well looks like i have missed out and will have to settle for http://www.centralfm.co.uk/listenlive/. My own fault, but one i am quite happy to sacrifice for a bigger crowd at the game.

For once i can't fault teflons motive for this.

Just ****in do it Hibs, give us something to cheer about for once this season.

10-05-2014, 10:54 AM
Xtra bought, decent looking picture thus far.

Will there be commentary rather than static come kick off?

:flag::tbgwa:

10-05-2014, 10:55 AM
So it's not tv?

10-05-2014, 10:57 AM
So it's not tv? Nope Hibs told BT to bolt!! Few streams probably have it??

Pat 0-7
10-05-2014, 11:05 AM

If you have Sky its on channel 0116

10-05-2014, 11:10 AM

Yes, that's right. But at the start of the season, they offered a season ticket: 150 quid for all games from ER (league and cup).

Anyway, just up and about to tune in. COME ON HIBS!!

10-05-2014, 11:10 AM

Channel 0116 on sky

cwilliamson85
10-05-2014, 11:14 AM
Channel 0116 on sky

Thanks!

jazzy7070
10-05-2014, 11:16 AM
That's it started on central fm.you can get it on the tune in ap

10-05-2014, 11:03 PM
Thanks for not showing the game Hibs. Saved me the pain of watching.