View Full Version : Palace v Liverpool

05-05-2014, 08:15 PM
0 1 HT
0 3 now

05-05-2014, 08:18 PM
This is all I need. What a nightmare of a season all round. It's a shocking state of affairs when I'm actually hoping City win the league, just to stop Liverpool.

05-05-2014, 08:19 PM
This is all I need. What a nightmare of a season all round. It's a shocking state of affairs when I'm actually hoping City win the league, just to stop Liverpool.

Snap! and I'm a Utd fan! :confused:

05-05-2014, 08:21 PM
Snap! and I'm a Utd fan! :confused:

Me tae, but it's the lesser of two evil for us. Watch City bottle it, for the tin hat on the season from hell.

Torto7062
05-05-2014, 08:21 PM
Ynwa

05-05-2014, 08:23 PM
Looks a sell out tonight. Dont think you will see that in Manchester tomorrow.

Liverpool still look to have blown it.

05-05-2014, 08:23 PM

Relax!

Man City have two home games left against sides that are pretty poor but who don't have anything to play for.

Liverpool won't win it now.

lugz
05-05-2014, 08:24 PM
Commentators desperate to make something of the goal difference, if city win their 2 remaining games they win the league.

05-05-2014, 08:25 PM
Mon the pool!!! YNWA

05-05-2014, 08:27 PM
Looks a sell out tonight. Dont think you will see that in Manchester tomorrow.

Liverpool still look to have blown it.

What are you on about? Selhurst Park holds about 20,000. I don't whether United v Hull is completely sold out, but it will be close to it, as always, and there'll be well over 70,000, befitting the UK's biggest club by miles.

05-05-2014, 08:31 PM
I'd love to see Liverpool do it this season. I think they'll fall short, though. I can't see City dropping any points over their last two matches.

05-05-2014, 08:34 PM
I'd love to see Liverpool do it this season. I think they'll fall short, though. I can't see City dropping any points over their last two matches.

I dunno. The one time I want City to win something they're bound to blow it. Being totally objective, I'd say Liverpool deserve it, but I can't countenance the prospect.

05-05-2014, 08:35 PM
I love these Manc/Scouse arguements between Scottish folk!

05-05-2014, 08:37 PM
1 3

05-05-2014, 08:39 PM
2 3

Would love a 3-3 here :greengrin

Stax
Game on now.....

05-05-2014, 08:40 PM

I'm half English/Mancunian. I have a duty to fulfill :-D

05-05-2014, 08:40 PM
2 3

Come on Palace! :thumbsup:

05-05-2014, 08:43 PM
I'm half English/Mancunian. I have a duty to fulfill :-D

You've got half an excuse!

lugz
05-05-2014, 08:44 PM
That Bollasie must drive their fans crazy!!

05-05-2014, 08:45 PM

So do I :greengrin

05-05-2014, 08:46 PM
3 3

ffs!

YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEES!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

3-3!!

05-05-2014, 08:47 PM
****sake liverpool !!!!

Stax
Whoah!!!

That's it, my boaby is out!!!!!! ;-D

lugz
05-05-2014, 08:48 PM
Here comes the inevitable penalty

05-05-2014, 08:48 PM
Shame money will buy the league again, tough for Liverpool.

05-05-2014, 08:49 PM
5 mins injury time!

Just as well we had already blown the league before tonight

5 mins injury time!

Watch them nick it.

05-05-2014, 08:50 PM
How the hell have Liverpool blown this?

05-05-2014, 08:51 PM
Watch them nick it.

Who? :greengrin

Watch them nick it.

I bet that's what the police officers of South London are telling each other as they leave the stadium. :greengrin

Who? :greengrin

Your lot.

lugz
"You never know this could turn out to be a good point" hahahahaha

Did he just say that!!

05-05-2014, 08:52 PM
How does that song go...................................3 nil and you ****ed it up

05-05-2014, 08:53 PM
Victor Moses are you James Collins in disguise

Holy Moses! what a fresh air swipe.

Money didn't buy the league.

Liverpool blew it big time tonight sadly. At 0-3 up they should go on and eat into that goal difference, to concede 3 in 8 minutes is absolutely criminal. Liverpool lost the league.

05-05-2014, 08:54 PM
3 3 ft

05-05-2014, 08:54 PM
Full time.

3-3.

Pleasing! :aok:

05-05-2014, 08:55 PM
Best player in prem crying on the pitch.

05-05-2014, 08:55 PM
Have to credit Palace for the comeback but Liverpool should have had that sown up.

05-05-2014, 08:57 PM
How does that song go...................................3 nil and you ****ed it up

In all seriousness, SH, those last fifteen minutes gave me more excitement than Hibs have managed all season. That's what watching football should be like. By the way, I know how you must be feeling: Agueroooooooooooo in 2012

05-05-2014, 08:57 PM
:(

05-05-2014, 08:58 PM
Liverpool's defence has cost them the league. Too many goals conceded.

Stax
05-05-2014, 09:00 PM
Victor Moses are you James Collins in disguise
:greengrin Feel your pain scouse, was hoping Liverpool would do it this year, but looks like game over. Damage done v Chelsea IMO

In all seriousness, SH, those last fifteen minutes gave me more excitement than Hibs have managed all season. That's what watching football should be like. By the way, I know how you must be feeling: Agueroooooooooooo in 2012

Not too gutted to be honest as I conceded we couldn't win it after the Chelsea game, still a great season but the big worry is that we won't be able to strengthen to the extent of City, Chelsea or United in the close season so I fear this was our one chance season.

As opposed to the team that have spent he third most in the last 5 years winning t?

:not worth

ehf
05-05-2014, 09:01 PM
Astonishing; even Fenlon would have had the nous to change it when it went to 3-1.

TheFamous1875
05-05-2014, 09:03 PM
Astonishing; even Fenlon would have had the nous to change it when it went to 3-1.

Fenlon would've changed it at 1-0.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

05-05-2014, 09:04 PM
Completely threw that away, not just the game, probably the league. Villa will do the job now though...

05-05-2014, 09:04 PM

I just knew someone would get Fenlon into this thread!

05-05-2014, 09:05 PM
As opposed to the team that have spent he third most in the last 5 years winning t?In the last 5 years Liverpools net spend is nearly 400m less than City and 200m less than Chelsea.

05-05-2014, 09:06 PM
Gonna go jump off the Lochend flats. :boo hoo:

Nice knowing you all :boo hoo::boo hoo:

http://i.imgur.com/jjZQP.gif

Not too gutted to be honest as I conceded we couldn't win it after the Chelsea game, still a great season but the big worry is that we won't be able to strengthen to the extent of City, Chelsea or United in the close season so I fear this was our one chance season.

Then you have more composure than I would right now. Time will tell what transpires over the summer, but a win tonight would have heaped the pressure back on City. It must surely be over now.

05-05-2014, 09:08 PM
Can someone please tell me what language Jamie Carragher is currently speaking? :dunno:

05-05-2014, 09:08 PM

Liverpool has always been my favourite English club and really wanted them to win the league this season. Saying that it's not over yet. Maybe Villa will be able to pull of a shock result against City and do Liverpool a favour.

Keep faith Keith. :aok:

05-05-2014, 09:09 PM
Can someone please tell me what language Jamie Carragher is currently speaking? :dunno:

The language of god's city.

05-05-2014, 09:10 PM

Nae luck plastics :faf:

That is colloquial Scouse. Unintelligible to anyone beyond Merseyside, especially when spat out with a lump in the throat and a broken heart.

Pleasing.

Gary Neville dying to laugh.

05-05-2014, 09:11 PM
Liverpool has always been my favourite English club and really wanted them to win the league this season. Saying that it's not over yet. Maybe Villa will be able to pull of a shock result against City and do Liverpool a favour.

Keep faith Keith. :aok:

It's over mate, I'm certain of that.

05-05-2014, 09:12 PM
That is colloquial Scouse. Unintelligible to anyone beyond Merseyside, especially when spat out with a lump in the throat and a broken heart.

Pleasing.

05-05-2014, 09:14 PM
Nae luck plastics :faf:

Plastics :confused:

05-05-2014, 09:17 PM
Gutted for Liverpool. What a collapse that was 😥 The Palace fans were outstanding though, been very impressed with them this season

05-05-2014, 09:20 PM
Palace fans, take a bow.

Sect 43 take note ;-)

05-05-2014, 09:21 PM
Palace fans, take a bow.

Sect 43 take note ;-)

If only Hibs could be in the position to blow a 3 goal lead. :greengrin

khib70
05-05-2014, 09:23 PM
In the last 5 years Liverpools net spend is nearly 400m less than City and 200m less than Chelsea.
....and that gives them a divine right to win the league does it??

Heartily sick of this "money buying the league" nonsense. Suarez was a young scally brought through the youth system was he?:rolleyesWithout him, Liverpool wouldn't be within smelling distance of the title. And their having an expensive defence that can concede three goals in eight minutes to a bargain basement attack kind of gives the lie to the stream of "peoples club" sanctimonious guff which has been coming out of the red half of Liverpool and their BBC and media cheerleaders for the last couple of months.

No guts - no glory

05-05-2014, 09:25 PM

Heartily sick of this "money buying the league" nonsense. Suarez was a young scally brought through the youth system was he?:rolleyesWithout him, Liverpool wouldn't be within smelling distance of the title. And their having an expensive defence that can concede three goals in eight minutes to a bargain basement attack kind of gives the lie to the stream of "peoples club" sanctimonious guff which has been coming out of the red half of Liverpool and their BBC and media cheerleaders for the last couple of months.

No guts - no glory

The Peoples Club has always been Everton's claim to fame, the Liverpool angle is just a dig at them so stop spouting ******.

05-05-2014, 09:27 PM
Caragher spewing , absolute meltdown.

05-05-2014, 09:27 PM
If only Hibs could be in the position to blow a 3 goal lead. :greengrin

We now know what the Falkirk fans felt like mate.

Onwards and upwards. YNWA

05-05-2014, 09:30 PM

05-05-2014, 09:31 PM
Folk arguing over "their" English sides that in all honesty they will never see playing.

Feel sorry on Liverpool myself after tonight. Just the fact be good to see someone else win it. I'm a West Ham "fan" myself and like Hibs are ***** to watch.

05-05-2014, 09:32 PM
We now know what the Falkirk fans felt like mate.

Onwards and upwards. YNWA

It was a great effort mate with a relatively small squad with not so much quality on the sidelines, of course as I would, supporters of other teams will rejoice in Liverpool's failure but that's football for you and I wouldn't have it any other way.:greengrin We were helped by having no European involvement too as I doubt we could have coped on all fronts.

05-05-2014, 09:33 PM

Becoming more indecipherable by the second, and shortly to be put under a suicide watch.

05-05-2014, 09:38 PM
It was a great effort mate with a relatively small squad with not so much quality on the sidelines, of course as I would, supporters of other teams will rejoice in Liverpool's failure but that's football for you and I wouldn't have it any other way.:greengrin We were helped by having no European involvement too as I doubt we could have coped on all fronts.

United next season. The mortal shame of no european football (Moyes you ****) may help them domestically. Liverpool may find it harder, but Champions League qualification is a big achievement this year, and a big financial reward.

khib70
05-05-2014, 09:38 PM
The Peoples Club has always been Everton's claim to fame, the Liverpool angle is just a dig at them so stop spouting ******.

05-05-2014, 09:41 PM

:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:you obviously don't know me!

05-05-2014, 09:48 PM

Pleasing.

Cheers.

So it's sort of a new form of English then? :confused:

And, yeah, Gary Neville is trying so hard not to wet himself. :greengrin

05-05-2014, 09:50 PM
There is no better league in the world says the commentator...
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/06/8emyqyde.jpg
:)

05-05-2014, 09:55 PM
Cheers.

So it's sort of a new form of English then? :confused:

And, yeah, Gary Neville is trying so hard not to wet himself. :greengrin

No, it isn't English. It's a derivative of English that has gone its own way and is now only understood by the natives, much like Glaswegian or the patois found in Jamaica. Anthropologists point to a class distinction in its provenance.

05-05-2014, 09:59 PM
No, it isn't English. It's a derivative of English that has gone its own way and is now only understood by the natives, much like Glaswegian or the patois found in Jamaica. Anthropologists point to a class distinction in its provenance.

:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

Stax
05-05-2014, 10:01 PM
Meltdown? guy's obviously hurting but I thought he was pretty fair in his analysis of the game / title race. I think him and Neville have been great this season and both put "pundits" here to shame.

05-05-2014, 10:03 PM
Meltdown? guy's obviously hurting but I thought he was pretty fair in his analysis of the game / title race. I think him and Neville have been great this season and both put "pundits" here to shame.

:agree: Carragher has said all along that Liverpool's defence would be their undoing.

05-05-2014, 10:05 PM
:agree: Carragher has said all along that Liverpool's defence would be their undoing.

There are no subtitles, hence we had no idea he'd said that.

05-05-2014, 10:06 PM
There are no subtitles, hence we had no idea he'd said that.

05-05-2014, 10:11 PM
Gerrard's fault, IMO.

05-05-2014, 10:16 PM
meh

05-05-2014, 10:28 PM

No guts - no gloryFail.

05-05-2014, 10:30 PM

No guts - no glory

:bye:

05-05-2014, 10:47 PM
I'm just back from the game (Palace end). Definitely the craziest half of football I've ever seen. Liverpool were rattled at 3-1 and bottled it completely at 3-2. Bolasie was ripping their defence a new one. Atmosphere was immense, Palace were immense, great result.

Personally, I'd rather we'd have come back vs City last week but hey ho. GGTTCPFC

05-05-2014, 10:47 PM
http://oi62.tinypic.com/118qhwx.jpg

05-05-2014, 11:00 PM
I'm just back from the game (Palace end). Definitely the craziest half of football I've ever seen. Liverpool were rattled at 3-1 and bottled it completely at 3-2. Bolasie was ripping their defence a new one. Atmosphere was immense, Palace were immense, great result.

Personally, I'd rather we'd have come back vs City last week but hey ho. GGTTCPFC

It was some game alright. Pulis has worked a minor miracle for you. Palace looked dead and buried when he arrived.

05-05-2014, 11:43 PM
Looks like City will be champions.

Get used to it. :greengrin:

GlasgowHibee
05-05-2014, 11:57 PM
Gerrard's fault, IMO.

Him and Rodgers have to take an equal share of the blame. Gerard's speech after the City game was always going to come back and bite them in the arse. I know the speech was meant to bring them back down and not get too carried away but it had an almost opposite effect imo.

Rodgers cost Liverpool the league, he shouldn't have went so Gung Ho against Chelsea, if they'd have played more conservatively and taken a point then they'd of won the league. Also, not being able to close off a 3-0 lead is a joke too.

06-05-2014, 12:19 AM
Him and Rodgers have to take an equal share of the blame. Gerard's speech after the City game was always going to come back and bite them in the arse. I know the speech was meant to bring them back down and not get too carried away but it had an almost opposite effect imo.

Rodgers cost Liverpool the league, he shouldn't have went so Gung Ho against Chelsea, if they'd have played more conservatively and taken a point then they'd of won the league. Also, not being able to close off a 3-0 lead is a joke too.

But equally, they probably wouldn't be in the position to 'lose' the title without him. I put it down to inexperience. He's still a young manager.

06-05-2014, 12:26 AM
Looks like City will be champions.

Get used to it. :greengrin:Very few will look upon City league wins as achievements, it would be embarrassing if they weren't winning it with that money spent.

06-05-2014, 12:53 AM
As a Bury supporter, yes Bury..

I'm delighted ! Gutted that City will end up taking it, however better than them..

06-05-2014, 12:56 AM
Liverpool need a new back 4 if they want to get out the group stages of the Champions League, and that won't be cheap.

06-05-2014, 02:52 AM
Very few will look upon City league wins as achievements, it would be embarrassing if they weren't winning it with that money spent.

I'm sure city's fans won't care two hoots what other people think about them winning the league. They've suffered big time and are all that's important in my book.

What's embarrassing is that it takes that much cash to simply compete with the "big four". A combination of the premiership and glory hunters from Malaysia who have grannies from Salford created these monsters and you should be thankful that theres a fresh face in the mix.

06-05-2014, 04:02 AM
I'm sure city's fans won't care two hoots what other people think about them winning the league. They've suffered big time and are all that's important in my book.

What's embarrassing is that it takes that much cash to simply compete with the "big four". A combination of the premiership and glory hunters from Malaysia who have grannies from Salford created these monsters and you should be thankful that theres a fresh face in the mix.3 of the ''big four'' are massive historically successful clubs, that is why people all around the world support them. Successful clubs aren't ''monsters'', clubs like City and Chelsea who are play toys for rich owners are monsters IMO. Everton broke the big 4 in 2005 without spending anything, Spurs done it spending nothing compared to City, it isn't hard if a manager is given time to build something, that is how league titles should be won.

06-05-2014, 06:31 AM
3 of the ''big four'' are massive historically successful clubs, that is why people all around the world support them. Successful clubs aren't ''monsters'', clubs like City and Chelsea who are play toys for rich owners are monsters IMO. Everton broke the big 4 in 2005 without spending anything, Spurs done it spending nothing compared to City, it isn't hard if a manager is given time to build something, that is how league titles should be won.

You can break into the top four and hang on by your fingernails if you spend relatively little but you'll get nowhere if you don't invest big. City had to do that and people don't like the way they smashed into it.
Teams won leagues by building a team but that was about thirty years ago. What has happened whenever anyone outside the big boys builds something or gets a player nowadays? The big boys cherry pick.

It's nonsense to think these three can take the moral high ground when it comes to funding. It's money thats artificially inflating a teams profile and the only difference is that in one case it comes from a million sources and in the other it comes from one. For every sheikh there are thousands of Romanians who have nothing to do with Manchester.

Anyway, it could be Everton next. Another monster bringing its stuff to the table should be welcomed. :thumbsup:

khib70
06-05-2014, 08:12 AM
You can break into the top four and hang on by your fingernails if you spend relatively little but you'll get nowhere if you don't invest big. City had to do that and people don't like the way they smashed into it.
Teams won leagues by building a team but that was about thirty years ago. What has happened whenever anyone outside the big boys builds something or gets a player nowadays? The big boys cherry pick.

It's nonsense to think these three can take the moral high ground when it comes to funding. It's money thats artificially inflating a teams profile and the only difference is that in one case it comes from a million sources and in the other it comes from one. For every sheikh there are thousands of Romanians who have nothing to do with Manchester.

Anyway, it could be Everton next. Another monster bringing its stuff to the table should be welcomed. :thumbsup:
:top marks This.

Perfect response to the jealousy and inverted snobbery which dominates these discussions. Liverpool have spent plenty - just on the wrong people. Andy Carroll, anyone? Ditto United - £60m plus on Fellaini and Mata?

All the bitter and twisted Liverpool and Man U fans should vent their spleen on their own owners/management. City fans, as you say, don't give a toss what they think

06-05-2014, 08:45 AM
Very few will look upon City league wins as achievements, it would be embarrassing if they weren't winning it with that money spent.

Fact of life - that's all. The teams at the top of the Leagues are the teams who've paid money to bring in the best managers and coaches and invested in the best players -simple. It's aye been that way. Once upon a time even Hibs used to do it.

Remember Joe Harper, the striker who was going to win us the League? League Championship was cheap at £140,000 - the only problem was, Turnbull had signed the wrong Lardball. :devil: Principle remains - buying success. It's the way of professional sport.

I don't think any of the English top four this year has been particularly impressive right through the team - they all have weaknesses - but City have appointed the right coach and he's signed the most balanced and talented squad. Whic is why I expect them to be Champions on Sunday evening.

Liverpool need a new back 4 if they want to get out the group stages of the Champions League, and that won't be cheap.

What's wrong with the one they've got? Johnson, Skrtel, Sakho and Flanagan - what's not to like? :devil:

We could let them have a couple of experienced centre-backs if they want ....

06-05-2014, 08:54 AM

Would love for Hibs to have a similar catastrophic season up here. Been a rollercoaster ride for the scousers and I for one am jealous as ****. Still won't stop me keeping my fingers crossed for them, mainly because I know a few good scouse lads from my mob days and would be happy for the moaning faced gits.

brian6-2
06-05-2014, 08:59 AM
:top marks This.

Perfect response to the jealousy and inverted snobbery which dominates these discussions. Liverpool have spent plenty - just on the wrong people. Andy Carroll, anyone? Ditto United - £60m plus on Fellaini and Mata?

All the bitter and twisted Liverpool and Man U fans should vent their spleen on their own owners/management. City fans, as you say, don't give a toss what they think

well said.

city have now built a squad capable of doing damage and maintaning what they have done so far and wont need to spend the earth.

AndySOL1875
06-05-2014, 09:00 AM
Cannot stand Gerrard, found the whole inspirational team huddle slightly cringy if anything. I like Rodgers and he will go far, but if you can't hold a 3-0 lead against Palace and you're going for the title you don't deserve to win it.

06-05-2014, 10:16 AM
Helpline been set up this morning for all distressed Liverpool fan's

Number is 0800 30 31 32 33 :na na:

06-05-2014, 11:53 AM
Liverpool and Man City have provided great entertainment all season but one of them has to lose out. If it is Liverpool they still had an exceptionally good season and would have bit a hand off for second place before the start. I'm still hoping for a last day decider with Chelsea in the mix too.

robinp
06-05-2014, 12:15 PM
Was there a better sight all season than the racist in tears at the end. :greengrin

06-05-2014, 01:19 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfS5uumGu7Q

Dmitri kens the score.

06-05-2014, 01:21 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfS5uumGu7Q

Dmitri kens the score.

:greengrin That video is brilliant.

The possible captions to it are endless.

AndySOL1875
06-05-2014, 03:36 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nLnNKpmciwU

06-05-2014, 03:54 PM

Am I the only one to find that slightly ironic given that he was part of the problem until this season.

Its like him saying they are pish now that I am not there to sort them out.

06-05-2014, 04:40 PM
Helpline for all suicidal Liverpool fans.

0800 30 31 32 33

06-05-2014, 04:47 PM
Saw this on Facebook earlier.

06-05-2014, 06:22 PM
I don't "support" any club except Hibs, but I've always had an admiration for Liverpool and their exploits in Europe over several decades. Five European cups puts them amongst the great clubs IMO. I would have liked to have seen them become champions this year now that justice might be forthcoming for the victims of Hillsborough and their families. Not to be it looks like.

06-05-2014, 06:33 PM

ff
No guts - no glory

Please get your facts right !!:rolleyes:
Take it yoiu don't follow football very closely :greengrin:wink:
For all the years I have followed football EVERTON have been known as the " Peoples Club"
You talk of " sanctimonious guff " being spouted - none more so than about Man City and Chelsea for starters
Liverpool have earned the plaudits for what they have achieved this season .

For goodness sake give credit where credit is due .

06-05-2014, 06:45 PM
Am I the only one to find that slightly ironic given that he was part of the problem until this season.

Its like him saying they are pish now that I am not there to sort them out.

Nothing of the sort, if you have been listening to him and watching his analysis he makes perfect sense.

06-05-2014, 06:49 PM

Utter guff, Rodgers deserves tremendous credit for getting Liverpool so close, blame him indeed :faf::faf::faf:

06-05-2014, 06:53 PM
Gonnae shoosht about English football just now.
The big, important teams are playing. :greengrin

06-05-2014, 06:54 PM
Gonnae shoosht about English football just now.
The big, important teams are playing. :greengrin

:thumbsup:Well said

07-05-2014, 12:30 AM
anyway, here's the real reason Fulham got relegated

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/27298374

Fulham were relegated because they removed a statue of Michael Jackson from Craven Cottage, according to former owner Mohamed Al Fayed.

as mad as a box of frogs

07-05-2014, 06:28 AM
anyway, here's the real reason Fulham got relegated

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/27298374

Fulham were relegated because they removed a statue of Michael Jackson from Craven Cottage, according to former owner Mohamed Al Fayed.

as mad as a box of frogs

I'm sure Terry signed it on loan in January.