View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Partick Thistle

Pages : 1 [2]

cjward2
03-05-2014, 03:32 PM
Corner hibs.

03-05-2014, 03:33 PM
We need goals. Who do we look to for those? We don't have anyone in our team we can rely on to score.

Good pressure from Hibs. Corner. Nelson heads wide. 18 mins plus IT

From the radio we are playing well, it's the combination of a goalie playing out of his skin and our fragility to long balls who's is causing us problems.

We don't seem to have created many chances this half.

Morton staging a comeback 7-2 now.

cjward2
Liam craig shoots, corner hibs again.

CalgaryHibs
Game of the day Hamilton 7-1 Greenock

We've not been shocking today, though. It's pretty obvious we're the better side and deserve a goal.

Tbh we need to take one or get a wee break.... Yes you make your own luck but most weeks teams seem to get more than their fair share. I don't care how we've played I just want a goal a point a win FFS.

cjward2
Nelson heads wide

03-05-2014, 03:35 PM
Lost our way snce thomson went of

cjward2
Patrick bring on Elliot for erskine

AllyF
ST MIRREN HAVE SCORED. Thank f***.

03-05-2014, 03:36 PM
We seem to of lost a bit of momentum since KT went off.

Wonder if TB is rueing not playing him earlier

St mirren 1-0 Ross county

ST MIRREN HAVE SCORED. Thank f***.

Tuesdays game is colossal!

Accies 8 - 2. Courier hat trick

03-05-2014, 03:37 PM
Accies 8 - 2. Courier hat trick

Two hat tricks in that game.

03-05-2014, 03:38 PM
Why did we ever let Courier go?

03-05-2014, 03:39 PM
Why did we ever let Courier go? Mmmmm!! ;-)

03-05-2014, 03:39 PM
Why did we ever let Courier go?

'cause he was pants

EDIT: Sarcasm detection failure

Green Reaper
03-05-2014, 03:40 PM
Nelson off! Arse

Nelson sent off.

nelson 2nd yellow and off

Caused by mcgiverns shocking pass forward

cjward2
Hibs have a player sent off

Forever_Green93
Taylor's a cheating gimp

Berwickhibby
Nelson off

Stupid challenge on taylor. Last man.

Great stuff 10 men. We can't lose !

03-05-2014, 03:41 PM
Butcher out.

We've died in the 2nd half.

Poor

Bye Nelson you second rate thug.

erin-go-bragh87
Embarrassing.

cjward2
Nelson had to put in that Tackle to prevent the shot. Free kick outside the box to partick

Good that means Bombscare is missing on Tuesday.

Games a bogey now.....

FFS

cjward2
Right into Williams hands

kdhibees1
Misses next game, gutted........not!!

cjward2
03-05-2014, 03:43 PM
Corner Patrick.

Good that means Bombscare is missing on Tuesday.

Games a bogey now.....

FFS

Good :D

Sorry :(

cjward2
Robertson off, Handling on

We look wide open now. Linesman gave free kick but ref overrules and gives corner.

Robertson off handling on

Thistle have looked the better team 2nd half - we haven't offered anywhere near what we should be doing to save ourselves - very disappointing ... Robertson off, Handling on ...

Green Reaper
Handling on

03-05-2014, 03:44 PM
Tough for Partick now as we all know it's harder to play against 10 than 11...

Robertson off, handling on

Cant say we aint offensively set up!

Dangerous FK hibs - good chance

Another good save gallagher

No goals no points and tbh after being very optimistic I cannot see us getting out of this rut.... Poor poor very poor

FFS Hibs.

We have a free kick on the edge of the D

Free kick to Hibs inside the D ...

cjward2
Free kick to hibs centre of the park, 20 yards out.

Tough for Partick now as we all know it's harder to play against 10 than 11...

Ha ha. Like that one

03-05-2014, 03:45 PM
Craig shoots. Good save

10 -2 Hamilton Courier.

cjward2
Great save by Gallagher. From a craig shot.

Hamilton get 9

03-05-2014, 03:46 PM
Hamilton get 9

PONGO
We have died as a football club . Pish poor

10 -2 Hamilton Courier.

Let's hope they've used their luck and leave their shooting boots behind.

They've still a few games to play yet. The winners of the 3rd v 4th but don't fancy my chances tbh.

cjward2
03-05-2014, 03:47 PM
Shot from Collins, saved again. Just cannot score.

I'll guess and say Hamilton have scored more today than we have all year.

Sorry to say this but, we're going down.

Surely nobody can argue with that now.

:boo hoo:

SneakersO'Toole
Don't worry everyone, we've found a system according to TB.

We have died as a football club . Pish poor

Idiot

At least we saw improvement against hearts.

Mostly, you get what you deserve in football. We're getting what we deserve.

03-05-2014, 03:48 PM
Goaaal

We are a ***** ***** football club . Pish poor

Really died. That's ****ing Yam pish. We will still be here. So I've taken out the died.

Stanton scores with a header!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuus

stanton!!

Thank ****

Staaannntonnnn

YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:flag::flag::flag:

cjward2
Stanton scores, a long ball from McGovern and a second flick on.

Zorro
Yesssssssssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!

pogo
Stanton scores!!!

I'll guess and say Hamilton have scored more today than we have all year.

Not quite but they won't be that far behind.

Green Reaper
Go on Sammy!!!!!

GlasgowHibee

Too little, too late. :agree:

Tuesday's game is so unbelievably crucial.

03-05-2014, 03:49 PM
Yasssss!!!!

Lendo
Yaaaassss!

kdhibees1
Ya beauty!!!! :tbgwa:

5 mins left

McHibby
Yeeeeeeeeessssssssss!!!!!!!!!

Now we need another.

HFC_NYC
Goal? What is this you speak of?

Silversand
Pleasing.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

03-05-2014, 03:50 PM
Mon Hibs! Time for another?

Just spat oot ma coffee.

FFS a goal

Yaaaassssss. Nowt stoopid Hibs ....

Thank ****! We've been using too many players all season.

yeezus.
YAAAAAAAAAS!!!!!!!!!! Bring on County

03-05-2014, 03:51 PM
Let's go for the winner!

Yaaaaaaaaasssssssssssss

Thank ****! We've been using too many players all season.

Surprised the Ref hasn't noticed this???

*sorry will get ma coat

Will settle for a point if we can hold on

thank **** for that :flag:

Lendo
We're scoring for fun these days

2 mins injury time

03-05-2014, 03:52 PM
We're scoring for fun these days

:-)

03-05-2014, 03:52 PM
Will settle for a point if we can hold on

I would blow the ******g whistle FFS

03-05-2014, 03:53 PM
FT

pogo
Full time.
1-1

Still 90 seconds to go. Ref blew early

03-05-2014, 03:54 PM
Ex Hibs player does well today.........

Antoine-Curier goals: 5′, 56′, 78′, 86′

Just_Jimmy
take it.

8th on 35. killie 11th on 33. wednesday is MASSIVE.

A point we now need a wee Yam win the morn.... A win or at least a point on Tuesday and beat Killie next weekend.

Well done considering nothing, and we are getting absolutely nothing, going for us.

One point for us. 3 more to go and we are safe. Nae problem. :greengrin:flag:

03-05-2014, 03:55 PM
ft 1-1

i'll take that in the end

Big one, we will be missing Thommo likely on Tuesday....and will Robertson be fit enough?

Mcpake likley to come back in now

Still, a win on tuesday and we are safe

03-05-2014, 03:55 PM
Massive goal, a win in our next 2 games and thats us safe. Definitely do able :agree:

TowerHibs
03-05-2014, 03:57 PM
Looking forward to the thread about Malpas reaction. Went straight to the guy giving him pelters who couldn't take it

03-05-2014, 03:58 PM
Beat Ross County on Tuesday and we are safe.

We'd be on 38, RC on 34 with one game left.

Massive game!

03-05-2014, 04:00 PM
It makes me feel dirty but c'mon Hearts tomorrow.

03-05-2014, 04:00 PM
We need to take a lift from this and press on. This won't count for much if we don't pick up momentum.

Roll on the next game! :aok:

03-05-2014, 04:02 PM
So we're 2 ahead if killie and 1 ahead of RC? and we play those 2 in the final 2 games. C'mon the hearts tomorrow :greengrin

03-05-2014, 04:03 PM
By far the better team today, take a point in the end, A win on Tuesday and we're sorted

Berwickhibby
03-05-2014, 04:05 PM
Not according to the BBC League table :confused:

03-05-2014, 04:06 PM

We deserved that goal, even if you think otherwise. :greengrin

kdhibees1
03-05-2014, 04:06 PM
BBC site reporting Att: 10,740

EK_Hibs
03-05-2014, 04:08 PM
Much better performance today. Beat Ross County and we'll be fine

03-05-2014, 04:08 PM
I think we'll beat them

03-05-2014, 04:09 PM
By far the better team today, take a point in the end, A win on Tuesday and we're sorted

Yes, the result was a victory for hard work over massive bad luck. With just bad luck we would have won this game 3.1

03-05-2014, 04:09 PM
I admire everybody's optimism but, after so long unable to win a game, what makes anybody think we'll do it on Wednesday?

This is yet another game when Hibs have blown it. We needed a win today.

03-05-2014, 04:10 PM
I admire everybody's optimism but, after so long unable to win a game, what makes anybody think we'll do it on Wednesday?

Did you watch it? Their goalie kept them in it.

Edit: Pretty unlucky for their goal too

jonny
03-05-2014, 04:13 PM

We definitely won't win on Wednesday.
The games on Tuesday

03-05-2014, 04:13 PM
Did you watch it? Their goalie kept them in it.

Yep, but it's another opportunity lost. We hear a different reason practically every week, Hearts scored from two poorly defended corners last week, but the bare fact is that we are just not winning a game.

Of course I want to see them prove me wrong but the fact is that I still see no reason for optimism that we can suddenly win a match.

03-05-2014, 04:14 PM
Yep, but it's another opportunity lost. We hear a different reason practically every week, Hearts scored from two poorly defended corners last week, but the bare fact is that we are just not winning a game.

Of course I want to see them prove me wrong but the fact is that I still see no reason for optimism that we can suddenly win a match.

But I'm saying I think we can suddenly win because we did hit the post twice among other chances, and we scored :greengrin

03-05-2014, 04:23 PM
The tide is turning.

03-05-2014, 04:24 PM
We deserved that goal, even if you think otherwise. :greengrin

We certainly deserved the goal and should have had 2 or 3 today. BUT whenever any teams attack it does feel like they are going to score. Maybury and Lewis were decent today but those CH's are beyond bad.

03-05-2014, 04:24 PM
We certainly deserved the goal and should have had 2 or 3 today. BUT whenever any teams attack it does feel like they are going to score. Maybury and Lewis were decent today but those CH's are beyond bad.

I actually thought Mcgivern had a good game :duck:

Again, thought Nelson was a weak link

03-05-2014, 04:28 PM
Easily the best 45 in weeks. Absolutely battered Thistle who must have thought it was Xmas at 0-1 HT. At the end a gutsy point that might just be the most important of the season. Now Butcher can plan a win on Tuesday and we're safe. We deserved more than a point today and the team showed real fight.

Only neg was Thompson's injury. Will be a big miss for us.

03-05-2014, 04:28 PM

Really... he gave the ball away with almost every pass. He also didn't bother to run back when Partick almost score there second. Im sick if the sight on the white haired bugger.

03-05-2014, 04:30 PM

Thought McGivern was culpible in the lead up to the goal and it was his bad 'pass' that gave the ball away for the sending off.

03-05-2014, 04:33 PM

Same question could have been said back in 2012 v the Pars last game of the season.

03-05-2014, 04:34 PM
Thought McGivern was culpible in the lead up to the goal and it was his bad 'pass' that gave the ball away for the sending off.

Really... he gave the ball away with almost every pass. He also didn't bother to run back when Partick almost score there second. Im sick if the sight on the white haired bugger.

Oh well, I tend to look away when the ball is anywhere near our defence so what do I know!

dmc1875
03-05-2014, 04:38 PM

AWAY! Nelson was OK and a big threat in the Thistle box, but to say McGivern (who was culpable at the goal more than Nelson and basically got him sent off) was much better... :confused:

How a guy like McGivern can trap a ball the way he does, then plays woeful passes the next minute I have no idea.

SonOfTortolano
03-05-2014, 04:38 PM
Remember the thistle game under Fenlon and we mugged them with a 1-0 away win....brutal game for us that day but we won..

Could be karma today..

03-05-2014, 04:41 PM
Same question could have been said back in 2012 v the Pars last game of the season.

We had Leigh Griffiths and Gary O'Connor, who scored 11 and 16 goals respectively. We went in to the game off the back of a win against Aberdeen and our previous win was only three games earlier.

I was convinced then that we were staying up.

03-05-2014, 04:45 PM
I thought there was a lot of guts shown by the players today and that we actually played ok.

It feels like a victory but it is a massive point for us.

What also was a pleasant change is i did not hear one fan have a go at any player from the famous five

Well done hibs,and well done the fans who turned up in great numbers

03-05-2014, 04:46 PM
Today proves yet again how important a fit Kevin Thomson is to Hibs.

03-05-2014, 04:47 PM

But look on the bright side Tues may well give you the opportunity to post another negative ' I told you ' posts.

03-05-2014, 04:47 PM

Agree with this. I''ll be accused of being negative no doubt, and honestly I try hard not to be, but that display in such an important fixture, was really very poor from Hibs, and that's putting it mildly. How many saves did the Thistle keeper have to make in the second half? McGivern, Nelson, Craig, Harris, Collins & Whatmore, when they came on, all poor IMO. Maybury not much better. Cummings had no support, and never looked like getting the better of his markers. No team can win games carrying so many passengers. And, as usual, our defending for Thistle's goal was ridiculous.

03-05-2014, 04:53 PM
To be honest I thought we were ok today.

The goal was a comedy of errors, both CBs culpible and the sending off was just crazy. Our central defence is obviously a huge problem. Despite the goal I thought Stanton was poor by his standards today and Harris continues to worry me.

On the positives I thought we showed great heart to keep battling away and get the point. It was bit huff and puff and not great quality but eventually we got the goal. Thought Stevenson and Maybury played well, Craig was better than he's been in weeks and Robertson got another important bit of game time.

03-05-2014, 05:05 PM
But look on the bright side Tues may well give you the opportunity to post another negative ' I told you ' posts.

I would like to hereby apologise to those faint of heart that can't cope with hearing the truth.

You are all welcome to continue living in La-La Land and pretend everything is going to be OK.

I, being a right misery guts, will sit out here in reality and moan continually about facts, whether people like it or not

03-05-2014, 05:10 PM
Would have been a travesty if we got nothing from that game.
Craig has found his new position at centre half.

03-05-2014, 05:11 PM
considering our run of form, todays draw feels like a win, confidence might have risen because of that, just need to go into tuesdays game with self belief again.

03-05-2014, 05:20 PM
A point we now need a wee Yam win the morn.... A win or at least a point on Tuesday and beat Killie next weekend.

I just find it really galling, to put it mildly, that Hibs are hoping for HOMFC (relegated) to do us a favour by beating Killie. I'm sick and tired of Hibs being in this situation. If we stay up, there must be no repeat of this torture for a third season in a row.

03-05-2014, 05:22 PM
I just find it really galling, to put it mildly, that Hibs are hoping for HOMFC (relegated) to do us a favour by beating Killie. I'm sick and tired of Hibs being in this situation. If we stay up, there must be no repeat of this torture for a third season in a row.

I know it's crazy. And I agree no more!!

03-05-2014, 05:40 PM
Not ashamed to say I'll be wanting Hearts to win tomorrow. But a win on wed will keep us up and if we play with the spirit we did today then we will.

The luck Partick got combined with great goalkeeping got them the point. We deserved more than a point today IMO.

03-05-2014, 05:43 PM
Not ashamed to say I'll be wanting Hearts to win tomorrow. But a win on wed will keep us up and if we play with the spirit we did today then we will.

The luck Partick got combined with great goalkeeping got them the point. We deserved more than a point today IMO.

Tuesday mate :greengrin

...WentToMowAnSPL
03-05-2014, 05:57 PM

I'm thinking of going up from Aberdeen ... Hibs what have you done to me ?!
4 games in a row 5 for the Kilmarnock game : if we don't stay up it's my fault

I think the players didn't hide today and the crowd applauded them off at half time despite being 1-0 down

On form Watmore should start

03-05-2014, 06:05 PM

McGivern is on a par with nelson for sheer lack of quality in his passing, and to cap it all off for him it was yet another of his abysmal passes that led to nelson making that stupid tackle

03-05-2014, 06:30 PM
Today was a game of two halves - with a twist.

I thought we were by far the superior side in the first half yet we contrived to go in at half time a goal down. A mixture of bad luck, great goalkeeping by the Thistle keeper, poor defending by us, and sometimes poor decisions by our midfield/strikers made me think the worse.

My thoughts were compounded with the injury to KT early in the second half. Thereafter Thistle were the more enterprising side and looked more likely to increase their lead than we were capable of producing an equaliser. We resorted to the long aimless punt in the general direction of Collins and whoever else happened to be in the vicinity. It was horror scene fitba and the equaliser when it did come was against the run of play but may yet prove to be a defining moment in this instantly forgettable season.

03-05-2014, 06:35 PM
Today was a game of two halves - with a twist.

I thought we were by far the superior side in the first half yet we contrived to go in at half time a goal down. A mixture of bad luck, great goalkeeping by the Thistle keeper, poor defending by us, and sometimes poor decision making by our midfield/strikers made me think the worse.

My thoughts were compounded with the injury to KT early in the second half. Thereafter Thistle were the more enterprising side and looked far more likely to increase their lead than we were capable of producing an equaliser. We resorted to the long aimless punt in the general direction of Collins and whoever else happened to be in the vicinity. It was horror scene fitba and the equaliser when it did come was against the run of play but may yet prove to be a defining moment in this instantly forgettable season.

:agree: Good post.

04-05-2014, 12:10 AM
It's funny how things work out. Pat Fenlon's last game against Hearts saw us batter them for 45 minutes whilst playing with verve and intensity, with only their goalkeeper keeping them in it - we dropped off in the second half, but still missed gilt edged chances and it was a travesty that we lost.

Today was similar in many ways, though we were much better in that Hearts game than we were today (and Thistle better than Hearts were that night), yet here we are (myself included) encouraged that things may be turning just in time for us to hopefully secure our safety. It's just funny how a performance that was nowhere near as good as one that was deemed unacceptable by many a few months ago, is now seen as a positive - and really shows just how far we have fallen under Butcher.

FWIW, I enjoyed the game today and thought we played well at times, easily meriting a point. I'm also not looking to reopen any Fenlon debates - I realise that for many he outstayed his welcome long before that Hearts game, and regardless of the performance, it was a bad result too far. It was just something that came to mind whilst watching the game today.

04-05-2014, 06:56 AM
Compared to the last game against thistle i thought we were much better, the previous game we were played off the park but got a draw at ER but yesterday we were the better side even with the centre backs we have , a bit encouraged for Tuesday night .

04-05-2014, 09:03 AM
Are the YouTube highlights up yet? Can't seem to find them..

hibbytam
04-05-2014, 09:08 AM
Are the YouTube highlights up yet? Can't seem to find them..

They're uploaded, but region blocked, so you'll have to watch them through a proxy if you're UK based.

04-05-2014, 10:00 PM
I thought the boy Doolan was offside for their goal yesterday. Having seen the highlights I'm convinced I'm right.

04-05-2014, 10:21 PM
I thought the boy Doolan was offside for their goal yesterday. Having seen the highlights I'm convinced I'm right.

Looked like it to me as well. Also got very lucky with the goal bouncing back off him and trundling into the net. Can't believe we didnt score more than one. Craig should've been tapping it into the net after the Nelson header off the post but he didn't anticipate it.

04-05-2014, 11:24 PM

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/05/u7a5y7us.jpg

I reckon you are too. This is just as the ball is about to be knocked through

05-05-2014, 06:01 PM

I shouted for offside straight away. Yet another dodgy decision goes against Hibs. Yet the linesman flags offside against Forster for a perfectly good headed goal at PBS. The football cliché is that these things even themselves out over a season. Well, it's time we got one in our favour for a change. Have I just got the green tinted specs on? Can anyone recall any ridiculous decisions in Hibs favour this season?

05-05-2014, 06:06 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/05/u7a5y7us.jpg

I reckon you are too. This is just as the ball is about to be knocked through

Looks like Nelson's hand is playing Doolan onside.

05-05-2014, 06:08 PM
Looks like Nelson's hand is playing Doolan onside.

You can only play someone onside with a part of the body which can legally play the ball. The hand doesn't come into consideration.