View Full Version : Max Clifford jailed
02-05-2014, 06:54 PM
for 8 years :eek: certainly didn't see that one coming
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-27259318
Disgraced celebrity publicist Max Clifford has been jailed for a total of eight years for a string of indecent assaults against girls and young women.
02-05-2014, 07:25 PM
I noticed this from viz a good while back http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/03/ta8udu2u.jpg
02-05-2014, 07:59 PM
I noticed this from viz a good while back http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/03/ta8udu2u.jpg
lol :-D
03-05-2014, 08:30 AM
looks like things could get a lot worse for him as well
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-27265696
Following his sentencing, police have revealed more potential victims have come forward to make fresh allegations.
given he's 71 years old he could potentially spend the rest of his puff in the clink, how the mighty have fallen
03-05-2014, 09:00 AM
Nae luck.
Absolute ****, deserves every day he spends in jail and then some.
03-05-2014, 04:45 PM
If Max Clifford is so good at PR, how come everybody thinks he's a ****?*
* c. Somebody Else.
06-05-2014, 10:28 PM
and here's another one that will most likely spend his last days in jail
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-27291032
Ex-BBC presenter Stuart Hall has admitted indecently assaulting a girl under 16 but denies 20 further charges.
:bitchy:
i wonder how this one will get on
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-27294828
Entertainer Rolf Harris has arrived at court, where he is due to stand trial on 12 counts of indecent assault.
The 84-year-old, from Bray, Berkshire, was accompanied at Southwark Crown Court by his wife, Alwen Hughes, and a security team.
17-05-2014, 12:10 PM
Louis Theroux posted a very interesting piece on Facebook on Ftiday regarding time he spent working with Max Clifford in 2002.
Well worth taking the time to read imo.
17-05-2014, 12:16 PM
Louis Theroux posted a very interesting piece on Facebook on Ftiday regarding time he spent working with Max Clifford in 2002.
Is it available anywhere else? I don't do Facebook but if like to read this.
18-05-2014, 07:15 AM
Is it available anywhere else? I don't do Facebook but if like to read this.
Here ya go:
I was on holiday when the Max Clifford verdict came down, driving an RV up the California coast. When I got back into the office I spent 50 minutes re-watching the documentary I made on him in 2002.
The rationale for the show was that I was interested in the world of “spin” and wanted “the king of kiss and tell” to be my guide. Tongue slightly in cheek, in the opening scene, I tell Max I might be interested in retaining his services to take my career to the next level. I want the cover of a national newspaper, I say. “That’s easy,” he replies. We attend a series of low-wattage media events. A young Simon Cowell – then Max’s client - wanders in and out of view, taking meetings with Max, doing celebrity appearances to promote Max’s pet causes, and grappling with the perils of his new-found fame and (apparently) a back-catalogue of old flames keen to share the secrets of their nights of passion.
Max comes across as an odd mixture of playfulness and menace. He enjoys the cut and thrust of our repartee and he likes to tease, but there’s a stolid quality to his humour. His constant vigilance and suspicion gives him the air of an upscale nightclub bouncer who’s taken a course on irony. At a hospital for a charity event we meet a hoard of hormonal teenage girls waiting for the boyband Westlife to arrive. Max says to me, very flat: “They heard you were coming”. In another scene, in the back of a car, he tells a friend - on speakerphone so that I can hear - that I've confessed to him that I had a sexual relationship with Christine Hamilton. It’s not funny; it is slightly peculiar.
Halfway through the film, it emerges that Max has been stage-managing a fake relationship between Simon Cowell and a lapdancer for the consumption of the tabloids. This is the moment the mood of the documentary changes. On camera I call Max on his fabrication. He’s clearly irked. “Let’s put it this way,” he says, rocking back in his chair in the kitchen of his show-home in Surrey. “I don’t intend to make it easy for you.” He retaliates by placing stories in the press about me. He arranges for me to do an interview with Simon at Spearmint Rhino but it’s a pretext to get me photographed by paparazzi. My visit to the lap-dancing club becomes a full-page story in the Mirror.
And so it goes on, with Max orchestrating press events while denying all the while that he’s doing so. The documentary ends with Max stomping off in a huff in a supermarket after I overhear him plotting on his radio mike. Not that he was saying anything especially damaging but it clearly stung him that someone with a reputation as an arch-media manipulator might get caught out in such an elementary way.
Watching the show dredged up a lot of memories. It was one of the most stressful filming experiences I’ve had. I didn’t enjoy being the subject of Max’s stories. I found it hard not to resent him. For his part, when we showed him the film in his New Bond Street offices, he didn’t like it. “You know what you’ve done, and one day I’ll get you back,” was his attitude. For a while I lived in a low level of anxiety that one of Fleet Streets “machers” had a grudge against me, which might come due at any time.
A few years later, I read in a profile in the Observer that Max was a devotee of sex parties. In the article, he boasted about his bedroom conquests. This came as a surprise. I’d met his wife Liz and his daughter Louise during filming and assumed they had a conventional family existence. Then, a few years after that, I heard that Max’s name had come up in the Yewtree investigation. I was shocked. It’s well known that there were dark rumours about Jimmy Savile. So far as I knew, this was never the case with Max Clifford.
Watching my old documentary I looked for signs of Max’s secret life. In our encounters, Max is pugnacious. He radiates a sense of personal power. When called upon, he lies. But he doesn’t just lie: he lies with seeming equanimity. I remember thinking at the time that it was possible Max enjoyed lying.
Max’s shenanigans on the speakerphone in the back of the car resonated, in a small way, with the accounts of victims, several of whom described him pulling pranks on the phone during his offences.
More generally, it was clear looking back on it that Max’s world revolved around sex: covering up unwanted sex stories by creating other, fictitious sex stories. Sex was a currency for him and I suppose it is not a massive leap to see that trafficking in kiss-and-tell and “honeytraps” might lead to a coarse and desensitized attitude to sex generally.
Of course sexual assault is a much more serious matter. During the trial, I read how Max had imposed himself on vulnerable young women - in toilets and in a Jacuzzi and in the back of his car. The frightening possibility occurred to me that Max did it, in part, because he knew he could get away with it. A well-known book critic once told me his lashing of Max Clifford’s autobiographical effort was one of the only reviews he’d ever had spiked, on the grounds that Max was someone his paper couldn’t afford to make an enemy of. It’s worrying to think that Max’s ability to deliver tabloid stories may have shielded him for decades.
I’m sorry I couldn’t have shed more light on Max’s secret. I wish I’d heard from his victims while I was making the documentary, or afterwards.
After that last meeting with Max in his office, I never had any more dealings with him; I never met him again. I seem to recall there were some unflattering references to me in his autobiography but I don’t remember the specifics.
One detail that struck many people after the trial was that Max refused to apologize to his victims. He continued to denounce them as liars and fantasists. It was an incalculably smaller affair, but it did remind me of my own experience with him, when he’d been caught plotting on his wireless mike. I told him I’d overheard everything he said. Against all the evidence, he insisted he’d known he was on mike the whole time.
And so that show's last line of commentary was oddly prescient: “The curious thing was that when caught out he wouldn’t come clean, and I wasn’t sure he ever would.”
18-05-2014, 10:37 AM
Here ya go:
I was on holiday when the Max Clifford verdict came down, driving an RV up the California coast. When I got back into the office I spent 50 minutes re-watching the documentary I made on him in 2002.
The rationale for the show was that I was interested in the world of “spin” and wanted “the king of kiss and tell” to be my guide. Tongue slightly in cheek, in the opening scene, I tell Max I might be interested in retaining his services to take my career to the next level. I want the cover of a national newspaper, I say. “That’s easy,” he replies. We attend a series of low-wattage media events. A young Simon Cowell – then Max’s client - wanders in and out of view, taking meetings with Max, doing celebrity appearances to promote Max’s pet causes, and grappling with the perils of his new-found fame and (apparently) a back-catalogue of old flames keen to share the secrets of their nights of passion.
Max comes across as an odd mixture of playfulness and menace. He enjoys the cut and thrust of our repartee and he likes to tease, but there’s a stolid quality to his humour. His constant vigilance and suspicion gives him the air of an upscale nightclub bouncer who’s taken a course on irony. At a hospital for a charity event we meet a hoard of hormonal teenage girls waiting for the boyband Westlife to arrive. Max says to me, very flat: “They heard you were coming”. In another scene, in the back of a car, he tells a friend - on speakerphone so that I can hear - that I've confessed to him that I had a sexual relationship with Christine Hamilton. It’s not funny; it is slightly peculiar.
Halfway through the film, it emerges that Max has been stage-managing a fake relationship between Simon Cowell and a lapdancer for the consumption of the tabloids. This is the moment the mood of the documentary changes. On camera I call Max on his fabrication. He’s clearly irked. “Let’s put it this way,” he says, rocking back in his chair in the kitchen of his show-home in Surrey. “I don’t intend to make it easy for you.” He retaliates by placing stories in the press about me. He arranges for me to do an interview with Simon at Spearmint Rhino but it’s a pretext to get me photographed by paparazzi. My visit to the lap-dancing club becomes a full-page story in the Mirror.
And so it goes on, with Max orchestrating press events while denying all the while that he’s doing so. The documentary ends with Max stomping off in a huff in a supermarket after I overhear him plotting on his radio mike. Not that he was saying anything especially damaging but it clearly stung him that someone with a reputation as an arch-media manipulator might get caught out in such an elementary way.
Watching the show dredged up a lot of memories. It was one of the most stressful filming experiences I’ve had. I didn’t enjoy being the subject of Max’s stories. I found it hard not to resent him. For his part, when we showed him the film in his New Bond Street offices, he didn’t like it. “You know what you’ve done, and one day I’ll get you back,” was his attitude. For a while I lived in a low level of anxiety that one of Fleet Streets “machers” had a grudge against me, which might come due at any time.
A few years later, I read in a profile in the Observer that Max was a devotee of sex parties. In the article, he boasted about his bedroom conquests. This came as a surprise. I’d met his wife Liz and his daughter Louise during filming and assumed they had a conventional family existence. Then, a few years after that, I heard that Max’s name had come up in the Yewtree investigation. I was shocked. It’s well known that there were dark rumours about Jimmy Savile. So far as I knew, this was never the case with Max Clifford.
Watching my old documentary I looked for signs of Max’s secret life. In our encounters, Max is pugnacious. He radiates a sense of personal power. When called upon, he lies. But he doesn’t just lie: he lies with seeming equanimity. I remember thinking at the time that it was possible Max enjoyed lying.
Max’s shenanigans on the speakerphone in the back of the car resonated, in a small way, with the accounts of victims, several of whom described him pulling pranks on the phone during his offences.
More generally, it was clear looking back on it that Max’s world revolved around sex: covering up unwanted sex stories by creating other, fictitious sex stories. Sex was a currency for him and I suppose it is not a massive leap to see that trafficking in kiss-and-tell and “honeytraps” might lead to a coarse and desensitized attitude to sex generally.
Of course sexual assault is a much more serious matter. During the trial, I read how Max had imposed himself on vulnerable young women - in toilets and in a Jacuzzi and in the back of his car. The frightening possibility occurred to me that Max did it, in part, because he knew he could get away with it. A well-known book critic once told me his lashing of Max Clifford’s autobiographical effort was one of the only reviews he’d ever had spiked, on the grounds that Max was someone his paper couldn’t afford to make an enemy of. It’s worrying to think that Max’s ability to deliver tabloid stories may have shielded him for decades.
I’m sorry I couldn’t have shed more light on Max’s secret. I wish I’d heard from his victims while I was making the documentary, or afterwards.
After that last meeting with Max in his office, I never had any more dealings with him; I never met him again. I seem to recall there were some unflattering references to me in his autobiography but I don’t remember the specifics.
One detail that struck many people after the trial was that Max refused to apologize to his victims. He continued to denounce them as liars and fantasists. It was an incalculably smaller affair, but it did remind me of my own experience with him, when he’d been caught plotting on his wireless mike. I told him I’d overheard everything he said. Against all the evidence, he insisted he’d known he was on mike the whole time.
And so that show's last line of commentary was oddly prescient: “The curious thing was that when caught out he wouldn’t come clean, and I wasn’t sure he ever would.”
Thanks, decent wee read. I like Louis Theroux.
21-06-2014, 04:45 PM
Who the hell next?! Since the revelations about Saville came out there has just been one after the other. Perhaps thats the only positive to come out of the digusting Saville story, now many victims have the courage to speak up and be believed.
Absolutely disgusting. These people think because they have a celebrity status and a bit of money it gives them a god given right to do whatever they like and that somehow they are above the law.
bobbyhibs1983
22-06-2014, 12:29 PM
Who the hell next?! Since the revelations about Saville came out there has just been one after the other. Perhaps thats the only positive to come out of the digusting Saville story, now many victims have the courage to speak up and be believed.
Absolutely disgusting. These people think because they have a celebrity status and a bit of money it gives them a god given right to do whatever they like and that somehow they are above the law.
I cannot say how hard it would be for real victims to come forward with there terriable experince but i think it works both ways with respect sexual assaults/rape.
Can you iamgen being famous and having alot of attention from the public and you say no to a feamle and all of a sudden she says you raped her?
It is a terriable thing to happen and living with that *stigma* of being falsely accoused of rape/sexual assult,. even if you are found INNOCENT is a long road.
May i say though that the people who have been rapped/sexual assaulted DO have my sympathy and understanding.
24-06-2014, 09:16 AM
i had a funny feeling the video of it would be somewhere on the WWW
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xycn16_wlm-s02e04-max-clifford_lifestyle
30-06-2014, 01:56 PM
Rolf Harris found guilty as well
Entertainer Rolf Harris, 84, found guilty of indecent assaults at UK court
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-28094561
02-07-2014, 08:32 AM
Rolf Harris found guilty as well
Entertainer Rolf Harris, 84, found guilty of indecent assaults at UK court
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-28094561
Harris get 5 years and 9 months
04-07-2014, 12:28 PM
Half his sentence in jail and half on license.
Got to say out of all the people exposed Harris is probably the most shocking to me, he hid his dark side exceptionally well imo.
04-07-2014, 12:30 PM
Half his sentence in jail and half on license.
Got to say out of all the people exposed Harris is probably the most shocking to me, he hid his dark side exceptionally well imo.
:agree: You couldn't see what it was until the very last minute.
04-07-2014, 12:33 PM
:agree: You couldn't see what it was until the very last minute.
I know this is a serious subject but that made me chuckle. :tee hee:
04-07-2014, 04:49 PM
I cannot say how hard it would be for real victims to come forward with there terriable experince but i think it works both ways with respect sexual assaults/rape.
Can you iamgen being famous and having alot of attention from the public and you say no to a feamle and all of a sudden she says you raped her?
It is a terriable thing to happen and living with that *stigma* of being falsely accoused of rape/sexual assult,. even if you are found INNOCENT is a long road.
May i say though that the people who have been rapped/sexual assaulted DO have my sympathy and understanding.
Yea absolutely, it only takes one girl to cry rape and thats a mans life ruined even if he is completely innocent. And it's because of some women falsely crying rape that there are many women and young girls out there who DO get raped and they aren't believed.
06-07-2014, 12:20 AM
I know this is a serious subject but that made me chuckle. :tee hee:
10-12-2017, 02:48 PM
died earlier today
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-42300593
Disgraced celebrity publicist Max Clifford has died in hospital, aged 74, after collapsing in prison.
Clifford collapsed in his cell at Littlehey Prison in Cambridgeshire on Thursday and again on Friday, his daughter said. He was taken to hospital where he suffered a cardiac arrest.
WestStandWillie
10-12-2017, 03:59 PM
died earlier today
Disgraced celebrity publicist Max Clifford has died in hospital, aged 74, after collapsing in prison.
Clifford collapsed in his cell at Littlehey Prison in Cambridgeshire on Thursday and again on Friday, his daughter said. He was taken to hospital where he suffered a cardiac arrest.
Shame....said nae yin!
10-12-2017, 04:45 PM
Can only imagine what a sycophantic outpouring there would have been had he not been found out.
Indeed.never liked him thought he had over played his job and seemed to be popping up (Scuse pun) everywhere. I'm sure he will still make the headlines but they will be pretty relentless in their condemnation of him. Strange as they used to idolise him to get a story.
10-12-2017, 08:53 PM
died earlier today
Convicted sex offender max clifford has died......would have been the better headline.