View Full Version : bbc journalist before the game and why I had a go at him.

doddsy
28-04-2014, 12:51 PM
Just before I entered the ground at 1215pm yesterday, I heard brian mcglaughlin interviewing Gary kisscock.

He was asking Kisscock whether it was true or not if the yams were signing Kevin Thomson soon.

when I was seated near the away dugout in the main stand, brian mglaughlin happened to pass me by on the steps.

I immediately said to him 'you could nt try to be a bit more unbiased could you' and I said a number of other things as to how yamboidish

the bbc is with no hibs fans as chundits and it was mostly yamboids. he replied that he disagreed with me so I told him to literally get lost.

I felt good about raising my voice and opinion even if it was to a haufwiited yamboidish tabloist. was I right or stupit?

28-04-2014, 12:55 PM
Just before I entered the ground at 1215pm yesterday, I heard brian mcglaughlin interviewing Gary kisscock.

He was asking Kisscock whether it was true or not if the yams were signing Kevin Thomson soon.

when I was seated near the away dugout in the main stand, brian mglaughlin happened to pass me by on the steps.

I immediately said to him 'you could nt try to be a bit more unbiased could you' and I said a number of other things as to how yamboidish

the bbc is with no hibs fans as chundits and it was mostly yamboids. he replied that he disagreed with me so I told him to literally get lost.

I felt good about raising my voice and opinion even if it was to a haufwiited yamboidish tabloist. was I right or stupit?

Quite right Doddsy ! Get him telt ! :greengrin

28-04-2014, 01:13 PM
He's only doing his job.

28-04-2014, 01:14 PM
[/B]
Quite right Doddsy ! Get him telt ! :greengrin
Rod next please

28-04-2014, 01:24 PM
Kisscock? Are you 8?

28-04-2014, 01:33 PM

Craig Paterson ?:confused:

chuckberry
28-04-2014, 01:33 PM

Deary deary me.

28-04-2014, 01:48 PM
It took me way too much time to figure out who Gary Kisscock was. Can we just refer to him as Gary "Goan darling, pish on ma napper" Locke in future?

28-04-2014, 01:50 PM

I felt good about raising my voice and opinion even if it was to a haufwiited yamboidish tabloist. was I right or stupit?Yamboids ...... Wow

28-04-2014, 01:53 PM
.... was I right or stupit?

I'll go with the latter

Try to keep in mind, you did ask :wink:

28-04-2014, 01:58 PM
To translate: The guy had a wee go at a BBC journalist because he thinks the BBC are bias towards hearts.

That's OK.

28-04-2014, 02:10 PM
I'm sick and tired of listening to McLaughlin's obviously biased views and annoyed that he seems to get free air time to express them at any time, but not sure if I would have taken as drastic action as that!

28-04-2014, 02:11 PM
I'm sick and tired of listening to McLaughlin's obviously biased views and annoyed that he seems to get free air time to express them at any time, but not sure if I would have taken as drastic action as that!

Moaning at the guy as he passed on the stairs is hardly drastic action. I'd have knocked his pie out of his hand as well.

28-04-2014, 02:17 PM
Brian is not interested unless he's talking about his favourite team, i.e. the yams. Well done pal. It's time Hibs and some of their fans grew a set. We've been too nice as a club to everyone for far too long. We get treated like s**** by the yams and their pals in the media.

28-04-2014, 02:20 PM
Brian is not interested unless he's talking about his favourite team, i.e. the yams. Well done pal. It's time Hibs and some of their fans grew a set. We've been too nice as a club to everyone for far too long. We get treated like s**** by the yams and their pals in the media.
Good points, and good point by Geo1875 too. In retrospect I probably would knock the pie out of his hand too.

28-04-2014, 02:27 PM
I suppose it is only natural that a Journo , just the same as anyone else, should " support" one team.
However I have been in McLaughlin's company at two or three sporting " do's" and he is not the most interesting person to spend time with/ listening to .
He just can't hide his affinity with the PBS crowd either . :faf:

28-04-2014, 02:30 PM

Really? Can you give some examples. I know that Yam journos maybe back their team, but I can't think of any that have been negative about Hibs.

28-04-2014, 02:34 PM
Although I have done something similar in my younger day - fronted Andy Goram in the Minto Hotel re his comments about Hibs after joining Rangers - I wouldn't lower myself anymore! Bunch of hacks seeking their fifteen minutes of fame and not worth the binary code on their blogs!

The Hibee Harp
28-04-2014, 02:36 PM
Although I have done something similar in my younger day - fronted Andy Goram in the Minto Hotel re his comments about Hibs after joining Rangers - I wouldn't lower myself anymore! Bunch of hacks seeking their fifteen minutes of fame and not worth the binary code on their blogs!

Out of interest did Goram say anything back?

28-04-2014, 02:38 PM
Nothing much, he was pissed! Body language said it all and he shrugged off most of it.

28-04-2014, 02:41 PM
Who the hell is Kisscock?

28-04-2014, 02:48 PM
Who the hell is Kisscock?

i think it might be Gary Locke.

28-04-2014, 02:50 PM
Really? Can you give some examples. I know that Yam journos maybe back their team, but I can't think of any that have been negative about Hibs.

Have you ever read some of the articles written by Stuart Bathgate in the Scotsman, or listened to Allan Preston talking about Hibs on the radio? I'm afraid I haven't got the time or inclination to try to recall specific examples for you. I do know someone who emailed the Scotsman to complain about an article written by Bathgate which, to him, was so one sided and anti-Hibs he felt he had to complain. The announcer at PBS takes the p***. Our announcer gets the sack. Cannot recall exactly what his sackable offence was. Maybe you remember?

28-04-2014, 02:50 PM
i think it might be Gary Locke.

Aah. I get it now. I think.

28-04-2014, 02:58 PM
Have you ever read some of the articles written by Stuart Bathgate in the Scotsman, or listened to Allan Preston talking about Hibs on the radio? I'm afraid I haven't got the time or inclination to try to recall specific examples for you. I do know someone who emailed the Scotsman to complain about an article written by Bathgate which, to him, was so one sided and anti-Hibs he felt he had to complain. The announcer at PBS takes the p***. Our announcer gets the sack. Cannot recall exactly what his sackable offence was. Maybe you remember?

Does Biscuits count as a journalist, or the announcer at the PBS?

I understand you are busy, but as I said I wasn't aware of what negative things have been written about Hibs, it would have been helpful if you could have given an example.

Our announcer got the sack because he played "Taxman" before a derby. He isn't a journalist though. Although it is a glaring example of anti-Hibs bias, at the heart of Hibs.

28-04-2014, 03:07 PM
Mclaughlin had come into the lower tier of the West to interview fans. I blanked him as did a few folk. He left red faced.

That must have been you Doddsy sitting behind me.

Your point to him was put over very well. He got the message .

I twatted BEEB Sportsound to look down from the press box at their colleague being hunted by the Hibbies for their bias.

Thoroughly enjoyed the exchange. :)

28-04-2014, 03:12 PM

I understand you are busy, but as I said I wasn't aware of what negative things have been written about Hibs, it would have been helpful if you could have given an example.

Our announcer got the sack because he played "Taxman" before a derby. He isn't a journalist though. Although it is a glaring example of anti-Hibs bias, at the heart of Hibs. Yup our announcer was sacked for doing something he was explicitly told not to do. WTF is the world coming to?

28-04-2014, 03:13 PM

Our announcer got the sack because he played "Taxman" before a derby. He isn't a journalist though. Although it is a glaring example of anti-Hibs bias, at the heart of Hibs.

Sure, I agree the announcer wasn't a journalist. I was just trying to use this as an example of Hibs as a club being too nice to everyone. In this case if someone might have taken offence at the playing of "Taxman" (as you reminded me).

28-04-2014, 03:18 PM

He was told by his employer not to do something and went ahead and did it anyway.

28-04-2014, 03:27 PM
He was told by his employer not to do something and went ahead and did it anyway.

Seems a bit over the top IMO. Was it because he played that particular track and someone (wonder who?) felt it would cause offence to another club? No wonder Hibs are laughed at as being a walk over.

28-04-2014, 03:30 PM
Seems a bit over the top IMO. Was it because he played that particular track and someone (wonder who?) felt it would cause offence to another club? No wonder Hibs are laughed at as being a walk over.

Aye, but we've got to be nice to everybody else while they take a massive ***** on us. It seems to be our way.

28-04-2014, 03:31 PM

Who laughs at us for being a walkover?

It's not OTT. Deliberatly disobeying a direct instruction from a senior manager is insubordination, which is gross misconduct, which is a sackable offence.

28-04-2014, 03:32 PM

The only people I ever see laughing at Hibs as walk overs are posters on here.

28-04-2014, 03:33 PM
Aye, but we've got to be nice to everybody else while they take a massive ***** on us. It seems to be our way.

Why don't you give yourself a break from the self loathing? It isn't doing your sanity any good.

28-04-2014, 03:36 PM
Who laughs at us for being a walkover?

It's not OTT. Deliberatly disobeying a direct instruction from a senior manager is insubordination, which is gross misconduct, which is a sackable offence.

Try the 3,800 jams in the South Stand on Sunday for starters.

28-04-2014, 03:37 PM

It seems you specialise in taking a massive ***** on the club at every opportunity.

You pop up on thread after thread having a pop about everything and anything. We should be pulling together now the play off threat is so real not looking to take pot shots.

With friends like these who needs enemies and all that.

28-04-2014, 03:39 PM

It will be a cold day in hell before I start worrying or caring about what Hearts fans think.

28-04-2014, 03:40 PM

Who gives a **** what those half wits think.

28-04-2014, 03:40 PM

Nonsense. Do you not have any friends or workmates who are Hearts supporters? Do you really believe that they are not laughing at Hibs, and don't think we are a walk over? A guy who works beside me supports Dundee Utd. He said the same.

28-04-2014, 03:43 PM
It will be a cold day in hell before I start worrying or caring about what Hearts fans think.

What I care about is my team being seen as soft and a walk over. I don't really give a s*** who it's by.

28-04-2014, 03:44 PM
Nonsense. Do you not have any friends or workmates who are Hearts supporters? Do you really believe that they are not laughing at Hibs, and don't think we are a walk over? A guy who works beside me supports Dundee Utd. He said the same.

Awww have those nasty Hearts fans been calling you bad names and laughing at us? Who gives a **** what they say?

28-04-2014, 03:48 PM
What I care about is my team being seen as soft and a walk over. I don't really give a s*** who it's by.

Do you not think that getting all worked up about what Hearts and Dundee Utd fans think is a bit, well, soft?

28-04-2014, 03:49 PM

He was laughing about your 'chat' afterwards and to be fair didn't say anything bad about you - he gets it quite regularly. That was 10 before kick off, you seated to left of away dug out ? BM took it in good spirits.

28-04-2014, 03:51 PM

I think a good few of them are Yams.

28-04-2014, 03:53 PM
Awww have those nasty Hearts fans been calling you bad names and laughing at us? Who gives a **** what they say?

OK lets call it a day on this. I'm not looking for an argument about it. I can deal with Hearts fans calling me bad names, don't worry. It's not about me though. It's about Hibs. Especially now, when we are in a relegation dogfight, we as a club have to be much tougher and shed the nice image.

28-04-2014, 03:54 PM
I think a good few of them are Yams.

I hope you are not including me in that. I have supported Hibs, through thick and thin, for a long long time.

28-04-2014, 03:56 PM
Sure, I agree the announcer wasn't a journalist. I was just trying to use this as an example of Hibs as a club being too nice to everyone. In this case if someone might have taken offence at the playing of "Taxman" (as you reminded me).

I was ****ing incandescent. Everyone knows Rubber Soul is the better album!!!

Interesting how you're drifting away from the suggestion that journalists have got it in for Hibs, and subtly changing tack to "Hibs are too nice to everyone".

I can't think why the Jambos would have taken offence to the song. They the debt free and all that. But Jambos are weird weird people, trolling around the edges of society, desperate for someone to pay attention to them.

28-04-2014, 04:03 PM
Do you not think that getting all worked up about what Hearts and Dundee Utd fans think is a bit, well, soft?

Yep, that's me mate. A softie. :greengrin Lets call it a day on this one shall we.

28-04-2014, 04:05 PM
Yep, that's me mate. A softie. :greengrin Lets call it a day on this one shall we.

Seems sensible to me.

28-04-2014, 04:05 PM
I was ****ing incandescent. Everyone knows Rubber Soul is the better album!!!

Interesting how you're drifting away from the suggestion that journalists have got it in for Hibs, and subtly changing tack to "Hibs are too nice to everyone".

I can't think why the Jambos would have taken offence to the song. They the debt free and all that. But Jambos are weird weird people, trolling around the edges of society, desperate for someone to pay attention to them.

I agree with your third point! Time to call it a day on this one. :wink:

28-04-2014, 04:09 PM
I agree with your third point! Time to call it a day on this one. :wink:

28-04-2014, 04:13 PM
To translate: The guy had a wee go at a BBC journalist because he thinks the BBC are bias towards hearts.

That's OK.

I'm fine with that where the BBC clown in question is confirmed, yet the BBC aren't even the worst. The Yam fanzine trading under the name of Edinburgh Evening News is a total disgrace.

28-04-2014, 04:20 PM
He's only doing his job.

But not objectively, he is a sports journalist(in the loosest possible meaning of the term) paid for by the licence payer. Not a hearts journalist paid for by them. He'd do well to remember it. An erse as well like.

28-04-2014, 04:26 PM
He was not an employee of Hibs, the company he worked for had a contract with Hibs and seemingly the contract was terminated.

28-04-2014, 05:16 PM
He was not an employee of Hibs, the company he worked for had a contract with Hibs and seemingly the contract was terminated.

I didn't say he was directly employed by Hibs.

28-04-2014, 05:21 PM
I don't buy this idea of the BBC being "anti-Hibs".

All sounds a bit old-firm-esque.

28-04-2014, 05:51 PM
Bbc Scotland's anti hibs bias is comical. They invariably have Alan Preston at the games and he of course gives a balanced view. NOT. The whole sportsound team seem to be revelling in hibs struggles whereas when the dons were at the bottom there was plenty of backing for them. The likes of spiers and English gloss over hertz not paying over Ģ28m of money they have now avoided paying and laughably feel sorry for them. There is no point in listening to it as the likes of Brian mcglauchlan have shown with his pathetic pieces of journalism that a balanced programme is a million miles away which explains the huge drop of in people listening to sportsound. Unfortunately there is no other sports broadcasters in Scotland and if there were the numbers listening to sportsound would be minimal. It's been a joke for so long now and they will soon be in a frenzy with hertz and rangers in the championship which will probably get as much coverage as the spfl next season as the bigot brothers try to cheat their way to promotion. Makes my blood boil just thinking about it. Rant over.

28-04-2014, 05:56 PM

All sounds a bit old-firm-esque.

Don't buy it then. You can save your money, listen in and educate yourself. Won't take long.

Colonel_HFC
28-04-2014, 06:22 PM
Kisscock? Are you 8?

I think even an 8 year old would find "Kisscock" ridiculous! That is actually one of the funniest unintentionally funny posts ever, just because of that one "word"...

28-04-2014, 06:33 PM
Don't buy it then. You can save your money, listen in and educate yourself. Won't take long.

In the Mowbray days we were quite rightly praised as a club for our exciting football and the fact that we were producing talent. Did the BBC have an anti-Hibs bias then?

Somehow I think the reason we get slated is because we do neither of these things now (maybe Stanton, Forster etc. will change that...we'll see).

28-04-2014, 06:53 PM

Journos will be used to getting stick,dont see anything wrong with what you asked,did a journo no get a smack in the face from jim mclean when he asked a queation once ??

28-04-2014, 06:58 PM
In the Mowbray days we were quite rightly praised as a club for our exciting football and the fact that we were producing talent. Did the BBC have an anti-Hibs bias then?

No, not to the extent there is now although I do remember Mowbray's side were treated as a flash in the pan, and any real praise was left to the least third of the season.

The current bias stretches back to Collin's departure and the players going to Petrie's house, that and the sudden influx of pro-Jambo "reporters" on the banter-ridden Open All Mics which Richard Gordon is perfectly happy to feed.

Somehow I think the reason we get slated is because we do neither of these things now (maybe Stanton, Forster etc. will change that...we'll see).

So you do agree we get slated, although the chat on Hibs on Sportsound doesn't revolve around the lack of young players coming through in fact they praise our current youngsters.

I hear s******ing/occasionally cheering when Hibs lose a goal, "concerned" tones when Hibs score, constant harking back to the visit to Petrie's house, zero discussion on the amount of weird decisions against us in derby's - amongst other manifestations of blatant bias against Hibs.

What slating do you hear?

28-04-2014, 07:10 PM

You're right, of course, but you're wasting your time.

28-04-2014, 07:14 PM
You're right, of course, but you're wasting your time.

Really?

28-04-2014, 07:20 PM
No, not to the extent there is now although I do remember Mowbray's side were treated as a flash in the pan, and any real praise was left to the least third of the season.

The current bias stretches back to Collin's departure and the players going to Petrie's house, that and the sudden influx of pro-Jambo "reporters" on the banter-ridden Open All Mics which Richard Gordon is perfectly happy to feed.

So you do agree we get slated, although the chat on Hibs on Sportsound doesn't revolve around the lack of young players coming through in fact they praise our current youngsters.

I hear s******ing/occasionally cheering when Hibs lose a goal, "concerned" tones when Hibs score, constant harking back to the visit to Petrie's house, zero discussion on the amount of weird decisions against us in derby's - amongst other manifestations of blatant bias against Hibs.

What slating do you hear?

Maybe, we get it worse than most other clubs in a similar position simply because we're one of the top 5 most supported clubs in the country and we come from the capital. For this reason there will obviously be more attention than what Kilmarnock or Ross County will get.

And the pundits are hardly wrong either. The meeting at Petrie's house probably was a turning point. We're always looking for the reasons behind our downfall on this forum, do you expect pundits not to do the same? The meeting gets discussed on here every day too.

28-04-2014, 07:23 PM
Who gives a **** what those half wits think.

A great deal of the negativity around the club in recent years is due to fans who care more about losing face to Hearts than Hibs doing well. In fact, I'd argue that is the biggest factor in Fenlon leaving when he did. (I'm not saying he was a messiah, but changing things at that time was, in retrospect, no good for Hibs or Butcher)

28-04-2014, 07:26 PM
This seems to me to have got worse since Petrie talking about sporting integrity on the BBC when he went after rangers. Don't think the rangers sycophants at the BBC were pleased with that and we all know that hearts just want to be rangers.

28-04-2014, 07:28 PM
By the way, since when were Scottish football hacks bothered about the way teams played? They've been kind to a few desperately boring teams. I think you'll find the hard time Pat got was mostly to do with the fact he had no time for the media. If he were to have had leaked them snippets of info or exclusives, they would have puckered up appropriately.

28-04-2014, 07:28 PM
Really?

Yup. We're one of the bigger clubs in Scotland. We get praised when doing well (e.g., Mowbray, CIS Cup final) and get slated when we're underperforming. It's not like the BBC is slaughtering us whilst our support is collectively lauding how well we're doing.

AndyM_1875
28-04-2014, 07:29 PM
Bbc Scotland's anti hibs bias is comical. They invariably have Alan Preston at the games and he of course gives a balanced view. NOT. The whole sportsound team seem to be revelling in hibs struggles whereas when the dons were at the bottom there was plenty of backing for them. The likes of spiers and English gloss over hertz not paying over Ģ28m of money they have now avoided paying and laughably feel sorry for them. There is no point in listening to it as the likes of Brian mcglauchlan have shown with his pathetic pieces of journalism that a balanced programme is a million miles away which explains the huge drop of in people listening to sportsound. Unfortunately there is no other sports broadcasters in Scotland and if there were the numbers listening to sportsound would be minimal. It's been a joke for so long now and they will soon be in a frenzy with hertz and rangers in the championship which will probably get as much coverage as the spfl next season as the bigot brothers try to cheat their way to promotion. Makes my blood boil just thinking about it. Rant over.

I appreciate what your saying. Yes Hearts are treated differently from Hibs on Sportsound. They get sympathy for their self inflicted plight and we get sneered at & patronised by their panels of "unbiased" experts who include Biscuits & Fat Robbo. Craig Paterson rarely covers a Hibs game.

The rest of the time Sportsound reeks with pro Celtic & Aberdeen guff that I just no longer listen to it.

28-04-2014, 07:34 PM
Yup. We're one of the bigger clubs in Scotland. We get praised when doing well (e.g., Mowbray, CIS Cup final) and get slated when we're underperforming. It's not like the BBC is slaughtering us whilst our support is collectively lauding how well we're doing.

I'd love to believe it's just paranoia on our part, and all the bigger clubs have the same analysis on them.

Wonder why hertz have got off effectively scot-free when it comes to all their shenanigans, Ģ70m worth, during the romanov years?

28-04-2014, 07:36 PM
We get slated by the bbc at the.moment because we are rubbish at the.moment!

28-04-2014, 07:45 PM
Maybe, we get it worse than most other clubs in a similar position simply because we're one of the top 5 most supported clubs in the country and we come from the capital. For this reason there will obviously be more attention than what Kilmarnock or Ross County will get.

I didn't ask for a reason why, I asked what specific slating you hear.

Not got a problem with them saying we are poor if we are (and we are). It's the sly digs and other things as I described above. Before that's fobbed off as "paranoia" the BBC itself acknowledges it goes on. People I know and people on here have complained and get a standard reply that it is "just banter". Wouldn't care if it was a newspaper or a commercial station but what goes on just shouldn't happen at the BBC.

And the pundits are hardly wrong either. The meeting at Petrie's house probably was a turning point. We're always looking for the reasons behind our downfall on this forum, do you expect pundits not to do the same? The meeting gets discussed on here every day too.

The meeting at Petrie's house has already been explained. The result was that RP told the players the manager was in charge and that they should do as they were told. That description doesn't seem to satisfy them and some on here, but it's harked back upon as though it was the sole scandal in Scottish football. I don't here any discussion on say, David Murray's input into the side contracts and just exactly how much Rangers expected back from the loans or just what exactly happened to all that money that was rifled through Hearts (or Livingston) and where did it come from. No hard time for those clubs despite things not being explained. I also don't hear three or four people cheering and/or laughing when Hearts/Aberdeen/Rangers lose a goal.

28-04-2014, 08:56 PM

All sounds a bit old-firm-esque. I do buy it, and I'd give it ten

28-04-2014, 09:01 PM
I do buy it, and I'd give it ten
:rules: Wasn't foive the maximum?

WHUHibs
28-04-2014, 09:06 PM

Actually Craig flitted between Rangers and Hibs at school,,,he settled on Hibs think it was also with his mate Stevie Brown who played with Hibs for a short time. Not 100% sure of Stevie who was from Bilston. Craig was a wonderful golfer, articulate and a head prefect, no wonder he chose Hibs:-))

28-04-2014, 09:15 PM
Actually Craig flitted between Rangers and Hibs at school,,,he settled on Hibs think it was also with his mate Stevie Brown who played with Hibs for a short time. Not 100% sure of Stevie who was from Bilston. Craig was a wonderful golfer, articulate and a head prefect, no wonder he chose Hibs:-))

Not sure he did flit between Rangers and Hibs (supporting sense) - he has been Hibs all his days. I lived next to him when he was at Hibs and when he got his move to Rangers. He's an absolute gentleman as you say. He was gutted to leave Hibs but delighted with the move and slightly better money......sold his house in Pekkynook weeks later. I'll stand corrected but I think his laddie is a season in the West ??

VivaHiberņa
28-04-2014, 09:21 PM
Just before I entered the ground at 1215pm yesterday, I heard brian mcglaughlin interviewing Gary kisscock. [...]

I know we've all had a good giggle at this, it's just so weird it's hilarious, but on a serious note can we avoid the casual homophobia please?

28-04-2014, 09:27 PM

Oh my days! KT signing for hertz?

Is that the reaction you were after?

Stax
28-04-2014, 09:30 PM
Not sure he did flit between Rangers and Hibs (supporting sense) - he has been Hibs all his days. I lived next to him when he was at Hibs and when he got his move to Rangers. He's an absolute gentleman as you say. He was gutted to leave Hibs but delighted with the move and slightly better money......sold his house in Pekkynook weeks later. I'll stand corrected but I think his laddie is a season in the West ??
I think his input amongst all the other "characters" on sportsound is always measured and unbiased. Sometimes I wish he would be a bit more partisan about us but unlike his fellow "pundits" he understands his remit and what the BBC should be about.

28-04-2014, 09:48 PM
I know we've all had a good giggle at this, it's just so weird it's hilarious, but on a serious note can we avoid the casual homophobia please?

FFS! Seriously?

Time to close this thread now.

28-04-2014, 09:50 PM

Homophobia?! More women do that than men (I reckon).

28-04-2014, 09:59 PM

Wow...

28-04-2014, 10:20 PM

28-04-2014, 10:23 PM

Definitely my favourite/most memorable post this year.

28-04-2014, 10:26 PM
I think his input amongst all the other "characters" on sportsound is always measured and unbiased. Sometimes I wish he would be a bit more partisan about us but unlike his fellow "pundits" he understands his remit and what the BBC should be about.

Not in his nature mate, he's also played for half the SPFL :greengrin he sums up Hibs....too nice :agree:

He is a lovely bloke, great pundit, impartial and always gives credit to those that deserve it - to be fair, wee Robbo on Sunday waited and shook every Hibs players hand, unlike the rest of their management.....don't think cameras would have picked that up. He is also a decent guy.......was raging before the game because of some Hearts goals record he has been denied because goals in BP cups etc didn't count......he came across as a bit of a fanny when he was telling everybody but :na na:

Jamie Walker is a bit of a sap though eh......fastest I've seen him run when he ran up the West to get the behind the South. Wee fuddly so he is.......sap of a laddie :agree:

the_ginger_hibee
28-04-2014, 10:29 PM

Nah, this post (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?282523-Interesting-couple-of-Tweets-from-our-former-Chief-Scout-over-the-weekend&p=3988599&viewfull=1#post3988599) was :faf:

Well played DH.

The original post on this thread was...baffling. Nice to see it being treated here and elsewhere (:greengrin) how it deserved.

VivaHiberņa
28-04-2014, 11:06 PM
FFS! Seriously?

Time to close this thread now.

Homophobia?! More women do that than men (I reckon).

Wow...

I don't want to completely derail this thread but...

"Kisscock" is clearly meant as an insult for Gary Locke, a man. Therefore, it is clearly that the implication is that there is something wrong with that and by extension, homosexuality. In that context, "kisscock" is homophobic.

I'm sure Doddsy meant nothing sinister by his joke and I'm not criticising him in that regard but wee throwaway comments like that are exactly the sort of thing that can make people uncomfortable and I'm merely suggesting that folk avoid that sort of comment in future. There's currently another thread going with the consensus being that Hibs are an all-inclusive club that do not make distinctions on the basis of religion or ancestry; this should be no different.

I'm sure this comes across to some as rampant PC-brigadism but imagine the response had someone made a similar comment regarding race. I hope you can see what I mean.

28-04-2014, 11:12 PM
I don't want to completely derail this thread but...

"Kisscock" is clearly meant as an insult for Gary Locke, a man. Therefore, it is clearly that the implication is that there is something wrong with that and by extension, homosexuality. In that context, "kisscock" is homophobic.

I'm sure Doddsy meant nothing sinister by his joke and I'm not criticising him in that regard but wee throwaway comments like that are exactly the sort of thing that can make people uncomfortable and I'm merely suggesting that folk avoid that sort of comment in future. There's currently another thread going with the consensus being that Hibs are an all-inclusive club that do not make distinctions on the basis of religion or ancestry; this should be no different.

I'm sure this comes across to some as rampant PC-brigadism but imagine the response had someone made a similar comment regarding race. I hope you can see what I mean.

VivaHiberņa
28-04-2014, 11:26 PM

Thanks for the constructive response.

I'm just saying that harmless banter to some is a sign of not being welcome to others and people do pick up on small things like that.

28-04-2014, 11:34 PM
Thanks for the constructive response.

I'm just saying that harmless banter to some is a sign of not being welcome to others and people do pick up on small things like that.

Fair enough.

As you said in your last post, I also don't want this thread to go off track so that's why my last post was so short.

My thoughts on the matter you raised was that the guy's use of "kisscock" was extremely cringeworthy and something I last heard when I was in Primary 6.

However I seriously can't be doing with the culture we're in at the moment of people picking up on the least little thing that someone says and trying to portray it as racist, homophobic, sectarian etc.

Does my head in and also doesn't do anything to aid the efforts of those who are trying to fight against genuine cases of said discrimination.

VivaHiberņa
29-04-2014, 12:07 AM
Fair enough.

As you said in your last post, I also don't want this thread to go off track so that's why my last post was so short.

My thoughts on the matter you raised was that the guy's use of "kisscock" was extremely cringeworthy and something I last heard when I was in Primary 6.

However I seriously can't be doing with the culture we're in at the moment of people picking up on the least little thing that someone says and trying to portray it as racist, homophobic, sectarian etc.

Does my head in and also doesn't do anything to aid the efforts of those who are trying to fight against genuine cases of said discrimination.

I can sympathise with that. I wasn't trying to call Doddsy homophobic but point out that his comment could be interpreted as such. There's no point in saying something that could upset someone, but I'm just repeating myself now so I'll shut up. :greengrin

29-04-2014, 05:46 AM
Yeah guys let's quit now with the casual racism.

29-04-2014, 06:11 AM
I can sympathise with that. I wasn't trying to call Doddsy homophobic but point out that his comment could be interpreted as such. There's no point in saying something that could upset someone, but I'm just repeating myself now so I'll shut up. :greengrin

Is it still subliminal homophobia if the inference is he kisses his own cock?

29-04-2014, 08:13 AM
Is it still subliminal homophobia if the inference is he kisses his own cock?

No. Could be triple-jointist though, depending on context. (For example, associating triple-jointedness with Locke, who's widely regarded as a watery deviant in affairs of the flesh.)

H18Y GW
29-04-2014, 12:04 PM

Pat Nevin

29-04-2014, 12:08 PM
Pat Nevin

Don't believe you.

All BBC pundits are Jambos. S'troo. Read it on here. :agree: