View Full Version : Full backs

26-04-2014, 08:18 PM
Who, in your opinion, was/is the best fullback pairing you have watched playing for Hibs.

For me it is Murphy and Whittaker.

26-04-2014, 08:20 PM
Sneddon and Tortollano!

Brownlie and Murphy

mon the cabbage
Who, in your opinion, was/is the best fullback pairing you have watched playing for Hibs.

For me it is Murphy and Whittaker.

I wish I was full back for Hibs tomorrow. Fact.

26-04-2014, 08:23 PM
Brownlie and Shades.

Quality.

shagpile
26-04-2014, 08:26 PM
Brownlie and Shades.

Quality.

Top quality.

Whitty & Murph second.

26-04-2014, 08:26 PM
I wish I was full back for Hibs tomorrow. Fact.

x

26-04-2014, 08:30 PM
Brownlie and Shades.

Quality.

this

Top quality.

and this

Whitty & Murph second.

26-04-2014, 08:34 PM
Brownlie and Murphy

Auld yin, pairing as in played together.

26-04-2014, 08:38 PM

Jonnyboy is just having a pleasant dream :wink:

Brownlie and Shades for me.

26-04-2014, 08:55 PM

Sorry for the delay, I was making my Horlicks :greengrin

Brownlie and Shades followed closely by Whitty and Murphy :agree:

26-04-2014, 08:58 PM
In my time, Whitty and Murph.

Badge
26-04-2014, 11:17 PM
Brownlie and Shades by a distance. Whittaker and Murphy were good but not in the same class as these two.

26-04-2014, 11:18 PM
Brownlie and Shades.

Quality.

27-04-2014, 12:18 AM
I started posting on here around two years after I first started viewing. Back then one of the commonplace threads was an ongoing raging debate about whether Whitty could cut it at RB or should be a midfielder :greengrin. Many, many posters on here didn't rate him as a fullback. I'm not saying it was anyone posting above this but the passing of time has certainly cemented his reputation :greengrin

I was always intrigued as to why he didn't get used in the middle of defence - as the more comfortable on the ball CH in a pairing. He's got enough height and he has good technique. Having seen the pen he gave away this weekend that maybe explains it though.......

For the avoidance of doubt I am definitely a Whitty fan. There are many, many moments that are in the frame for my favourites watching Hibs but one that will always rank very highly was his penalty box dribble in Dnipro. Just beautiful :not worth

27-04-2014, 12:26 AM
:hijack: I'm not trying to undermine the recent demise of Sandy Jardine. He was a fine footballer and by all accounts a first class human being. He was kept away from the Scotland RB spot by Danny McGrain so had to play at LB. Both Brownlie and Shaedler were better, man for man and Erich was an actual LB.

gegs70
27-04-2014, 12:38 AM
Murphy was one of the best left backs only lacked a little pace.

eggbamyasi
27-04-2014, 12:45 AM
I liked laursen and lovell . Wingbacks I guess but was great when both were on form de la cruz for a wee bit too . Also murphy and whitt were superb

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

27-04-2014, 12:50 AM
Brownlie and Shades.

Quality.

No contest.

sbell1875
27-04-2014, 09:03 AM
In terms of attacking threat I'd have to put De La Cruz up there. However, he couldn't defend a packet of Rolo's.

27-04-2014, 09:47 AM
Brownlie & Shades. No other pairing even comes remotely close.

27-04-2014, 10:30 AM
Maybury and McGivern...............:duck:

27-04-2014, 10:40 AM
Maybury and McGivern...............:duck:

After today

27-04-2014, 10:55 AM
Brownlie and Shades.

Quality.

Spot on ... no contest, really :thumbsup: