View Full Version : Relegation reality

26-04-2014, 02:58 PM
I can't quite believe I'm writing this but here goes...

If the worst happens and we finish 11th, what's the format for the playoff? A 2 leg home and away affair or a one off Final type game at a neutral venue?

Sad state of affairs but this is very much a reality for us.

I think is prefer a one off game.
We can't score so need to we'd obviously need to score at least once and having a 2 leg match would give our opponents that extra time to score more. - pretty grim.

26-04-2014, 03:00 PM
I'm keeping my head in the sand in this one, and hope it goes away!

26-04-2014, 03:04 PM
I can't quite believe I'm writing this but here goes...

If the worst happens and we finish 11th, what's the format for the playoff? A 2 leg home and away affair or a one off Final type game at a neutral venue?

Sad state of affairs but this is very much a reality for us.

I think is prefer a one off game.
We can't score so need to we'd obviously need to score at least once and having a 2 leg match would give our opponents that extra time to score more. - pretty grim.

its a two legged affair with 1st game away and second at home.

Tynie01011973
26-04-2014, 03:06 PM
http://spfl.co.uk/news/article/premiership-play-off-dates-confirmed/

Each round is two-legged affairs

26-04-2014, 03:07 PM
Wednesday 21st and Sunday 25th May I think.

26-04-2014, 04:08 PM
Anyone know if season tickets will be valid for the home game ?

26-04-2014, 04:11 PM

Better be, you want as many through the gates to cheer them on.

26-04-2014, 04:12 PM
Hold yer nerve!

26-04-2014, 04:19 PM
We wont get relegated. :pray:

26-04-2014, 04:25 PM
At least it's an exciting end to the season ! :greengrin

26-04-2014, 04:30 PM
getting shredded on sportsound at the moment......and hard to disagree with most of it :rolleyes:

26-04-2014, 04:31 PM

doubt it as money will be split from games (will check new SPFL rules)

26-04-2014, 04:34 PM
getting shredded on sportsound at the moment......and hard to disagree with most of it :rolleyes:

So we're not even playing today and we're getting the pish ripped out if us? Brilliant!

Really is worrying times at the moment. All others teams seem capable of raising their game, except us.

Just hope they can do it tomorrow.

26-04-2014, 04:36 PM
doubt it as money will be split from games (will check new SPFL rules)

Cheers. If not applicable a decent gate could be helpful re funds for next season's squad (whatever division we are in.)

26-04-2014, 04:36 PM
So we're not even playing today and we're getting the pish ripped out if us? Brilliant!

Really is worrying times at the moment. All others teams seem capable of raising their game, except us.

Just hope they can do it tomorrow.

It may have escaped peoples notice but Killie have lost their first two bottom six games.

hibby67
26-04-2014, 04:42 PM
We wont get relegated. :pray:

I agree but I've had a few pints :)

26-04-2014, 04:49 PM

Easy answer, dinnae listen.

Surely you are not getting wound up by those simpletons?

26-04-2014, 04:50 PM

Yep, and don't they just love putting the boot into Hibs.

26-04-2014, 04:51 PM
At least it's an exciting end to the season ! :greengrin

Aye. If you're a neutral.

26-04-2014, 04:52 PM
I agree but I've had a few pints :)

Good lad. Keep the faith!:aok:

26-04-2014, 04:54 PM
I have no faith that we wobt get relegated and dunno how some think.we wont. I dont see us winning tomorrow. I hope im wrong i really do!

Pray4Marc
26-04-2014, 04:54 PM
Get beat tomorrow and we will finish 11th. If they can't get the fight and spirit tomorrow to grind out 3 points, there's no way we will pick up any other points this season.

26-04-2014, 04:55 PM
The only other occassion we've been involved in a play-off was in '97, against Airdrie. The entry price was reduced to £8 (I think it was normally £12) and we had an almost full house, the only spaces being in the South Lower, occupied by Airdrie Fans.

I remember the atmosphere was absolutely amazing and we won 1-0 at home, then won 4-2 at Broadwood, where we had more fans than they did.

The games between us and Airdrie were already quite poisonous because they were managed by Alex MacDonald and he had taken his Hearts thugs and 'kick everything in sight' philosophy with him. The home match was won by an O.G. but we had a blatant penalty turned down and Gordon Hunter was sent off for retaliating against their dirty tactics.

I still hate them to this day.

26-04-2014, 04:58 PM
The secret of all comedy...

26-04-2014, 05:00 PM
Cheers. If not applicable a decent gate could be helpful re funds for next season's squad (whatever division we are in.)

Bearing in mind that they call the leagues 1 to 4 in the rules - In essence 50% of the money from gates at ALL play off games (8 matches) is paid to SPFL to use for parachute payment to Club 11th in Prem if relegated......

C26 A levy of 50% of the monies (gross excluding VAT) received or receivable by the Home Club for all Play-Off Matches played in the Division One/Division Two Play-Off Competition from all admission charges paid and payable to and for the relevant Play-Off Match shall be paid by the Home Club to the Company within seven days of the date on which each Play-Off Match is played.
C27 For so long as the amount of any Parachute Payment paid or payable to a Club occupying position 11 in Division One and relegated to Division Two by operation of the Division One/Division Two Play-Off Competition is met or will be met in full by sums paid or payable for such purpose to the Company by the Scottish FA sums received or to be received by the Company from Clubs in terms of Rule C26 and such sums paid or payable to the Company by the Scottish FA shall be treated for all purposes as Other Revenue.
C28 For so long as the amount of any Parachute Payment paid or payable to a Club occupying position 11 in Division One and relegated to Division Two by operation of the Division One/Division Two Play-Off Competition is not met or will not be met in full by sums paid or payable for such purpose to the Company by the Scottish FA sums received or to be received by the Company from Clubs in terms of Rule C26 and any part or portion of such sums paid or payable to the Company by the Scottish FA shall be treated for all purposes as Commercial Revenue.

26-04-2014, 05:01 PM
Interesting comments on Sportsound regarding us. Worth a listen:agree:

26-04-2014, 05:01 PM
We won't be in the play off.

VivaHiberña
26-04-2014, 05:08 PM
Interesting comments on Sportsound regarding us. Worth a listen:agree:

What sort of stuff's getting said?

26-04-2014, 05:09 PM
Get beat tomorrow and we will finish 11th. If they can't get the fight and spirit tomorrow to grind out 3 points, there's no way we will pick up any other points this season.

Agree, lets hope we do it the morn

26-04-2014, 05:10 PM
I've come to the point where I just don't give a **** anymore,if we go down so be it,I'll still go and watch

26-04-2014, 05:13 PM
The only other occassion we've been involved in a play-off was in '97, against Airdrie. The entry price was reduced to £8 (I think it was normally £12) and we had an almost full house, the only spaces being in the South Lower, occupied by Airdrie Fans.

I remember the atmosphere was absolutely amazing and we won 1-0 at home, then won 4-2 at Broomfield, where we had more fans than they did.

The games between us and Airdrie were already quite poisonous because they were managed by Alex MacDonald and he had taken his Hearts thugs and 'kick everything in sight' philosophy with him. The home match was won by an O.G. but we had a blatant penalty turned down and Gordon Hunter was sent off for retaliating against their dirty tactics.

That Airdrie team were the dirtiest team I've ever seen in Scottish football. They seemed to reserve a lot of their horrendous "tactics" when they played Hibs. They had the likes Kenny Black and Sandy Stewart in their team, and one or two others I can't remember. Awful team. I've detested them ever since too.

26-04-2014, 05:15 PM
That Airdrie team were the dirtiest team I've ever seen in Scottish football. They seemed to reserve a lot of their horrendous "tactics" when they played Hibs. They had the likes Kenny Black and Sandy Stewart in their team, and one or two others I can't remember. Awful team. I've detested them ever since too.
sandy jamieson :wink:

26-04-2014, 05:17 PM
Are they no a newco now

26-04-2014, 05:22 PM

I remember the atmosphere was absolutely amazing and we won 1-0 at home, then won 4-2 at Broomfield, where we had more fans than they did.

They don't exist any more. The team calling itself Airdrie today is actually Clydebank in disguise. Airdrie went bust in 2002.

26-04-2014, 05:25 PM

What was the game I remember being at when Darren Jackson scored a couple I think ? I'm sure it was at Clyde's ground & thought it was a playoff, long time ago now tho.

26-04-2014, 05:27 PM
They don't exist any more. The team calling itself Airdrie today is actually Clydebank in disguise. Airdrie went bust in 2002.

I'm sure they bought the name back so can now use it again.

26-04-2014, 05:35 PM
What was the game I remember being at when Darren Jackson scored a couple I think ? I'm sure it was at Clyde's ground & thought it was a playoff, long time ago now tho.

That was the second leg I mentioned, against Airdrie. They had gone into Administration and played their home games at Broadwood for a while.

* I just realised I typed Broomfield in my first post by accident. I'll edit it....

26-04-2014, 05:38 PM

I was referring to the Airdrie of that era, not the current 'Airdrie'

Nutmegged
26-04-2014, 05:40 PM
This is absolutely massive, its all well people just being blasé anout this and say we wont go down, we can't buy a win and we're losing goals and find it impossible to score any, we're 1 point above the Play-Off position.

We're in a brutal dog fight here and sticking heads in the sand wont do, we need all the support we can muster, fans can lift teams, we need to do all we can because if we went down the only people who would truly suffer are us so lets get realistic and give the clun all we have in the last few games, if it just inspires one player, that might just be enough to save us.

Nutmegged
26-04-2014, 05:42 PM
This is absolutely massive, its all well people just being blasé anout this and say we wont go down, we can't buy a win and we're losing goals and find it impossible to score any, we're 1 point above the Play-Off position.

We're in a brutal dog fight here and sticking heads in the sand wont do, we need all the support we can muster, fans can lift teams, we need to do all we can because if we went down the only people who would truly suffer are us so lets get realistic and give the clun all we have in the last few games, if it just inspires one player, that might just be enough to save us

stevejordan
26-04-2014, 05:42 PM
on a positive note it looks like it will not be Dundee if we end up in the play offs we can beat Hamilton or Fakirk over 2 legs IMO.

craigmounthibby
26-04-2014, 05:55 PM
It's only about results now. Fans need to get off the players backs, give them encouragement when they make a mistake and if we can remember how to actually score a goal, we have a chance.

Scoring first tomorrow is very important.

26-04-2014, 06:00 PM
This is absolutely massive, its all well people just being blasé anout this and say we wont go down, we can't buy a win and we're losing goals and find it impossible to score any, we're 1 point above the Play-Off position. We're in a brutal dog fight here and sticking heads in the sand wont do, we need all the support we can muster, fans can lift teams, we need to do all we can because if we went down the only people who would truly suffer are us so lets get realistic and give the clun all we have in the last few games, if it just inspires one player, that might just be enough to save us

Whose being blasé ... I'm trying to be positive saying we won't go down. The fans have supported the team over the years and turned up in numbers to be let down time and time again.

So in your eyes being positive is being blasé??

I don't think we will be in the play offs.

26-04-2014, 06:29 PM
It may have escaped peoples notice but Killie have lost their first two bottom six games.

None of the five teams at the bottom are in good form hence the reason they are at the bottom. Killie do seem to be struggling but it will probably only take 4or 5 points to avoid the play off. If we end up 11th when we have 3of our last 4 games at home then we deserve to be in the play off. I've stopped listening to sportsound a long time ago because of their agenda in slating us,making out the dons are fabulous and of course the sympathy for the team that avoided paying £28m that they owed. Terrible programme that's now becoming as embarrassing as our neighbours.

26-04-2014, 06:37 PM

They have fwarque all to write or talk about in the SPL because Celtic have romped it and there isn't anything interesting still to come. Its been that way for weeks if not months. That's why they have been glorying in our problems because it gives them a story that justifies their wages.

We are pretty bad but so is everyone else in this dogfight. We make better copy for them though and that's why the vultures are delighting in ripping us.

26-04-2014, 06:49 PM
Hopefully Dundee will win the Championship.

It really would be just perfect if it was that ******* Hartley that relegated us.

:boo hoo:

26-04-2014, 06:54 PM
Not to sound like a Yam here, but first division might be enjoyable next season..

26-04-2014, 06:56 PM
Not to sound like a Yam here, but first division might be enjoyable next season..

BANISH HIM!! We will not get relegated!!

26-04-2014, 06:56 PM

It would not be enjoyable mate. It's really the second division IMO.

26-04-2014, 06:57 PM

Trouble is, could be there for a hell of a lot more than one season.

:cb

26-04-2014, 06:59 PM

The sort of stuff that hurts because it's the truth. Basically they highlighted the fact that we've been in freefall and have bottomed out in confidence and so have a real fight on our hands.

Hard to hear but accurate

26-04-2014, 07:01 PM
The sort of stuff that hurts because it's the truth. Basically they highlighted the fact that we've been in freefall and have bottomed out in confidence and so have a real fight on our hands. Hard to hear but accurate

Indeed it is Jonny but it's the same when we were putting a good run together (few years back like) a defeat and the bubbles Burt's blah blah blah.

It's the way they go about it.

26-04-2014, 07:02 PM
Indeed it is Jonny but it's the same when we were putting a good run together (few years back like) a defeat and the bubbles Burt's blah blah blah.

It's the way they go about it.

Agreed. I often shout at my radio telling them to STFU but today I had no option but to agree with them :greengrin

26-04-2014, 07:03 PM
It would be nice to play Dundee in a play off. Sicken Hartley and revive that old favourite Nade song!! Or is that now on Mr Munny's list?

26-04-2014, 07:04 PM
Agreed. I often shout at my radio telling them to STFU but today I had no option but to agree with them :greengrin

I don't listen to it anymore but I still shout at my radio!! ;-)

There's commenting bout stuff but they like to rub salt into the wounds.

26-04-2014, 07:11 PM

We're in a brutal dog fight here and sticking heads in the sand wont do, we need all the support we can muster, fans can lift teams, we need to do all we can because if we went down the only people who would truly suffer are us so lets get realistic and give the clun all we have in the last few games, if it just inspires one player, that might just be enough to save us.

I'ts that massive you had to tell us twice :greengrin

26-04-2014, 07:11 PM

We're in a brutal dog fight here and sticking heads in the sand wont do, we need all the support we can muster, fans can lift teams, we need to do all we can because if we went down the only people who would truly suffer are us so lets get realistic and give the clun all we have in the last few games, if it just inspires one player, that might just be enough to save us

26-04-2014, 07:12 PM

It's catching :greengrin

26-04-2014, 07:12 PM

It's catching :greengrin

26-04-2014, 07:14 PM