View Full Version : Margo

Stax
24-04-2014, 10:07 PM
Documentary on Margo Macdonald on just now. Bring a tear to a glass eye. Some woman and a great wee section on her passion for Hibs. GGTTH

24-04-2014, 10:11 PM
been watching - some good stuff (Rods Cameo a bit predicable) but I did leave me feeling it will be sad if independence is achieved and she is not there to see it

Stax
24-04-2014, 10:28 PM
been watching - some good stuff (Rods Cameo a bit predicable) but I did leave me feeling it will be sad if independence is achieved and she is not there to see it
Thought exactly this, whatever your views are I defy anyone not to be moved by her passion and vision.

25-04-2014, 12:05 AM
enjoyed watching it. and sure it gives an impression to all who did not realise what a natural politician with the guts to stick to her convictions ,she was. Scotland's loss.

25-04-2014, 07:35 AM
Missed that, what side was it on? Hope it's on catch up.

25-04-2014, 07:51 AM
Like many I guess , I'm proud to say I voted for her as an independant candidate. A great woman

calmacuk
25-04-2014, 07:57 AM
Missed that, what side was it on? Hope it's on catch up.

It's on the iplayer already:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b0424d2s/margo

25-04-2014, 08:14 AM
It's on the iplayer already:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b0424d2s/margo

Cheers I watch that tonight.

25-04-2014, 09:56 AM
Anyone know how and when Margo became a Hibee?

25-04-2014, 09:58 AM
I'm listening to the comemmoration on the BBC right now. Brilliant, and lost count of the number of times Hibs have been mentioned already.

25-04-2014, 10:16 AM
Yes : enjoyed the programme which was a good " take" on the lady !
I was a friend for just over twenty five years and one of my fondest recollections of her will always be that no matter that we were polls apart politically it never was a problem in our friendship.
With a pawky even " biting" wit you were never bored in her company . She used to wind me up regularly by calling me " Johnny Boy " which she knew I disliked ! :rolleyes:

Miss her already and always will !!

" WHEN WILL WE SEE HER LIKES AGAIN ? "

25-04-2014, 11:37 AM
Just back from the service.

Was lovely, and I held it together until SOL. :greengrin

25-04-2014, 12:08 PM
A lady with the kind of passion, ambition and leadership qualities our club could have done with. :not worth

25-04-2014, 12:22 PM
I'm listening to the comemmoration on the BBC right now. Brilliant, and lost count of the number of times Hibs have been mentioned already.

Favourite was when Deek sliced Skacel in half, and Margo reckoned "he hardly touched him". :greengrin

25-04-2014, 12:26 PM
the proclaimers sang SoL, very touching indeed

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-27141965

TowerHibs
25-04-2014, 12:36 PM

Quality class acts the pair of them

Big Eck Salmon can't resist singing along too!!!!

25-04-2014, 12:45 PM

Beautiful

25-04-2014, 02:27 PM
So glad that music was played today. Well done the Proclaimers. Love it.

Strange how a piece of music can 'almost' bring a 6 foot hairy Scotsman to tears. ( cough cough ....)

25-04-2014, 02:31 PM
So glad that music was played today. Well done the Proclaimers. Love it.

Strange how a piece of music can 'almost' bring a 6 foot hairy Scotsman to tears. ( cough cough ....)

I'm 6'3" and very hairy and it had me blubbing like a wee lassie.

heidtheba
25-04-2014, 03:34 PM
Not in agreement with quite a few of the things she was pro, but I voted for her because I totally respected her as a person and as a politician. She was a well spoken, fiercely passionate conviction politician. I just wish there were more like her, or more who used her as an example. Also she was often in my local area and, as a person who I only said a 'hello' to with a wee nod, she was cheerful and very personable. Personally I think that UK politics especially would benefit from far more with her charisma, drive and honest dedication.

RIP Margo.

25-04-2014, 04:10 PM
How about a Margo Margo chant on Sunday? No disrespect to Jardine.

25-04-2014, 05:05 PM
Her speech at the HoH gig a couple years ago was sensational. Hardly a dry eye in the Usher Hall.

25-04-2014, 05:13 PM
Didn't agree with all her politics but very few politicians in Scotland come close to her when it came to representing people.

25-04-2014, 05:14 PM
Just watched that with the hairs on the back of my neck standing up and a tear running down my face.

(My all time favourite Proclaimers tune)

Last Minute
25-04-2014, 05:40 PM
cant find it on iplayer on my tv, what was the title of the program? newsnight ?

25-04-2014, 05:53 PM
cant find it on iplayer on my tv, what was the title of the program? newsnight ?

Try the BBC Scotland website. I took it from the Bbc news app

Stax
25-04-2014, 06:07 PM
Favourite was when Deek sliced Skacel in half, and Margo reckoned "he hardly touched him". :greengrin
:thumbsup: Quality.

Last Minute
25-04-2014, 06:09 PM
Try the BBC Scotland website. I took it from the Bbc news app

I can get it on the link above on my laptop but the family wanted to watch it on the tv, cant find it, help

25-04-2014, 06:10 PM
I can get it on the link above on my laptop but the family wanted to watch it on the tv, cant find it, help

Not sure if it's not on the iplayer then not sure where.

25-04-2014, 06:12 PM
Not sure if it's not on the iplayer then not sure where.

Aldo, was this on the radio today? If it was may be able to listen again on Tunein radio

25-04-2014, 06:13 PM
Aldo, was this on the radio today? If it was may be able to listen again on Tunein radio

Not sure Billy sorry!!

25-04-2014, 06:19 PM
Was only vaguely aware of her before last night, but was moved by her story. Sad loss, incredible person! :flag:

25-04-2014, 07:23 PM
Anyone know how and when Margo became a Hibee?

Was it not after her daughter married a Proclaimer?

25-04-2014, 08:04 PM
Was it not after her daughter married a Proclaimer?

Ah yes, makes sense, ta. (Seemed a trifle odd that a girl from Lanarkshire who went to college in Aberdeen and got an MP job in Govan would support Hibs.)

25-04-2014, 08:16 PM
Ah yes, makes sense, ta. (Seemed a trifle odd that a girl from Lanarkshire who went to college in Aberdeen and got an MP job in Govan would support Hibs.)

Im basing it on that she really was a clever person, hence why she was a hibee :greengrin

Remarkable woman, the programme last night was a great tribute to her, emotional. I had it in my head that she was born in Edinburgh.

25-04-2014, 08:20 PM
It looked like a wonderful and fitting tribute today. I saw Keith Brown ( the Transport Minister) sitting with his Hibs scarf on.

25-04-2014, 09:12 PM
I used to work with her on Radio Forth. She was very funny. No side to her at all.

25-04-2014, 09:35 PM
Always admired her, thought she was amazing. Long before I found out she was a Hibby..

Only found out today she was Craig's mother in law.

RIP Margo. One of the best.

25-04-2014, 09:38 PM
Cheers margo, give em hell wherever you are doll!

Sent from my C2105 using Tapatalk

25-04-2014, 09:51 PM
Not in agreement with quite a few of the things she was pro, but I voted for her because I totally respected her as a person and as a politician. She was a well spoken, fiercely passionate conviction politician. I just wish there were more like her, or more who used her as an example. Also she was often in my local area and, as a person who I only said a 'hello' to with a wee nod, she was cheerful and very personable. Personally I think that UK politics especially would benefit from far more with her charisma, drive and honest dedication.

RIP Margo.

:top markssomewhere not sure where the generic posh **** politician with no care other than his own self worth was born, party optional. Margo was what a politician should be . UK politics/global politics all dancing to corporations and the super rich off the world. Indeed needs the benefit of more people politicians and governments. RIP

25-04-2014, 10:08 PM
Will we do a minutes celebration on Sunday for margo?

25-04-2014, 10:09 PM
Lovely Tribute today. Goodbye Margo, Scotland is a poorer place without you. :agree:

:saltireflag

Hopefully we will see your dream come true, very sad that you will not.

25-04-2014, 10:10 PM

Was looking at RP and STF at the service today and thinking the very same.

A joint one for her and Jardine would, IMO, be very fitting.

25-04-2014, 10:11 PM
Was looking at RP and STF at the service today and thinking the very same.

A joint one for her and Jardine would, IMO, be very fitting.

Yes divides aside, let's unite for a very important moment

25-04-2014, 10:15 PM
Was only vaguely aware of her before last night, but was moved by her story. Sad loss, incredible person! :flag:if you were indeed vaguely aware, you're one of the few. she was bold as brass, in yer face when it came to her political convictions and I loved her for it. as an auld scots saying goes, "ye dinnae get monny o' them in a pund" , for Margo, it's true. when will we see her likes again. god bless her.

25-04-2014, 10:18 PM
if you were indeed vaguely aware, you're one of the few. she was bold as brass, in yer face when it came to her political convictions and I loved her for it. as an auld scots saying goes, "ye dinnae get monny o' them in a pund" , for Margo, it's true. when will we see her likes again. god bless her.

Genuinely doubt you will see her likes again.

26-04-2014, 04:57 PM
Always admired her, thought she was amazing. Long before I found out she was a Hibby..

Only found out today she was Craig's mother in law.

RIP Margo. One of the best.

From "What do you do?" By the Proclaimers.

"Pat votes the Scots way, just like her Mother.
The South always takes all, just like her Brother".

26-04-2014, 06:35 PM

My source tells me there will be a minute's applause in memory of Margo and Sandy Jardine.

My source? Rod Petrie

26-04-2014, 06:36 PM
My source tells me there will be a minute's applause in memory of Margo and Sandy Jardine.

My source? Rod Petrie

That's good, cheers jonny

26-04-2014, 10:03 PM
There should definitely be a Margo Margo chant at Easter Road tomorrow.

Definitely.

26-04-2014, 10:06 PM
There should definitely be a Margo Margo chant at Easter Road tomorrow.

Definitely.