View Full Version : Summer Signings

Pages : 1 [2]

12-05-2014, 07:21 PM
I was just about quote you on that Lyle Taylor point, 7 goals in January has been a superb return, he's not always been first choice either, Doolan has switched with him a few times.

His running, his touch and his all round game is a lot better than anything we've got

yeah i agree, must admit never realised it was as good as that, have seen him miss some good chances mind, especially against us last year in the semi. At least he does score the goals though as he creates a barrel loadd of chances for himself out of nothing

jakeshibs
14-05-2014, 07:19 PM
anyone ITK able to confirm any players TB is looking at to bring to ER,

portycabbage
14-05-2014, 07:28 PM
Nope ! Think the key word seems to be " Petrie" ! He's not been perfect by any stretch of the imagination , but hells teeth if a seagull pooed on Easter road Petrie would get the blame ;

"If"?! Given the amount of seagulls about, they'd surely have to be suffering from severe and chronic constipation, probably from all that junk food we have on sale - damn you Petrie!

(p.s.- apologies if anyone was hoping for useful info about signings in this post!)

14-05-2014, 07:36 PM
anyone ITK able to confirm any players TB is looking at to bring to ER,

Osman Sow.

Other than that we will need to wait and see what division we are in.

jakeshibs
14-05-2014, 08:48 PM
Osman Sow.

Other than that we will need to wait and see what division we are in.

cheers

14-05-2014, 09:01 PM
Kello definitely on Hearts' list of targets :agree:

Or a return for Craig Gordon?

As for Hibs, a lot of people here blithely listing guys at rivals who are under contract!! Higginbotham, almost every Inverness player etc.

14-05-2014, 10:00 PM
None of these rumoured signings would be cheap which suggests money was kept back last summer after cup final when squad needed strengthening .Scale of bad planning just gets even bigger . Anyway , time to focus on league survival and worry about signings of players and manager after play off .

Paloschi
15-05-2014, 09:15 AM
Summary of Rumours. Just to keep some of us sane and to generate some excitement if we stay up.

Goalkeepers:

Dean Brill
Marian Kello

Defenders:

Graeme Shinnie
Mark Ellis
Gary Warren
Josh Meekings

Midfielders:

Nick Ross
Andrew Shinnie
Kenny McLean
Marley Watkins
Lee Croft

Forwards:

Kenny Miller
Kris Boyd
Billy McKay
Osman Sow
Steven MacLean
Kane Hemmings

Not sure if iv'e missed any. I stress these are rumours. I can see a maximum of 4 of that list joining if we stay up.

15-05-2014, 09:32 AM
Croft signed a new deal with the mighty Saints.

mentalhibee
15-05-2014, 09:46 AM
Croft signed a new deal with the mighty Saints.

As did MacLean. Is the Osman Sow rumour a done deal?

15-05-2014, 12:23 PM
Watched Hemmings playing for Cowdenbeath last night. Some good hold up play, some poor touches though.

Wedderburn, the Cowden centre back looked decent. Started at Stoke and played for the England 19's.

John Armstrong, the other Cowden cb was MOTM. Was on Hearts books as a youngster. Strong, powerful, but a bit short of pace.

15-05-2014, 12:25 PM
I think hibs were interested in him at the time or it was reported that we were. Then again it was probably reported on here like it is again just now. So who knows eh.

Callum Woods was definitely watched by Hibs when at EEP. If memory serves the consensus was positional sense was in need of improvement.

j.higg
15-05-2014, 01:15 PM
Scott Vernon anyone ?? - Haven't seen his name mentioned anywhere yet he's been released by the dons? Granted i'm not setting my sights very high here.

Nutmegged
15-05-2014, 01:23 PM
Few of us were discussing Vernon last week, Vernon is a bit so so, he isn't brilliant at anythinf but he isn't woeful at anything either, he's capable at everything really, he only got 9 goals this Season which doesn't spund great but I think that was from 13 starts and 20 sub appearances...to be honest I don't think he is much better than Collins or Heffernan but the difference is he gets far more chances created by a far more positive team...in this Hibs team I'm not sure he'd do much.

15-05-2014, 01:26 PM
Scott Vernon is tatties.

stewpot
15-05-2014, 01:35 PM
Scott Vernon is tatties.

Agreed, we need to be aiming higher than an Aberdeen cast off

Nutmegged
15-05-2014, 01:37 PM
I'd love to get Tony Watt on loan for a season, give the boy 30-40 starts and he'll score us 20 goals

15-05-2014, 01:44 PM
I'd love to get Tony Watt on loan for a season, give the boy 30-40 starts and he'll score us 20 goals

The young lad comes across as a complete welt whenever I read about him. I thought he looked a prospect when he first appeared on the scene but, whether its down to his attitude or a lack of actual talent, he's not really done much to suggest he'd score 20 goals a season.

Django
15-05-2014, 03:22 PM
THOSE OUT OF CONTRACT IN SUMMER (SPFL) via STV

Aberdeen
Nicky Weaver, Josh Magennis, Scott Vernon, Nicky Low*, Craig Murray*.
Celtic
Georgios Samaras, Steven Mouyokolo, Lewis Toshney*, Bahrudin Atajic*, Patrik Twardzik*, Darnell Fisher*
Dundee United
Morgaro Gomis, Gavin Gunning, Dale Hilson*.
Hearts
Jamie Hamill, Jamie MacDonald, Dylan McGowan*, Gary Oliver*, Mark Ridgers, Callum Tapping*, Sam Nicholson*.
Hibernian
James McPake, Ben Williams, Kevin Thomson, Paul Cairney, Tom Taiwo, Alan Maybury, Ross Caldwell*, Danny Handling*, Dean Horribine*, Paul Grant*.
Inverness CT
Conor Pepper*, Matthew Cooper*, Ben Greenhalgh* (one-year option), Nick Draper*.
Kilmarnock
Kris Boyd, Alexei Eremenko, Barry Nicholson, Sammy Clingan, James Fowler, Darren Barr, Jeroen Tesselaar, Ismael Bouzid, Mark O’Hara*.
Motherwell
James McFadden, Keith Lasley, Shaun Hutchinson, Stevie Hammell, Lee Hollis, Ross Stewart*, Lee Erwin*.
Partick Thistle
Isaac Osbourne, Paul Gallacher, Aaron Taylor-Sinclair, Steven Lawless, Christie Elliot, Lee Mair.
Ross County
Richard Brittain, Rocco Quinn, Stuart Kettlewell, Scott Boyd, Mark Brown, Brian McLean, Steven Saunders, Michael Fraser, Graham Carey, Gary Glen, Steven Ross*, Ben Gordon, Darren Maatsen, Alex Cooper*, Evangelos Oikonomou.
St Johnstone
Murray Davidson, Nigel Hasselbaink, Patrick Cregg, Steven Anderson, Gary Miller, Liam Caddis*, Steve Banks*, Chris Iwelumo, Wade Joyce.
St Mirren
Paul McGowan, Steven Thompson, Kenny McLean*, Marian Kello, David van Zanten, Darren McGregor, Chris Dilo, Mo Yaqub*, Anthony Brady*.

15-05-2014, 03:35 PM
When you look at the list of players available worry times for SPL as there is some pish listed. Each season it looks worse not better or is it just me

Hopefully Hibs sign the good ones hail hail

15-05-2014, 03:47 PM

Aberdeen
Celtic
Georgios Samaras, Steven Mouyokolo, Lewis Toshney*, Bahrudin Atajic*, Patrik Twardzik*, Darnell Fisher*
Dundee United
Hearts
Jamie Hamill, Jamie MacDonald, Dylan McGowan*, Gary Oliver*, Mark Ridgers, Callum Tapping*, Sam Nicholson*.
Hibernian
James McPake, Ben Williams, Kevin Thomson, Paul Cairney, Tom Taiwo, Alan Maybury, Ross Caldwell*, Danny Handling*, Dean Horribine*, Paul Grant*.
Inverness CT
Conor Pepper*, Matthew Cooper*, Ben Greenhalgh* (one-year option), Nick Draper*.
Kilmarnock
Kris Boyd, Alexei Eremenko, Barry Nicholson, Sammy Clingan, James Fowler, Darren Barr, Jeroen Tesselaar, Ismael Bouzid, Mark O’Hara*.
Motherwell
James McFadden, Keith Lasley, Shaun Hutchinson, Stevie Hammell, Lee Hollis, Ross Stewart*, Lee Erwin*.
Partick Thistle
Isaac Osbourne, Paul Gallacher, Aaron Taylor-Sinclair, Steven Lawless, Christie Elliot, Lee Mair.
Ross County
Richard Brittain, Rocco Quinn, Stuart Kettlewell, Scott Boyd, Mark Brown, Brian McLean, Steven Saunders, Michael Fraser, Graham Carey, Gary Glen, Steven Ross*, Ben Gordon, Darren Maatsen, Alex Cooper*, Evangelos Oikonomou.
St Johnstone
Murray Davidson, Nigel Hasselbaink, Patrick Cregg, Steven Anderson, Gary Miller, Liam Caddis*, Steve Banks*, Chris Iwelumo, Wade Joyce.
St Mirren
Paul McGowan, Steven Thompson, Kenny McLean*, Marian Kello, David van Zanten, Darren McGregor, Chris Dilo, Mo Yaqub*, Anthony Brady*.

All the players in bold and underlined could do a job for us, I really like the St Mirren boy Darren McGregor and he is a huge hibee so im sure if we went for him we would get him.

nribs
15-05-2014, 03:48 PM
When you look at the list of players available worry times for SPL as there is some pish listed. Each season it looks worse not better or is it just me

Hopefully Hibs sign the good ones hail hailspot in even regarding how poor Hibs are I could only see around 3 or 4 players that I thought were decent in that list.

15-05-2014, 03:52 PM
spot in even regarding how poor Hibs are I could only see around 3 or 4 players that I thought were decent in that list.

Have to disagree mate there are a few cracking players on there

Mark O'Hara, Kenny McLean, Gavin Gunning, Shawn Hutchinson, Taylor-Sinclair, Lawless and McGregor wouls all walk into our team and do well for us

Nutmegged
15-05-2014, 04:06 PM
The young lad comes across as a complete welt whenever I read about him. I thought he looked a prospect when he first appeared on the scene but, whether its down to his attitude or a lack of actual talent, he's not really done much to suggest he'd score 20 goals a season.

I don't think he suffers from a lack of talent, I have no idea how his attitude is, I know he was shipped out of Celtic for a reason though but I think that might have been more down to tough love, his manager in Belgium came across as an idiot, maybe the young guy didn't go about things the right way but he always answered any public criticism directed at him with goals.

If we look at the last two years he's did well whenever he was given a chance, he scored on his debut against the team that was Best of the Rest in the then SPL...Motherwell, he then scored a few more goals the following season including the winner against Barcelona, his record so far with Celtic is 8 goals from 13 starts and 21 subs....at Lierse in Belgium he scored 9 goals in 8 starts and 9 sub appearances, thats including scoring a winner away from home against Anderlecht, the Boy has also got 5 goals in 8 games for Scotland U21s in that time...for a lad of 20 in his first two years as a professional I think he's done pretty well, I also like how he carries himself on the pitch, he looks like a footballer, so natural, height, strength and pace and has done it on the biggest of occassions.

nribs
15-05-2014, 04:09 PM

Mark O'Hara, Kenny McLean, Gavin Gunning, Shawn Hutchinson, Taylor-Sinclair, Lawless and McGregor wouls all walk into our team and do well for ussorry I probably didn't word ut correctly. There are only a few players there who we could probably atract to hibs. Couldn't see Gunning or Taylor-Sinclair coming to ER

15-05-2014, 04:27 PM
sorry I probably didn't word ut correctly. There are only a few players there who we could probably atract to hibs. Couldn't see Gunning or Taylor-Sinclair coming to ER

Aw I get you now lol

15-05-2014, 04:35 PM

Mark O'Hara, Kenny McLean, Gavin Gunning, Shawn Hutchinson, Taylor-Sinclair, Lawless and McGregor wouls all walk into our team and do well for us

I like McGregor, does seem pretty injury prone though.

Nutmegged
15-05-2014, 04:43 PM
sorry I probably didn't word ut correctly. There are only a few players there who we could probably atract to hibs. Couldn't see Gunning or Taylor-Sinclair coming to ER

Taylor-Sinclair is only on about £500-750 a week, a 2 year deal on arounf £1.5k a week might tempt him.

I wouldn't be so quick to dismiss out chances, the lad is a decent player but still has a lot to learn

HappyHibby93
15-05-2014, 04:46 PM
Marian Kello would be a cracking replacement for Williams if he goes

Sent from my GT-S5830i using Tapatalk 2

Theinsider
15-05-2014, 04:59 PM
Taylor-Sinclair is only on about £500-750 a week, a 2 year deal on arounf £1.5k a week might tempt him.

I wouldn't be so quick to dismiss out chances, the lad is a decent player but still has a lot to learn

Will be away to Aberdeen if they don't get Shinnie, or indeed instead of.

Nutmegged
15-05-2014, 05:02 PM
Will be away to Aberdeen if they don't get Shinnie, or indeed instead of.

You'd think that would be a natural move for him but I'd not be so sure, don't think there's much love lost behind the scenes with how he left the club previously...time will tell, I hope he stays in Scotland anyway.

Bronson
15-05-2014, 08:57 PM
Watching the Rotherham v Preston game, we could do a lot worse than some players in that league. Boy for Rotherham looks a cracking player, Ben Pringle, terrific delivery. Not saying we could necessarily get him but he was a prime example of the talent that is down there, certainly gems if you look hard enough.

16-05-2014, 11:46 AM
I thought McGregor was immense against us when we played at Paisley straight after the split. Always seemed to be in the right place to get a block or clearance in. Put our centre-halves to shame that day.

dmc1875
16-05-2014, 12:11 PM
Watching the Rotherham v Preston game, we could do a lot worse than some players in that league. Boy for Rotherham looks a cracking player, Ben Pringle, terrific delivery. Not saying we could necessarily get him but he was a prime example of the talent that is down there, certainly gems if you look hard enough.

Thought this for a couple of weeks. Watched a fair few rotheram games and he is always a stand out. A class above. Sadly I think he is too good for us

Bronson
16-05-2014, 12:22 PM
Thought this for a couple of weeks. Watched a fair few rotheram games and he is always a stand out. A class above. Sadly I think he is too good for us

They've been a great team to back this season, won me a fair amount of money! Thought their stand-outs were Pringle, Frecklington, Agard (ex killie) and Travernier. Preston's best player has to be Joe Garner but if his goal in the first leg is anything to go by we have no chance there.

Was a cracking game to watch last night, really think that league is worth a look for quality players within our budget.

dmc1875
16-05-2014, 06:27 PM
They've been a great team to back this season, won me a fair amount of money! Thought their stand-outs were Pringle, Frecklington, Agard (ex killie) and Travernier. Preston's best player has to be Joe Garner but if his goal in the first leg is anything to go by we have no chance there.

Was a cracking game to watch last night, really think that league is worth a look for quality players within our budget.

The balls that Pringle put in were brilliant. Not just one or two decent balls either, consistency. Apparently Huddersfield are interested in him. If Rotherham don't go up we might have a slim chance but he seems destined for bigger things

Bronson
16-05-2014, 08:47 PM
The balls that Pringle put in were brilliant. Not just one or two decent balls either, consistency. Apparently Huddersfield are interested in him. If Rotherham don't go up we might have a slim chance but he seems destined for bigger things

Aye they were superb, a real threat every time, he'd be a cracking bit of business if available. The right back Travernier was superb as well, on loan from Newcastle so definitely worth a look, he's very realistic I would think.

WestStandhibee
16-05-2014, 09:53 PM
noticed that Scott Allan has been released by WBA, always thought he looked like a player when he was at Dundee Utd

would like to see us make a move for him if we stay up

16-05-2014, 10:03 PM
Seen someone on Twitter saying we are after Myles Weston (winger). Not long released by The Gills.

Anyone know anything about him? He's got 93 pace on FIFA :greengrin

Hibdan12
16-05-2014, 11:04 PM
Seen someone on Twitter saying we are after Myles Weston (winger). Not long released by The Gills.

remember signing him in fifa 13 :hilarious was quality player. a rapid left footer if i remmember correctly.

16-05-2014, 11:09 PM

I'd be fine with him signing purely for that.

I can't be the only FIFA playing Hibs fan that has been delighted with the capture of Danny Haynes :greengrin

16-05-2014, 11:12 PM
I'd be fine with him signing purely for that.

I can't be the only FIFA playing Hibs fan that has been delighted with the capture of Danny Haynes :greengrin

16-05-2014, 11:15 PM

You need to stop believing wht you read on twitte pal :wink:

It will kill you in the next few months between now and the season start.

16-05-2014, 11:47 PM
You need to stop believing wht you read on twitte pal :wink:

It will kill you in the next few months between now and the season start.

Kill us having to read his regurgitated twitter and Facebook pi$h anaw.
Least he got bulleted from the bounce.

17-05-2014, 06:51 AM
I thought McGregor was immense against us when we played at Paisley straight after the split. Always seemed to be in the right place to get a block or clearance in. Put our centre-halves to shame that day.

Aye, we heard you the first time Darren.

17-05-2014, 08:51 AM
Nope ! Think the key word seems to be " Petrie" ! He's not been perfect by any stretch of the imagination , but hells teeth if a seagull pooed on Easter road Petrie would get the blame ;

No chance. He may not be Mr Perfect but Petrie is definitely not gullible.

R11Loaded
18-05-2014, 01:02 AM
http://www.fansnetwork.co.uk/football/rochdale/forum/111699/robbie-thompson/#30

Strange chat from the Dale fans

18-05-2014, 04:19 PM
I'd take a chance on the centre half at Cowdenbeath. John Armstrong. No new deal according to his interview. Came across very well and looks good on the park.

Paperboy
18-05-2014, 05:13 PM
I'm sure Taylor Sinclair is away to Celtic

18-05-2014, 05:43 PM
I'd take a chance on the centre half at Cowdenbeath. John Armstrong. No new deal according to his interview. Came across very well and looks good on the park.

As I said on another thread whether John could make the step up I'm not sure, always thought he was a bit on the slow side, but watching him today stroll through, against an admittedly minging Dunfermline attack, has made me think he may be able to. Would be delighted for him if he could. Plus when the nutters on here find out where he began his career.......

Wedderburn the other cb at Cowden is definitely one I would be looking at.

18-05-2014, 06:12 PM
As I said on another thread whether John could make the step up I'm not sure, always thought he was a bit on the slow side, but watching him today stroll through, against an admittedly minging Dunfermline attack, has made me think he may be able to. Would be delighted for him if he could. Plus when the nutters on here find out where he began his career.......

Wedderburn the other cb at Cowden is definitely one I would be looking at.

Terry if you're reading you know what to do. :aok:

19-05-2014, 02:46 PM
Have we had a Nathaniel on the books before?

Get Wedderburn signed up!

itslegaltender
19-05-2014, 03:01 PM
Scott Allan released by West Brom, saw him at Pompey two seasons ago and was immense in Championship, has had some personal issues but would be a great signing.

19-05-2014, 04:51 PM
http://www.fansnetwork.co.uk/football/rochdale/forum/111699/robbie-thompson/#30

Strange chat from the Dale fans

Rather impressed with their knowledge of the goings on at ER. Though I would guess we would be able to progress a player at Hibs as well as most lower league English clubs.

As for having the 600th richest man in the UK as owner ...... wouldn't matter if he was the 600th richest man in the world .... Tommy no spenda dosh on fitba players.

Nutmegged
19-05-2014, 05:11 PM
Rather impressed with their knowledge of the goings on at ER. Though I would guess we would be able to progress a player at Hibs as well as most lower league English clubs.

As for having the 600th richest man in the UK as owner ...... wouldn't matter if he was the 600th richest man in the world .... Tommy no spenda dosh on fitba players.

I think their knowledge of our game in general shows that that the SPFL does actually get promoted down South, if your average fans know so much then its not hard to imagine Pros would know just as much and think it would be a step up

19-05-2014, 06:17 PM

Aberdeen
Celtic
Dundee United
Hearts
Hibernian
Inverness CT
Kilmarnock
Motherwell
Partick Thistle
Ross County
St Johnstone
St Mirren

Wow, are RC replacing their whole team?

19-05-2014, 10:30 PM
Higginbottom is a target, handling offered a 3 year deal I believe it was and one I was shocked at was Caldwell has also Ben offered a new deal, not the length of Stanton Harris and handling though I understand.

hibeemikey21
19-05-2014, 10:44 PM
Higginbottom is a target, handling offered a 3 year deal I believe it was and one I was shocked at was Caldwell has also Ben offered a new deal, not the length of Stanton Harris and handling though I understand.

Cheers for the info.

In my opinion:

Great stuff re Higginbotham
Handling has definitely not shown enough to get a 3 year deal. He is lucky to have an offer full stop.
Caldwell - did not see that coming at all!

Butcher preparing for lower tier football perhaps?

19-05-2014, 11:00 PM

You gotta watch that typing! Thought we had offered Williams a new deal for a second :wink::greengrin

19-05-2014, 11:13 PM
Cheers for the info.

In my opinion:

Great stuff re Higginbotham
Handling has definitely not shown enough to get a 3 year deal. He is lucky to have an offer full stop.
Caldwell - did not see that coming at all!

Butcher preparing for lower tier football perhaps?

Agree handling hasn't done enough for a three year deal and Caldwell seems strange unless it's a further one year deal on same money as he didn't exactly come to anyone's attention when out on loan in relation to performances or goals .

Bronson
19-05-2014, 11:24 PM

I'm hearing a 2 year deal with the club having the option of an extra year.

HappyHibby93
20-05-2014, 03:17 AM
Doesn't Caldwell have a one year extension trigger in his contract. Not sure what would trigger this, also I might be wrong...

20-05-2014, 05:53 AM
You gotta watch that typing! Thought we had offered Williams a new deal for a second :wink::greengrin

We have and ages ago. He hasn't and probably won't sign it.

20-05-2014, 06:10 AM

Higginbottom would be excellent.
Can't believe handling being offered a 3 year deal. He isn't good enough in my opinion

Prawn Sandwich
20-05-2014, 06:15 AM
Agent Scotland quoted last night;

@AgentScotland: Hibs have offered Danny Handling a 2 year deal with a year option for the club, Ross Caldwell has been offered a year with a years option

20-05-2014, 06:22 AM
If be waiting to see where we are playing

If we stay up then I would release Caldwell.

Handling I'm still not convinced about either

20-05-2014, 06:23 AM
Agent Scotland quoted last night;

@AgentScotland: Hibs have offered Danny Handling a 2 year deal with a year option for the club, Ross Caldwell has been offered a year with a years option

He's probably been trawling Hibs.net last night for that info!:greengrin

nribs
20-05-2014, 07:44 AM
He's probably been trawling Hibs.net last night for that info!:greengrin
I think you are 100% correct

20-05-2014, 08:13 AM
Pretty disappointed in this, Handling just isn't good enough.

20-05-2014, 08:16 AM
Caldwell was back training with 1st team yesterday.

Handling - needs to step it up. 2 years is generous.

Horribine - not been offered anything yet - TB keeping some of the younger players waiting.

Any word on Booth? Out of contract ? Would take him back.

20-05-2014, 09:13 AM
Caldwell was back training with 1st team yesterday. Handling - needs to step it up. 2 years is generous. Horribine - not been offered anything yet - TB keeping some of the younger players waiting. Any word on Booth? Out of contract ? Would take him back.

Booth still has a year to run iirc (maybe more).

20-05-2014, 09:15 AM

Horribine - not been offered anything yet - TB keeping some of the younger players waiting.

Think it's been posted on here before that Butcher is a huge fan of Booth and told him he looks forward to working with him

20-05-2014, 09:31 AM
Pretty disappointed in this, Handling just isn't good enough.

I don't think either are good enough to be honest, Caldwell especially. He also has an attitude and is a bit of a hot head, seemingly there was an incident after the county game after Malpas called him a bad word that rhymes with hunt :wink:

R11Loaded
20-05-2014, 09:32 AM
I was playing for Tesco Haddington in a charity match and Danny was there, I was told by a local he had been offered a four year deal and rejected it...

I scored after going past three of the opposition players I do hope our Danny took some notes

20-05-2014, 09:34 AM
I was playing for Tesco Haddington in a charity match and Danny was there, I was told by a local he had been offered a four year deal and rejected it...

I scored after going past three of the opposition players I do hope our Danny took some notes

20-05-2014, 10:29 AM
Doesn't Caldwell have a one year extension trigger in his contract. Not sure what would trigger this, also I might be wrong...

Are Caldwell and Trigger the same person?:greengrin

20-05-2014, 10:37 AM
Are Caldwell and Trigger the same person?:greengrin

Awlright Dave :wink:

20-05-2014, 10:52 AM
I'm absolutely shocked that we have offered Handling and Caldwell deals.

Away to check that it's not April 1st.

20-05-2014, 11:25 AM
I don't think either are good enough to be honest, Caldwell especially. He also has an attitude and is a bit of a hot head, seemingly there was an incident after the county game after Malpas called him a bad word that rhymes with hunt :wink:

Why was he offered if then if that's his relationship with the senior management?

Why are football players so thick!!

"Kommen sie bitte und listen to Kraftwerk!"

20-05-2014, 11:40 AM
Why was he offered if then if that's his relationship with the senior management?

Why are football players so thick!!

"Kommen sie bitte und listen to Kraftwerk!"

Thats exactly why I find it so strange, mibby Maurice and Tel is feared he will fill them in if he doesn't give him a new deal haha

20-05-2014, 11:47 AM
I love to see home grown talent make it. But I'm afraid to say that if Handling and especially Caldwell are seen by Hibs to be worth new deals the future is bleak ...... neither player has done anything to show they have a long term future at Easter Road.

If in the opinion of Hibs both these players have reached the standard required to be regular first team players in anything like the near future it is a damning indictment of the fall in standards at Easter Road. With that attitude its only a matter of time before we are relegated ...... in the hope that it doesn't happen in the next 6 days of course.

20-05-2014, 12:51 PM
I love to see home grown talent make it. But I'm afraid to say that if Handling and especially Caldwell are seen by Hibs to be worth new deals the future is bleak ...... neither player has done anything to show they have a long term future at Easter Road.

If in the opinion of Hibs both these players have reached the standard required to be regular first team players in anything like the near future it is a damning indictment of the fall in standards at Easter Road. With that attitude its only a matter of time before we are relegated ...... in the hope that it doesn't happen in the next 6 days of course.
Sadly I have to agree with you. Caldwell in particular is somebody I would have hoped Hibs would be trying to move on. I do think Handling has ability, but I wouldn't have offered him a two year deal (if that's actually what's been offered).

20-05-2014, 01:17 PM
So if true haudit and daudit think Handling and Caldwell are worth new deals but by all accounts KT won't be getting one ? Just when I thought these two jokers in charge of us couldn't get it any more wrong they manage to surprise me.

20-05-2014, 01:33 PM
amazed at extension deals for handling and caldwell, i utterly despair at the lack of quality at ER nowadays...lessons have not been learnt, hopefully we win *next seasons play-off final as well

* we will win this seasons play-off :agree:

20-05-2014, 02:24 PM
So if true haudit and daudit think Handling and Caldwell are worth new deals but by all accounts KT won't be getting one ? Just when I thought these two jokers in charge of us couldn't get it any more wrong they manage to surprise me.

Butcher told Thomson he wasn't in his plans a while back and told him game time would be limited if he stayed at Hibs, so if he wanted to move on Hibs wouldn't stand in his way, he stayed and has had a couple of good games but got injured again, i doubt Butcher has changed his mind about the situation.

Butcher wants his players to be able to last the season, Thomson doesn't fit in to that with him being a tad injury prone.

20-05-2014, 03:29 PM

Caldwell has been back training with the first team for a while.

20-05-2014, 03:33 PM
Butcher told Thomson he wasn't in his plans a while back and told him game time would be limited if he stayed at Hibs, so if he wanted to move on Hibs wouldn't stand in his way, he stayed and has had a couple of good games but got injured again, i doubt Butcher has changed his mind about the situation.

Butcher wants his players to be able to last the season, Thomson doesn't fit in to that with him being a tad injury prone.

Thomo wants his gaffers to last a season!

20-05-2014, 03:40 PM

A finish team wanted Thomson in Jan (managed by an ex hibs striker) Butcher then had a long talk with Thomson and told him that he was the best player in the squad and that he wanted him to stay.

20-05-2014, 03:48 PM
A finish team wanted Thomson in Jan (managed by an ex hibs striker) Butcher then had a long talk with Thomson and told him that he was the best player in the squad and that he wanted him to stay.

Which striker? Is Mixu not the manager of the national team there? Or is it someone different?

TheFamous1875
20-05-2014, 03:49 PM

When did Butcher have this talk with Thomson? As it's alleged he told Thomson his services were not required and was free to leave in January. I'm assuming this conversation couldn't have been back then and would've been fairly recently?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

20-05-2014, 04:09 PM

Butcher has said a lot of things Silver that he has subsequently done a u turn on, it's got to the stage for me that he has very little credibility. Had KT been selected more often I have no doubt he would have had more than a couple of good games, the ones he has played in recently he has been our best player and is arguably the best player we have IMO. Injury prone or not I find it amazing that TB does not think he merits a new contract and is supposedly offering both Handling and Caldwell new deals when neither have shown they offer anything, again IMO.

20-05-2014, 05:01 PM
When did Butcher have this talk with Thomson? As it's alleged he told Thomson his services were not required and was free to leave in January. I'm assuming this conversation couldn't have been back then and would've been fairly recently?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

January when the Finnish team came in for him. As far as I know, Butcher has never told KT his services are no longer required.

Butcher sat him down, went over a few things and told him he wants him here and that he is the best player we have. Hence why he didn't leave.

20-05-2014, 05:02 PM
Which striker? Is Mixu not the manager of the national team there? Or is it someone different?

Shefki Kuqi.

20-05-2014, 07:18 PM
January when the Finnish team came in for him. As far as I know, Butcher has never told KT his services are no longer required.

Butcher sat him down, went over a few things and told him he wants him here and that he is the best player we have. Hence why he didn't leave.
So he told him this in January but didn't start playing him until April?

20-05-2014, 11:46 PM
So he told him this in January but didn't start playing him until April?

He was injured for a bit then got fit and just wasn't getting a game.

21-05-2014, 12:31 AM
So, on here, plenty of people didn't believe that Thomson was injured in the first place and that Butcher just made the whole thing up. A lot of people also seemed to think that Thomson had a falling out with Butcher quite near the start of Butcher's tenure hence why Butcher didn't play him cos he was still sulking at him. Now, seemingly, Butcher and Thomson have sat down and had a cup of char together and Butcher's reassured him that he is the best player etc. So despite the fact that Thomson is injury prone, and has been for years, in this case Butcher just made it all up cos he was in the huff with him. Unless somebody comes on here and quotes the source(s) they got all this amazing information, I find it hard to believe any of it.

21-05-2014, 12:58 AM

No it wasn't January it was March I think it was as their window was still open. The latter part if your post is right, how do I know this.....cause I told you about it :greengrin

21-05-2014, 12:59 AM
No it wasn't January it was March I think it was as their window was still open. The latter part if your post is right, how do I know this.....cause I told you about it :greengrin

I was told of someone else mate. You may have told me something rather similar though.

21-05-2014, 01:00 AM
So, on here, plenty of people didn't believe that Thomson was injured in the first place and that Butcher just made the whole thing up. A lot of people also seemed to think that Thomson had a falling out with Butcher quite near the start of Butcher's tenure hence why Butcher didn't play him cos he was still sulking at him. Now, seemingly, Butcher and Thomson have sat down and had a cup of char together and Butcher's reassured him that he is the best player etc. So despite the fact that Thomson is injury prone, and has been for years, in this case Butcher just made it all up cos he was in the huff with him. Unless somebody comes on here and quotes the source(s) they got all this amazing information, I find it hard to believe any of it.

They never had a fall out, butcher came in and wanted to stamp his authority on the players and used Thomson as a bit of an example given he was the biggest name in the changing room and all the players respect him. I suspect he wanted a bit of a reaction from players thinking **** me if he can do that to him he must mean business, which as we know hasn't worked out that way.

its all going to be immaterial after Sunday anyway as both will part ways and move on.

21-05-2014, 05:13 AM
Butcher and thommo never fell out but he did with Malpas and he was told he can go

21-05-2014, 06:01 AM
They never had a fall out, butcher came in and wanted to stamp his authority on the players and used Thomson as a bit of an example given he was the biggest name in the changing room and all the players respect him. I suspect he wanted a bit of a reaction from players thinking **** me if he can do that to him he must mean business, which as we know hasn't worked out that way.

its all going to be immaterial after Sunday anyway as both will part ways and move on.

Thomo and Butcher will move on?

21-05-2014, 07:07 AM

One of them, or both of them

21-05-2014, 08:12 AM
Thomo and Butcher will move on?

One of them, or both of them

just the one of them as it stands but playoff results could change that, don't think it will though.

21-05-2014, 08:33 AM

This whole thing makes me so angry. Snubbing our best player,someone who cares about the club and even played for free is ridiculous. Realising with a couple of games to go that he actually is our best player is even worse.

It's actually verging on incompetence. I only hope both can sort this out as we need KT as our captain next season.

21-05-2014, 08:50 AM
This whole thing makes me so angry. Snubbing our best player,someone who cares about the club and even played for free is ridiculous. Realising with a couple of games to go that he actually is our best player is even worse.

It's actually verging on incompetence. I only hope both can sort this out as we need KT as our captain next season.

Been offered the captaincy elsewhere next season, like you I'd love him to stay but doesn't look like it.

21-05-2014, 09:53 AM
Been offered the captaincy elsewhere next season, like you I'd love him to stay but doesn't look like it.

As long as it ain't at *********** 😏

Would love him to stay and lead us next season but just can't see it happening unfortunately

21-05-2014, 09:54 AM
As long as it ain't at *********** dde0f Would love him to stay and lead us next season but just can't see it happening unfortunately

Ok Admin that reads tynie

21-05-2014, 01:30 PM

Dundee, :cb see they just released there captain. :greengrin

21-05-2014, 01:44 PM
Dundee, :cb see they just released there captain. :greengrin

Who was their captain? Seen that that cardle had signed for Ross County, decent signing IMO.

26-05-2014, 08:08 AM
Get Hemmings in for starters, scored plenty in that league.