View Full Version : Hibs fans and political leanings

Paloschi
21-04-2014, 10:22 AM
Hi Guys, just to pull everyone away from the misery on the board at the moment I'm hoping to get some discussion on this.

I'm currently researching the links between Italian Politics, Ultras and Football. I find it interesting that there is a strong link in Italy and many other foreign clubs. It made me think about Hibs and where we stand. I would honestly say we are an apolitical group with a slight leaning to the left.

We do not tolerate bigotry, sectarianism or racism on the whole within our fan group.

Reading up online I see we have been branded 'left-wing' or 'far-left' on a few forums on the subject. We have even been compared to Celtic in some instances, with Hearts and Rangers portrayed as 'right-wing'

Perhaps this was the case years ago? What do others think?

21-04-2014, 10:35 AM
Think this will be moved to the Holy Ground before long, but as a whole Hibs unlike the Old Firm have little political baggage. If you did a poll on voting intentions and the like it'd probably broadly mirror the national view as a whole.

21-04-2014, 11:01 AM
Hi Guys, just to pull everyone away from the misery on the board at the moment I'm hoping to get some discussion on this.

I'm currently researching the links between Italian Politics, Ultras and Football. I find it interesting that there is a strong link in Italy and many other foreign clubs. It made me think about Hibs and where we stand. I would honestly say we are an apolitical group with a slight leaning to the left.

We do not tolerate bigotry, sectarianism or racism on the whole within our fan group.

Reading up online I see we have been branded 'left-wing' or 'far-left' on a few forums on the subject. We have even been compared to Celtic in some instances, with Hearts and Rangers portrayed as 'right-wing'

Sometimes there is a confusion with being politically 'right wing' and being a bigot. I expect you would find the majority of The Rangers fans to be Labour voters but also fully paid up religious bigots. :dunno:
Funny old world!

21-04-2014, 11:01 AM
For me no link whatsoever.

Bronson
21-04-2014, 11:09 AM
Certainly used to be the case that Celtic and ourselves were left wing and Rangers and Hearts were right wing, and it's still the case now to an extent. Rangers and Hearts still very much riddled with bigotry, the latter of which surprised me as I thought it wasn't a problem with Edinburgh clubs till my mate took me to a Hearts v Celtic game, and I saw first hand grown men and wee laddies giving Celtic fans the hand of ulster and singing some atrocious songs.

Hibs don't seem to have too much affiliation now but we're certainly more left that right wing.

21-04-2014, 11:13 AM
The people I attend games with have political leanings ranging towards Conservative, SNP, Lib-Dem and Labour.
I didn't choose my friends because of politics and certainly don't associate politics with supporting Hibs.

21-04-2014, 11:15 AM
For me no link whatsoever.

Quite right too.

21-04-2014, 11:24 AM
When I'm in the stand, standing next to my mates I don't have any idea who they side with in politics and that's just the way I like it. Politics has no home at Easter road we go because we support the hibees no other reason.

gegs70
21-04-2014, 11:26 AM
When I'm in the stand, standing next to my mates I don't have any idea who they side with in politics and that's just the way I like it. Politics has no home at Easter road we go because we support the hibees no other reason.

Totally agree...

21-04-2014, 11:27 AM
If football fans thought for themselves then naturally they'd have a whole load of different political views, that's definitely the case with Hibs fans. Taking your political stance from the football team you support is absolutely mental. If Sevco fans actually paused for a minute and thought rationally then surely they'd realise that it's a bit of a major coincidence that they all happen to be die hard Royalists and Unionists, they would surely have different political beliefs if they weren't such a bunch of sheep.

21-04-2014, 11:37 AM
I've never asked what anyones politics are, in life generally, and never thought to ask in a Hibs context. Likewise no one has ever asked me, although a few have made assumptions!

I think that's how important it is to Hibs supprters, that is its not important at all except a tiny minority who like to pigeonhole anyone and everything.

Take a look the football scene in Egypt for a link between football supporters and politics.

21-04-2014, 11:41 AM
I don't think there is a dominant philosophy within the Hibs support (nor Hearts for that matter, though their hardline element is larger than ours) unlike the Old Firm clubs, which maintain a more unified outlook. I would say our support is inclusive, you could say progressive or liberal with a small 'l', but that isn't the same as being left wing. Personally, I welcome diversity of opinion within the support; football clubs are not political parties, and all but racist views are perfectly fine.

madhibby
21-04-2014, 11:44 AM
I'm a Hibs fan, a Labour Party member and have been campaigning for Better Together.

But I don't really think there shoulsd be any link between your fiootball team and your own politics and I don't think there is with Hibs.

There is a view that Hibs are more left of centre than Hearts - jambos being the bunglaow bairns from the more prosperous West of Edinburgh with Hibs from more working class Leith? But again I"m not sure this really applies.

HiBremian
21-04-2014, 11:46 AM
If football fans thought for themselves then naturally they'd have a whole load of different political views, that's definitely the case with Hibs fans. Taking your political stance from the football team you support is absolutely mental. If Sevco fans actually paused for a minute and thought rationally then surely they'd realise that it's a bit of a major coincidence that they all happen to be die hard Royalists and Unionists, they would surely have different political beliefs if they weren't such a bunch of sheep.

I guess the question is, when we "think for ourselves" what influences our opinions. I'd say family, community and wider society. But if, like a number of der Neue Hun fans, that family/community/society is steeped in the same unionist/orange order culture as your fitba' club, I guess there'll be a strong political influence both ways. I'd reckon in Edinburgh there isn't much difference in political views between Hibs and Hearts fans.

Here in Bremen we live in a city with a left-wing tradition and, more recently, a Green (political) slant. So lots of fans cycle to the match, and the stadium is surrounded by solar panels. But that's just how the city is. Folk don't vote Green because, like Hibs, Werder play in green.

It's a nice coincidence, though. :greengrin

QMU-1875
21-04-2014, 11:51 AM
Don't know how anyone can say we are left wing with songs like the rudi skacel one. Other than it looking a bit cool/edgy to be left wing I think you'll find we as a whole would be much like the national average with no clear political identity like your st.pauli's or dupla prague

21-04-2014, 12:45 PM
Don't know how anyone can say we are left wing with songs like the rudi skacel one. Other than it looking a bit cool/edgy to be left wing I think you'll find we as a whole would be much like the national average with no clear political identity like your st.pauli's or dupla prague

You just condemned our whole support because of one idiotic song sung by those with more teeth than brain cells.

Well done.

Lendo
21-04-2014, 12:49 PM

I think youre getting political identity and stupidity mixed up.

(((Fergus)))
21-04-2014, 02:59 PM
Hibs fans are generally right-wing in that they subscribe to the philosophy of meritocracy.

Hibs players, on the other hand, are mostly Marxists as per the motto: "From each according to his lack of ability, to each according to his need for drink, drugs and court appearances."

21-04-2014, 03:04 PM
Hibs fans are generally right-wing in that they subscribe to the philosophy of meritocracy.

Hibs players, on the other hand, are mostly Marxists as per the motto: "From each according to his lack of ability, to each according to his need for drink, drugs and court appearances." I right then Fergus. I'm defitly on the general side of the Left. you are nuts if you think we are right wing. get real

21-04-2014, 03:08 PM
I right then Fergus. I'm defitly on the general side of the Left. you are nuts if you think we are right wing. get real

Wwwwwwhhhhooooooooosssshhhhhhh!!!!!!!

21-04-2014, 03:09 PM
Left wing, right wing.............I wish we had one of each!

21-04-2014, 03:11 PM
Having frequented the Holy Ground on several occasions, the fans on here are certainly mainly left wing and that is probably a fairly accurate reflection on the wider Hibs support.

However I wouldn't say that there's any particular political ideology amongst the Hibs support.

Hibiza
21-04-2014, 03:18 PM
Totally agree...

yup.

21-04-2014, 03:33 PM
I right then Fergus. I'm defitly on the general side of the Left. you are nuts if you think we are right wing. get real

21-04-2014, 03:40 PM
I'm left of centre and will be voting yes to rid Scotland of the vile tories forever.

Politically and religiously Hibs are all inclusive and I like it that way.

21-04-2014, 03:48 PM
There used to be a large Labour Party crowd who drank in The Artisan pub many moons ago. A lot of them were Hibbies but one or two were Hearts.

You'd occasionally get leaflets of a political nature handed out on routes to the ground but that could happen anywhere there's a crowd.

21-04-2014, 03:55 PM

If you want a fair reflection of the clubs political leanings then all you have to do is go onto the Holyground and start a thread titled:

" Would it be ok for Derek Riordan to bring an Irish flag to the derby? "

Then just sit back and enjoy the fireworks.

21-04-2014, 04:00 PM
Having frequented the Holy Ground on several occasions, the fans on here are certainly mainly left wing and that is probably a fairly accurate reflection on the wider Hibs support.

However I wouldn't say that there's any particular political ideology amongst the Hibs support.

Kind of my view as well.

I think the OP was more asking if Hibbies were more likely to lean to the left as a section of the population rather than lean to the left because they were Hibbies.

Our support if you had to pin it down is probably more left of centre. I certainly am ....... The one thing I am fairly certain of is that we don't have a great deal of tolerance for bigots or racist ...... Like any club we do have them, but thankfully they are thin on the ground.

Lately the Skacel song has been to the fore. I highly doubt it could be classed as racist ... borderline bigoted, probably. The one thing I can say for certain is that it shows anybody singing it up as a stupid, ill informed eejit who should probably have paid more attention in school. It does us no credit as a support and makes us look like morons.

Anyway ...... is it not enough just to be accurate and call the guy a **** :greengrin

Bronson
21-04-2014, 04:20 PM
Just out of interest, how is everyone voting in the independence referendum? I'm voting yes myself.

21-04-2014, 04:24 PM
Just out of interest, how is everyone voting in the independence referendum? I'm voting yes myself.

:thumbsup:The only way to end the dash to the far right.

21-04-2014, 06:36 PM
Just out of interest, how is everyone voting in the independence referendum? I'm voting yes myself.I havnae made up my mind yet. :agree:

21-04-2014, 06:39 PM

I thought you were a big Maggie Thatcher fan, no?

Weststandwanab
21-04-2014, 06:50 PM
It is a Yes from me.

21-04-2014, 10:37 PM
Yes from me, reason being I'm sick of the scaremongering that is coming from west minister... Oh and I was speaking to a well spoken gent in Shakespeare's while the Tory party was on and he was about to head to it on the Friday night.

From our conversation the thing that sticks in my head is "it's disgusting the women walking around on a Friday night with their shoes in their hand and their curry and chips in the other" followed by "no wonder there's so many unwanted pregnancies these days"

I laughed and saw he was being serious and walked away from him shaking my head.... ****ing idiots!!!

22-04-2014, 09:02 AM
Yes from me, reason being I'm sick of the scaremongering that is coming from west minister... Oh and I was speaking to a well spoken gent in Shakespeare's while the Tory party was on and he was about to head to it on the Friday night.

From our conversation the thing that sticks in my head is "it's disgusting the women walking around on a Friday night with their shoes in their hand and their curry and chips in the other" followed by "no wonder there's so many unwanted pregnancies these days"

I laughed and saw he was being serious and walked away from him shaking my head.... ****ing idiots!!!

God knows what he must think is in that curry...!

22-04-2014, 09:21 AM
God knows what he must think is in that curry...!

No contraception that's for certain :D

22-04-2014, 10:26 AM

A conversation with a mad well spoken zoomer has really influenced your decision?

hibby rae
22-04-2014, 06:23 PM
I would imagine the bulk of Hibs supporters would lean more to the left than right. But as has already been said, that's probably more a reflection of Scottish society than anything to do with the club. Just like in the 50s you may well have found most had voted conservative in the general election.

22-04-2014, 07:21 PM

Yes exactly, you met a clone everyone must be the same :wink:

22-04-2014, 08:23 PM
I'm a socialist and from a historically partisan Labour and unionist family - I will however be voting Yes and have no intention to vote for Labour again in their current form. Being a Hibs fan doesn't influence that at all.

23-04-2014, 07:12 AM
A conversation with a mad well spoken zoomer has really influenced your decision?

On the Tory party no I already disliked them he just confirmed my thoughts on them. To be honest tho I don't trust or have leanings towards any party they all lye their way into power and nothing ever changes.

Most politicians are corrupt to the core IMO.

25-04-2014, 05:41 PM
I'm a Labour Party member and season ticket holder at ER. Of the 9 of us that sit together 2 of us are Labour Party members, 6 support labour and 1 SNP. But our political opinions have no influence on the reasons why we support Hibs. Hibs unite us all politics leave 1 isolated so we generally steer away from discussing it.

yeezus.
01-05-2014, 11:42 AM
I met a Celtic fan who "couldn't believe" that I was a member of the Labour Party. He banged on about a Labour gov. sending troops into Northern Ireland in 1969.

Personally I am happy that Hibs fans are a diverse bunch from Conservatives / Socialists. I would hate our political leanings to be dictated by politics across the water.

brian6-2
01-05-2014, 01:14 PM
we are about as left wing as alan o'brien

05-05-2014, 11:12 PM

Gordon Smith was right wing - I'm 100% sure of that. :7:

08-05-2014, 08:15 PM
I'm further to the right than the Labour Party but not enough to consider myself Conservative. Definite 'No' voter, although I would tend to agree with Rupert Murdoch's suggestion that Salmond is probably the best politician in the UK.