View Full Version : Match Updates Sunday's Games

13-04-2014, 11:16 AM
Second Scottish Cup semi kicks off in half an hour and there are a couple of games in Engerland today too...........

13-04-2014, 11:31 AM
I hope saints wipe the smug look off mcinnes' coupon.

13-04-2014, 11:49 AM
In 2007 we won the league cup then went into the sc semi hot favourites too, I can see aberdeen coming a cropper today

13-04-2014, 11:53 AM
If st johnstone get through to face Dundee United I wonder if celtic park will still be the final venue.

semaj64
13-04-2014, 11:57 AM
If st johnstone get through to face Dundee United I wonder if celtic park will still be the final venue.

Think there will be contracts in place so will be Celtic Park

13-04-2014, 12:00 PM

It will still go ahead at Parkhead but the attendance would be appalling.

There would be 20,000 max at the game.

13-04-2014, 12:01 PM
1-0 Sheep, McGinn.

1-0 Sheep

1-0 Aberdeen, McGinn.

13-04-2014, 12:03 PM
Hope Aberdeen get pumped today. How they've managed to do so well this season can only be put down to the shocking standard of football in this country. Massively overrated team. I fancy Utd to win the cup regardless of who they play in the final.

Edit: **** sake 1-0!

13-04-2014, 12:05 PM
Sheep on fire, figuratively... Sadly...

13-04-2014, 12:05 PM
That Peter Pawlett song is extremely irritating.

13-04-2014, 12:06 PM
Let them win today, means a good final with a big crowd. Then hope United gub them.

13-04-2014, 12:09 PM
Should've been two.

or one one!

13-04-2014, 12:09 PM
Let them win today, means a good final with a big crowd. Then hope United gub them.

While I have no problem if the Saints turn this round, but a Dons - United Final would be a belter. Exult in the Non Old Firmness of it all. The Non Hibeeness can be addressed next season..

13-04-2014, 12:10 PM
1-0 Aberdeen, McGinn.

Cannae stand his smug coupon !

andy1875
13-04-2014, 12:14 PM
Goes without saying but McInnes really has done a great job with Dons. A good mix of youth and experience there.

Harris, Stanton & Forster are equally as good as Dons young players, difference being Dons older heads are miles better than ours.

Hopefully Terry can bring a few older experienced players in and push on next season. Aberdeen are the benchmark on how quickly it can be done.

13-04-2014, 12:31 PM
C'mon Liverpool :thumbsup:

TheFamous1875
13-04-2014, 12:41 PM
Liverpool's fans showing how it should be done - booing and jeering when the opposition have the ball, screaming and singing in support when they have it themselves.

Makes Easter Road seem like a ****ing morgue.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

13-04-2014, 12:43 PM
YAS :thumbsup:

13-04-2014, 12:46 PM
Preston getting face time. Mouth time on the radio is bad enough but they have him on telly now.

13-04-2014, 12:46 PM
Liverpool's fans showing how it should be done - booing and jeering when the opposition have the ball, screaming and singing in support when they have it themselves.

If hibs were playing what was effectively a title decider I think you might find the atmosphere a bit more to your liking. I've read some stupid things on here but that's one's right up there.

13-04-2014, 12:48 PM

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HDIf they'd been subjected tae what we have over the last 7 seasons (and the last 4 in particular), they'd have about as much tae sing about as Hibs fans have.

13-04-2014, 12:50 PM
It's hardly been sunshine and lollipops for Liverpool in recent years.

13-04-2014, 12:50 PM

Wonders never cease. Hibs aren't actually playing it's a day of rest until hostilities recommence on 19th. You and others can bleat all you like on a message board. The only thing that matters is getting behind the team the last 5 games. I fail to see what your post contributes to that.

13-04-2014, 12:52 PM
Is the Liverpool game on the radio?? :confused:

13-04-2014, 12:54 PM
Come on the pool !!!

TheFamous1875
13-04-2014, 12:55 PM
If hibs were playing what was effectively a title decider I think you might find the atmosphere a bit more to your liking. I've read some stupid things on here but that's one's right up there.

I wouldn't be swinging your stupid stick so abruptly mate, I just meant generally as it's really impressive and refreshing comparison to what we're used to. I've no doubt in my mind we'd be just as up for it if we were in the same situation. Don't contextualise my words for me - I was merely remarking. To label something so meagre 'stupid' is quite unwarranted.

13-04-2014, 12:57 PM
Pawlett still a diving cheat ... Never changes. ! Yet the beeb praise him to high heaven ... They just can't tell it as it is can they !!

13-04-2014, 12:58 PM

Ah, the old 'sensible option plus it'd be better/easier for the fans V everything MUST happen in Glasgow' argument - I know what my money's on !

13-04-2014, 01:00 PM
Excuse my self loathing but it's incredible what 90 minutes agains Hibs can do for a players confidence..

:duck:

13-04-2014, 01:03 PM
I wouldn't be swinging your stupid stick so abruptly mate, I just meant generally as it's really impressive and refreshing comparison to what we're used to. I've no doubt in my mind we'd be just as up for it if we were in the same situation. Don't contextualise my words for me - I was merely remarking. To label something so meagre 'stupid' is quite unwarranted.

You directly compared the atmosphere at the Liverpool game to the atmosphere at er, there can be no comparison between the 2, it wad just another cheap dig at the hibs support.

1-1 Stevie may

Stevie May equalises.

sheep should have had a free kick though.

Clangers strikes again.

Some finish by May.

13-04-2014, 01:04 PM
goal St. J 1-1

Come on the Saints

http://31.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_mac3x3mzkj1ruj2iwo1_400.gif

13-04-2014, 01:05 PM
We're gonna win the league!

13-04-2014, 01:06 PM
Goal Liverpool. Would really like to see them win the league, Rodgers had done an amazing job there.

13-04-2014, 01:06 PM
We're gonna win the league!

I'm afraid that's not possible due to the split. But I love your optimism :thumbsup:

13-04-2014, 01:08 PM
I'm afraid that's not possible due to the split. But I love your optimism :thumbsup:

13-04-2014, 01:08 PM
Goal Liverpool. Would really like to see them win the league, Rodgers had done an amazing job there.

Best team to watch in the league on their day.

Hope they win it.

13-04-2014, 01:09 PM

:rotflmao:

Best team to watch in the league on their day.

Hope they win it.

:agree: They have played some superb stuff this season. :top marks

I agree with LB.

TheFamous1875
13-04-2014, 01:11 PM
Wonders never cease. Hibs aren't actually playing it's a day of rest until hostilities recommence on 19th. You and others can bleat all you like on a message board. The only thing that matters is getting behind the team the last 5 games. I fail to see what your post contributes to that.

I wouldn't go as far as 'bleating' - I made a remark that very few can argue with. The majority of my posts have a positive outlook on Hibs' woes, I was just stating a fact. I don't see what my post takes away from my support of my club. I was just stating how impressed I was in comparison to what I'm used to considering my knowledge of what our own fan base is capable of.

I appreciate that this match isn't about Hibs, of course, but I usually relate most things football to my own club. I suppose this isn't the time nor the place!

OsloHibs
13-04-2014, 01:12 PM
I'm not a Liverpool fan in anyway, but my god their playing good football! Totally deserve that league this year.

TheFamous1875
13-04-2014, 01:12 PM
You directly compared the atmosphere at the Liverpool game to the atmosphere at er, there can be no comparison between the 2, it wad just another cheap dig at the hibs support.

Aye there can be - we have a great fan base capable of making just as much noise. We've done it many, many times before.

ColintonHibs
13-04-2014, 01:15 PM
James collins could finish like that, he just needs the service

Hahahahahahahahaha

hibbymick
13-04-2014, 01:16 PM
Aberdeens bottles have crashed.

13-04-2014, 01:23 PM

It's incredible how many non-Hibs threads over the past few days have turned into a Hibs bashing exercise within a few posts.

I'm sure people are doing it for a bet now!

Sent from my laptop using my fingers

13-04-2014, 01:26 PM
YASSS :thumbsup:

2-1 st.johnstone good stuff

2-1 St Johnstone.

May again.

I've got the dons on my coupon but I don't even care.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

13-04-2014, 01:27 PM
Good, hopefully the BBC twats will stop bumming up 'The Dandies' as the best thing since sliced bread.

13-04-2014, 01:27 PM
Yas.

May is some player. Works his socks off and a natural finisher.

Big move in him imo.

13-04-2014, 01:28 PM
C'mon St J shut up the sheep who think they are better than they are ..

13-04-2014, 01:28 PM
McInnes' face.

:-)

13-04-2014, 01:29 PM
Yas.

May is some player. Works his socks off and a natural finisher.

Big move in him imo.

I'd forgotten all about him until I saw him on SSN on Friday. At Christmas the media were talking him up as better than Griffiths.

Seems to have went off the boil, although back with a bang today.

13-04-2014, 01:30 PM
2-1 st.johnstone good stuffHopefully stay like that :agree:

hibbymick
13-04-2014, 01:32 PM
I've got the dons on my coupon but I don't even care.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

The hopeless fu***rs have just done me for 180 shekels.

13-04-2014, 01:32 PM
Hopefully stay like that :agree:

13-04-2014, 01:34 PM
I'd forgotten all about him until I saw him on SSN on Friday. At Christmas the media were talking him up as better than Griffiths.

Seems to have went off the boil, although back with a bang today.

Surely there will be a host of clubs after him now. Why do I get the feeling that if he had been with us, he'd have been gone already, or the press going on about how he isn't paid well enough?

Wish we had a player like may!

Well done Saints. Good luck Spoony in the final.

13-04-2014, 01:35 PM
Full time;

St Johnstone 2-1 Aberdeen

St Johnstone v Dundee Utd final.

Hopefully stay like that :agree:

hope they win the thing as well :agree:

St Johnstone in the 2nd half have been excellent. Shows you what can be done with a CF that can hold it up and and guy with pace that can finish. Well done saints.

Btw was Rooney playing today??

Like the LC final did nowt.

Well done Saints! :clapper:

hibbymick
I hope wotherspoon gets a game in the final.

13-04-2014, 01:36 PM
http://img.pandawhale.com/80054-South-Park-orgasm-meme-Randy-M-DWge.jpeg

13-04-2014, 01:37 PM
Great result. Too many assumptions about the mighty Dons.

Not only that, I hope he gets a winners medal.....

Brilliant for St J ... Glad to see the sheep put in their place .. They are no very good :-)

TheFamous1875
It's incredible how many non-Hibs threads over the past few days have turned into a Hibs bashing exercise within a few posts.

I'm sure people are doing it for a bet now!

Sent from my laptop using my fingers

Read my threads mate, I have nothing but a realistically optimistic attitude in regards to our club. To be fair, there's been a LOT of moaning and groaning of late, but if my paltry contribution to that (if it is) is worthy of persecution alongside some of the more ridiculous, greetin' faced basin ****ters that've been roaming the boards of late then I'm afraid the tide has now turned and it's now more of a witch-hunt than a pessimism epidemic.

Final is 17th May.. and May wears number 17 :hmmm:

hibbymick
St Johnstone in the 2nd half have been excellent. Shows you what can be done with a CF that can hold it up and and guy with pace that can finish. Well done saints.

Btw was Rooney playing today??

Like the LC final did nowt.

He missed that one on one with the keeper earlier in the game, done not very much in the game.

Excellent Saints!
Wiped the smile from McInnes pus.
:-)

Well done Saintees.

13-04-2014, 01:38 PM

Me too, Fenlon put him in the stand in the last 2 finals

13-04-2014, 01:39 PM
Well done Saints. Good luck Spoony in the final.

This. 2 years on the bounce spoons was left out altogether......3rd time lucky, and maybe he'll get a game this time...

13-04-2014, 01:40 PM
Oh dear, just watched the new Mars Bar advert with Stevie G etc at HT in the Liverpool game, what a shocker. Still, I'm sure they got a few quid for it.

13-04-2014, 01:40 PM
Could be a record low attendance for a Scottish Cup final.

13-04-2014, 01:41 PM
Well done Spoony, hopefully bangs in the winner come May. :aok:

TheFamous1875
13-04-2014, 01:42 PM
Well done to St Johnstone - really chuffed for them considering they've never been to a Scottish Cup final. I always want them to win if Hibs don't because they've had good teams and have done extremely well given their resources and have never won a trophy. So many semi finals and just never got there.

I'm especially pleased for David Wotherspoon. I read yesterday that his departure from Hibs was solidified by his second omission from a final squad, so I'm really pleased for him to finally achieve this (touch wood) with his boyhood club.

13-04-2014, 01:42 PM
Wonder what the sheep loving media will make of that?? Well done St J!!

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

13-04-2014, 01:43 PM

What do you think the final attendance will be?

13-04-2014, 01:44 PM
Get it right ****in up you Aberdeen.

SuperAllyMcleod
13-04-2014, 01:45 PM

So what? Sporting integrity means that any team winning their games are entitled to play in the final and I'm sure most of Perth will make the trip down for their first ever final.

Good luck to them.

13-04-2014, 01:47 PM

The fans of the winning team will be gutted that their Scottish Cup victory is tarnished by some empty seats, right enough...

13-04-2014, 01:52 PM

2500 to beat. There will be more than that in blazers and general hangers-on before counting any supporters.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Scottish_Cup_finals#Results

13-04-2014, 01:54 PM
See if Liverpool can hold their nerve here. Been a good game so far.

13-04-2014, 01:57 PM
McInnes actually very fair in defeat.. Says a bit for him !!

TheFamous1875
13-04-2014, 01:57 PM
2-2

13-04-2014, 01:58 PM
See if Liverpool can hold their nerve here. Been a good game so far.

:agree: Eminently watchable.

13-04-2014, 01:58 PM
So what? Sporting integrity means that any team winning their games are entitled to play in the final and I'm sure most of Perth will make the trip down for their first ever final.

Good luck to them.

Where did I say anything about entitlement?

I simply made an observation as to the likely attendance at the final.

The fans of the winning team will be gutted that their Scottish Cup victory is tarnished by some empty seats, right enough...

:rolleyes: Aye that's what I said of course.

Unbelievable.

13-04-2014, 02:00 PM
Pleasing to watch Liverpool throw away a two goal lead, even if it is to Man City. :tee hee:

Also should be down to 10 men after a blatant dive earlier from that horrible little toad Suarez.

TheFamous1875
13-04-2014, 02:02 PM

Unbelievable.

Trig! Me and you are thegither! Stating remarks and them being misconstrued? That's means me and you are thegither! Ooooooooooo

13-04-2014, 02:03 PM
Pleasing to watch Liverpool throw away a two goal lead. :tee hee:

Also should be down to 10 men after a blatant dive earlier from that horrible little toad Suarez.

He really is a despicable character, great player but a complete ****in ********. He's tried to be a better human being after last years animal impressions, but over the last few weeks and again today his true colours have been shown.:rolleyes:

TheFamous1875
13-04-2014, 02:04 PM
Rather have Lily Allen in my final third ;)

13-04-2014, 02:05 PM

Unbelievable.

Where did I say that what was you said?

I simply made an observation...

:love ya!:

13-04-2014, 02:08 PM

they should get between 40 and 50 thousand for the game.
dugs cats and everything will be going to the game from perth and dundee

13-04-2014, 02:09 PM
He really is a despicable character, great player but a complete ****in ********. He's tried to be a better human being after last years animal impressions, but over the last few weeks and again today his true colours have been shown.:rolleyes:

He's one of the most detestable football players I have ever come across.

He's a great player but I cannot stand him at all.

IMO he fits in well at Anfield.

Still hope he does well for a certain 90 minutes in Brazil in the summer. :greengrin

13-04-2014, 02:11 PM
I hope St Johnstone go on and win the cup in their first ever Scottish Cup final. The sheep - GIRFUY.

13-04-2014, 02:13 PM
:thumbsup::thumbsup:

TheFamous1875
KOMPITULATION

3-2 Liverpool.

Coutinho.

:brickwall

Goal! Liverpool in front again. Cracking game!

semaj64
13-04-2014, 02:14 PM
Took goal well just after City's several chances

Weststandwanab
13-04-2014, 02:22 PM
Multi quote alert.

He's one of the most detestable football players I have ever come across.

He's a great player but I cannot stand him at all.

IMO he fits in well at Anfield.

Still hope he does well for a certain 90 minutes in Brazil in the summer. :greengrin I agree with all of that statement.

I hope St Johnstone go on and win the cup in their first ever Scottish Cup final. The sheep - GIRFUY. Me 2 and hope spoony plays and gets a winner's medal

13-04-2014, 02:24 PM
Don't think it's a great tactic inviting City on to them like that. Liverpool need to get on the ball more.

13-04-2014, 02:26 PM
5 mins injury time, where have they got that from?

13-04-2014, 02:28 PM
Henderson sent off for a shocking tackle.

13-04-2014, 02:29 PM
3-2 Liverpool.

Coutinho.

:brickwall

Brilliant. Come on Liverpool.

13-04-2014, 02:32 PM
Delighted for Liverpool!

TheFamous1875
13-04-2014, 02:33 PM
Some boy, that Gerrard. A true leader.

AllyF
13-04-2014, 02:38 PM
Would love to support a team with a leader like Steven Gerard and unity like Liverpool. Amazing.

13-04-2014, 02:40 PM

Less than when United played County?

TheFamous1875
13-04-2014, 02:42 PM
Would love to support a team with a leader like Steven Gerard and unity like Liverpool. Amazing.

How dare you criticise Hibs!!! Yet another excuse to have a go at our club!

13-04-2014, 02:43 PM
Less than when United played County?

Apparently 47,000 were at that game. I would say that the attendance for the final this year will be considerably less than that.

TheFamous1875
13-04-2014, 02:45 PM

In all seriousness, it's incredible to see a club have that. Their ultimate player who knows EXACTLY what the club means. It's incredible to see that. I'm no Liverpool fan, but I want them to win it - they're not on financial steroids, their captain is a colossus, and they play the most beautiful football in the country.

13-04-2014, 02:49 PM
Gerrard is an inspiration. Come on the pool! 

13-04-2014, 02:59 PM
Pawlett still a diving cheat ... Never changes. ! Yet the beeb praise him to high heaven ... They just can't tell it as it is can they !!

I've tweeted Richard Gordon a couple of times about that after his hate campaign against O'connor aboit diving and amazingly have never heard back.

13-04-2014, 03:10 PM
In all seriousness, it's incredible to see a club have that. Their ultimate player who knows EXACTLY what the club means. It's incredible to see that. I'm no Liverpool fan, but I want them to win it - they're not on financial steroids, their captain is a colossus, and they play the most beautiful football in the country.

Suarez was cheap, as was Coutinho, Henderson, Sturridge, Mignolet etc. They've spent quite a lot for a team thats not even been in the champions league the past few years.

Every club at the top end of the Premier League has an influential captain. Gerrard's scored a few penalties, big deal.

Close between them, Man City, Southampton and Hearts TBH.

TheFamous1875
13-04-2014, 03:20 PM
Suarez was cheap, as was Coutinho, Henderson, Sturridge, Mignolet etc. They've spent quite a lot for a team thats not even been in the champions league the past few years.

Every club at the top end of the Premier League has an influential captain. Gerrard's scored a few penalties, big deal.

Perhaps I'm not privy but I would've thought they'd have nowhere near the money Man City and Chelsea have. Their fan base has been built over decades of success, not some billionaire's turning coal to gold. Maybe I'm misinformed, but seeing Gerrard react to victory like that was really touching and inspiring.

He's a product of their academy, a local lad who grew up a fan and he's their main man who looks to be leading his team to their first league championship in a generation.

13-04-2014, 03:27 PM
Would love to support a team with a leader like Steven Gerard and unity like Liverpool.
Is the team you'd love to support Liverpool? :confused:

13-04-2014, 03:29 PM

Billy Liddle was a relative , through marriage, of my father and I have had two cousins ( Scots) play for them back in the 80's and next to Hibs they are the team I support .
Up to three years ago my son and I went to Annfield twice a season - what an atmosphere - win or lose.

Common 'pool win this league - pleaseeeeeeee !!!

13-04-2014, 03:33 PM

Who are the arsenal and Everton captains?

13-04-2014, 03:33 PM
Billy Liddle was a relative , through marriage, of my father and I have had two cousins ( Scots) play for them back in the 80's and next to Hibs they are the team I support .
Up to three years ago my son and I went to Annfield twice a season - what an atmosphere - win or lose.

Common 'pool win this league - pleaseeeeeeee !!!

Was at Goodison last week for match V Arsenal. Atmosphere was electric.

The whole city is buzzing about the footie right now.

:applause:

13-04-2014, 03:36 PM
What an absolutely incrediable leader Steven Gerrard is. He has so much passion and is a born leader. Nobody deserves the title more than him.

13-04-2014, 03:36 PM
I don't think anyone at the start of the year outside of Liverpool would have expected them to be top of the table at this point of the season. I must confess that I called them as contenders in January but they've restored a little bit of my faith in English football that a team with good youngsters, a good manager and a great support have propelled themselves to the top of the league. Would hate Man City or Chelsea to win it, fingers crossed for Liverpool.

Well done to Brendan Rogers.

13-04-2014, 04:59 PM
What a game the semi final has been.

5-3 Hull but Sheffield United more than played their part in a cracking game.

13-04-2014, 05:06 PM
What a game the semi final has been. 5-3 Hull but Sheffield United more than played their part in a cracking game.

Brilliant game. Wouldnt mind signing Jamie Murphy tbh.... Can't see it now though.

13-04-2014, 05:15 PM
I don't think anyone at the start of the year outside of Liverpool would have expected them to be top of the table at this point of the season. I must confess that I called them as contenders in January but they've restored a little bit of my faith in English football that a team with good youngsters, a good manager and a great support have propelled themselves to the top of the league. Would hate Man City or Chelsea to win it, fingers crossed for Liverpool.

Well done to Brendan Rogers.

Well said. :agree:

13-04-2014, 05:24 PM

bitter man utd fan alert :violin:

13-04-2014, 05:29 PM
What an absolutely incrediable leader Steven Gerrard is. He has so much passion and is a born leader. Nobody deserves the title more than him.

i agree but thought he came over as a fud in the interview after the game when the reporter asked him what he said in the huddle at the end ??

still hope they win the league

AllyF
13-04-2014, 05:32 PM
Is the team you'd love to support Liverpool? :confused:

Maybe I worded that wrongly.

I would love the team I support (Hibernian FC) to have a leader like Steven Gerard and unity like Liverpool.

One can only dream.

13-04-2014, 05:34 PM
I really hope Liverpool go on to be champions, in this of all years. However, Chelsea look to have a relatively easy run-in. Their remaining fixtures are at home to Sunderland & Norwich and away to Cardiff & Liverpool. They won ugly, yet again, at Swansea today. So the Liverpool v Chelsea game is a real must win for Liverpool. I would be very disappointed if Chelsea were to steal it from under Liverpool's nose now.

13-04-2014, 08:57 PM
Maybe I worded that wrongly.

I would love the team I support (Hibernian FC) to have a leader like Steven Gerard and unity like Liverpool.

One can only dream.
It just highlights what can be achieved if everyone is together and getting behind a team rather than boooo boooo all the time

13-04-2014, 11:03 PM

Perhaps I'm not privy but I would've thought they'd have nowhere near the money Man City and Chelsea have. Their fan base has been built over decades of success, not some billionaire's turning coal to gold. Maybe I'm misinformed, but seeing Gerrard react to victory like that was really touching and inspiring.

He's a product of their academy, a local lad who grew up a fan and he's their main man who looks to be leading his team to their first league championship in a generation.

People need to think about what they're saying when considering the moral high ground.
A fan base "built over decades of success" means one full of glory hunters who collectively skew things just as much as the individuals who do so at nouveau riche clubs. One is every bit as "fake " as the other as they are both boosted by "outside" influences.

The fans of teams like Everton and City have suffered big time because their rivals have outmuscled them financially. People can say that some clubs deserve extra fans and admirers because they have certain qualities but the bottom line is that they are propped up by people who want to see some glory and don't really care where it is. When you listen to phone-ins, the average united or Liverpool fan is either some Irish guy or a guy called Tahir from Kent who says "innit" after every sentence.

It's got to the point where the only way anyone else can ever challenge is through a large injection of cash because of the imbalance created by these "big" clubs. I really hope City win the league and it's because their fans probably deserve it more than any other in contention. They've had to suffer years of playing second fiddle to clubs who's similar local fan base has been boosted by people who have never even been to the City.

The sheer weight of the amount of "outsiders" who want to jump on the big club bandwagon is every bit as damaging as the sheik who wants to instantly create another force to challenge for honours. At least the sheiks and oligarch types are genuine. As a fan of a smaller club in the grand scheme of things I find it laughable when any of these typical fans refer to United or Liverpool as "we" and act like they are part of some close knit, local collective that deserves their emotional investment.

Maybe if they pissed off to their local club and invested in them then other teams wouldn't need to go to such extreme lengths to simply compete.

14-04-2014, 03:39 PM
People need to think about what they're saying when considering the moral high ground.
A fan base "built over decades of success" means one full of glory hunters who collectively skew things just as much as the individuals who do so at nouveau riche clubs. One is every bit as "fake " as the other as they are both boosted by "outside" influences.

The fans of teams like Everton and City have suffered big time because their rivals have outmuscled them financially. People can say that some clubs deserve extra fans and admirers because they have certain qualities but the bottom line is that they are propped up by people who want to see some glory and don't really care where it is. When you listen to phone-ins, the average united or Liverpool fan is either some Irish guy or a guy called Tahir from Kent who says "innit" after every sentence.

It's got to the point where the only way anyone else can ever challenge is through a large injection of cash because of the imbalance created by these "big" clubs. I really hope City win the league and it's because their fans probably deserve it more than any other in contention. They've had to suffer years of playing second fiddle to clubs who's similar local fan base has been boosted by people who have never even been to the City.

The sheer weight of the amount of "outsiders" who want to jump on the big club bandwagon is every bit as damaging as the sheik who wants to instantly create another force to challenge for honours. At least the sheiks and oligarch types are genuine. As a fan of a smaller club in the grand scheme of things I find it laughable when any of these typical fans refer to United or Liverpool as "we" and act like they are part of some close knit, local collective that deserves their emotional investment.

Maybe if they pissed off to their local club and invested in them then other teams wouldn't need to go to such extreme lengths to simply compete.

I agree with much of what you say but I think you have been a bit unfair singling out Man Utd & Liverpool. The following is quoted directly from a book written by a Chelsea FC fan about his club. "Today's Chelsea - the place as well as the team - has been transformed by selfish capitalism and the mass media. Great swathes of property in the area have been bought by foreigners & corporations, very few of the innumerable shops are owned by British Companies, and the coffee shops & restaurants are awash with rich foreigners. As for the team, Roman Abramovich its owner, was enabled by globalisation & free market economics to remove his huge financial stake in Russian natural resources from the country of its origin & convert it into international ready cash. With it he bought Chelsea FC, installed a Portuguese manager who, at astronomical expense, set about assembling a largely foreign team of players. The authenticity once conferred upon me by supporting Chelsea has been greatly diluted. I no longer have any feeling that I am backing a team of players who were born in my country & represent my area. So enormous has been the investment in the team that they hardly ever lose. Unless they play outstandingly, it gives me little pleasure when they win because winning seems inevitable."