View Full Version : If it was free would you go?

beensaidbefore
08-04-2014, 10:34 PM
Apart from the derby, I predict ER is going to be empty for the rest of the season. If they gave tickets away for free do you think we could get a decent support? Better than the place sitting empty.

Side issue. Would season ticket holders object? If so, why?

08-04-2014, 10:38 PM
It's serious now , we need to get out there and try to help this team notch a win or two - it's time to turn up, not turn away

08-04-2014, 10:40 PM
Apart from the derby, I predict ER is going to be empty for the rest of the season. If they gave tickets away for free do you think we could get a decent support? Better than the place sitting empty.

No and Yes because I have already paid for a season ticket for this season and the next.

08-04-2014, 10:48 PM
Be better to drop the price to £5 than to offer free entry. Although, it would probably only attract another 1000 at best which would be lost income. However, if it helped the team win it would be worth it.

If it was free then it may not be just Hibs fans that try to get into our side of the stadium. Also, wouldn't we have to let the away support in free too for legal reasons? Seems potentially complicated.

beensaidbefore
08-04-2014, 10:55 PM
Be better to drop the price to £5 than to offer free entry. Although, it would probably only attract another 1000 at best which would be lost income. However, if it helped the team win it would be worth it.

If it was free then it may not be just Hibs fans that try to get into our side of the stadium. Also, wouldn't we have to let the away support in free too for legal reasons? Seems potentially complicated.

Make it an offer to people who have already bought tickets. we may be lucky to get a 2000 away supporters in total for last games of season. let them in for free, take a hit and entice more home support along. 8000 fans in a 20000 stadium is no use to anyone.

08-04-2014, 10:57 PM
No

You'd have to pay me to watch that dross

08-04-2014, 11:21 PM
No. In my opinion, money is not the issue. For a lot of fans, who have supported Hibs for a very, very long time, this present team has consistently reached depths I would never have expected any Hibs team to sink to. At my age, :violin: quality of life and enjoyment are priorities and frankly sitting in a depressing atmosphere watching a team which is useless, doesn't really care, is poorly motivated, is turned off by the management ( choose as appropriate ) is not my idea of fun. We old guys repeat ourselves a lot and I'm conscious of this echoing in my ears, but I get more enjoyment trudging round a cold wet golf course playing rubbish golf than I do getting my knickers in a twist and torturing my blood pressure willing on a lost cause. Yes I'll be back at ER if and when things improve but until then this old dragon is saying 'I'm out'. If you're young and enthusiastic but short of a bob or two, I'm sure the incentive of free entry to ER might put bums on seats but not necessarily spur our team to better things.

shetlandhibee
08-04-2014, 11:24 PM
My freinds (sheep) were booking tickets for the game yeaterday and they were going on at me about how ER is overly priced. They say you can get in the merkland stand for £5 not sure I
Can you get as cheap as that with us?

08-04-2014, 11:29 PM
My freinds (sheep) were booking tickets for the game yeaterday and they were going on at me about how ER is overly priced. They say you can get in the merkland stand for £5 not sure I
Can you get as cheap as that with us?
I got moaned at on here because I mentioned about the over prices with tickets and snack stands. If the club try and over price a supporter they feel a dis trust.... I ain't paying 20/30 to see that crap no chance. Free? Yes.

08-04-2014, 11:32 PM
I've already paid and I cannae be ersed so if it was free it wouldnae make any difference tae me. As for letting anybody else in for free, they can dae what they like.

08-04-2014, 11:55 PM
No

You'd have to pay me to watch that dross

That's the spirit.

ManBearPig
09-04-2014, 02:45 AM
Why because misery loves company.... Especially if it's free.

FWIW I still want to go to games and pay for priviledge it's part of SUPPORTING a team.
#betterorworse

09-04-2014, 06:25 AM
If we need a result against Killie last game of the season we will have 15000 there. So need for freebies for all. But I would give more comps to schools/ charities

09-04-2014, 06:32 AM

Pricing isn't the issue, it's the fitba.
I don't know why somebody who has paid £400 per person for his family to attend ER would object to others getting in for free. Maybe they are just selfish *******s. :agree:

gegs70
09-04-2014, 06:52 AM
I have mentioned the price before but at the moment the way hibs are playing reducing price wouldn't be enough....

gegs70
09-04-2014, 07:10 AM
Interestingly Albion Rovers introduced a pay what you can season ticket....what would you pay?

09-04-2014, 08:36 AM
Interestingly Albion Rovers introduced a pay what you can season ticket....what would you pay?Dinnae think that would work here TBH. Most people wouldnae pay what they can pay, they would pay what they thought it was worth and if that was the case we'd be in deep doo doo. I could pay mair than I currently do but I winnae even pay the same next time round.

09-04-2014, 08:41 AM
Interestingly Albion Rovers introduced a pay what you can season ticket....what would you pay?

I don't think they did, it was a one off pay what you want game. How could a club possibly plan the season head if they had no idea what was going to be coming in?

09-04-2014, 08:41 AM
When i had a season ticket, this question was asked a few times over the years. My answer now is the same as then, yes i'd let folk in for nowt.

Although i can see the other side of the argument, and it would devalue the season ticket that each fan has bought.

Its each to their own i suppose at the end of the day.

Smiggy 7-0
09-04-2014, 08:47 AM
Buy a ticket for the Hearts game and get the other 2 homes games free.

09-04-2014, 08:54 AM
My good friend Malcolm Bogie offered me a free ticket for Monday night's match but such is my apathy right now I opted to watched the game on TV.

Do I feel guilty? - not a bit of it. The effect of Fenlon's football lingers on and if anything the "spectacle" currently on display is even worse.

After watching Hibs for 50+ years I said I wouldn't be back until such time that Fenlon was sacked as I honestly thought that anything MUST be an improvement -------------- just how wrong could I be?

09-04-2014, 09:07 AM
My dad went on Monday for the first time in ages and, when asked if it was worth going, he said, "aye, Aberdeen are a good team. I'd pay to go and watch them every week".

hibs4thecup1988
09-04-2014, 09:08 AM
Not me. Already paid for my season ticket and won't be attending another game this year.

I really do not have the energy to sit through 90 minutes watching that. The atmosphere at my seat in the Lower FF stand used to get me through but I just cannot be bothered now. If that makes me a terrible fan so be it. I have had season tickets for the last 6 years though.

Big changes need to be made from the top down in my view. Board to go and sell East Mains. I may think about going back.

09-04-2014, 09:16 AM
Not me. Already paid for my season ticket and won't be attending another game this year.

I really do not have the energy to sit through 90 minutes watching that. The atmosphere at my seat in the Lower FF stand used to get me through but I just cannot be bothered now. If that makes me a terrible fan so be it. I have had season tickets for the last 6 years though.

Big changes need to be made from the top down in my view. Board to go and sell East Mains. I may think about going back.

So that's two things unrelated to price from yourself. Of all the doom and gloom related threads started on here not one was from somebody saying that they were not going back because it was too dear. They have all been about how crap the football is.

09-04-2014, 09:21 AM
Defo no discount for the Hearts game then.

Just been announced it's still 28 quid.

Green&White
09-04-2014, 09:21 AM
I simply cannot justify spending £400+ on a season ticket or even £25+ a week to watch us get beat without any fight every week when i have a wife and 3 kids to support. that money could be put to much better and more beneficial use.
i was a season ticket holder for 8 years before last season and really ive not had much in return.. its sad but its a no brainer for me

09-04-2014, 09:23 AM

Why sell East Mains, will that improve the product on the park ? I have read some tosh on this site recently but that takes the biscuit:confused:

09-04-2014, 09:24 AM
I simply cannot justify spending £400+ on a season ticket or even £25+ a week to watch us get beat without any fight every week when i have a wife and 3 kids to support. that money could be put to much better and more beneficial use.
i was a season ticket holder for 8 years before last season and really ive not had much in return.. its sad but its a no brainer for me

But they are fighting,the problem is most of them are jst not good enough

Pat 0-7
09-04-2014, 09:24 AM
Pricing isn't the issue, it's the fitba.
I don't know why somebody who has paid £400 per person for his family to attend ER would object to others getting in for free. Maybe they are just selfish *******s. :agree:

I think pricing is a big part of it for walk-up supporters who have kids (like me). £12 for an under 12 is too much imo - on average it is the most expensive kids ticket in the SPFL.

Other teams under 12 prices:

Partick and St Mirren - £5
St. Johnstone - adult & 2 kids get into the family stand for £15 (or under 12s free in away stand)
Motherwell are £12 too but do 'Kids £5' for certain games.
Inverness - £7 on a 'Family Ticket'
Aberdeen - £6 in the Merkland Stand
Celtic - not sure if this applies all season but they are offering £1 tickets for Aberdeen game and 'from £5' for Inverness.
Ross County - £10 for upcoming Hibs game
DUFC - £3 (max 2 kids, certain area of stand)
Kilmarnock - £5 (also thats for under 16 in Moffat Stand)
even the yaks do an £8 ticket

How often do Hibs do any kids ticket deals? Not very often. The Malmo game was packed out mainly becasue of the £5 kids tickets imo.
Ok the Hibs Kids can take a friend for £5 for certain games but that is only a limited number of tickets and needs bought in advance.

And why should it cost more for a 13 to 17 year old anyway? (applies to all clubs) - its still the parent who has to pay in most cases.

I think the club needs to look at kids walk-up prices. Not everyone can take advantage of the cheap kids season tickets.

hibs4thecup1988
09-04-2014, 09:26 AM
Why sell East Mains, will that improve the product on the park ? I have read some tosh on this site recently but that takes the biscuit:confused:

Does it?? Why??

What have we produced since East Maines? Harris - a guy who hasnt kicked a ball in nearly a year
Stanton fair enough...

Before that we had the youngsters of 2007 and before that trained at Wardie, Edin Accies a beach anywhere. Make them work for it. East Mains is too good for these imposters and they are showing it!

hibs4thecup1988
09-04-2014, 09:28 AM
So that's two things unrelated to price from yourself. Of all the doom and gloom related threads started on here not one was from somebody saying that they were not going back because it was too dear. They have all been about how crap the football is.

Sorry I don't see your point? Are you saying I am wrong or what?

I personally do not give two hoots about price. It could be £100 a game if what we were playing was worth viewing - at this point it isn't

09-04-2014, 09:29 AM
Does it?? Why??

What have we produced since East Maines? Harris - a guy who hasnt kicked a ball in nearly a year
Stanton fair enough...

Before that we had the youngsters of 2007 and before that trained at Wardie, Edin Accies a beach anywhere. Make them work for it. East Mains is too good for these imposters and they are showing it!

Aye. Half a day spent in a mini bus followed by 6 hours running up and down sand dunes should help us find the next Messi. :agree:

hibs4thecup1988
09-04-2014, 09:30 AM
Aye. Half a day spent in a mini bus followed by 6 hours running up and down sand dunes should help us find the next Messi. :agree:

Yup and 7 years of 2 hours training and 6 hours playing Fifa and Xbox 1 have helped so far :aok:

09-04-2014, 09:36 AM
Pay what you can afford, nae chance at this club even for one game. Full house required for the Derby and they're charging 28 quid & 14 - 17 quid for bairns.

If I hadnae already paid I certainly wouldnae be paying that and I can see that being where I am next season, when I havnae paid up front for it I'll be less bothered about no going.

The first part of that ticket statement say it all about where we are just now, 'two hugely important fixtures' :rolleyes:

09-04-2014, 09:40 AM
If we need a result against Killie last game of the season we will have 15000 there. So need for freebies for all. But I would give more comps to schools/ charities

Have to agree with this. Are folk really gonna stay away if we need a result last game of the season? They might say they will but when it comes down to it, I'd like to think they won't. I'll even go one step further and say that IF we do end up in the playoff, Easter Road will sell out (unless its qos).

09-04-2014, 09:49 AM
I think pricing is a big part of it for walk-up supporters who have kids (like me). £12 for an under 12 is too much imo - on average it is the most expensive kids ticket in the SPFL.

St. Johnstone - adult & 2 kids get into the family stand for £15 (or under 12s free in away stand)
Celtic - not sure if this applies all season but they are offering £1 tickets for Aberdeen game and 'from £5' for Inverness.

How often do Hibs do any kids ticket deals? Not very often. The Malmo game was packed out mainly becasue of the £5 kids tickets imo.
Ok the Hibs Kids can take a friend for £5 for certain games but that is only a limited number of tickets and needs bought in advance.

And why should it cost more for a 13 to 17 year old anyway? (applies to all clubs) - its still the parent who has to pay in most cases.

I think the club needs to look at kids walk-up prices. Not everyone can take advantage of the cheap kids season tickets.

Never understood the under 12 thing and actually most of the other clubs in the league are U16 not U12. On a side note, Thistle let in the kids for free. Never quite understood how they get away with it as its only their own fans and away fans have to pay to get in.

09-04-2014, 09:50 AM
Yup and 7 years of 2 hours training and 6 hours playing Fifa and Xbox 1 have helped so far :aok:

But thats not whats happening, you know making things up is just stupid?

hibs4thecup1988
09-04-2014, 09:51 AM
But thats not whats happening, you know making things up is just stupid?

What is then? Cause there is NO WAY they are training there for the full day. And if they are then they are even more of a bunch of imposters as I thought

09-04-2014, 09:59 AM

Aye, because that's what they are doing isn't it.:rolleyes:
Derek McInnes credits the fact that Aberdeen no longer have to train on any available public parks as part of the reason for their improvement this year. The facilities are not the problem.

09-04-2014, 10:16 AM
What is then? Cause there is NO WAY they are training there for the full day. And if they are then they are even more of a bunch of imposters as I thought

I'd say they are doing pretty much the same things as celtic at the top do, and hearts at the bottom. What they dont do is play xbox all day. As i said making things up is just stupid.

09-04-2014, 10:18 AM
Derek McInnes credits the fact that Aberdeen no longer have to train on any available public parks as part of the reason for their improvement this year. The facilities are not the problem.

That and a bunch of decent players I guess.

jakeshibs
09-04-2014, 10:39 AM
It's serious now , we need to get out there and try to help this team notch a win or two - it's time to turn up, not turn away

I am with you lets get there and support the team

09-04-2014, 12:01 PM
That and a bunch of decent players I guess.

So you agree with me then, the facilities are not the problem at Hibs.

09-04-2014, 12:03 PM

There are no xbox's at East Mains. Maybe in the past but not now.

And they're in all day, not just 2 hours.

09-04-2014, 12:07 PM
There are no xbox's at East Mains. Maybe in the past but not now.

And they're in all day, not just 2 hours.

No but they upgraded to PS4s :greengrin

ManBearPig
09-04-2014, 12:10 PM
all this talk about east mains being useless, arent the under 20s on an unbeaten run and top of their league??!?!?

09-04-2014, 12:17 PM

I keep hearing that "the facilities are not the problem". Which is true. There is nothing actually wrong with the facilities themselves.

How they're actually used on the other hand is a completely different matter.

09-04-2014, 12:25 PM
So you agree with me then, the facilities are not the problem at Hibs.

Facilities are not the issue at Hibs, nor Aberdeen

Imagine if you can how TB would do with that Aberdeen team and vice versa.

Stewart Milne saw a chance with Rangers and Hearts rooked and took it.

09-04-2014, 12:30 PM
It wouldn't bother me in the slightest if free tickets were made available, if the bigger crowds resulted in us picking up enough points to stay in the league. And while it can happen a bigger crowd doesn't always equate to better results when it comes to Hibs, we seem to specialise in saving up our very worst performances when we have a large support.

09-04-2014, 12:35 PM

I keep reading this or similar, but did he really ? PF was allowed to sign a number of players in his time with us and in the summer only Celtic and us paid a fee for a player. I'm not convinced Aberdeen have spent more money than us, the difference is what they have spent has been on the right players.

Green Man
09-04-2014, 12:38 PM
Before the fixtures were announced I fully intended on going. When the date was announced I was disappointed as I'm running a race that morning, but gave it a bit of thought and reckoned I might be able to make it to the game. After Monday's game I'm of the opinion why should I bust a gut to get to the game when the players won't bust a gut on the pitch? And the ticket pricing is a piss take which has sealed my non-attendance.

In answer to the original question - I might make the effort to go if it was free and if I wasn't busy in the morning I'd definitely go.

09-04-2014, 01:19 PM

It wasn't the playing staff that were being discussed though was it? A poster suggested East Mains was part of the problem. I disagreed. The bottom line is our players are just not good enough.

09-04-2014, 01:46 PM
I keep reading this or similar, but did he really ? PF was allowed to sign a number of players in his time with us and in the summer only Celtic and us paid a fee for a player. I'm not convinced Aberdeen have spent more money than us, the difference is what they have spent has been on the right players.

Lucky Aberdeen that they've ended up with decent players and we've no.

PF signed a boat load of players.

09-04-2014, 01:48 PM
It wasn't the playing staff that were being discussed though was it? A poster suggested East Mains was part of the problem. I disagreed. The bottom line is our players are just not good enough.

Apologies, I've confused things.

East Mains not the problem, quality of playing staff is. Fenlon's legacy with due appreciation to the chairman for his knowledge, experience and tactics in the transfer market.

hibee
09-04-2014, 04:36 PM
While I realise we need a big support it would be extremely unfair on ST holders if other people got in for free.

09-04-2014, 04:40 PM
I had a spare for the Dundee Utd game,nobody wanted to take it,they'd rather watch it on the tv

09-04-2014, 04:43 PM
While I realise we need a big support it would be extremely unfair on ST holders if other people got in for free.I'm a ST holder and TBH I couldnae care less now if people got in for free, my money has been wasted again anyway. I wonder how much difference letting people in free would make anyway, when you now have people who have paid who cannae even be bothered turning up now.

09-04-2014, 05:14 PM
I've got a seaso, and have renewed for next year, but would have no issue with price reductions/free entry.

09-04-2014, 06:18 PM
I've got a seaso, and have renewed for next year, but would have no issue with price reductions/free entry.

Me too. :agree:

09-04-2014, 06:42 PM
While I realise we need a big support it would be extremely unfair on ST holders if other people got in for free.

Let every ST bring a friend for free . We need all the support we can get at the moment .

09-04-2014, 06:46 PM
Let every ST bring a friend for free . We need all the support we can get at the moment .

This is a good idea, although it's probably a sure-fire way to lose friends..... :greengrin

09-04-2014, 08:33 PM
My good friend Malcolm Bogie offered me a free ticket for Monday night's match but such is my apathy right now I opted to watched the game on TV.

Do I feel guilty? - not a bit of it. The effect of Fenlon's football lingers on and if anything the "spectacle" currently on display is even worse.

After watching Hibs for 50+ years I said I wouldn't be back until such time that Fenlon was sacked as I honestly thought that anything MUST be an improvement -------------- just how wrong could I be?

:taxi. :bye: :greengrin

KingFranck
10-04-2014, 11:41 AM

This is spot on and the reason I don't take the family that often.
V St Mirren earlier in the season I paid the following
2 x adults = £44 + 2 x kids = £24 total £68 not worth it at all Hibs and compared to Newcastle v Swansea coming up £20 per adult and a fiver for kids c'mon Hibs get a grip please!